Will spin bowlers and slow pitches kill PSL?

Bewal Express

Fans pay money to watch big hits and entertaining cricket but with the ball spinning square, who is going to watch? My worry for the PSL is that it will become a spin fest with average spinners dominating.

Both these spinners aren't ordinary brother.

Zulfiqar Babar is quality.

Owned teams in the last T20 WC in India.

No but the pitches might. It's too early to say though - at least watch a handful of matches first before casting judgement.

Pitch looks horrible for t20 cricket, will produce dull matches

This is a garbage track for T20 but hopefully it's an anomaly if this is the standard of the rest of the pitches. PSL will suffer the same fate of the SLPL

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

T20 isn't supposed to be a brutal examination of the batsman techniques. It's fun cricket with fours and sixes it's tamasha for fun. This is only fun for a minority of diehards. For casuals this won't be what they want.

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

150-160 is a decent T20 wicket. You want balance in that the bowlers shouldn't be simply there to get tonked but you also want batsmen to be able to play their shots.

UAE usually produces these slow, pathetic pitches anyway and today is no different. Sick of playing there now, we've seen the effects its had on the limited overs batting too.

Spending money on players is good but it would have been worth spending money on some decent groundsman.

Need belters with sheen on it. Crap pitch. I wonder where the hippies are who want to see low scoring games with ball dominating.

Bat dominating is the best for limited overs.

A disgraceful pitch for the first game of such a high profile tournament. You don't mind good spinners doing well but when batsmen cannot even hit an average spinner for a run a ball then something is wrong.

Typical impatience shown here. This is a typical Dubai wicket. Wait till they get to Sharjah, you will see big scores. BTW even low scoring matches can be interesting.

Irfan is a one trick pony and has no variation being taken apart by Luke wright

For all those blaming the pitch I think it is very good preparation for t20 WC remember we are playing in India where spin plays a big role so don't mind these conditions at all

Lols 50 up within 4 overs. Talk nah op.

Pitch is still great for spin.

Misbah's captaincy helping opposition.

Why pacer again?

They don't have many spinners. I think Saeed Ajmal is a supplementary player for them, surely he should get a game on pitches like these.

Good game for the competition imho.

Despite this win Quetta is a weak team on paper, and Isloo is strong. So this win will be very important for them.

Lol they actually may replicate KKR performance wise too lmao. Everyone thought KKR would flop 2 years ago iirc but they ended up champions. Might happen again.

With Shezzy as Gambhir temperament wise? :shehzad

PSL and MCL sharing same pitches - can it cause a problem for PSL?

MCL used Dubai for 5 matches before this PSL match and wicket was already slow as you can see from the 2 last matches MCL played on this ground. 8 matches of PSL will be played in Dubai now.

MCL is now shifted to Sharjah for 10 matches so once they finish playing there on 7th Feb PSL will move there and 9 matches will be played from 10th Feb.

There is only 2/3 days break between these shifts so i think there is a big chance we will see similar wickets in upcoming matches of PSL too like we saw today.

This situation was bound to happen as both MCL and PSL are sharing pitches, atleast MCL was gracious enough to have agreed to sharing these pitches otherwise PCB was requesting Qatar to hold the first season of PSL.

And after Sharjah PSL will be back to play in Dubai after 4/5 more matches of MCL there. Not enough time for the curator so can't blame him if we see poor wickets during PSL.

btw why no matches in Abu Dhabi? MCL and PSL both are not playing a single match there according to Cricinfo fixture

Massive problem.

T20 is all about sixes and big hitting, but you won't get that on these slow and worn out pitches.

I am not saying produce a 200+ type pancakes, but enough to produce a 160-180 score and having some balance.

Massive problem.

T20 is all about sixes and big hitting, but you won't get that on these slow and worn out pitches.

I am not saying produce a 200+ type pancakes, but enough to produce a 160-180 score and having some balance.

Yea watching 130s/140s every match isn't fun in these leagues the crowd come to see those sixes and good totals so they will be disappointed.

You guys can't get enough criticism in can y'all?

It's just the first game...players will adopt, relax and enjoy the show

MCL at fault. The way I see it is that it's MCL prerogative to make sure everyone else including the ICC and independent boards are happy with their operations. They've already stirred some trouble with 3 of the boards complaining, and this should just add to it. PSL, IPL and such leagues despite being for money, are also very helpful in strengthening domestic cricket and their respective national teams as a result, so hence they have a fundamentally more vital position on the map than the likes of MCL. If PSL flops because then it will be bad for Pakistan cricket which in turn will be bad for world cricket. And it seems if these pitches stay that way then it may well be PSL's downfall.

You need most of the dumb cricket fans to watch in order for the PSL to be successful, that means big sixes and 160+ runs every game.

You guys can't get enough criticism in can y'all?

It's just the first game...players will adopt, relax and enjoy the show

Bhai jaan jahan taareef banti he wahan her jaga taaref ki he but kia ab hum bolna be chor den ya bas taareefon ke he pul baan daen?

A bowler reading these comments would be like, "So I should bowl poorly so fans can get their entertainment".

At times even low scoring affairs are entertaining, sometimes a bowler bowling cleverly is equally entertaining. What's with this 'only batting is entertaing' mentality?

A bowler reading these comments would be like, "So I should bowl poorly so fans can get their entertainment".

At times even low scoring affairs are entertaining, sometimes a bowler bowling cleverly is equally entertaining. What's with this 'only batting is entertaing' mentality?

I love watching those low scoring thrillers in international cricket and i am fan of balance between bat and ball but the crowd in these leagues don't come to watch low scoring matches. T20 Leagues are just for fun there are no serious emotions involve with them.

Pitches in UAE have always been slow and spin friendly so why is it even a surprise after the first match?!

This is how it'll be and the MCL happening on alternative days would have an effect where they'll be more slower than they are and more spin than first time.

MCL at fault. The way I see it is that it's MCL prerogative to make sure everyone else including the ICC and independent boards are happy with their operations. They've already stirred some trouble with 3 of the boards complaining, and this should just add to it. PSL, IPL and such leagues despite being for money, are also very helpful in strengthening domestic cricket and their respective national teams as a result, so hence they have a fundamentally more vital position on the map than the likes of MCL. If PSL flops because then it will be bad for Pakistan cricket which in turn will be bad for world cricket. And it seems if these pitches stay that way then it may well be PSL's downfall.

:))) Conspiracy conspiracy

Why aren't they playing in Abu Dhabi. Acha bhalaa stadium hai

Sent from my 0PM92 using Tapatalk

Bhai jaan jahan taareef banti he wahan her jaga taaref ki he but kia ab hum bolna be chor den ya bas taareefon ke he pul baan daen?
Yes but you can wait maybe for 5-6 matches and then decide about how the pitches are. And 4s and 6s brings in the public but it doesn't stay if matches become boring and one sided with huge scores.

Sent from my SM-G925I

This situation was bound to happen as both MCL and PSL are sharing pitches, atleast MCL was gracious enough to have agreed to sharing these pitches otherwise PCB was requesting Qatar to hold the first season of PSL.

are you MCL member how do you know this? .pakistan was holding it any cost in qatar but then dubai and sharjah management agreed to change date of MCL .so MCL have done no favour to PSL credit goes to dubai management .

Yes but you can wait maybe for 5-6 matches and then decide about how the pitches are. And 4s and 6s brings in the public but it doesn't stay if matches become boring and one sided with huge scores.

Sent from my SM-G925I

Before PSL i saw last 2 matches of MCL on this ground and pitch was already really slow if you compare with early matches of MCL.

:))) Conspiracy conspiracy

PSL is using the pitches after MCL. So unless the curator has something against Pakistan, the pitch would be made according to MCL. The pitch can't be re-set within a day. But yes, i assumed it was a given. I suppose it could potentially just be anything really.

MCL booked before hand. PSL did not booked Abu DHabi.......

Maybe the low scores are a reflection of the fact that Pakistani batsmen are just plain terrible

Slap the curator and get him to make flatter decks. Also, get some better commentators. What's with flipping Bazid Khan and Pat Symcox?

Pretty sure the crowd would have been thrilled by Aamir's hat-trick more than just watching some slogging.

Variation is key. Too much of anything is dull.

Hopefully a few big scores are put up too.

are we going to see a 180-200 + match?

These pitches will be ideal prep for the spin feast that will occur in India during the world cup.

I think the Indians will go with flat wickets and trust their batsman to out bat the other countries. If they go with spinning tracks, it becomes a lottery.

get some better commentators. What's with flipping Bazid Khan and Pat Symcox?

Couldn't agree more. One guy is huffing and puffing for spouting sentences and other one just speaks like a combo of wasim and sanath jayasuriya in the comm box (half finished sentences with literal reading of the scorecard ticker). Amir's hat-trick moment went almost unnoticed, thanks to these two commies.

I saw Asghar on that wicket today he looked a world beater but the wicket was even worse than yesterday.

You guys are insane, I am sick and tired of watching 4 sixes an over IPL style cricket. There is a genuine contest here between bat and ball, you have to earn your boundaries, it is refreshing to see. The pitches are turning a bit but aren't minefields. Karachi batsmen had no issues playing on the up. 140-150 should be par. The scores should go up a bit as teams adjust. Only superficial idiots want flat tracks where its just the batsmen competing against each other.

Who the hell cares if it's low scoring? Why do we want an IPL copy where it rains sixes. Making it more bowling friendly makes this tournament unique, and it makes batsmen fight for their runs. Quality batsmen will always find ways to score by making necessary adjustments, Simmons and Shakib demonstrated that today.

Pakistan's USP is bowling. SO what if the scores are low? Every other league had flat pitches and I'm glad PSL is different from other leagues that way.

Mixture is important.

This will get boring in a hurry especially if the pitches worsen.

It will get to a point later in the tournament where part timers will turn it square. That's just as dull as 4 sixes an over.