"Will walk around shirtless in Oxford Street if we win 2019 World Cup" : Virat Kohli

Abdul

Sourav Ganguly's iconic shirt-waiving at Lord's after India won the NatWest Series final against England is etched in memory. Nearly two decades after that famous Indian win, Ganguly's act is still talked about with fondness.

Ganguly is often asked about that Sunday afternoon at the Mecca of Cricket and the former India captain believes that the question had a shelf life. However, in a recent interview with India Today, said Virat Kohli would run down Oxford Street if India won the World Cup in England in 2019.

During Boria Majumdar's book launch, Eleven Gods and a Billion Indians, Ganguly repeated his famous line in Kohli's presence. "HE WILL TAKE HIS SHIRT OFF IN OXFORD STREET... We better get our cameras ready. Kohli has his six packs. I won't be surprised if he takes his shirt off."

Kohli responded by saying he will walk around shirtless and not just that - he will be joined by Hardik Pandya and Jasprit Bumrah.

""I don't think it will only be me. For sure, Hardik will be following me. 120 per cent. Bumrah is there as well because he has six packs too. He is there in the game. There will be a few candidates," Kohli said.

Kohli was only 13 when India chased down that record score against England. Ganuly and Virender Sehwag had started off sensationally but they were soon pegged back after losing a few wickets. Dismayed, Kohli went off to sleep. He was later woken up by his brother, who informed a young Virat that India were winning.

On July 13, 2002 as India successful chased down England's 325, millions of Indians around the world celebrated. Among them was India's future captain, who had to be woken up by his brother.

India had blazed away to 106 off 14.2 overs before Ganguly was dismised. However, they lost a flurry of wickets after and were reduced to 146/5 when Sachin Tendulkar was dismissed. That was when Kohli lost all hope and decided to call it a night.

"I clearly remember that night. The game started brilliantly. Those totals were very difficult to get. I slept off when we were five down. I went off to sleep. My brother woke me up and he said we were winning. I was like: 'what are you talking about?'"

Yuvraj Singh and Mohammad Kaif had orchestrated one of the greatest chases in ODI history when a young Virat slept. The duo added 121 for the sixth wicket and while Yuvraj (87) fell with victory still some distance away, Kaif kept his cool and saw India through.

The celebration that followed was a moment to cherish for Indian fans and Kohli remembers that moment.

"You are not worried about being judged. You cannot be a robot. You have to be honest to yourself.

"If you are not yourself, you will sleep with regrets. I am sure that moment was very organic - he did not care whether he was at the Lord's balcony. He could have been anywhere in the world. That was just pure human emotion coming out."

"That moment was organic, that is how he wanted to enjoy himself after the win. It was just pure joy. It is very important to be honest to yourself."

Kohli burst into a laughter when Ganguly said VVS Laxman was trying to stop him from taking his shirt off.

https://www.indiatoday.in/sports/cr...2019-world-cup-virat-kohli-1206868-2018-04-07

Don't worry Kohli Boy, It's Going to be Sarfu Don with his Pot Belly who's going to Do the Belly Dance. That will be celebration for the ages.

Haha wont happen Kohli boy as Pakistan under Sarfraz will beat India and complete his hatrick of 3 tournament final wins against India ;) Sad times coming for self hating Pakistanis :(

It would be nice if Sarfraz would be motivated by this to get fit.

Great. Faf du Plessis will join you. The guy is always looking for an excuse to take his shirt off

Don't worry Kohli Boy, It's Going to be Sarfu Don with his Pot Belly who's going to Do the Belly Dance. That will be celebration for the ages.
:)) this had me in splits.

Surprised that Bumrah has 6-pack too. Is Kohli hinting KL won’t be part of the team as he too has 6-pack.

:shh

King kohli to smash everyone who comes in front of him in 2019 WC and confirm his status as the greatest cricketer to have born on this planet.

This is just straight up douchey. Apart Kohli the rest of the indian team isn't fit.

England is the only team that can prevent it from happening. An India vs England Final is on the cards, and what a match it will be. Undoubtedly the two best ODI teams in the world.

Never rule out Pakistan.

Next year's World Cup format does not suit Pakistan. We will have to play out of our skins to make it to the semifinals ahead of Australia, South Africa and New Zealand. England and India are two certainties.

Haha :))

India also toured NZ after their CT win in 2013 and lost 4-0. Was that a fluuuuke?

What has India got to do with this? You think India would lose 4-0 in NZ? They destroyed no.1 South Africa in South Africa. More ODI Pak plays, the more CT appears to be fluke

Well they did lose 4-0 last time. And congratulations on beating a second string South African team.

Oh dear. When India surrenders the streak this World Cup, what will be your excuses then? Bet India is never going to make the same mistake of trolling Pakistan before a match ever again. You got thrashed man, have some shame and own up to the fact that your team was no match for Pakistan on that day.

If there's a current international captain that can show that kind of raw emotion without any inhibition, it's Kohli. He needs more than 6 pack to win the knockouts in WC though.

Somehow some Pakistani fans don't take into account all that which went into them even making the semis in '92.

Weather, DLS shocker for more deserving teams like SA, injury to Martin Crowe in PAK's league match against NZ, subsequent poor captaincy by his temporary replacement who ignored sensible instructions, and results of underperforming teams that weren't going to qualify anyway allowed them to make the semis.

This year's qualifiers were a similar story. WI didn't really deserve to be in the final, or even win it to make it to the WC.

Anything can happen, but [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] is on the money.

Pakistan's WC/CT wins were closer to a heist than a firm demonstration of being the best team in the world.

Don't get me wrong, '92 WC was what made me fall in love with the sport and I was alternating between being stunned and roaring in last year's final.

But Pakistan really haven't won either global tournament and won't win next year's without help from English weather and a few results from other teams going their way.

No shirts will be taken off by Kohli and co. England or Pakistan to win the World cup

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

I’m pretty sure Kohli is a stud. He doesn’t want to wear shirts, but he has to. He is just using the World Cup as excuse to show off his abs

Next year's World Cup format does not suit Pakistan. We will have to play out of our skins to make it to the semifinals ahead of Australia, South Africa and New Zealand. England and India are two certainties.

We will beat SAF for sure.

NZ and Aus is 50/50. Don’t forget Aus will likely be without Warner and Smith...

Well they did lose 4-0 last time. And congratulations on beating a second string South African team.

Second string? ABD played last 3 matches, Markram played all the matches, Amla played all the matches, Morkel played all the matches, Rabada played all the matches, Tahir played 4 matches, Ngidi played 4 matches. Only Faf and QDK missed out.

By the way, Tahir was the no.1 ODI bowler when the series started.

Oh dear. When India surrenders the streak this World Cup, what will be your excuses then? Bet India is never going to make the same mistake of trolling Pakistan before a match ever again. You got thrashed man, have some shame and own up to the fact that your team was no match for Pakistan on that day.

Anything can happen but a lol at surrender, what would you say what Pak did in all WC matches, more than surrender?

India wins 2013 CT, with half of the match effected by D/L and the final being a glorified T20. They tour NZ after and lose 4-0. Declared not fluke.

Pakistan win 2017 CT, demolishing whoever came in their way. None of the matches were even close - expect the SL one. They tour NZ after and lose 5-0. Declared a fluke.

:salute

Well well this is not going to happen. Hopefully southafrica win this world cup so that AB and hash ritire on high.

India will reach the Finals but that's the max we can go to. I am expecting another surprising winner, however the format is tough for mediocre teams to be finding themselves in the top4 provided NONE of the games are washed out

He has confirmed that India is not going to win it by talking like this! Who motivated him to say so? Shastri? First I guess he should try to win IPL for RCB this year! He has had a lot of shots at that now...

If Kohli wins WC'19... As a RCB fan will take that over any number IPL cup wins :kohli2

Anything can happen but a lol at surrender, what would you say what Pak did in all WC matches, more than surrender?
Surrender means Pakistan will break the streak genius.

Blimey the way you Indians talk, you got beat by 180 runs in an ICC final man. The whole world was laughing at you on that day. Forget Pakistan for a moment, focus on the fact that you have the honour of being smashed by most runs in a major tournament final. Sharam karo thori.

If Kohli wins WC'19... As a RCB fan will take that over any number IPL cup wins :kohli2

Was talking about captaincy and his attitude & skills at that (regardless of RCB or India. Just mentioned RCB because he gets a chance every year whereas world cup is rare) Fortunately so far it has not affected him as a player which is raising exponentially regardless of anything! (Hence nobody is complaining against him & his captaincy & his behavior off/on field)

Blimey the way you Indians talk, you got beat by 180 runs in an ICC final man. The whole world was laughing at you on that day. Forget Pakistan for a moment, focus on the fact that you have the honour of being smashed by most runs in a major tournament final. Sharam karo thori.

The biggest world tournament is a world cup. And the worst defeat ever in a world cup final was in 1999 when a team was all out for 132 and the opposition chased it in 20 overs.

People were sure laughing at that Indian team for losing against that Pak team that has done nothing considerable before and after that CT. Both teams proved their class right away in SA and NZ. Sometimes people should just enjoy bragging rights while they can instead of deluding themselves.

India wins 2013 CT, with half of the match effected by D/L and the final being a glorified T20. They tour NZ after and lose 4-0. Declared not fluke.

Pakistan win 2017 CT, demolishing whoever came in their way. None of the matches were even close - expect the SL one. They tour NZ after and lose 5-0. Declared a fluke.

Except final which match was t20 ?india won all the matches in that champions trophy and only final match was bit closer. Pakistan lost all matches in that champions trophy.
This year champions trophy pakistan lost leaghe match against india way too easily and were damn lucky against sri lanka. India reached final in this champions trophy as well but cudnt chase it as it was outstanding spell by amir and there were lot of runs on the board and ball was swinging miles under lights.

Impressive fitness standards if all those Indian players now have a six-pack. That really speaks to the increased professionalism in cricket atleast in India. I remember there was a time where Indian players specialized in paunches not abs.

Also this whole thing about tournament wins being fluke is getting old. But yes, Pakistan were disappointing after that and we're improving though. Problem for Indians is that you'll never live that loss down. It's gonna be use to discount any achievement you have; it's pretty funny seeing India as the World #1 team in ODI's and Tests and still having no comeback to the CT jibes.

That win was such solace in what was a particularly barren period for Pakistan.

Lol this would be funny to see . India are one of the favourites but they do have flaws in their team which will need correcting.

Except final which match was t20 ?india won all the matches in that champions trophy and only final match was bit closer. Pakistan lost all matches in that champions trophy.
This year champions trophy pakistan lost leaghe match against india way too easily and were damn lucky against sri lanka. India reached final in this champions trophy as well but cudnt chase it as it was outstanding spell by amir and there were lot of runs on the board and ball was swinging miles under lights.

It was a day game.

Yes it was swinging under natural day light.... :)))

Someone can correct me if I am wrong but my feeling is that pakistan has never finished below semi finals in ICC events held in England. Got into 3 finals, lost one and won two.

You can't call something a fluke when you beat all the best teams comprehensively on route especially making mince meat of the "best team" in the final.

Someone can correct me if I am wrong but my feeling is that pakistan has never finished below semi finals in ICC events held in England. Got into 3 finals, lost one and won two.

You can't call something a fluke when you beat all the best teams comprehensively on route especially making mince meat of the "best team" in the final.

Champions trophy 2013 was an unmitigated disaster

Lol this would be funny to see . India are one of the favourites but they do have flaws in their team which will need correcting.

Indian batting is carried almost entirely by their top 3, if they fail the team will collapse. I suspect MSD might be a major culprit in India's elimination from World Cup next year.

Most good teams batting lineups are carried by 2,3 main players with others giving supporting roles

I think Dhoni will retire after the WC regardless of result.

Yuvraj Singh and Mohammad Kaif had orchestrated one of the greatest chases in ODI history when a young Virat slept.

He should take a nap every time he gets out then...lol.. :rp

Kia? Yeh lights ki story khn se a gay?

Prove me that I am an Indian Sherlock, lol. I am not India or Pak pro but at every threat bringing CT is getting annoying by Pak fans. No one can deny that Pak won fair and square but at every thread?

The biggest world tournament is a world cup. And the worst defeat ever in a world cup final was in 1999 when a team was all out for 132 and the opposition chased it in 20 overs.

People were sure laughing at that Indian team for losing against that Pak team that has done nothing considerable before and after that CT. Both teams proved their class right away in SA and NZ. Sometimes people should just enjoy bragging rights while they can instead of deluding themselves.

Add to that, Pak was full of Shooperstars in 1999, they did not do a jack.

Sharam aapko aani chahiye, jo CT ko WC se compare karte ho, not only that in your delusional minds CT>>>WC, lol.

I don't think he said that.... but nice coping mechanism.

Sharam kis baat ki bhai
U ppl getting smacked by India in every WC since last 26 years uski sharam hai kya aapko

Don't you know bro? India and England are clear favourites. Their ODI play is so modern and powerful that no team can match them, let alone flukey Pakistan. The fact that Pakistan demolished them both consecutively on the biggest stage means nothing :msd

To be honest, team india has serious vulnerability in middle order. The top order is so strong that it mitigates the weakness of the middle order.
But in a tournament, a failure is bound to happen. And whatever team does that, India will get kicked out.

I don't think anyone wants to see Kohli shirtless. It doesn't really matter - they aren't going to win.

I think South Africa will win the World Cup next year with AB finally making his dream come true and Hash and Steyn(if he plays) also retiring on a high note.

Sharam kis baat ki bhai
U ppl getting smacked by India in every WC since last 26 years uski sharam hai kya aapko
First of all, stop calling me 'bhai'. Secondly, Pakistan has bragging rights till the next time we meet. The manner of your defeat and your sour grapes attitude right now is sharam ka muqaam. As far as I remember, none of the WC matches combined were as big a phainta as India got in the CT final.

Shoving the CT down your throats has become boring, but when some of your lot call it a 'fluke' you will get a response as good as the thrashing you got on 18th June.

First of all, stop calling me 'bhai'. Secondly, Pakistan has bragging rights till the next time we meet. The manner of your defeat and your sour grapes attitude right now is sharam ka muqaam. As far as I remember, none of the WC matches combined were as big a phainta as India got in the CT final.

Shoving the CT down your throats has become boring, but when some of your lot call it a 'fluke' you will get a response as good as the thrashing you got on 18th June.

So WC 2011 Semis and World T20 finals are not bigger than CT finals? Lol.