Would Saurav Ganguly, Ian Harvey, Douglas Hondo have been frontline pacers for Pakistan today?

Bhaijaan

Hall of Famer
Just watched a bit of the test match and the frontline Pakistani pacers are bowling at 120 kph :yk

Makes one wonder if Saurav Ganguly (Toronto version) and Ian Harvey would start as frontline pacers for this Pakistan cricket team.

They could be lethal with the shining ball just like some of these guys but more importantly they had better bowling fitness than current Pakistani trundler.

Just watched a bit of the test match and the frontline Pakistani pacers are bowling at 120 kph :yk

Makes one wonder if Saurav Ganguly (Toronto version) and Ian Harvey would start as frontline pacers for this Pakistan cricket team.

They could be lethal with the shining ball just like some of these guys but more importantly they had better bowling fitness than current Pakistani trundler.
kuruvilla, mohanty and ankola would start for pakistan.

Why are you comparing Ganguly and Ian Harvey to Hondo?

Hondo was a main bowler. Ganguly and Harvey were part-time bowlers.

Any 90s indian bowler will be a good addition . Srinath will be a legend.Harvay will be an pak atg in white ball formats for sure. Mohany in sena tests for sure.Never imagined pak will go through such a cruel joke

Srinath was actually one of the fastest consistent bowler your country has produced, so this 'cruel' joke just flopped. But the only issue was that when he used to play he wasn't good enough to tie shoe laces of Waqar and Wasim's reserves.

. But the only issue was that when he used to play he wasn't good enough to tie shoe laces of Waqar and Wasim's reserves.
Yeah that's my problem after watching indian pacers mediocrity and pak legends especially akram

10 years ago would have thought that the skinny malnourished veggies would be titans of fast bowling( not my words but general sentiments at the time) and Pakistan would be worse than the first batch of MRF pace academy.

I am glad I got to see some epic days. Youngsters nowadays have just seen misery.

10 years ago would have thought that the skinny malnourished veggies would be titans of fast bowling( not my words but general sentiments at the time) and Pakistan would be worse than the first batch of MRF pace academy.

I am glad I got to see some epic days. Youngsters nowadays have just seen misery.
There will allways be enough quick bowlers in Pakistan in shaa Allah. But they need proper facilities, coaching and education. Once the country get's stable other things will also follow. At the moment alot of things are wrong in the country.

Likes of Hamza, Shehzad and Ali are all green top juice dependent. When the pitch goes flat, they are very toothless. Makes me question their domestic stats, are they heavily inflated by the Green seaming conditions they enjoyed when Pakistan's domestic cricket went to the dogs after 2009?

Instead Srinath relied on Sachins fingernails.

Srinaths career basically ended after Sachin got caught in South Africa in 2001. His final year of cricket was miserable and he wasn't the same bowler after the fingering from Sachin stopped.
Somewhat true. But we have produced some of our best fast bowlers after that.

After Waqar and Shoaib Akhtar got caught tampering though, it's like the entire production line of PAK fast bowlers came to an abrupt halt, even with subsequent skippers trying to bite the ball into swinging shape :afridi

It's allright to troll, but now you are lying. You have followed Pak cricket long enough to know that they have had 90mph bowlers after Akhtar also. Mohammad Sami, Wahab Riaz and Haris Rauf have all been very fast. Not in domestic cricket only but at international level for many years. That they also got hammered, is for another discussion though.

As I said before, Pakistan will keep producing quick bolwers, but in order to develop them there is alot of work to do.

It's the overall decline of test cricket and FC cricket in Pakistan that contributes to this not tampering.

Pakistan has produced some decent LOI bowlers post Wasim and Waqar.

Some Pakistani fans getting touchy for no reason. This is a serious discussion.

If you’re angry, jump a little harder and try to breach the 130 kph barrier first before whinging.

As usual your post is self contradictory. If it's a serious discussion then it's quite normal to get touchy. If you say it's a troll thread which is the fact then we should not be touchy and just laugh at it.

Bro we are not making fun of the fact that Pakistani front line pacers are bowling at 120 kph.

We are just wondering if Ganguly, Harvey or Dougy Hondo would make this side on merit.

Pretty straight forward question.

I’ve made this comparison myself sometimes. E.g. Mir Hamza, Abbas is bowling Ganguly pace.

Tbf to hamza I did see him astonishingly hit the heights of 134k today

I’ve made this comparison myself sometimes. E.g. Mir Hamza, Abbas is bowling Ganguly pace.

Tbf to hamza I did see him astonishingly hit the heights of 134k today

Finally a realistic and honest Pakistani poster after Savak bhai.

Thanks for being normal bro.

It's allright to troll, but now you are lying. You have followed Pak cricket long enough to know that they have had 90mph bowlers after Akhtar also. Mohammad Sami, Wahab Riaz and Haris Rauf have all been very fast. Not in domestic cricket only but at international level for many years. That they also got hammered, is for another discussion though.

As I said before, Pakistan will keep producing quick bolwers, but in order to develop them there is alot of work to do.
Pace but not quality.

No those guys were part timers.

Although an attack of Ealham, Ian Austin, Alan Mullally might be superior to the likes of Hamza, Shaheen and Naseem.

Hondo was not a part-timer.

He was a frontline Zimbabwean bowler.

On topic. I was reading a book on Pakistani cricket the other day, and Wasim Akram says that in the 90s, they had forgotten how to bowl with the new ball, and didn't even care. They just waited for it to reverse and were confident that they could run through the batting side after that. It had many scorecards which made interesting reading. Like 166/3 and 192 all out. He also said that they only taught reserve swing to any newcomer bowler, and it was very easy.

I think it is a pause, not the end, of Pakistani pace bowling. I think the problem is elsewhere, maybe dressing room politics. Because suddenly shaheen became a shadow of himself, and rauf lost his mojo and naseem the next exciting thing is getting unfit. The raw pakistani talent is there, but there is some other disease which is eating away at their talent. As if the natural flair and aggression that once defined Pakistani fast bowling is being suppressed or misdirected. Perhaps the pressure, the expectations, or the lack of a coherent team culture causing this decline. I don't know.

Stats dont matter but you were bothered enough to reassure yourself that Asif took 6 wickets more than rounded figure of 100?
Well, you said he didn’t take 100 Test wickets and I called out your lie or ignorance respectfully. Instead of thanking me you are questioning me lol.

I said he didn't take more than a 100 wickets.
Well, you said he didn’t take 100 Test wickets and I called out your lie or ignorance respectfully. Instead of thanking me you are questioning me lol

On topic. I was reading a book on Pakistani cricket the other day, and Wasim Akram says that in the 90s, they had forgotten how to bowl with the new ball, and didn't even care. They just waited for it to reverse and were confident that they could run through the batting side after that. It had many scorecards which made interesting reading. Like 166/3 and 192 all out. He also said that they only taught reserve swing to any newcomer bowler, and it was very easy.

I think it is a pause, not the end, of Pakistani pace bowling. I think the problem is elsewhere, maybe dressing room politics. Because suddenly shaheen became a shadow of himself, and rauf lost his mojo and naseem the next exciting thing is getting unfit. The raw pakistani talent is there, but there is some other disease which is eating away at their talent. As if the natural flair and aggression that once defined Pakistani fast bowling is being suppressed or misdirected. Perhaps the pressure, the expectations, or the lack of a coherent team culture causing this decline. I don't know.
This is what I mentioned on the thread on reasons behind demise of Pakistan cricket

It was extra scrutiny by umpires & tv cameras in the early 2000s which made ball tampering difficult. Bcoz Pakistani bowlers were so addicted to reverse swing - once reverse swing went out of the game , their performances declined and Pakistan cricket started struggling to win matches. No coincidence no Pakistani pace bowler has taken 200 wickets in test cricket in the last 25 years

Well, you said he didn’t take 100 Test wickets and I called out your lie or ignorance respectfully. Instead of thanking me you are questioning me lol.

In Bharat, Asif is remembered as the bowler who took performance enhancing steroids to bowl 125 kph.

Pakistan's fast bowling legacy has been built on Wasim and Waqar. Everybody else is no better than any other country's mid-level pacers.

I dare say it was Shoaib Akhtar who really gave them the aura however.

Take Shoaib Akhtar of the equation, and you would see the Pakistani pace revolution in 1990s as just alright.

Definitely a lesser bowler than the Ws. But the man was a legend.

We Hindus have this belief that you should never laugh at someone's misery bcoz as per Karma one day we will face the same fate

So true for all these Pakistani fans. For decades they laughed at India's trundlers - Prasad, Dinda, Kuruvilla, Nehra - and now their own pace attack mirrors India of the 90s

Karma is for real :amir2:amir2

No to be fair they did have a lot of 150 kph bowlers - Zahid , Sami , Haris Rauf, Wahab Riaz - who bowled a few fiery spells. Pakistan's fast bowling reputation was well deserved.

Now the story has gone awry

No to be fair they did have a lot of 150 kph bowlers - Zahid , Sami , Haris Rauf, Wahab Riaz - who bowled a few fiery spells. Pakistan's fast bowling reputation was well deserved.

Now the story has gone awry

Bowling 150kph at one or two points in your career and averaging 52.74 (Sami as an example) counts for little though.

Asif was a good test bowler but the sample size is too small to warrant the hype he gets here. He was ordinary in white ball cricket always and likes of Umar Gul was better than him in that code.

I said he didn't take more than a 100 wickets.
So are 106 wickets not more than 100 wickets? Maan ja kay tu nay khataa ki hai, zaheen loug apni ghalti ka aitraaf kartay hain, is mein koi harj nahi.

Bowling 150kph at one or two points in your career and averaging 52.74 (Sami as an example) counts for little though.
One or two points? All those bowlers were genuine fast bowlers. The OP is about lack of pace, so on topic pace matters. But if you talk about quality then you are right.

It’s no hidden secret that the likes of Dinda etc. would easily make Pak’s Test team today.

We really are that terrible in Test bowling.

However, it’s a process. And raw bowling talent is there in Pakistan. We need to wait a few years for that process to work specially if they put their focus and money on FC cricket now.

It has been neglected for more than a decade. It’s a symptom of that. We are the worst Test side when it comes to bowling today.

We produced top talent like Amir and Asif, the last potentially legendary pace duo. They gave it all away and shot their careers.

If the PCB decides to make Test and FC cricket very lucrative (match or surpass T20 league money) we will see some bowling stars soon.

The advent of T20s has dented Pakistan fast bowlers mercilessly, Naseem and SSA have regressed with pace also reduced add to it the fitness woes as they cannot play two games on a trot.

Wasim Jr. Amir Jamal Hasnain have some.pace but they are not Test material or selectors do.not believe in them , however the question arises is the current lot uptoTest class, they way their venom was suked out after initial burst was very damaging

No but big reason Indians were mocked was bcoz our pace attack had no pace. Just 130-135 kph trundlers. Gavaskar once joked anybody who ran in from 10 pace & bowled gets classified as fast bowler in India. Even Sri Lanka had some genuine pace bowlers like Lasith Malinga & Dilhara Fernando but we had to do with Prasad, Nehra, Kuruvilla, Agarkar and like

I remember a test match in Karachi where allrounder Abdul Razzak was bowling at a higher avg pace than India's frontline pace bowlers.

Then came Umesh Yadav & Varun Aaron - the 1st set of genuine quick bowlers from India who consistently bowled over 90 mph. Followed by Bumrah & Shami. Even Ishant Sharma rediscovered his pace during his purple patch ( 2016-19). Navdeep Saini was also pretty quick. There is also Kartik Tyagi, Umran Malik & Mayank Yadav waiting in the wings. So the trundler era is well & truly over for India . There was a stat I saw somewhere that India bowlers have forced maximum number of opposition batters going out with concussion sub rule. Who wud have expected that 10 years back ?

In fact even Hardik Pandya bowls are a higher avg pace than Shaheen Shah Afridi or Naseem Shah

So are 106 wickets not more than 100 wickets? Maan ja kay tu nay khataa ki hai, zaheen loug apni ghalti ka aitraaf kartay hain, is mein koi harj nahi.

So if someone got that off by 6 wickets you will call them a liar or ignorant. And then you say stats don't matter while judging a player

Peak Ganguly was a better bowler than these trundlers, totally agree Bhaijaan.

That is bcoz Srinath never used bottle caps.

Srinath's Sanatani sanskars prevented him from becoming an ATG. If he had the badmashi of his parosi counterparts, the legend of him would still be spoken today. A big loss from Cricketing perspective, but what a great role-model to follow.

A true Dharmic like Sri will keep the rules of the sport even better than Anglos let alone the badmaashi, jazbaati , gundagardi neighbours.

That's why he's such an amazing match referee as well :love:

Saw the highlights of Day 5. Pakistani front line pacers really gave it their all managing to bowl at 125-128 kph consistently

Pakistan can start poaching players from Bangladesh now that they are producing more fast bowlers :)

I just remember Shahid Afridi in his heydays

He used to smash these bowlers so hard

That's correct.

Afridi used to smash these bowlers. Afridi actually was a great batter in the late-90's and early-2000's.

Pakistan Test attack the pacers are still junk.

SSA Naseem have been off color and unfit rest are trundler brigade Khurram Shehzad Muhammad Ali both are rookies.

So yes Sourav Ganguly , Ian Harvey and Hondo would be a formidable attack for Pakistan, not to mention the batting cover Sourav would offer at No.3

Pakistan pace attack is rejuvenated. Haris Rauf is bowling like a dream and his form has rubbed off onto Shaheen I feel.
Now they need to carry this new found form into Test matches too.

Can never understand why mohd Sami was.not successful. Saw him at the start of his career and he seemed to have all the tools.

Pakistanis can only dream of having a tall broad shoulder built like a tank bowler like Umesh Yadav or Harshit Rana. Honestly their pacers look like badminton players which is an embarrassment.

Peak Ganguly and Hondo were indeed better than current Pakistan attack, but I would still take Shaheen and Naseem over both 6/10 times.