Your First Equipment [Bat, Pads, Gloves etc]

Cover Drive

Senior ODI Player
Runs
When I started playing cricket in 2009 I did not have any equipment and at that time I knew nothing literally nothing about bats, pads, gloves etc. So I called my Uncle in Pakistan who have played First Class decades ago in Gujranwala [when there used to be cricket there] so he sent me following stuff;

- Pakistan Masuri Helmet
- AM 2Good Batting Pads and Batting Gloves
- Plain Pakistani Bat with 'Babber Sher' stickers
- Youth/Boys Size Thigh Pad and Elbow Guard
- Youth/Boys size brief and a box

I was in deep love with Gray Nicolls brand at that time because I like Mohammad Yousuf and since he was sponsored by them I wanted Gray Nicolls as well so I sold above kit [except bat, thigh guard and elbow guard] and added more from my pocket and got following [in July 2009];

- Gray Nicolls Powerbow 3 Star Bat, Batting Pads and Batting Gloves.
- Yonker Helmet

01112009149.jpg

I still remember the first game I played I went at number 11 and used clubs/teammates gear [BDM pads, random companies gloves and SS Kashmiri Willow bat].

So I played with the above Gray Nicolls kit for a while then got CA 12000 Plus Pads from Pakistan [Mom brought along herself in September 2009]. After getting those pads and gloves I got CA 12000 Plus bat in November 2009 then bought MB Malik Bubber Sher for brother in December 2009 and then bought Gray Nicolls Nitro 5 Star pads [in February 2010][sold Powerbow 3 Star pads and gloves] and then journey goes on and on.

This was my kit on 29 November 2009

29112009307.jpg

**That Bubber Sher and Sher Amin was my club mates, not mine**

This was

Just thought I'd share this.

So how about you guys? How did you guys start and what did you guys start with?

Last edited:
OH the Yonker helmets used one for 4 years, wasn't too bad aswell
My first kit,
Kookaburra kahuna magic pads
county lethal gloves
yonker helmet
slazenger v900 fury(i think) or kahuna magic