Your starting XI for Pakistan's T20 World Cup group match against Afghanistan?

Firebat

As Pakistan progress into their third tough game in a row, would you stick with the same combination that won the first 2 matches? Or are the places of the likes of Hassan Ali or Hafeez at risk?

I doubt it that they will tinker with the winning combination. Hafeez is very effective spinner especially against left hand batsmen and Hassan Ali has been taking wickets, yes little bit expensive but he is a also very good striker of the ball. Batting goes deep and that is helping Pakistan so far. Malik I know for sure will be exposed against fast bowling against Aus, Eng, but his experience and the way he plays spinners could be enough to warrant his place. I would've preferred to see Haider in his position but after today's performance he has booked his place for another 2 decades.

Haider should come in for Fakhar, the latter struggles vs offspin while the former dominates it. And Afghanistan have two quality off-spin bowlers.

Probably won't happen though.

They will play the same team to win the match and then look to rotate to give others a game or two.

No point of making any experiments at this point in time. We have all areas covered in bowling. Pace, leg spin, off spin, slow left arm. Only thing missing was a Chinaman. Also it's a big risk to test out Dahani or Wasim Jr. against afghan power hitters. Wouldn't mind if they got a chance against Scotland or Namibia tho

As Pakistan progress into their third tough game in a row, would you stick with the same combination that won the first 2 matches? Or are the places of the likes of Hassan Ali or Hafeez at risk?

No changes in the team for me, but a few changes in the batting order:

Babar Azam (c)
Mohammad Rizwan (wk)
Shoaib Malik
Mohammad Hafeez
Fakhar Zaman
Asif Ali
Hasan Ali
Imad Wasim
Shadab Khan
Haris Rauf
Shaheen Shah Afridi

Hafeez and Malik should be utilized against the likes of Zadran and Zazai.

I would not risk bowling Imad Wasim in the powerplay if Zazai is on strike.

Furthermore, Shadab Khan's spell will be important. Afghanistan produces good spinners but their team does not play spin well, so we will need to strangle them.

We need to make changes. Bring in Wasim Jnr, if he performs well then it’ll put pressure on Hassan Ali and it may just wake him up.

Nawaz should come in for Imad.

Rizwan
Babar
Fakhar
Hafeez
Malik
Asif
Nawaz
Shadab
Wasim jnr
Haris
Shaheen

Haider should come in for Fakhar, the latter struggles vs offspin while the former dominates it. And Afghanistan have two quality off-spin bowlers.

Probably won't happen though.

Fakhar has been in scintillating form though and is one of the better hitters of spin in our side plus he's a gun fielder with a safe pair of hands.

We need to make changes. Bring in Wasim Jnr, if he performs well then it’ll put pressure on Hassan Ali and it may just wake him up.

Nawaz should come in for Imad.

Rizwan
Babar
Fakhar
Hafeez
Malik
Asif
Nawaz
Shadab
Wasim jnr
Haris
Shaheen

I don't agree with this.
On his dsy Hasan Ali is a match winner with the ball and bat and his energy on the field is a must. He contributed to yesterday's win with the prized run out of Williamson.
With that in mind he should get the next three games to get into too rhythm with the ball.
Besides he didn't bowl too poorly yesterday and the wickets should suit his shorter, skiddier style.

I would go with the same side.
Everyone is pretty much in form which is a rarity.
Both openers have runs under the belt... Fakhar scored a fifty in the warm up and has been in great form.
Malik and Asif came to the party yesterday and Hafeez looked a million dollars until a out of this world carch dismissed him.

Each bowler has performed too across the two games..

Dare I say it but we look like a team on form and when this is the case you don't go any disrupt the momentum

I don't agree with this.
On his dsy Hasan Ali is a match winner with the ball and bat and his energy on the field is a must. He contributed to yesterday's win with the prized run out of Williamson.
With that in mind he should get the next three games to get into too rhythm with the ball.
Besides he didn't bowl too poorly yesterday and the wickets should suit his shorter, skiddier style.

So, you’re saying Mohammad Wasim jnr isn’t good enough to replace Hassan Ali in T20’s?

How will we know if Hassan Ali is the best we’ve got if we don’t try others?

We’re essentially through to the SF, if Mohammad Wasim gets a couple of games in the Super 12 and doesn’t perform, then we can say that Hassan Ali should be picked for the SF, but if Mohammad Wasim performs well it’ll only be a good thing for the team.

I would go with the same side and get the 2 points

Only against Namibia or Scotland in a dead rubber , I would try other players and give some of the players a rest maybe the quicks need a rest and dahani wasim jnr and nawaz can given a rotation and some overs.

So, you’re saying Mohammad Wasim jnr isn’t good enough to replace Hassan Ali in T20’s?

We’re essentially through to the SF, if Mohammad Wasim gets a couple of games in the Super 12 and doesn’t perform, then we can say that Hassan Ali should be picked for the SF, but if Mohammad Wasim performs well it’ll only be a good thing for the team.

I think both Wasim Jr and Dahani are excellent BUT in Hasan Ali you have someone with 5 years experience of playing international cricket and someone who helped win us a trophy in 2017...
This is priceless.

He's also someone who has done really well since his come back from injury so I wouldn't want to be dropping him yet. Also a bowler needs rhythm so to test him now when he needs overs under his belt would be a mistake

If two bowlers were bowling pies then I would take the risk of dropping one and replacing him with a youngster but we're not in that situation.

Wasim Jr should play every T20 after this tournament

The only concern at the moment is Hassan Ali, but I'd be very surprised if they dropped him.

Has to be same XI surely.

The only concern at the moment is Hassan Ali, but I'd be very surprised if they dropped him.

Hassan Ali is the weak link in the bowling at the moment. If he plays, leaves little margin for another bowler like Shadab to have an off day.

Hassan has done enough to be persisted with. He's been inconsistent but it hasn't cost us a game yet. He just needs to get more balls in the right spot. I want to back him rather than replace.

Wasim can be tried against Scotland and Nimibia.

Babar wont do it, but Hassan Ali needs to be sat down for a game as a slight kick in the rear to get serious so that when semi's come, he doesnt become the weak link again. Also, gives M Wasim a game to keep him warm and ready, Pak must test bench against Scotland and Namibia.

Agree, Hasan has been poor and the weak link, needs to be dropped and lets see how Wasim does in his place , it would be hard for him to bowl worst than Hasan .

Even in UAE , sheer pace does natter, Hasan is a n easy target for the batters due to his lack of pace. Wondering how Husnain would have done here .

I would also give Hafeez one more game, if he does not make runs , he should be replaced by Haider. last time Hafeez scored some runs ? -------------------------- a very long time ago.

i think Hassan Ali is struggling with his run-up , resulting in bowling no-balls plus drop-down in pace. normally he bowls at 140 plus (when on song) . MWJ is a brilliant prospect but u can't risk him in the world cup one bad game and it can taint his whole career . he's too good to be another sami.

Wasim can be tried against Scotland and Nimibia.

Anyone can perform well against Scotland and Namibia. So, it won’t be fair on Hassan Ali if he gets dropped after playing the better teams and Wasim Jnr playing minnows. If Wasim Jnr plays well against minnows then he could replace Hassan Ali in the SF and that wouldn’t be fair because Hassan Ali would’ve done well against Scotland and Namibia.

That’s why we should play Wasim Jnr against a good team like Afghanistan.

Hassan has done enough to be persisted with. He's been inconsistent but it hasn't cost us a game yet. He just needs to get more balls in the right spot. I want to back him rather than replace.

Well said. This Wasim jnr is trash who can barely hold a bat.

Hasan Ali hasn’t been good but the solution isn’t to go and downgrade from him.

Some of you folks need to think more rationally.

Well said. This Wasim jnr is trash who can barely hold a bat.

Hasan Ali hasn’t been good but the solution isn’t to go and downgrade from him.

Some of you folks need to think more rationally.

plus we shouldn't forget he provided 2 very vital breakthroughs. no time to test/rotate in such a short tournament. i mean if India lose this Sunday its over before it begins for them :P

Anyone can perform well against Scotland and Namibia. So, it won’t be fair on Hassan Ali if he gets dropped after playing the better teams and Wasim Jnr playing minnows. If Wasim Jnr plays well against minnows then he could replace Hassan Ali in the SF and that wouldn’t be fair because Hassan Ali would’ve done well against Scotland and Namibia.

That’s why we should play Wasim Jnr against a good team like Afghanistan.

If I was to replace Hassan Ali with Wasim Jnr I would call it rested rather than dropped.for argument sake he plays against afganistan the chances of him being retained foe the semi final are slim.

plus we shouldn't forget he provided 2 very vital breakthroughs. no time to test/rotate in such a short tournament. i mean if India lose this Sunday its over before it begins for them :P

Exactly his wickets were key which is why it’s astonishing to see some posters making out that’s he’s some kind of lost cause. If he was to go without wickets then perhaps the discussion could be had. 2 games and the knives are already out for him. But even then look who he’s competing with. Wasim jnr seriously? You may as well bring back Anwar Ali.

Reminder that Hassan Ali's average in 9 T20Is in the UAE before this tournament was 18.33. Yes he has had a rocky start (yet still dismissed SKY and ran out Williamson), but we shouldn't forget what he can achieve in these conditions. He deserves to be persisted with.

i think Hassan Ali is struggling with his run-up , resulting in bowling no-balls plus drop-down in pace. normally he bowls at 140 plus (when on song) . MWJ is a brilliant prospect but u can't risk him in the world cup one bad game and it can taint his whole career . he's too good to be another sami.

Hassan Ali's problem and reason for such performance, whether some like it or not:

1. Hassan Ali chulbula type hai, likes to be the clown/joker/life of the party as evident on social media postings etc
2. Hassan Ali thought (should have been too) he was the leader of the bowling pack, but the young kids are outdoing him easy peasy esp on the pace front, waay ahead of him
3. Hassan Ali in his efforts to get some limelight (game 1 SSA got, game 2 HR got, & nothing wrong in desiring by HA) he is not playing within his strengths, he is clearly trying to punch way above his limits
4. Hassan Ali is completely under the scanner and criticzed, and is under pressure, that he shows a bright sprut but then makes a mess out of it.

Hence all this is culminating into him doing no balls, bhai you arent a 150 bowler, stick to your pace, mix things up, do what will work for you, you are apparently the easy target for opponents to release pressure on (heck any other bowler would have been), so come from that context and plan your game accordingly, go with the flow of game but know how you have to out do the batsman who is looking at you as a scoring opportunity. However, so far he isnt getting this, and he will continue to struggle until he realizes.

My two cents.

Exactly his wickets were key which is why it’s astonishing to see some posters making out that’s he’s some kind of lost cause. If he was to go without wickets then perhaps the discussion could be had. 2 games and the knives are already out for him. But even then look who he’s competing with. Wasim jnr seriously? You may as well bring back Anwar Ali.
MSJ is a brilliant bowler but under cooked at this point in time. his time will come but at the minute he's a squad member at best. hasana ali can hit , excellent fielder and is good around cricketer.

Hassan Ali's problem and reason for such performance, whether some like it or not:

1. Hassan Ali chulbula type hai, likes to be the clown/joker/life of the party as evident on social media postings etc
2. Hassan Ali thought (should have been too) he was the leader of the bowling pack, but the young kids are outdoing him easy peasy esp on the pace front, waay ahead of him
3. Hassan Ali in his efforts to get some limelight (game 1 SSA got, game 2 HR got, & nothing wrong in desiring by HA) he is not playing within his strengths, he is clearly trying to punch way above his limits
4. Hassan Ali is completely under the scanner and criticzed, and is under pressure, that he shows a bright sprut but then makes a mess out of it.

Hence all this is culminating into him doing no balls, bhai you arent a 150 bowler, stick to your pace, mix things up, do what will work for you, you are apparently the easy target for opponents to release pressure on (heck any other bowler would have been), so come from that context and plan your game accordingly, go with the flow of game but know how you have to out do the batsman who is looking at you as a scoring opportunity. However, so far he isnt getting this, and he will continue to struggle until he realizes.

My two cents.
totally agree his bit '' shoda '' character. but he's a valuable cricketer. everyone is not like baber azam . am sure he will come good at the later stages of the tournament . hes performance in Ct17 suggests he can perform in big games and hes wicket-taker.

Hasan is an experienced bowler. He will bounce back Inshallah, he can also contribute with a quick 15-20 down the order which is invaluable in a T20.

totally agree his bit '' shoda '' character. but he's a valuable cricketer. everyone is not like baber azam . am sure he will come good at the later stages of the tournament . hes performance in Ct17 suggests he can perform in big games and hes wicket-taker.

no doubt, and thats why he needs a wake up call, or he will cost us matches, we would rather he contributes, the semi and final wont be a walk in the park...

Same XI as the previous two games, no need to tinker a winning combination. We have all bases covered in this starting 11, just got to back them and In Sha Allah they will bring home the cup.

Isn't wasim junior the one who can't run up properly to bowl
His run up is allover the place, faheem ashraf probably would have been a better option

Useless comments on this thread, no need to change the team just change the batting order. Hafeez should come One down and let Fakhar face Fast bowlers

Hassan Ali did make that Run out happen so should be in team unless we lose a match then Wasim Jr can be tried.

Same side

I think Hassan Ali will turn up tomorrow with the ball