Zaheer Khan retires from international cricket

Strike Rate

Left-arm pacer Zaheer Khan, one of India’s best fast bowlers, is set to announce his retirement from all forms of international cricket on Thursday.

The 37-year-old veteran, who has played 92 Test matches, 200 ODIs and 17 T20 Internationals, has been in and out of the team in the last three to four years due to recurring injuries which a took a toll on his body.

In 92 Test matches, Khan has taken 311 wickets and is the fourth-highest wicket-taker in the longer version amongst Indians, after Anil Kumble (619), Kapil Dev (434) and Harbhajan Singh (417). He played a major role in India’s 2011 ICC World Cup triumph, taking 21 wickets in the tournament.

In his 200 One-Day appearances, the left-armer bagged 282 scalps at an average of 29.43 and an economy rate of 4.93, including one five-wicket haul and seven four-wicket spells. Khan took 17 wickets in T20s, with a four-wicket haul his best performance in the shortest format.

Khan made his Test debut against Bangladesh at Dhaka in November 2000, while his ODI debut was against Kenya in Nairobi, a month earlier. His last Test match for Team India was against New Zealand at Wellington in February last year, and he played his last T20 and ODI for India three years ago.

According to sources, Khan called up IPL chairman and senior BCCI functionary Rajeev Shukla to intimate his decision to hang his boots.

“Zaheer khan to announce his retirement today My best wishes to him for post retirement carrier (sic),” Shukla tweeted.

http://www.hindustantimes.com/crick...icket-today/story-triItHQ803WJQYlxcdrRaN.html

India's 3rd greatest pacer ever.

2nd greatest in his peak or maybe joint 1st in his peak.

Instrumental in India reaching and staying at Test No 1 and our WC 2011 win (without Zaheer heading our bowling, it wouldn't have been possible).

Take a bow, sir.

We will miss you.

Most international wickets by left arm bowlers:

916 Wasim
761 Vaas
705 Vettori
610 Zaheer
583 Johnson

Sad but overdue Zaheer was a fine seamer for india and played a big part in many of their memorable victories

India's 3rd greatest pacer ever.

2nd greatest in his peak or maybe joint 1st in his peak.

Instrumental in India reaching and staying at Test No 1 and our WC 2011 win (without Zaheer heading our bowling, it wouldn't have been possible).

Take a bow, sir.

We will miss you.

[MENTION=134809]sensible-indian-fan[/MENTION] so who is the number 1? the one mentioned in your sig? :yk

The number 1 is Kapil Dev.

Its unfair on bowlers to bring Ishant Sharma into the mix just like its unfair to bring Don in.

Those 2 aren't humans so they don't count. :ibutt

The number 1 is Kapil Dev.

Its unfair on bowlers to bring Ishant Sharma into the mix just like its unfair to bring Don in.

Those 2 aren't humans so they don't count. :ibutt

oh i see poor sachin and kapil spent half of their life playing cricket and in the end don ishant and don bradman got the trophies #LifeisCruel

Great bowler at his peak and very effective. No surprise that India's best ever period coincided with his best ever period.

Was fun to watch too which is rare for Indian pacers. (unless you derive some sadistic pleasure from phainty)

Good bowler, but has been irrelevant for years now so this official retirement means nothing.

This reminds me of the fact that MoYo is yet to announce his retirement formally.

The best left arm bowler India has ever produced. Brilliant death overs bowler. Have a good life

My favourite Indian fast bowler. He was instrumental in bringing India to World no.1 status in Test. His contribution in 2011 WC was immense. I will never forget his toe-cruiser to strauss in that WC, which allowed India to bounce back into that game.

Should have retired earlier..

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

Very effective bowler. Was seriously quick when he was young. Remember him clocking 145 plus in 2003 world cup. First time I saw him was during a ranji trophy game, bowling really fast, abusing batsmen, lol. Umpire had to calm him down and I thought this guy should have been playing for India. Within few months he played under Sourav's captaincy and he remained the no.1 bowler for a long time.

Will always remember him for his aggression when he was young and for his skills in later part of his career.

Champion cricketer.

My favourite Indian fast bowler. He was instrumental in bringing India to World no.1 status in Test. His contribution in 2011 WC was immense. I will never forget his toe-cruiser to strauss in that WC, which allowed India to bounce back into that game.

dunno why but I sort of LOLed.

My all time favorite Indian bowler.He and Sachin were the reason I started watching cricket.Good luck to him.

Why don't folks like Sehwag also announce their international retirement? Will allow us fans to put a line under their careers rather than remember them fading away over time.

Personally speaking from a talent point of view javagal Srinath was India second best fast bowler. He was just born in the wrong era. Could have flourished under latter day Ganguly and Dhoni and maybe even kohli. Call it my bias towards true fast bowlers.

IPL 9 will be his last domestic tournament.

• Twitter447e5d5_jpg.jpg
    Twitter447e5d5_jpg.jpg
    213.6 KB · Views: 525
  • Twitterbab20a0_jpg.jpg
    Twitterbab20a0_jpg.jpg
    252.9 KB · Views: 523
Personally speaking from a talent point of view javagal Srinath was India second best fast bowler. He was just born in the wrong era. Could have flourished under latter day Ganguly and Dhoni and maybe even kohli. Call it my bias towards true fast bowlers.
Easily. Srinath was a better bowler than Zak. But Zak was instrumental in India's world cup win in 2011 as Kapil was in 83. Unfortunate for Srinath, he does not have a world cup to go along. In 2003 WC Srinath was bowling superbly even in his last leg of his career but then Australia was just too good in the final.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

Zaheer was pretty good in guiding India's bowlers whilst he was part of the XI.

Can do a lot worse than hire him as a bowling coach.

I remember when he bowled one to Steve Waugh in 1st or 2nd match at the Champions trophy in 2000 at Nairobi. Thats when I realised we might a have a great in the making. Didn't accomplish as much as he could, but still helped us to many memorable trophies and the rank no.1

Did he even need to announce retirement considering he has no place in the Indian team anyways

I thought he'd already retired. Anyway, a top bowler especially during death overs and definitely one of India's finest fast bowlers, was a pivotal part of that Ganguly team of the early 2000s and then later on under Dhoni to win the World Cup in 2011.

When was the last time Zak played for India.was a fine bowler in his peak for India 2007-2011. Instrumental in India's away success before the 8-0. Was very good on Indian tracks with his reverse swing. If he emphasised more on fitness could have played for longer.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Sehwag and Zaheer were the greatest assets in Indian test team when we became the best in the world around 2009-2011 period. Zaheer wasn't a show stopper like Akhtar or Styen but at his peak he was a quality performer on all surfaces. Skill wise he wasn't second to anyone. Possessed every weapon. If Zaheer learnt the swing artistry early in his career he could have been a nightmare. Unfortunately he learnt the skills when his pace was gone.

Great pacer by Indian standards. I remember him being as good as Afridi during the 2011 WC and contributing heavily to India's second World Cup victory. Will be missed.

Ah "By Indian Standards". The arrogance of Pakistan fans is laughable. Zak will get into all Pak playing XI anyday since 2003 WC after Wasim/Waqar retired.

No need to get so defensive in every single thread. Offer your congrats and move along.

One of the best Indian bowlers. Could swing the ball both ways. Wish he had more pace.

We don't need him, not in the past not now nor in future. But India still needs him :)

lol @ criteria set to post 2003 for an all time pak X1 :)) Why so defensive bro?

even after 2003 we got Asif/Amir and Shoaib wasn't done and dusted.

lol @ criteria set to post 2003 for an all time pak X1 :)) Why so defensive bro?

even after 2003 we got Asif/Amir and Shoaib wasn't done and dusted.

Give credit where it's due, Zaheer would definitely make Pakistan's All-time, Post-2003, Pre-2008, greatest XI as the second pacer.

Terrific bowler.

Zaheer was quality by any standards, but not better than Akhtar and certainly not better than Asif.

When did I say "All time pak XI"?

You said "Zak will get into all Pak playing XI" and than you added since 2003 but tell me honestly how exactly an all time 11 can have a criteria of starting from a specific date or a range of 12 years?

The most intelligent Indian pacer I've seen. Remember how he made Smith his bunny for a good while. India needs to hire him as bowling coach ASAP.

Congratulations on a great career, ZAK.

You said "Zak will get into all Pak playing XI" and than you added since 2003 but tell me honestly how exactly an all time 11 can have a criteria of starting from a specific date or a range of 12 years?
What I mean is that after W's retired, Zaheer Khan will easily walk into Pak playing XI since. He was a quality bowler, not only by "Indian Standards" as my good friend Bilal7 said. I would take Zaheer Khan over most of the fast bowlers Pak produced since 2003.

"Great pacer by Indian standards" is what I said. You got offended for no reason. Chill, friend.

I remember when he bowled one to Steve Waugh in 1st or 2nd match at the Champions trophy in 2000 at Nairobi. Thats when I realised we might a have a great in the making. Didn't accomplish as much as he could, but still helped us to many memorable trophies and the rank no.1
Still remember that wicket. Zaheer just got Waugh clean bowled clean bowled with real fast inswinging delivery. That game I think was also the debut of Yuvi who struck swashbuckling half century showing his class.

Farewell Zak. Albeit a bit late. You were missed in England & Aus in 2011 and right there we knew that your end is nigh! You were the best and the most skillful Indian bowler I have seen. Hope to see you in a mentoring role.

p.s. Taking out Hussey in the 2011 WC QF, still remains a fond memory. That was a crucial moment and Hussey could have taken Aus home.

Farewell Zak. Albeit a bit late. You were missed in England & Aus in 2011 and right there we knew that your end is nigh! You were the best and the most skillful Indian bowler I have seen. Hope to see you in a mentoring role.

p.s. Taking out Hussey in the 2011 WC QF, still remains a fond memory. That was a crucial moment and Hussey could have taken Aus home.

Yeah....most important Zaheer moment in WC. Hussey would have ensured Aus won the game. Only those who watched the match ball by ball would know the impact of the wicket. ;-)

Very good bowler , one of the very best of india's pace attack. Farewell.

VVS on Zaheer:

"I think because of Zaheer's vast knowledge and experience and more importantly his communication skills, he will prove to be an excellent bowling coach, who can help in the development of young fast bowlers. His reading of the game is probably one of the best I have seen. I am sure that he will contribute immensely he will contribute in the growth of fast bowlers in the country."

"I would say that a lot wickets of other fast bowlers, who have played for India along with Zaheer. They have to give credit to him for some of the wickets that they took. He was fantastic with young fast bowlers."

"I would like to congratulate Zaheer for his outstanding career. For me his greatness was not only that he was skillful but he had the ability to plan a dismissal. His greatness lay in the fact that he became a world class performer despite not having great facilities at the start of his career," said Laxman.

"Having normal background and coming from a small town like Shrirampur and going through a tough time in Mumbai but still persevering and was determined to play at highest level so he is an inspiration for a lot of youngsters."

""Since 2001, I became very close with Zaheer. He was my roommate when I played 281 knock against Australia at Eden. I still remember him saying that it's an opportunity for me to do something special for the country before the start of second innings. He is one of the closest friend I have got In my life."

Yeah....most important Zaheer moment in WC. Hussey would have ensured Aus won the game. Only those who watched the match ball by ball would know the impact of the wicket. ;-)

I think it is the second most important moment. The most important moment was the brain fade he had in 2003 WC final when he started sledging Hayden and Gilly. He was a different bowler after that spell. Before that, perhaps he was one of the best bowlers in the tournament.

Coming back to the Hussey wicket, i think it was the early stages of his 'knuckle ball' and boy did he bamboozle Hussey. Such a key moment.

Having said that a couple of other key Zaheer contributions have to be
1. The opening spell vs SL in the WC final 2011. I thought he was exceptional.
2. The entire Champions Trophy in 2002 (which we shared with SL). I thought he was the best bowler of the tournament.
3. Winning us the Trentbridge test in 2007 (and thus the series).
4. Hitting Olonga for 4 consecutive sixes.

There are more, but these popped up instantly.

I think it is the second most important moment. The most important moment was the brain fade he had in 2003 WC final when he started sledging Hayden and Gilly. He was a different bowler after that spell. Before that, perhaps he was one of the best bowlers in the tournament.

Coming back to the Hussey wicket, i think it was the early stages of his 'knuckle ball' and boy did he bamboozle Hussey. Such a key moment.

Having said that a couple of other key Zaheer contributions have to be
1. The opening spell vs SL in the WC final 2011. I thought he was exceptional.
2. The entire Champions Trophy in 2002 (which we shared with SL). I thought he was the best bowler of the tournament.
3. Winning us the Trentbridge test in 2007 (and thus the series).
4. Hitting Olonga for 4 consecutive sixes.

There are more, but these popped up instantly.

I meant Zaheer moment in 2011 WC. ;-)

VVS on Zaheer:

Yeah old pals got each other's back. some kind words by VVS. It would be a mistake to appoint Zak as Team India bowling coach or consultant. He should be involved at grass roots level, which is what India needs ATM.

I meant Zaheer moment in 2011 WC. ;-)

;-). Still sore with him reg 2003 goof up. There was no way we were defating the Aussies, but that plan backfired so badly that we did not have a chance to come back.

But all good with Zaheer. I got a unique sense of happiness when he used to run in and bowl those clever variations. Always had a soft corner for him.

;-). Still sore with him reg 2003 goof up. There was no way we were defating the Aussies, but that plan backfired so badly that we did not have a chance to come back.

But all good with Zaheer. I got a unique sense of happiness when he used to run in and bowl those clever variations. Always had a soft corner for him.
To be fair any team would have been massacred by that Aussie team so can't blame anyone.

India lost twice to Aus that World Cup and both times they were destroyed. Whereas against every other team they won every game and all by some ease. They were that far ahead.

This is why in a different thread I was saying once that 2003 WC India were better than 2011 WC India and Ganguly captained better than Dhoni and that too in different conditions. It was Gangulys bad luck that he ran into arguably the greatest ODI squad ever assembled.

His body ravaged by injuries, Zaheer Khan, one of India's greatest fast bowlers, on Thursday bid adieu to international cricket, admitting that he could no longer handle the rigours of the game.

"As I was training for the upcoming season, it dawned on me that my shoulder may not last the rigours of bowling nearly 18 overs a day, and that's when I knew it was time," Zaheer said in an elaborate statement.

"With immediate effect I bid adieu to my career in international cricket. I look forward to signing off my last season in domestic cricket at the conclusion of the Indian Premier League season 9," he said.

The 37-year-old left-arm pacer, who played 92 Tests, 200 ODIs and 17 T20 Internationals, has been in and out of the team in the last three to four years due to recurrent injuries which a took a toll on his body.

Zaheer, who is contracted with Delhi Daredevils in the IPL, will end his domestic career next year with the event's ninth edition.

In Tests, Zaheer has taken 311 wickets and is fourth highest wicket-taker in longer version amongst Indians after Anil Kumble (619), Kapil Dev (434) and Harbhajan Singh (417). He picked 282 wickets in ODIs besides 17 scalps from as many T20Is.

He played a major role in India's 2011 World Cup triumph with 21 wickets in the tournament.

"The toughest call in a cricketing career is when one has to walk away from the game itself. You almost will yourself and want to push that few, extra miles but then the body, after nearly two decades, decides not to respond," Zaheer said in the statement.

Zaheer said being part of the 2011 World Cup winning team was the most cherished moment of his career. "My greatest cricketing moment was lifting the World Cup as part of Team India and creating history. We played as a top team and being part of the journey of India as a top ODI side was very fulfilling," he said.

He said he would try and give back to the game although he hasn't yet decided how. "'Zak is bak' is perhaps a headline that may come my way again as I have every intention of giving back to this game and our wonderful country which gave this kid from Shrirampur the opportunity to chase and live his dream," he said.

Recalling his journey, Zaheer said he was grateful to all his coaches and captains for having faith in his abilities. "Leading upto my debut for India in 2000, I got crucial opportunities with people backing me at different and difficult stages and I was able to contribute to Indian cricket and learn many things along the way.

"For those who supported me, especially in the BCCI, Baroda Cricket Association and Mumbai Cricket Association, I am grateful for the encouragement. It has been a privilege to be a part of various teams during my career including the Indian cricket team, Baroda, Mumbai, Worcestershire (critical to my comeback in the national team in 2007), Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Delhi Daredevils.

"Today I have many many individuals to thank -- from physios, trainers, support staff, colleagues, captains, coaches selectors, senior officials, administrators in various associations, groundsmen, team management, as also team owners. Kindly pardon me for my inability to name each one of you but that does not take away from the deep sense of gratitude I have for your support in allowing me to live my dream," he added.

Zaheer also thanked his family, team-mates and fans for helping him become a better cricketer. "My colleagues, who I shared dressing room pranks, have over the years become some of my closest friends. It has been a pleasure to play alongside them as each added a different perspective. I have enjoyed listening to them as also contributing in a small way to their growth," he said.

"I can't thank my parents enough for understanding me and allowing me to chase my dream. My elder brother, Zeeshan, who dutifully reminded me that, 'my job wasn't finished with my India debut, but I needed to make every game count'. My younger brother, Anees, has shouldered a lot of pressure which allowed me the freedom to enjoy on the cricket field," he added.

"To those millions of fans and well wishers of Indian cricket who've watched and encouraged me over the years, I trust you know that I was always trying and never gave up."

In the end, Zaheer expressed his gratitude towards the game. "Cricket has been my only life over the past two decades and is in fact that the only thing I know well. Cricket has made me the individual I am, giving me everything in life and much more. I walk away with fantastic memories, life defining experiences and great friendships. My mother summarised it well in reaction to my decision to retire, 'Theek hein, bahut accha safar tha hamara' (It's ok, our journey has been very good)," he said.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...-available-for-IPL-9/articleshow/49377198.cms

The best fast bowler India ever produced was Srinath, not Zaheer and not Kapil.

I am sorry but I dont Zaheer highly at all. He had a brief high towards the end of his career after suffering phainty most of his career all over the world. His brief high makes his overall career look good but it cannot hide the fact that he was consistently below standard for most of it.

Don't think anyone is arguing otherwise. Just points to a paucity of quality Indian pacers.

His stats are pretty mediocre and the proof is there that he was certainly not ATG or anything.

Imo he would struggle to get into Asia's top 10 fast bowlers

To be fair any team would have been massacred by that Aussie team so can't blame anyone.

India lost twice to Aus that World Cup and both times they were destroyed. Whereas against every other team they won every game and all by some ease. They were that far ahead.

This is why in a different thread I was saying once that 2003 WC India were better than 2011 WC India and Ganguly captained better than Dhoni and that too in different conditions. It was Gangulys bad luck that he ran into arguably the greatest ODI squad ever assembled.
True that. That Aussie team was something else. Only if Pak had managed to defeat them in the league game, after having them four or 5 down for nothing (where Symonds scored), may be just may be they might have played with a different combination and who knows other teams may have had a chance to capitalise. But all in all, that team, even without warne was invincible.

Also agree reg Team India performance in 2003 WC being better than 2011. We had a superb combination and everyone was hitting their peaks.

I rate Zaheer higher than guys like for example, Brett Lee

For a period of 3-4 years, he was truly world class. From 07-2010, the 3 best in the world were Steyn, Anderson and Zaheer. Without him, we would not have won the world cup or got to no.1 in tests. Shame he declined a lot, and didn't take his fitness seriously or he could've been a great bowler. Regardless, very, very good bowler. Would've averaged far lower if he'd bowled in England, which suited him perfectly.

How unnecessary. No one is arguing anything about any of what you're saying.

Ashish nehra for me would always be the best indian fast bowler i have seen. Zaheer comes second. Both good bowlers and served their team well. :nehra

Don't think anyone is arguing otherwise. Just points to a paucity of quality Indian pacers.

His stats are pretty mediocre and the proof is there that he was certainly not ATG or anything.

Imo he would struggle to get into Asia's top 10 fast bowlers

Sanga disagrees :P

Zaheer Khan retires from International Cricket, will take part in IPL 9

With Zaheer Khan now too having retired, slowly the era of that brilliant ODI team of India is coming an end... Well, it has already ended with all the new youngsters that have replaced everyone from that team, except Dhoni of course, but somehow his retirement made me think about it.

Zaheer never was a world-beater but he is one great example of the value of experience. The more cricket he played the better he got, he improved with every game. After impressing in his first few games, he sort of regressed and was an okay-ish bowler till 2005, but then I recall him having a county stint in England somewhere around that period and he returned as an incredibly improved bowler. It is from then on that we more witnessed him out-thinking batsmen and working them out.

Like many others, my lasting memory of Zaheer has to be that Trent Bridge Test from 2007 where that jelly beans incident motivated him to bowl great passion, and then what I remember even more fondly was his bowling in the World Cup 2011. He played an integral part in India´s victory and was flawless throughout except the last couple of overs in the final. I have rarely seen a bowler have such great success with the knuckle ball that he bowled in every game, mostly in his second spell around the 27th over. He pretty much guaranteed Dhoni a wicket every time he brought him back into the start. For that tournament he took his skills to a whole new level, which to an extent surprised me really; and what surprised me even more was discovering the other day that he is in fact the fifth highest wicket-taker in the history of world cups. I never quite expected this.

All in all, it was a career hit by injuries. People will ponder what he could have been had he been a fitter lad than he was. All the best to him of course and I hope he signs off with a great last IPL season the next year.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Happy birthday Zak ... Hope you smash it out of the park like I did here &#55358;&#56618;&#55357;&#56834;❤️❤️ <a href="https://twitter.com/ImZaheer?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ImZaheer</a> <a href="https://t.co/XghW5UHlBy">pic.twitter.com/XghW5UHlBy</a></p>— hardik pandya (@hardikpandya7) <a href="https://twitter.com/hardikpandya7/status/1181187448430219264?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 7, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Oh really Pandya Ji? Well Zaheer has his own experience of smashing bowlers out of the park. Watch his 4 consecutive sixes on the bowling of Henry Olonga for a start. You can only dream of doing that to a fast bowler in an international match. :inti

How can someone disrespect to a legend who won a worldcup?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Hahahaha....thank you for the wishes <a href="https://twitter.com/hardikpandya7?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@hardikpandya7</a> my batting skills can never be as good as yours but the birthday was as good as the next delivery you faced from me in this match &#55357;&#56841; <a href="https://t.co/anhQdrUBN7">https://t.co/anhQdrUBN7</a></p>— zaheer khan (@ImZaheer) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImZaheer/status/1181564971173306369?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 8, 2019</a></blockquote>

‘Money can’t buy class’: Fans slam Hardik Pandya for his cheeky birthday wish for Zaheer Khan

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...zaheer-khan/story-88yo6I5pbbNHZM5ra8MbGM.html

India cricketer Hardik Pandya invited wrath of fans after putting up a distasteful birthday wish to former fast bowling great Zaheer Khan. The 2011 World Cup winning pacer turned 41 on Monday and Hardik wished the former pacer by uploading video of him hitting a six off Zaheer during a domestic competition. Hardik’s post read: “Happy birthday Zak ... Hope you smash it out of the park like I did there.”
This cheeky birthday wish didn’t go down well with netizens and they slammed Hardik for his comment. The star India all-rounder was bombarded with negative comments on social media.

If they have that level of understanding, then what's the issue?

Among even my colleagues, we have posted worse but its because its all are a part of fun. After pulling legs, at the end of the say, we will be sitting in a bar drinking and cheering for his happy life.

Context matters.

If they have that level of understanding, then what's the issue?

Among even my colleagues, we have posted worse but its because its all are a part of fun. After pulling legs, at the end of the say, we will be sitting in a bar drinking and cheering for his happy life.

Context matters.
Knowing his arrogant past (his behavior with Vijay Shankar) i see only one context here. HE is just being disrespectful here. I bet Zak would have enjoyed the video of him winning a match more than the video him being slogged by Pandya.