‘Act of disloyalty’: Haryana minister Anil Vij targets Sidhu for attending Imran Khan’s swearing-in

Haryana Health Minister Anil Vij on Saturday slammed cricketer-turned-politician and Punjab minister Navjot Singh Sidhu for attending the swearing-in ceremony of Pakistan’s newly elected Prime Minister and former cricketer Imran Khan in Islamabad. Terming it an “anti-national” step, Vij said that such an “act of disloyalty” towards India “will not be endorsed by any patriotic citizen” of the country.

“The Union government has announced a seven-day national mourning following the death of former prime minister Vajpayee, but Sidhu preferred to join the swearing-in ceremony of Khan in Pakistan, ignoring the sentimental and grieved occasion of his country,” Vij said.

The health minister of Haryana appealed to the Punjab chief minister to take up the matter seriously and initiate “strict action” against Sidhu.

Imran Khan, who captained the cricket team of Pakistan to World Cup glory in 1992, had invited some of his former teammates and friends for the oath-taking ceremony. Sidhu, who wore a dark blue suit and a purple turban, was among the special guests present at the occasion, which was being held at the Aiwan-e-Sadr (the President House) in Islamabad on Saturday.

Vij further said that Sidhu beyond doubt has friendly relations with Khan but “friendship was not bigger than the country”.

He criticised Sidhu for “enjoying Khan’s celebration” in Islamabad, while most of the leaders of the ruling, as well as opposition parties, were present in Delhi to pay their tributes to late BJP leader Atal Bihari Vajpayee.

https://indianexpress.com/article/i...ing-imran-khans-swearing-in-pakistan-5313359/

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Send him to pakistan! Oh wait... <a href="https://t.co/FPtZGwopsQ">https://t.co/FPtZGwopsQ</a></p>— Zarrar Khuhro (@ZarrarKhuhro) <a href="https://twitter.com/ZarrarKhuhro/status/1030703445764984832?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 18, 2018</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Islamabad: Navjot Singh Sidhu was seated next to President of PoK Masood Khan at Imran Khan's oath ceremony. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Pakistan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Pakistan</a> <a href="https://t.co/MPrBQ9XtXD">pic.twitter.com/MPrBQ9XtXD</a></p>— ANI (@ANI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ANI/status/1030691516958658561?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 18, 2018</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Laanat Sidhu saab, laanat. You have been deliberately made to sit next to PoK President...and you did not object. Kis muh say apnay mulk kay logon ko javaab dogey? <a href="https://t.co/3rb1QGmnMP">https://t.co/3rb1QGmnMP</a></p>— Smita Prakash (@smitaprakash) <a href="https://twitter.com/smitaprakash/status/1030697837955174400?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 18, 2018</a></blockquote>

Had no idea who the President of AJK was before today. Thanks guys.

Sidhu reminds me of some people who don't get respect or importance in india, so they become pro pakistani so that pakistanis give them importance. aye watan kay gaddar, tujh pay laanat beshumar.

Sidhu did everything by the book first obtaining governmental clearance before attending. If he is that unimportant in India then what are these people crying about? I didn't know attending any function in your personal capacity would make you a traitor. Choosing IK's ceremony over Vajpayee's funeral is a personal decision.

Sidhu reminds me of some people who don't get respect or importance in india, so they become pro pakistani so that pakistanis give them importance. aye watan kay gaddar, tujh pay laanat beshumar.

On the one Indians want to tell the world they want peace but cant accept an Ind coming to PK on such an important occssion. Why dont you close your embassy from Pakistan and get lost. We dont need you and never have.

Whats your problem ? same applies to most of the people from your country , why are you guys are so pro-India ?

Sidhu did everything by the book first obtaining governmental clearance before attending. If he is that unimportant in India then what are these people crying about? I didn't know attending any function in your personal capacity would make you a traitor. Choosing IK's ceremony over Vajpayee's funeral is a personal decision.

He won't have chosen IK's ceremony over Vajpayee's funeral, he probably committed before the death of the former PM. In any case, it's not like Sidhu is some dignitary who was expected to be present at the funeral, this Haryana Health Minister only picked up on this because Indian media broadcast the pictures from IK's swearing in ceremony. Perhaps he should have kept his gaze downcast in reverence to the deceased instead of keeping one crafty eye on the new Pakistani PM.

More likely Minister to gain points by highlighting this non-issue to strengthen his position by appeasing the extremists of India. Minister saw an opportunity and he grabbed it.

He won't have chosen IK's ceremony over Vajpayee's funeral, he probably committed before the death of the former PM. In any case, it's not like Sidhu is some dignitary who was expected to be present at the funeral, this Haryana Health Minister only picked up on this because Indian media broadcast the pictures from IK's swearing in ceremony. Perhaps he should have kept his gaze downcast in reverence to the deceased instead of keeping one crafty eye on the new Pakistani PM.

You want Sidhu to keep crying over Vajpayee's death? Well, even if he had committed prior to his death he reserved the right to change his mind but chose not to. Why pick out Sidhu when many Indian celebrities didn't attend the former Indian PM's last rights? Sidhu is just an easy target for Indian people at this moment when in reality they are just upset over IK being the PM. Exactly, if Sidhu doesn't matter to India then they should get over him choosing to come to Pakistan.

Pakistan is no where near as big as India, but we have over a 1000 politicians serving in the government at either the federal or provincial level. India with their size and provinces have no doubt many move politicians. If one local politician isn't present at the funeral, that really isn't a big deal

This is just the typical anti-Pakistan sentiment. But I'll be interested to see how the public responds. I wouldn't be surprised to see if Sidhu actually scores some PR points and raises his profile

What’s makes you a pro Pakistani?

Attending Pakistani functions? Mingling with Pakistani community? Being a regular poster on a Pakistani forum where Pakistanis regularly rip On India and the Indian government? 😉

What’s makes you a pro Pakistani?

Attending Pakistani functions? Mingling with Pakistani community? Being a regular poster on a Pakistani forum where Pakistanis regularly rip On India and the Indian government? &#55357;&#56841;

don't tax your brains too much. pro pakistan means having good things to say about pakistan. You can never catch me doing that.

So why do you come here then? Seems to me you spend 16 hours a day here.. if it’s not because your a closet Pakistani supporter, I don’t know what to say.. it’s ok if you admit it you love Pakistan and Pakistanis... nobody is judging!! 😉

So why do you come here then? Seems to me you spend 16 hours a day here.. if it’s not because your a closet Pakistani supporter, I don’t know what to say.. it’s ok if you admit it you love Pakistan and Pakistanis... nobody is judging!! &#55357;&#56841;

Let's not discuss each other and keep to the topic. This guy siddhu who is hungry for importance and will go to any place if invited and promised attention has put his own ego above the pride of his nation. The nation which gave you everything, you gave back zillat and ruswai in return? Hanging my head in shame that we keep producing such people.

Have come to really admire Sidhu in the last few days, seems like a sincere and genuine person. Also refreshing to see an Indian who's not a hatemonger for a change.

Let's not discuss each other and keep to the topic. This guy siddhu who is hungry for importance and will go to any place if invited and promised attention has put his own ego above the pride of his nation. The nation which gave you everything, you gave back zillat and ruswai in return? Hanging my head in shame that we keep producing such people.

I think it’s important to discuss your habits here as well because they are very much relevant to the topic at hand.. I don’t believe anything Sidhu or you do here, which is pretty much the same thing, socializing and fraternizing with your Pakistani friends, is somehow betraying your country unless you are selling some state secrets.. so if you should expect sidhu to hang his head in shame, you should as well.... just saying.. 😜

Massive respect for Sidhu to come to Pakistan and be so gracious during his time hear, despite the backlash he will face from some ignorant idiots back home. I honestly believe most Indians will appreciate his gesture too, but there's always the few idiots to ruin it for everyone else.

When pmo cleared siddhu then who the hell is this guy to question siddhu's loyalty.
If I am not wrong this is the same guy who donated money to baba ram rahim & also said plenty of nonsense in the past about women safety,dressing rules etc

When pmo cleared siddhu then who the hell is this guy to question siddhu's loyalty.
If I am not wrong this is the same guy who donated money to baba ram rahim & also said plenty of nonsense in the past about women safety,dressing rules etc

Still better than being a homicider.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/207969-sidhu-responds

ISLAMABAD: Navjot Singh Sidhu, a former Indian cricketer who travelled to Pakistan a day prior to attend Prime Minister Imran Khan's oath-taking ceremony as a guest, rebuffed Indian hardliners' criticism over his tour by commenting on how much love and respect he received from Pakistanis.

"Pakistanis have given me infinite respect," Sidhu said Saturday night while addressing media here in the city. "The kind of love and affection that I have got from here, it's… it's unbelievable!

"I'm very happy at Pakistanis' hospitality," he stated, adding that Khan desired peaceful relations with India, which is why New Delhi should also take a step forward to friendly relations with Islamabad.

The Indian sportsman, who has been talking about peace and love ever since he touched down in Islamabad, has been facing a vicious maligning campaign from his country's hardliners, who have resorted to staging protests and burning his effigies.

Indian hardliners protest Navjot Sidhu’s arrival in Pakistan

Demonstrations had erupted in multiple Indian cities, including Ludhiana.

When a right-leaning faction of the Indian media went as far as to label him a "traitor", Kapil Dev, a former captain of the Indian cricket team, stood up in Sidhu's defence and support, saying he had done nothing wrong by going to Pakistan or embracing COAS Gen Qamar Jawed Bajwa.

In addition, Indian journalists Rajdeep Sardesai and Aziz Hasan Rizvi also voiced their support for Sidhu and his tour of Pakistan, highlighting that an Indian public figure participating as a guest in the oath-taking ceremony of a Pakistani premier was a "positive step".

"Well done [Navjot Singh Sidhu]: good to see an Indian public figure rise above the hate mongering and attend [Imran Khan's] swearing in," Sardesai had written on Twitter, before jokingly adding that "captaining Pakistan way more difficult than leading a cricket team!"

On the other hand, the cricketer told reporters that he was "a positive person" and that "if somebody criticises me, it doesn't affect me."

He then went on to repeat a famed phrase: "Duniya ka sabse bara rog, Mere baare mein kya kahenge log," which roughly translates to "the biggest fear in the world is everyone else's opinion of you."

The sportsman underscored the importance of friendly relations between the two nations with an example: "If there's a fire in your neighbour's house, you're bound to feel the heat; in a similar manner, if their house is cool, you'd feel that pleasure as well.

"I think somewhere down the line, you gotta take a path of peace, prosperity, and positivity," he stressed.

Earlier, on Saturday, as the guests arrived at the President House ahead of Prime Minister Khan's swearing-in, Sidhu had met Gen Bajwa and they had embraced each other in a friendly manner — something that eagle-eyed media on both sides of the border watched with gripping interest.

Imran possesses ability to change Pakistan’s future, says Sidhu

Later, during his talk with journalists, the cricketer had explained that the Pakistan Army Chief had met him with enthusiasm and told him that he wished for peace.

"[Gen Bajwa] also told me that he was considering opening the gates at Kartarpur on the upcoming birthday of Guru Nanak," Sidhu had commented, referring to the area in Narowal's Shakargarh tehsil that is located quite near to the Indo-Pak border.

Noting that he had "brought a message of love from India", he said he was taking back a 100 times more than what he had initially come to Pakistan with.

“The love I have gotten has opened up infinite possibilities that can actually unify us. … I was quite honoured and respected," he commented

The random minister has every right to voice his opinion. Most Pakistanis labelled their former PM an Indian agent, so I don't see why you need to be so harsh on this minister.

If Sidhu is disloyal, then the person you are serving should be charged with treason.
Sidhu atleast had an invitation.

Acquitted by supreme court.

Of course, which means he never hit the 65 year old person on the head. because supreme court found that the person died of cardiac arrest and not by siddhu's assault. Not sure if the fresh cricket legend ever expressed remorse for what he did.

Gaddar? He didn't sell some important Indian documents to Pakistan. Just because you got a mouth and a long tongue doesn't mean you can call him a gaddar.

If Sidhu is disloyal, then the person you are serving should be charged with treason.
Sidhu atleast had an invitation.

Sidhu had an invitation but Modi Ji went to Pakistan without any invitation and landed there like a bin bulaya mehmaan. He still got a warm welcome there. No parha likha jaahil called him a gaddar that time? :inti

I think it’s important to discuss your habits here as well because they are very much relevant to the topic at hand.. I don’t believe anything Sidhu or you do here, which is pretty much the same thing, socializing and fraternizing with your Pakistani friends, is somehow betraying your country unless you are selling some state secrets.. so if you should expect sidhu to hang his head in shame, you should as well.... just saying.. 😜
You are right. People should look themselves in the mirror first before calling others gaddar and giving them laanat. I won't be surprised if these same people call those sikhs who visit Pakistan every year gaddars too.

Imagine if Sidhu became PM and Imran Khan was invited, we won't even see 5% of uproar that we have seen in India. Shocking behaviour by some Indians, how does it impact India if Sidhu attended oath taking ceremony??

And funny thing is Indians claim that they are so pro peace but Pakistan Army doesn't like peace and then they have such attitude towards peaceful steps like these. Ironically, it was Pakistani Army chief who not only greeted Sidhu but also personally welcomed him and appreciated him for coming over to promote peace.

Imagine if Sidhu became PM and Imran Khan was invited, we won't even see 5% of uproar that we have seen in India. Shocking behaviour by some Indians, how does it impact India if Sidhu attended oath taking ceremony??

And funny thing is Indians claim that they are so pro peace but Pakistan Army doesn't like peace and then they have such attitude towards peaceful steps like these. Ironically, it was Pakistani Army chief who not only greeted Sidhu but also personally welcomed him and appreciated him for coming over to promote peace.
Indians come across as a very confused nation in this regard

Some really smashing straight drives from Sidhu there. And good to see him leave and ignore some bad comments as well, can be a good thing sometimes.

Please fool others with the warm welcome and the showbaazi. The same pakistani army chief is plotting and planning against india so his welcome does not mean anything. It might impress those who never got any respect like sidhu and some so called indians (in this thread itself) who open an umbrella when it rains in pakistan. Look we have no issues with what pakistan does, it is the duty of the enemy. But we have issues with those who eat watan ka namak and then do enemies bidding, projecting a false image of pakistan that they want peace because "i got infinite respect" and was recipient of the famed "pakistani hospitality" as if it is only because of us there is no peace and as if we are not hospitable people.

That is true.

If that was true, then why many pakistanis come and stay at indian hospitals?

This is like the offers of aid offered to the other country which befalls a natural disaster. Usually rejected on both sides as propaganda which is for the benefit of the country which is 'helping'.

As you yourself acknowledge, Sidhu is a person who is of little importance in India so perhaps if the media hadn't made a big deal of it, no one would have noticed.

If that was true, then why many pakistanis come and stay at indian hospitals?

Those patients pay for the facilities they use. The treatment of our actors, comedians and diplomats in recent times indicates the kind of hospitality Pakistanis receive in India.

Which indian hospital has denied hospitality to pakistanis? Name me just one.

Then the problem lies with Pak peoples showing hospitality to their existential enemies, and not Indians who do their part of the job.

New Delhi:

Navjot Singh Sidhu's hug for Pakistan army chief has been censured not only by the BJP but also his boss, Punjab Chief Minister Amarinder Singh. A former captain in the Indian Army, Amarinder Singh made it clear that he deeply disapproved such a display of affection towards the chief of Pakistan army.

Mr Sidhu - the only one of the three former cricketers to accept Pakistan Prime Minister Imran Khan's invitation on his oath ceremony - has been at the receiving end of severe criticism after he was seen sitting next to Pakistan's top leaders, and later hugging General Qamar Javed Bajwa.

The cricketer-turned politician had countered, indicating that he was wrong footed by the General.

"If someone (Pak Army Chief General Bajwa) comes to me and says that we belong to the same culture and we will open Kartarpur border on Guru Nanak Dev's 550th Prakash Parv, what else I could do?" said the Punjab minister, who returned from Pakistan through the Wagah border this afternoon.

One of the holiest shrines of Sikhs, believed to be the resting place of Guru Nanak, the Gurdwara is just three km from the border. But Pakistan closed it to Indians after army's surgical strikes against terror camps across the Line of Control.

The Captain, however, was not having any of it. "Every day our jawans are getting martyred. To hug their Chief General Bajwa... I am against this. The fact is that the man should understand that our soldiers are being killed. My own regiment lost one Major and two jawans a few months ago and everyday somebody is being shot," Mr Singh said.

He said while the seating arrangement was not in the hands of Mr Sidhu, "It was wrong of him to have shown affection towards the Pakistan Army Chief".

Narrating the sequence of events to NDTV, Mr Sidhu had said the three services chiefs of Pakistan had introduced themselves to the guests and the conversation with General Bajwa had started with small talk.

He went on to say that Pakistan wanted peace - statements, which New Delhi contends, fly in the face of its intelligence agency ISI's support to terrorists. The General then followed it up with the promise to open the corridor to Gurdwara Darbar Sahib at Kartarpur. "It was a dream come true," Mr Sidhu had told NDTV.

The BJP had launched a scathing attack on Mr Sidhu even before he reached India.

"Mr Sidhu is not an ordinary man but a minister in the Punjab government. And every Indian has taken this issue very seriously," BJP's Sambit Patra had said, questioning whether Congress chief Rahul Gandhi will suspend him.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/ama...dhu-says-everyday-our-jawans-are-shot-1902872

Case filed against Navjot Singh Sidhu for hugging Pakistan Army Chief

A case was filed against cricketer-turned-politician Navjot Singh Sidhu in a Bihar court on Monday for insulting Indian Army by hugging Pakistan Army Chief at the swearing-in of Imran Khan as Prime Minister of that country.

Lawyer Sudhur Ojha filed the case in Muzaffarpur's Chief Judicial Magistrate (CJM) court.

Ojha said he has filed the case under Indian Penal Case sections involving sedition. In his complaint, he said Sidhu's gesture hurt the people of the country."

"The court has admitted the case and will hear it next week," he said.

Sidhu, a minister in Congress-led government in Punjab, is under attack for hugging the Pakistan Army Chief, by the BJP and Akali Dal leaders.

https://www.google.co.in/amp/s/m.ec...istan-army-chief/amp_articleshow/65473195.cms

Indians phir ro reh

Sidhu was brave to stick by his friend & wanting to further peace between two nieghbours. But sadly there are too many extremists in India who do not want peace .

Indians phir ro reh

Sidhu was brave to stick by his friend & wanting to further peace between two nieghbours. But sadly there are too many extremists in India who do not want peace .

Its really sad. Why cant hugging the Army chief be seen as an unavoidable situation for Siddu? He couldnt have pushed the Chief away.

And if i remember clearly, this "sedition" part of the Indian law which current BJP regime is slapping every body and their dog with was actually a black law incorporated by the British colonialists as an excuse to exploit Indians. The likes of Gandhi had criticised this law. Its a shame that Indians have become just like their enslavers.

Sidhu kept repeating that Bajwa is a Punjabi-Jatt like him.

Sidhu and Sikhs as a whole have more relations with peoples like Bajwa than 98% of India's Hindus (all minus the Punjabi-Hindus) and probably 100% of the bhakhts going all berserk on him.

Indians should understand the sentiments of the Punjabi-Sikhs like Sidhu, it's humane to feel connected with someone with whom you share ethnicity/tribe/language/culture/food.

Agree it is normal to feel a connection based on shared identities, but religion followed by nationality should be the identity which overrules others.

Ideally yes, but some peoples still cling to the artifacts of their material identity instead of transcending them through spiritual elevation, and even if I understand the condemnation of Sidhu not only going into the perennial enemy's territory but also embracing its COAS, I think we could somehow still rationalize it, unlike Modi ji's informal visit to Sharif, who being a Gujurati don't share much with 99% of Pak in terms of ethnicity/culture.

For Sikhs there's also the religious angle as well (Nankana Sahib, etc) and I'm all for transferring their religious "holy" sites to East Punjab so such complications and controversies don't happen in the future, and for Pak there's also the security issue (how many Sikh yatris could actually be RAW agents, etc).

Ideally yes, but some peoples still cling to the artifacts of their material identity instead of transcending them through spiritual elevation, and even if I understand the condemnation of Sidhu not only going into the perennial enemy's territory but also embracing its COAS, I think we could somehow still rationalize it, unlike Modi ji's informal visit to Sharif, who being a Gujurati don't share much with 99% of Pak in terms of ethnicity/culture.

For Sikhs there's also the religious angle as well (Nankana Sahib, etc) and I'm all for transferring their religious "holy" sites to East Punjab so such complications and controversies don't happen in the future, and for Pak there's also the security issue (how many Sikh yatris could actually be RAW agents, etc).

Modi ji's visit cannot be compared with Sidhu's betrayal and perfidy. As a head of state, he is entitled to engage even with the enemy, meeting them as a king meets a king. Not like Sidhu who has no such mandate or position to start parallel channels with the enemy. Should have gone in the capacity of a cricketer who played with Imran, not as someone representing india. Such court jesters should know their place and should not try to exceed their jurisdiction.

Very sad to hear that he has hurt the sentiments of the country by hugging a Pakistani army official. I would not want him punished for it though, there could probably be a better solution. Perhaps he could perform a gesture of respect such as pranama to Modi personally which would surely make Indian hearts glad again?

touching_feet_9ba468e2_b.jpg

MUMBAI: The Shiv Sena lashed out today at Punjab minister Navjot Singh Sidhu for visiting Pakistan and hugging its Army chief, dubbing it as "heights of shamelessness".

It also took a dig at the BJP, saying Sidhu was not labelled a traitor, even though people were termed "anti-national" for opposing demonetisation and criticising Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

The cricketer-turned-politician was among the special guests present on Saturday at Pakistan Prime Minister Imran Khan's oath taking ceremony.

The Shiv Sena claimed Mr Sidhu's act was a "height of shamelessness" as he hugged the Pakistan Army chief who was supporting insurgency in Kashmir.

"Nobody called Sidhu a traitor despite his visit to Pakistan amid opposition and the situation (in Jammu and Kashmir), but there are some people who are easily labelled as anti-national for opposing note ban or criticising Modi," it said in an editorial in party mouthpiece 'Saamana'.

Earlier, PM Modi had hugged the then Pakistan prime minister Nawaz Sharif and it was called his "masterstroke", it said, adding, "then how can we criticise Sidhu alone".

Though Mr Sidhu was now with the Congress, he had been with the BJP for a long time and "the BJP should introspect where exactly its 'sanskar' (teachings) fell short", it said.

"The prime minister is known for taking strong steps, and he could have simply issued a similar ban against those who wished to visit Pakistan," the editorial said.

Mr Sidhu's "shameless" visit to Pakistan is not just a subject of the Congress, but is also a question of India's security and pride of its soldiers.

Cricket legends Sunil Gavaskar and Kapil Dev refused the invitation to attend Mr Khan's swearing-in, but Mr Sidhu went there "jumping like a frog and exposed his fake patriotism", the Uddhav Thackeray-led party claimed.

The Sena said if the Punjab minister had so much affection for Pakistan, he should contest election from there.

"He has already received an offer from a member of Parliament of the Pakistan-Tehreek-i-Insaaf (Khan's party) to contest election from there," the Sena claimed.

Lashing out at Imran Khan, the Sena said it was he who created an atmosphere of "dharmayudh" (holy war) during India-Pakistan cricket matches and delivered several venomous speeches against India.

The Sena claimed his elevation to the Pakistan's post post was going to increase India's "headache".

"Who is going to benefit from Imran's elevation? He is just a mask, it is the Pakistan Army that is going to be in power. Then (in that context), Sidhu hugging its Army chief is a crime," it said.

The party wondered what action would Congress president Rahul Gandhi take against his party leader and claimed during Khan's swearing-in ceremony, it looked like Sindhu was not a guest, but host of the event.

Even if Mr Sidhu had not gone there, the ceremony would have still taken place, it said. "His actions are weakening Rahul Gandhi's position," the Marathi daily said.

"Had Sidhu been a true patriot, he would not have gone to Pakistan and certainly would not have hugged that country's army chief," it said.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/hei...navjot-singh-sidhu-hugging-army-chief-1903215

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I want to thank Sidhu for coming to Pakistan for my oath taking. He was an ambassador of peace & was given amazing love & affection by ppl of Pakistan. Those in India who targeted him are doing a gt disservice to peace in the subcontinent - without peace our ppl cannot progress</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1031831244785500160?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 21, 2018</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">To move forward Pakistan and India must dialogue and resolve their conflicts incl Kashmir: The best way to alleviate poverty and uplift the people of the subcontinent is to resolve our differences through dialogue and start trading <a href="https://t.co/V2UkXp0WwS">https://t.co/V2UkXp0WwS</a></p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1031832335321317376?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 21, 2018</a></blockquote>

Only those with ghairat and wafadari will understand the gravity of the situation. Otherwise it will appear frivolous to those lacking these virtues.

Bollywood should make a movie on this subject - 'Act of Disloyality'. It should show how a celebrity made a mistake of his life by visiting the neighbouring country.

Akshay Kumar can play that role and it should be directed by Raju Hirani. Title of the movie should be 'Last Idiot'. :inti

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 75.000%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/s/egli0/qbshuo" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>.

Embroiled in a controversy after his recent visit to Pakistan, the cricketer-turned politician Navjot Singh Sidhu in an interview to The Hindu has said that he went to Pakistan as a ‘goodwill ambassador’ and received a very positive message from people, politicians and friends, who desire peace in the region. He said the Indian government should take the dialogue forward.

How was your visit perceived in public and political circles in Pakistan and how well were you welcomed?
It was amazing the way people welcomed me in Pakistan. I am overwhelmed by the warm love and affection shown by people and politicians. From children to aged people...they came hugged me, saying “Sidhu sahib twada swagat hai” (Mr. Sidhu you are welcome)...We want the same thing (peace) you are pushing for, they said to me. The way I was welcomed, it has reinforced my belief that relations between India and Pakistan may improve in the near future. I have returned from Pakistan with such hopes. Mr. Imran Khan’s emphasis on peace through talks has only affirmed my hope.

ALSO READ
Navjot Singh Sidhu addressing media persons in Chandigarh on Tuesday, August 21 2018.
Sidhu accuses BJP of double standards over Pakistan visit

Your visit has been surrounded by controversies. How do you react?
See, my visit was not a political one, I went on an invitation from a friend (Imran Khan). The visit was a goodwill gesture. We should capitalise on it. Criticism will fetch nothing...If one doesn’t want to encourage goodwill then why have embassies? Why on Id and Independence day do we exchange sweets among jawans and shake hands? Why the Indian High Commissioner gifted a bat to Mr. Imran Khan? Why late Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee took a ‘Dosti Bus’ to Pakistan. Why did Prime Minister Narendra Modi go and hug former Pakistan Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif. Now tell me how was my hug different...These are all ‘gestures.’ How can you criticise anyone for that. The underlining cause has to be understood...my purpose of the visit was pure. I believe that communication should not break as talks are the only solution to resolve issues between the two nations. My philosophy is that all the world is my country, all mankind my brethren, to do good my religion.

Can you elaborate on the conversation between you and Pakistan’s Army chief General Qamar Javed Bajwa?
Gen. Bajwa approached me saying I am a General who wanted to be a cricketer to which I responded saying I am a cricketer who wanted to be a General. After a little pause, Gen. Bajwa said I have good news for you: “We are contemplating opening a passage from Dera Baba Nanak (India) to Kartarpur Sahib (Pakistan) to facilitate pilgrims to pay obeisance on the occasion of the 550th ‘Parkash Diwas’ of Guru Nanak Dev.” It was an emotional moment for me as I am sure it would be for any ‘Punjabi’ and as a natural reaction I reciprocated with a hug... I am not a robot. If someone comes and gives wings to the aspiration, to the dream of every Punjabi, won’t I have positive emotion for him?

The hug was an emotional, natural human reaction. It was in Kartarpur Sahib, where Guru Nanak Dev had spent the last 18 years of his life. This issue pertaining to the passage has been pending for over decades. The Indian government should take concrete steps now, which would fulfil the dream of the entire Punjabi community. And then Gen. Bajwa’s parting words were, “We want peace” and that was the end of the conversation.

In the backdrop of your visit, the BJP has accused the Congress of trying to run a parallel government. Your comment?
Let people do their political thing. I went there as a friend, I spoke as a friend, I went with a message of peace and love as a goodwill ambassador. Positive anything is better than negative none and I want to be an instrument of good.

I did not encroach upon that dangerous territory of politics and that was the reason I got so much love and regard from the people in Pakistan. I believe, instead of criticism, which has been disappointing and hurtful, we must focus on expanding trade and bonding between both the nations. I did not initiate anything, it has come from their Pakistan’s side...India should seriously pursue the Kartarpur Sahib passage issue. What’s wrong in it?

Do you think, if you were still in the BJP, there would have been no controversy?
Listen, will we do politics just for TRP or to abuse anyone without rationale? We should create a blue ocean where there’s space for everyone to swim. Follow ‘ahimsa’ (non-violence) that Mahatma Gandhi preached. We should follow the path of unifying instead of creating divides.

The critics need to understand what the intention was behind my visiting Pakistan. My intentions were and are crystal clear — I aspire for hope and prosperity in the entire region.

https://www.thehindu.com/news/natio...s-asks-navjot-singh-sidhu/article24754359.ece

Interesting how the perception of the Sikhs differ from that of the Hindus, as you can see not only on Youtube comments (where 95% of the Sikhs are pro Sidhu, the reverse for the Hindus), and the first old man is right that it's anyway the Sikhs who die over-proportionally in these conflicts - apart from the religious angle, the ethnic angle is also to note, the first man talking of "Punjabis", second lady of "Jatts", etc :

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/DL-mtSxjPR8" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

NEW DELHI: Hindutva groups have slammed former Indian cricketer-turned-politician Navjot Singh Sidhu for hugging Army Chief Qamar Javed Bajwa recently, but a joint military exercise against terrorism under way in Russia involving contingents from India and Pakistan has left the critics red-faced.

Prime Minister Imran Khan has praised Mr Sidhu’s friendly gesture for being present at the swearing-in ceremony where the latter embraced Gen Bajwa who had made friendly comments about peace between the two countries.

Rightwing activist Sudhir Kumar Ojha, known for indicting celebrities, alleged in a petition filed with Muzaffarpur’s chief judicial magistrate (CJM) Hari Prasad that Mr Sidhu insulted the families of Indian soldiers killed by Pakistan’s army by hugging General Bajwa and sitting next to Azad Kashmir’s president Masood Khan on Saturday.

The cricketer-turned-politician has clarified that his visit to Pakistan was not ‘political’ but just on a ‘warm invitation from a friend’

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) said Mr Sidhu’s visit to Pakistan, especially his hug with Pakistan army chief, was “shameful”. Mr Sidhu is a minister in the Congress government in Punjab.

ARTICLE CONTINUES AFTER AD

Mr Sidhu clarified his stand on the issue.

“If someone (referring to Gen Bajwa) comes to me and says that we belong to the same culture and we will open Kartarpur border on Guru Nanak Dev’s 550th Prakash Parv (birth anniversary), what else I could do?”

Mr Sidhu while responding to the media queries: “If you are invited as a guest of honour somewhere, you sit wherever you are asked to. I was sitting somewhere else but they asked me to sit there,” he added.

Mr Ojha said it was unbecoming of Sidhu to attend the celebrations in the neighbouring country at a time when the nation was mourning the death of former prime minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee.

“I have urged the court to book Siddhu under IPC sections 124 A, 153 B and 504 for hurting the nation’s sentiments and order for his arrest,” he said.

Imran Khan on Tuesday came out in support of Mr Sidhu.

“I want to thank Sidhu for coming to Pakistan for my oath taking. He was an ambassador of peace and was given amazing love and affection by people of Pakistan,” Mr Khan tweeted soon after Sidhu’s press conference.

“Those in India who targeted him are doing a great disservice to peace in the subcontinent — without peace, our people cannot progress,” Mr Khan said.

To move forward, he said Pakistan and India must engage in dialogue and resolve their conflicts, including the Kashmir issue.

“The best way to alleviate poverty and uplift the people of the subcontinent is to resolve our differences through dialogue and start trading,” he said.

Mr Sidhu during the press conference said his visit to Pakistan was not “political” but just on a “warm invitation from a friend”.

In a first such event, military personnel from India and Pakistan are participating in an anti-terrorism exercise organised by the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) in Russia. The exercise is aimed at enhancing cooperation between member states to deal with the growing threat of terrorism and extremism.

The exercise will see tactical-level operation being carried out in an international counter-insurgency/counter-terrorism environment.

Around 3,000 soldiers from India, Pakistan, China, Russia, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Kazakhstan are taking part in the exercise.

The Indian contingent has 200 personnel, mainly from the infantry and other arms along with some from the Indian Air Force.

The training schedule for the Indian contingent includes target practice, house intervention drills, tactical and heliborne operations and combat conditioning, reports said.

They said the joint drills will build mutual confidence, interoperability and sharing of knowledge among troops of SCO members.

In previous editions, only Central Asian nations participated.

With India and Pakistan joining the exercise, SCO’s counter-terrorism mission has expanded to South Asia, a region in a grip of terrorism and extremism.

Former army officials loyal to the BJP were at a loss to explain why it was wrong for Mr Sidhu to hug the Pakistan army chief when contingents from the two countries were trying to sort out the menace of terrorism jointly.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1428802

NEW DELHI: Hindutva groups have slammed former Indian cricketer-turned-politician Navjot Singh Sidhu for hugging Army Chief Qamar Javed Bajwa recently, but a joint military exercise against terrorism under way in Russia involving contingents from India and Pakistan has left the critics red-faced.

Prime Minister Imran Khan has praised Mr Sidhu’s friendly gesture for being present at the swearing-in ceremony where the latter embraced Gen Bajwa who had made friendly comments about peace between the two countries.

Rightwing activist Sudhir Kumar Ojha, known for indicting celebrities, alleged in a petition filed with Muzaffarpur’s chief judicial magistrate (CJM) Hari Prasad that Mr Sidhu insulted the families of Indian soldiers killed by Pakistan’s army by hugging General Bajwa and sitting next to Azad Kashmir’s president Masood Khan on Saturday.

The cricketer-turned-politician has clarified that his visit to Pakistan was not ‘political’ but just on a ‘warm invitation from a friend’

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) said Mr Sidhu’s visit to Pakistan, especially his hug with Pakistan army chief, was “shameful”. Mr Sidhu is a minister in the Congress government in Punjab.

ARTICLE CONTINUES AFTER AD

Mr Sidhu clarified his stand on the issue.

“If someone (referring to Gen Bajwa) comes to me and says that we belong to the same culture and we will open Kartarpur border on Guru Nanak Dev’s 550th Prakash Parv (birth anniversary), what else I could do?”

Mr Sidhu while responding to the media queries: “If you are invited as a guest of honour somewhere, you sit wherever you are asked to. I was sitting somewhere else but they asked me to sit there,” he added.

Mr Ojha said it was unbecoming of Sidhu to attend the celebrations in the neighbouring country at a time when the nation was mourning the death of former prime minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee.

“I have urged the court to book Siddhu under IPC sections 124 A, 153 B and 504 for hurting the nation’s sentiments and order for his arrest,” he said.

Imran Khan on Tuesday came out in support of Mr Sidhu.

“I want to thank Sidhu for coming to Pakistan for my oath taking. He was an ambassador of peace and was given amazing love and affection by people of Pakistan,” Mr Khan tweeted soon after Sidhu’s press conference.

“Those in India who targeted him are doing a great disservice to peace in the subcontinent — without peace, our people cannot progress,” Mr Khan said.

To move forward, he said Pakistan and India must engage in dialogue and resolve their conflicts, including the Kashmir issue.

“The best way to alleviate poverty and uplift the people of the subcontinent is to resolve our differences through dialogue and start trading,” he said.

Mr Sidhu during the press conference said his visit to Pakistan was not “political” but just on a “warm invitation from a friend”.

In a first such event, military personnel from India and Pakistan are participating in an anti-terrorism exercise organised by the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) in Russia. The exercise is aimed at enhancing cooperation between member states to deal with the growing threat of terrorism and extremism.

The exercise will see tactical-level operation being carried out in an international counter-insurgency/counter-terrorism environment.

Around 3,000 soldiers from India, Pakistan, China, Russia, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Kazakhstan are taking part in the exercise.

The Indian contingent has 200 personnel, mainly from the infantry and other arms along with some from the Indian Air Force.

The training schedule for the Indian contingent includes target practice, house intervention drills, tactical and heliborne operations and combat conditioning, reports said.

They said the joint drills will build mutual confidence, interoperability and sharing of knowledge among troops of SCO members.

In previous editions, only Central Asian nations participated.

With India and Pakistan joining the exercise, SCO’s counter-terrorism mission has expanded to South Asia, a region in a grip of terrorism and extremism.

Former army officials loyal to the BJP were at a loss to explain why it was wrong for Mr Sidhu to hug the Pakistan army chief when contingents from the two countries were trying to sort out the menace of terrorism jointly.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1428802

hahahahaha.

Hindutva,BJP, RSS extremists, and supporters, over dramatized "Pakistan name triggered" Indian media must be ready to commit suicide after hearing this.

This article needs its own thread.

This is hilarious.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Peace cannot be kept by force,,Can only be achieved by understanding. Thank you &#55357;&#56911; Sidhu Paa for visiting Pakistan and spreading the message of love and peace <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Respect?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Respect</a> <a href="https://t.co/cHSuHzCG1n">https://t.co/cHSuHzCG1n</a></p>— Waqar Younis (@waqyounis99) <a href="https://twitter.com/waqyounis99/status/1033739145095462912?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 26, 2018</a></blockquote>