‘Layer of rubber': Sri Lanka's Bhanuka Rajapaksa says Indian players use special bats in cricket, calls it open secret

SpiritOf1903

‘Layer of rubber': Sri Lanka's Bhanuka Rajapaksa says Indian players use special bats in cricket, calls it open secret

Bhanuka Rajapaksa accused Indian cricketers of using special bats that provide an unfair advantage during the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2026. His remarks have ignited controversy regarding equipment regulations as ICC rules limit bat materials and dimensions

"Indian players have bats that are far superior to the best bats we get. It feels as though a layer of rubber has been applied. I can't imagine how that's possible. These bats can't even be bought by others — all players know this."

https://www.livemint.com/sports/cri...cket-calls-it-open-secret-11770723496402.html

From the same article ( no wonder the current Pak team is useless , if they believe stupid stuff like this ) :

Pakistani legend Wasim Akram reacted to the accusation in a humorous manner: “I want to have the same thing these guys are having, sounds like fun. Mind is not there. You are not only embarrassing yourself but us too.”
Misbah-ul-Haq and Shoaib Malik also rubbished the allegations.
"Instead of learning from them, we think negatively that something is fishy," Shoaib Malik said.

From the same article ( no wonder the current Pak team is useless , if they believe stupid stuff like this ) :

Pakistani legend Wasim Akram reacted to the accusation in a humorous manner: “I want to have the same thing these guys are having, sounds like fun. Mind is not there. You are not only embarrassing yourself but us too.”
"Instead of learning from them, we think negatively that something is fishy," Shoaib Malik said.
? Akram is a mercenary who was coaching Indians instead of Pakistan.

He was obviously going to retract his comments but rubber lamination is illegal, why would he mention it if it wasn't a possibility

@pakistani pride

So OP posted a half-baked link and then provided the clarification from Bhanuka himself. So, what's the purpose of this thread again?

Add that to the specially made balls with microchips provided only when India bowl, is it any wonder that India has been even this good?

Non issue. Pakistan tampered with the ball in the 90s to get an edge. India is now tampering with the bat. Fair play.

Seems like literal translation of sinhalese tongue in cheek remark gone awry. In social media in order to create views they deliberately drop the context and share it. It is not the first time. Won't be the last time.

Bhanuka Rajapaksa accused Indian cricketers of using special bats that provide an unfair advantage during the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2026. His remarks have ignited controversy regarding equipment regulations as ICC rules limit bat materials and dimensions
https://www.livemint.com/sports/cri...cket-calls-it-open-secret-11770723496402.html

I wouldn't be surprised if this is true. :inti

Vegetarians shouldn't be able to hit like that. It is likely there is some sort of cheating involved.

Sanghis generally need perks or cheating to do well. It is true in cricket and outside of cricket. :inti

So OP posted a half-baked link and then provided the clarification from Bhanuka himself. So, what's the purpose of this thread again?
Rubber is a pretty unique word to be lost in translation?.

Baseball has had issues with non-regulated bats so it isn't as outlandish as it seems. Laminated bats are illegal and rules have been changed for youth cricket where bats can be made from any wood...

People mocking fun of Bhanuka Rajapajsa has no idea of the rumours after the 1996 WC that Jayasuriya had a metal spring in his bat

Many folks ( including myself ) actually believed those rumours 🤣🤣

Suddenly Indian news channels are gospel for PP kaanspiracy wallahs and no longer masala news.... kitne dhongi aur farebi ho.. Eik stance rakho- masala or serious news.... :pmik
What's your stance on this news? And is it really that difficult to distinguish between a propaganda piece and directly quoting what the person actually said along with the tweet? :inti

Suddenly Indian news channels are gospel for PP kaanspiracy wallahs and no longer masala news.... kitne dhongi aur farebi ho.. Eik stance rakho- masala or serious news.... :pmik
When they're reporting on Indian matters they will be taken a bit more seriously than when they are reporting on Pakistani issues.

That much is common sense which you as they say isn't common. Thanks for demonstrating this.

When they're reporting on Indian matters they will be taken a bit more seriously than when they are reporting on Pakistani issues.

That much is common sense which you as they say isn't common. Thanks for demonstrating this.
Kuch bhi...this is called being a pateela and u turn pe u turn, when convenient pick any source and stick to it as gospel...

If people know the secret, why don’t they just copy it. It’s not like i am hearing about some rare earth metal or secret technology here 🤷‍♂️

Next time one of them drops a bat during a Pakistan-India match, our players should grab it and run to the dressing room. A thorough analysis must be conducted.

This is the smart move.

They are giving it attention purposely so that it comes further in the news so that once it's blatant then it becomes clear proof and also turns the public against cricketers using such bats.

Very similar to how ball tempering was brought into light. First, some disgruntled cricketers who knew it was happening would make the claim. Second, high profile cricketers and ex cricketers would debunk it and then few years/decades later it would be explicitly out in the opening and Steven Smith would be seen crying on national tv.

People have to start realizing that winning is everything, especially when tons of money and power are involved, such that it can dictate destinies of millions or even billions. Fairness is subject to how much power and resources one has. The ones with more, decide what's fair.

Next time one of them drops a bat during a Pakistan-India match, our players should grab it and run to the dressing room. A thorough analysis must be conducted.
yes true.

fAmazing how those rubber bats didnt function in CWC 23 finals or the two WTC finals or the BGT series or the two home series losses to SAF and NZ or the U19 Finals loss in 2022 or the Asia cup u-19 loss recently.

This is how I know my team is the best in the world. I remember we Indian fans used to have conspiracy theories about Ponting and Gilchrists and haydens bat which allowed them to cheat and score runs against us.

It is so amazing to be on the other side of things and know yours is the team other people are making such theories about.

@jnaveen1980 @BreadPakoda @Local.Dada @nish_mate

Hahah... this is funny.... Maybe he is misunderstood or he failed to find good words for what he actually meant but rubber layered bats??? OK

Chips in Ball when India bowling

Pitch change when India bat or Bowl

Indian player's bat are special .

India Pundit's special puja stop Pakistan to winning the match.

What more I missing ?

:klopp :kp

yes true.

fAmazing how those rubber bats didnt function in CWC 23 finals or the two WTC finals or the BGT series or the two home series losses to SAF and NZ or the U19 Finals loss in 2022 or the Asia cup u-19 loss recently.
Using it in every big match would arise suspicion. Additionally, this is a newly invented technology.

Chips in Ball when India bowling

Pitch change when India bat or Bowl

Indian player's bat are special .

India Pundit's special puja stop Pakistan to winning the match.

What more I missing ?

:klopp :kp
* Kalaa jadoo
* Vaseline used on ball(5th test ind Vs eng in eng 2025)
* Opponents deliberately underperform & loose as angling for 'IPL Contracts'
* Played all matches in one place each time - every tournament
* This diamond entry from Canadian Sweep shot when Rohit broke record for max sixes in ODI & T20 : " indian grounds are smaller"!
* That evergreen 'Taas pheexed hai"😝

🌞Deserves a thread 🔥💎🏆💥🪔

* Kalaa jadoo
* Vaseline used on ball(5th test ind Vs eng in eng 2025)
* Opponents deliberately underperform & loose as angling for 'IPL Contracts'
* Played all matches in one place each time - every tournament
* This diamond entry from Canadian Sweep shot when Rohit broke record for max sixes in ODI & T20 : " indian grounds are smaller"!
* That evergreen 'Taas pheexed hai"😝

🌞Deserves a thread 🔥💎🏆💥🪔
Whenever I see the gibberish you post, it reminds me why a layer of rubber is important. :yk :inti

Give the same bat to Babar and Rizwan and they'll still struggle to clear 30 yard circle. Weak and malnourished :inti

No one stole trophies, nobody went to collect it

App ke bache daar gaye the

Dar ka mahol tha
@Vikram1989 and @SportsWarrior constantly criticizes Pakistan and their team here 24/7, but when it comes to choosing a winner between India and Pakistan, they pick Pakistan, because they can't match the confidence they show while downplaying Pakistan in forums with the confidence needed during an India vs Pakistan match. Watch @Devadwal whenever Pakistan plays well even for few overs during an India vs Pakistan match, he changes his tone as well. :yk :inti

IMG_20260210_111905.jpg

@Vikram1989 and @SportsWarrior constantly criticizes Pakistan and their team here 24/7, but when it comes to choosing a winner between India and Pakistan, they pick Pakistan, because they can't match the confidence they show while downplaying Pakistan in forums with the confidence needed during an India vs Pakistan match. Watch @Devadwal whenever Pakistan plays well even for few overs during an India vs Pakistan match, he changes his tone as well. :yk :inti

View attachment 161713
Its called Compensation Psychology, a numeral uno trait of the cult. Then again its not surprising given how many of the cult are desperate to rid of themselves of the Indian identity.