“Billion dollar ki industry waali teams peeche rah gayi hai aur hum upar nikal gaye hai": Ramiz Raja

This article was sent by a friend. Don't know the source..... but may be Ramiz Raja's comment is kind of showing "disappointment" at BCCI not allowing Pakistani players to participate in IPL. That of course in totally pathetic from players standpoint who are missing oppertunity to earn millions of $$. Cricket fans are also being deprived the oppertuniy to see top Pakistani talent performing in IPL.

But if BCCI is going to act like this, they are going to hear the comments like the one from RR.

=======

IPL & Pakistan Cricket

Young Pakistan team, banned from the glitz and glamour of the IPL, came up with another performance suggestinxg India is not the only game in town.
This is an article which was published in a major Australian newspaper "Sydney Morning Herald" !! WORTH A READ!!!

It’s probably heresy to even think it, but could the Pakistan Super League, a six-year-old six-team domestic competition, be the world’s strongest Twenty20 nursery?

Orthodox logic says no. Of course the Indian Premier League, the all-star pageant that claims to be cricket’s NBA, NFL and Champions League rolled in together, has raised the income of every participant and the standard of the 20-over format as a whole.

Innovation in cricket has been turbocharged by the IPL, where the best of the best are challenged to produce their best, under pressure, in an annual whirlwind of noise, music and dollars. If you’re not in the IPL, as Paul Keating might say, you’re camping out.

And yet the young Pakistan team, none of whom are permitted to play in the IPL, came up with another performance, this time in Wednesday’s T20 World Cup semi-final at the Sydney Cricket Ground against New Zealand, to suggest that the IPL is not, or not exclusively, where it’s at.

Whether it was Shadab Khan’s brilliant direct-hit run out of Devon Conway, the clever and varied bowling from the four-man pace attack, or the spin craft of Shadab and Mohammad Nawaz, Pakistan again proved that they play their Twenty20 cricket better than just about anyone on the globe. To cap it off, their two best-credentialed batters, openers Babar Azam (53 off 42 balls) and Mohammad Rizwan (57 off 43), finally opened the valves and set up a convincing victory. In the end, they were steered home by Mohammad Haris (30 off 26), one of their four under-23 youth picks, who has only played his cricket inside Pakistan and a merel 25 PSL games at that. On Sunday, Haris will bat at first-drop in a World Cup final.

All 11 of the star-studded New Zealand team have IPL experience; none of the Pakistanis. Due to India’s ban on Pakistan players, which has been in force since the Mumbai terrorist attacks in 2008, the IPL’s first year, Babar’s team have had to grow their T20 nous either by finding gigs in Twenty20 leagues aroundl the world or purely inside Pakistan.

Their youngest members of the current squad possess a tiny fraction of the T20 experience of their opponents in this World Cup. A few weeks ago, in the highlight of the tournament, Pakistan outplayed India’s galacticos for 39 of 40 overs at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. Their eclipse of the Kiwis brought to mind those old rugby league games when NSW Country came to town and, on this same patch of turf, towelled up the City glamour boys. When they do get a bit more exposure to this T20 caper, Pakistan will be pretty good.

Their most effective bowlers on Wednesday were left-arm beanpole Shaheen Shah Afridi (2/24 from four overs), the evergreen Haris Rauf (0/32) and teenager Naseem Shah (0/30). Rauf has played some BBL for the Melbourne Stars, Afridi nothing outside the PSL, Naseem only PSL plus a season in the Caribbean league.

As with several of their teammates, they are IPL squillionaires only in their dreams. Without the new-ball swing they have enjoyed in other venues, they tied down the strong Kiwi top order with excellent control of their lengths, a mixture of cutters and slower balls, and game plans as precisely tailored as if they knew the batters from years in the IPL.

The fielding – also brought up almost entirely on PSL fields - was as athletic as any seen in the tournament so far. Kane Williamson (46 off 42 balls) and Daryl Mitchell (53 not out off 35) batted only as well as the Pakistanis allowed, which is to say, more watchfully than they would have wished. New Zealand kept wickets in hand but were unable to convert them into runs.

For a semi-final, it was surprisingly one-sided. Pakistan outclassed New Zealand as thoroughly as New Zealand had outclassed Australia here in the tournament opener last month and, like that game, this one was decided early. This coming Sunday in Melbourne, whether they end up playing IPL-rich India or IPL-rich England, Pakistan have a chance to make their point in the most definitive way.

So what gives? Pakistan won a T20 World Cup in 2009, before 13 years of IPL exclusion set in. Now they have a chance to win their second, against India or England. Does Pakistan’s quality suggest that the IPL is not quite the cut above the rest that it ought to be, or has the PSL snuck beneath world cricket’s radar to be, pound for pound and rupee for rupee, the best school for this form of cricket?

As long as India maintains its political ban on Pakistan players, the question will remain unanswered. International players, including Australians, who have participated in the PSL have been saying quietly for a few years that the cricket there is on par with the IPL. As thousands of Pakistan fans kept standing in lines outside the SCG long after the start of play can testify, they have had to learn how to wait and to be cut out of the magic circle; and while waiting, to make their sport in their own way. Once they got in, both on the field and off, they were the dominant presence.🏏

Head to head we are way ahead, not even close. So back to the drawing board

Head to Head WI is ahead of pakistan in ODIs. By your logic WI are better today too.

Leave that.

What is pakistan vs India's head to head in ICC tournaments?

Or bilateral head to head is important here?

Can we do away with this "threat" thing you do in every post which has an India Pakistan angle?

It's unnecessary and unacceptable and takes any fun out of discussions.

Applies to all posting here.

Work on answering arguments.

If a PCB chairman is going to make such distasteful comments, its not going to go unnoticed. It will be answered down the line in some way or the other.

Bcci doesn't makes comments unless they are connected to the matter.

Head to Head WI is ahead of pakistan in ODIs. By your logic WI are better today too.

Leave that.

What is pakistan vs India's head to head in ICC tournaments?

Or bilateral head to head is important here?

We are head by along way. Its just a fact, no other stat matters

The only ones crying are people like you. So many threads about India on a Pakistani forum.

In few months crying will start when leagues will be played with no pakistanis.

More crying when India wont go to Pakistan for the Asia cup.

Even more crying when the WC will be held in India with or without pakistan.

Bass umeed par he zinda ho tum log! :)))

This will happen…then that’ll happen and then everything will be fine :’(

Brilliant coping mechanism for losers.

Not upset at all. My team overachieved by topping the group and getting to the semis.

Beat Pakistan.

And i didn't had to face the ignominy 9f being beaten by a minnow.

I didn't have to thank a minnow for their fluke win to qualify for the finals.

For close to 15 years i have seen pakistanis crying how they don't get to play the IPL. How its racism. Few weeks back they were crying how Indian owned teamd in SA20 and Emirates t20 didn't buy a pakistani.

Threads like these justify those decisions.

Your team achieved nothing :)))

Now go back to the losers corner and continue to cry just like your captain. Don’t ruin the vibe here for the finalists.

I was never a fan of Ramiz as a commentator, I must admit I preferred the less calculated Amir Sohail who didn'tpull any punches. But Ramiz has been a good leader at the PCB level. and seems he has grown a set now he's not reliant on foreign pay cheque.

If a PCB chairman is going to make such distasteful comments, its not going to go unnoticed. It will be answered down the line in some way or the other.

Who cares what the BCCI does the pcb can do whatever they want and say whatever they want.

All criticisms and taunts thrown at indian team are absolutely justified we deserve that with our heads down
But i just hope officials of other boards should be more careful with words no point of burning bridges
I as an Indian fan is very sad with my teams humiliation and some of our fans deserve all the trolling when they thought that indian team is best in the world
I wish both eng and pak all the best for final and let best team win

As you are not BCCI - best to answer for yourself and let them state what they want to.

Lol 😂

It only shows how much he miss IPL instead of enjoying his own teams performance he remembers IPL.

Wow the Chairman of PCB!!!

The only upside to losing this final is this narcissist not being able to hog the credit for a World Cup.

Arrogance always has a way of costing you eventually.

Irrespective of the result in final, his statement in OP still stands true. They went one step ahead of Indian team and gave much better fight than India against England. Although as a chairman, he should learn to time his statements correctly. Sometimes his inner youtuber gets the best of him. :inti

My my my :klopp

Better not to speak before you’ve won the tournament Ramiz this unnecessary hate towards each other will never be good for anyone.

My my my :klopp

Better not to speak before you’ve won the tournament Ramiz this unnecessary hate towards each other will never be good for anyone.

i think you need to re read the statment. It was about us perfomring better.

We did perform better than India. We finished 2nd.

Sorry Rameez! But that's Karma back for you :babar :inti

Not sure about Karma but He and Pak PM absolutely made a fool of themselves. That's why people in dignified positions should restrain themselves so they don't look like fools later. This is especially after he's after India to attend Asia cup next year. Way too emotional.

His comment was regarding this tournament and he was right. They were in the final because they did better than India overall. Anyone who has any doubt should look at these two teams performances against England in the last two matches of this WC. :inti

Is that everything now for Pakistan and India whoever wins their match or goes further what about actually winning something.

Its about performance. We came second. So off course performance matters.

Only 1 team wins

This comment from RAMIZ shows how dum he really is.

How many football WC's have Spain / ENG in last 30 years they also have the richest clubs and multi billion leagues running.

Maybe he is forgetting PAK lost to IND in this WC and qudrat ka nizam played a role in PAK getting through.

Its about performance. We came second. So off course performance matters.

Only 1 team wins

LOL

When we do not win titles, it is all about IND vs PAK bragging rights so it is 1-0 for us again in a WC. At least something nice to remember few years down the line in the rivalry.

Immature statement from Ramiz. Both India and Pakistan didn't win the world cup and both ended up with same number of wins. Ramiz will shut up for sometime now.

Why compare with England compare to them head to head they played match in same tournament and kohli Triumphed them so who's best?
Who got defeated by Zimbabwe
Going by your logic ireland is better than Pakistan and india and rest of teams because they defeated england Lol

Bhai tumhare logic se ireland is best team because they defeated England and england defeated your team pakistan.

Once team got hammered by 10 wkts and went home in the semis whilst the other went to the final and fought tooth and nail in a close encounter

Ramiz is right India were embarrasing considering all their riches

Once team got hammered by 10 wkts and went home in the semis whilst the other went to the final and fought tooth and nail in a close encounter

It doesn't matter. At the end of the day, only the winner is celebrated and put on the pedestal. Nobody ever remembers the runners-up. We're all losers - you, me and everybody bar Eng.

Everyone remembers the two finalists though. India beat West Indies in 1983, India beat Sri Lanka in 2011, India beat Pakistan in 2007 etc. :inti

India gets hyped up prior to the tournament and pakistan is getting hyped up during the tournament. While being a supporter of Pakistan team, even when they lost to India, i must say that pakistan hasn't done anything extraordinary in this tournament as yet, yes they beat kiwis but it was as asian a pitch as they would have got. All this hype could fall flat in Melbourne.

Unfortunately this was bound to happen.

Way too much bravado coming from the chairman of a team that can't even win a test series at home against Australia. Not to mention that Pakistan lost twice in the past 2 months to India...

Everyone remembers the two finalists though. India beat West Indies in 1983, India beat Sri Lanka in 2011, India beat Pakistan in 2007 etc. :inti

Only Indians remember because we won those events. How many know whom Windies beat in 75 and 79 or who the finalists were in t20 2010 and 2012?

Ramiz is right India were embarrasing considering all their riches

One team was beaten by India. Lost to minnows Zimbabwe and went to semis on the back of a win by Netherlands. Then they lost to England.

What is RR bragging about!

You reap what you sow.

At the moment, Indian cricket team is copping a few and has become the laughing stock of world cricket - IMO, we deserve every bit of this criticism, sarcasm and humour given our performances in key tournaments.

- We have arrogant players who think they are god's gift to cricket (e.g. Rohit). The gall of this guy ... how dare he blames the bowlers for the loss when scored he himself scored a run-a-ball 27, coming in as an opener .... atrocious!
- We have coaching staff who approach T20 like ODI (e.g. Dravid)
- We have batters who have no right to represent the team (e.g. Rahul)
- We have support staff do not have the track record of success in coaching except for being the "yes" men for Dravid (e.g. Paras Mhambrey)
- We have bowlers who think they are great because they can swing a ball at 125-130 kph (e.g. Bhuvi)
- We have spinners who cannot spin the ball (e.g. Axar)
- We have spinners who cannot spin the ball but thinks he is an uber clever spinner (e.g. Ashwin)
- We have a Board that is too busy playing politics and flexing it muscles with other boards rather than focusing on the bare pitiful trophy cup board ...

I can go on and on ... As a fan, it is so frustrating to watch the team repeat mistakes after mistakes without having a shred of accountability or remorse. Heart goes out to a handful of players such as Kohli, Pandya, Arshdeep, SK etc. who gave it their everything ....

#BoycottIPL

You reap what you sow.

At the moment, Indian cricket team is copping a few and has become the laughing stock of world cricket - IMO, we deserve every bit of this criticism, sarcasm and humour given our performances in key tournaments.

- We have arrogant players who think they are god's gift to cricket (e.g. Rohit). The gall of this guy ... how dare he blames the bowlers for the loss when scored he himself scored a run-a-ball 27, coming in as an opener .... atrocious!
- We have coaching staff who approach T20 like ODI (e.g. Dravid)
- We have batters who have no right to represent the team (e.g. Rahul)
- We have support staff do not have the track record of success in coaching except for being the "yes" men for Dravid (e.g. Paras Mhambrey)
- We have bowlers who think they are great because they can swing a ball at 125-130 kph (e.g. Bhuvi)
- We have spinners who cannot spin the ball (e.g. Axar)
- We have spinners who cannot spin the ball but thinks he is an uber clever spinner (e.g. Ashwin)
- We have a Board that is too busy playing politics and flexing it muscles with other boards rather than focusing on the bare pitiful trophy cup board ...

I can go on and on ... As a fan, it is so frustrating to watch the team repeat mistakes after mistakes without having a shred of accountability or remorse. Heart goes out to a handful of players such as Kohli, Pandya, Arshdeep, SK etc. who gave it their everything ....

#BoycottIPL

1. India scored 168, so the bowlers could not take even 1 wicket? These bowlers gave away 160 vs pakistan on a spicy MCG pitch. If the greatest all formats batsman of this era hadn't played an ATG innings, the match was lost. Indian bowlers bar Arshdeep and Shami, rest are not fit to be anywhere near the international team. Yet if you see the team for NZ and BD, you would find the names like Bhuvi Harshal Thakur Axar Dhawan etc. Who is to be blamed?

2. Agreed that Rahul has to go. The likes of Shaw Gill Samson etc should get their chances.

3. Paras Mhambrey has a very good record as a coach. He started as a coach of Bengal and took them to the Ranji finals. Then he coached the Mumbai Indians team. He was the coach of the india u19 and A team and has been credited with the pace of Mavi Nagarkoti Tyagi etc and the development of Siraj.

The clown is Vikram Rathore. He is a British citizen who got himself appointed indian selector, NCA coach and now team India coach. He has held a position in bcci continuously since 2012. Why?

4. Who selected these bowlers? And why should those selectors not be sacked?

5. So board officials should now do selection of coaches and players? Well once upon a time they used to. But now supreme court has put a Cricket advisory committee who select the selectors and the selectors select the coaches and players. So why blame the officials?

The first to be blamed are selectors.

Of course what hes saying is true.

Indians thought the IPL will mean they will soon have a team which will dominate likes the Windies of the 80's and Aussies of 2000's. This pipedream was far from reality.

India if anything have become a worse limited overs team since IPL.

Rameez as chairman doesnt need to say this, we all know it.

His comment was regarding this tournament and he was right. They were in the final because they did better than India overall. Anyone who has any doubt should look at these two teams performances against England in the last two matches of this WC. :inti

Pak had to depend on the results of other teams going their way. India reached Semi finals on their own. So India was overall a better team. You arent a good team when u rely on the results of other team. Its plain and simple.

You aren't a good team if you lose like India did in the semi final. That was minnow level stuff. Pakistan weren't the favorites before the world cup anyway. They exceeded the expectations and an out of form Babar Azam helped them get past the semi final stage. And this 'they were relying on other teams' logic looks childish. All teams were competing in this world cup. Every result mattered. Even with a poor middle order, half fit Shaheen and an out of Babar they managed to reach the final. I think some fans are finding it hard to digest this now. :inti

message to Ramiz,

If you had spent more money, may be your team could've scored more runs than 137?

This attitude is what will never allow Pakistan to become a force in the world. The administrators trying to show they are better than India will only keep them at this level where they will be competing with India as to who is worse than the other. If Pakistan want to become one of the best teams in the world, they need to get rid of this mentality. The public of Pakistan need to as well. If doing better than India is what Pakistan public or administrators are happy about, then they have achieved that since 2013 in ICC events but Pakistan is still a middling team in the world, so what is the issue. As an Indian I accept that Pakistan has been better in ICC events than India since 2013, does that make Pakistan a better team? Don't think so. If you think I am bitter, I am not, I was one of the few who had no belief that India could win the trophy and fully expected the team to get battered in semis. Despite tickets being available and my friends asking me to join them, I told I don't want to as India will not win and I wasn't wrong. The reason being I knew the gaping holes India had in their squad and it would be difficult to win titles with such a flawed team.

I just feel that if Pakistan has to be one of the best teams in the world consistently, they need to stop this comparison with India & BCCI and concentrate on building a strong team. Stop trying to be better than India as they themselves aren't a great team yet.

You aren't a good team if you lose like India did in the semi final. That was minnow level stuff. Pakistan weren't the favorites before the world cup anyway. They exceeded the expectations and an out of form Babar Azam helped them get past the semi final stage. And this 'they were relying on other teams' logic looks childish. All teams were competing in this world cup. Every result mattered. Even with a poor middle order, half fit Shaheen and an out of Babar they managed to reach the final. I think some fans are finding it hard to digest this now. :inti

India reached to semifinal on its own performance. Also without Bumrah and Jadeja India were never going to win the trophy. Pak had its full set of players and still performed poorly..And Pakistan losing to ZIM was a giant stuff by PAK.. Isnt it ? I think some fans r blinded like PCB is .

You are only taking Jaddu's name now because I have seen many fans were celebrating and doing a bhangra here when he didn't make it into the World Cup team. Even then I said that fans will use this excuse if India fails to win the cup again and Axar Patel will be exposed in Australia. Had Jadeja been in the team some fans would have blamed him for India's exit. And how many trophies have we won with Bumrah in the side? He will magically get fit again before IPL. :inti

Jadeja was indeed a crucial blow for India as it completelt threw the balance away. India had to play both Axar and Ashwin to make up for Jaddu's batting which meant Chahal had to sit out. If Jadeja was fit then he and Chahal would have been the spinners. Not saying with Bumrah and Jadeja india would have won but the team would have been better on paper. No one can say for sure what would ahve happened. The pitches were syrely assisting fast bowlers (except Sydney) so he may have made a difference.

Similar statement by the outgoing COAS Gen Qamar Bajwa

"Made the country proud by leaving the multi-billion dollar teams behind by reaching the final. The bowlers gave their heart out in face of a low target which was exciting to watch”

Former Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) chairman Ramiz Raja has said that the mindset influenced by India’s ruling Bharatiya Janata Party has taken over the Indian cricket board which is trying to create hurdles for Pakistan internationally.

While speaking during an event at the Government College University (GCU), Ramiz Raja said the International Cricket Council (ICC) is influenced by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) because most of its revenue comes from India. “I took the stance for the country when India tried to pressurise Pakistan to shift this year’s Asia Cup to a neutral venue despite the Asian Cricket Council’s (ACC) decision to give hosting rights to Pakistan,” he said. “I had said that Pakistan will not go to India for the ICC World Cup if the neighbouring country pulls out of the Asia Cup in Pakistan.”

He said he had focused on growth and consistency during his 1.5-year tenure as PCB chief, adding that overthrowing an existing set-up by bulldozing the constitution is unfair. He added that the Indian cricket team, with a billion-dollar cricket industry was unable to make it to the finals of the T20 World Cup but Pakistan did.

https://www.brecorder.com/news/40219482

Ramiz couldnt digest the biggest position bestowed upon him and often gave these ludicurous statements like blank cheque, billion dollar team etc. Couple of T20 wins against India had gone to his head and he was living in a parallel world. Even then had Arshdeep not dropped that sitter, it would be 3-0 in India's favour last year. A year, if I may add, when Indian cricket was down and T20s were its weakest format.

Pakistan couldnt win a single test out of 8 games played at home where as India on its way to play its second consequitive WTC final. So much for surpassing the billion dollar team.

Pakistan had its biggest win over India in CT Finals 2017 but never heard then chairman gave such reckless statements. I am so happy that a sensible man like Najam Sethi Sahab has replaced him and send Ramiz back to his youtube channel

:najam

Similar statement by the outgoing COAS Gen Qamar Bajwa

"Made the country proud by leaving the multi-billion dollar teams behind by reaching the final. The bowlers gave their heart out in face of a low target which was exciting to watch”

Thanks to Netherlands!

Of course what hes saying is true.

Indians thought the IPL will mean they will soon have a team which will dominate likes the Windies of the 80's and Aussies of 2000's. This pipedream was far from reality.

India if anything have become a worse limited overs team since IPL.

Rameez as chairman doesnt need to say this, we all know it.

How many T20 tournaments Pakistan has won since the start of PSL?

We all know how you reached the finals after losing to Zimbabwe :))
Didn’t England lose to Ireland too?

For India to get mauled like that infront of the whole world must have been hard to take for some of you fans though, so we understand.

Raja Babu is a hypocrite. His tone will change now that he is back on Youtube.

Didn’t England lose to Ireland too?

For India to get mauled like that infront of the whole world must have been hard to take for some of you fans though, so we understand.

India was mauled by eventual winners of the tournament. But losing to ZIM that didnt reach SF must be a matter of proud for Pakistan team.

Ramiz should have shown the way by saying No to ICC money which is basically BCCI money.

PCB makes these statements and then Najam Sethi mails Jay Shah to meet in Dubai. Seems BCCI has had enough of PCB and its shenanigans.

In Ramiz's case, at the end of the day:

"Baatain Croro ki
Dukaan...

You know the rest

And now Shoaib Akhtar on how big India cricket is :

"Let’s face the truth. India generates the maximum money for world cricket and ICC actually uses the money, which comes from India. It is that money, which is then given to us in Pakistan, which helps fund our domestic cricket. So in a way, it is Indian money that is helping our cricket. So there is no reason why we shouldn’t travel to India, and play in front of packed Indian crowds," Akhtar told RevSportz.

Shoaib also voiced his concerns that the upcoming ODI World Cup might mark the end of the format, foreseeing a lack of prospects for 50-over cricket. The former Pakistani fast bowler hoped that India would amass significant revenue from this World Cup. He disclosed a surprising detail that a portion of the revenue India generates for the International Cricket Council (ICC) indirectly benefits Pakistan, supporting fees for young domestic cricketers in the country.

"Absolutely. Let me just say one more thing to you before we wrap up. This World Cup could well be the most amazing 50-over tournament we have seen. I don’t know what is in store for the 50-over format after this, so this is a massive occasion for the sport itself," Akhtar said.

"So my prayers are for a very successful event. May India make a lot of money, may the broadcaster make a lot of money, but if you want your team to do well and win, don’t put that much pressure on them, for they will then not be able to play to potential!" he added.

Honestly money doesn't have anything to do with cultivating talent. Yes it's important but it depends on how you use it.

With all the money in the world and yet BCCI can't host a proper tournament, can't host opening ceremonies, the state of the grounds and the seats are a mess and flat belter pitches etc.

Best way to groom a talent is to give them an extended run, Keep analysing games and working on their weaknesses and make sure they adopt a growth mindset. No more satisfactory Twitter fame or media hype machine drama. Cough imam Cough.

^^ PCB doesn't really do that like SENA or India. It does but not consistently.

Money is a factor but its not the sole factor. All the money in the world can't do anything if the player is an idiot who doesn't want to learn how to improve.

There is something to be said about the lesser well-off nations doing better than those who are rolling in it.