“If you see the India team, they are more senior to us" : Sarfaraz Ahmed

Sarfaraz Ahmed speaking ahead of the 1st ODI against South Africa:

Definitely we have to see what our areas of strength are before the World Cup”

“We will try a few different combinations in this series and also in the series against Australia as well, so we have a fair idea before the World Cup about what type of team we want for that tournament”

“The first match is very important so we are hoping that we will have a good start, InshaAllah”

“Fakhar Zaman is a very important player for us, and his target is to play his natural game”

“That is just like David Warner or Shahid Afridi used to play so that’s the same role he has for us and he has to play his natural game”

“But on thing I do say to him is that if you are going to play like that then you have to stay on the wicket because if you do that, then the bowlers will be scared of you”

“4 of the 5 ODI games in this series will be day/night and both teams will prefer to bat first as batting under lights won’t be easy”

“If you see the India team, they are more senior to us [in terms of experience], they have Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Dhawan, MS Dhoni” [Talking about India’s previous visit to SA possibly]

“We also have couple of experienced players as well but when you come to SA, you have to bat well in the first innings and if you do that then you will win the matches here”

“If you talk about the Champions Trophy side then there were many players in that team who were playing for the first time in that tournament “

“But now the same players are a little bit experienced as they have been playing ODIs for a while now”

“But playing against South Africa in South Africa is difficult so we will try our level best to win here”

we need to kick this guy.
even i will show more confidence than him..
he is already lost in his mind and found an excuse.

50 % of Indian players who played in Australia are just one or two years old in International cricket.

Here we go with this senior nonsense.

I'm starting to become convinced it's Sarfraz who has this senior fetish and is reluctant to groom youngsters. Hence why he gave 5 Tests to Mohammad Hafeez in UAE instead of Saad Ali, and refuses to drop dud against pace Shoaib Malik.

This argument is more flimsy when you consider the fact India's inexperienced players like Shaw, Pant and Agarwal have hit the ground running in international cricket.

It's not seniority why India are ahead of us but because they are BETTER.

I think, he is right, just missed one word in the mix - more senior & “performing” to us. Someone should have basic common sense not to mention MoHa, Malik with Sharma, Dhawan & MS.

Shoaib Malik has been playing since 1998. Let's see how he does here.

On a serious note, Pakistan has a decent chance against this SA team. Although QdK could be a big problem for them. He has hit form after a year or so.

They are senior because they perform. Our guys will never be senior because they don't perform!

Rather than paying attention on his own team and performance he cares alot about Indian cricket.

Why talk about India? What they do is their own business. Clutching at straws to justify own nonsensical selections.

Obession with india .i won.t be surprise if the question is asked by pakistani journalist they tend to ask stupid question

sarfraz sahib could easily have said anything else

Rather than paying attention on his own team and performance he cares alot about Indian cricket.

Why talk about India? What they do is their own business. Clutching at straws to justify own nonsensical selections.

Obession with india .i won.t be surprise if the question is asked by pakistani journalist they tend to ask stupid question

sarfraz sahib could easily have said anything else

I think he was asked to compare. So I don't think it is somewhat obsession. Poor answer though.

Faf says Pak is a stronger team than SA. Sarf says India is senior. What's with these people? Where's the swag? Will be a very close series. Can Pak win the big moments? Can't wait to find out

God!...the inferiority complex?
Move on lad..and show some courage, take it on the chin, get up and go again!

“That is just like David Warner or Shahid Afridi used to play so that’s the same role he has for us and he has to play his natural game”

I just hope he's kidding. Shahid Afridi?! Come on Sarfraz!

Talk about seniority is nonsense. He is doing this to justify selection of old players in his own team.

TBH I did not understand what he meant by word senior - did he mean more experienced or old?

Is this a Pak v Ind series? Was sarfraz asked about India’s seniors? Why would anyone mention India in a series between South Africa and Pakistan.
Can’t he just focus on what he’s got and back his players?

Shoaib Malik has been playing since 1998. Let's see how he does here.

On a serious note, Pakistan has a decent chance against this SA team. Although QdK could be a big problem for them. He has hit form after a year or so.

QdK has been rested? Who's left now

Guys, it is beginning to dawn on me that maybe Sarfaraz is not the best captain since IK.

I mean I am still not sure but let's wait for some concrete evidence.

Sarfaraz Ahmed speaking ahead of the 1st ODI against South Africa:

“Fakhar Zaman is a very important player for us, and his target is to play his natural game”

“But on thing I do say to him is that if you are going to play like that then you have to stay on the wicket because if you do that, then the bowlers will be scared of you”

First of all if you want fakhar to save his wicket and be like warner or afridi at the same time what do you mean???

“If you see the India team, they are more senior to us [in terms of experience], they have Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Dhawan, MS Dhoni” [Talking about India’s previous visit to SA possibly]

half of indian side are always young with 2-3 debuts every tour

“If you talk about the Champions Trophy side then there were many players in that team who were playing for the first time in that tournament “
come out of champions trophy in 2054 you will still be saying the team of champions trophy

“But playing against South Africa in South Africa is difficult so we will try our level best to win here”
Try to survive first then think of win

Yes nothing to do with being a better side, just more "senior" LOL.

Everything the way Sarfraz handles himself, whether it's in batting, wicket keeping, captaincy, press conferences and the way looks, he reminds me of a Karachi Street Cricketer.

What is he on about ? Our LO struggles aren't down to a lack of experience lol. In the CT the 2 best players were 2 inexperience players :))

Malik,Hafeez,Sarfraz ,Amir,and Imad have been international cricketers for a long time. This team isn't young. Hussain Talat is the only newbie in the whole squad. This squad has been together for a while. Sarfraz and the coaching staff need to stop hiding behind lack of experience.

So formula for every international team should be to pack their teams with seniors.

The sooner we sack this guy the better off we will be. Is he allready thinking in head that he lost the odi ? If only we had Saad, Saud Rizwan in the lineup than the current hacks. Is it too late to get Misbah back into the lineup? Or is retirement a done deal? Atleast Mishnah knee how to speak fluent English.

This guy is mediocre even with the way he thinks about game and approaches it

Think he should have said "India has much more reliable senior players than us"

The seniors in Pakistan team right now are one bad series away from losing their places in the side. Hard to use their 'experience', when they are insecure about their own places.

At least he didn't say "we are performing well in white ball cricket, both home and away" :malik

In other words, he’s implying that we are just kids , don’t expect us to compete against men.

The only justification for him bring this up that I can think of is that we are a fellow sub-continental team who also won the ODIs in South Africa same time last year, so Sarfraz might have been asked whether he and his side can pull it off as well.

Can someone post the original video if any truth to what he said. I find it hard to believe he said this and wondering if it was taken out of context.

Pakistan win series, seniors stay and will defo be mainstays for WC.
Pakistan lose series, they'd want stability in the team and back the seniors to perform in future games.
Seniors zindabad.

The only justification for him bring this up that I can think of is that we are a fellow sub-continental team who also won the ODIs in South Africa same time last year, so Sarfraz might have been asked whether he and his side can pull it off as well.

That seems a fair guess.
Even then his answer was atrocious.

But didn't he say that the inclusion of youngsters won us the CT?

Also, the word "senior" just boils my blood! Call it more "experienced" ***!

Well, were you guys expecting him to say “Indian players are better than us”?

Someone should have reminded him of his, Azhar, and Shafiq's pathetic performance.

This is an improvement on “maybe they are scared of playing us”.

Actually he is correct , it's the seniors who are winning matches for india. Dhoni Kohli Rohit etc.

Just give him choice to select seniors like Malick Hafeez Umar , he will win world cup

Sarfaraz shouldn't be bashed for "that" comment
The mediaperson would have asked him about his opinion on ICT which wasn't quite unnecessary

Pakistan cricket.....obsessed with the word senior for over 60 years.

Ugh, I can't hear the word "senior" anymore.

This is a fine comment, let us not raise higher bar for Sarfaraz.

Given his speaking skills, it is good and an improvement because it is a common behaviour with him that he tries to speak something and ends up speaking something else.

I think because we badly lost the test series so naturally whatever Sarfaraz says will feel 10 times worse than what it actually is.

India has Dhoni, Kohli, Rohit, Dhawan, Karthik, ...the list goes on...these are household names in limited overs cricket...

Poor choice of words by Sarfaraz. It shows the midget mindset our so called best captain has. Already finding subtle excuses

Cheap excuses from a tired looking and bashed up captain. Would respect him if he'd just admit India are heaps better.

I think because we badly lost the test series so naturally whatever Sarfaraz says will feel 10 times worse than what it actually is.

India has Dhoni, Kohli, Rohit, Dhawan, Karthik, ...the list goes on...these are household names in limited overs cricket...

But we know India will make changes after the WC regaurdles of the results. Pant will come in for Dhoni after the WC. Gill is already in the LO squad.

Pakistan will pick the same TTFs even if they fail at the WC unless they retire.

Weird presser by Sarfraz. At least he didn’t throw his players under the bus like before.

Seniors Malik and Hafeez ain't winning anything. Fakhar, Shan and Babar will decide if Pak can compete and win the series. There is a minimum guarantee with the bowling. These three at the top need to take responsibility. Fakhar needs to prove he isn't a flash in the pan. Shan needs to book a ticket to.the WC. Babar needs to continue his good run. Plenty to prove for all three and focus should be on them. Rest are just support players and are immaterial.

Warned all of you long ago but Sarfraz was the PP darling of the time. Same people crying for him to be tried as opener are now saying go Sarfraz go.

Jaisa karoge waisa bharoge.

A bit surprised to see the test bashing still showing in Sarfraz's attitude. I would've thought he'd be more upbeat and confident about the limited overs leg. It's the format where we have better chances of winning.

I hope he hasn't half conceded that the string of defeats will continue, because it sure looks like it from his tone. Sad!

Irrespective of other players, I have said it quite a lot of times that our top 3 have not even played 100 matches combined and India’s top 3 has played more than 500.

Top 3 batting positions the are most important positions accross formats. We havent had a settled opening pair for almost two decades now.

Quoting someone out of context and speculating about it is not fair IMO. The question should also have been added.

Irrespective of other players, I have said it quite a lot of times that our top 3 have not even played 100 matches combined and India’s top 3 has played more than 500.

Top 3 batting positions the are most important positions accross formats. We havent had a settled opening pair for almost two decades now.

But u have a player whom Sarfaraz says is like David Warner. I think Warner is most feared batsmen in both LOI and tests. So ur line up starts more dangerous everytime. And good chance to win every 2nd game bcoz Warner scores heavily. It dosent matter what experience is. If u have Warner in ur side then both Rohit and Dhawan combined will not even come close.

CT final proved that he is better than all 3 combined of Indian top order. They have been winning matches by Fluke against weaker opposition.

But u have a player whom Sarfaraz says is like David Warner. I think Warner is most feared batsmen in both LOI and tests. So ur line up starts more dangerous everytime. And good chance to win every 2nd game bcoz Warner scores heavily. It dosent matter what experience is. If u have Warner in ur side then both Rohit and Dhawan combined will not even come close.

CT final proved that he is better than all 3 combined of Indian top order. They have been winning matches by Fluke against weaker opposition.

What are you? 12? That was some low quality sarcasm.

Also, he compared their batting styles. Nothing more.

U felt bad or embarrassed kya ???

But that is truth. Dont take it to ur heart. Many posters have reiterated same feeling of one player being better than other 3 after CT final. U can read that thread. Not one but countless. So it has to be true right

Looks like his tone has changed considerably after the recent drubbings. From the comment "India is afraid to play us" to this.

don't think if meant senior in the same context

I think what he meant is seniors who lead from the front..

----

This is a little weird. He should play his natural game yet he must "stay on the wicket". Talk about conflicting messages.

Did someone ask him about champions trophy or is that he keeps tom toming about it all the time, without context?

He's already defeated in the head. Anything other than a whitewash would be a great result for Sarfraz.

Also he's just obsessed with the Champions Trophy. Move on bhai.

Think also these media things are getting too much now - surely he cannot be asked the same questions again and again?

Did someone ask him about champions trophy or is that he keeps tom toming about it all the time, without context?

These are all replies to questions - they arent prepared statements.

don't think if meant senior in the same context

I think what he meant is seniors who lead from the front..

Could be - unfortunately many times the questions from journalists themselves arent clear either.

----

This is a little weird. He should play his natural game yet he must "stay on the wicket". Talk about conflicting messages.

He seems really a confused guy. First he says Indian team success is due to seniority then he says we won champions trophy due to young players. It's amazing how this guy is captain of our national team. Even Afridi was more clear than him.