“Pakistan bowlers were saying something on every ball, making personal attacks, so I feel I needed to give them this answer”: Abhishek Sharma

TNAmarkFromIndia

Local Club Regular
Abhishek Sharma:
“Paaji, aaj to mujhe lag raha hai kuch aisa khelna hi padna tha kyonki jaise woh I feel... mujhe personally achchha nahi lag raha tha kyonki aap har ball pe kuch aise bol rahe ho jo, you know, personal attack kar rahe ho, toh I feel ki unko yeh answer dena zaroori bhi tha kyonki this is not how you play cricket, I feel, meri personally mujhe aisa lagta hai, aur meri aur Shubhman ki yahi baat chal rahi thi ki hum match jeet ke phir answer denge.”

(Paaji, today I feel I had to play something like this because I feel... I personally did not like it because you are saying something on every ball which, you know, making personal attacks, so I feel it was necessary to give them this answer because this is not how you play cricket, I feel, personally I feel like this, and Shubman and I were talking about this that we will give the answer after winning the match.)

These guys are playing likes of Starc and Rabada in pressure cooker environment of the IPL and coming on top. And Pakistan really thought that sledging them would help ?

If anything, learn from NZ. They have an edge over India because they act nicest of nice and that makes Indians feel over confident and lazy.

The tussle between Gill Abhishek and Shaheen starts back to u19 WC. Shaheen and Co were sledging them that day about how they are not Bangladeshi level bowlers and will knock Indians out. Abhishek replied after hitting that yeah well we are not Bangladeshi level batters either.

In all this Bangladeshis should ask like mujhe kyu today?

As I grew up, my middle-class parents taught me not to pick fights with random people on the street, especially those lower in the social hierarchy. Their reasoning was clear. People with little to lose often show less regard for order. They develop a fearlessness and shamelessness born of hardship. It may look like bravery and can provoke you into a dirty confrontation, but in truth it is usually just frustration finding an outlet.

That same dynamic is now visible between India and Pakistan. When Asim Munir visited the US last month, he likened India to a Mercedes and Pakistan to a dump truck. Offhand remarks often reveal a deeper mindset. A nation that does not aspire to be the Mercedes, but instead takes pride in being the dump truck, tells you everything about the state of its collective thinking.

Many Pakistanis are decent and constructive people and I have huge respect for them. To emerge from a deeply propaganda controlled single religion dominant nation, it’s not natural and very easy to hold a globalist viewpoint but many Pakistanis exhibit this mentality which must be applauded because of the rarity of such mental development where full credit must go their parents and to their own resilient mind.

But sadly, their public discourse is increasingly dominated by voices that spew racist, Hinduophobic, and derogatory remarks on live television. It’s not uncommon to find Pakistani posters celebrate terrorists and Beef eating here only to annoy fellow Indians. Slogans and chest-thumping rhetoric has also been rampant in Pakistanis in the last few years even when ground realities do not match. These are the marks of a deteriorating state of mind.

India’s best response is discipline and restraint. Do not engage in trading endless insults. Maintain dignity. Focus on your duties. Keep silence where silence carries more strength than noise. Let them fight among themselves without dragging you into the mud.

An educated man cannot win in verbal abuse war with a random man on the street and in the words of Field Marshal Asim Munir, sometimes the shining Mercedes must maintain safe distance from Dump Trucks.

@Rajdeep @cricketjoshila @Nikhil_cric @MP2011 @Hitman @Varun @Romali_rotti @deltexas @Devadwal @RexRex @JaDed @straighttalk @Hikaru @hoshiarpurexpress

I actually don't mind the sledging and verbals. For far too long the Pakistani players have been desperate to butter up to Kohli and the Indian IPL rich players.

Even if you Lose, no problem. Remind the opposition you will come back next game for revenge.

Can't remember the last time Pakistan smashed Bhumrah or hit Kuldeep for two sixes. A good coach will take the positives and tell the players that Indian side is mortal, next time go for the kill.

I’m sorry but the Indian batsmen are liars, they are the ones who were chatting rubbish to the Pakistan bowlers, typical Indians playing the poor us card
Anyone who saw the match would know that during Jndia's batting, who initiated the chit chat

Sledging is good, if you know how, when and whom to direct it towards.

Random sledging can backfire very easily.

Pakistanis seem to be overdoing it and it backfired tremendously.

They need to learn the art of sledging.
Exactly

You sledge when you have the upper hand.

Not when your bowlers are getting tonked for boundaries at will.

Anyway, all those yapping was over by the end of power play. Once Abrar too was taken to tbe cleaners.

Being a Punjabi, this shouldn't be Abhishek's first experience playing a bunch of classless paindus. He handled it quite well, but there's no need to tweet about these nobodies.
When you play in Northern zone at u14 and above even the opposition coaches abuse you. I have played district level and zonal tournaments till u18 and trust me this is is nothing. Punjabis use an abuse in every third word and especially if you trigger them you have a hail storm incoming

I actually don't mind the sledging and verbals. For far too long the Pakistani players have been desperate to butter up to Kohli and the Indian IPL rich players.

Even if you Lose, no problem. Remind the opposition you will come back next game for revenge.

Can't remember the last time Pakistan smashed Bhumrah or hit Kuldeep for two sixes. A good coach will take the positives and tell the players that Indian side is mortal, next time go for the kill.
Sledging without a solid performance or win looks really bad. :kp

This is all normal, since the dawn of cricket. Why are we sensationalising it?

Bowlers sledge, that’s what they do.

Batsmen try and respond, that’s what they do.

I'm giving some attention to a post that no one apart from Indians seem to be giving a rats fart... because they are our closest neighbour.

So crimgetworthy when our big neighbours treat everything like a masala movie. Lol.

Just calm down, sledging is normal in cricket. It's not like Shaheen and Rauff shot down two Rafael's or erased the Sindhoor on Abhijeet or whoever's forehead.

Congratulations India. Sri Lanka will beat you.
SL need to beat PAK first. If it's a dead rubber , they'll be completely demotivated and will be slaughtered by India in the final super 4 match.

I'm giving some attention to a post that no one apart from Indians seem to be giving a rats fart... because they are our closest neighbour.

So crimgetworthy when our big neighbours treat everything like a masala movie. Lol.

Just calm down, sledging is normal in cricket. It's not like Shaheen and Rauff shot down two Rafael's or erased the Sindhoor on Abhijeet or whoever's forehead.

Congratulations India. Sri Lanka will beat you.
Love when every single word from some people's mouth are lies. Social media exposes the low IQ people who fall for every single propaganda and lies.

And stop pretending to be Sri lankans, sri lankans are among the smartest people in the subcontinent and the last ones to fall for propaganda or make fun of terrorism victims.

That's the problem with low IQ trolls, they cannot maintain their facade even for a day and end up exposing themselves.

The tussle between Gill Abhishek and Shaheen starts back to u19 WC. Shaheen and Co were sledging them that day about how they are not Bangladeshi level bowlers and will knock Indians out. Abhishek replied after hitting that yeah well we are not Bangladeshi level batters either.

In all this Bangladeshis should ask like mujhe kyu today?
A correction.. the reply was ham bhi Pakistani batsmen Nahi Hain..

Honestly such babies. The Pakistani cricketers came here for a sporting tournament. It was India that made this personal - I don’t even care about the handshakes, but the reference to the army, armed forces etc. if you’re gonna start that, especially after your epic 6-0 phainty, then expect to be reminded of it.

Fair play to abhishek he came out on top on the pitch yesterday, but if you let your bat do the talking, then why talk now and act like a victim?

Leave it on the field.

Honestly such babies. The Pakistani cricketers came here for a sporting tournament. It was India that made this personal - I don’t even care about the handshakes, but the reference to the army, armed forces etc. if you’re gonna start that, especially after your epic 6-0 phainty, then expect to be reminded of it.

Fair play to abhishek he came out on top on the pitch yesterday, but if you let your bat do the talking, then why talk now and act like a victim?

Leave it on the field.
Pakistanis are showing victims mentality yet again and it's Very predictable now. :klopp :kp

First, reach the finals. Even if you do, you'll still lose to India.

When India thrashed Pakistan on 14th September, you said we will take revenge on 21st September.

" INDIA ko harane ke sapne dekhna chhod do , ye ab tumhare baski bat nahi hai. '

:klopp :kp
Bro - pehle tu bhe hara lay sri lanka aur bangladesh ko.

Itna uchalo mat.

As I grew up, my middle-class parents taught me not to pick fights with random people on the street, especially those lower in the social hierarchy. Their reasoning was clear. People with little to lose often show less regard for order. They develop a fearlessness and shamelessness born of hardship. It may look like bravery and can provoke you into a dirty confrontation, but in truth it is usually just frustration finding an outlet.

That same dynamic is now visible between India and Pakistan. When Asim Munir visited the US last month, he likened India to a Mercedes and Pakistan to a dump truck. Offhand remarks often reveal a deeper mindset. A nation that does not aspire to be the Mercedes, but instead takes pride in being the dump truck, tells you everything about the state of its collective thinking.

Many Pakistanis are decent and constructive people and I have huge respect for them. To emerge from a deeply propaganda controlled single religion dominant nation, it’s not natural and very easy to hold a globalist viewpoint but many Pakistanis exhibit this mentality which must be applauded because of the rarity of such mental development where full credit must go their parents and to their own resilient mind.

But sadly, their public discourse is increasingly dominated by voices that spew racist, Hinduophobic, and derogatory remarks on live television. It’s not uncommon to find Pakistani posters celebrate terrorists and Beef eating here only to annoy fellow Indians. Slogans and chest-thumping rhetoric has also been rampant in Pakistanis in the last few years even when ground realities do not match. These are the marks of a deteriorating state of mind.

India’s best response is discipline and restraint. Do not engage in trading endless insults. Maintain dignity. Focus on your duties. Keep silence where silence carries more strength than noise. Let them fight among themselves without dragging you into the mud.

An educated man cannot win in verbal abuse war with a random man on the street and in the words of Field Marshal Asim Munir, sometimes the shining Mercedes must maintain safe distance from Dump Trucks.

@Rajdeep @cricketjoshila @Nikhil_cric @MP2011 @Hitman @Varun @Romali_rotti @deltexas @Devadwal @RexRex @JaDed @straighttalk @Hikaru @hoshiarpurexpress
Very true brother, even in debates here, I follow the same template. Doesn't matter how low the other side stoops, much like Abhishek, @Hikaru sticks to his classy Sanatani roots, there's never a need to go as low as the other side.

I am glad if you are genuinely following this template. It will serve you well in long term.
Idea is not to see the other side as beneath you but to understand the situations and destiny.

So it’s proven , Nothing ever substitutes a great Fast bowler. If Shaheen was premium fast bowler like Starc who took out Sharma G in Final of IPL with epic delivery , we would nt be looking at tweets of Sharma g ka larka

If & Buts!

We might’ve lost, but thanks to the handshake gate, it’s brought out some missing aggression in our team.

Gone are days where Rizwan would be hugging Pandya, or Kohli hanging around the Pakistan team.

Hopefully it stays this way for a long time.

India v Pakistan cricket has always been full of sledging and abuses. Back in the 90s, it often felt like a war, especially in Sharjah. The crowds were hostile too like Kris Srikkanth was beaten up when India toured Pakistan in ’89, hostile Bangalore crowd during 96 quarter final and Miandad getting standing abuse, Karachi fans threw objects at Indian players in ’97 forcing Sachin to take his team off the field, and Eden Gardens fans turned against Pakistan players in ’99.

While crowd hostility faded with the turn of the millennium, players still went hard at each other. There was almost a fight in the dressing room during the 2003 World Cup clash. Between 2004–08, when the two teams played regularly, tussles were constant like Gambhir vs Afridi, Afridi abusing debutant Dhoni, Gambhir vs the Akmal brothers, Bhajji vs Shoaib Akhtar, and so on.

It was only after Pakistan got caught in spot-fixing and Misbah took charge that things changed. Misbah tried to rebuild the team’s damaged reputation and introduced a “no sledging, play with respect” culture. This tradition was carried forward by Kohli, who also seemed keen to keep his Pakistani fan following happy. Soon, the likes of Rohit Sharma, Rizwan, and Babar Azam joined this “friendship gang.” No matter the political tensions, players on both sides were friendly like Kohli laughing with Pak players after the CT final loss, Dahani requesting a photo with Dhoni, Shaheen gifting Bumrah a present for his newborn, Kohli giving his bat to Amir, and many such moments.

But times have changed again. The PG era seems over, and we’re back in the “Attitude Era,” with young blood from both sides sledging and abusing each other. The tension was palpable in yesterday’s game, not just among players, but even in the commentary box.

Now its upto you what you prefer - a PG era style dosti yaari kid friendly cricket match or an attitude era style spectacle which feels like a war.

I know what I will choose

:akhtar :kp

Every ball.

Imagine being out there and copping abuse for your government and their nonsense every bloody ball

Every ball.

Imagine being out there and copping abuse for your government and their nonsense every bloody ball
Imagine everyone ball smashed out of the park and Indian say Jake ball utha ke Lao........( WITH ABUSIVE WORDS ) .....:

:KLOPP :KP

Very proud of our boys. This should be the new normal.

Indian fans and now their players disrespect us at every opportunity. They are an enemy nation and should be treated as such. Their "sensitivies" do not matter.
Yes

What kind of people cry about being sledged, knowing his team started off the animosity with political and hypocrisy?

Indian players shook hands with Pakistani umpire Faisal Afridi after the Oman game.

How are the Pakistan players responsible for any of their government’s decisions?

Yes

What kind of people cry about being sledged knowing his team started off the animosity with political and hypocrisy?

Indian players shook hands with Pakistani umpire Faisal Afridi after the Oman game.

How are the Pakistan players responsible for any of their government’s decisions?

Some of these people are bollywood addicts, they are doormats.

The political stuff was started by India when they banned our players in IPL and paid for the attack on the SL team.

Some of these people are bollywood addicts, they are doormats.

The political stuff was started by India when they banned our players in IPL and paid for the attack on the SL team.
It reminds me of Modi crying about Pakistan and attacking INDIA as a response to their Terrorism.

What were the Indian team expecting today?

Even before Gill and Sharma copped abuse, it was Pandya who started the abusive atmosphere by needlessly sledging Farhan.

If you can’t take it, don’t dish it out!

Pak players just behaved like bunch of barking dogs that seldom bites..Indian batters appropriately shooed them away with their bats..

Thank you India for winning the game and also saving Pakistan in a way.

Pakistani players don’t have the same level of decorum, education and IQ of Indian players. Agha kind of seems like a decent bloke but never say never.

Surya whatever he said in the PC packaged it in a professional way. He has the aptitude and articulation needed for that.

Pak players would have gone postal and said something bigoted or racist and open a new Pandora’s box after the emotions of the first game and get ridiculed/ banned. They don’t have the aptitude or decorum for such situations I feel. Remember even chilled out guys like Sarfaraz has said racist things. Shoaib Malik dedicated a loss once to all “Muslims of the world”.

India winning seems to kind of diffused the situation for now 👍

Something you have done just once, in 1992. That too after rain gods blessed you.
Yes and India has won it like 5 times.
On one hand they downplay all the hype in a game vs Pak on the other hand they keep talking and talking about a group match vs Pak.

Thank you India for winning the game and also saving Pakistan in a way.

Pakistani players don’t have the same level of decorum, education and IQ of Indian players. Agha kind of seems like a decent bloke but never say never.

Surya whatever he said in the PC packaged it in a professional way. He has the aptitude and articulation needed for that.

Pak players would have gone postal and said something bigoted or racist and open a new Pandora’s box after the emotions of the first game and get ridiculed/ banned. They don’t have the aptitude or decorum for such situations I feel. Remember even chilled out guys like Sarfaraz has said racist things. Shoaib Malik dedicated a loss once to all “Muslims of the world”.

India winning seems to kind of diffused the situation for now 👍

Rauf here is describing how Pakistan shot down 6 of your jets. Why so triggered?

1758535950692.png

How can any bowler even sledge when they are getting clobbered to all parts of the ground? :yk

Shaheen was looking like he was about to cry from the belt treatment whenever he was walking back to the bowling mark but still was mouthing off verbals as if he was bowling like Mitchell Johnson at the Gabba 2013. :ROFLMAO:

This is a weird post. Firstly we are not discussing international politics but just a game of cricket. Some teams invest in their future and reap rewards further down the line and others sit on their laurels thinking they are doing just enough but quickly get overtaken when others step on the peddle. You can see West Indies in the 70’s and 80’s. England and even Australia at various points. No doubt Pak has a lot of improvements to make and congrats to India for improving and doing well. Long may it flourish if it makes cricket better.

But lack of sportsmanship and small mindedness from Pak and India doesn’t make cricket better. The fraternity that exists is forever weakened and dimished. We look to sports to bridge gaps when politics divides. I bet you’ve never been to Pakistan. I’ve been to India many times as a Pakistani Brit. The problems in each country are unique but both of them have them. Yet landing in Delhi switching to Hindi/urdu immediately and eating the same food one is reminded simply about all that unites us rather than than that which divides us.

Nowhere in earth can a Pakistani sense the familiar outside Pak than in Delhi. When you look back at the 2003-2005 series many Indians visiting Pak would say the same. People to people contact reminds us we can compete and argue but ultimately we should unite against the common enemy. Australia.

Indians especially the jingoistic types supporting all that Modi et al stand for are corroding the internal fabric of multi ethnic India. Pak are simply too blind to see their own faults. Our inadequacies are laughable. All the corporate dollars won’t transform India into a great nation and all Pakistans chest thumping won’t turn it into a great nation. Only great people can do that. Neither country has them.

What can’t be denied is that we all should embrace better sportsmanship to show that we are better than the people that divide us. Perhaps that’ll be a step towards being great nations.

The Fight Video

Lmao...Gill swatted him away to midwicket like a mosquito and the poor guy had a go at Abhishek at the non-strikers end. :ROFLMAO:

This Rauf guy has been mentally scarred ever since Kohli did that to him at the MCG and it was only only made worse by Rohit absolutely demolishing him at Ahmedabad. It will take a lot more than a psychiatric to get this guy back to normal.

A nation full of idiots and cry babies 🇮🇳.

Maybe this Abishek guy is too young to understand things off the pitch but this is what you get.

A nation full of idiots and cry babies 🇮🇳.

Maybe this Abishek guy is too young to understand things off the pitch but this is what you get.

He mauled you guys mercilessly and replied in kind with both words and his batswing.

I'm pretty sure no one is "crying" on our side, sunny . :yk

They smashed Polio this time right ?

Shaheen sledging still makes sense he is a quality bowler but why does Rauf think he is able to. One of the worst bowlers this country has ever produced

This got to be some high level cope from some Pakistani posters.

Who is crying? Abhishek replied with both on field aggression and with his game in a proper manner. Instead, people here are make a scene where Abhishek took an ‘L’ while Rauf / Shaheen had a ‘W’?? Are you guys serious?

Didnt know that banter / abuses are metric for the cricket game. Lol.

I can understand that, things get heated up. I wont blame Shaheen and Rauf for their banter. Just not a fan of gaali galoch though.

What is absolutely cringeworthy is Raufs reactions to crowd. And crowd giving gaali galoch to Rauf. The crowd should be removed and Rauf should also be fined IMO

We might’ve lost, but thanks to the handshake gate, it’s brought out some missing aggression in our team.

Gone are days where Rizwan would be hugging Pandya, or Kohli hanging around the Pakistan team.

Hopefully it stays this way for a long time.

Yes.

This was the first time I saw Pakistan sledging India in a very long time.

It was refreshing. :inti

In order for Pakistan to eventually try to regain some level of competitive edge against India, they need to do away with this jhappi pappi thank you for allowing me to be on the same field as the Indians attitude and indulge in these verbals and sledging against the Indians even when losing, you will eventually get it right in the next game and give a well deserved send off to the opposition as that is the beauty of the game.

Even Kohli indulged in verbals against Australia early on in his career even when India was losing and losing badly. End result 6-7 years later, he led India to a first test series win in Australia. It all starts with the mindset first.

In order for Pakistan to eventually try to regain some level of competitive edge against India, they need to do away with this jhappi pappi thank you for allowing me to be on the same field as the Indians attitude and indulge in these verbals and sledging against the Indians even when losing, you will eventually get it right in the next game and give a well deserved send off to the opposition as that is the beauty of the game.

Even Kohli indulged in verbals against Australia early on in his career even when India was losing and losing badly. End result 6-7 years later, he led India to a first test series win in Australia. It all starts with the mindset first.

The goal is to get under the skin of their younger players. We have allowed them to fully express themselves while our players keep their heads down like good little boys. No more of this. We lose we lose but the moment we win, they will mentally collapse.

Misbah and Babar really destroyed the teams psyche.

Lol that abhishek sharma or whatever his name is has a crying face. It looks like he is about to cry anytime.

Haris and shaheen made him cry rightly so.