“We are taking PSL back to Pakistan in 2020 completely" : Fawad Chaudhry, Minister of Information

Zeeraq

“We are taking PSL back to Pakistan in 2020 completely" : Fawad Chaudhry, Minister of Information

Dubai: The fifth edition of the Pakistan Super League wil entirely be held in Pakistan with no matches in the UAE, said Fawad Chaudhry, Minister of Information.

“We are taking PSL back to Pakistan in 2020 completely,” revealed Chaudhry while speaking at an event in Dubai on Sunday. He said PSL-2019 is the last edition of the major Pakistan Twenty20 cricket tournament being held in Dubai this year.

“I urge all Pakistanis living in the UAE to go to the stadium to watch matches as this will be last time the tournament is being held here,” he said. The call came due to the lacklustre response from the community last year as stadium remained empty in Dubai during the last PSL matches. “This is your country’s event, make it successful,” he said

Dubai based ARY Group, which also owns a team Karachi Kings, has also launched a campaign ‘Maidan Sajana Hai; (fill the stadium) across the UAE giving incentives to residents to watch matches in the stadium.

PSL-2019 will kick off with defending champions Islamabad United locking horns with Lahore Qalandars on February 14. The franchise Twenty20 cricket league was launched by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) in 2015. But the tournament was held in the UAE for the last four years as intenrational cricket players refused to go to Pakistan for security reason.

The fourth edition of the highly anticipated league will kick-off from February 14 and will conclude with the final to be played at the national stadium Karachi on March 17, 2019. Karachi Kings will play its opening match against Multan Sultans on February 15 at Dubai.
Final matches in Pakistan

Out of the total 34, the final eight matches of the PSL-2019 will be played in Lahore and Karachi while the final of the tournament will be played in Karachi on March 17. The rest of the matches will be played in Dubai, Sharjah and Abu Dhabi.
Openining Ceremony

The grand opening ceremony of the 2019 Pakistan Super League will be held on February 14, 2019 in Dubai, with performances from some of the biggest names in the global and Pakistani entertainment industry.

American rapper Pitbull is expected to headline the PSL opening ceremony but it will not be restricted to just him as Pakistan band Junoon and pops band of an era gone by, Boney M will also make their presence felt. Others include the likes of Young Desi, Fawad Khan, Aima Baig and Shuja Haider as they look to light up the start of the fourth season of the PSL.

This opening ceremony will be followed by the first match of the PSL04 between Islamabad United and Lahore Qalandars.

https://gulfnews.com/sport/cricket/...league-will-not-be-held-in-the-uae-1.61723587

Shouldn't this announcement be coming from the PCB rather than the govt?

It is known that PCB is under the government, still any random minister making such cricket related announcement seems out of order.

Lol fix the national stadium first. Known as Pakistan's happy hunting ground but now it looks like a dumping ground. Sums up Sarfraz's home ground perfectly.

Will many international players will travel?

Not as many they would like, but this is an interesting but risky move. They have created a product that has a following, now we need to see if that’s enough to get game attendances in Pakistan which have always been anemic

Brilliant move!

The platform has been set based off the first few years for it to flourish in Pakistan.

The international stars will flock to go in shaa allah and we will be able to go toe to toe with the IPL in years to come.

It is known that PCB is under the government, still any random minister making such cricket related announcement seems out of order.

He is not a 'random' minister!

He is information minister and this does come under him so there is assurance to foreign players on security.

Compare this to Miss Maryam Aurangzeb, who sat next to Vivian Richards, Ian Chappel and Brian Lara in PTV studio, commenting on Champion's Trophy, World T20 and PSL.

Just another political statement with no details to back it up. Have been hearing it for a couple of PSL's now.

Hope it happens though. Will be a big boost to our game

Comes across as more of an incentive to fill the stadiums for PSL 2019 as "it may be their last chance".

They should go ahead and play it all at home regardless of whether star players travel or not. People of Pakistan deserve to see it all in front of their eyes. Eventually after success, other players will follow.

thatd really stupid. Its a whole year left with 2019 psl still remaining. Its just fantasy and big talk for the moment

Yeah, will be renamed as Quadeazm Trophy (T20) due to lack of foreign players

incentive to fill the stadiums for PSL 2019 in the UAE

“I urge all Pakistanis living in the UAE to go to the stadium to watch matches as this will be last time the tournament is being held here,” he said. The call came due to the lacklustre response from the community last year as stadium remained empty in Dubai during the last PSL matches. “This is your country’s event, make it successful,” he said

Great, will schedule my next vacation in Pakistan accordingly. Will be a great escape from cold winters in USA to sunny and warmer Lahore----------------- and exciting cricket.

Lol nothing more than a plea and beg to get locals to fill up stadiums. Let’s be honest, no big current name will come to Pakistan. Once the novalify after the few games is over, no ones gonna come and watch pakistani domestic players like faheem and Shan.

He likes to run his mouth which backfires frequently. I think it is too early to talk about this, and also too early to dilute the quality of players in the PSL for the sake of hosting the whole tournament in Pakistan.

Nonetheless, it will of course be fantastic to have the whole tournament in Pakistan with all the available international players participating. PSL has the potential to be a distant second in franchise cricket after the IPL of course.

Wouldn't mind missing out on a few foreigners as long as it takes place in Pakistan.

PSL would finally get profitable for the franchises + PCB. Also the atmosphere would be thousand times better.

Great, will schedule my next vacation in Pakistan accordingly. Will be a great escape from cold winters in USA to sunny and warmer Lahore----------------- and exciting cricket.

It's pretty cold in Feb here! ;)

The sooner UAE is ditched as a venue for Pakistan cricket, the better it will be.

[MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION] here comes the good news.

Great news and comes from probably the best person in this situation. It should give confidence that PAK Govt. is behind the commitment - something exactly 10 years back could have rewritten some history. I was always for entire PSL to be played in PAK and after that, whichever player doesn’t commit to visit PAK should be banned from PSL. It could have been better had it started from 2019 edition, but there is a leadership change in PCB after Govt. changeover and 6 months was probably too little for this.

Having said that, now PAK govt. has to walk the talk and make sure that they stick to the announcement - 13 months at hand and absolutely no excuse; if PCB is to rearrange it back to UAE or some other place outside PAK, it’ll be considered a major failure for the government on their part of credibility.

Great news and comes from probably the best person in this situation. It should give confidence that PAK Govt. is behind the commitment - something exactly 10 years back could have rewritten some history. I was always for entire PSL to be played in PAK and after that, whichever player doesn’t commit to visit PAK should be banned from PSL. It could have been better had it started from 2019 edition, but there is a leadership change in PCB after Govt. changeover and 6 months was probably too little for this.

Having said that, now PAK govt. has to walk the talk and make sure that they stick to the announcement - 13 months at hand and absolutely no excuse; if PCB is to rearrange it back to UAE or some other place outside PAK, it’ll be considered a major failure for the government on their part of credibility.

Also ABDV etc. playing in Pak will help this time. After this edition others will not have excuses left.

I dont think it will be a good move, however there should be half matches held in Pakistan.

:))) :))) U-TURN

If i remember correctly, PTI used to bash Najem Sethi by saying they would arrange the whole PSL in Pakistan.

So why not this year then?

Should be thankful to Najem Sethi that he was able to lay a foundation for Pakistan Cricket to return. Now its up to his successors how to continue the mission of bringing cricket back to Pakistan.

He is not a 'random' minister!

yes he is random. He is information Minister.

Whether the whole PSL happens in Pakistan or not, its not his call. Infact, he is a nobody is this matter.

The relevant person here is the Patron in chief and the Interior Minister.

Thus, the PSL taking place in Pakistan would be Sheryar Afridi's call. He would be tasked in getting all the security arrangements made in place, and if a mishap happens at the end of the day, it will not be PCB's fault or Fawad Chaudry's fault, it will be Sheryar Afridi's fault.

The Sri Lankan Cricket attack was never the PCB's fault, it was Rehman Malik's mishap. But no one seem to care.
Not once was Rehman Malik blamed for it.

Would personally like Imran Khan to have some involvement and advocate for the PSL

Lol nothing more than a plea and beg to get locals to fill up stadiums. Let’s be honest, no big current name will come to Pakistan. Once the novalify after the few games is over, no ones gonna come and watch pakistani domestic players like faheem and Shan.

If that's your wish, you will be hugely disappointed.

Whats going on in Qatar and Kabul, with USA, Afghanistan and Taliban soon to reach an agreement, better and peaceful days are ahead. Of course not everyone is happy with international cricket coming back to Pakistan, hence some very negative comments.

:))) :))) U-TURN

If i remember correctly, PTI used to bash Najem Sethi by saying they would arrange the whole PSL in Pakistan.

So why not this year then?

Should be thankful to Najem Sethi that he was able to lay a foundation for Pakistan Cricket to return. Now its up to his successors how to continue the mission of bringing cricket back to Pakistan.

SO they made a U Turn by keeping to their original word.

I'm tired of being burned again and again from such statements by political figures and PCB administrators. I'd rather see them actually bringing PSL completely to Pakistan instead of making statements and then backtracking from them.

yes he is random. He is information Minister.

Whether the whole PSL happens in Pakistan or not, its not his call. Infact, he is a nobody is this matter.

The relevant person here is the Patron in chief and the Interior Minister.

Thus, the PSL taking place in Pakistan would be Sheryar Afridi's call. He would be tasked in getting all the security arrangements made in place, and if a mishap happens at the end of the day, it will not be PCB's fault or Fawad Chaudry's fault, it will be Sheryar Afridi's fault.

The Sri Lankan Cricket attack was never the PCB's fault, it was Rehman Malik's mishap. But no one seem to care.
Not once was Rehman Malik blamed for it.
Interior ministry is with Imran Khan. In Pakistan it is usaully the information minister who does announce such things so it is not strange thing to hear provided they stick to this.

Very good plan.. it may be a bit tad too early but required nonetheless. Best of luck to PSL teams and fans. I also hope Pak cricket fans go to stadium and watch their heroes play good cricket. i was not impressed by some of PSL highlights of the matches played in Pak. More fans and more noise is required to make T20 fun. i attended many IPL matches and biggest fun is the crowd involvement and food :) and then the long walk back home

The issue is if Pakistan ditches UAE, and then the UAE or worse some other country decides to hold a league in UAE, it will be bigger than PSL. The UAE is a dream destination for a league, good cricketing facilities, tourist place, very little crime. Players are very happy to come to UAE. And most foreign players will prefer playing in UAE over Pakistan even if there was no terrorist threat.

They'll have to run the numbers and actually work out whether PSL will be more profitable, and better future in the long run in Pakistan or not. I think it'll definitely be smaller if held in Pakistan, but maybe the bigger share of the profits and appeasing the people might be worth it.

Whats going on in Qatar and Kabul, with USA, Afghanistan and Taliban soon to reach an agreement, better and peaceful days are ahead. Of course not everyone is happy with international cricket coming back to Pakistan, hence some very negative comments.

I totally agree with you. I am not a Pakistani but a big fan of Pakistan cricket team. Its very sad to see so much negativity by most of the pp posters, at times I get annoyed with their hate comments on their cricketers that make me believe that they do not know what the cricket is about ? there is no positivity at all no matter what PCB does. Also there is no respect to any ex cricketers.

Not only in Pakistan, but peace is going to return to Afghanistan too, and with that, Afghan cricket will flourish immensely. I hope in 5 years ( or sooner ) I will be watching on TV a Test being played at Kabul.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Empty stadiums at PSL matches in UAE justify PM Imran Khan s decision to move the entire PSL to Pakistan next year. Matches inshallah will be played in all the big cities of Pakistan with jam packed stadiums.</p>— Naeem ul Haque (@naeemul_haque) <a href="https://twitter.com/naeemul_haque/status/1096782482404503552?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 16, 2019</a></blockquote>

This gentleman as per his profile:

Special Assistant to Prime Minister Imran Khan. Ex Central Information Secretary. One of the 5 Founding members of PTI Former President PTI Sindh.

When ranji trophy happens in india, stadiums are almost full in finals at least. Have you seen such in Pakistan? PSL will be similar to just another domestic league with almost no foreign player (except may be windian) who would be comfortable to live here, in Pakistan, for the time the tournament happens.

Half of Lahore & Karachi is under virtual curfew 3 days prior to a PSL match. Can only imagine the plight of locals if they have to bear it for more than month.

You won’t see even half the stadiums filled if only 2 cities are hosting it. Initial euphoria dies, people lose interest. Truth be told, PSL telecast from Dubai & Abu Dhabi are more pleasing to the eye. Both Gaddafi & National stadiums need to be rebuilt. Makeovers like new roof do little to hide their age.

Half of Lahore & Karachi is under virtual curfew 3 days prior to a PSL match. Can only imagine the plight of locals if they have to bear it for more than month.

You won’t see even half the stadiums filled if only 2 cities are hosting it. Initial euphoria dies, people lose interest. Truth be told, PSL telecast from Dubai & Abu Dhabi are more pleasing to the eye. Both Gaddafi & National stadiums need to be rebuilt. Makeovers like new roof do little to hide their age.

This just tells me Imran and army are going to step up the process of eliminating terrorists this year.

That is what happened when Pakistan hosted the Asia Cup in 2008 when all the matches were held in Karachi. That is too risky, you have to spread it evenly to all grounds and cities in Pakistan, best way to guarantee demand and jampacked grounds for all the matches.

Which is why before completely bringing the PSL to Pak we should focus on giving each time a homeground at least. Or at least four stadiums hosting matches and those four need to be of international quality.

What’s the update with Rafi stadium construction in Bahria Town Karachi? Will Malik Riaz complete it despite all the legal & financial turmoil he’s engulfed in?

His entire future and freedom is on the line and it looks like he will have to cough up billions of dollars. I can't imagine a cricket stadium will be a priority :)).

imagine him putting all his resources in the cricket stadium and when the supreme court judges ask him what he has been up to he'd go like, "I'm busy building stadium so PSL can be played in Pakistan, work with me here judge sahab"

India won't let foreign players participate in any PSL match in AJK or Gilgit-Baltistan. There'll be enough pressure on their home boards to revoke the NOCs necessary for participating in overseas T20 leagues.

The sooner UAE is ditched as a venue for Pakistan cricket, the better it will be.

I am living in Dubai and let me tell you PCB is doing zero effort to fill the stadiums. some examples:

1. Online tickets have a quota of total tickets. My friend was trying to buy Karachi / Lahore tickets online, but could not as it showed the section as sold out. I was at the ground, the stand was 80% empty!. Makes no sense.

2. If you buy the tickets online or on your mobile you have to print it. I mean seriously. So if i decide to go last minute, i have to buy the ticket, then find a printer and then go

3. Zero family or kids promotion. The stands are empty. Why not have a kids go free or a cheaper family ticket

4. The stadium is far, they should run some sort of a bus service. Return taxi to the stadium is more expensive than the cost of the ticket itself

5. No ticket promotion. The aim should be to fill the stadiums. On the weekday, give free tickets to school or buy 1 get 1 free, or heck even free tickets. Just get bums on seats. But there is zero effort. Ticket prices are fixed

6. No partnering with any local retailer for tickets. Lets say you shop somewhere and you get free tickets. None of that here.

These are the basics that they should be doing, but they have zero effort behind this!

I am living in Dubai and let me tell you PCB is doing zero effort to fill the stadiums. some examples:

1. Online tickets have a quota of total tickets. My friend was trying to buy Karachi / Lahore tickets online, but could not as it showed the section as sold out. I was at the ground, the stand was 80% empty!. Makes no sense.

2. If you buy the tickets online or on your mobile you have to print it. I mean seriously. So if i decide to go last minute, i have to buy the ticket, then find a printer and then go

3. Zero family or kids promotion. The stands are empty. Why not have a kids go free or a cheaper family ticket

4. The stadium is far, they should run some sort of a bus service. Return taxi to the stadium is more expensive than the cost of the ticket itself

5. No ticket promotion. The aim should be to fill the stadiums. On the weekday, give free tickets to school or buy 1 get 1 free, or heck even free tickets. Just get bums on seats. But there is zero effort. Ticket prices are fixed

6. No partnering with any local retailer for tickets. Lets say you shop somewhere and you get free tickets. None of that here.

These are the basics that they should be doing, but they have zero effort behind this!

Excellent post.

Even if it is in Pakistan without most foreign players, I don't think its a big deal. This platform is really for the young players to get noticed (since the selection is too inept to notice them in actual domestic matches). It would just mean more opportunity for some of the younger players and it would still be a competitive tournament since its a limited number of teams.

When ranji trophy happens in india, stadiums are almost full in finals at least. Have you seen such in Pakistan? PSL will be similar to just another domestic league with almost no foreign player (except may be windian) who would be comfortable to live here, in Pakistan, for the time the tournament happens.

You are wrong dude.

India won't let foreign players participate in any PSL match in AJK or Gilgit-Baltistan. There'll be enough pressure on their home boards to revoke the NOCs necessary for participating in overseas T20 leagues.

Insia is doing what tey can..We are not hosting it in gilgit but we can do it,

I lived in Abu Dhabi and you are spot on, the advertising team is not doing their job.
The only little sympathy I would have is maybe budget limitiations.
but 4 seasons on this would be a poor excuse.

Spot on