[17th Sept] T20 WarmUp Game - India vs Pakistan

I went to the warm-up during 2009 World T20 at the Oval, amazing atmosphere, but not amazing result :( for us.

But great ending to the tourney!! :)

its funny thou, that players which are hyped up before the match usually dont make that much an impact. I remember Shoaib and Sehwag being hyped up before 2003 WC match, Yuvraj & Afridi for 2007 T20 WC final, Yuvraj & Gul for 2011 WC.

only Sachin and to some extent, Ajmal have lived up to the hype. Lets see what happens in this game

Ajmal and Kohli are leading on the hype-o-meter for now :)

Our tigers run the T20 show! The magician with his doosras and Guldozer with his toe crushing, in-swinging yorkers! Compared to Munaf patel and co

Warm up T20 match between Pak and India - Television rights ?

Anyone knows if pak vs india warm up match is going to be televised live on any channel?

sky sports in UK but either its just highlights as its 9.25pm or its listed wrong and is 9.30am

Ten Sports, PTV Sports am sure they all will televise. And just Talked to Sky and they said it is going to be live and the listing is wrong. its 9.25am.

There have been two T20's between India and Pakistan. One was heroically tied by Pakistan but won by India in a bowlout. The other was the Miscoop one

As much as I look forward to Indo-Pak games, I seriously do not like it when fans from both sides start resorting to unnecessary jibes at each other. At times it get's so dirty, it's almost impossible to have a meaningful discussion.

I hope the fans start showing a bit more moderation, from both sides.

@ Topic:- Pakistan have done a lot of planning for T20's. They are very well experienced in the format, and have some good players suited to this format. India on the other hand still seems to be searching for the right combination in T20's.
I wont be surprised if Pakistan has the upper hand over India this time.

Prediction

When Pakistan and India meet, the one thing that can be predicted is that it will be a tense contest decided by which team holds its nerves better. On overall T20 record, it is easy to predict Pakistan. However, head to head, Pakistan have neither ever beaten India in a T20 on two attempts nor ever beaten India in any World Cup match.

On recent record though, Pakistan has to start this match as favourites.

Overall Record in Format

India
They have 18 wins in 35 matches, barely winning over half their matches. They have won the inaugural edition of the T20 World Cup but were knocked out in the other two editions before reaching the knock out phase.

Pakistan
They have 34 wins in 57 matches, easily winning over half their matches. They finished in the finals of the inaugural edition after a freak shot by Misbah meant India won. However, they bounced back to win the next one and finished in the semi finals of the third edition where a freak innings by Hussey knocked them out.

Recent Record (Last two years)
Pakistan
Pakistan have been poor recently, winning only 8 of their last 17 games in the past 2 years. However, since a change in captaincy, Pakistan's fortunes have turned better

India
They have won 4 matches while losing the other 4. It is not a great record, but then, neither is Pakistan's. However, Yuvraj's return will lift the side.

Key Players
Pakistan
Saeed Ajmal
A lovely off spinner with a beautiful doosra and a hard to read teesra. Confounding the best Indian batsman, Tendulkar in the WC was one of his biggest moments. A great record in this format means he will be key

Gul
While Ajmal is always good, it is important which Gul turns up at the Warmup game. If it is the lethargic one, he'll go at 10 an over. If a roaring and ready to go Gul comes out, Pakistan will have 8 safe overs out of 20, which assures that the team will not get to a huge target

Kamran Akmal
He can change the game with the bat and with the gloves. A good performance by him can take the game away from India

Shahid Afridi
As unlikely as it is, a sparkling batting performance can turn games. Steady bowler too.

India
Kohli
A gem of a batsman that can turn the game around in a flash. Technically sound, he has already bullied this Pakistan attack in the Asia Cup. Pakistan must dismiss him early

Dhoni and Raina
Fantastic finishers that can turn a par score of 150 to 180. Pakistan must be wary of letting them score too many too quickly.

Yuvraj
The man who might be the biggest person responsible for India's journey in the WC. A more than useful bowler and a huge hitter, it will be interesting to see how he comes back from cancer.

Conclusion
On Paper, Pakistan is stronger. However, in an India-Pakistan game, what matters in the end is whose nerves are better able to stand the pressure.

Going by overall history, one will back Pakistan. Seeing Pakistan's performances against India in World Cups though, one shall be tempted to lay their bet on India.

There have been two T20's between India and Pakistan. One was heroically tied by Pakistan but won by India in a bowlout. The other was the Miscoop one
Depends on which glasses one put s on and tries to see thing.
Heroically tied - Sure when you consider that it was a small score ..it could also be interpreted as messing up a easy chase and well defended by the bowling team. As for final of T20 Wc2007....less said better since score was just 154 and a so called medicore bowling was defending it.

Where is the India vs Pakistan game played? Is it Kandy? How is the pitch? Pakistan need pace to do the job, spin won't work. Bring Junaid.

Premadasa - Colombo. According to Cricinfo.

You know with all the hype it be a shame if it is a washout and considering its taking place in SL, thats a high possibility

Pak vs India. Warm up match. 17th Sept 2012

Pakistan will be playing their two warm up matches against India and England. Generaly warm up matches are played without much significance, however any match of any sport between IND & PAK has some importance.

We lost warm up in 2009 World T20 to India but went on to famously win the title. I think we should try to get some momentum going and play our best eleven. We might meet them again in the tournament.

This will be only warm up match that will telecast live.

Again it will be interesting if India bat first and put up a total in excess of 150. It is interesting that Pakistan bowling is under the same pressure as Indian batting. One has to score heavy and the other has to restrict the opponent.

Wasnt there a warm-up game too last time which you guys lost? Or was that in the ODI format?

If the match is at Colombo then the pitch will be flat as hell, India favorites.

It's time for India to get some treatment

New's will be ....

Pakistan trashed India on first worm up match by 50 runs

Imran Nazir and Jamsheed chased 145 runs in 16th over :)

Come on India we are waiting as Ireland is waiting for Aussie's

Thread is quite early, don't you think? Esp. after phanity your boyz have received today? :23:

Seriously? After such a performance you make this thread?

However well pakistan bat, India will do better. Hence, India wins. Again.

I hope we chase in this game too, it'll be a good confidence boaster if we win and wouldnt matter if we lose.

count where? the fact is warm up matches don't count in official records. They hold importance for the fans though

Dude, my reply was to a post which was using past form to predict the result of the warm up game. So yes, warm up results become relevant then. Also look at the title of the thread, that should be the first clue. We are not discussing India Pak in general, we are discussing the upcoming match and its possible results

LOL I was expecting funny Indian response !!

Actually we are waiting as we owe India some serious treatment

We are not yet digested WC 2011 and U-19 WC 2012 games .... so nice time to bring it on, and why not trash them when they are on peak.

LOL I was expecting funny Indian response !!

Actually we are waiting as we owe India some serious treatment

We are not yet digested WC 2011 and U-19 WC 2012 games .... so nice time to bring it on, and why not trash them when they are on peak.

our players are thinking like you. they put too much pressure on themselves while playing India in world cup, hence they have been getting beaten in WC. now trend is continuing in non WC matches as well.

but Indians dont seem to be having that issue.

notsureifserious.png

I for one wouldn't mind India loosing to Pak in a warm up match if it would help the team to buckle down and keep focus. Last time we won the warm up and after that everything went downhill.

If the match is at Colombo then the pitch will be flat as hell, India favorites.

Actually, as I have said in some other thread , that pitch has NOT turned much in the last 3 months since Pak toured. that is unlike the UAE pitches.
Irfan and Balaji will return against their favourite opponents though as will Sehwag , while Pakistan only has Malik and maybe Kamran with that similarity. .
will be interesting.

Poor thread. What happened last time we faced India?
This kind of pride is the reason our team has lost last 3 ODI series.
A lot of people on here used make fun of Indian fast bowlers here saying Indians can' bowl fast, trundlers etc. Look at our pace attack today who can clock 145+ consistently? Maybe Sami sn we all know how good he is. While India now has Yadav who can bowl phaast and varun aaron guy who is supposed to clock 140+ as well. The country that produced Wasom, Waqar, Akthar, Imran, Zahid is unable to find a good pacer now a days. Recently, we played with 4 spinners in the ODI line up to me Pakistani people being ignorant and too proud has a huge role to play in this. As throughout history Pride has destroyed nations.

Edit

Everyone please stop with these kinds of threads and respect the opposition a little bit of aggression is good but these kinds of threads come back to bite us.

I wonder why you created this thread today ? After the thrashing our boys got the thrashing of a lifetime.

A lot of people on here used make fun of Indian fast bowlers here saying Indians can' bowl fast, trundlers etc. Look at our pace attack today who can clock 145+ consistently? Maybe Sami sn we all know how good he is. While India now has Yadav who can bowl phaast and varun aaron guy who is supposed to clock 140+ as well. The country that produced Wasom, Waqar, Akthar, Imran, Zahid is unable to find a good pacer now a days. Recently, we played with 4 spinners in the ODI line up to me Pakistani people being ignorant and too proud has a huge role to play in this. As throughout history Pride has destroyed nations.

Since this is a Pakitan cricket forum I would like to mention one more thing.Sorry if i offend anyone here. As Muslims we are not suppose to be ignorant/have a big ego as it is one of the most disliked thing in Islam. If offending the op or anyone else on this forum I appologise in advance.

Everyone please stop with these kinds of threads and respect the opposition a little bit of aggression is good but these kinds of threads come back to bite us.

I wonder why you created this thread today ? After the thrashing our boys got the thrashing of a lifetime.

Agreed with your over all message but why are you making Pakistani = Muslim. There can be non-Muslim Pakistani cricket fans as well.

As I said mate I apologize if I offended anyone but to answer your question majority of Pakistanis are Muslims and I'm sure none of the religions promote big ego/ being too proud so i might as well just edit that part.

Pakistan putting themselves under pressure by taking seriously a warm up match as must win situation. I won' rate India as favorites to win the T20 World Cup. But still they can thrash dreams of some top sides in the tournament.

Aap ko kya :aag lagi hui hai OP?

Beating India and kicking them out of mega event is more than wining world cup, ask Pak fans, take a poll. 90% will say we rather kick India out than win this tournament, if we do that fans will be happy so do the board and Dav's job will good until his contract ends :)

cos of thinking like this u never beat us in tournament !

Yaar ap kaunsay gaaon say oth kar agaye hein.. Paindu panay ki bhi koi had hoti hai..

I'd much rather win the WC than gloat over beating another side. Majority rules but majority is not always right. Most Pakistanis are jahil and jazbati that is why they like it when we beat India but ask any sane cricket follower he would tell you that winning the WC holds more importance.

Yaar ap kaunsay gaaon say oth kar agaye hein.. Paindu panay ki bhi koi had hoti hai..

I'd much rather win the WC than gloat over beating another side. Majority rules but majority is not always right. Most Pakistanis are jahil and jazbati that is why they like it when we beat India but ask any sane cricket follower he would tell you that winning the WC holds more importance.

How this make me a pandu, by the way even I never raised in village but I love to be from villager community as they are the core of Pakistan, 70% of Pakistan or any country is village and I am proud of them, they are our brothers.

Beating India gives us this .... :akhtar

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/pKQ88bzouB8" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Not good thinking, a team should rather try to win WC rather than trying to defeat a particular country.

Anyways Pak are good in T20's & will start as favorites for this warm up match, let's see what happens....

Edit

Chill. You make things sound doom and gloom without actually looking at the whole picture. Pak did recently play 4 spinners in a game. Why? Because the pacers selected in the squad, apart from one, were beyond rubbish. Now Gul has come back for the T20s, and immediately his superior class is evident. We also have Wahab who for some reason is sitting in Pakistan. So Gul, Junaid, Wahab is not too bad for a nation that's lost two of the best bowlers in the history of cricket.

The other reason we played 4 spinners is because thankfully, we have the world's best spin attack. Even then, one of those spinners is an opening batsmen, and Afridi and Ajmal would be selected even if we had our full strength bowling unit. So really just one additional spinner was selected. That's not so bad is it?

Pakistan never can handle the pressure of Knock-out matches against India. If 90% of Pak fans wants to kick India out of the tournament, then it means that they are afraid of India.

As much as I look forward to Indo-Pak games, I seriously do not like it when fans from both sides start resorting to unnecessary jibes at each other. At times it get's so dirty, it's almost impossible to have a meaningful discussion.

I hope the fans start showing a bit more moderation, from both sides.

@ Topic:- Pakistan have done a lot of planning for T20's. They are very well experienced in the format, and have some good players suited to this format. India on the other hand still seems to be searching for the right combination in T20's.
I wont be surprised if Pakistan has the upper hand over India this time.

I agree, at least here at pakpassion. You should read TOI if you consider this dirty. There is only hate and crap against Pak when it comes to TOI's comments.

Pakistan used to beat india more often than not because of their pace attack and inability of indians to face good pacers. Spinners have NEVER been a problem for india and thus ajmal or afridi wont be a problem for them too. Atleast Find another Mohammad asif if u want to beat india.

Hope we play our youngsters against such a pathetic and weak team like India

Our young batsmen will eat your phast bowlers for breakfast. Your team can't handle pressure mate... You just beat the weakest Australian team in Cricket History...and thrashed them in the 3rd T20I. Good luck

your team vs india on sep 17th!

So we won the series against Australia but i think there are a few points to ponder upon for us.
1. We lack a specialist and reliable batsman in the middle order.
2. There's no point in playing 4 openers.
3. Hafeez should not open.
So here's my team..

1. Nasir jamshed
2. Kamran akmal
3. Umer akmal
4. Asad shafiq
5. Hafeez
6. Shoaib malik
7. Abdul razzaq
8. Afridi
9. Tanvir/sami
10. Gul
11. Ajmal

3 stroke players up the order to utilize the new ball and power play.
Then 3 strike rotaters in the middle.
And then 2 pinch hitters to follow.
Though i would like to see razzaq going up the order if we are 2 or 3 wickets down in the first 10 overs.