2005 Kashmir earthquake

I heard there was Moin Akhtar on ARY yesterday and Fahk-e-Alam who both were crying. Not a suprise as this type of thing makies everyone feel like that.. but what really makes me most sad and cry is the suffering of children. They showed on ITN a young boy of about 5 who had lost everyone and wa s just crying so much and in distress. It really made me cry too and wish that I could do something directly for him. There is so many children affected :(

One of my cousins who has three boys has been grieving so much and really really wants to adopt a child that has say lost her family. She doesn't mind if it's a boy or girl but would prefer to adopt a girl. But will that be possible for my cousin to apply for adoption later? I hope it is but obviously that is for later as right now the priority must be to rescue and provide relief and aid to the survivors.

The chairman of Ary: Slaman Iqbal said yesterday that they are hoping to organise a joint national Telethon appeal whith all TV and radio stations in Pakistan (eg geo, indus, ptv, ary and radio etc). I think it's a brilliant idea to unite on one front to get donations from people on one platform worldwide. Does anyone know if teh Telethon appeal has been confirmed and for when?

Asim2Good said:
HAfrifi, Hope ur family and relatives are alright.

Alhamdulillah they are fine, not as much damage in my end- dadyal, minarets have fallen from mosques and i think a school was damaged.

Nabeel Ahmad says people in his part of Tehsil Dadyal are afraid to go to sleep for fear of another earthquake striking.

66a.gif
I was sleeping at the moment the earthquake struck.
I felt my bed shaking, and I felt like I was almost flying. I thought it was a dream at first.

But when I opened my eyes, I realised the world was shaking and I saw that water from the tanks was turbulent. The water from Kashmir's Mangla Dam generated large waves.

My father works in a hilly area and said he saw everything become dust. They thought it was the end of the world.

Some homes have collapsed close by, but there have been no deaths. Many walls and mosques have collapsed.

I am a medical student. I have heard rumours that two hospitals in Muzaffarabad are damaged, apparently one has collapsed fully.

I cannot reach a friend in Rawalakot, very close to the epicentre. I am worried that he is under a building.

The lines are all down. Now a thunderstorm is here.

We are very nervous in case an earthquake will come again during the next 48 hours.

We are staying up all night.
99a.gif

---
dadyal, where im from..^^

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/south_asia/4323264.stm

For all those critisizing the government relief effort you should realise pakistan army has run out of helicopters and soldiers right now for the effort. There are 5 million refugees and these were created in a matter of 1 day. There are also thousands who are still trapped. Pakistan is not rich enough to support such a massive operation and that argument is amplified when you see Shaukat Aziz and Musharraf begging the international community for more, no country leader begs for his country unless they are helpless, and right now Pakistan is helpless.

I think this business of criticising the govt is a little over blown - let people criticize - as long as its constructive and not for the heck of it. I think its this kind of criticism that will spur the Govt to improve itself.

Lets also not forget the main focus of this tragedy - the homless and the injured - open to the elements and waiting for help - Lets pray for them at any opportunity and lets donate where we can.

I personally believe, and I might be wrong here, right now is the time to try to help in any personal capacity you can...we can always criticize the govt later on

Why waste energy on things that will not help the ones that are affetcted, one bit...in the short run!

Pakistan has signaled its willingness to accept aid from both Israel and American Jewish groups, President of the American Jewish Congress Jack Rosen said Wednesday, days after a massive earthquake in Kashmir killed at least 30,000 people.

Israel had offered its assistance shortly after the earthquake struck.

We've expressed a desire to help, and we're hopeful that it will be possible to help," said Mark Regev, a Foreign Ministry spokesman, said Sunday.

0.gif
0.gif
AdvertisementIsrael - which has sent rescue teams to Turkey and Mexico to assist in evacuation efforts after earthquakes struck those countries - sent a message to Pakistan through "official channels" and the United Nations, said a senior government official.

Allowing Israelis into Pakistan to assist in the rescue efforts would be the latest sign that relations between the two countries are warming.

Israel and Pakistan - the second-largest Muslim country - have no official relations, but the two countries' foreign ministers met last month for the first time.

Monsee said:
I personally believe, and I might be wrong here, right now is the time to try to help in any personal capacity you can...we can always criticize the govt later on

Why waste energy on things that will not help the ones that are affetcted, one bit...in the short run!

Agree M Bhai but sometimes it helps to let off some ( and not a lot of ) steam!

i just spoke to my cousins in pak, my uncle from dadyal said he and the people in the village booked a van and they went to bagh- where there was a lot of damage etc, he goes that while they were there, 4 people were found from the rubble. Its an 8-9 hour drive from dadyal aparrently.

Also he said to me DO NOT DONATE to charities, send the money via sum1 u know- my dad's mate has also said this, he is going pak and my dad has gave him donations so we are assured that it will definately get in the hands of the needy.

Pakistani Girl Rescued After Four Days

Pakistani Girl, 5, Rescued From Earthquake Rubble After Four Days; Aid From 30 Countries Flows In

Four days after Zarabe Shah's home crumbled on her, rescuers pulled the dust-covered 5-year-old out of the rubble Wednesday, a shot of good news as hopes faded of finding other earthquake survivors. "I want to drink," the girl whispered. The day before, Zarabe's neighbors recovered the bodies of her father and two sisters. Her mother and another two sisters survived Saturday's quake.

Helicopters flying in clear skies delivered aid to victims Wednesday, a day after rain and hail grounded efforts. Relief supplies poured into Pakistan from about 30 countries, including longtime rival India.

However, the Indian effort was not without a glitch, as a plane from New Delhi was forced to turn around within 10 minutes of takeoff because Pakistan said there was no room to land at the airport near Islamabad. The plane later landed with 25 tons of supplies.

Many bodies were still buried beneath leveled buildings, and the United Nations warned of the threat of measles, cholera and diarrhea outbreaks among the millions of survivors.

Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice, who is on a regional tour, arrived in Islamabad and promised long-term U.S. help for Pakistan. She also predicted more American aid beyond the $50 million already committed.

In Washington, Pentagon spokesman Larry Di Rita said 25-30 U.S. military helicopters would be in the region in the next few days.

The 7.6-magnitude earthquake demolished whole communities, mostly in the Himalayan region of Kashmir. The U.N. estimated that 2 million people have been left homeless.

U.S., Pakistani, German and Afghan helicopters resumed aid flights suspended because of stormy weather. They brought food, medicines and other supplies to Muzaffarabad, the capital of Pakistan's portion of divided Kashmir, and then ferried out the injured to hospitals. Some 50,000 Pakistani troops joined the relief effort.

Pakistani Prime Minister Shaukat Aziz said small aircraft were able to land at the airport in Muzaffarabad, but C-130 transport planes were only able to airdrop equipment and supplies.

-------

SubhanAllah!!

Pakistan to build new cities after quake

Pakistan will build new cities in place of those flattened by the massive earthquake that hit Pakistani-controlled Kashmir and surrounding areas on Saturday, Prime Minister Shaukat Aziz said.

Mr Aziz told a news conference after meeting United States secretary of state Condoleezza Rice that the country was now in a rescue and relief phase and he expected the death toll from the earthquake to rise from the 23,000 counted so far.

The Government was also thinking of the future rehabilitation of the worst-hit areas of Pakistani-controlled Kashmir and North-West Frontier Province.

"What we are planning to do is, perhaps, build new cities where they've been damaged rather than just rebuild what we had before," said Mr Aziz.

"So we are going to build new cities and where people own titles of land we'll swap them with new land in the same vicinity in an organised way."

Pakistan has received aid pledges amounting to $US350 million from overseas while the President's Relief Fund had raised $US16.6 million locally so far, Mr Aziz said.

Mr Aziz said some telecommunications and electricity supplies had been restored in Pakistani-controlled Kashmir's capital Muzaffarabad and spraying had begun to reduce the risk of disease from the decomposing bodies trapped beneath the rubble and ruptured sewage pipes.

Specialist teams were due to arrive from the US to help clear roads and passes to reach communities still cut off throughout the afflicted region in the Himalayan foothills.

Repairing roads was critical ahead of the onset of winter as northern areas had already received their first snowfall, Mr Aziz said.

For EARTHQUAKE victims, MOBILINK: Send blank SMS to 180 (Rs. 10 + TAX), WARID: Type HELP & send SMS to 1100 (Rs. 5 + TAX), TELENOR: Send blank SMS to 733 (Rs. 5 + TAX), UFONE: Type DONATE & send SMS to 436 (Rs. 3 + TAX)

Strong Aftershock Hits Pakistan's Capital

AP - 50 minutes ago

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan - A strong aftershock shook Pakistan's capital early Thursday morning, four days after an earthquake killed tens of thousands and left millions homeless. Buildings moved for a few seconds during the short temblor. The magnitude of the aftershock was not immediately clear, or if it caused any damage. Saturday's 7.6-magnitude quake demolished whole towns, mostly in the Himalayan region of Kashmir.

HAFRIDI said:
dam still aftershocks, the people must be terrified..

Its better for Pakistan that we get small after shocks within magnitude of 4-5.5 or even 6. Why? because as stated by toony earlier Indian plate moves towards north by 5cms or something like that every year so it builds up tension and energy meaning the more tension built up the chances are that a big devastating earth quake will come but if energy is released in small earth quakes then chances of big earth quake are minimal.

Nauman said:
Its better for Pakistan that we get small after shocks within magnitude of 4-5.5 or even 6. Why? because as stated by toony earlier Indian plate moves towards north by 5cms or something like that every year so it builds up tension and energy meaning the more tension built up the chances are that a big devastating earth quake will come but if energy is released in small earth quakes then chances of big earth quake are minimal.

Good point. Let's hope that these don't cause further damage to the buildings that have been saved.

cracks appear in al mustafa towers after earthquake.

img-1129177946.jpg

Aftershock Suspends Pakistan Rescue Effort

16 minutes ago

MUZAFFARABAD, Pakistan - A 22-year-old woman trapped in the rubble of a quake-hit building died Thursday after an overnight aftershock disrupted efforts to rescue her, rescuers and witnesses said.

British, German and Turkish teams had worked until 2 a.m., trying to extract a woman who had been detected by a sniffer dog in the debris in Muzaffarabad, a city in Pakistan-controlled Kashmir that was devastated in the earthquake Saturday.

But they were forced to suspend their efforts for their own safety when a 5.6-magnitude aftershock, centered 85 miles north of Islamabad, shifted the building in which they were working.

When the rescuers returned after daybreak, the search dog whined, indicating that it had detected the smell of a corpse. Some rescue workers wept.

"It was a very difficult decision to leave a living person and I had a responsibility to my team. It could have meant their death," said Steff Hopkins, a British team leader.

The rescuers had not been able to speak to or see the trapped woman. But her distraught uncle, Mushtaq Mir, identified her as Umbra and said she was in the building at the time.

The overnight aftershock shook buildings, but no new damage was immediately reported. There have been dozens of aftershocks since the weekend disaster, which killed tens of thousands of people.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I can't really express my feelings after reading this...poor girl:(

Innalillahi waina illayhi rajioon. May Allah grant the poor girl Jannah. Ameen

Mystery tremors in Karachi: Governor calls meeting
(Updated at 1450 PST) By Mohammed Askari
KARACHI: Governor of Sindh Dr. Ishrat-ul-Ebad has called an emergency meeting in Governor House here about mystery tremors in Defence, Clifton and Korangi areas of the metropolis.

Director Meteorological department Abdul Hameed Khan, geologist Munir Alam Zaigham, experts from the University of Karachi’s geology department and officials of agencies will attend the meeting that will discuss the mysterious tremors and plan the future strategy.

Source : Jang

tremors in Khi too :(

there was an army officer on ARY last night by the name of Ehsan (not sure of his rank, may have been a general). he had lost an 11 year old son to the earthquake, but rather than spending his time mourning the loss, he was leading the relief operation in Muzaffarabad. when asked about his ordeal by Dr Shahid Masood, he had the following to say (paraphrased and translated, ofcourse):

"Yes, I have lost my son. He was a gift from Allah and has been reclaimed by him ... Alhamdulillah. But these are all my children and they need me. I do not regret leaving my family to be here."

Such is the resolve of the people assisting in the relief efforts. The officer may not be the most eloquent orator, but his words and his dignity will stick with me forever. These people will need our help for years to come. Continue to support them in any way you can, and do not forget about them in a few months time.

MenInGreen said:
I think this business of criticising the govt is a little over blown - let people criticize - as long as its constructive and not for the heck of it. I think its this kind of criticism that will spur the Govt to improve itself.

Lets also not forget the main focus of this tragedy - the homless and the injured - open to the elements and waiting for help - Lets pray for them at any opportunity and lets donate where we can.

It's obvious there are some people criticising the government for the heck of it such as Qazi hussain and even Imran Khan sahib. I agree with the second paragraph completley. it would be better than constructive criticsim (nothing wrong with that) but to actually unite with the governement in this time of crisis and work together to help the government to help the victims.

Much appreciated yaar.

Regards

MIG

Hi MIG, hope everything is fine at your end. Have been very busy but will probably be logging in more in a couple of weeks' time.

Well I must say that after watching the news over the last few days and after speaking to relatives in Islamabad, I must say that this has been a very traumatic and upsetting time. My mother who is in the UK phoned me last night and she could not speak a word, just tears for her country and its people who have been affected by this tragedy.

Here we are most of us thousands of miles away and not directly affected by the tragedy, yet we are very upset and in shock, I just cant imagine the pain and the amount of suffering the people directly affected by this tragedy are going through.

Each day we hear and read about immense suffering, pain and loss. I for one will never forget this tragedy as long as I live. The children - why Allah, why the children, what have they done to deserve this ?

My prayers and thoughts are with my fellow Pakistanis and praise to the millions of people around the world who are trying to help in this tragedy.

One on hand i feel sadness and anguish and on the other hand anger and bitterness.
Alot of people could have been saved if the rescue act started on saturday instead of monday.Helicopters and heavy moving equipement are the first things aid orgs and govt should have thought off.

I think there should be a directive now that every building in pak should be earth quake proof from now on.

Assalaam alaikum,

brothers I hope i dont offend any1 and i hope Saj doesnt feel this is some shameless plug of a website but i have gotten together with some friends and another couple of pak websites and brothers..we have created a website called quake2005.com its very basic just one page at the moment but we need your help..there are details on the front page to enmbassies and relief orgs etc...but we need more links..thanks to guy1 he has provided some numbers but we need every1 to get together in this effort..soon the world will forget but we must not..help us keep the hope alive...we must never tire..we owe it to our fellow brothers,sisters daughters,mothers and fathers!!..everytime i close my eyes i see the faces of those people and i feel i should be doing more but i cant..so this is my way of at least trying..if i can even help just one person it will be worth it..please help us get the word out and please pakpassioners join us..let us unite and use this medium(internet) to its fullest..i am already sending messages to media outlets like the bbc,dawn,the nation, the news, for them to at least link to our one page website...im not in it for my personal glory as some websites have accused us of doing( yes its sick i know)..it may not even work but by Allah swt im gonna try..and i need your help brothers!!..i can never forget...

salaam

www.quake2005.com
your help will be appreciated...may Allah swt reward those that died with Jannah!!!

the great Khan - I replied to your PM and have asked Nauman to add your site to our affiliated sites.

Its the least we can do.

thanks saj i appreciate the gesture...ill get my mate to add a link to this site as a thank you..too..now im off to lobby some other pak websites..

Good work TGK - this is true dedication - May ALLAH reward you tenfold for your work on this!

After some protracted negotiations at work ( lasting 10 minutes !!) , have convinced my employer to contribute to the Earthquake fund - they wont tell me how much but they tell me its in the USD$ Million range - I am so happy - I know its not my money but am happy that I can play some part - Just hope and pray that they keep their word, Ameen !

Just heard on ARY that Pakistani cricketers and other Pakistani sports personel are also doing what they can to help raise money for recovering from the earth quake.

Afridi is putting two of his bats up for Auction, according to ARY.

Just heard on Radio.
Search and Rescue operations over
declared by the Pakistan Army.

Rehabilitation phase started.

Anyone who are alive have a remote chance to live now - reason given.

Pak cricketers to take part in relief work
KARACHI: Extending their helping hand, Pakistan cricketers would take part in relief work in the areas devastated by the last-Saturday’s massive earthquake that has so far left more than 30,000 dead in various parts of the country. "The entire cricket team will travel to quake-stricken areas and will take part in relief operations," Pakistan team’s captain Inzamam-ul-Haq said from Sydney while talking to a private TV channel on Thursday. "Although we might not stay there during the entire operation, but we’ll definitely make our presence felt in the areas that have been devastated by the earthquake," he said. "My heart goes out for the people of Muzaffarabad and adjoining areas who lost everything in seconds. There are people in need and its our national and moral duty to help them and make them realise that at this of difficulty, we are with them," Inzamam, who is in Sydney for the ICC Super Test match, added.

saw my cousin, who is a doctor in the army, on ARY last night. he was working on a patient in Muzaffarabad and was asked a few questions by dr. shahid masood. among the highlights, he said there was a good system in place where initial treatment / emergency operations were being performed at that location and the patients were then being shifted by helicopter to nearby cities for further treatment. he mentioned they did not have an x-ray facility at that location yet, and also that there were quite a few cases where they had to amputate the limbs of patients due to the nature of the injuries and the time taken to obtain treatment. he also showed some makeshift splints on a patient that may have been applied at the scene by villagers, consisting of some pieces of wood, newspapers and mud.

kudos to the army medical teams who are working extremely hard, often under severe conditions. you are making us all proud!

My khaloo has left his practise in Karachi, and gone to help out in the affected areas. He is a WHO listed doctor.

Girl found alive in quake rubble
Pakistani rescue workers have pulled an 18-month-old girl alive from rubble six days after South Asia's deadly quake.

The unconscious toddler was revived after being found in Balimang in North-West Frontier Province.
The news came as rescue teams were scaling back operations, fearing no-one else would be found alive.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/south_asia/4343128.stm

great news.. after 6 dayz.. the toddler was still alive...

not much news about the earthquake comes on the news now.. as anyone else got any new latest info?.. has aid now got to all of kashmir??

Just got another after shock, not sure what the intensity was but scared the hell out of me, guess Ill have to get used to these now.

This is all I can find in the news today !

Islamist cleric slams slow Pakistan quake relief
By Aamir Ashraf Fri Oct 14,11:35 AM ET

MUZAFFARABAD, Pakistan (Reuters) - A prominent Islamist cleric in Pakistani-controlled Kashmir accused the government of responding too slowly to help survivors of last weekend's earthquake and criticized looting of aid supplies.

A 7.6 magnitude earthquake killed more than 25,000 people last Saturday, most of them in the Pakistani part of the disputed Himalayan region of Kashmir.

About 1,200 people were killed in Indian Kashmir.

Survivors in the devastated region waited several days before relief efforts got under way and some looted relief supplies.

There has also been some looting in the devastated capital of Pakistani Kashmir, Muzaffarabad.

"Relief provided to people has been very slow, the government should act fast," Abdul Ghafforullah, the main cleric at a mosque in central Muzaffarabad, told a thinly attended Friday prayer in front of the office of the region's prime minister.

The mosque where he was speaking was badly damaged in the quake but half of it is still standing.

A small group of about 40 worshippers gathered in a large hall with badly cracked walls and roof and broken windows.

During his sermon a clock over the entrance smashed to the ground, startling the congregation.

Ghafforullah denounced looting as shameful.

"The world is helping us, but what are we doing? We are looting their trucks," he said.

The looting of shops, houses and officers where bodies were still buried under debris would lessen the world's sympathy for the plight of divided Kashmir, he said.

"We should be ashamed of such an acts which are giving bad names to Kashmiris and the Kashmir cause all over the world.

"If we continue such acts no country in the world will come to rescue us, no country will support us on the Kashmir issue," he said.

Mostly Muslim Kashmir has been divided since soon after the independence of India and Pakistan in 1947, when the two counties fought their first war over the region.

India controls the Kashmir Valley and its main city, Srinagar, while Pakistan holds the western part of the region, including Muzaffarabad.

Virtually all Kashmiris agree that their region should be reunited while some want it to be fully under Pakistan, some want it to be part of India and others want it to be independent.

Elsewhere in Muzaffarabad few mosques held Friday prayers.

At least two mosques clerics were standing at the gates and urging people to attend, but most hurried on their way.

One cleric trying to draw people into a mosque near a sports field that has been turned into a relief camp said the earthquake was God's punishment.

"It's a warning from the God to the rulers," he said. "It's God's punishment for our sins, for the sins committed by our rulers. It's also a warning that there could be more if we continue on this path," he said, apparently referring to non-Muslim ways.

In my Kids School they have just told everyone about the Earthquake in a paragraph of a school letter and one of my kids is furious about this because if they can have a non-school uniform day or a day of fund raising for the Tsumani and Hurricane Katrina so why haven't they done the same for eathquake in Pakistan.

Migsy bhai,

I haven't read that article in full but it's disgusting and easy for clerics and politicans to sit on there backside and criticise. What are these people doing themselves? They should realise it's not a time for politics and publicity but to activley help the victims and unite.

Do these people think really think its Pak army and government's fault? pak never was prepared for such a disaster because it has never happened before. We simply haven't got the resources and expertise to deal with it alone and fast. However, does the critics really think government is playing kabadi, dancing and doing nothing when it's people are suffering?

The Pak government and army should be applauded for doing as much as they can and they really have worked hard.

The fact is though, which was also acknowledged and stated by international bodies like the UN: that some areas are so difficult to provide aid and relief at all never mind fast beccause of the geographical location and because of the devestation left by the earthquake.

Roads blocked, debris, mountainous areas, devestation, not enough resources as well other things were factors which has slowed down relief operation and made it so slow hard work. Some of it a near impossible situation, and now the UN has said that Pak need more aid as it is not enough.

Pakistan's government has said it now believes more than 38,000 of its people were killed by the South Asian earthquake a week ago. That is an increase of more than 13,000 on its previous estimate. The number of injured has risen to more than 60,000.

In some of the areas worst affected, heavy rain and strong winds have grounded helicopter flights.

Relief agencies expressed concern about the weather's effects on the homeless - with children especially vulnerable.

Nice to hear that a lot of the private sector companies around the world are donating to this cause.

The company that I work for, whose parent company is in the US has donated $30,000

The sad thing is, that a lot of those who are injured at the moment, have serious complications, but there arent enough medical supplies and equipment to go around. I saw a dutch surgeon crying because he had to admit that the little 4 years old girl infront of him is going to die very soon, and he can't do anything about it.

Internal bleeding is the biggest factor at the moment. so we can expect the number of dead to rise, and the number of injured to fall.

Fessal said:
Migsy bhai,

I haven't read that article in full but it's disgusting and easy for clerics and politicans to sit on there backside and criticise. What are these people doing themselves? They should realise it's not a time for politics and publicity but to activley help the victims and unite.

Do these people think really think its Pak army and government's fault? pak never was prepared for such a disaster because it has never happened before. We simply haven't got the resources and expertise to deal with it alone and fast. However, does the critics really think government is playing kabadi, dancing and doing nothing when it's people are suffering?

The Pak government and army should be applauded for doing as much as they can and they really have worked hard.

The fact is though, which was also acknowledged and stated by international bodies like the UN: that some areas are so difficult to provide aid and relief at all never mind fast beccause of the geographical location and because of the devestation left by the earthquake.

Roads blocked, debris, mountainous areas, devestation, not enough resources as well other things were factors which has slowed down relief operation and made it so slow hard work. Some of it a near impossible situation, and now the UN has said that Pak need more aid as it is not enough.

Agreed Fessal but I do appreciate his sentiments about looting etc and the fact that we should also help oursleves.

Who knows what the truth is here but we have to realize that this is, after all, Pakistan ! I went to the embasssy today and say a mini Pakistan Govt in operation there and thought to myself that its a miracle that ANYONE has been rescued, given the state of our beauracracy and corruption !

In that way, I can only admire the Army for bringing order into this chaos.

I can understand why the victims themselves are angry about government's slow progress and they have every right to do so, they can feel angry and dejected because anyone in their situaion will cry out for help no matter how hard it is to reach them and in same cases almost impossible to locate them. But i just hate it when some stupids(politicians mostly) criticise and slam the government just to get people's sympathies and to look good in front of everyone. The earthquake has caused more destruction than Tsunami (all countries) and government could not have imagined this in their wildest dreams, they had to make lots and lots of decisions, roads were blocked in MOST affected areas, most areas comprised of valleys where lots of people were scattered around and government did not have enough helicopters. Considering all this, they have done failrly good job and it's insult to those armymen and government officials who have been working extremely hard to help the victims. Everyone should be united and try to help out the government rather than unfair criticism, it's highly disappointing to see people like IMRAN KHAN joining opportunists like Qazi Hussain Ahmad to take cheap shots at government in this time of need.

Is it really that surprising that the response of the Pakistan government/Army was woefully inadequate, unprofessional and devoid of any semblance of leadership?

Not our finest hour
By Ayaz Amir (http://www.dawn.com/weekly/ayaz/ayaz.htm)

</B>THAT we are nothing before the fury of the elements, that natural calamity reveals human insignificance, are trite enough observations. The difference in the age of instant television is that we get to view such experiences, and the resulting outpouring of emotion, visually, often in real time. The effects of a tsunami or a hurricane, and now the ravages of the earthquake devastating parts of Hazara in the Frontier province and whole swathes of Kashmir, brought into our living rooms.

But the fury of the elements is also a handy excuse. When human ineptitude is exposed, as in Pakistan where the government — including the army, by now the avowed vanguard of Pakistani society — was leaden on its feet and seemed overwhelmed by the catastrophe, it is easy to cite nature’s wrath as an excuse for twiddling one’s thumbs. This excuse is bandied about the more readily in a fatalistic society where the first response to tragedy of any kind is: God’s will.

Apart from the destruction caused by Hurricane Katrina, one of its more insidious consequences has been to provide a permanent alibi to bumbling governments everywhere. If help was so late in coming to the citizens of New Orleans, don’t be surprised if it is late in coming to, say, the victims of Pakistan’s earthquake.

George Bush, however, has not escaped pillorying for his response to Katrina and there is no reason why Pakistan’s military overlords, who run the country and on whose desk the buck stops, should escape criticism, or worse, for their response to Pakistan’s northern earthquake.

What to talk of the earthquake as a whole, the entire Pakistani administration seemed paralyzed by just one event in Islamabad: the collapse of a wing of the patently ill-constructed Margalla Towers. Everyone arrived, including police, CDA officials, army personnel, but to what effect? Only to put on a stunning display of collective ineptitude: before the mass of concrete, the entire machinery of government helpless. The debris began to be explored and some survivors pulled out when a British team, armed with sensors and concrete-cutting tools, seemingly unavailable in the whole of Pakistan, arrived all the way from the UK.

This was the public face of the disaster that first day of the earthquake but with all the helplessness and hand-wringing to be seen, it wasn’t an edifying sight. As if the confusion on site wasn’t enough, General Musharraf and Prime Minister Shaukat Aziz arrived to add some of their own, both making inane remarks before the assembled cameras and generally getting in the way of the relief efforts.

Pakistan has no problem importing all the bullet-proof Mercedes limos it needs for its ruling bonzes. But it lacks the resources and know-how to handle the collapse of a single high-rise. And if this was Islamabad, imagine the plight up north away from the cameras.

There’s no getting away from it: relief of any kind has been scandalously slow to reach the worst-hit areas. Forget remote and inaccessible villages. Even on the fourth day of the earthquake very little had arrived in Muzaffarabad, the capital of Azad Kashmir, which gave all the appearances of a bombed-out city. And there was no word of relief to Bagh or Rawalakot, what to talk of the villages in between.

All right — to run through the usual excuses — coordination is difficult and mobilizing resources takes time. But for the first few days, with the inhabitants of the affected areas losing everything, what they needed were the essentials of life: water, some food, some blankets. Even if relief convoys couldn’t make it in a hurry, some semblance of supplies, even water, could have been air-dropped. Nothing was. Journalists, both local and foreign, made it to the worst-hit areas, no one, it seems, from the Pakistani administration.

As a Reuters report puts it plainly enough — this on Tuesday, the fourth day after the earthquake: “The only aid anyone from Bagh has seen from the government since the earthquake struck has been on television... Three days after the disaster the people of this once-prosperous little town set deep in the hills of Azad Kashmir have all but given up hope... ‘The government is only showing us the relief on television,’ said Abdul Razzaq, a storekeeper in the town. ‘We haven’t seen a drop of water or medicine coming to us, not even a single grain.’”

Criticism can run out of control, especially when delivered from the comfort of an armchair far from the scene of action or disaster, but in this case it is more than apt when the failure of government and armed forces — the armed forces in Musharraf’s Pakistan eclipsing the government — has been both comprehensive and visible.

Utterly baffling for most Pakistanis is why the army was not there sooner at the disaster points, if only to dole out sympathy and first aid. After all, Balakot and Azad Kashmir are difficult but not impossible to reach. And it isn’t exactly as if troops had to be airlifted from Islamabad and elsewhere. Azad Kashmir commands some of the densest concentration of troops anywhere in Pakistan. Where were they?

This ineptitude is all the more striking when set against the response of ordinary people. Money and relief goods are being collected all over the country and sent to the stricken areas haphazardly, without help or guidance from the authorities and often with little idea of geography: where exactly to go and how.

A leadership with a greater sense of national responsibility would have forsaken Islamabad, eschewed empty and meaningless television — there being no television in the quake-hit areas — and encamped in Balakot and Muzaffarabad. The corps commanders — in the case of Mansehra and Balakot, commander Peshawar corps, in the case of Muzaffarabad, commander 10 corps based in Rawalpindi — should have moved to the disaster areas the latest by Saturday afternoon to take personal charge of the relief operations. If they did no one saw them.

The Peshawar corps commander — he of the Waziristan operations — Lt Gen Safdar Hussain, has earned a reputation for the ill-advised remark. He lived up to his reputation again by saying that the number of casualties was probably exaggerated. As for the ‘Pindi corps commander, he must have been well camouflaged in his ops room because there was very little of him to be seen.

No doubt, excuses will be trotted out but few will do because the ineptitude of government and military was played out on television for the world to see. Instant, 24 hours TV may not be an unmitigated blessing but whether it is a tsunami, a hurricane or an earthquake, it is a spur to action when it homes in on delay and incompetence. Far from being in the way, television helps clear the way.

Incidentally, not only CNN and BBC have done a wonderful job. Some of the Pakistani channels have been equally good, quick to arrive and cover both the extent of the disaster and the inadequacy of the official response. But for independent television how would we have known all this so quickly?

George Bush has reason to rue the coverage of Hurricane Katrina. It showed the emperor without his clothes. President Musharraf will have plenty of reasons to rue the coverage of the Pakistani earthquake because it has shown the entire circus of Pakistani government at its most incompetent.

Bush’s approval ratings already on a roll were hit further. Musharraf doesn’t have to bother about approval ratings but surely the aura of bumbling and dithering the world has seen can’t be very flattering.

And the timing of it, coinciding almost exactly with the sixth anniversary of the Oct 99 coup which brought this dispensation to power. Anniversaries are occasions for celebration, real or fake, not for such relentless exposure of weakness and failure. Successive military interventions have elevated the military to the status of premier state institution. This disaster has shown the premier institution at its most vulnerable, a circumstance which could lead more people to ask disturbing questions. If ever there was a time for wider national consultation it is this. The inadequacy of a single-man dispensation — aided by two or three close advisers, no more — has been exposed like never before. The nation has closed ranks, the opposition parties setting aside their differences as Pakistan copes with this tragedy. Question is, can Musharraf transcend the politics of self-interest and strive for genuine national reconciliation? It’s a safe bet he won’t.

Pakistanis are not just willing to give, they are desperate to give. But they are concerned that what they offer should go into clean hands and reach the needy. This is the paradox we face: a rousing of national spirit but, with it, a loss of faith in government and other institutions. In other words, a huge disconnect between people and government. What’ll bridge the divide? Certainly not one-man rule.

Tailpiece: Capt Irfan Jafri writes from Dammam, Saudi Arabia: This should be a helicopter-specific relief effort. We must shout for helicopters from everywhere and anywhere: a hundred of them, two hundred, even more. And they must be in the air all the time. Only thus would we be able to reach out to some of the inaccessible spots which have yet to receive a drop of assistance.

I personally dismiss the article in general above. The army and government are doing a great job and the best they can with the resources they have.

The area is mountainous with mountains of different height and not easy for even helicopters to go and land.

It's sad some politicians and elements of the media are not concentrating in gathering aid and relief but instead SITTING and criticisng the government for the sake of it. Quite sad state when u see in other countries people unite in these times...and more important it's not the time to point fingers and play the blame game. It's time to act and help the victims as every second is valuable.

Fessal said:
Migsy bhai,

:14:

But remember one thing fessal,

the govt does have a role in this mess.They could have definetely acted much quickly to save more lives

Elan Tedronai said:
But remember one thing fessal,

the govt does have a role in this mess.They could have definetely acted much quickly to save more lives

Thanks for appreciating post bhai...and youa re probably right that gov does have some role in the mess but overall they done good job and trying there best. Also Pak army lost soldiers and other problems of resources and logistics etc. Maybe they could have acted quicker but they are not perfect just like any otehr country wouldnt have been...but with pak's limited resources and not being prepared they have overall done well..but must keep it up and try do more if they can.

True Elan but it's easier said than done. I have been watching the whole thing on different channels non-stop and i m pleasantly surprised to see Pakistani people coming forward to help as much as they have done, i don't think government officials are any different, they are as much human as anyone and they felt the same pain as other Pakistanis and tried to help in best possible way they could( it's other thing that they might not have been that effective).

A young girl stricken with polio has been pulled alive from rubble eight days after last week's South Asia earthquake, the Pakistan army says. Two older brothers managed to raise the alarm after walking from their village near the town of Balakot, army spokesman Maj Gen Shaukat Sultan said.

He told the BBC that their village had been destroyed in the earthquake.

Nearly 40,000 people were killed and millions made homeless by the quake. Bad weather is threatening survivors.

The Date: 8th October, The Time:7:42 AM - the world changed forever for millions...

As we rant and rave about cricket and life in general, pls spare a thought for the millions who are without proper shelter in the earthquake hit areas of Pakistan - their lives have been destroyed but we as Pakistanis and citizens of the world should not forget them.

Remember these people in your prayers and give whole heartedly - remember what you give today will be returned to you many times over in this and the world after, Inshallah !

Pls see :

http://www.earthquakepakistan.com/

for what the Pak Govt is doing for these people.

In these days when the world is slowly starting to forget about the survivors, we must all stand united and show to others that we DO care - May ALLAH help us help the survivors of this tragedy, Ameen - May ALLAH grant an eternal place in Jannah for the dead, Ameen!

brilliant stuff MIG! Inshallah Allah will help the survivors & grant Jannah to the ones who have now passed away. It is a sign of judgement day that so many disasters are happening rita, tsunami, and now the biggest one of them all the earthquake. Inshallah Allah will help us. Ameen

May Allah makes it easier on those poor suffering folks. Ameen

Excellent reminder thread. May Allah give help to those in need and forgive the sins of those who have departed and grant them a place in Jannat-e-Firdos. Ameen Sumaameen.

Whatever the reason for this earthquake is irrelevant - point is that the effected victims need our help.

excellent thread miggy, we shouldnt forget, our brothers and sisters in Pakistan need our help!!!
we should not just forget just because the cricket comes on!!1

May Allah give the victims of the earthquake shelter from evil and make their hardships easier...

8th October - Exactly one year after the Earthquake in Kashmir.

Pls contribute to the Earthquake forum and also remember to pray for the survivors in this special month.

2 years ago - during Ramadan - the earth shook and shook again - lives of hundreds of thousands would never be the same again.

Read the opening pages of this thread and relive the moments as Ppers broke the news of this tragedy and how it developed over many days

In these last 15 days of Ramadan, pls pray for the dead and the survivors and donate generously where possible.

JazakALLAH