2005 Kashmir earthquake

What a terrible disaster this has turned out to be. An earthquake in Pakistan, and that too of this scale, was totally unexpected? May Allah give courage to the victims and their families. I hope the damage is controlled and may God expiate the sins of those who passed away. InshaAllah.

feather said:
people really need to stop with blame game least just hold on until things are just a little better...all these soldiers probably living in areas which hit by this earthquake or have a family there

my uncle who i said earlier was based in muzaffarabad is one of the 200 based soldiers to have died when the place they were sleeping in collapsed on top of them

evryone knows that India is a Island right? thats why its called the subcontinent.

Taha check the link posted by Rashid. thats the one,where i read it.

plates.gif

notice UK is pretty safe. UK still get Earthquakes..but doesnt have a (major plate boundary) fault line one going under it. Its around 60-80 miles deep. Most likely in the midlands,anyway. So it will be very minor.

w4s1m786 said:
my uncle who i said earlier was based in muzaffarabad is one of the 200 based soldiers to have died when the place they were sleeping in collapsed on top of them

Inalillahi-wa-ina-ilahi-raajioon. May Allah grant him a place in jannah and give strength to the family to cope with the tragedy. Ameen.

the death toll has increased to 20,000.....there r more who havent been discovered yet.......we all our praying for the victims and their families and as well as the surviviors.........man just by seeing the news on bbc and hearing alll the sad news and the stories just makes want to cry..........:6: :6: :6:

realy sad for whole nation
heard that CMH hospital in muzzafabad also collapsed

one of my freind lost 6/7 member of his family (khandan) in Kashmir. his oyunger sis & dad were rescued.

Toony honestly no place is safe now, every where a natural disaster can strike the world is slowly heading towards its end and you can expect more natural disasters over and over, one just hopes that loss of life isnt as serious as it is here in this situation.

deth toll exceeeds 22,000....now ...........:( :( :6: :6: :6: ...how many more will die...novody knows just hope that this phase will pass as soon as possible for the victim's families and the survivors as well as the injured....

On CNN , they tell us that a greater concern is a shortage of Coffins !

rather heartbreaking all this.
but personally, what concerns me is not the number of dead ones but the homeless,jobless,foodless,injured,maimed survivors. thats my worry, not the dead ones.

MenInGreen said:
Nauman - any more tremors last night ?

Last major one was 2 PM yesterday when me and Queen of Zeel posted alot of small ones were there throughout the day which were either too week to notice or barely noticable so finally I got some good night sleep.

The USGS (US Geological survey - see this link http://earthquake.usgs.gov/eqinthenews/2005/usdyae/ )said there had been at least 26 aftershocks, including a 6.2-magnitude temblor

Its still very tense out there.

With a hurricane you know ( with aid of satellites etc ) that its passed the area etc but with an Earthquake its a different story - you never know if this is the last one.

This is where man must bow to the Almighty and ask for HIS mercy - as they say in Urdu "ab waqte dua hai Bhaiyo", Allah Khair karay , Ameen!

rather heartbreaking all this.
but personally, what concerns me is not the number of dead ones but the homeless,jobless,foodless,injured,maimed survivors. thats my worry, not the dead ones.

very true - with winter on its way - how will the Pak Govt cope with the survivors needs ? Basically a lot of them have left their homes and are walking/travelling away - when can they return - where will they stay - will the ordinary Pakistani open his doors to help these people - can we depend on the govt totally ? A lot of questions here

MenInGreen said:
very true - with winter on its way - how will the Pak Govt cope with the survivors needs ? Basically a lot of them have left their homes and are walking/travelling away - when can they return - where will they stay - will the ordinary Pakistani open his doors to help these people - can we depend on the govt totally ? A lot of questions here

that is the main worry really. those who are dead, are safely - dead.
While the loss and all that is there,on a larger note, the question of the living is more a concern, how will they be able to get back on their feet?

Secondly, isnt there a hadis or something that those who die in ramzan go to heaven, or something?

thirdly, it might well worth be asking if there was a reason why these people got struck with such force by Him.

that is the main worry really. those who are dead, are safely - dead.
While the loss and all that is there,on a larger note, the question of the living is more a concern, how will they be able to get back on their feet?

Secondly, isnt there a hadis or something that those who die in ramzan go to heaven, or something?

thirdly, it might well worth be asking if there was a reason why these people got struck with such force by Him.

Kiya Pata Comma - Allah knows ! The same reason that we have had the Tsunami, New Orleans, Gautemala, plane crashes etc - no one knows.

A woman living in the UK, lost 16 members of her extended family. The grief is unimaginable.

Ikhwaan:

This is indeed a very tragic time for all our Pakistaani brothers and sisters. May Allah help them all.

My best friend, Abu Omar, is leaving for Islaamabad today to assist with the relief efforts. Inshallah, I plan to go in a couple of days. We would have liked to reach there earlier but us Emiraatis require visas to Pakistaan and after recent "terror" attack worldwide, visas for the Emiraatis and Saudis to enter Pakistan are harder to come by.

I apologise to all my brothers and sisters for not being able to contribute to the effort much earlier but you will realise that these matters (visas etc) are not in our hands.

Please, ikhwaan, wherever you are, if its possible to come down to Pakistaan and help, do so. I realise that most of you are Pakistanis and if that is not reason enough then don't forget that these people are fellow humans and fellow Muslims and Allah might ask us about this on the Day of Judgement. At the least, make financial contributions. May Allah accept our all our deeds. Aameen.

One last thing. I make this announcement here knowing well the hadith that if good deeds are done secretly, the reward Inshallah is more. However, there are also hadiths which state that if one wishes to encourage others he or she MAY publicise their actions if it serves as an encouragement to others.

May Allah make our deeds sincerely for His sake alone. Aameen

Wassaalam

PS Any Pakpassion members in Islaamabad, if there is any advice, suggestions etc you can offer Abu Omar and I, please disclose it here. Jazaak Allah Khairun.

New estimate 30-40,000.

Pakistani military says 'whole generation' lost in quake ISLAMABAD, Oct 10 (AFP) - A whole generation had been wiped out in the most devastated areas because of the weekend's huge quake, the worst affected being the schoolchildren, chief military spokesman Major General Shaukat Sultan said . "Rescuers are pulling out dead children in Muzaffarabad but there is no one to claim the bodies which shows their parents are dead," he said. "Rawalakot has been destroyed. Muzaffarabad is 70 percent destroyed. There is not a single house in Muzaffarabad which has not suffered damage. There is not a single famliy there that has not suffered," he added. The UNICEF and a senior government official speaking on condition of anonymity said Monday that between 30,000 and 40,000 people had died. Witnesses and correspondents say schools collapsed in almost every town and village across the devastated northwestern Pakistan and Azad Kashmir. Many hundreds school-going boys and girls were trapped in the wreckage because the quake struck at the beginning of the school day. (Posted @ 12:10 PST)

I'm sadned and shocked at the loss of life, may Allah give our brethren/sisters courage to bear this loss. What we need to do now is to help them by donating genrosily.

Ace Base said:
Ikhwaan:

This is indeed a very tragic time for all our Pakistaani brothers and sisters. May Allah help them all.

My best friend, Abu Omar, is leaving for Islaamabad today to assist with the relief efforts. Inshallah, I plan to go in a couple of days. We would have liked to reach there earlier but us Emiraatis require visas to Pakistaan and after recent "terror" attack worldwide, visas for the Emiraatis and Saudis to enter Pakistan are harder to come by.

I apologise to all my brothers and sisters for not being able to contribute to the effort much earlier but you will realise that these matters (visas etc) are not in our hands.

Please, ikhwaan, wherever you are, if its possible to come down to Pakistaan and help, do so. I realise that most of you are Pakistanis and if that is not reason enough then don't forget that these people are fellow humans and fellow Muslims and Allah might ask us about this on the Day of Judgement. At the least, make financial contributions. May Allah accept our all our deeds. Aameen.

One last thing. I make this announcement here knowing well the hadith that if good deeds are done secretly, the reward Inshallah is more. However, there are also hadiths which state that if one wishes to encourage others he or she MAY publicise their actions if it serves as an encouragement to others.

May Allah make our deeds sincerely for His sake alone. Aameen

Wassaalam

PS Any Pakpassion members in Islaamabad, if there is any advice, suggestions etc you can offer Abu Omar and I, please disclose it here. Jazaak Allah Khairun.

Our Duas go with you AceBase -

My only concern with people going to Pakistan is as to how they can help . As you know, we have a largish army that is handling the efforts and civilians like yourself, may not be able to contribute as much they would like to. Would it not be a better idea to send in your financial support to anyone of the larger organizations ? Unless you have some skills such as you are in the medical profession.

Just my 2 cents here.

We should hold the builders or contracter responsible for building schools with inadequate material to gain money.

MenInGreen said:
Our Duas go with you AceBase -

My only concern with people going to Pakistan is as to how they can help . As you know, we have a largish army that is handling the efforts and civilians like yourself, may not be able to contribute as much they would like to. Would it not be a better idea to send in your financial support to anyone of the larger organizations ? Unless you have some skills such as you are in the medical profession.

Just my 2 cents here.

Jazaak Allah khairun Ahkhi.

Yes, you're right. Of course civilians will only be a hinderance in the efforts unless they have specific skills. My post was of course addressing those with relevant skills. I should have made it clear above, which I didn't but Inshallah this post serves as clarification.

I'm not part of the medical profession but have experience in admisnistrative/organisational areas of relief efforts. One thing I haven't mentioned is that I shall obviously be working alongside the UAE Red Crescent.

Once again, may Allah reward you for your support.

They need administrators who can coordinate small teams, make sure you have civil engineers and medical personell at your disposal as those are in shortage in Pakistan.

The point MIG is making:

"We have enough manpower but we need financial support ... to cope with the tragedy," Musharraf said in Rawalpindi, according to the state-run news agency Associated Press of Pakistan.

However, if you have special skills please do come forward.

Thanks for the updates Miggy....so sad. But the more we know, the more we will be moved to show our compassion...One of the people interviewed on television last night said that, as soon as the reporters and camera's go away, people will forget.

Well, I hope he's wrong this time...and hereafter.
every where a natural disaster can strike the world is slowly heading towards its end and you can expect more natural disasters over and over
True Nauman...from Jesus in Matthew 24 from verse 7 and 14...
"While he was sitting upon the Mount of Olives, the disciples approached him privately, saying: "Tell us, When will these things be, and what will be the sign of the conclusion of the system of things?" He answered ........"
for nation will rise against nation..and there will be food shortages and earth quakes in one place after another....and then the end will come..."

I just heard bad news this morning that a family friend died. It's so horrible whats happened and the death toll is rising more. 20,000 and where does it stop :(

Please all give up a luxury and earn reward and swaf from Allah in donating money, clothes etc for the victims. At home we altogetehr donated £600 and will do more Inshallah. Please I request you all to donate and generously but what u can afford as every penny will help the victims, the children and all affected.

my uncle was collecting money from all my cosions and uncles
that live around us... in total he had collected just over £1000 so far...

but yeah please people donate wateva you can...

Please can you spend a few moments to pray for some family friends.

A close friend of my wife in Cardiff is trying to come to terms with losing her ENTIRE family in Kashmir. Her father, mother, 2 brothers, 2 sisters, a dozens nieces and nephews; aunts and uncles and grandparents-not to mention other extended family members.

They live in the remotest parts of Kashmir where the nearest phone line is a 30 minute drive away, and electricity was only introduced 2 years ago.

Out of nearly 40 family members, only she remains.

Its tragic. We dont know how to console her.

Just think about her and her loss if you can during your busy schedules.

Jazakallah-khair

Rudi Hater

Only Allah SWT decides who lives and who dies.

Even if the buildings had been the best constructed in the world, if Allah SWT decides that it is your time to go nothing can stop it from happening...

The death toll has now topped 30,000. And 2.5 million people are now homeless. That is 1.7% of Pak's total population affected.

Prayers with all those suffering.

BBC has a few correspondents covering the scenes and updating every now and then. Help is yet to reach many areas.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/south_asia/4325640.stm

"It's impressive the way people have rallied around here. What happened here is many of the survivors around Balakot left because they weren't getting shelter, they weren't getting the help they needed and they literally walked out because that was the only way of getting to and from Balakot.

And then they came back today carrying picks and shovels. There were hundreds of people coming in to help and as the day has gone on the numbers have grown. As I'm looking across the devastated town of Balakot, I'm seeing literally hundreds of thousands of people all over the rubble like ants working away trying to dig, hoping there may be people underneath."

rains after quake and landslide in that area must b effecting that area heavily and it ll not b easy to reach there with our "limited" resources. also hospital in Muzzarferabad CMH was also totally damaged.

I feel, if Pakistanis can help each other out in this critical period, and showcase some amazing brotherhood and concern for humanity, then Im hoping that Allah Tala will shower his barkat on the nation. I believe from personal experience that whenever we do something good, especially spend in the way of Allah or help our fellow human, then sometime in the future Allah Tala showers his mercy and barkat on us. Allah Tala says that what ever we spend in His way in this world, Allah will return that to us in this very life, 100 fold. And humanity or insaaniyat has a greater status in Islam then spending in the way of Allah.

So I hope, with my limited Islamic knowledge, that the outcome of this will in the long term be beneficial to us. Although no doubt the huge death toll is very heartbreaking.

Allah have mercy on all those who are suffering.

2005 never seen so much death and devestation in my life. Even tho nobody from my family was a victim it feels like there been a major death in our family we are all
one.

Cant do nothing for the departed but inshallah will do everything possible for the
ones left behind.

Allah give strength for the people in pakistan and south america to overcome this tragedy.

Ameen

Oxy™ said:
Please can you spend a few moments to pray for some family friends.

A close friend of my wife in Cardiff is trying to come to terms with losing her ENTIRE family in Kashmir. Her father, mother, 2 brothers, 2 sisters, a dozens nieces and nephews; aunts and uncles and grandparents-not to mention other extended family members.

They live in the remotest parts of Kashmir where the nearest phone line is a 30 minute drive away, and electricity was only introduced 2 years ago.

Out of nearly 40 family members, only she remains.

Its tragic. We dont know how to console her.

Just think about her and her loss if you can during your busy schedules.

Jazakallah-khair

Inalillahi-wa-ina-ilahi-raajioon

I am speechless for the first time in my life after hearing her ordeal:( :(

Only God can give her solace; almost impossible to console her in my opinion

HORRIBLE NEWS!!!!!!!

My BEST friends ENTIRE khaandaan is gone! He is from Kashmir and he ahs lost all his relatives! I was so shocked to hear that. He talked to them just last week! For the first time in my life am I experiencing such sorrow. Even though they werent mine, they were close to someone I know.

My hands have been numb since I heard that news and my heart beat is up. Cant think properly.

KaSaNoVa_G said:
US allocates up to 50 million dollars in initial aid to Pakistan

http://uk.news.yahoo.com/10102005/323/allocates-50-million-dollars-initial-aid-pakistan.html

cheak the link out for full story....

just saw this too. AWESOME!

In a written statement Sunday, Defense Secretary Donald Rumsfeld said, "Additional capabilities for airborne reconnaissance, heavy lift ground equipment, and medical support are being identified and dispatched from within the Central Command region."

thank you US!

May Allah grant her family paradise, and grant her peace in this life and the next.

I hope we all learn from this, that this life is temporary and that we have an eternal abode. This is a reminder on a massive scale.

Let's hope we bring the best out of this situation, by helping those who have suffered and giving continuous help to those who have been made orphans, widows.
This is a chance for us to do something that should have been done a long time ago - Build Pakistan.

lahori2 said:
just saw this too. AWESOME!

In a written statement Sunday, Defense Secretary Donald Rumsfeld said, "Additional capabilities for airborne reconnaissance, heavy lift ground equipment, and medical support are being identified and dispatched from within the Central Command region."

thank you US!

I am so pleased with the way US have donated. I have mixed feelings about them right now. But I can safely say any other Leader of Pakistan would not have brought so much aid.

Maybe now the rebuilding will help make pakistan a better country, but too bad its at the expense of all those ppl.

Britain is going to provide shelter, medicine, clothing and food to 40,000 of the homeless for 3 months according to Sky news.

I hope rescue teams do heir job perfectly as ppl there getting angry at moment as rescue teams arriving too slow and too late and too little. It's bcoz of block roads or wat ? I heard there are landslides in that area as well blocking the main roads.

India announces one billion aid (The News)
(Updated at 1430 PST)
NEW DELHI: India has announced Rs. billion aid for quake victims in Pakistan, an Indian TV channel reported.

India has announced 100 Crore rupees aid for relief of the earthquake victims in Pakistan as other world nations have announced donations for disaster stricken people, the channel said

I wish the Pakistani government creates a special department for Disastery Recovery to tackle this kind of event. It would have been impossible for any other country to cope with such an event even with emergency procedures in place. It is time that the road infrastructure was rebuilt properly in areas where landslides are imminent like Azad Kashmir

May Allah bless the survivors with food and a shelter! Alhamdolilah there wasn't more damage!

I hope India can come to an agreement with Pakistan about Kashmir, so we can start fixing it together. I personally from now don't care who has it, Pakistan or India, as long as it is safe for the people of Kashmir.

mulan said:
Well, I hope he's wrong this time...and hereafter.
True Nauman...from Jesus in Matthew 24 from verse 7 and 14...
"While he was sitting upon the Mount of Olives, the disciples approached him privately, saying: "Tell us, When will these things be, and what will be the sign of the conclusion of the system of things?" He answered ........"
for nation will rise against nation..and there will be food shortages and earth quakes in one place after another....and then the end will come..."

This is the 4th time I have read this bit from bible every site I am a member of have this up in connection with the earth quake in Pakistan. 2005 has been a very sad year indeed. Tsunami after effects to start of with, followed by bomb blasts all over, earth quakes, hurricanes and only Allah SWT knows what else is in store we can only hope and pray that everyone stays safe.

alghazzali said:
I hope India can come to an agreement with Pakistan about Kashmir, so we can start fixing it together. I personally from now don't care who has it, Pakistan or India, as long as it is safe for the people of Kashmir.

There is only one solution to this problem that is to make LOC permenant boundary and Pakistan isnt prepared to agree on that.

why resue teams arriving so late in effected areas ? wat's the reason ? :12:
I hope they don't spen another night under sky :(

Asim2Good said:
why resue teams arriving so late in effected areas ? wat's the reason ? :12:
I hope they don't spen another night under sky :(

No roads, these areas are inaccessable the only way to these areas is through air and as Mushraf has been saying over and over that we lack in helicopters.

I m really worried abt Kasmiri ppl, they r the one who are been most effected in last 50 yrs and they are the one who are most efected by this disaster.
hope they get medicine,tents,food and all necessary things ASAP.

Nauman said:
There is only one solution to this problem that is to make LOC permenant boundary and Pakistan isnt prepared to agree on that.

NEVER!

Kashmiris have sacrificed so much over the last 58 years and then we are gonna back stab them.

I would rather see a completely independent Kashmir than LOC as border.

Kashmiris should not be divided.

INTERNATIONAL AID
US: $50m
World Bank: $20m
Asian Development Bank: $10m
EU: $3.6m
Australia: $380,000
UK: $177,000 and 60-strong team
France: 40 doctors, medical supplies, sniffer dogs, 20 rescue workers
China: $6.2m, 49 rescuers, dogs, 17 tons of equipment
Japan: 50 rescue workers
Turkey: five teams of rescuers and 11 tonnes of aid
Russia: 30 rescuers, sniffer dogs, special equipment
Germany: $60,000

pathan007 said:
INTERNATIONAL AID
US: $50m
World Bank: $20m
Asian Development Bank: $10m
EU: $3.6m
Australia: $380,000
UK: $177,000 and 60-strong team
France: 40 doctors, medical supplies, sniffer dogs, 20 rescue workers
China: $6.2m, 49 rescuers, dogs, 17 tons of equipment
Japan: 50 rescue workers
Turkey: five teams of rescuers and 11 tonnes of aid
Russia: 30 rescuers, sniffer dogs, special equipment
Germany: $60,000

add also

The Netherlands: € 1 million euro
Urban Search Rescue - 65 people - 8 sniffer dogs
specialist finding people, they have arived in Islamabad few hours ago.

Ace Base said:
Jazaak Allah khairun Ahkhi.

Yes, you're right. Of course civilians will only be a hinderance in the efforts unless they have specific skills. My post was of course addressing those with relevant skills. I should have made it clear above, which I didn't but Inshallah this post serves as clarification.

I'm not part of the medical profession but have experience in admisnistrative/organisational areas of relief efforts. One thing I haven't mentioned is that I shall obviously be working alongside the UAE Red Crescent.

Once again, may Allah reward you for your support.

AceBase:

Pls keep us informed of the conditions out there. If you like I can pass u my mobile number and you can send in your dispatches to us - or login if u can - pls let us know.

Regards

MIG

Muddaser said:
NEVER!

Kashmiris have sacrificed so much over the last 58 years and then we are gonna back stab them.

I would rather see a completely independent Kashmir than LOC as border.

Kashmiris should not be divided.

Then lets keep on fighting over it till the end of this world, no chance of Kashmir ever getting developed. Independent Kashmir is unacceptable to both Pakistan and India.

Pakistan has had alot of response, it is a respected country really, overtly ppl seem to express themselves differently.

Nauman said:
Then lets keep on fighting over it till the end of this world, no chance of Kashmir ever getting developed. Independent Kashmir is unacceptable to both Pakistan and India.

Thats the sad thing you see as what is acceptable to Pakistan and India is put first to what is the wishes of the people of Kashmir who in majority want to go with Pakistan or becoem Independent.

Fessal said:
Thats the sad thing you see as what is acceptable to Pakistan and India is put first to what is the wishes of the people of Kashmir who in majority want to go with Pakistan or becoem Independent.

I am being realistic here, do you really think that both Pakistan and India will forgoe their own interests in the land? I think not.

Don't know if this has been posted before, my nephew send me an email from Pakistan about the various ways to help

Some of the means by which you can contribute in helping the devastated people. Some are local NGO and Govt agencies and contact them as the method given for donating and more information.

President Relief Fund
If you wish to donate to the President's Relief Fund, just deposit your donations in any National Bank branch all over Pakistan.
For further information, call the Prime Minister's Relief Cell at 051-9213891 or 051-9222666
The President of Azad Kashmir's Cell can be contacted on 051-9209650

Pakistan International Airline (PIA)

If u want to send any material PIA is carrying it for free. Just contact any local office of PIA in any country or city and send the things to them or contact them for details. PIA will carry the goods without any fair.

Good Job PIA:14: :19:

Edhi Foundation
Karachi - 021-2201261
Lahore - 042 - 5414211
Islamabad - 051 - 2827844
Multan - 061 - 4583906 / 4549938
Quetta - 081 - 2830832 / 2830861

Fatamid Foundation
Dr. Sagher - 021-2225285 / 0300 - 9210647

Ansar Burney Welfare Trust
Sarim Burney - 0300 - 8243459 / 0301 - 8243459

Rotaract Club 3270
Lahore:
Natash Ali Mian - 0300 - 9464209
Farooq Abdul Qadir - 0333 - 4227114
Karachi:
Ali Hafeez - 0333 - 2298048

National Academy of Youth Trust
Mrs. Samina - 0333 - 3114726

Khidmat - e - Khalq Foundation
Karachi - 021 - 6328464

Al Khidmat Foundation
Lahore - 042 - 5433038
Islamabad - 051 - 2277343 / 2877933

[Note: For international calls, preface the number with 92.

Donate with SMS

Ufone and Mobilink mobile users can donate 3 rupees to earthquake victims by sending an SMS with DONATE to number 346. You can repeat the process for whatever amount you want to donate. The money will be deducted from your mobile balance and goes directly to people suffering from disaster.

RED CROSS Help

Red cross/Crescent provided the following contact information:

· In Islamabad: Khalid Kibriya, Secretary-General, Pakistan Red Crescent;
Phone: +92.51.925.7404;

· In Islamabad: Asar ul-Haq, Disaster Management Officer, Pakistan Delegation;
email: ifrcpk01@ifrc.org; Phone: +92.51.925.0416; Mobile: +92.300.856.8136;

· In Delhi: Uzmat Ulla, Head of Delegation, India Delegation;
email: ifrcin65@ifrc.org

; Phone: +91.11.2332.4203

· In Delhi: Nina Nobel, Programme Coordinator, South Asia Regional Delegation;
email:ifrcin134@ifrc.org; Phone: +91.11.2685.8671

· In Kabul: Fatima Gailani, President, Afghanistan Red Crescent;
Phone: +93.79.38.5533

· In Kabul: Vincent Toutain, Programme Coordinator, Afghanistan Delegation;
email: vincent.toutain@ifrc.org; Phone: +93.7001.8727

· In Geneva: Charles Evans, acting Head of Asia Pacific Department;
email: charles.evans@ifrc.org; Phone: +41.22.730.4455

MAP International

Visit website at www.map.org

LIFE International

http://lifeusa.org/

PM Earthquake Relief Cell

Earthquake Relief Cell" has been established in Prime Minister House. It will work round the clock and will receive complaints from the earthquake affectees. The phone numbers are: (+9251) 9213891 or (+9251) 9222999 [Ed. Numbers local to Islamabad]. Earthquake Relief Cell has also been established in the Ministry of Interior

Med Air

For more details, please contact: Robert Schofield, Emergency Desk Officer (language: English), Phone: +41 (0)21 694 3535 Mobile number +41 (0)79 622 9984 robert.schofield@medair.org

John Farmer Operations Director (language: English), Phone: +41(0)21 694 3535 Mobile number +41(0)78 867 0454 john.farmer@medair.org

Save the Children

http://www.savethechildren.org/

Banks

All Local banks, UBL (also in US and Dubai), Muslim Commercial Bank, Al Fallah, Union, Habib Bank, National Bank, Union, other local banks are accepted relief money also.

Nauman said:

India still considers all of Kashmir part of India. Go look at their maps. They have not comprised one bit. Even if Pakistan LOC ( More chance of hell freezing over ) accept LOC as border it will not be acceptable to Kashmiris.

Kashmiris either want merger with Pakistan or Indepedence and they shall get that Inshallah.

Jazakallah M Sahib !

All I can say to the millions effected by this tragedy is that believe me help is on the way - just hold on meray piyaray behno aur bhaiyo!

Inshallah, we will join hands and help out as much as we can.

Kuwait donates USD 100 million for quake victims in Pakistan SOC-KUWAIT-PAKISTAN-QUAKE
Kuwait donates USD 100 million for quake victims in Pakistan
KUWAIT, Oct 10 (KUNA) -- Kuwait is donating USD 100 million for earthquake victims in Pakistan, Minister of Information Anas al-Rushaid told KUNA on Monday, following a regular cabinet meeting here.

The cabinet, he said, "has decided to donate USD 100 million to Pakistan in the aftermath of the devastating earthquake which has taken the lives of thousands of people." "We share with the Pakistani people their acute tragedy and Kuwait as customary is at the forefront of those extending a helping hand in situations such as this," he said.

Half of the donated amount will go for immediate relief aid, via such intermediaries as the Kuwaiti Red Crescent Society and regional and international organizations, explained a cabinet statement.

The other half of the donated amount will be allocated to the Kuwait Fund for Arab Economic Development, whose task will be to use it to fund reconstruction projects in quake-stricken areas, it added. (end) nas.

ajs

KUNA 101703 Oct 05NNNN

PAKISTAN: SAUDI ARABIA TO BUILD 'RELIEF BRIDGE' FOR QUAKE VICTIMS

Islamabad, 10 Oct. (AKI/DAWN) - Saudi Arabia's King Abdullah bin Abdul Aziz has ordered that an 'air bridge' be established with Pakistan to ensure an uninterrupted supply of relief goods, including ambulances, tents, medicines, and clothes, to cope with the massive damage caused by Saturday's earthquake, which is estimated to have caused at least 20,000 deaths.

The move was announced by the Saudi embassy in Pakistan on Sunday. The embassy said a team of Saudi experts was arriving in Islamabad to coordinate with their Pakistani counterparts and ensure a speedy dispatch of relief supplies to the quake victims.

A statement released by the Saudi embassy said that the leadership, the government and the people of Saudi Arabia are fully committed to doing whatever they can to alleviate the suffering of the victims of the disaster.