A 42 year old consulting with a 20 year old

Major

Test Star
I don't know if you guys saw it, but when Misbah ul haq (Pakistani test captain) was talking with his bowlers, the 20 year old Shadab also provided his input to the captain with confidence, the captain acknowledging it aswell.

This for me is a very rare scene, as in the past i have seen Pakistani captains to be full of ego, and never allow a youngster to even come forward with a view.

I think Shadab was just trying to offer advice, but they ignored him like they should have done.

I don't know if you guys saw it, but when Misbah ul haq (Pakistani test captain) was talking with his bowlers, the 20 year old Shadab also provided his input to the captain with confidence, the captain acknowledging it aswell.

This for me is a very rare scene, as in the past i have seen Pakistani captains to be full of ego, and never allow a youngster to even come forward with a view.

Burha aur bacha...aik jaise hotai hain.
misbah expression after bowlers concede runs are not good

Shadab is hand-picked by Misbah. Shadab is from the same region as Misbah - Mianwali.

Misbah is the only guy promoting young talent and giving them chances, while sides like Karachi, Zalmi, Quetta etc. are relying on TTFs.

However, let's not go overboard in praise. It's not unusual if your captain is asking your best bowler for advice.

You have to be extremely special to gain Misbah's approval at the age of 20.

This isn't a surprise. We all know how much Misbah supports the youngsters

Misbah has so many senior citizens in the team and yet he chooses to listen to an 18 years old.. Thats great.

Shadab is hand-picked by Misbah. Shadab is from the same region as Misbah - Mianwali.

Misbah is the only guy promoting young talent and giving them chances, while sides like Karachi, Zalmi, Quetta etc. are relying on TTFs.

However, let's not go overboard in praise. It's not unusual if your captain is asking your best bowler for advice.

Shadab has played his cricket for Pindi under the coaching of Sabih Azhar ..

Sabih is his mentor

Shadab has played his cricket for Pindi under the coaching of Sabih Azhar ..

Sabih is his mentor

I know - Mianwali doesn't have its own team, neither is Misbah his mentor. Just saying he had a hand in picking him.

This thread is a bit OTT though - let's not create threads for something that's normal.

Good, too many of our bowlers just stand there like statues and don't take any initiative in setting their fields and making decisions.

You can tell Shadab has an intelligent bowling brain, the way he tries to target batsmen and adjusts his plans with each ball.

Really? What about Hassan Khan and Nawaz for Quetta? Asghar and Hassan Ali for Zalmi? Usama Mir and Abrar in Karachi?

The only team that hasn't consistently given opportunities to youngsters is probably Lahore.

Really? What about Hassan Khan and Nawaz for Quetta? Asghar and Hassan Ali for Zalmi? Usama Mir and Abrar in Karachi?

The only team that hasn't consistently given opportunities to youngsters is probably Lahore.

Irfan Jr., Bilawal Bhatti and Aamir Yamin.

Shadab has incredible confidence and swagger- something reminiscent of the younger Indian boys in the IPL.

I hope he doesn't lose what he has, could be a very special player

Irfan Jr., Bilawal Bhatti and Aamir Yamin.
Since when are the likes of Nawaz, Bhatti and Hasan emerging players? All have been a regular members of the national team.

Really? Misbah is the only one promoting Young talent? Oh sorry, you are right. RAFFATULLAH, 40-year old youngster talent hand picked by Misbah toh replace Sharjeel :)
How could I forget that!? Silly me.

Since when are the likes of Nawaz, Bhatti and Hasan emerging players? All have been a regular members of the national team.

I don't know where Bhatti came into the discussion. Nawaz is 22. Hasan Ali is 23. Both are fairly young. It was a discussion of "young" talent, not of emerging talent. Youth is usually measured by age.

Yes, my mistake. I was reading another similar thread which led me to question.

we made some assumptions and than conclusions or am I missing something ??

I know - Mianwali doesn't have its own team, neither is Misbah his mentor. Just saying he had a hand in picking him.

This thread is a bit OTT though - let's not create threads for something that's normal.

If he is from Mianwali then he could be playing for the Faisalabad Wolves later this year alongside Misbah.

In sports there is no such thing as 42 years old and 20 year old. Its a team game

This is some next level failed Logic...................

I did not see the game but the desperation level in the OP is just faceplam worthy, now we have to acknowledge that Misbah talking to one of his players translates into he's promoting youngsters ?????? :facepalm: :facepalm:

Have you guys even ever played any cricket....Like Ever....EVER ???!!!!

Really? Misbah is the only one promoting Young talent? Oh sorry, you are right. RAFFATULLAH, 40-year old youngster talent hand picked by Misbah toh replace Sharjeel :)
How could I forget that!? Silly me.

Brother add Imran khalid misbah's best buddy the young dashing all rounder !

Lol thora sa zayda hogaya ab.. he hasn't even made his international debut. Let the kid play first :afridi

Bhai aap log imad wasim ko captain banarahe ho just bcoz of his fake swag isse acha to shadab hai with real swag...

This is some next level failed Logic...................

I did not see the game but the desperation level in the OP is just faceplam worthy, now we have to acknowledge that Misbah talking to one of his players translates into he's promoting youngsters ?????? :facepalm: :facepalm:

Have you guys even ever played any cricket....Like Ever....EVER ???!!!!

The point of the thread is that in the past pakistani captains never divulged youngsters in such meetings. Shoaib akhtars book also said this.

Now this has changed and its a good thing

The way Misbah has used Shadab Khan has been impressive... the kid is dynamite and should get a chance at the International level

The point of the thread is that in the past pakistani captains never divulged youngsters in such meetings. Shoaib akhtars book also said this.

you are literally making things up now

yes Pakistan has massive issues with seniority culture, something that Misbah has played a part in, but that doesn't mean other captains have never brought young players into meetings. Have you every played cricket?

I still remember in the 1999 WC Wasim regularly conferring with Abdul Razzaq in meetings, Inzi would do it with Malik. Both Afridi would have shezhad in meetings as well. This is nothing new. Nor can we quantify much from it, if anything it shows the confidence a young player has rather than anything else.

Obviously If a young player is doing well for a team a captain would want to consult with him. What do you think Imran never talked to Wasim about tactics in the early 90s because was a kid ? What was Quaid the first one in Pakistan who talks to youngsters ?

Misbah is a good person who likes all has faults but overall has done great things for Pakistan.

Your obsession with deifying him however just turns people off

You can be a passionte supporter like [MENTION=134608]Hawkeye[/MENTION], without being a Misbhite

You have to add "recent" in your first line, which includes a Misbah as well.

One reason being obvious - if you have a quality bowler who is also expressive, Captain will definitely discuss with him regardless of his age, hence from Fazal Mahmood to Saqline Mushtaq - Captains had long discussion on bowling strategy & field placement.

In recent times (that's last 12-15 years), PAK Captains hardly discussed strategy with young players/bowlers because hardly anyone was picked.

The change is in picking Shadab or Raees rather than Ajmal, Cheema & Tanvir - had Amir been around in those 5/6 years, you would have seen every Captain spending lots of time with him, on field.

Previous captains used to ignore suggestions from younger players but to do that you need to HAVE younger players in the side. At least they used to identify and introduce younger players and used to give them a good run. I'm talking about the national side here.

you are literally making things up now

yes Pakistan has massive issues with seniority culture, something that Misbah has played a part in, but that doesn't mean other captains have never brought young players into meetings. Have you every played cricket?

I still remember in the 1999 WC Wasim regularly conferring with Abdul Razzaq in meetings, Inzi would do it with Malik. Both Afridi would have shezhad in meetings as well. This is nothing new. Nor can we quantify much from it, if anything it shows the confidence a young player has rather than anything else.

Obviously If a young player is doing well for a team a captain would want to consult with him. What do you think Imran never talked to Wasim about tactics in the early 90s because was a kid ? What was Quaid the first one in Pakistan who talks to youngsters ?

Misbah is a good person who likes all has faults but overall has done great things for Pakistan.

Your obsession with deifying him however just turns people off

You can be a passionte supporter like [MENTION=134608]Hawkeye[/MENTION], without being a Misbhite

Go read shoaib akhtars book. And if u think hes making stuff up then you can believe whatevrr you want

It is surprising that Pakistani fans find it surprising to be honest.

I understand why its surprising for you.

Our culture of cricket is such that senior guys are always full of ego. They will never stand a younsgter. Forget consulting a youngster cant even sit near them.

Shoaib akhtar has mentioned alot of these things in his book

I understand why its surprising for you.

Our culture of cricket is such that senior guys are always full of ego. They will never stand a younsgter. Forget consulting a youngster cant even sit near them.

Shoaib akhtar has mentioned alot of these things in his book

Yes. These are small things which keep positive environment on and off the field. This then go on to reflect in their performance.No wonder Pakistan is such a unpredictable team.Unfortunately every individual is different and one Misbah cannot enforce such culture of enjoying and appreciating each others advice and success.

This doesn't change the fact that Misbah ALWAYS LOVED seniors in the national team and always gave preference when it came to selecting senior or youngster despite senior being awful.

Yes. These are small things which keep positive environment on and off the field. This then go on to reflect in their performance.No wonder Pakistan is such a unpredictable team.Unfortunately every individual is different and one Misbah cannot enforce such culture of enjoying and appreciating each others advice and success.

You are right that one misbah cant change the whole culture.

But i hope that this culture changes.

I have read many interviews of azhar ali and asad shafiq who said many times that misbah always acknowledged the youngsters for their views in the team.

But all it takes one egonostic person to come up and kill it for everyone. The youngsters then learn from that person and emulate him

Go read shoaib akhtars book. And if u think hes making stuff up then you can believe whatevrr you want

I have read it and guess what its one account, and his complaints have more to do with overall guidance rather than on field tactics, hence his complaint he didnt have an Imran Khan like figure.

Afridi and Abdul Razzaq have both been glowing about Wasim, different people get along differently even to the saint. However if you think Wasim never discussed bowling strategy with Shoaib, then you never saw the 1999 WC

So a guy who hardly had a youngster debut in his era is all of a sudden a champion of promoting youngsters just because he consulted with one over field placement.Mashallah.

Maybe because there were not many capable knocking the doors for selection.? If there were you can always have them now.No? So where are those blocked by Misbah.Kedar Jadhav for India made a late debut.So bring those all hidden youngsta beauties now.

I only started watching cricket about 8 years ago so I can't comment much into the past, but here OP is clearly over doing it. There is nothing special about this. As others have previously mentioned, a bowler and a captain regardless of age have discussions on their strategies.

Just because Misbah discusses with a young player doesn't make this any special.