Aamir Khan says 'please don't boycott my film' after calls for boycotting his next movie trends

Just watched Jug Jug jeeyo, which was my first Bollywood movie in a few years. Movie was very good but definitely seems inspired by ‘A Marriage Story’ (esp that argument scene). Also, it still had the typical Bollywood flaw of overloading the content with humour which just didn’t align with the subject.
Still better than lal singh chaddha

Just watched Jug Jug jeeyo, which was my first Bollywood movie in a few years. Movie was very good but definitely seems inspired by ‘A Marriage Story’ (esp that argument scene). Also, it still had the typical Bollywood flaw of overloading the content with humour which just didn’t align with the subject.

Yes because it still has to reach to masses for humor also the reason why marriage story itself didn’t get cinema release , I did see marriage story and while that scene it was same in terms of intent but not the same purpose just my opinion.

I hardly recommend bollywood to non-Indian folks anymore(when they ask for recommendations), i just recommend Telugu cinema due to its entertainment factor, as I realized that’s what they prefer.

Having said that Amir did make proper worldwide audience movies for the longest time.

Just needs to reinvent himself.. thugs and LSC are not the answer.

Yes because it still has to reach to masses for humor also the reason why marriage story itself didn’t get cinema release , I did see marriage story and while that scene it was same in terms of intent but not the same purpose just my opinion.

I understand but I feel that the taste for the masses has significantly changed over the last few years as most people have been exposed to a higher quality content in streaming platforms. This movie was definitely good by Bollywood standards but imo the content deserved a more serious approach. I am not saying have no humour but it was just overloaded. Just my two cents :)

With boycott bollywood trend i doubt they will try anything realistic anymore, Anil Kapoor was definitely the worst in this due to his approach, I kinda feel he is the most overrated actor in bollywood but was lucky with his scripts and Javed Akhtar’s backing during his days.

You are right on standards thing, it was only good by bollywood standards, because I remember how they ruined an amazing script like Ek ladki ko dekha to aisa laga and wasted Rajkumar Rao.

Muslims have always been shown in good light traditionally. Up until 90's, Villains have always been the nasty Thakurs or Baniyas or some Hindu conman. Muslims are always shown as an old honest Abdul Chacha who treats everyone fairly and minds his own business. In the past 2 decades, some movies have come out showing Muslim characters in negative roles where they are either goons and dons in Mumbai.

So your idea of a Muslim Bollywood hero is an old honest Abdul Chacha who minds his own business. Would explain why Yousaf Khan had to change his name to Dilip Kumar in order to get acting roles.

In an interview with Mahendra Kaul in 1970, Dilip Kumar had said the real reason he changed his name was the 'pitayi ka darr' (fear of thrashing) from his father. The late actor had said that his father never liked his acting career and called it 'nautanki

https://www.indiatoday.in/movies/ce...an-why-he-changed-his-name-1824931-2021-07-07

A Muslim character does not fit the traditional Bollywood hero stereotype. They need to run around tress shaking their leg with a woman, they have to be part of an Item number which are not acceptable for Muslims. Hence very few movies have a Muslim man as the protagonist. Even if the Muslim man is a protagonist, he is usually going out of his way to show his patriotism or it is a social issue that the man is fighting.

Dilip Kumar was a 50's and 60's hero. It is understandable why he changed his name. His era was too close to partition time. But he did enjoy the limelight and shook his leg with damsels and earning millions all the while suffering from his change of name. Poor guy.

In an interview with Mahendra Kaul in 1970, Dilip Kumar had said the real reason he changed his name was the 'pitayi ka darr' (fear of thrashing) from his father. The late actor had said that his father never liked his acting career and called it 'nautanki

https://www.indiatoday.in/movies/ce...an-why-he-changed-his-name-1824931-2021-07-07

Obviously, Islam does not allow such things. Just look at Dilip Kumar movies. He had no guilt in enjoying Bollywood with a Hindu name.

What are you talking about? Early bollywood was filled with Muslim personalities who set a great benchmark:

Mehboob Khan, Meena Kumari, Madhu Bala , Waheeda Rehman, Nargis, Naushad , Mehmood, M Rafi etc

Urdu poetry was the essence of old bollywood, stop giving into silly stereotypes.

What are you talking about? Early bollywood was filled with Muslim personalities who set a great benchmark:

Mehboob Khan, Meena Kumari, Madhu Bala , Waheeda Rehman, Nargis, Naushad , Mehmood, M Rafi etc

Urdu poetry was the essence of old bollywood, stop giving into silly stereotypes.

They all went against their religion.

I think ‘filmi names’ were something not exclusive to muslims in the past. Even Akshay Kumar’s original name is Rajiv Bhatia.

A Muslim character does not fit the traditional Bollywood hero stereotype.

This is a bit like saying a skinny, hindu yogi doesn't fit with the traditional Bollwyood hero steretype. Of course he doesn't and there's a reason for that, and it's not the one you are pushing.

A skinny Yogi also does not fit. But if he desires to, he can act in a movie.

I am not pushing anything. If you do not know your own religion, its not my fault.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/52JJ3LkMw9Q" title="YouTube video player" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

I think ‘filmi names’ were something not exclusive to muslims in the past. Even Akshay Kumar’s original name is Rajiv Bhatia.

Yeah from the top of my head:
Rajesh Khanna,Jeetendra, Rajkumar Rao, Akki, Raaj Kumar(old) surely many more.

I hardly recommend bollywood to non-Indian folks anymore(when they ask for recommendations), i just recommend Telugu cinema due to its entertainment factor, as I realized that’s what they prefer.

Having said that Amir did make proper worldwide audience movies for the longest time.

Just needs to reinvent himself.. thugs and LSC are not the answer.

Yes, he is a brilliant artist for Colonial era storylines or historical events retelling. Plus he is also a good actor for Partition events and world war 2 India. He shouldn’t waste himself on Masala entertainment easy money now.

His work in Ice Candy Man (Cracking India) was superb as well. Top class performance

#BoycottBrahmastra trends on Twitter after netizens dig out a decade old interview of Ranbir Kapoor saying he loves beef

As 'Brahmastra' release date draws closer, Ranbir Kapoor and Alia Bhatt are going out and about promoting their film. As the anticipation around the fantasy adventure film builds up, there have been multiple times netizens called for the boycott of the film for different reasons. Whether it is the backing from Karan Johar or Alia Bhatt's statement in a recent interview, the film has been in the news for the wrong reasons. This time around, netizens dug out a decade old interview of Ranbir Kapoor from the promotions of 'Rockstar' wherein he talks about his love for food and says he like to eat beef.

A section of netizens found it reason enough to trend #BoycottBrahmastra one more time. "Ranveer Kapoor beef khata hai. Yhi brahmastra ka heero hai. #BoycottBrahmastra," wrote a Twitter user. "Must boycott this beef guy," wrote another. Some others argued this is no reason to boycott the movie and tweeted out in support. "It's his choice what he wants to eat or not," tweeted a user. "At least he is doing something to make a movie on our history," wrote another in Ranbir's support.

Some netizens also dug out a clip from Alia's interview where she said if someone doesn't like her, they can chooce not to watch her movies.

Yesterday, Ranbir and Alia along with team Brahmastra visited IIT Bombay to promote their film. Alia even crooned the romantic song ‘Kesariya’ and the video went viral. 'Brahmastra' is a modern mythological film helmed by Ayan Mukerji. It is slated to release in theatres on September 9 in five languages - Hindi, Malayalam, Tamil, Telugu, Kannada.

https://m.timesofindia.com/entertai...saying-he-loves-beef/articleshow/93830704.cms

Up until 90's, Villains have always been the nasty Thakurs or Baniyas or some Hindu conman. Muslims are always shown as an old honest Abdul Chacha who treats everyone fairly and minds his own business

I guess this is a script for muslims in modis india too Keep quiet, do as your told and mind your own business

A skinny Yogi also does not fit. But if he desires to, he can act in a movie.

I am not pushing anything. If you do not know your own religion, its not my fault.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/52JJ3LkMw9Q" title="YouTube video player" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Do you know your own religion? Why is Bollywood fixated on Muslim males being old and religious? Maybe they should portray Indians as skinny Hindus who live with their mums if they want to portray steretypes?

New Delhi: Aamir Khan, on the occasion of Micchami Dukkadam, the day of seeking forgiveness for wrongdoings, shared a video clip on Thursday morning. Aamir Khan, who is a social media recluse, shares details pertaining to his films and other projects on Aamir Khan Productions' Twitter and Instagram handles.

This year too, on Micchami Dukkadam, a video clip was shared on both Twitter and Instagram account of Aamir Khan Productions' accounts. However, it was soon deleted from all social media platforms. The clip began with the words "Michami Dukkadam." A voice over in the post adds, "Hum sab insane hai aur galtiyan humse hi hoti hain... kabhi bol se, kabhi harkaton se, kabhi anjaane mein, kabhi gusse mein, kabhi mazak mein, kabhi nahi baat karne se. Agar maine kisi bhi kisi bhi tarah se aapka dil duhakya ho...toh mann vachan kaya se shama mangte hoon (All of us are human beings and we only make mistakes. Sometimes through our words and sometimes by our actions, at times we do it without knowing and at times when we are angry. We also hurt people with our humour and sometimes with our silence. If I have hurt your feelings in any way ever then I ask for your forgiveness with my heart, promise and being)."

Aamir Khan's last release Laal Singh Chaddha, became the target of Twitter boycott trend. The boycott trend against the film began after a section of the Internet dug out Aamir Khan's 2015 interview bits, where he said that his ex-filmmaker wife Kiran Rao had suggested they move countries because of "growing intolerance." His comments had provoked nationwide protests.

Before the film's release, Aamir Khan had requested the audience to give his film a fair chance and had said in an interview wit news agency PTI: "That Boycott Bollywood... Boycott Aamir Khan... Boycott Laal Singh Chaddha... I feel sad also because a lot of people who are saying this in their hearts believe I am someone who doesn't like India... In their hearts they believe that... And that's quite untrue. I really love the country... That's how I am. It is rather unfortunate if some people feel that way. I want to assure everyone that it's not the case so please don't boycott my films, please watch my films."

NDTV

Do you know your own religion? Why is Bollywood fixated on Muslim males being old and religious? Maybe they should portray Indians as skinny Hindus who live with their mums if they want to portray steretypes?

Of course I know unlike you. Hopefully you learned something from my post.

New Delhi: Aamir Khan, on the occasion of Micchami Dukkadam, the day of seeking forgiveness for wrongdoings, shared a video clip on Thursday morning. Aamir Khan, who is a social media recluse, shares details pertaining to his films and other projects on Aamir Khan Productions' Twitter and Instagram handles.

This year too, on Micchami Dukkadam, a video clip was shared on both Twitter and Instagram account of Aamir Khan Productions' accounts. However, it was soon deleted from all social media platforms. The clip began with the words "Michami Dukkadam." A voice over in the post adds, "Hum sab insane hai aur galtiyan humse hi hoti hain... kabhi bol se, kabhi harkaton se, kabhi anjaane mein, kabhi gusse mein, kabhi mazak mein, kabhi nahi baat karne se. Agar maine kisi bhi kisi bhi tarah se aapka dil duhakya ho...toh mann vachan kaya se shama mangte hoon (All of us are human beings and we only make mistakes. Sometimes through our words and sometimes by our actions, at times we do it without knowing and at times when we are angry. We also hurt people with our humour and sometimes with our silence. If I have hurt your feelings in any way ever then I ask for your forgiveness with my heart, promise and being)."

Aamir Khan's last release Laal Singh Chaddha, became the target of Twitter boycott trend. The boycott trend against the film began after a section of the Internet dug out Aamir Khan's 2015 interview bits, where he said that his ex-filmmaker wife Kiran Rao had suggested they move countries because of "growing intolerance." His comments had provoked nationwide protests.

Before the film's release, Aamir Khan had requested the audience to give his film a fair chance and had said in an interview wit news agency PTI: "That Boycott Bollywood... Boycott Aamir Khan... Boycott Laal Singh Chaddha... I feel sad also because a lot of people who are saying this in their hearts believe I am someone who doesn't like India... In their hearts they believe that... And that's quite untrue. I really love the country... That's how I am. It is rather unfortunate if some people feel that way. I want to assure everyone that it's not the case so please don't boycott my films, please watch my films."

NDTV

Poor Amir Khan. He still believes that his movie bombed because of twitter boycott and not because of cringe overaction.

I think you are right.

I also believe that the main reason of the failure of this movie is not that boycott. Yes it might have affected the box office performance to some extent but real reason was the film itself which looked like a spoof version of Forrest Gump.

There were a lot of things wrong with this movie.

I wrote on first page of this thread on the first day of the release that this movie is going to be flop.

Its trailer badly failed to impress people where Amir was clearly doing overacting with that fake Punjabi accent. To be honest his acting looked really cringy.

He has already done this type of acting in some of his previous movies. Moreover he has been copying Tom Hanks throughout his career so people will not find anything new in this movie.

Film itself is not suitable for 2022 audiences if he wanted a remake of this film he should have done it some 15 years ago, his age wouldn’t have an issue either. Now a days everyone has easy access to Hollywood movies and a lot of people have already seen Forrest Gump. Why would they watch a cheap imitation again.

He should try select better, different and original script now.

Faisal Khan claims he was 'caged once' in brother Aamir Khan’s house: ‘I want to live freely, don’t intend to...’
Faisal Khan said that he was 'caged once' in brother Aamir Khan’s house. He also spoke about why he refused to participate in Bigg Boss.

Actor Faisal Khan has said that he was once caged in his brother-actor Aamir Khan's house and that he doesn't 'intend to get caged again'. In a new interview, Faisal Khan was asked why he refused to participate in the upcoming seasaon of the reality show Bigg Boss. He said that contestants play with each other 'mentally' and he didn’t 'want to get trapped in that zone'. (Also Read | Aamir Khan's brother Faisal Khan claims Sushant Singh Rajput was murdered)

Recently, taking to Instagram, Faisal posted a video in which he revealed that he has rejected an offer to do the latest season to do Bigg Boss. "Today is a happy day for me because I got two offers today. One was for Bigg Boss but I declined it. There was another offer for a TV serial. I am quite excited that people are thinking about me and considering me. I am happy. Please pray for me that I get some good work so I can try and entertain you all be it a web series or a film."

Speaking with Times of India, Faisal said, "In Bigg Boss, everyone is pitted against each other, they fight, argue and then you’re also given tasks. They play with you mentally. I didn’t want to get trapped in that zone. They give you some money but by Allah’s grace I don’t need much money. So, I thought why should I get caged? Who likes being caged? Everyone likes a free life. That’s fun, you know. Qaid hone mein mazaa nahin hai (there’s no fun in being caged). I have been caged once in Aamir’s house. I don’t intend to get caged again. I want to live free and flow like water."

Faisal had fought a legal battle with his family in 2007-08. Speaking with Hindustan Times in 2008, after the court’s verdict, Faisal had said, “Frankly, I was never ill.. what has been said so far was speculative and spread by my elder brother Aamir Khan and other family members. In fact, I was kidnapped.. I was under house arrest, unwanted drugs were given to me. On the judgment day, judge saab announced that I’m not suffering from any illness.. and that I’m normal and capable of handling life on my own. I should be treated as a normal person.”

Faisal has featured in many films such as Qayamat Se Qayamat Tak, Jo Jeeta Wohi Sikandar, Madhosh, Mela, Kaboo, Dushmani, and Basti among several others. He was also part of a TV serial Aandhi in 2003.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/ente...other-aamir-khan-s-house-101663645138249.html

Faisal had fought a legal battle with his family in 2007-08. Speaking with Hindustan Times in 2008, after the court’s verdict, Faisal had said, “Frankly, I was never ill.. what has been said so far was speculative and spread by my elder brother Aamir Khan and other family members. In fact, I was kidnapped.. I was under house arrest, unwanted drugs were given to me. On the judgment day, judge saab announced that I’m not suffering from any illness.. and that I’m normal and capable of handling life on my own. I should be treated as a normal person".

https://www.hindustantimes.com/ente...other-aamir-khan-s-house-101663645138249.html

Looks like he has mental issues.

Aamir Khan, a Bollywood superstar, stood the test of time and became one of the most bankable stars in the industry. He never chased stardom and instead had always focused on performing versatile characters. From Rangeela, Lagaan, and 3 Idiots to PK, Aamir has given some binge-worthy movies to his die-hard fans. But in an industry where Shah Rukh Khan, Salman Khan and Akshay Kumar saw box office failures, Aamir was no exception. Aamir’s last two films, The Thugs Of Hindostan and Laal Singh Chaddha, were big-budget failures, and now the actor announced his hiatus from the industry for his family.

Over the years, Aamir’s personal life has also been equally in the limelight. He was first married to Reena Dutta and had two kids with her, Ira Khan and Junaid Khan. After parting ways with Reena in 2002, Aamir found love in the arms of director, Kiran Rao. Later, they welcomed a baby boy, Azad Rao Khan in 2011. But after 15 years of marital bliss, Aamir and Kiran mutually decided to file for a divorce.

With a long-running reputation for perfection, Aamir Khan has always been selective about his work. He signs for fewer movies but makes sure to put his one hundred per cent effort into the films he has opted for. But as his last two films failed, Aamir decided to take a break. At a recent event in Mumbai, Aamir flaunted his grey hair and beard, and revealed that after Laal Singh Chaddha, he was about to work on another beautiful film, Champion, but now he has decided to drop it as he wants to spend more time with his family. In his words:

“When I am doing a film as an actor, I get so lost in that that nothing else happens in my life. I was supposed to do a film after Laal Singh Chaddha called Champions. It’s a wonderful script, a beautiful story, and it’s a very heartwarming and lovely film. But I feel that I want to take a break and be with my family, my mom, and my kids.”

In the same conversation, Aamir said that he has been working for the last 35 years single-mindedly without spending quality time with his kids, mother and family. The actor said that he will not work for one and a half years and will enjoy life differently. He said:

“I feel I have been working for 35 years and I have single-mindedly been focused on my work. I feel that it’s not fair to people who are close to me… This is the time I feel I have to take some time off to be with them and actually experience life in a different way. I am looking forward to the next year, a year-and-a-half in which I am not working as an actor.”

Earlier, in an interview with ABP India, Aamir had mentioned that he was an absent father when his daughter, Ira Khan, was growing up. He said he had no idea about his daughter’s fears and dreams. Aamir could be quoted as saying:

“I feel like I’d spent my life chasing my dreams and trying to fulfil them. But during this journey, I didn’t pay attention to my loved ones. My parents, my siblings, my children, my first wife Reena, my second wife Kiran, their parents… Perhaps I couldn’t devote enough time to them. My daughter is now 23. I am sure she must have missed my presence in her life when she was younger. She will have had her own anxieties, fears, dreams and hopes. I wasn’t there for her, I know this now. I didn’t know her dreams and fears and hopes, but I knew the fears and dreams and hopes of my directors.”

https://www.bollywoodshaadis.com/ar...cutive-failures-want-to-be-with-my-kids-36439

The twitter comments provoked nationwide protests. It's a bit disingenuous to suggest they didn't have an affect. The hindu nationalists clearly felt it was necessary to paint him in a bad light otherwise why not just let the film bomb on it's own cringeness?

To be fair there’s been enough cringey and terrible Indian movies in the past which have been mega hits in the country.

The footfall for his film on its opening day was indeed down Not only that ive heard that there were gangs stood outside cinema halls telling people not to watch his film

More than the audience not liking the film it was the hindutva boycott which cause the film to burn

I happened to watch the first hour of this movie on Netflix at a mate's house, and suffice to say, it is just a poor carbon copy of Forest Gump to the point it is cringe.

AK made a career out of copying movies, but boycott or no boycott, this film is a flop and one of AK's worst movies.

I happened to watch the first hour of this movie on Netflix at a mate's house, and suffice to say, it is just a poor carbon copy of Forest Gump to the point it is cringe.

AK made a career out of copying movies, but boycott or no boycott, this film is a flop and one of AK's worst movies.

I don't watch Bollywood movies because most of them are cringe. I'm sure this one was as well, but the point is it should have been allowed to bomb on it's own merits, or lack thereof. It's quite disgusting in a modern era that we have hindutva gangs whipping up hatred based on religious differences.

Why was Bollywood the biggest thing until it was banned in your country? Anyone with an an iota of knowledge knows how important and vital it was and is for you guys.

What has that got to do with this topic? I think that's a more general question which can be answered in an appropriate thread about Bollywood popularity in Pakistan and what brought an end to it. By all means start a thread or revive an old one and I'll give my thoughts there.

Since when was Bollywood the biggest thing in Pakistan lol? Which fantasy world do you live in

Aamir Khan Performs Puja At Office, Ex Wife Kiran Rao Joins Him, Photos Viral

Actor Aamir Khan performed puja at the office of Aamir Khan Production recently. The photos from the ceremony have been shared on Instagram by Laal Singh Chaddha director Advait Chandan. In the photos, Aamir is seen holding a kalash (a metal pot) topped with a coconut, used on such occasions, and offering prayers. The actor is seen wearing a sweatshirt and a pair of jeans. A cloth is also seen around his shoulders. The purpose of the puja has not been mentioned by Advait Chandan, who has shared the post along with the hashtag #AamirKhanProductions.

<blockquote class="instagram-media" data-instgrm-captioned data-instgrm-permalink="https://www.instagram.com/p/Cl6X-2VohvJ/?utm_source=ig_embed&utm_campaign=loading" data-instgrm-version="14" style=" background:#FFF; border:0; border-radius:3px; box-shadow:0 0 1px 0 rgba(0,0,0,0.5),0 1px 10px 0 rgba(0,0,0,0.15); margin: 1px; max-width:540px; min-width:326px; padding:0; width:99.375%; width:-webkit-calc(100% - 2px); width:calc(100% - 2px);"><div style="padding:16px;"> <a href="https://www.instagram.com/p/Cl6X-2VohvJ/?utm_source=ig_embed&utm_campaign=loading" style=" background:#FFFFFF; line-height:0; padding:0 0; text-align:center; text-decoration:none; width:100%;" target="_blank"> <div style=" display: flex; flex-direction: row; align-items: center;"> <div style="background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 50%; flex-grow: 0; height: 40px; margin-right: 14px; width: 40px;"></div> <div style="display: flex; flex-direction: column; flex-grow: 1; justify-content: center;"> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 4px; flex-grow: 0; height: 14px; margin-bottom: 6px; width: 100px;"></div> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 4px; flex-grow: 0; height: 14px; width: 60px;"></div></div></div><div style="padding: 19% 0;"></div> <div style="display:block; height:50px; margin:0 auto 12px; width:50px;"><svg width="50px" height="50px" viewBox="0 0 60 60" version="1.1" xmlns="https://www.w3.org/2000/svg" xmlns:xlink="https://www.w3.org/1999/xlink"><g stroke="none" stroke-width="1" fill="none" fill-rule="evenodd"><g transform="translate(-511.000000, -20.000000)" fill="#000000"><g><path d="M556.869,30.41 C554.814,30.41 553.148,32.076 553.148,34.131 C553.148,36.186 554.814,37.852 556.869,37.852 C558.924,37.852 560.59,36.186 560.59,34.131 C560.59,32.076 558.924,30.41 556.869,30.41 M541,60.657 C535.114,60.657 530.342,55.887 530.342,50 C530.342,44.114 535.114,39.342 541,39.342 C546.887,39.342 551.658,44.114 551.658,50 C551.658,55.887 546.887,60.657 541,60.657 M541,33.886 C532.1,33.886 524.886,41.1 524.886,50 C524.886,58.899 532.1,66.113 541,66.113 C549.9,66.113 557.115,58.899 557.115,50 C557.115,41.1 549.9,33.886 541,33.886 M565.378,62.101 C565.244,65.022 564.756,66.606 564.346,67.663 C563.803,69.06 563.154,70.057 562.106,71.106 C561.058,72.155 560.06,72.803 558.662,73.347 C557.607,73.757 556.021,74.244 553.102,74.378 C549.944,74.521 548.997,74.552 541,74.552 C533.003,74.552 532.056,74.521 528.898,74.378 C525.979,74.244 524.393,73.757 523.338,73.347 C521.94,72.803 520.942,72.155 519.894,71.106 C518.846,70.057 518.197,69.06 517.654,67.663 C517.244,66.606 516.755,65.022 516.623,62.101 C516.479,58.943 516.448,57.996 516.448,50 C516.448,42.003 516.479,41.056 516.623,37.899 C516.755,34.978 517.244,33.391 517.654,32.338 C518.197,30.938 518.846,29.942 519.894,28.894 C520.942,27.846 521.94,27.196 523.338,26.654 C524.393,26.244 525.979,25.756 528.898,25.623 C532.057,25.479 533.004,25.448 541,25.448 C548.997,25.448 549.943,25.479 553.102,25.623 C556.021,25.756 557.607,26.244 558.662,26.654 C560.06,27.196 561.058,27.846 562.106,28.894 C563.154,29.942 563.803,30.938 564.346,32.338 C564.756,33.391 565.244,34.978 565.378,37.899 C565.522,41.056 565.552,42.003 565.552,50 C565.552,57.996 565.522,58.943 565.378,62.101 M570.82,37.631 C570.674,34.438 570.167,32.258 569.425,30.349 C568.659,28.377 567.633,26.702 565.965,25.035 C564.297,23.368 562.623,22.342 560.652,21.575 C558.743,20.834 556.562,20.326 553.369,20.18 C550.169,20.033 549.148,20 541,20 C532.853,20 531.831,20.033 528.631,20.18 C525.438,20.326 523.257,20.834 521.349,21.575 C519.376,22.342 517.703,23.368 516.035,25.035 C514.368,26.702 513.342,28.377 512.574,30.349 C511.834,32.258 511.326,34.438 511.181,37.631 C511.035,40.831 511,41.851 511,50 C511,58.147 511.035,59.17 511.181,62.369 C511.326,65.562 511.834,67.743 512.574,69.651 C513.342,71.625 514.368,73.296 516.035,74.965 C517.703,76.634 519.376,77.658 521.349,78.425 C523.257,79.167 525.438,79.673 528.631,79.82 C531.831,79.965 532.853,80.001 541,80.001 C549.148,80.001 550.169,79.965 553.369,79.82 C556.562,79.673 558.743,79.167 560.652,78.425 C562.623,77.658 564.297,76.634 565.965,74.965 C567.633,73.296 568.659,71.625 569.425,69.651 C570.167,67.743 570.674,65.562 570.82,62.369 C570.966,59.17 571,58.147 571,50 C571,41.851 570.966,40.831 570.82,37.631"></path></g></g></g></svg></div><div style="padding-top: 8px;"> <div style=" color:#3897f0; font-family:Arial,sans-serif; font-size:14px; font-style:normal; font-weight:550; line-height:18px;">View this post on Instagram</div></div><div style="padding: 12.5% 0;"></div> <div style="display: flex; flex-direction: row; margin-bottom: 14px; align-items: center;"><div> <div style="background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 50%; height: 12.5px; width: 12.5px; transform: translateX(0px) translateY(7px);"></div> <div style="background-color: #F4F4F4; height: 12.5px; transform: rotate(-45deg) translateX(3px) translateY(1px); width: 12.5px; flex-grow: 0; margin-right: 14px; margin-left: 2px;"></div> <div style="background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 50%; height: 12.5px; width: 12.5px; transform: translateX(9px) translateY(-18px);"></div></div><div style="margin-left: 8px;"> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 50%; flex-grow: 0; height: 20px; width: 20px;"></div> <div style=" width: 0; height: 0; border-top: 2px solid transparent; border-left: 6px solid #f4f4f4; border-bottom: 2px solid transparent; transform: translateX(16px) translateY(-4px) rotate(30deg)"></div></div><div style="margin-left: auto;"> <div style=" width: 0px; border-top: 8px solid #F4F4F4; border-right: 8px solid transparent; transform: translateY(16px);"></div> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; flex-grow: 0; height: 12px; width: 16px; transform: translateY(-4px);"></div> <div style=" width: 0; height: 0; border-top: 8px solid #F4F4F4; border-left: 8px solid transparent; transform: translateY(-4px) translateX(8px);"></div></div></div> <div style="display: flex; flex-direction: column; flex-grow: 1; justify-content: center; margin-bottom: 24px;"> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 4px; flex-grow: 0; height: 14px; margin-bottom: 6px; width: 224px;"></div> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 4px; flex-grow: 0; height: 14px; width: 144px;"></div></div></a><p style=" color:#c9c8cd; font-family:Arial,sans-serif; font-size:14px; line-height:17px; margin-bottom:0; margin-top:8px; overflow:hidden; padding:8px 0 7px; text-align:center; text-overflow:ellipsis; white-space:nowrap;"><a href="https://www.instagram.com/p/Cl6X-2VohvJ/?utm_source=ig_embed&utm_campaign=loading" style=" color:#c9c8cd; font-family:Arial,sans-serif; font-size:14px; font-style:normal; font-weight:normal; line-height:17px; text-decoration:none;" target="_blank">A post shared by Advait Chandan (@advaitchandan)</a></p></div></blockquote> <script async src="//www.instagram.com/embed.js"></script>

The photos from the ceremony, posted on Thursday, are now viral. They also show Aamir Khan's ex wife Kiran Rao performing aarti together with the actor. Several staff members are also seen taking part in the puja.

<blockquote class="instagram-media" data-instgrm-captioned data-instgrm-permalink="https://www.instagram.com/p/Cl6X27woXoc/?utm_source=ig_embed&utm_campaign=loading" data-instgrm-version="14" style=" background:#FFF; border:0; border-radius:3px; box-shadow:0 0 1px 0 rgba(0,0,0,0.5),0 1px 10px 0 rgba(0,0,0,0.15); margin: 1px; max-width:540px; min-width:326px; padding:0; width:99.375%; width:-webkit-calc(100% - 2px); width:calc(100% - 2px);"><div style="padding:16px;"> <a href="https://www.instagram.com/p/Cl6X27woXoc/?utm_source=ig_embed&utm_campaign=loading" style=" background:#FFFFFF; line-height:0; padding:0 0; text-align:center; text-decoration:none; width:100%;" target="_blank"> <div style=" display: flex; flex-direction: row; align-items: center;"> <div style="background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 50%; flex-grow: 0; height: 40px; margin-right: 14px; width: 40px;"></div> <div style="display: flex; flex-direction: column; flex-grow: 1; justify-content: center;"> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 4px; flex-grow: 0; height: 14px; margin-bottom: 6px; width: 100px;"></div> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 4px; flex-grow: 0; height: 14px; width: 60px;"></div></div></div><div style="padding: 19% 0;"></div> <div style="display:block; height:50px; margin:0 auto 12px; width:50px;"><svg width="50px" height="50px" viewBox="0 0 60 60" version="1.1" xmlns="https://www.w3.org/2000/svg" xmlns:xlink="https://www.w3.org/1999/xlink"><g stroke="none" stroke-width="1" fill="none" fill-rule="evenodd"><g transform="translate(-511.000000, -20.000000)" fill="#000000"><g><path d="M556.869,30.41 C554.814,30.41 553.148,32.076 553.148,34.131 C553.148,36.186 554.814,37.852 556.869,37.852 C558.924,37.852 560.59,36.186 560.59,34.131 C560.59,32.076 558.924,30.41 556.869,30.41 M541,60.657 C535.114,60.657 530.342,55.887 530.342,50 C530.342,44.114 535.114,39.342 541,39.342 C546.887,39.342 551.658,44.114 551.658,50 C551.658,55.887 546.887,60.657 541,60.657 M541,33.886 C532.1,33.886 524.886,41.1 524.886,50 C524.886,58.899 532.1,66.113 541,66.113 C549.9,66.113 557.115,58.899 557.115,50 C557.115,41.1 549.9,33.886 541,33.886 M565.378,62.101 C565.244,65.022 564.756,66.606 564.346,67.663 C563.803,69.06 563.154,70.057 562.106,71.106 C561.058,72.155 560.06,72.803 558.662,73.347 C557.607,73.757 556.021,74.244 553.102,74.378 C549.944,74.521 548.997,74.552 541,74.552 C533.003,74.552 532.056,74.521 528.898,74.378 C525.979,74.244 524.393,73.757 523.338,73.347 C521.94,72.803 520.942,72.155 519.894,71.106 C518.846,70.057 518.197,69.06 517.654,67.663 C517.244,66.606 516.755,65.022 516.623,62.101 C516.479,58.943 516.448,57.996 516.448,50 C516.448,42.003 516.479,41.056 516.623,37.899 C516.755,34.978 517.244,33.391 517.654,32.338 C518.197,30.938 518.846,29.942 519.894,28.894 C520.942,27.846 521.94,27.196 523.338,26.654 C524.393,26.244 525.979,25.756 528.898,25.623 C532.057,25.479 533.004,25.448 541,25.448 C548.997,25.448 549.943,25.479 553.102,25.623 C556.021,25.756 557.607,26.244 558.662,26.654 C560.06,27.196 561.058,27.846 562.106,28.894 C563.154,29.942 563.803,30.938 564.346,32.338 C564.756,33.391 565.244,34.978 565.378,37.899 C565.522,41.056 565.552,42.003 565.552,50 C565.552,57.996 565.522,58.943 565.378,62.101 M570.82,37.631 C570.674,34.438 570.167,32.258 569.425,30.349 C568.659,28.377 567.633,26.702 565.965,25.035 C564.297,23.368 562.623,22.342 560.652,21.575 C558.743,20.834 556.562,20.326 553.369,20.18 C550.169,20.033 549.148,20 541,20 C532.853,20 531.831,20.033 528.631,20.18 C525.438,20.326 523.257,20.834 521.349,21.575 C519.376,22.342 517.703,23.368 516.035,25.035 C514.368,26.702 513.342,28.377 512.574,30.349 C511.834,32.258 511.326,34.438 511.181,37.631 C511.035,40.831 511,41.851 511,50 C511,58.147 511.035,59.17 511.181,62.369 C511.326,65.562 511.834,67.743 512.574,69.651 C513.342,71.625 514.368,73.296 516.035,74.965 C517.703,76.634 519.376,77.658 521.349,78.425 C523.257,79.167 525.438,79.673 528.631,79.82 C531.831,79.965 532.853,80.001 541,80.001 C549.148,80.001 550.169,79.965 553.369,79.82 C556.562,79.673 558.743,79.167 560.652,78.425 C562.623,77.658 564.297,76.634 565.965,74.965 C567.633,73.296 568.659,71.625 569.425,69.651 C570.167,67.743 570.674,65.562 570.82,62.369 C570.966,59.17 571,58.147 571,50 C571,41.851 570.966,40.831 570.82,37.631"></path></g></g></g></svg></div><div style="padding-top: 8px;"> <div style=" color:#3897f0; font-family:Arial,sans-serif; font-size:14px; font-style:normal; font-weight:550; line-height:18px;">View this post on Instagram</div></div><div style="padding: 12.5% 0;"></div> <div style="display: flex; flex-direction: row; margin-bottom: 14px; align-items: center;"><div> <div style="background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 50%; height: 12.5px; width: 12.5px; transform: translateX(0px) translateY(7px);"></div> <div style="background-color: #F4F4F4; height: 12.5px; transform: rotate(-45deg) translateX(3px) translateY(1px); width: 12.5px; flex-grow: 0; margin-right: 14px; margin-left: 2px;"></div> <div style="background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 50%; height: 12.5px; width: 12.5px; transform: translateX(9px) translateY(-18px);"></div></div><div style="margin-left: 8px;"> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 50%; flex-grow: 0; height: 20px; width: 20px;"></div> <div style=" width: 0; height: 0; border-top: 2px solid transparent; border-left: 6px solid #f4f4f4; border-bottom: 2px solid transparent; transform: translateX(16px) translateY(-4px) rotate(30deg)"></div></div><div style="margin-left: auto;"> <div style=" width: 0px; border-top: 8px solid #F4F4F4; border-right: 8px solid transparent; transform: translateY(16px);"></div> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; flex-grow: 0; height: 12px; width: 16px; transform: translateY(-4px);"></div> <div style=" width: 0; height: 0; border-top: 8px solid #F4F4F4; border-left: 8px solid transparent; transform: translateY(-4px) translateX(8px);"></div></div></div> <div style="display: flex; flex-direction: column; flex-grow: 1; justify-content: center; margin-bottom: 24px;"> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 4px; flex-grow: 0; height: 14px; margin-bottom: 6px; width: 224px;"></div> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 4px; flex-grow: 0; height: 14px; width: 144px;"></div></div></a><p style=" color:#c9c8cd; font-family:Arial,sans-serif; font-size:14px; line-height:17px; margin-bottom:0; margin-top:8px; overflow:hidden; padding:8px 0 7px; text-align:center; text-overflow:ellipsis; white-space:nowrap;"><a href="https://www.instagram.com/p/Cl6X27woXoc/?utm_source=ig_embed&utm_campaign=loading" style=" color:#c9c8cd; font-family:Arial,sans-serif; font-size:14px; font-style:normal; font-weight:normal; line-height:17px; text-decoration:none;" target="_blank">A post shared by Advait Chandan (@advaitchandan)</a></p></div></blockquote> <script async src="//www.instagram.com/embed.js"></script>

Earlier this week, Aamir Khan told reporters that he would return to acting after a year. The actor added that he would be spending time with his family.

"I am not doing anything. I have been working for a long time, so now I want to spend time with family. Work is underway on Paani foundation, and there are other things as well. I will come back to acting after a year," the actor said during the red carpet of Salaam Venky's premiere.

He also has a small role in the film, which stars Kajol and Vishal Jethwa in the lead.

After the premiere, Kajol posted a picture with Aamir Khan and Vishal Jethwa.

The 'Fanaa' actor took to her Instagram handle and shared a picture where she can be seen doing thumbs up with Aamir and Vishal in front of the camera.

Aamir Khan was last seen in Laal Singh Chaddha, co-starring Kareena Kapoor. The film was not well received by the audience.

NDTV

Strange. I believe he went for Hajj few years ago. I thought he was a practicing Muslim.

He is confused. Islam forbids idol worship. Shirk is a major sin in Islam. I guess when you live in a country where you can not openly practise your faith (as a celebrity) without any negative implications then you become a hybrid.

Besides, I realise that these Bollywood actors have/had Hindu partners. This is not allowed in Islam. This itself has issues in the long term with one having to compromise on your religion.

Maybe its because he doesnt want his next film to be boycotted too

None of the Khans are practicing Muslims but they pretend to be. Salman always releases his blockbusters on Eid to give an impression to his Muslim fans all over the world that he is generous to them by giving an Eid gift/eddi. Saif likes himself being portrayed as a Nawab from the Muslim Patuadi clan from Bhopal. Shahrukh Khan on occasion wears a Shalwar Kamees and greets Salam Alaikum to show his Muslim fans he is some sort of a Muslim role-model and a true Pathan. Everyone is aware that he has a Hindu wife and his children are not bought up in a Muslim way of life. Even their names are not Muslim.

Maybe its because he doesnt want his next film to be boycotted too

Lately Amir Khan has been portraying himself as a pseudo-intellectual talking about social-awareness, politics etc etc. The comments he made were to elevate this new image. He should have stood to what he had said about India but he was back to ground when people started to boycott his latest movie.
Actors should stick to what they are good at and that's acting.

Not sure what this hullaballoo is all about!

Guy is free to practice his religion the way he wants! Let him.

Look at the thread topic. He has to pacify the hindutva community in India which is big enough to win elections for the fanatical BJP. This is why Jinnah wanted a separate country to protect the Muslim population from hindutva hostility. I don't necessarily agree with it, but hard to argue when you see how even the stars in India have to publicly perform Hindu rituals.

Bollywood’s Aamir Khan praised Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi's radio show, Mann Ki Baat, calling it an "important piece of communication.” However, his appreciation for the politician did not sit well with his fans, especially since the Laal Singh Chaddha actor once felt “unsafe” under Modi’s reign. Twitterati called him out for his hypocrisy and shared how they “lost all respect” for him after this.

Speaking at the inauguration of the National Conclave on Mann Ki Baat @100 in New Delhi, Khan expressed his admiration for the show, and said, "It's a very important piece of communication that the leader of the country does with the people, discussing important issues, putting forward thoughts, giving suggestions, and leading. That is how you lead by communication."

When asked if Modi only talks about what he wishes to talk about, Khan defended the Prime Minister, saying, "I think it's his prerogative because he's doing it... It is his method of hearing what the people have to say connecting with people across the country. I think it's a very important initiative."

While Khan praised Modi while speaking to the media, fans did the opposite by bashing him on the micro-blogging site. “Aamir Khan feels enlightened listening to a man who makes crude jokes about suicides. Stars fall from grace quicker than a burst balloon,” wrote a user.

Express Tribune