AB de Villiers yesterday runout a school boy error?

PowerPlay

I have seen this runout of de Villiers repeatedly but i am finding it hard to accept de Villiers made this school boy error there was nobody standing in front of him to change his direction while running but still he was running so much away from the pitch for his second run he changed his whole direction for second run why?

error.jpg

link to see the full video of south african wickets http://www.icc-cricket.com/cricket-world-cup/videos/media/id/3817/south-africa-innings-wickets

He did it on purpose. He has to go play IPL after this so he cannot dare to make runs against India.

BA

good post OP. i am suspicious too. may be he needs an increment in IPL.

Schoolboy errors, Now would not you say that for top 6 SA batsmen yesterday:inti

Srini just stood up in the crowd and held out a massive wad of cash and waved it. AB duly obliged.

Such is :srini 's power

AB does stupid crap like that A LOT. Especially with Faf as his partner. I would really like to see the stats.

It was all pre-decided.

ABD practiced doing this 'schoolboy error' incessantly in the nets so that he does not mistakenly end up running straight under pressure.

Amla also needed to practice top-edging the pull a lot in the nets. The first time he tried, he kept middling it. But he eventually perfected it through relentless practice and some advice from Afridi.

It was all pre-decided.

ABD practiced doing this 'schoolboy error' incessantly in the nets so that he does not mistakenly end up running straight under pressure.

Amla also needed to practice top-edging the pull a lot in the nets. The first time he tried, he kept middling it. But he eventually perfected it through relentless practice and some advice from Afridi.

lol....

Big deal. He's the best ODI batsman in the world and run-outs happen.

we know he is a great batsman but you don't expect a top level player like AB to make these stupid mistakes but i can understand if he was unable to handle the pressure situation or his mind stopped working.

Just a miscalculation.

It was India's day, the planets, sun, moon, and shadow planets were aligned towards Indian players.

South African run outs vs India. 2 in the previous game.

3 run outs in the Champions trophy game in 2013.

Something fishy..

RSA thinks indian fielders are like pak fielders. they don't realise that we have uplifted our fielding. that's where miscalculation is.

Something fishy..

Nothing fishy. There is a reason they choke in big tournaments. Everyone calls them chokers including yourself.

I think it was a correct decision, he took on Mohit and this time Mohit came on top.. in any case, it was just fraction of a second difference.
Credit to Mohit though, it isn't easy to beat a running machine on a throw from deep.

Biggest mistake SA was doing is trying to Chase 300 like one will do in 2000. Its 2015, you chase it very differently.

In 2000, you will go at faster pace close to 6 RPO from the beginning, since in last 10-15 overs (with 5 fielders and reverse swing), its hard to score 9/10 runs an over. Now a days you have to keep wickets in hand and start the on slot in last 15-12 overs.

Plus now a days 300 is par score, which used to be 250 in 2000, nothing ti panic about. With new rules that is expected.

This is tactical mistake by SA, its nothing to do with skills or choking. It's strategic error. They have to learn that fast, talent is not an issue for them. Army of coaches have to do some work, what's the point of them otherwise???

Any words for Indian agent 007 Amla, he dropped an easy practice catch of Dhawan who ended up winning match for India.

And Waleed bhai who gave away phanti of life which won match for India.

Basit Ali, probably amongst the worst experts ever, put this down to match-fixing. Every match won by India is fixed in his opinion, something that I have been hearing from him since as early as 2nd April 2011.

His questions are always like, "How can it be that X, Y, Z could make such a stupid mistake?", completely forgetting the way Pakistan lose most of their matches: to be precise, down to comedy of errors.

Any words for Indian agent 007 Amla, he dropped an easy practice catch of Dhawan who ended up winning match for India.

And Waleed bhai who gave away phanti of life which won match for India.

no offense but now you are acting as typical Afridi-Misbah fans like if the thread is against Afridi derail the whole thing to criticizing Misbah and if there is something against Misbah derail it and start Afridi bashing.

Basit Ali, probably amongst the worst experts ever, put this down to match-fixing. Every match won by India is fixed in his opinion, something that I have been hearing from him since as early as 2nd April 2011.

His questions are always like, "How can it be that X, Y, Z could make such a stupid mistake?", completely forgetting the way Pakistan lose most of their matches: to be precise, down to comedy of errors.

According to him when Pakistani players make mistake then it is actually a genuine mistake because Pakistani players "khareede nahi ja sakte"

I will take arrogant akhtar over moron basit ali.

According to him when Pakistani players make mistake then it is actually a genuine mistake because Pakistani players "khareede nahi ja sakte"

I will take arrogant akhtar over moron basit ali.

Basit and Rashid publicly accuse Pakistan players for fixing matches and just yesterday Rashid was saying on a national tv that the jua is happening in pak cricket from last 20 years so clean this mess or continue to suffer

I have seen this runout of de Villiers repeatedly but i am finding it hard to accept de Villiers made this school boy error there was nobody standing in front of him to change his direction while running but still he was running so much away from the pitch for his second run he changed his whole direction for second run why?

View attachment 54537

link to see the full video of south african wickets http://www.icc-cricket.com/cricket-world-cup/videos/media/id/3817/south-africa-innings-wickets

you cannot be running at full speed and then turn on a pivot. that is how torn menscii happens.

also, if you watch the match, with a rising runrate, the true cause of this error was:
1. ABD underrated mohit who was pushed back to the rope because he was deemed to be weak inside ring fielder and much more importantly:
2. 4 dot balls in a row just prior to this caused ABD to try and maximize the run scoring opportunity. a gamble that failed.

no offense but now you are acting as typical Afridi-Misbah fans like if the thread is against Afridi derail the whole thing to criticizing Misbah and if there is something against Misbah derail it and start Afridi bashing.

None taken.

But this is a troll thread and deserves troll responses. If you seriously want to entertain the idea that ABDV threw away the nations pride for money then i feel sorry for a member as senior as you.

My post was for OP anyways. If he feels ABVD is a cheat then he should consider other players as well.

ABDV didn't count on a direct hit. As plain and simple as that. The Indian fielding unit has dramatically improved in recent times. He was counting on bad throw .. and unfortunately it didn't happen.

End of story..

ever heard the old chinese proverb "Man with hand in pocket, feel cocky all day!"?

He is quick but he thinks he is too quick and he is not superman. He over estimated his running ability.

None taken.

But this is a troll thread and deserves troll responses. If you seriously want to entertain the idea that ABDV threw away the nations pride for money then i feel sorry for a member as senior as you.

My post was for OP anyways. If he feels ABVD is a cheat then he should consider other players as well.

i dont think AB threw it away and i am one of his biggest fan here i just found your post a little different so i thought to reply sorry for misunderstanding i didn't know it was a fun post

Basit and Rashid publicly accuse Pakistan players for fixing matches and just yesterday Rashid was saying on a national tv that the jua is happening in pak cricket from last 20 years so clean this mess or continue to suffer

Let me know when Basit and Rashid actually start taking names and pointing the incidents where they think pakistani players have fixed match. Like rash shot of afridi, or brain fade of akmal etc. Its easy to give generic statements but it takes guts to say names. They wont do it because they know only pakistanis watch them and they will get sued in a second.

Basit was actually endorsing kamran akmal for selection. He blames modi, he even said SA got back in the world of cricket due to vote of BCCI so they are returning favor. I dont take people seriously who have that kind of IQ

Such a poor post and this bhai nonsense is overkill now.

Whats worse is evident here. Pakistanis will support a long bearded Muslim regardless of team and will be unabashedly be biased.

Another reason for Pakistan's downfall. Too much influx of religion and religious matters in Sports.

i dont think AB threw it away and i am one of his biggest fan here i just found your post a little different so i thought to reply sorry for misunderstanding i didn't know it was a fun post

All my posts were troll posts, other members are doing the same.

Whats worse is evident here. Pakistanis will support a long bearded Muslim regardless of team and will be unabashedly be biased.

Another reason for Pakistan's downfall. Too much influx of religion and religious matters in Sports.

wowaa.. calm down there.. It's not out place to talk about it. They can follow/adore whoever they want. If it is really itching you to comment about it, you need to be more subtle about it like the bhai stuff that's been going on.

and the invisible creatures :p

Jokes apart, there was an astrologer who predicted SL vs Ind final prior to the 2011 WC. He predicted that SL will do well in the first half of the game and then India would dominate the second half and it did end up becoming true.

Jadeja bowled that ball from around the wicket hence AB had to go to the edge of the crease to complete the first run. As another poster mentioned its extremely difficult and dangerous to turn on a pivot and lot easier to round which took him further outside the pitch. They underestimated Mohit's arm (du plessis's teammate at CSK) that led to the run out. Not a schoolboy error, just a lot of things coming together to get the best ODI batsman out.

One Pakistani ex-cricketer has already figured out the explanation. All SA players, except Amla, were involved in throwing the match.

AB always ends up throwing away his wicket in the strangest of fashions when he's set

gets too excited I guess

:)) Did someone actually say that?

Basit Ali.

Theres a whole thread on that.

Basit Ali ki khulay dil se dua thee ke Hazrat Amla bhai inn bhartiyoon ke khilaaf century karain aur match jeetayen kyunke baaki sab bikay hain. Laikin Allah ki marzi nahee thee

I wonder why Imran Tahir and Waleed Parnell not get the same love.

Length of beard not upto standard?

It was a lightening quick throw from Mohit Sharma, don't think he expected that. I thought he was setting himself up really nicely, pinching quick singles in the middle overs is bread and butter for ABD, thats what he does. The real awful dismissals were of Amla and Faf, totally uncalled for.