According to you, which is the best movie of all time?

Tough question!

My favourite is Shaw Shank Redemption

Being a war movie buff, Battle of Britain is also an all time favourite

Hollywood: Interstellar and the Dark knight

Bollywood: Rang de Basanti

Tough question!

what about Dunkirk? I loved the fact that the enemy was never really shown, all they showed was there presence only by bullets being shot. Yet the effect it has that the enemy is near

All time best: The Dark Knight
My favorites: Scent of a Woman & the first Rocky (1976)

Where to even start?

Some would say Citizen Kane, for the advances in storytelling and cinematography.

Some would say Casablanca.

Or Gone With the Wind.

Or The Godfather / Godfather Part Two.

IMO the greatest British film is Lawrence of Arabia for the sheer scope, and the moral ambiguities of the British Empire mirrored in Lawrence personally.

what about Dunkirk? I loved the fact that the enemy was never really shown, all they showed was there presence only by bullets being shot. Yet the effect it has that the enemy is near

Unrelenting tension for two hours, and that pounding score driving it along.

And in Pakistani movies, your fav?

pakistani movies are terrible. None of he Pakistani movies are even good enough to discuss.

Khuda kay leyaye was good for its time as we didnt have much of an industry back than. But if you compared it with todays time, than the story was fast forwarded too much.

BOL was dark, but it was good enough.

I have only watched BOL and Khuda kay leyaye...

Indian movies are great, I love the comedy of Paresh Rawal. Love watching Welcome for laughs

Bollywood's Veer Zara should be up there aswell.

It was a classic movie, and I would the best ever made by Shah Rukh Khan.

Yes excellent one - as is 1917 - when it comes to clever scripts.

There are too many to list.

On a personal level, I think Irishman (Robert De Niro) was the best.

One flew over cuckoos nest
In the mood for love
Goodfellas
Once upon a time in New York
Shawshank

A difficult choice. For me:

Hollywood: it’s between The Godfather/Fargo/Jaws

Foreign: Either of Pan’s Labyrinth/The Lives Of Others/ Memories of Murder.

pakistani movies are terrible. None of he Pakistani movies are even good enough to discuss.

Khuda kay leyaye was good for its time as we didnt have much of an industry back than. But if you compared it with todays time, than the story was fast forwarded too much.

BOL was dark, but it was good enough.

I have only watched BOL and Khuda kay leyaye...

Indian movies are great, I love the comedy of Paresh Rawal. Love watching Welcome for laughs

What about WAAR?

my favourite Bollywood film is Don (with Shahrukh Khan).

I thought Dunkirk was slow and boring. Story was very good though.

I enjoyed other war movies better (Saving Private Ryan, 1917 etc.).

For me it’s between these three:

One Flew Over The Cukoo’s Nest
Memento
The Wailing

Personally I think TDK is overrated. Batman Begins is the better movie overall.

I find myself rewatching Batman Begins the most in the trilogy. TDK is a masterpiece in direction but I feel the first movie had a narrative which pushed harder at the emotions.

In that genre however, I think Logan is the greatest of all time

I find myself rewatching Batman Begins the most in the trilogy. TDK is a masterpiece in direction but I feel the first movie had a narrative which pushed harder at the emotions.

In that genre however, I think Logan is the greatest of all time

The Dark Knight was good due to Heath Ledger's Joker. Other than Joker, it was kind of all over the place (disorganized storyline).

Concur. I liked BB more too. TDK is intriguing but I found it emotionally unsatisfying, like Nolan was saying “Look at how clever I am”.

Great movie but walked out of the cinema with the worst headache ever.

That track named Supermarine. So evocative! - the engine roar, machine gun clatter, that false stop as though you think you have finished an exam, turned the page and BANG there’s another question…. and all the while tick, tick, tick as time and fuel run down.

na man... the role that Joker played was just remarkable. The thing is, Bane wasn't that bad, but because Joker left a standard of how a villian should be, it couldnt match it.

Plus, Bale also acted very well. Batman begins wasn't as good.

If only heath ledger had not died, if only :(

The Dark Knight was good due to Heath Ledger's Joker. Other than Joker, it was kind of all over the place (disorganized storyline).

Agreed. It’s an iconic movie and it comes down to preference but BB has more replay value

Godfather (1 & 2)
The Good, The Bad, and the Ugly
Back to the Future (Trilogy)
First Blood
Sholay
Veer Zara

It really depends on the mood.

has to be Shawshank redemption ... most epic movie ever made atleast in its genre. Romantic movies no one does it better than bollywood here ... too many SRK films to list but DDLJ still an evergreen hit with fantastic songs.

na man... the role that Joker played was just remarkable. The thing is, Bane wasn't that bad, but because Joker left a standard of how a villian should be, it couldnt match it.

Plus, Bale also acted very well. Batman begins wasn't as good.

If only heath ledger had not died, if only :(

Ledger asked Jack Nicholson for advice on playing The Joker. Nicholson replied “Don’t”. He had been offered a lot of money to reprise that role, and refused it. For an American method actor if would be awful to have that character in your head.

English - Godfather
Hindi - Rang De Basanti

Great to see another poster who finds rang de basanti amongst the greatest movie ever

I watch this movie once every year.

Man the writing, the direction was just terrific. Amir khan played a wonderful role and for that time, it was a much much much different indian movie than what you get.

Between God Father and Shawshank Redemption.

Unbelievable movies!

Although The Godfather was a great movie but I enjoyed the novel by Mario Puzo. It had more character development especially when it comes to Vito Corleone plus a lot more on characters like Sonny and Johnny Fontane which is not featured in the movie series.

Great to see another poster who finds rang de basanti amongst the greatest movie ever

I watch this movie once every year.

Man the writing, the direction was just terrific. Amir khan played a wonderful role and for that time, it was a much much much different indian movie than what you get.

Absolutely. I have not seen a better made Hindi commercial movie which has every aspect of a commercial movie but still leaves you with high emotions. The film has everything, starting with great plot, superb acting, mind blowing songs and balanced direction.

Ofcourse there are plenty of great Hindi parallel movies which are from very different genre but when it comes to typical commercial Bollywood flick, this is the most wholesome package.

Absolutely. I have not seen a better made Hindi commercial movie which has every aspect of a commercial movie but still leaves you with high emotions. The film has everything, starting with great plot, superb acting, mind blowing songs and balanced direction.

Ofcourse there are plenty of great Hindi parallel movies which are from very different genre but when it comes to typical commercial Bollywood flick, this is the most wholesome package.

True. Amir khan is just marvelous. His movies aregreat usually.

If only he had done bajrangi baijan.

Hollywood: shawshenk
Bollywood: rang de basnati..omkara..my name is khan
Pakistan: the legend of maula jatt exceot that all are waste of time

I liked miracle in cell no 7 too for that time but never watched it again
Bollywood movies of past have smth in them that u can rewatch them many times

When it comes to Bollywood movies, Lagaan is the greatest.

I'd put Swades and 3 idiots right up there. Perhaps Don should be in the convo to because I'd not seen such high quality production value and it was made in the ilk of a Hollywood action thriller opposed the OTT nonsense you'd be use to.

When it comes to Bollywood movies, Lagaan is the greatest.

I'd put Swades and 3 idiots right up there. Perhaps Don should be in the convo to because I'd not seen such high quality production value and it was made in the ilk of a Hollywood action thriller opposed the OTT nonsense you'd be use to.

I'm not much into contemporary Bollywood but I consider all Shyam Benegal movies as brilliant masterpieces.

Favorite Bollywood commercial masala movie: KAALIA

"Aap ne jail ki deewaron aur zanjeeron ka loha dekha hai jailer sahab ... Kaalia ki himmat ka faulaad nahi dekha"

Tough question!

Agreed, one of the greatest plot twists and ending in movie history.

Tough question!

I wonder how many people realise the Shawshank Redemption was a Stephen King adaptation, what wasn't in those days!

You're quite the iconoclast

Hardly. I like some films and don’t like some others.

I guess the story of some total idiot being chased by a man so evil as to be incomprehensible who is in turn chased by a lawman who doesn’t catch him and then retires is unsatisfying to me.

Give me Fargo or The Big Lebowski any day.

I wonder how many people realise the Shawshank Redemption was a Stephen King adaptation, what wasn't in those days!

And much later, the Kiefer Sutherland character from Stand By Me ends up in the ‘Shank.

Let's also add in 1 international movie as well(any language other than Eng/Desi).

One of my favourite is Rashomon.

Sergio Leone's Once Upon A Time in America, with De Niro, has all the human emotions/values in one movie (friendship, love, betrayal, ...), one of the very best OSTs (classical Morricone).

Hardly. I like some films and don’t like some others.

I guess the story of some total idiot being chased by a man so evil as to be incomprehensible who is in turn chased by a lawman who doesn’t catch him and then retires is unsatisfying to me.

Give me Fargo or The Big Lebowski any day.

TBL is brilliant.

Good Will Hunting and The Accountant also excellent.

The most times movies i watch
Hollywood - The Good , the Bad and the Ugly
Bollywood - Sholay

I thought Dunkirk was slow and boring. Story was very good though.

I enjoyed other war movies better (Saving Private Ryan, 1917 etc.).

Actor Tom Sizemore, known as much for his struggles with drug addiction and run-ins with the law as for his tough-guy roles in such films as "Saving Private Ryan" and "Black Hawk Down," died on Friday at age 61, said his manager, Charles Lago.

Sizemore, who was hospitalized in critical condition after suffering a brain aneurysm on Feb. 18, died in his sleep at a hospital in Burbank, California, Lago said in a statement on Friday.

A native of Detroit, where his mother worked for the city's ombudsman and his father was an attorney and philosophy professor, Sizemore attended Wayne State University and earned a graduate degree in theater from Temple University in Philadelphia.

Recently rewatched Interstellar and it's definitely up there as one of the best ever. Going to be rewatching The Dark Knight this weekend so maybe recency bias will change my mind lol.

Would also mention Fight Club, Good Will Hunting and Se7en.

Bollywood: Monsoon Wedding
wow!!
What a masterpiece by Mira Nair.

The entire movie is made with a small hand held 35 mm camera to bring the presentation as close as possible to the true realities of life that are brilliantly captured with an extra ordinary domestic story.

There is no fake glitter - there is no flashy hype - there is no half naked females cheaply dancing as if they are in a PT class.

Man, this movie is something else. I cannot write enough good praise about this truly extra ordinary creation.

Nasruddin Shah and Vijay Raaz delivered top class performance.

Everything about this movie is absolutely fantastic.

Hollywood: nothing can beat The Godfather.

Bollywood: Monsoon Wedding
wow!!
What a masterpiece by Mira Nair.

The entire movie is made with a small hand held 35 mm camera to bring the presentation as close as possible to the true realities of life that are brilliantly captured with an extra ordinary domestic story.

There is no fake glitter - there is no flashy hype - there is no half naked females cheaply dancing as if they are in a PT class.

Man, this movie is something else. I cannot write enough good praise about this truly extra ordinary creation.

Nasruddin Shah and Vijay Raaz delivered top class performance.

Everything about this movie is absolutely fantastic.

Watched that 20? years ago. Very good. I liked how it was part Hindi and part English with switching subtitles.

Wolf of Wall street

Absolute GOAT movie

It is one of the better films of the modern era, but GOAT? Come on man.

Obviously the Godfather I/II
Goodfellas
LOTR
TDK
The Lion King

There's a few more, will drop them here when I think of them

PS. Pulp Fiction has to be up there as well.

Goodfellas
LOTR
TDK
The Lion King

Agree, Wolf Of Wall Street has no class, the movie just promotes excessiveness. Good movie, but not a GOAT.

Goodfellas on the other hand, uffff. I would put Heat up there too.

I haven't seen any movie for many many years, but the few I watched in past and I appreciated at that time;

The Godfather trilogy (the third one was not that good)
Save Private Ryan
Road to Perdition

And I also watched one of the Lord of Rings series and if was a decent one.

Agree, Wolf Of Wall Street has no class, the movie just promotes excessiveness. Good movie, but not a GOAT.

Goodfellas on the other hand, uffff. I would put Heat up there too.

Not a fan of Bollywood but your two picks are probably the cream of the crop by the way.

Sergio Leone's Once Upon A Time in America, with De Niro, has all the human emotions/values in one movie (friendship, love, betrayal, ...), one of the very best OSTs (classical Morricone).

That is one very memorable film. What would probably be called an epic in today's language it had depth you don't see in many films, probably because there just aren't that many good story tellers.

My top 5
The defiant ones- the original version
Being There- Peter Sellers last film
North by North West
The Blackboard Jungle
Terminator

That is one very memorable film. What would probably be called an epic in today's language it had depth you don't see in many films, probably because there just aren't that many good story tellers.

Have literally watched thousands of movies in around 5-6 different industries but this one remains unique.

Bollywood: Dil Chahta Hai

Timeless classic. You can watch it in any time period and it will be relatable. Also seemed to inspire a lot of movies that came after it in the 00’s time period.

Lollywood: Legend of Maula Jatt

Greatest Pakistani film of all time and top 3 of the entire subcontinent potentially.

Hollywood: Rocky

Could put many movies here… but this one fits the bill for now. Answer will probably change the next time I revisit this question.

Bollywood

- Major Saab
- Darr
- Andaaz Apna Apna
- Anjaam
- Dil Chahta Hai
- Badshah
- Drishyam

I grew up watching Bollywood.

Agree with all of the above…

Also — the Empire Strikes Back.

Goodfellas
LOTR
TDK
The Lion King

Agree. Wolf Of Wall Street is ott trash.

Not the "best movie of all time" but Shutter Island was mind boggling