Adnan Sami set to be Indian citizen

Hitman

Link: http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...to-be-Indian-citizen/articleshow/49511794.cms

Bollywood singer Adnan Sami, who was allowed in August to stay indefinitely in India following non-renewal of his Pakistani passport, is likely to be granted Indian citizenship.

His request for Indian citizenship on the grounds that he has renounced his Pakistani citizenship, making India, where he has been staying for a decade-and-a-half, his "home", has been endorsed by the attorney general of India and the Union home ministry is mulling granting him "citizenship by naturalization" in view of his "distinguished service to the cause of art".

According to sources in the Union home ministry, though the ministry had earlier granted Sami's appeal seeking exemption from deportation on humanitarian grounds after his Pakistani passport expired in May due to its non-renewal, the singer was keen on Indian citizenship as a "permanent relief". "The AG has tendered a favourable opinion on his citizenship request. Sami is eligible to be granted citizenship by naturalization under Section 6 of The Citizenship Act, 1955," a senior home ministry official said, adding a call would soon be taken on the issue.

Section 6 of the Citizenship Act allows an applicant to be granted a certificate of naturalization if the central government is satisfied that he/she is qualified for the same under the provisions of the Third Schedule. However, the conditions specified in the Third Schedule may be waived if the central government is of the opinion that the applicant has rendered distinguished service to the cause of science, philosophy, art, literature, world peace or human progress generally.

Incidentally, the citizenship for Sami, if approved, will come in the backdrop of Shiv Sena's strong opposition to performances by Pakistani artists. Only recently, Pakistani ghazal maestro Ghulam Ali's concert in Mumbai had to be cancelled in the wake of protests by Shiv Sena.

Sami had approached home minister Rajnath Singh seeking relief from deportation after Pakistani authorities refused to renew his passport in May. A purported ground for non-renewal, sources told TOI, was an old marital dispute with his second wife, Sabah Galadari, a UAE citizen. The couple divorced in 2012, and Sami is now married to Roya Faryabi, his third wife.

An intervention by the home minister on behalf of Sami ensured that the Centre invoked its discretionary powers under Section 3A of the Foreigners Act to grant him immunity from deportation. The foreigners division of the home ministry allowed his appeal based on his "good conduct" through his stay in India, while saying that any marital issues faced by him were entirely his personal matter.

"In pursuance of the powers conferred under Section 3A of Foreigners Act, 1946 (31 of 1946), the central government...declares...that he (Adnan Sami Khan, son of late Arshad Sami Khan) is exempted from deportation proceedings. This order shall remain valid until further orders," said a home ministry order tabled in the Lok Sabha in August.

Lahore-born Sami first arrived in India on March 13, 2001 on a one-year visitor's visa issued by the Indian high commission in Islamabad. His visa was extended from time to time.

Sami has many hit songs to his credit, though it was the numbers 'Kabhi To Nazar Milao' and 'Lift Kara De' that catapulted him into the big league.

Excellent news!

Congratulations to Adnan Sami. Indian citizenship should be open to anyone who makes a positive contribution to the country.

Good for him, poor fella has been running from pillar to post since over a decade now.

He should have been given at least 5 years back.

Good to see India finally accepted him after all the work he has done for them.

He will still have difficulty buying a home in Mumbai - maybe he should renounce his name as well otherwise Shiv Sena will not accept him

Anyway good luck and stay safe.

A few facts about Sami.

His mother was from Jammu, father was a Pakistani and Grandfather was an Afghan while Sami was born in England and is settled in India now. He got married to a Pakistani girl of Irani descent first than to an Arab girl from UAE and than to a German girl of afghan origin.

This guy is linked to just too many countries directly lol

Good to see India finally accepted him after all the work he has done for them.

He will still have difficulty buying a home in Mumbai - maybe he should renounce his name as well otherwise Shiv Sena will not accept him

Anyway good luck and stay safe.

His mother is from Indian occupied Kashmir so they should have given him the nationality long time ago.

India doesn't allow dual citizenship but Pakistan does, so does that mean you can have Pakistan and Indian citizenship? Prob not

Why does India not allow dual citizenship tho, especially when there's a lot of overseas ppl with Indian background

His mother is from Indian occupied Kashmir so they should have given him the nationality long time ago.

Oh really ?

So he had to beg for over a decade and renounce his Pakistani citizenship so that they would finally accept him ??

That too after all those hits he gave Indian music industry.

So really Indian posters shouldn't be celebrating this at all. In fact it is shameful that it has taken this long.

On the other hand he has more of a chance of becoming Indian President than Danish Kaneria doing something similar in Pakistan.

We don't want a corrupt figure like Kaneria as president.

In any case a democratic vote system is not a perfect system that everyone will aspire to - well known mass murderers have been voted into office.

Yes I agree it's better to have army leaders run a country like Zia and Musharaff. They are the best type of leaders to take a country forward.

Mushy was a good leader but made mistakes later like anyone else.

10 times better than Zardari who was voted in.

Zia was a disaster, agree on that.

That's nice. Corrupt figures like kaneria, azharuddin, m amir, butt, asif should never represent their mohalla, country or team in any way.

Bro it's nice to see such a high morals post. Yeah I agree none should be president.

Btw Is Azharuddin still an MP ?

A few facts about Sami.

His mother was from Jammu, father was a Pakistani and Grandfather was an Afghan while Sami was born in England and is settled in India now. He got married to a Pakistani girl of Irani descent first than to an Arab girl from UAE and than to a German girl of afghan origin.

This guy is linked to just too many countries directly lol
His mother is from Indian occupied Kashmir ....
I once had a work colleague with similar links.

Of his 8 great-grandparents, only 3 were born in the same European country (although, to be fair, some of the regions where the births took place were regularly annexed/ un-annexed/ exchanged between various countries).

This resulted in each of his 4 grandparents being born in four different countries, and eventually his mother being born in Austria and father in West Germany, whilst he was born in France. His Scottish wife had 1 English, 1 Irish and 2 Scottish grandparents.

And he was living in London (which is where we both worked when I came to know him), along with his wife and their 3 children who were all born in England (London).

I've never known anyone else so fluent in so many different languages!

But as to where did his allegiance lay? England, where he was living and had made his home of course!

Sucks that we lost a national treasure like him to India.

Yeah, I know, I can list a million different reasons to show that I don't care about this news, or that he was born somewhere else, or that he wasn't "really Pakistani anyway", but at that point it'd be too obvious I'm trying to cover up my feelings on this.

Point of the matter is him renouncing his Pakistani citizenship does hurt, if it didn't, people wouldn't be burning his effigies in Pakistan...

Yeah, I know, I can list a million different reasons to show that I don't care about this news, or that he was born somewhere else, or that he wasn't "really Pakistani anyway", but at that point it'd be too obvious I'm trying to cover up my feelings on this.

Point of the matter is him renouncing his Pakistani citizenship does hurt, if it didn't, people wouldn't be burning his effigies in Pakistan...

People only burnt his effigies because he was bad mouthing Pakistan to get in India's good books.

I see that it has worked

I wonder what year Adnan's effigy they bought.

2015 Adnan effigy is doable.

2003 Adnan effigy would just be a mattress with drool all over it.

Very sensible post.

Of his 8 great-grandparents, only 3 were born in the same European country (although, to be fair, some of the regions where the births took place were regularly annexed/ un-annexed/ exchanged between various countries).

This resulted in each of his 4 grandparents being born in four different countries, and eventually his mother being born in Austria and father in West Germany, whilst he was born in France. His Scottish wife had 1 English, 1 Irish and 2 Scottish grandparents.

And he was living in London (which is where we both worked when I came to know him), along with his wife and their 3 children who were all born in England (London).

But as to where did his allegiance lay? England, where he was living and had made his home of course!

interesting so how many language he could speak fluently?

wow thats amazing. In Pakistan there is a singer Hadiqa Kayani she can speak almost every regional language of Pak and you will see her songs in many differet languages of Pakistan

Oh, the same "singer" who made a hilarious music video based on the Matrix.

On Topic. Good for him, but I don't know why he did not settle in UK or any developed country. Why India of ALL places.

Good news considering our lack of space and Bahbood E Abadi problem.

Sent from my GT-S5280 using Tapatalk

Yes I too have such a diverse portfolio with 3 European languages with Arabic and Urdu fluency which are much harder to achieve than just going through the western lineage. Am also passable in a few other languges. The thing this has really helped me with is music and taking the mickey out of people though.

lol. i know more than 10 languages.

On Topic. Good for him, but I don't know why he did not settle in UK or any developed country. Why India of ALL places.

Pretty obvious why. He gets to openly live a western life style (women, alcohol) while being close to his job as a music producer/singer in bollywood, make loads of money. As well as actually be treated like a celebrity by the Indian masses, where as no one would know him in western countries.

I think he totally deserved to be an Indian. Was trying for years and always supported India. About time we bestow the honour upon Wasim bhai as well, who also totally deserves it.

Itna chaatne ke baad bhi agr adnan mote ko citizenship nhi milti tu usse chullu bar paani mei doub mrna chahiye:)finally

Also for Shobby too. He is afterall the damaad of India :)))

That would make him a Ghar Jamai which is considered disrespectful so i am not sure Shobby would apply for Indian citizenship being a dignified man.

But yes, there should be a programme allowing deserving Pakistanis to get honourary Indian citizenship

I think he totally deserved to be an Indian. Was trying for years and always supported India. About time we bestow the honour upon Wasim bhai as well, who also totally deserves it.

perhaps the only way India will ever get a fast bowler, that too retired. Good Idea

There is no market for him in the UK. India on the other hand loves our performers and the big fella has become a bigger star - and by bigger I mean more popular not BIGGER - than he could ever have been in a developed country.

Hope he doesn't have to go to Pakistan or Dubai for Beef Briyani/Nihari

:))) Thank Gods, now Adnan Sami can relish authentic biryani instead of that ugly monstrosity aloo biryani eaten in Pakistan.

Yes from now on he will enjoy his wonderful veggie biryani with carrots and green beans :)))

Did you even read that? He did not follow the correct process to give up his citizenship..they have a problem with that...not with him becoming Indian. Jeez, do people even try to think before they post.

Well yes I did read it, did you?

It says he threw the "sacred" documents at them, and this is why they won't issue him some certificate which officially says he has given up Pakistani citizenship.

Sounds very much like intentional harassment, now that he does not want Pakistani citizenship.

It says he threw the "sacred" documents at them, and this is why they won't issue him some certificate which officially says he has given up Pakistani citizenship.

Sounds very much like intentional harassment, now that he does not want Pakistani citizenship.

From what I saw in that article he was asking for the move on humanitarian grounds. That would imply that he was in danger or facing other hardship to stay in Pakistan, and that is clearly rubbish as he went to India because he was a star in Pakistan in the first place. I think he has probably handled this badly and if he wants to ease his change of citizenship he has to pay more respect to the country that raised him and gave him the platform to become what he is today. A really fat singer who gained popularity in India.

" Pakistani officials dealing with his renunciation process were quoted as saying that the refusal came after the singer "threw away his nationality documents".

Threw away, not threw at 'them'.

Please.

People should never forget their old house or country. It's like reaching your target location and then forgetting from where you started the journey.

New year gift for Adnan swamy bhai. He will be a proud Indian from 1st of Jan. Welcome to the family. :)

adnan-sami-650-news-size_650x400_81451554594.jpg

Congrats !! we may see a trend set here with lot more applications coming from across the border .

Akhand Bharat looking more realistic than ghazwa e hind at this point. Truly a travesty

That Akhand Bharat concept has been abandoned even with all the talk of superpower India says it all really. You couldn't even retake Bengal and ended up building a fence due to fear of Bangladeshis integrating so talk of Greater India sounds laughable. When Ghazw e hind becomes a reality the fence that divides Bengal is coming down.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" lang="en-gb"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">A New Beginning... A New Feeling... A New Belonging... A New Love Affair... A New Country... JAI HIND!!!🙏💖😍🇮🇳 <a href="https://t.co/3wxoJFSJEf">pic.twitter.com/3wxoJFSJEf</a></p>— Adnan Sami (@AdnanSamiLive) <a href="https://twitter.com/AdnanSamiLive/status/682832151046418432">January 1, 2016</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" lang="en-gb"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Receiving my Indian Citizenship Certificate of Naturalisation frm MOS Home Affairs <a href="https://twitter.com/KirenRijiju">@KirenRijiju</a> ji! Huge Thanks!🙏💖😊 <a href="https://t.co/yEnMyWJTJe">pic.twitter.com/yEnMyWJTJe</a></p>— Adnan Sami (@AdnanSamiLive) <a href="https://twitter.com/AdnanSamiLive/status/682833266261528576">January 1, 2016</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" lang="en-gb"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">My Profound thanks to Honourable Prime Minister <a href="https://twitter.com/narendramodi">@narendramodi</a> ji for approving my Indian Citizenship.A New birth!🙏💖😊 <a href="https://t.co/jvM8vu5Zit">pic.twitter.com/jvM8vu5Zit</a></p>— Adnan Sami (@AdnanSamiLive) <a href="https://twitter.com/AdnanSamiLive/status/682834585508556800">January 1, 2016</a></blockquote>

One in the face for Shiv Sena. :48:

The burn. Oh it burns..........:))

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" lang="en-gb"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Receiving my Indian Citizenship Certificate of Naturalisation frm MOS Home Affairs <a href="https://twitter.com/KirenRijiju">@KirenRijiju</a> ji! Huge Thanks!&#55357;&#56911;&#55357;&#56470;&#55357;&#56842; <a href="https://t.co/yEnMyWJTJe">pic.twitter.com/yEnMyWJTJe</a></p>— Adnan Sami (@AdnanSamiLive) <a href="https://twitter.com/AdnanSamiLive/status/682833266261528576">January 1, 2016</a></blockquote>

The strategically taken photo with benevolent Modiji smiling down on him :)))

It's a shame it has taken him that long after all he done for India.

His mother is from Indian side of Kashmir so what took him so long to get this ?

Hopefully he will be allowed to eat beef.

Happy for Sami bhai. Welcome to the greatest democracy in the world. #JaiHind

Not enough Indians celebrating this news IMO. It's a mighty PR victory over the enemy so come on in guys and dance like it's 1999.

It's a shame it has taken him that long after all he done for India.

His mother is from Indian side of Kashmir so what took him so long to get this ?

Hopefully he will be allowed to eat beef.

He doesn't feel like eating meat now, it has been a while since Sami adopted a Satvik lifestyle. By his own admission, going vegetarian saved his life.

Sami Dharmic1.JPG

First an Indian, then a Pakistani, Then a British and now back to Motherland.

Congrats Adnan for the citizenship. Now i hope govt works as fast and liberally on thousands of pakistani minorities languishing in India waiting for citizenship