Ahmed Shehzad - A star in the making

MR__KHAN__JI

Today Little Shezza came of age....

At the tender age of 19 he has scored his second ODI century....

Only 17 Pakistani players have ever scored more centuries than this 19 year old.

It showed a level of maturity that we have not seen from many youngsters that have debuted for Pakistan....

Long may it continue!

:littleang

The guy is not consistent though. He should had played an innings like those in the World Cup to.

But good game today, and i hope he continues to do the same thing in the rest of the series.

awww, kitna paala baby haiii....cho chweeeeeet.

Congrats on the hundred but he could still improve on so many things. His rotation of the strike is awful as is his running. He showed in thr world cup when against the best he struggles if he doesnt get "four balls". If he can learn to make singles he could push that average closer to 40.

Why "the little angel"? koi aur cheesy title nahi mila tha? :/

nanna monna pyara bacha hai - nahi?

But seriously - he showed maturity that belied his tender age.

How many other 19 year olds have scored 2 centuries?

He averaged 8.80 in the World Cup (where it counted).

Scoring hundreds against rubbish attacks on batting tracks in ODI series' which hardly anyone follows should not allow him to be seen as the solution to our problems.

Lets not over hype the kid and keep things in perspective this is one innings he needs to continue to show improvement and be consistence before we proclaim him to be the next superstar of the game.

Scoring hundreds against rubbish attacks on batting tracks in ODI series' which hardly anyone follows should not allow him to be seen as the solution to our problems.

So would you rather wanted a collapse? If it's rubbish why aren't all of our batsmen scoring 100's?

Congrats on the hundred but he could still improve on so many things. His rotation of the strike is awful as is his running. He showed in thr world cup when against the best he struggles if he doesnt get "four balls". If he can learn to make singles he could push that average closer to 40.

Agreed - But I think he learnt during the innings...

He had a sticky patch where he couldnt rotate the strike... but after a while he got through that phase he started to rotate.

I think its much better to be in that position than to score a beautiful 30 and then get out!

His post match interview has thrown a spanner in the works. I thought he was the anonymous source (the REAL mole) but seems hes a bigger Afridite than some residents of Lala Land

Now to think about who the source was again. Hmmmmm

ya ALLAH TERA shukar hai:):) at last we saw the 2nd direct hundred.... may ALLAH bless him wid lots more.. aameen

Lets not over hype the kid and keep things in perspective this is one innings he needs to continue to show improvement and be consistence before we proclaim him to be the next superstar of the game.

Dont get me wrong!

I think he has A LONG WAY TO GO before he becomes the finished article....

If it gets to his head he will fail ad I will be the first to criticise him!

BUT

He has shown he has the UPSIDE POTENTIAL to succeed!

All he needs is to show the ability to continue to improve...

When I first saw him bat.... I thought he was another Imran Nazir or Shahzaib Hasan...

But he has shown

Patience
The ability to play pace (Roach)
Good quality spin (Bishoo)
Concentration
Shot selection

Good on him!

His post match interview has thrown a spanner in the works. I thought he was the anonymous source (the REAL mole) but seems hes a bigger Afridite than some residents of Lala Land

The code for the mole is Tuk Tuk. When you figure this code out you will accomplish identifying the source.

Agreed - But I think he learnt during the innings...

He had a sticky patch where he couldnt rotate the strike... but after a while he got through that phase he started to rotate.

I think its much better to be in that position than to score a beautiful 30 and then get out!

yup this is exactly what I believe as well...these kind of innings will help him grow as a batsman! long may it continue Inshallah! :D

So would you rather wanted a collapse? If it's rubbish why aren't all of our batsmen scoring 100's?

PPL said the same thing to Misbah's innings day before......

But if it's Ahmed Shezad, its the other way around.

LOL

Maybe he is chalaak enough to know the art of sucking up to the captain...

Interesting that he named Wiqi bhai first!

Good innings Didnt throw it away when he was struggling a little Hope to see more consistentcy from him now

PPL said the same thing to Misbah's innings day before......

But if it's Ahmed Shezad, its the other way around.

difference b/w Shehzad and Misbah...one is a youngster, the other one a senior who was more responsible for performing...2 measure both by same standards is absolutely moronic!!!

I'd agree with the "let's not get overhyped" comments going around, but Pakistani batsmen have a sever inability to hit one day centuries. Other then Salman Butt, who in recent times has really been hitting consistent centuries? He too was lucky we had so many games against India.

What I appreciate about todays knock is that he was severely out of form but he stuck around. I haven't seen that in a long, long time. Last time I saw it was Cook in that test vs. us.

He does need to look to take singles and rotate strike though, he would've got to his ton 20 balls earlier if he did. He's 20 though, he'll learn inshallah.

Another guy who would REALLY benefit from a batting coach.

LOL

Maybe he is chalaak enough to know the art of sucking up to the captain...

Interesting that he named Wiqi bhai first!

I thought the same thing, he even mentioned Aqib's name earlier over Afridi's name.

Anyway two things were more striking beside playing brilliant inning. First one was, his patience when he was in the 90's and other thing which seems very impressive was interview at the presentation, which is quite unique for a 19 year Pakistani player.

These two things ( in addition to his natural talent) make me believe this kid has bright future in front of him.

I'd agree with the "let's not get overhyped" comments going around, but Pakistani batsmen have a sever inability to hit one day centuries. Other then Salman Butt, who in recent times has really been hitting consistent centuries? He too was lucky we had so many games against India.

What I appreciate about todays knock is that he was severely out of form but he stuck around. I haven't seen that in a long, long time. Last time I saw it was Cook in that test vs. us.

He does need to look to take singles and rotate strike though, he would've got to his ton 20 balls earlier if he did. He's 20 though, he'll learn inshallah.

Another guy who would REALLY benefit from a batting coach.

completely agree with you! btw, Shehzad's only 19 :D

He played less matches in WC..

I agree, however he is ONLY 19 years of age!

There is a lot of promise in his batting and he needs to be persisted with.

Our opening resources are already timid, at least he provides hope.

I thought the same thing, he even mentioned Aqib's name earlier over Afridi's name.

Anyway two things were more striking beside playing brilliant inning. First one was, his patience when he was in the 90's and other thing which seems very impressive was interview at the presentation, which is quite unique for a 19 year Pakistani player.

These two things ( in addition to his natural talent) make me believe this kid has bright future in front of him.

Agreed.

MY BIGGEST CAVEAT IS....

DISCIPLINE

Based on all of the previous stories I have heard about him.

If he thinks he has made it now and doesnt continue to work hard then he will NOT fulfull his potential...

In a way that was what was the most pleasing thing about today....

It was a DISCIPLINED performance....

So he CAN be disciplined... its a case of WILL he continue to be!

congrats on the 100 but he is definitely older then 19 id say hes probably 24 25

He follows Afridi's trends. Surely going to be JUNIOR AFRIDI :p It suits him. JUNIOR AFRIDI.

this innings was a bit slow, his century in new zealand was better.

he was out of form, so it is probably understandable why he was slow.

I agree, however he is ONLY 19 years of age!

There is a lot of promise in his batting and he needs to be persisted with.

Our opening resources are already timid, at least he provides hope.

Exactly - We have been looking for a long time for an opener who can score centuries!

Now that we have one - he needs to be trained up to do this year in year out!

this innings was a bit slow, his century in new zealand was better.

he was out of form, so it is probably understandable why he was slow.

NZ innings was a lot more fluent, but this was better because he was struggling to score initially but hung in there and showed great application which has been missing from our batsmen for a long, long time!!! these are the sort of innings that test good batsmen and Shehzad came out with flying colors...so glad to see him not throw it away and convert his start into a match winning 100!

he got through the difficult phases and looked at ease once he went past 50!

NZ innings was a lot more fluent, but this was better because he was struggling to score initially but hung in there and showed great application which has been missing from our batsmen for a long, long time!!! these are the sort of innings that test good batsmen and Shehzad came out with flying colors...so glad to see him not throw it away and convert his start into a match winning 100!

he got through the difficult phases and looked at ease once he went past 50!

Exactly - that was almost the best bit for me!

He worked through that tough phase! He wanted it BAD!

How many times has Hafeez got through that phase in 70 odd games?

Exactly - that was almost the best bit for me!

He worked through that tough phase! He wanted it BAD!

How many times has Hafeez got through that phase in 70 odd games?

1 time only lol...thrown away so many starts since his comeback! I hope he was watching how Shehzad was applying himself at the crease!

the fact he is 19 is leading to team mangement showing faith in him. He could have been easily another Shahzaib Hassan.

The only thing that worries me is the fact he has bigger brain farts then afridi.

Good innings but I still want to hold judgement until I see him play a pressure innings.

His record in the two U-19 WC's, Twenty20 WC, and 50 over WC is horrible.

Good innings but I still want to hold judgement until I see him play a pressure innings.

His record in the two U-19 WC's, Twenty20 WC, and 50 over WC is horrible.

What kind of pressure innings? He played a pressure innings today. He was under pressure to score, and answer his critics..

Can't please some people on here! A star in the making. Definitely don't want to over hype him but his two centuries show so much promise. PCB, please don't ruin him like you almost ruined Umar!

What kind of pressure innings? He played a pressure innings today. He was under pressure to score, and answer his critics..

I mean like in a big match. Where this is a lot at stake.

I enjoyed his innings today, though and he has promise.

One can only hope that they persist with him.

Whoevers idea it was to stick with him after the WC is someone that has a brain...

Don't know if it was Waqar or Afridi.... But it takes balls to do that. Now they need to stick with him.

I'd like to know whos idea it was though....

this is the most boy george title i have ever seen!

but good little player...good knock today...didnt seem like himself but he played well

I just hope our little angel doesn't make a habit of making a ton then averaging 8 in his next 5 matches.

congrats on the 100 but he is definitely older then 19 id say hes probably 24 25

He might be older, but there is no way you can tell just by his looks.

There are numerous 19 year olds that look older than their age. It's normal.

For now, we can believe he's 19. :)

The title of the thread is jokes but it's nice to see a youngsta beauty (or any batsman for that matter) surviving a rough patch and scoring a big score

He might be older, but there is no way you can tell just by his looks.

There are numerous 19 year olds that look older than their age. It's normal.

For now, we can believe he's 19. :)
I dunno, I thought he looks about his professed age though the thick eyebrows and scowl make him look older.

It always delights me when people (mostly distant relations and taxi drivers) think I'm 7 or 8 years older than I actually am. Benefits of having grey hair

I dunno, I thought he looks about his professed age though the thick eyebrows and scowl make him look older.

It always delights me when people (mostly distant relations and taxi drivers) think I'm 7 or 8 years older than I actually am. Benefits of having grey hair

Yeah, I feel he's 19.

Won't know until he says something in an interview about his age.

Afridi said once in an interview to GEO that EVERY player in pakistan team falsify age by atleast 3 yrs- does that make this pyara bahca atleat 22?

he chocked in the big tournament..
couldnt handle the pressure

hopefully he will learn

This 'Little Angel' tag doesn't suit him.

How about the 'Sparkling Dasher'?

By all accounts he was arrogant and aloof at age 15/16.... so the title is slightly tongue in cheek..... ;-)

But either way he is the bacha in the team isnt he?

I just hope our little angel doesn't make a habit of making a ton then averaging 8 in his next 5 matches.

I think that is the danger...

BUT IMO

For a yougster you have to EXPECT inconsistency!

The most important thing to look for is UPSIDE POTENTIAL ie how HIGH can they get with their performance level...

The troughs between the peaks can be removed or shortened with experience and coaching.

he is not groomed to play professional cricket yet , just like U akmal .

He needs a lot of work on his technique and psychology, he wont survive 10 overs against a good bowling opposition but credit for this ton though..

By all accounts he was arrogant and aloof at age 15/16.... so the title is slightly tongue in cheek..... ;-)

But either way he is the bacha in the team isnt he?

Didn't see him at 15/16. Currently, he & Umar are the two flamboyant warriors in the team with a touch of arrogance.

I entered in this thread thought kisi ladki ki baat ho rahi hai.... bohat zyada disappointment hua

Pleased to see him stick it out today and make a patient century. He will only improve, I hope management sticks with him and that we can hire a good batting coach soon to work on his flaws.

Didn't see him at 15/16. Currently, he & Umar are the two flamboyant warriors in the team with a touch of arrogance.

Whilst if you have too many of such types of individuals in a team it can create problems, I think you need that extra something to take you to the top!

BUT ONLY IF IT IS CHANNELED APPROPRIATELY

A LA :ik :inzi :wasim

As opposed to

:akhtar :asif

^

You certainly do need to have few swashbuckling players in the team. Currently:

:ahmed :umarakmal :afridi :wahab

Today's inning must have really helped him learn about the skill of rotating the strike, and he showed great temperament to be able to get through the tough phase when a lot of batsmen even very experienced ones would've thrown it away.

One area he needs to work on is to not throw his wicket away after a century. Did it in NZ as well.

after torturing us for a month or two he finally delivered with the bat. hoping that this century would boost his confidence and he will be a lot more consistent in the coming days.

his real age must be about 21 -22 . as pakistani players' official age is always two or three years less.

his real age must be about 21 -22 . as pakistani players official age is always two or three years less.

exactly!!!:)) it makes me laugh to see people who really believe ahmed is 19. the funniest comment was that about DNA test.. yeh konsa DNA test hora hay jissay 100% correct age pata chal rahi hay? :13: my friends are FC cricketers and God knows how many different birth certificates they have :)))
even Sikander bakht once narrated a short story about a player who got younger and younger with each passing year. He had a younger sister.. and after a few years, she became older than him :)))