Ahmed Shehzad - A star in the making

The kids wants stardom, but hey who doesn't??

But the problem is that he is he is trying slog his way into stardom, rather putting his head down and scoring runs!

I rate Shehzad really highly, but so far he has been disappointing.

So far I have seen NOTHING in him to justify the loud and outspoken fanbase he has on PP. Atleast with Hammad Azam, I saw shades of a potential late-end finisher. Shehzad's shown nothing.

Well he does have two one day centuries.

IMO, there is potential, but so far, that's all he showed.

Problem with Shehzad is that he wants to be the next Afridi and that's where he is throwing his talent away. When he first came to the scene I thought he was going to be next big star. Also t20 leagues aren't helping his cause out either. He needs to be stop being like Afridi and more of himself which unfortunately he has lost.

Well he does have two one day centuries.

IMO, there is potential, but so far, that's all he showed.
exactly.

I like Hammad but Shehzad's shown a lot more than Hammad has so far. And personally I feel Shehzad deserves to be ahead of the pecking order of Hammad. Even in domestic, Shehzad's streets ahead of Hammad.

I think Shehzad should be playing T20s exclusively at the moment, and when he racks up some good scores upgrade him to ODIs too (though should be in the ODI squad).

I'm a little disappointed how he's fallen away in terms of performance though.

The problem with Shehzad is he plays to slowly at the begining and having a partner like hafeez who also plays tuk tuk puts pressure on Shehzad and he then throws it all away.

wether it is the afridi zone i do't know but he has been very bad in swinging conditions. in the world cup he was horrible and now he has continued his bad batting in Sri lanka. i think it has been wise to leave him out because he is not maximising his talent.

He's looked terrible throughout this tournament, but I feel this is really just a slump in the graph for a 20-year-old.

He's performed recently in a T20I and, if he cares even slightly for his career, he'll go back and resolve the problem; which may even be his non-selection.

Either ways, I don't see why he should be labelled a failure over bad form in a meaningless T20 league.

Shehzad has the same problem that Umar Akmal has, lack of temperament. He has all the shots, he just needs to understand that he cant play them every ball. He needs to learn how to construct an innning

Hammad know show to do that, based on how I have seen hm bat

Shehzad has the same problem that Umar Akmal has, lack of temperament. He has all the shots, he just needs to understand that he cant play them every ball. He needs to learn how to construct an innning

Hammad know show to do that, based on how I have seen hm bat

Agree, just because of proper temperament and application Asad, Azhar and Hammad are ahead of Shehzad and maybe even Umar.

Hammad batted very well in the last WC especially when you consider he is only a bowler.

Agree, just because of proper temperament and application Asad, Azhar and Hammad are ahead of Shehzad and maybe even Umar.

Hammad batted very well in the last WC especially when you consider he is only a bowler.

Who consider him a bowler?

wether it is the afridi zone i do't know but he has been very bad in swinging conditions. in the world cup he was horrible and now he has continued his bad batting in Sri lanka. i think it has been wise to leave him out because he is not maximising his talent.

Did you say he is a FTB?

Until he stop following the footsteps of afridi i have no hope for him. Wrong influences are hurting this talented boy.

The problem with Shehzad is mismanagement from the PCB, egoistic PCB Officials, coaches and the fact that people in the PCB, domestic cricket have no clue how to groom talented cricketers. Problem is with fans as well, we expect our cricketers to come out fully pollished, without any flaws just like most of the Indian Cricketers like Kohli, Sharma, Rahane, Tiwari etc but we need to wake up and smell the coffee, we need to do with the best we have and we are not doing that by consistently persisting with YK, Misbah in ODI Cricket.

best limited overs opener in the country along with nasir jamshed , i hope they pick him for the india tour , has all the shots in the book , him and nasir can make a brilliant pairing in limited overs cricket .

shehzad , jamshed and umar akmal , the future of pakistani limited overs team looks good , three supremely gifted batsmen ,all from lahore , if the selector dont pick him for the next series, they should jump off a cliff .

Think we might see Lahore Lions batting lineup as our national team lineup in T20's vs. India:

Shehzad
Jamshed
Hafeez
U. Akmal
K. Akmal

shehzad , jamshed and umar akmal , the future of pakistani limited overs team looks good , three supremely gifted batsmen ,all from lahore , if the selector dont pick him for the next series, they should jump off a cliff .

:jf
Never gonna happen..

AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH, why do they play these matches sooooo early, now how am i suppose to get shehzad inning replay.

Some outstanding shots.
Had the commentators drooling.
He's gotten starts and gone big in this tournament.

He is actually better in longer formats...

I agree with this, i don't understand why people see him just as a t20 specialist. Anyone remember his ODI debut in abu dhabi against Australia? i remember watching his innings in that series and thinking he would make a great test prospect. I don't feel his natural game is just to go for his shots, that has been glorified by the people around him unfortunatly :afridi

He is good in ODI but if you look at his performance in these T20 leagues like SLPL and FBt20 he has been extraordinary

I think "attitude" has a new definition in PAK Cricket off late; probably from the days of Inzamam, there is a "Maulana" culture & players are pushed to show piousness in public. Players have to start with "Bishmillah", there has to be few "Mash Allah, Insha Allah, Subhan Allah" in your speech, players have to say namaz in jamat during practice, there has to be very strict aged based hierarchy in the team, & seniors are like messiah, you can't talk to them eye to eye etc. are part of good attitude. However, in last few years, there had been alcohol, drugs, betting, fixing, in-fight & few other issues which actually don't go with Islam or traditional aspects of a professional players' attitude.

Let me tell you few of my thoughts

1. Shehzad is the most talented batsman to come from sub-continent in this millennium, may be even in last 20 years. I have seen that boy since 17 or 18, & have seen few other greats at that age in last two decades to convince me. He is the perfect ODI opener, in 18 innings crossed 25 twice, converted into hundred both times. I still believe he 'll finish with highest no. of ODI & may be International century for Pakistan

2. He has absolutely no issues with his team members or his commitment to his team. He played for 2/3 different clubs in Dhaka & already has got some very good friends; he is one of the most demanded player here already. However, probably he comes from a different educational background (obviously not from the "me yes, me ok" level), so someone shouldn't expect the traditional "attitude" of Inzi days from him.

3. He is an extreme competitor, 'll not allow someone space, because of that person being 10-12 years older or having long beard. I am sure this is interpreted in different way by his previous Captains or management who comes from a traditional school. Had he been playing under Misbah, I can guarantee, there 'll not be any issue

4. If Shehzad is kept out for attitude problem, then Kohli wouldn't have toured with Indian team with same yardstick. As I said, in Pakistan culture, attitude has a different meaning - UAkmal got away after faking injury & Shehzad is filtered out

5. Finally, is there any thing else to keep him out of the team than disciplinary issues? He is young, a great prospect for next 15 years, can bat & bat well, is a good fielder, can bowl a bit leggie, a good prospect for future Captain. I mean Farhat can't compete him on Cricket skills, can he? & they both are fighting for 1 spot; Shehzad is so unfortunate that Hafeez is in a purple patch.

Didn't see his batting today, but hitting 20 FOURs in 56 ball is something incredible; it's often easier to hit SIX than FOUR. It shows the array or shots available to the batsman, his skill level, his timing & most importantly his placements. For a National SF level game, it's an outstanding innings.

First I came to know this boy from one of my UK based friend, who saw him at 15, smashing ENG U19 bowlers to a match winning 167 (That ENG team had Finn & Saker) on 4th innings. Since then, I had been following this boy for the last 5/6 years in junior cricket, PAK A team tour to BD & for Dhaka clubs (actually long ago suggested one of my League scout friend to hire this boy). Shehzad is an outstanding talent, had I not seen him won't have believed such a mercurial batting talent can come out of recent PAK set up.

He is a near perfect LO opener - converts his starts. What amazes me is his range of shots, for every ball he seems to have multiple options, often it's becoming his main down fall - unfortunately he is mentored by some hacks & struggling for his shot selections. While batting, his balance is very good & since Inzi, I haven't seen any PAK player having so much time to play a shot. He identifies the length very early & can go to a suitable position much earlier. He 'll hardly be cramped playing shots & has a very good swing of the high back lift.

If a batsman can both pull & cover drive on either foot well , it's really difficult to restrict him, the last best right-hander that I have seen with such strengths was Panta (best ever was Viv) & no comparison, but somehow, Shehzad'z batting reminds me of a young Panta. & I think, he is a better player of spin than many of his contemporary PAK regulars. In every innings, he can definitely maintain a very high strike rate - but for how long depends whom he chooses as guide & mentor.

In WC, he failed but was a bit unlucky - PAK initial matches were in Lanka & honestly speaking those were not good ODI tracks - too much seam movement & batting at 1,2 3 anyone would have struggled. When your National selector mentions about the potential selection of a bowler playing only 3 FC matches in the season & then you find that the player is out injured for few months, indicates the competence level of the man - I don't expect much from the PCB selection team, but any given day, he would have been first name in my any LO squad - batting at No. 1.

If he utilizes Dav's availability to his benefit, he has the potential to break MoYo's PAK record of 39 International 100s, off-course other option is to replace Nazir & Afridi as a "popular crowd puller" (he bowls a bit leggi as well). & for the last time - he had absolutely no "attitude problem" for the days he stayed at Dhaka clubs. He is to play cricket & score runs, not to be "mama's good boy" & I am not going for baptism of "Pious Musllim" to him.

Didn't see his batting today, but hitting 20 FOURs in 56 ball is something incredible; it's often easier to hit SIX than FOUR. It shows the array or shots available to the batsman, his skill level, his timing & most importantly his placements. For a National SF level game, it's an outstanding innings.

First I came to know this boy from one of my UK based friend, who saw him at 15, smashing ENG U19 bowlers to a match winning 167 (That ENG team had Finn & Saker) on 4th innings. Since then, I had been following this boy for the last 5/6 years in junior cricket, PAK A team tour to BD & for Dhaka clubs (actually long ago suggested one of my League scout friend to hire this boy). Shehzad is an outstanding talent, had I not seen him won't have believed such a mercurial batting talent can come out of recent PAK set up.

He is a near perfect LO opener - converts his starts. What amazes me is his range of shots, for every ball he seems to have multiple options, often it's becoming his main down fall - unfortunately he is mentored by some hacks & struggling for his shot selections. While batting, his balance is very good & since Inzi, I haven't seen any PAK player having so much time to play a shot. He identifies the length very early & can go to a suitable position much earlier. He 'll hardly be cramped playing shots & has a very good swing of the high back lift.

If a batsman can both pull & cover drive on either foot well , it's really difficult to restrict him, the last best right-hander that I have seen with such strengths was Panta (best ever was Viv) & no comparison, but somehow, Shehzad'z batting reminds me of a young Panta. & I think, he is a better player of spin than many of his contemporary PAK regulars. In every innings, he can definitely maintain a very high strike rate - but for how long depends whom he chooses as guide & mentor.

In WC, he failed but was a bit unlucky - PAK initial matches were in Lanka & honestly speaking those were not good ODI tracks - too much seam movement & batting at 1,2 3 anyone would have struggled. When your National selector mentions about the potential selection of a bowler playing only 3 FC matches in the season & then you find that the player is out injured for few months, indicates the competence level of the man - I don't expect much from the PCB selection team, but any given day, he would have been first name in my any LO squad - batting at No. 1.

If he utilizes Dav's availability to his benefit, he has the potential to break MoYo's PAK record of 39 International 100s, off-course other option is to replace Nazir & Afridi as a "popular crowd puller" (he bowls a bit leggi as well). & for the last time - he had absolutely no "attitude problem" for the days he stayed at Dhaka clubs. He is to play cricket & score runs, not to be "mama's good boy" & I am not going for baptism of "Pious Musllim" to him.
Amazing post and a great analysis once again from MMHS.

Hopefully today's knock will be enough to get him selected for the India tour but it will depend on whether Misbah will want someone aggressive at the top of the order. It doesn't seem that way with the top order packed with low SR players e.g. Hafeez, Azhar & Asad. Hopefully Dav will make sure Shehzad plays at the top of the order as he is the best option available with Jamshed. The Misbah defensive mentality has cost us many games and it must be put to an end. Hafeez & Misbah are the two of the main players who are to blame for our recent disasters in ODI cricket.

MMHS do you think Shehzad should play test cricket?

You surely have been keeping an eye on Ahmed.

It was a terrific innings from him today. One could always say that the bowling was weak, but honestly it wasnt that bad. Apart from having a very good first class bowler in the form of Talha, Stags had Kamran and Kashif who were top class throughout the competition. But today Ahmed really made them look average. Former test cricketer Ali Naqvi who was doing the commentary today was all praises for the range of shots Ahmed has.

I have always maintained that Ahmed SHehzad is an outstanding talent. He needs to be told to tone down his rash shots. He is a future opener for pakistan if properly groomed. In pakistan, no player is being groomed right now. They have to make it on their own. And that;s the real problem.

Umar Akmal is another example.

Amazing post and a great analysis once again from MMHS.

Hopefully today's knock will be enough to get him selected for the India tour but it will depend on whether Misbah will want someone aggressive at the top of the order. It doesn't seem that way with the top order packed with low SR players e.g. Hafeez, Azhar & Asad. Hopefully Dav will make sure Shehzad plays at the top of the order as he is the best option available with Jamshed. The Misbah defensive mentality has cost us many games and it must be put to an end. Hafeez & Misbah are the two of the main players who are to blame for our recent disasters in ODI cricket.

MMHS do you think Shehzad should play test cricket?

Shehzad is definitely capable of playing Test; actually his game is more suited to longer format. Batsmen with good technic & stroke making ability becomes better & dominating Test batsmen if the temperament, attitude & application is correct. However, I would have played him few ODIs first & then play Test - batting at 3 (Putting Azhar at 1).

Misbah started his career 10 years later & still 10 years behind from the ODI strategy. He is not a bad Captain, but problem is, still applies the ODI strategy of 90s. With every team now days using the old ball better (by both fast & spin bowlers), scoring heavily in last 15 overs is becoming difficult, therefore every team is putting their top attacking players upfront & consolidators in the middle, barring PAK.

Misbah's lineup was perfect for 90s, but in current context, I believe PAK team 'll do better if they put their most attacking 4 players at 1, 2, 3 & 4 (Namely Nasir, Shehzad, KAkmal & Umar); followed by 3 consolidators (Haris, Misbah, Hafeez) & then the bowlers. If any 2 of the top 4 stays for a long partnership, PAK 'll win, if not yet no issues, because other way round, they are not winning any how (Actually loosing some silly matches).

^Ahmed has a very good technique. Before he became an attacking batsman he was very solid. And that;s not something he has completely lost. He just needs to know when to bring out the big shots and when to play the "normal" game.

So yes, I agree that he is suited to test cricket

Looking forward to the final tomorrow. Have not had the chance to watch Ahmed Shehzad bat the whole tournament, mostly because of school :)

And great analysis as always MMHS, always appreciate your input! Congratulations with the series win, by the way :) :shakib

^Ahmed has a very good technique. Before he became an attacking batsman he was very solid. And that;s not something he has completely lost. He just needs to know when to bring out the big shots and when to play the "normal" game.

So yes, I agree that he is suited to test cricket

I remember back in 2007, when he was 16 and South Africa was touring Pakistan, then Ahmed Shehzad was selected for the warm up game and made 30 something, where he hit Shaun Pollock for two sixes. I think they were in the same over, and also consecutive :) Been following him since then. So he always had that little "attacking" thing in him :D

I would be very, very, very surprised if he is not selected for the series vs. India. I know it is too early to say, but somehow I see him as our Kohli, lol...

i seem to be in the minority here but from what i've seen i don't think he's good enough..for now at least

i hope i'm proved wrong though

You surely have been keeping an eye on Ahmed.

It was a terrific innings from him today. One could always say that the bowling was weak, but honestly it wasnt that bad. Apart from having a very good first class bowler in the form of Talha, Stags had Kamran and Kashif who were top class throughout the competition. But today Ahmed really made them look average. Former test cricketer Ali Naqvi who was doing the commentary today was all praises for the range of shots Ahmed has.

Exactly this point - I have seen him for some times at nets as well. He has amazing range of shots - virtually at least 1 for either feet. Someone need to make him understand the value to staying at the wicket & application to survive. The amount of time he has to play his shots, if he becomes selective & astute, he can actually change his shot in between. Surely nature has given him at least half the intelligence of Virat Kohli - it's time for application.

^ Yes, after 300 matches, doesnt know how to play according to the situation, and retire in the middle of a test series.

Merits his selection, Definitely. Anyone with the highlights?

He left shazaib behind, shazaib chance is gone now jamshed, k akmal, hafeez, ahmed, azhar, sharjeel, farhat are all better openers than him.

He justified his selection around a year ago and was there to replace the 'good-for-tests' Asad Shafiq. If it was really that important and necessary to open with Hafeez then Ahemd Shehzad or Nasir Jamshed should have been slotted at the 3rd position as they did in a few T20s. He is one of the best LOI we currently have in Pakistan's tean alongside Nasir Jamshed, Umar Akmal and Azhar Ali (ODI)

He left shazaib behind, shazaib chance is gone now jamshed, k akmal, hafeez, ahmed, azhar, sharjeel, farhat are all better openers than him.

LOL, One competition and he left him behind? I wonder where were Azhar, Nasir, Sharjeel, K Akmal in the last competition :)). Try to speak sense. Atleast sometimes :)

He justified his selection around a year ago and was there to replace the 'good-for-tests' Asad Shafiq. If it was really that important and necessary to open with Hafeez then Ahemd Shehzad or Nasir Jamshed should have been slotted at the 3rd position as they did in a few T20s. He is one of the best LOI we currently have in Pakistan's tean alongside Nasir Jamshed, Umar Akmal and Azhar Ali (ODI)

Ahmed has nothing to do with Shafiq's selection. Illogical reason.

I didnt say that it has got anything to do with Asad Shafiq's selection, all I was saying is that Asad Shafiq doesnt deserve to be in the ODI and T20 Squad on Merit and should be replaced by Ahmed Shehzad - He should stick to the true format of the game and shouldn't ruin his technique in LOI by playing silly shots or getting brainfarts like he always does.

Shehzad needs a proper consistent chance, not to be played politics, musical chairs with. There was no justified reason to drop him but the egos of ex test cricketers who will demand respect rather than earn it will continue to wreck havoc on the careers of so many promising players.

Full Match Replay (not mine, from youtube)

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/xSdft-5f668" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

oh, wrong video, here is the correct one:

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/IxmiP0jJOkM" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

very happy to see him selected for odis n 20-20/ hope he does well and makes himself permanent in the odi 11/

Is in the form of his life at the moment, he's middling everything. Unfortunately today he couldn't kick on but still 29 is a good score in T20 cricket when your scoring at a quick rate.

Jamshed & Shehzad bat brilliantly together and must bat together for ODI's & T20's.

Is in the form of his life at the moment, he's middling everything. Unfortunately today he couldn't kick on but still 29 is a good score in T20 cricket when your scoring at a quick rate.

Jamshed & Shehzad bat brilliantly together and must bat together for ODI's & T20's.

Nahi Bhai
.. He was in form of his life when he scored double centuries in QEA Trophy at a very good strike rate which got him selected for the NZ Tour where he scored his maiden century.

Very slow batting according to this situation and the condition of the wicket plus also consider the dew factor.

Not a whole lot impressed with him so far.
If u play 5 balls and score 5 runs, your run rate of 100 is bearable BUT if u play 30 odd balls to score 30 runs then your run rate of a 100 is a crime in T20 in a normal situation.

He's got so much promise, he just doesn't bat with natural aggression, looks almost scared.

Idk what people call promise, he can play a few strokes, thats not promise. Promise is made up of a variety of elements such as temperament, ability to rotate strike and hit the big shots. All he does is block, block, big shot. I don't call that promise lol

More style than substance. Has sruggled against a very mediocre attack.

Still has that ugly bottom handed technic where he trys to muscle the ball rather then play decent cricket shots. Still cant play half-decent spin either. For all the hype he gets hes a pretty average player.