Ahmed Shehzad - A star in the making

He is playing for his spot. What do you expect when he was kept out of the team for 2 years just because an ex coach had an ego/axe to grind against him.

Goodness me how can you say he's not cut out for international cricket? He's bloody 22. He looked good out there. Should play in the ODI'.s

He is playing for his spot. What do you expect when he was kept out of the team for 2 years just because an ex coach had an ego/axe to grind against him.

Yes his average 26 and sr 68 was good enough for him to be selected. :facepalm: raise your standards.

Mediorce player, another domestic bully whose technic isnt good enough for the highest level. Always gets found out against half decent bowlers, never mind the good ones.

he looks bad against slower bowlers ... not able to pick gaps while field is loosened up

He plays too many dots...

75-1 after 10 was largely his doing...

He play 11 dots in his 29 balls...thats 38%...

A SR of 107 when chasing down a score of 192 just isn't good enough...if your gonna play dots then you have to score more boundaries which he doesn't...

Goodness me how can you say he's not cut out for international cricket? He's bloody 22. He looked good out there. Should play in the ODI'.s

This is supposed to be his format...

His domestic LO and ODI record are far from impressive...

he is no where near good enough to be an opener in international cricket... he could be a middle order batsmen, buts he not enough good enough for that yet

Wow! The guy is 22, and he isn't a tulla. He is a proper batsmen, no matter how he TRIES to play.

Persist with him, and it will pay off. It's not easy to chase this sort of total when you are also playing for your spot in the team

should be in the ODI team , and hafeez should bat in the middle order , on these tracks azhar ali and yk are not gonn set the world on fire with their strike rates , could have done better against the spinners but has the ability to destroy fast bowlers , should be persisted with .

Him being poor against spin is a myth. I've seen him play Saeed Ajmal brilliantly and Saeed is the NO.1 spinner in the world. He played decently today but gave his wicket away at the wrong time. You can say that about most of the batsman who played today.

Shehzad must be backed and persisted with. He needs to be given confidence and once this is done he'll start to perform and showcase his talent. I still believe he is a more of a test batsman than limited overs but it remains to be seen if he'll be selected in the test team.

he is definitely not in form; he should not have been selected in the squad;

He plays too many dots...

75-1 after 10 was largely his doing...

He play 11 dots in his 29 balls...thats 38%...

A SR of 107 when chasing down a score of 192 just isn't good enough...if your gonna play dots then you have to score more boundaries which he doesn't...

THIS

In t20 cricket its not good enough to hit a few boundaries whilst in between you are playing dot after dot

We were chasing 10 an over and he does this, frankly not good enough. Hes not the only one, ive seen the likes of imran nazir and kamran akmal do this too on several occasions too

If you cant rotate the strike off most balls you have no business playing t20 cricket

Needs to work on rotating the strike, no point in hitting a boundary if you are going to play the next four balls as dot balls.

I know he is very highly rated around here for some reason but i don't really see whats makes him any different to sloggers like Shahzaib/Nazi/Sharjeel/Zia. He can hit the big shots but really struggles to rotate the strike, i am not basing that only on today's game, even in his initial run he had a problem with turning over the strike.

Yes his average 26 and sr 68 was good enough for him to be selected. :facepalm: raise your standards.

thank you for bringing that up....i totally agree..this guy is crap and nothing else..overhype and overrated....he avg 26 with sr 68 in odi and 18 with sr of 102...(and then we complain about Younis khan and misbah sr). its not like that this guy has set the world on fire in t20...i seriously think we can do much better..

I watched him bat yesterday and he was utter crap, someone else should replace him asap

He was definitely playing for himself. In the PP, He wasted one of Ishant Sharma's over.

How was he utter crap/ playing for himself?
He hit a gigantic 99 m six and got out stumped trying to hit Yuvi out of the park. If he was so selfish he would have never done that
Needs to be persisted with

This guy has no foot work at all... Pakistan need to focus on players with solid defense, if they want to improve their batting. He is not a top 5 batsman and should be scraped from all format. Pakistan will be better servered with Asad Shafiq in his place for T20.

Fans here at times does not focus on basis rather jump of few big shots... Fans may not understand cricket but when your national selectors start thinking that way, you know you have a big problem...

Amir Sohail was right in saying the reason Pakistan is struggling with openers because selection criteria has changed... The technique of the player is not thoroughly analyzed, otherwise how he can be opening the innings in the national team???

Real problem is that he is not looking at the ball the point of contact.

Blind hitting works domestically only.

I used to rate him but was thoroughly disappointed for his selfish innings. If you cant score runs, even if you're just out of form, then hit out or get out. Chasing 192 you just cant score 31 off 29 balls. That too being an opener who get 6 overs of power play. No need for such selfish players.

Give him time ffs.

When nazir their you complain when Shehzads their you complain!

How was he utter crap/ playing for himself?
He hit a gigantic 99 m six and got out stumped trying to hit Yuvi out of the park. If he was so selfish he would have never done that
Needs to be persisted with

He knew his innings is not helping the team. So he decided to charge down the pitch mindlessly after refusing the double.

There was no intent to hit Raina and Ashwin. And let me remind you one over he played of Ishant. 0, 4, 0, 0, 0, 1. He messed up the whole over by poking deliveries after hitting a four.

You guys are acting really pathetic to just dismess and critisize him for yesterday. Yes he wasnt good, but give him a freking break.

It all depended on the first game, he came into india inform, the first match was the key, he was given incorrectly as far as i saw.

That put him under alot of pressure as he was playing for his place, which put him into a shell, the shell like hafeez gets most of the time. that shell completely shutted his strike rotating ability as he was too nervous to run lol. Also reduce his normal strokes as he was too afraid to get out.

He is just 22. For god sake, he needs to be backed and be added to both odi and t20 squad for like 3/4 series. He will eventually come good and we have a great batsman.

Too much overhyped , he can't rotate strike well and is a limited player. We need someone who can rotate the strike well.. already have too many who can't rotate strike (hafeez , misbah , asad). I am willing to go for Afaq raheem and see how he bats.

quality player, haters will hate and the same haters will worship chindakh akmal

leave the khan alone :P cant keep scapegoating all of them when others are pretty much garbage

You guys are acting really pathetic to just dismess and critisize him for yesterday. Yes he wasnt good, but give him a freking break.

It all depended on the first game, he came into india inform, the first match was the key, he was given incorrectly as far as i saw.

That put him under alot of pressure as he was playing for his place, which put him into a shell, the shell like hafeez gets most of the time. that shell completely shutted his strike rotating ability as he was too nervous to run lol. Also reduce his normal strokes as he was too afraid to get out.

He is just 22. For god sake, he needs to be backed and be added to both odi and t20 squad for like 3/4 series. He will eventually come good and we have a great batsman.

I completely agree. He has been a classic victim of the musical chairs our captains, coaches, selectors play with our youngsters. Its not just his story but the story of plenty of other players as well.

Still has that ugly bottom handed technic where he trys to muscle the ball rather then play decent cricket shots. Still cant play half-decent spin either. For all the hype he gets hes a pretty average player.

Thank you. Have been saying this for so long now.

Why do we hate our players so much.

The guy is young and learning.

He has two international centuries.

How many other players have that at his age?.

^ exactly if we can put up with medicore openers like hafeez and imran nazir for so long, than shezad should also be given a long run.

Yes hes playing for his place....but I hardly saw these excuses for other useless openers we have tried...

Shehzad has played 19 ODI's and 10 T20i's...hes hardly a debutant now is he?...

The guy isn't Chris Gayle where he plays a lot of dots just to go ballistic...Shehzad plays too many dots and he almost never makes up for it...

The guys strike rate is 105...is that really acceptable for a T20 cricketer?...

And people are talking about him like hes an ODI player...a 33 domestic average and 27 international one?...his SR are even worse than his averages...

We would be much better served opening with Kami...hes clearly not reliable later on...

Played poorly in the last match. To be honest I don't see anything in him that will separate him from the Imran Nazirs of the world.

Another one who has all the gifts but not the attitude or brains to go with it.

He is the type of player who needs 'A' team tours for a while but unfortunately we don't have that luxury. If we had an A team he could learn the game in a pressure free environment against decent bowlers in different conditions.

You can't learn to bat in international cricket. Its not his fault to be fair. If you are going to go down the route of bringing in inexperienced youngsters you need to back them. Discarding them will only curtail their development.

lol Khan Ji is right. We hate our players too much. How many others have 2 centuries at his age?

poor guy was back in the team after a long time and he had too many things on his mind because first of all he had to secure his spot and then go after the total and he did played well, i didnt see he played too many dot balls

He played 11 dots in 29 balls...38% of the balls faced were dots...is this acceptable when your chasing 192?...leaving 12 an over for the last 10 is not playing well...and this was against a pretty poor attack in the best possible conditions...

he needs to improve his boundaries shots against spin otherwise is a fine T20 opener.

He is young and he is not the finished article. As he continues to play intl. cricketer there is no doubt he will improve

People hating on this guy for no reason yet they proclaim the hack U Akmal to be the next big thing, this dude looks like a proper batsman and if given the same amount of chances and backing as Ukmal he definitly will do much better.

So True.

Many people blindly say U.Akmal this U.Akmal that,he the best,etc.

A.Shehzad can become better if he is given as many chances like U.Akmal got.

His offside game is really good. I agree that we needed faster batting on the required day, but he did his best.

He is a decent batsman but he has very little footwork vs the spinners.

Stop hating on everyone. He's no Gayle who can hit sixes at will. He tried his utmost best but the target was too much.

That 6 was good. ... Wasn't it?

Yes he is 1 of the few pak batsman who are good on both front and back foot, he has all the shots but shot selection needs to be worked on just like another pak batsman who has all the shots umar akmal.

Nice to see the kid get a decent score in the domestic final?

What did Hafeez, Taufeeq, Shafiq, Younis Khan and Azhar Ali score?

shazad, umar, clh, haris sohail,jamshed all in form.

Than you have umar waheed, babar azam, sami aslam, coming through from u19 cricket.

And the established azhar ali and shafiq.

Real problem is that he is not looking at the ball the point of contact.

Blind hitting works domestically only.

oohhhh so you are the OP !!

You know, whichever player you support starts going down the drain.

From now, support Styen, Morkel, Amla, and Philander during the SA trip. Consider them as Umer Akmal's doosra, teesra, choutha and panchva janam.

oohhhh so you are the OP !!

You know, whichever player you support starts going down the drain.

From now, support Styen, Morkel, Amla, and Philander during the SA trip. Consider them as Umer Akmal's doosra, teesra, choutha and panchva janam.

I am the OP.... and little Shezza is doing just fine.... As are every other player I support....

There is a reason I support them :)

Shehzad proves his class yet again.

One more top domestic season should get him into the test side.

Ppl don't curse the guy Mann!!!
Say mashallah.
Inshallah he'll get into the odi team, and if he improves further, I can see him in the tests.
I'm probably his biggest fan, and I don't support ppl without a reason, and im probabily the fan of very few ppl. but this guy he has something in him and it makes me think inshallah he can go very far.

I would love to see SHEHZAD & JAMSHED opening for pakistan in all formats.
with amin,fawad,harris,akmal in middle.

He's far better than any of the overrated Akmal's