"Ahmed Shehzad can be Pakistan's Tendulkar" : Abdul Qadir

HeartOfPak said:
Huh thats rubish! Inzamam had plenty of support in the 90's and early part of this century! Hmmmm lets see Inzamam has been part of a Pakistan team that for much if his career had a very good batting lineup - Saeed Anwar, Aamir Sohail, Ijaz Ahmed, Javed Miandad, Salim Malik, and Yousuf to the mix in the late 90['s in the same team! For 90% of his career Inzi was part of a very strong Pakistan batting lineup. Oh and lets not forget that Inzamam also had the privelage of knowing that if he fails with the bat we had one of the best ever bowling attacks to help cover up our batting deficiencies! Pak also makes the flattest wickets in the world IMO its just un the past the greatness of our bowlers covered up shortcomings of the pitches because of their skill.

Personally, I think if you give Tendulkar bowlers of the calibre of Akram and Younis and he would have helped won a lot more games for the Indians and he would have had less pressure on himself for every game and probably resulted in an even more remarkable career. That said, the man is a cheat and a 1st class pratt (always the 1st to hate on Pakistan) and I cant stand the little **** but hes a class bat :)))

Dude

Why do you say that ? That is not true at all, he idolised Imran, matter of fact Imran was one of his biggest Idols ever...

Garuda said:
When was it about Saeed anyway? ;)

Well the conversation took a different path; Anwar would have a better record than Sachin/Anwar had as much or more talent that Sachin... Something along those lines anyway.... I am too lazy to go back on the posts and dig up the exact but you have a rough indication...

Lets see if Qadir's predicament comes true, as Pakistani Tendulkar opens guard against the World Champions in less than 10 Hours. Either PPers will be jumping with joy tomorrow if this guys clicks or they may be criticizing his technique. I have a feeling he might do something special tomorrow and win the game for Pakistan. I am already his fan and wish him all the good luck

Umta said:
Lets see if Qadir's predicament comes true, as Pakistani Tendulkar opens guard against the World Champions in less than 10 Hours. Either PPers will be jumping with joy tomorrow if this guys clicks or they may be criticizing his technique. I have a feeling he might do something special tomorrow and win the game for Pakistan. I am already his fan and wish him all the good luck

I doubt he will make his debut in the 2nd ODI. After Akmal doing well opening the batting I think PCB will go the safe route and they will bring in Fawad Alam instead and have Akmal and Butt open.

Imran_m said:
I doubt he will make his debut in the 2nd ODI. After Akmal doing well opening the batting I think PCB will go the safe route and they will bring in Fawad Alam instead and have Akmal and Butt open.

And who knows, maybe nasir jamshed is fit again? I really wana see shehzad but this series is very important so if jamshed is still injured, Pakistan should replace him with fawad alam.

IAJ said:
And who knows, maybe nasir jamshed is fit again? I really wana see shehzad but this series is very important so if jamshed is still injured, Pakistan should replace him with fawad alam.

The thing is that logical people would replace Jamshed with either Shahzad/Alam but the sad thing is PCB and logic just cannot go together. I wont find it surprising if they bring in Tanvir/Arafat for Jamshed.

Imran_m said:

I have read in Expressnews.com that Ahmed Shahzad would be opening the inning with Salman Butt. The problem is that this news source is not 100% reliable but I am hoping and praying he opens tomorrow because I have a very good eye for talent. I might be a pyjama cricket viewer but I can really tell whether a player is International quality or not I remember first time I saw Mohammad Yusuf and I was really excited that we have found a new legend and I have a similar feeling about Shahzad Ahmed

good idea, either fawad alam or ahmed shahzad are players Aussies will not have seen and done their homework on

Everyone keeps labeling him as the 'pakistani Tendulkar'. Just let him be Ahmed Shahzad!

Please don't insult Shehzad by comparing him to Sachin Tendulkar, thank you ;-)

Yar I fail to understand how can people associate young players with Tendulkar.

He is second best thing to Bradman and after seeing once people brings young players to Tendulkar shoes.

Quite embarrassing actually .

yeah he certainly does.

impressed by the names he scouted that have gone on to play for pak

No wonder Pakistan went on to win the 2009 WC. None would have selected a rookie kid Aamer for a WC but he did.

He said Riaz will be important for Pakistan in the future and I guess Riaz is becoming an important part of Pakistan's limited overs squad.

Qadeer has got a great eye to judge the talent,should be our chief selector again

The Legend is real

ahmed shehzad :ahmed
todays inning has proved to me that this man has what it takes to become something special,,
and from today he should be refered to only as THE LEGEND..

:ahmed:ahmed:ahmed

Sachin scored 16 of his 46 ODI centuries with a S/R of 105 and above. That is only 34.78% of 100s.

Shehzad scored his 100 at a S/R of 105.50. That is ...... 100% of Shehzad 100s are above S/R of 105.00.

See.... Shehzad is already a bigger legend than Sachin! :P

Shehzad is a Talent but needs to play a lot of games and perform in them. Having Talent is one thing and making use of that talent is another thing. Shezad has lots of shots, sometimes he plays one too many. He needs to improve his shot selection and make sure he converts the starts into big ones. I expect him to average in early 40s in ODIs.

Congrats to pakistani team for winning the match but most importantly winning the series, well played thru out the series,both of our openers hit good hundreds, cant remember last odi series where both of our openers hit 100s.Geart future ahead for pakistani batting line up. Azhar ali, Ahmed shezad, Umar Akmal, fawad alam, mohammad hafeez will b great prospect in future inshallah. WC line up looks good but the best thing that i m happy about is feilding. Younis, misbah, umar akmal,shazad,hafeez,afridi,wahab and gul all are good feilders too and i noticed misbah and younis are working hard on hitting the stumps.

Sachin scored 16 of his 46 ODI centuries with a S/R of 105 and above. That is only 34.78% of 100s.

Shehzad scored his 100 at a S/R of 105.50. That is ...... 100% of Shehzad 100s are above S/R of 105.00.

See.... Shehzad is already a bigger legend than Sachin! :P

I guess Qadir saw that in the nets :qadir

a very famous quote from :qadir, remember it well.

the talent and ability is there, no doubt about that.

Hope this is not a jinx thread. I wud rather want him to be playing like miandad or inzi. That way all the runs he will be scoring are useful to the team.

He has got lots to do with his footwork, I remember initally watching him and seeing how much of a compact player he was and although now he seems to have expanded his range of strokes I feel he needs to tighten up against the ball outside off and needs to start moving his feet better.

lets not start comparing him to tendulkar already, how about saeed anwar or even aamer sohail for a start...

I agree that Qadir has a very good eye for talent and is being wasted on the sidelines because he seems to understand what makes a good player (:amin) but he does have the habit of making OTT statements like this. He also thought the Akmals = the Waughs.

Abdul-Qadir_0.jpg

in bachon mein talunt hai :qadir

He is second best thing to Bradman and after seeing once people brings young players to Tendulkar shoes.

Aray yaar , it should only make Tendulkar happy because he is this ultimate batsman and everyone wants to be as good as him .

Wow, what a call to make in early 2009. Now 2 years on, Ahmed is starting to show his class, the akmals are big players, and wahab is starting to shine too.

Guys please dont put so much pressure on the youngster :inzi :D by comparing him to tendulkar.
umar akmal's career has been derailed by all the comparisons to king Viv Richards!!

Based on this WC, he doesn't have the potential to be like Tendulkar. Maybe he can become a Sehwag or even a Jayasuriya if he applies himself.

Shehzad has potential but to compare him to Tendulkar is a bit ridiculous.

Like I said, maybe if he applies himself he can become someone like Sehwag or Jayasuriya. But to be a Tendulkar you need talent, perseverance, mental strength and above all dedication to your craft. I can safely say he will never be like Tendulkar.

But he may be like Sehwag or Jayasuriya, which would really make Pakistan a top team.

Like I said, maybe if he applies himself he can become someone like Sehwag or Jayasuriya. But to be a Tendulkar you need talent, perseverance, mental strength and above all dedication to your craft. I can safely say he will never be like Tendulkar.

But he may be like Sehwag or Jayasuriya, which would really make Pakistan a top team.

And I can safely say that birds can fly. lol jks, I agree with you.

Ahmed Shahzad has all the talent, just he needs to apply himself better & management need to persist with him. I am sure he will come good.

Lol at thread. Didn't know an ex-player had said this. Seems that even some people who should really know what they're on about still don't realise just how good Tendulkar is.

Yes ahmed shehzad khan be pak's tendulkar(hafeez).not india's legend great sachin tendulkar

Ahmed Shahzad needs to be dropped for the WI tour :ahmed

It happens, Qadir is a top bloke. Always respected him

When Qadir said that he said it based on his talent. Shehzad has lot of talent, talent to be like Tendu, but he sufferers from brain farts which is the biggest thing standing in his way to be someone great.

This.

Shehzad is very talented and we have seen that in New Zealand and in dubai when he played a very good Aussies attack in 2009. He is young needs to learn to build an innings.

So it appears Abdul Qadir thinks these batsmen are vying for the second opener slot:
Ahmed Shahzad
Azhar Ali
Kashif Siddique
Naeem-ud-din

What about Nasir Jamshed and Khurram Manzor? Also Khalid Latif just scored a double century. Should not he be in running too?

have you seen khuram manzoor technique needs a complete restart

I can not believe Qadir is comparing Shehzad to Tendulkar.

If there is any player in the current Pakistan side who can come "little bit close" to Tendulkar then that player is Asad Shafiq.

Well, Shehzad has a lot of talent and if you look closely at his stance, style and some of his strokes then he does look a Tendulkar clone.

So, i'm guessing Abdul Qadir is basing his judgement on that.

However, he probably will never be as good just like 99% of others won't.

Ahmed Shahzad needs to be dropped for the WI tour :ahmed

Your love for Malik is sickening, what has that guy done to deserve so much support. People have completely lost it. We need young players enough of the old beat up players who have losing engraved in their foreheads.

Don't let your love for Malik blind you to the fact that he is a mediocre cricketer. Malik is a poor mans Hafeez nothing more nothing less. We don't need him. Move on! He is married, he has his own life now, no matter how much you love/support him he won't leave Sania for you.

It's funny, when he performs, suddenly this thread lights up with future predictions and compliments.
When he doesn't, people bring him down saying he's rubbish.
Tomorrow, if he'll perform, SUDDENLY he'll become a legend.
And the cycle goes on.
Maybe, we're the ones who really waste our young talent by making them succumb to all this pressure.
Just a modest opinion.

a very gifted batsman, he needs to work a lot harder now more than ever to secure his place in the side again.

I desperately hope he gets another chance to prove himself.

hota hai bhai, Sachin was associated with Gavaskar and Sir Viv Richards, his talent was spotted at very young age, infact he has giving interviews to international media before debuting for India at age of 16, anchor used to ask 'R u ready to face West Indies pace attack', he replied 'Yes yes I will have no problem, I love pace, ball comes nicely to bat'. When I was 16, all I cared abt was music CDs/movies on rent/gaming parlour (bunking tuitions), I stopped eating so that parents will buy me Sony Hi-Fi CD Stereo System, which I finally succeded lol. IMO Sachin is born to play cricket, he hasnt done Aashiqui, no drugs, nothing. Simple life, teenage is best period in everone's life, he travelled around the world, played cricket, married his childhood darling. I feel for man, what will he do after retiring? He maybe has no experience regarding corruption and other social evils of sub-continent, so far he has lived fairy tale life.

ahmed shazad turned into a bigest loser in the wc. Asad shafiq was the really star shazad is just a arragent *****. Stars of tommorow should be level headed and given tittles like "the next Tendulkar" will not help them. I dont know about qadir but my money on the next big thing is hammad azam, anwar ali, raza hasan (he will be big if given chance), and maybe even junaid if he plays his cards right

I can not believe Qadir is comparing Shehzad to Tendulkar.

If there is any player in the current Pakistan side who can come "little bit close" to Tendulkar then that player is Asad Shafiq.

When you talk about Tendulkar, little bit close means some 30 centuries along with 10,000 + runs in both tests and ODIs

Really a few people have been that little bit close

Lot of middle order talent is available with the likes of Umar Amin, Fawad Alam, Bazid Khan, Azeem Ghuman, Ashraf Ali, Usman Arshad in the ranks"

Amin, Fawad, Bazid, Azeem are Lahore-based?

I remember Sky Sports commentators calling Mohd. Ashraful the next Sachin in 2005 NatWest :facepalm:

So nothing wrong there, basically every young exciting player is thought to be the next Sachin

I remember Sky Sports commentators calling Mohd. Ashraful the next Sachin in 2005 NatWest :facepalm:

So nothing wrong there, basically every young exciting player is thought to be the next Sachin

Just a like a left arm pace bowler trying to become next Wasim. It is good to have such benchmark players.

Sachin, Wasim, Warne, Murali, and Johnty Rhodes are undisputed kings in their respective professions. I couldn't find a wicket keeper yet in that level.

Ahmad shehzad is better than Tendulkar, both of his hundreds have come in won matches.