Ahmed Shehzad's signs of poor behavior continues

Chalo bhai fine - Azhar is the captain and lets see what we can do with him in charge.

Regarding the other openers.

1) Finich - Shehzad is better
2) Warner - Warner is better
3) Rohit Sharma & Dhawan - both are slightly better than Shehzad
4) Moeen Ali & Ian Bell - Shehzad is better than both
5) Dilshan - Dilshan is better
6) Thirimanne - Shehzad is better
7) Guptil & McCullum - both are better than Shehzad
8) Gayle & Smith - Shehzad is definitely better

Shehzad is clearly worse than all those who you have mentioned. Shehzad is more comparable with batsmen from UAE and Afghanistan

Gayle and Smith have averaged 20 in the past 3 years whilst Shehzad is atleast comparable to Bell, Moeen Ali and Thirimanne if not better.

Sorry....

Gayle's last 3 years have just been a case of super poor form, Gayle's overall record Shehzad cannot even touch nor can he even replicate Gayle's World Cup performance. Thrimanne can afford to play the way he does because he has Dilshan as his partner, Bell has a better SR than Shehzad, and Shehzad is only comparable to Moeen Ali, and even then Moeen Ali has a better SR than Shehzad. Overall everyone you mentioned in that list i think most people would pick them in their team over Shehzad in a heartbeat

He and Akmal need some attitude adjustment. Maybe dropping him for a few months will remind him he is not king?

Gayle's last 3 years have just been a case of super poor form, Gayle's overall record Shehzad cannot even touch nor can he even replicate Gayle's World Cup performance. Thrimanne can afford to play the way he does because he has Dilshan as his partner, Bell has a better SR than Shehzad, and Shehzad is only comparable to Moeen Ali, and even then Moeen Ali has a better SR than Shehzad. Overall everyone you mentioned in that list i think most people would pick them in their team over Shehzad in a heartbeat

Said it on here after India game. Every opener bar d smith from top 8 is better

he is going to be another afridi for pak cricket for next 10-12 years who has his place in the team of his pretty face and fans shoulders

For that he needs to do something like Afridi did set a new world record and do once in a blue moon great performances to keep the fans on side. Shehzad doesnt have it in him to do that.

yeah that world record saved him for 19 years in international cricket but on other side gifted some irreparable losses to pak cricket

Yeah im far from an Afridi fan but when he was in the zone he at least won Pak some matches. Shehzad has Afridis attitude without that ability. Afridi was just a weird player. extreme peaks and pathetic lows

Bell averages 45 in 100 tests. Are you on drugs?

I was talking about ODI's....

Sorry but the test argument will not cut it either because Shehzad averages 47 in tests!

Comfortably ahead of most of the other openers.

I was talking about ODI's....

Sorry but the test argument will not cut it either because Shehzad averages 47 in tests!

Comfortably ahead of most of the other openers.

After about 7 matches on phattas! ! Do you have any idea how to carry out a basic statistical argument.

Bell has played 105 all over the world against all sorts of bowlers in all sorts of conditions.

He's a world class player. I'm sorry but I hope you're related to shahzad because even his mother would admit bell is head and shoulders above him.

His latest favourited tweets talk about how he's better than misbah and sachin.

This guy is a parody of himself. Genuine lols

His SR in that list is only slightly better than Ponting's, who played the first 50-odd matches of his career in 97/98. If he had any common sense, he would be ashamed of this list.

And a few geniuses wanted him to be the next captain.

Please check out all his favourited tweets. Will make your day. He favourited something like

"If ahmad has one fan left.. It's me. If ahmad has no fans left.. It means I'm dead"

Genuine LOLs at his paindoo chichora narcissistic behaviour

Yeah I have. PCB needs to ban him from social media.

No they really don't.. It's far too funny

Can someone please open an ahmad shahzad Twitter thread. Solely dedicated to marvel upon how amazing all these tweets are.

And a few geniuses wanted him to be the next captain.

I don't think he understands cricket much if he is endorsing these comparisons with greats like Ponting, SRT etc.

With this level of thinking, he would have been a disaster as captain.

The guy who's responsible for the Nasir Jamshed parody twitter account should make one for Shehzad based on the material given it would be epic

Why do you need a parody? Original account is doing a fabulous job.

I don't think he understands cricket much if he is endorsing these comparisons with greats like Ponting, SRT etc.

With this level of thinking, he would have been a disaster as captain.

He would have been a disaster. Not the type of person who can cooperate with others and function in a team.

If the reports of Waqar wanting him dropped are true, he won't survive long in the team and we might have another episode like the one Waqar had with Afridi in summer of 2011, which cost Waqar his job and Afridi his captaincy.

After about 7 matches on phattas! ! Do you have any idea how to carry out a basic statistical argument.

Bell has played 105 all over the world against all sorts of bowlers in all sorts of conditions.

He's a world class player. I'm sorry but I hope you're related to shahzad because even his mother would admit bell is head and shoulders above him.

Then why did you bringing up the test average of Ian Bell in the first place?

Obviously you cannot compare Shehzad to Ian bell yet since Shehzad has only played 7 tests so far.

Feel free to compare how Ian Bell stood after his first 7 games.

As it stands - SHehzad has performed on the conditions and circumstances presented to him in tests.

Then why did you bringing up the test average of Ian Bell in the first place?

Obviously you cannot compare Shehzad to Ian bell yet since Shehzad has only played 7 tests so far.

Feel free to compare how Ian Bell stood after his first 7 games.

As it stands - SHehzad has performed on the conditions and circumstances presented to him in tests.

I'm not even gonna bother.

You obviously also think momin haq is the second best batsman ever because he had an average of 63.

Go read some scorecards and enjoy yourself
mummy Shahzad

I'm not even gonna bother.

You obviously also think momin haq is the second best batsman ever because he had an average of 63.

Go read some scorecards and enjoy yourself
mummy Shahzad

Shehzad averages 47 based on the conditions presented to him - nothing else to say

There is no comparison yet between Ian Bell and Shezad so I still don't understand why you brought up his average.

Shehzad is an opener whilst Ian Bell rarely opens in test cricket.

Just to be clear - do not post tweets in this thread.

Hi guys, I'm not going to sit here and tell you I told you so but I told you so ;)

When I was calling this guy a narcissist and egoist everyone was saying I was blowing it out of proportion and was an idiot. I've dated a narcissist unfortunately so I knew exactly what I was talking about better than most of you. Anyone who favourites stuff like "i hate how everyone keeps comparing your looks to kohli shehzo!! You are much better looking and 10x the batsman than that garbage!!" and retweets a million tweets from users like "ahmedkideewani" about how "hot" they are doesn't deserve to be in a team environment and are toxic to the entire dressing room.

I also want to add that a lot of you guys who may or may not be his fans are really really really deluded. This isn't a case of "Bacha nai homework nahi kia baap nai aik mahinai kai liya chocolate khilana band kar diya, phir bacha homework karnai laga".

Unfortunately narcissism doesn't work like that. Narcissism is a personality disorder that is for the most part very untreatable. What makes it especially untreatable is the fact that the narcissist fails to see anything wrong with him/herself and if you can't acknowledge the problem you're never getting to the cure. Aside from that even if those that somehow do magically address it, the problem is there's no real cure for narcissism in this day and age.

So all of you who are saying irrational stuff like "drop him from the team for 6 months, then he will learn his lesson" this may work for a guy like Umar Akmal who is struggling like crazy with the bat and can't understand why but will not work on a narcissist. Unfortunately that is not how you deal with narcissism.

This is an excellent post.
As some ppl have pointed out Dropping Shehzad is not a solution.He's already been dropped twice b/c of his discipline issues with no avail as this guy is a narcissist.Now i noe he is an average player at best he is still miles ahead of other young openers playing in domestic cricket right now.Now i dont noe how to deal with this guy but dropping him wont serve any purpose whatsoever no matter how big an idiot he is and how bad he is for the dressing room enviroment.Either drop him for good or play him,dropping him for a temp period is absolutely useless.All we can hope is that he gets his act right somehow thats how bad things are right now.Btw not a Shehzad fan the guy appalls me to the core but he is the best we have right now extremely unfortunately.However if things do not improve and his behaviour detoriates even further kick him out and never select him again ever ffs.

how on earth is Shehzad better than Moeen Ali and Bell? I find it amazing how the same set of fans had the nerve to criticize Misbah for his slow strike rate. This false assumption of Shehzad being aggressive is the biggest myth in our country :facepalm:

Similar average but Shehzad has the hunger for making big scores.

Shahzad averages 47 after 5 tests so he's better.

Cricket is played on an excel spreadsheet. How dare you question it

Shahzad averages 47 after 5 tests so he's better.

Cricket is played on an excel spreadsheet. How dare you question it

He has had a good start to his test career and most the most of the opportunities given to him.

He has potential.

IMO - it is unfair to drop him based on this Twitter nonsense....

Shehzad better than Moeen Ali? :))) Moeen wipes the floor with him in terms of talent, temperament, bowling, fielding and most of all, character.

Actually Shehzad averages more than Moeen Ali in ODI's when Moeen has played as an opener (34.96 vs. 32.88). Moeen has played 22 games as an opener so it is a decent sample size.

Even removing the opening criteria: Shehzad still averages more than Moeen (34.96 vs. 33.27)

http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...rderby=default;template=results;type=allround

Actually Shehzad averages more than Moeen Ali in ODI's when Moeen has played as an opener (34.96 vs. 32.88). Moeen has played 22 games as an opener so it is a decent sample size.

Even removing the opening criteria: Shehzad still averages more than Moeen (34.96 vs. 33.27)

http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...rderby=default;template=results;type=allround

I pretty certain that Shehzad averaged around 28 in his initial 22 games with SR being quite low as compared to Ali.

The only thing that is scary is if he turns into another Afridi for Pak and stays in the team purely for fan following.
I get the impression that fans in pak are bigger fans of individual players than the team ? is that correct ?

Probably but right now - Shehzad is the better opener IMO.

From 'stats', it now goes to your 'opinion' which doesn't matter anyway.

In all fainess, wait till Moeen Ali plays 50 ODIs. As of now, he's better than Shehzad and stats prove it.

From 'stats', it now goes to your 'opinion' which doesn't matter anyway.

In all fainess, wait till Moeen Ali plays 50 ODIs. As of now, he's better than Shehzad and stats prove it.

What stats prove Moeen is better than Shehzad other than strike rate?

Difference in average is two runs. Difference in strike rate is 30 balls

Ahmed makes 34 of 49 balls
Moeen makes 32 of 30 balls

Take your pick

Difference in average is two runs. Difference in strike rate is 30 balls

Ahmed makes 34 of 49 balls
Moeen makes 32 of 30 balls

Take your pick

I would prefer a batsman who averages more. Shehzad is a natural opener who doesn't have to go out all guns blazing - especially if his opening partner is Sarfraz, who is a natural stroke player himself.

We have enough 'laparoos' in the team who can accelerate later anyway. A slow hundred which sets up the innings will be invaluable. The 2 run difference in average will accumulate over time to be something more substantial.

On Pakpassion in general - we put too much emphasis on strike rate. I understand Shehzad's strike rate is a bit on the lower side compared to other openers but his stroke play and big hitting after getting set makes up for it.

Just look at the case of Afridi to see why a high strike rate can be a 20 year curse that inspires a generation of idiots LOL

I would prefer a batsman who averages more. Shehzad is a natural opener who doesn't have to go out all guns blazing - especially if his opening partner is Sarfraz, who is a natural stroke player himself.

We have enough 'laparoos' in the team who can accelerate later anyway. A slow hundred which sets up the innings will be invaluable. The 2 run difference in average will accumulate over time to be something more substantial.

On Pakpassion in general - we put too much emphasis on strike rate. I understand Shehzad's strike rate is a bit on the lower side compared to other openers but his stroke play and big hitting after getting set makes up for it.

Just look at the case of Afridi to see why a high strike rate can be a 20 year curse that inspires a generation of idiots LOL

just be clear and straight forward , s admit that you are a typical fanboy of shehzad.

we have to get rid of shehzad or be ready to suffer for years to come , and what a stupid logic that i would prefer someone with higher average than strike rate as if shehzad is averaging 45

This is an excellent post.
As some ppl have pointed out Dropping Shehzad is not a solution.He's already been dropped twice b/c of his discipline issues with no avail as this guy is a narcissist.Now i noe he is an average player at best he is still miles ahead of other young openers playing in domestic cricket right now.Now i dont noe how to deal with this guy but dropping him wont serve any purpose whatsoever no matter how big an idiot he is and how bad he is for the dressing room enviroment.Either drop him for good or play him,dropping him for a temp period is absolutely useless.All we can hope is that he gets his act right somehow thats how bad things are right now.Btw not a Shehzad fan the guy appalls me to the core but he is the best we have right now extremely unfortunately.However if things do not improve and his behaviour detoriates even further kick him out and never select him again ever ffs.

thank you very much and I completely agree. Either keep selecting him non stop and feed his ego until we have a better option or don't select him at all. His type of people don't learn by punishment.

The only way he can truly learn is by some how magically learning there's a problem in him which is not very realistic because if he does that then he's not truly a narcissist anymore. It's still possible but unlikely.

His latest tweet featured the words "stay humble" :))) so you can already see not only does he not see himself as a narcissistic douchebag but he thinks he is a very humble and modest human being :))) :))) :))) :))) :))) :))) :)))

thank you very much and I completely agree. Either keep selecting him non stop and feed his ego until we have a better option or don't select him at all. His type of people don't learn by punishment.

The only way he can truly learn is by some how magically learning there's a problem in him which is not very realistic because if he does that then he's not truly a narcissist anymore. It's still possible but unlikely.

His latest tweet featured the words "stay humble" :))) so you can already see not only does he not see himself as a narcissistic douchebag but he thinks he is a very humble and modest human being :))) :))) :))) :))) :))) :))) :)))

drop him for good. We need to get rid of players like Shehzad before they actually become "undroppable" like Afridi and other clowns, best to get rid of them now before they become "senior" players

just be clear and straight forward , s admit that you are a typical fanboy of shehzad.

we have to get rid of shehzad or be ready to suffer for years to come , and what a stupid logic that i would prefer someone with higher average than strike rate as if shehzad is averaging 45

I am no fanboy of anyone. Shehzad has performed well since his return to the side in late 2013 and should be a part of the team. You don't score 6 ODI hundreds with (3 of those hundreds being away form the subcontinent) by being a mediocre player.

Afridi has a higher strike rate than Shehzad - would you rather have Afridi or Shehzad opening? I would choose Shehzad...

Shehzad must be the most overrated bat in Pakistan :facepalm:
-His average isn't amazing, it's been stuck at around 34 for quite some time now.
-He does a lot of minnow bashing.
-He has one big score followed by about 10 flops.
-He has a massive attitude problem, and is delusional.
-He has static feet, and pushes at deliveries outside off with hard hands.
-He isn't a great player of spin bowling, nor is he a good player of swing/seam.
-He is incredibly selfish, and puts himself above the team, this is displayed in the way he scores runs, and his twitter profile.
-He thinks his job for the series is over after scoring one century.

Anyone who thinks Shehzad is better than Bell, or even Moeen Ali is incredibly delusional.
When we have better options (Babar, Sami, etc), why would we want to play Shehzad?

I am no fanboy of anyone. Shehzad has performed well since his return to the side in late 2013 and should be a part of the team. You don't score 6 ODI hundreds with (3 of those hundreds being away form the subcontinent) by being a mediocre player.

Afridi has a higher strike rate than Shehzad - would you rather have Afridi or Shehzad opening? I would choose Shehzad...

no one. start thinking out of the box, you people see only a small number of mediocre players , there are other players in domestic waiting who are better than this mediocre inconsistent minnow basher but his place seems to be for granted .
[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] always used to be against Shehzad when he scored some runs a year back and i used to dislike his behavior but i have say that he was right back then

no one. start thinking out of the box, you people see only a small number of mediocre players , there are other players in domestic waiting who are better than this mediocre inconsistent minnow basher but his place seems to be for granted .
[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] always used to be against Shehzad when he scored some runs a year back and i used to dislike his behavior but i have say that he was right back then

He was always heavily overrated and gave people the false impression with his wannabe attitude that he's talented and aggressive, but last year it looked like he has finally put his head down and was turning a new page, which proved to be a false hope only.

This guy is just a moron - has learned nothing in 6 years and will continue to infect the dressing room with his stench. He is a better batsman now than he was 6 years ago of course it is still not good enough. He seems to have reached his peak potential as a cricketer which also happens to reflect his domestic record. Very ordinary ODI batsman.

He is a good Test opener on flat decks (where we play most of our games) but there should be no compromise on discipline.

Is Shehzad the worst opening batsman in world cricket right now? I think so.

Jamshed is backup, Shehzad is first choice.

If you compare him to first choice openers across the major teams, he is arguably the worst.

Perera started with a bang and looked like Jayasuriya II but he has evolved into a brainless hack.

Still better than Shezhad.

Also you know when the basher of the bearded ones rates Moeen Ali over Shezhad, that Shezhad is a truly diabolical selection.

Shehzad must be the most overrated bat in Pakistan :facepalm:
-His average isn't amazing, it's been stuck at around 34 for quite some time now.
-He does a lot of minnow bashing.
-He has one big score followed by about 10 flops.
-He has a massive attitude problem, and is delusional.
-He has static feet, and pushes at deliveries outside off with hard hands.
-He isn't a great player of spin bowling, nor is he a good player of swing/seam.
-He is incredibly selfish, and puts himself above the team, this is displayed in the way he scores runs, and his twitter profile.
-He thinks his job for the series is over after scoring one century.

Anyone who thinks Shehzad is better than Bell, or even Moeen Ali is incredibly delusional.
When we have better options (Babar, Sami, etc), why would we want to play Shehzad?

Almost sounds like Guru ji :afridi

He was always heavily overrated and gave people the false impression with his wannabe attitude that he's talented and aggressive, but last year it looked like he has finally put his head down and was turning a new page, which proved to be a false hope only.

This guy is just a moron - has learned nothing in 6 years and will continue to infect the dressing room with his stench. He is a better batsman now than he was 6 years ago of course it is still not good enough. He seems to have reached his peak potential as a cricketer which also happens to reflect his domestic record. Very ordinary ODI batsman.

He is a good Test opener on flat decks (where we play most of our games) but there should be no compromise on discipline.

He even retweeted his comparison with SRT after 50 matches , and his stats were better after 50 matches

At the moment:

He has a good case for Sri Lanka, who have a problem with their second opener. He can slot there along with Dilshan and will definitely make it to the West Indies first-choice XI.

In Pakistan, he is supposed to be our best opener with very little competition. Sums up how far behind we are compared to other teams.

I doubt Dilshan would be very comfortable having Shez at the other end.

:))) if you run me out you are going to hell!

btw this thread is garnering too much attention over a tweet! guess it anti shehzad season right now :D

Whoever controls the pakpassion account on twitter should post abt this thread and then everybody should sub tweet shehzad :yk

We have better things to do than argue with some of the most idiotic twitter users one can come across!

Simple solution is ban the pak players from soc med and drop the kid for a bit to give him a kick.
Those of u who r saying drop forever are proving the fickleness which hampers Pakistani decision makers

I hate using statistics to prove my point, because there really is no substitute to watching the game, and anyone who has watched Shehzad since his return in July 2013 can testify his worth (or lack of) to the ODI team.

Excluding Bangladesh and Zimbabwe, this is the performance of the openers of Test playing nations in the same period. I have chosen minimum 20 matches to exclude outliers, such as a particular player having a great series or a very poor one. 20 matches just seems to be the right figure, but you can also make it 25 or 30 or even 15.

Meanwhile, Shehzad has played 46 matches in the same time period.

View attachment 55838

So his Strike Rate is better than Cook only who was dropped by England as captain. Everyone else has a better average and Strike Rate barring K. Perera and Moeen.

22.8 @84 is definitely worse than 37.7 @73, but not many people will take 37.7 @73 over 32.8 @100.6

Like I said in an earlier post (which seems to have been deleted), he only has a case of making the Sri Lankan team who have issues with their second opener, which effectively makes him one of the worst opener in world cricket excluding associates and teams like Bangladesh and Zimbabwe.

This is supposed to be the best period and purple patch of his career so far, and even in his best period, he's well behind the pack.

Players like Shehzad is the reason why if persisted with, Pakistan will remain a sub-standard, mediocre ODI team and will not do better than 5th or 6th in terms of ranking, because he is mediocre in every sense of the word.

The scariest bit is that he might as well be the best opener we have, which is scary and sums up Pakistan cricket and its bleak future. If that's true than you cannot drop him based on performance, performance that is nothing compared to other openers.