Aloo ka Paratha vs Mooli ka Paratha

mz123

Tape Ball Star
I got this idea from [MENTION=138508]aloo paratha[/MENTION]. :uakmal

So which one do you like more ? I would go for moulion ke parathe...

Anybody had meetha paratha with strawberry jam? That used to be my favourite breakfast in my younger days.

I've had all sorts of parathas, meetha paratha probably 2nd place after keema paratha, but I ate it by itself, no need to contaminate it with artificial strawberry jam :inti

Isn't that sugar overkill? Meeta paratha works best with a salty salan, like shorbay wala chicken or something similar.

I had normal paratha with strawberry jam. But not meetha paratha, thats too much sugar!

Isn't that sugar overkill? Meeta paratha works best with a salty salan, like shorbay wala chicken or something similar.

I was a hyper kid, needed all that sugar to fuel the badmashiyaan

Honoured to be the inspiration for this thread:afridi

Never had mooli ka paratha, so I'd have top go with aloo paratha can someone tell me what mooli is btw?:uakmal

Aaaloo Paratha is most popular , no doubt.

Mostly people like to eat that. For variety sometimes other kinds of paratha does taste well.

Keemay walay naan :ashwin

This guy knows whats up. Youre from Karachi so you've obviously tried the BBQ tonight ones right. Man I miss the food back home so much. The food in Canada doesn't even compare.

I only eat Meday ka Paratha...... and that also with Chaneikh ki Chai !!

It's probably the most epic breakfasts ever made for the Human Kind.. Also Puri with Nihari in the morning is epic

Oddly enough in all my time in Karachi I was never exposed to the Nihari breakfast, when I came to Canada and met Lahori boys they introduced me to the beauty of having Nihari in the morning. Haven't had it with puri though, that would be too oily and heavy lol.

My idea of the best weekend breakfast was halwa puri channay at 1:00 pm and then laze around for the rest of the day. True bliss.

Oddly enough in all my time in Karachi I was never exposed to the Nihari breakfast, when I came to Canada and met Lahori boys they introduced me to the beauty of having Nihari in the morning. Haven't had it with puri though, that would be too oily and heavy lol.

My idea of the best weekend breakfast was halwa puri channay at 1:00 pm and then laze around for the rest of the day. True bliss.

Indeed :)) Lazing after having a heavy oily breakfast over the weekend are probably my only guilty pleasures in life. Even though such lifestyles get you a pot belly at 24, but I guess it was worth it :D

Gobi>aloo>mooli>panner>Methi paratha>dal paratha>mutter paratha.

Egg paratha used to be v good when i was non-vegetarian.

Mooli parantha is the worst.

This is actually the first time I am hearing such a paratha exists.... Never had one in my life and I am intending to keep it that way :p

Keemay Walay Naan here I come :D

I had to reduce Aloo paratha intake because of sugar issue. Mooli ka paratha tasted horrible.

Don't know how people eat mooli by itself, let alone with a paratha.

Aloo is the best. Mooli is ok.

Don't mind kheema from time to time, but can get heavy.

When I went to India, I tried Paneer Paratha. Was decent actually - not as good as aloo, but not a bad alternative.

Man I love North Indian food. I guess Pak (veg) food by extension too.

Please post pics.

Halwa puri is puri + channa + halwa right?

Also what's the poori that we get in KC Das (Bangalore) called?

---

You can't get a decent aloo paratha in Chennai. If anyone knows a good place, let me know.

In my family they make two types of Mooli parathas,one kind is just stuffing it inside like Aloo or Gobi another is making one layer and then spreading the stuff on it and then closing it on top with another layer of dough,It comes across double and more crispier at sides and is mind blowing.
Good for health as well.

Please post pics.

---

You can't get a decent aloo paratha in Chennai. If anyone knows a good place, let me know.

Icarus Punjabi Dhaba Egmore has good one although not traditional but still very good for Chennai considering the options.
Pait Pooja (OMR) is another place for great Punjabi food made in desi ghee.(try the buttermilk in beer bottle there).

Icarus Punjabi Dhaba Egmore has good one although not traditional but still very good for Chennai considering the options.
Pait Pooja (OMR) is another place for great Punjabi food made in desi ghee.(try the buttermilk in beer bottle there).

Thanks. Saved those places.

Have that stuff too often and you'll start looking like your avatar. Just reading "Buttermilk in beer bottle" made me put on a few pounds of fat.

This is actually the first time I am hearing such a paratha exists.... Never had one in my life and I am intending to keep it that way :p

Keemay Walay Naan here I come :D

oh there is gajar wala paratha as well..

Please post pics.

---

Dosa is chennai's aloo paratha. :inti

My preference -

Methi Parauntha
Mooli Parauntha
Pyaaz/Gande Parauntha
Missa (Dal) Parauntha
Gobi Parauntha
Simple Parauntha with Paneer/Egg Bhurji
Aalo Parauntha

Who puts radishes in a paratha? Just the idea of that monstrosity has killed my appetite.

Do not come anywhere near me after having a Mooli Ka Paratha!

Mooli Parantha, never knew it even existed. Wouldn't want to try it either sounds like the worst combo possible :))

Keema parantha all the way 💯

[MENTION=136079]ahmedwaqas92[/MENTION] bhai jaan abhi yaad aya paranthay ke sath omellete ka bhi acha nashta hota tha.. Kabhi khaya hai?

Bachpan ke din bhi achay thay jo nazar aya kha lo pait nahi nikalta tha. :yk3

The raddish is usually grated in the parathas surely that is not going to smell as bad as people are making it to be.

We also have something called "Kerala Paratha" or "porotta" as we like to call it .. It's very popular in South . 16023204863_ba5892a647_o.jpg

The raddish is usually grated in the parathas surely that is not going to smell as bad as people are making it to be.

I'm not sure they are on about the smell of the raddish itself, rather the explosions it causes once consumed which could prove hazardous to the environment. I could be wrong though lol never tried it and don't intend to

You guys should all go on the keto diet. 20g of carbs to start off with, and once you're used to it, the thought of a paratha, any paratha, will be so unpalatable as to make you set fire to the nearest wheat plantation.

We also have something called "Kerala Paratha" or "porotta" as we like to call it .. It's very popular in South . View attachment 70626

We have something similar to that in Karachi, it is usually found in Peshwari/Quetta dhabay and are known as lachay dar paranthay. Best had with omellete or chaplee kabab.

images

I suspect both of these are the same thing. Its prepared using "maida flour". Its much less healthier than the parathas from North India.. And in Kerala we eat it mainly with beef (shock & horror !:banned: ) or chicken ...

We have something similar to that in Karachi, it is usually found in Peshwari/Quetta dhabay and are known as lachay dar paranthay. Best had with omellete or chaplee kabab.

images

I suspect both of these are the same thing. Its prepared using "maida flour". Its much less healthier than the parathas from North India.. And in Kerala we eat it mainly with beef (shock & horror !:banned: ) or chicken ...

In India the Lachay paratha is made from wheat flour whereas the Kerala one is made from Flour and in Chennai atleast its used to break into small pieces and then mix with curry unlike the Laccha parathas.

Some places Lachay Paratha is made from flour and wheat flour mix,both are tasty but wheat ones are much more healthy!

In India the Lachay paratha is made from wheat flour whereas the Kerala one is made from Flour and in Chennai atleast its used to break into small pieces and then mix with curry unlike the Laccha parathas.

Some places Lachay Paratha is made from flour and wheat flour mix,both are tasty but wheat ones are much more healthy!

True that it is super unhealthy ! The maida flour isn't digested as quickly as wheat.“Parotta contains the purest form of carbohydrates and the maida flour with which it is prepared is an enemy to your heart. Eating it amounts to depositing fats and cholesterol straight into your body,”
Add to that it is always consumed along with chicken / red meat ..The high cholesterol & diabetics levels in Keralites (far higher than national average) is mainly associated to the consumption of this. But it is more or less the staple food in Kerala.

True that it is super unhealthy ! The maida flour isn't digested as quickly as wheat.“Parotta contains the purest form of carbohydrates and the maida flour with which it is prepared is an enemy to your heart. Eating it amounts to depositing fats and cholesterol straight into your body,”
Add to that it is always consumed along with chicken / red meat ..The high cholesterol & diabetics levels in Keralites (far higher than national average) is mainly associated to the consumption of this. But it is more or less the staple food in Kerala.

Kerala Paratha defn is tassty I eat it once-twice in a montha with peas or black channa curry but yes defn avoidable on daily basis ,also having tasted both I can say KP is much more crispier could be because of flour content but with north Indian gravies Lacchha goes very well.

Just had a paratha with sarsoon ka saag. Only chicken biriyani or rajmah chawal can be compared.

I like mooli paratha, but nothing comes close to aloo version. It is one of the true great foods and if nothing else could convince you to go vegetarian then this could. Love it with achaar personally, but if you've got access to some left over shora from a meat dish it's not a bad cheat.

What's the difference between chapathi, roti, paratha and phulka?

I have seen people use the term chapathi and roti interchangeably.

When I do Google images, everything comes up for everything.

Just had a paratha with sarsoon ka saag. Only chicken biriyani or rajmah chawal can be compared.

That is a quality combo sarsoon ka saag with paratha love that stuff. Also lassi ka saag with paratha is the one.

From what I know chapatti is made on 'tawa'. The black round pan. Tandoori roti aka roti is cooked in the tandoor (clay oven). Paratha is cooked on 'tawa' with butter/ghee. And Phulka I thought was same as chapatti I don't know about that one. I call chapatti/tandoori roti as just Roti anyway that's the most commonly used

As a kid, I didn't used to eat much and was extremely skinny. Used to worry my mom a lot. She then started making aloo paratha everyday and I turned into a very rotund teenager :D

This thread has made me both hungry and homesick

I can only give you what I know.

Chapati/Roti: Typically made at home from normal atta that has been fermented for a day, a round ball of atta is squished and made circular with a help of a bailan

Chapati: The kind you get from Tandoor is ultra thin, so thin you can see through it and it HUGE and very white in color. I'm told this is the "Afghani" type of chapati.

Parantha: Similar to Chapati/Roti but the difference is the round ball of atta has a bucket load of ghee in it, and then the atta is also fried in ghee/oil.

Phulka: I do not know what that is, perhaps you are referring to puri.

From what I know chapatti is made on 'tawa'. The black round pan. Tandoori roti aka roti is cooked in the tandoor (clay oven). Paratha is cooked on 'tawa' with butter/ghee. And Phulka I thought was same as chapatti I don't know about that one. I call chapatti/tandoori roti as just Roti anyway that's the most commonly used

Chapati/Roti: Typically made at home from normal atta that has been fermented for a day, a round ball of atta is squished and made circular with a help of a bailan

Chapati: The kind you get from Tandoor is ultra thin, so thin you can see through it and it HUGE and very white in color. I'm told this is the "Afghani" type of chapati.

Parantha: Similar to Chapati/Roti but the difference is the round ball of atta has a bucket load of ghee in it, and then the atta is also fried in ghee/oil.

Ok thanks guys.

That and some info from Google....now I get it.

Once again people nowadays are scared. I eat what I want and am healthier than those who are ultra careful.

Bhai jaan you may be healthy opar opar se but cholesterol level goes through the roof if you keep having such kind of oily food.

Roti, chapathi and phulka are the same thing. It's made from unleavened flour and cooked dry. It's what people in Pakistan (don't know about India) make in their homes.

However, the word roti has become generalized and it can be used to refer to a verity of flatbreads (except paratha). In fact, in Pashto, the word 'rotai' means a meal itself and not just the bread.

Naan/tandoori roti is what you normally get from shops. It is thicker and more filling than roti/chapathi/phulka, and are baked in tandoors (clay ovens).

Naans are more versatile because you can flavor it differently. You can add sesame seeds, zeera, or even keema (minced meat) and cheese if you go to a restaurant.

The tandoori rotis in northern Pakistan and Afghanistan are thicker than the ones you get in Punjab and Sindh.

Paratha: It's cooked with unleavened dough but its mixed with oil and shallow fried. It is prepared in a way that layers are formed. The art of making a great paratha is a complex one, because each layer needs to have its distinct flavor and texture, and it retains its softness even when it gets cold.

Like naans, they are versatile and can be flavored in many different ways, although it is normally eaten plain.

Real talk though, best type of South Asian bread IMO is sheermal. Been seeing all these "is XYZ batsman underrated?" threads in cricket section, someone ought to make is sheermal underrated thread. Pairs well with everything, nihari, korma, keema mirch.

A friend's dad back in Pak used to own a BBQ joint in Karachi and so I knew I had a supply of sheermal or taftan if I ever craved any, he knew it too.

Real talk though, best type of South Asian bread IMO is sheermal. Been seeing all these "is XYZ batsman underrated?" threads in cricket section, someone ought to make is sheermal underrated thread. Pairs well with everything, nihari, korma, keema mirch.

A friend's dad back in Pak used to own a BBQ joint in Karachi and so I knew I had a supply of sheermal or taftan if I ever craved any, he knew it too.

Problem with sheernal is that when it's bad it's really bad and ruins the entire meal. That isn't the case with most naans. However when it's good it's amazing

No, but something else gonna smell couple of hours after you had it, kinda like Beans in that regard

Chapathi, Roti and Phulka are more or less the same. Tandoori roti is different as its made in a tandoor. Chapathi is mostly made on Tava whereas in phulka (also called Rotis) is also put directly in the fire after cooking on the Tava which causes it to puff up

Parantha is stuffed Roti but can be made of maida, besan instead of wheat. Stuffing can be anything edible. But it is not put directly in the fire

Problem with sheernal is that when it's bad it's really bad and ruins the entire meal. That isn't the case with most naans. However when it's good it's amazing

Sheermal is Persian, not South Asian.

It is great, but it has evolved over the years. These days, most of the bakeries in Pakistan make sheermal like a big, flat bun, which makes it inedible with curries.

It is good to have on its own though, but traditional sheermal is quite good to eat with a variety of things.

I love puri. It is the only bread I can eat on its own, but is very unhealthy and I haven't had it in a couple of years.

Kulcha is overrated though.

I love both. But I prefer mooli ones.

Try it with some ketchup and it's heavenly. I love the texture of the shredded mooli and it goes well with the spices and herbs. Aloo ones are great too but I sometimes find it too heavy.

The cooked parathas don't really smell that much too. It's a great morning breakfast.

images

Yep its more or less the same. Goes very well with non-veg items

I love puri. It is the only bread I can eat on its own, but is very unhealthy and I haven't had it in a couple of years.

Kulcha is overrated though.

You should try the bengali "luchi" which is puris made of maida. Amazing

Taftan > Sheermal

Checkmate.

Sheermal is Persian, not South Asian.

It is great, but it has evolved over the years. These days, most of the bakeries in Pakistan make sheermal like a big, flat bun, which makes it inedible with curries.

It is good to have on its own though, but traditional sheermal is quite good to eat with a variety of things.

I don't think you guys are on the same page in terms of Sheermal/Taftan. Sheermal is thinner and alot more oily, it is also slightly sweet. Taftan is softer and more fluffy, it is not as oily or sweet. Here is a pictoral example of each.

Sheermal:
download.jpg

Taftan:

download (1).jpg