Are you satisfied with the PTI Government's handling of the motorway rape case?

• Poll closed .

There are many sides to this but fact is that its happened under the watch of the government. Should they have done more, should they do more to stop such incidents from happening? What can they do?

They have once again proved themselves and the most incompetent and shameless government in Pakistan’s history.

They way they have protected the CCPO has been nothing but disgusting.

These street urchins are only good for abusing, insulting and throwing accusations without proof.

Imran Khan made a lot of tall claims over police reforms. All of those tall claims have proved to be hot air.

They cannot even decide on who should lead Punjab police. They have gone through 6 IGs in two years.

Looks like the military will have to takeover the police as well.

We demand Imran Khan’s resignation.

Too soon to tell. Its only been a few days. Unfortunately some shameless people are trying use the rape of a women to score cheap political points.

They protected the CCPO, than they allowed false news to be reported. The case was a ringroad case not a Motorway case. This was done to shift blame from the Lahore police. Asad Umar found nothing wrong in the statement of CCPO that he could be removed. This is from an educated minister who has worked in Canada.

Police acted terribly and because of their negligence this happened. The govt would be blamed for the police negligence.

And if the rapist turns out to be a guy who had been known in other rape crimes than the govt would be responsible.

Too soon to tell. Its only been a few days. Unfortunately some shameless people are trying use the rape of a women to score cheap political points.

It has always happened. PTI politicians and the PTI youth brigade, aka cult-followers themselves have led the way when it comes to politicizing tragedies and scoring cheap political points.

The greatest example is the rape and murder of that little girl Zainab in January 2018. Even on PP, the PTI youth brigade who are crying now were scoring political points back then.

Imran Khan talks a lot about Madinah ki riyasat. However, as we have seen, he can only give good words to the nation. In terms of action, he is just hot air.

If timely justice is not served, Imran must hand in his resignation.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">دماغ ماؤف ہوجاتا ہےاقتدار کے ایوانوں میں کیسی شخصیات کرسی نشین ہیں بزدار صاحب پر اللہ تعالی کے بعد عمران خان کا کرم ہوا پنجاب کا اقتدار مل گیا سوال پوچھ رہا ہوں زمین کا جواب آسمان کا سانحہ عظیم کی جلتی آگ پر تیل پھینکا گیا ماتھے پر نہ شکن نہ خلق بدتمیز افسر کو سزا تو دور کی بات <a href="https://t.co/HE1pFsI509">pic.twitter.com/HE1pFsI509</a></p>— Kamran Khan (@AajKamranKhan) <a href="https://twitter.com/AajKamranKhan/status/1304373138512318464?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 11, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

It has always happened. PTI politicians and the PTI youth brigade, aka cult-followers themselves have led the way when it comes to politicizing tragedies and scoring cheap political points.

The greatest example is the rape and murder of that little girl Zainab in January 2018. Even on PP, the PTI youth brigade who are crying now were scoring political points back then.

That's mentality of whole nation, let me remind you that those disgusting human rights activists like Waqas Goraya and Bhainsa (who work with your patwari PMLN social media team) called Zainab's father an establishment's agent and defended Shahbaz taking mic away from her father because establishment had asked Zainab's father to attack PMLN government.

Yahan koi haaji nahi hai, i think CCPO's statement was very stupid and shows overall mentality of society. Should he be critcised for that? Of course yes but should he be sacked for insensitive statement? I don't think that achieves anything.

If people want to know what REAL victim blaming is like then listen to champion democrat who some pple adore and love "Rana Sanaullah". While defending gang rape by PMLN MNA Mian Farooq's sons, Rana said "woh khud un k saath mauj masti kar rahi thi". On murder (possible rape) of another PMLN worker Sammia, Rana said "Uska character hi aisa tha".
This is not whataboutery but a reminder to pretenders who act as if they are champions of morality. CCPO's comments were extremely stupid but NOTHING to compared to PMLN leader and CCPO isn't even PTI rep but a government servant.

Absolutely shameless and spineless.

Look at how CM Buzdar is deflecting the question on CCPO’s statements.

That's mentality of whole nation, let me remind you that those disgusting human rights activists like Waqas Goraya and Bhainsa (who work with your patwari PMLN social media team) called Zainab's father an establishment's agent and defended Shahbaz taking mic away from her father because establishment had asked Zainab's father to attack PMLN government.

Yahan koi haaji nahi hai, i think CCPO's statement was very stupid and shows overall mentality of society. Should he be critcised for that? Of course yes but should he be sacked for insensitive statement? I don't think that achieves anything.

If people want to know what REAL victim blaming is like then listen to champion democrat who some pple adore and love "Rana Sanaullah". While defending gang rape by PMLN MNA Mian Farooq's sons, Rana said "woh khud un k saath mauj masti kar rahi thi". On murder (possible rape) of another PMLN worker Sammia, Rana said "Uska character hi aisa tha".
This is not whataboutery but a reminder to pretenders who act as if they are champions of morality. CCPO's comments were extremely stupid but NOTHING to compared to PMLN leader and CCPO isn't even PTI rep but a government servant.

I agree it is the mentality of the entire nation. PTI members and supporters themselves have this mentality. So what is the point of complaining now?

CCPO should be criticized at the very least. Take a look at how Buzdar is deflecting the questions over his statements. No guts at all.

This is the man Kaptaan “team selection is my speciality” chose to lead Punjab.

employees get fired from job for making dumb statements on fb and twitter.

This CCPO is not some wardi wala hawaldar. He is the chief of city police. If the chief of police makes such statements you end up being fired or forcefully resign.
Asad Umar and many went to claim that the statements didn't warrant in him being sacked.

You do get sacked for insensitive comments.

Today no pti fan will say anything against the CCPO because Asad Umar didn't say anything. If PTI does sack the CCPO, the pti fans will celebrate that look they did it.

Point being, you guys will defend every move of the party.

Ali Mohammad Khan atleast had the guts to say that the CCPO should be removed.

They have once again proved themselves and the most incompetent and shameless government in Pakistan’s history.

They way they have protected the CCPO has been nothing but disgusting.

These street urchins are only good for abusing, insulting and throwing accusations without proof.

Imran Khan made a lot of tall claims over police reforms. All of those tall claims have proved to be hot air.

They cannot even decide on who should lead Punjab police. They have gone through 6 IGs in two years.

Looks like the military will have to takeover the police as well.

We demand Imran Khan’s resignation.

Is Punjab under PTI administration currently?

No. The CCPO should have bee fired on the spot after making a ridiculous statement.

PML-N leader Malik Mohammad Ahmed Khan on Saturday filed a petition in the Lahore High Court (LHC) seeking to submit additional documents in an earlier petition challenging the appointment of Lahore Capital City Police Officer (CCPO) Umer Sheikh, who recently landed in hot water after his remarks shifting blame on the motorway gang-rape victim caused an uproar.

Ahmed is seeking the court's approval to submit additional evidence in the primary petition filed by him on Wednesday that challenged the Punjab government's decision to remove Shoaib Dastagir from the post of inspector general of police after he developed differences with the Lahore CCPO.

Ahmed's first petition in the LHC argued that pre-mature transfers in the police force violated the Police Order (2002) and the Punjab government's rules of business.

The petition urged the court to declare notifications regarding the appointment of the provincial police officer and Lahore CCPO as "unconstitutional".

On Tuesday, the federal government had appointed Inam Ghani as the new Punjab IGP — the sixth police chief of the province since the PTI came into power two years ago.

Dastagir had stopped working after Sheikh, who was posted as Lahore CCPO earlier this month, allegedly spoke against the provincial police chief (PPO) during a meeting with senior officers.

Dastagir reportedly later met the prime minister and the chief minister and sought a probe into the alleged misconduct by the new CCPO and appropriate action, asking to otherwise be transferred to another position.

The first hearing on the petition was held in the LHC on Sept 10 which was presided over by LHC Chief Justice Muhammad Qasim Khan. The next hearing is scheduled for Sept 14.

Ahmed's latest petition stated that since the Sept 10 hearing, certain "critical facts" have come into public knowledge regarding the Lahore CCPO and his competence.

"The CCPO is allegedly 'corrupt financially and morally' and has been accused of misuse of authority by the Central Selection Board as a consequence [of which] his promotion was suppressed," it read.

The petition also refers to the CCPO's recent remarks on the motorway incident implying that the victim shared responsibility for her rape, terming it a demonstration of his "deep-rooted misogyny and incompetence".

"A few days after [Sheikh's] appointment he committed insubordination of his superior IG and passed derogatory remarks against his superiors and later demonstrated deep-rooted misogyny and incompetence when he blamed a rape victim for her rape on the Lahore-Sialkot Motorway," the petition stated.

"The performance of the CCPO is ample evidence for the petitioners that the provincial government has not exercised its discretion reasonably and justly while appointing the CCPO," it added.

Ahmed requested the court to allow the submission of several news reports related to the CCPO, including about a declaration signed by senior police officers seeking action against him, dismissal of a report by the Intelligence Bureau regarding his alleged corruption and about a demand by civil society and rights activists for his removal.

The petition, which will be heard by the LHC on Monday, requests the court to allow the submission of these documents and suspend the notification of the CCPO's appointment.

'Politicising the police force'
The earlier petition said that the Punjab government instead of implementing the Police Order (2002) had "further politicised the police force and shown the door to recalcitrant and independent-minded officers without any regard for their independence and tenure protected by the law".

"The Punjab government has changed six IGs in two years and the average tenure is four months," it stated. "The frequent and arbitrary transfers of senior-most officials send a wave of resentment among the police community." The application also noted that three CCPOs have been posted and transferred in the last two years.

The petition urged the court to declare notifications regarding the appointment of the provincial police officer and the CCPO as "unconstitutional".

It also urged the court to declare that the provincial government should appoint a CCPO only on the recommendation of the provincial police chief.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1579295/p...king-removal-of-allegedly-corrupt-lahore-ccpo

How can anyone be satisfied until the rapists are hanged. And this guy Buzdar !!!, I have never seen a person with lower IQ on TV. I never understood the logic behind this idiot's appointment as CM of such a large province.

The CCPO statement is now being covered in international news. The Telegraph also posted a news article of the police officer who blamed the women for being gang raped.

Yet the ruling govt and its ministers like Asad Umar see no wrong in the comment that he should be removed.

The case should be solved but this ** cannot go on forever. Pakistan needs to fix their system else you'll become another India.

Sensitize the youth to the subject of rape in schools. Make it a part of education system. Help them internalize the ideas of consent and interfering when another man does or even suggests something wrong. It works. It has shown great results in Nairobi where school boys were made familiar with the subject.

PML-N leader Malik Mohammad Ahmed Khan on Saturday filed a petition in the Lahore High Court (LHC) seeking to submit additional documents in an earlier petition challenging the appointment of Lahore Capital City Police Officer (CCPO) Umer Sheikh, who recently landed in hot water after his remarks shifting blame on the motorway gang-rape victim caused an uproar.

Ahmed is seeking the court's approval to submit additional evidence in the primary petition filed by him on Wednesday that challenged the Punjab government's decision to remove Shoaib Dastagir from the post of inspector general of police after he developed differences with the Lahore CCPO.

Ahmed's first petition in the LHC argued that pre-mature transfers in the police force violated the Police Order (2002) and the Punjab government's rules of business.

The petition urged the court to declare notifications regarding the appointment of the provincial police officer and Lahore CCPO as "unconstitutional".

On Tuesday, the federal government had appointed Inam Ghani as the new Punjab IGP — the sixth police chief of the province since the PTI came into power two years ago.

Dastagir had stopped working after Sheikh, who was posted as Lahore CCPO earlier this month, allegedly spoke against the provincial police chief (PPO) during a meeting with senior officers.

Dastagir reportedly later met the prime minister and the chief minister and sought a probe into the alleged misconduct by the new CCPO and appropriate action, asking to otherwise be transferred to another position.

The first hearing on the petition was held in the LHC on Sept 10 which was presided over by LHC Chief Justice Muhammad Qasim Khan. The next hearing is scheduled for Sept 14.

Ahmed's latest petition stated that since the Sept 10 hearing, certain "critical facts" have come into public knowledge regarding the Lahore CCPO and his competence.

"The CCPO is allegedly 'corrupt financially and morally' and has been accused of misuse of authority by the Central Selection Board as a consequence [of which] his promotion was suppressed," it read.

The petition also refers to the CCPO's recent remarks on the motorway incident implying that the victim shared responsibility for her rape, terming it a demonstration of his "deep-rooted misogyny and incompetence".

"A few days after [Sheikh's] appointment he committed insubordination of his superior IG and passed derogatory remarks against his superiors and later demonstrated deep-rooted misogyny and incompetence when he blamed a rape victim for her rape on the Lahore-Sialkot Motorway," the petition stated.

"The performance of the CCPO is ample evidence for the petitioners that the provincial government has not exercised its discretion reasonably and justly while appointing the CCPO," it added.

Ahmed requested the court to allow the submission of several news reports related to the CCPO, including about a declaration signed by senior police officers seeking action against him, dismissal of a report by the Intelligence Bureau regarding his alleged corruption and about a demand by civil society and rights activists for his removal.

The petition, which will be heard by the LHC on Monday, requests the court to allow the submission of these documents and suspend the notification of the CCPO's appointment.

'Politicising the police force'
The earlier petition said that the Punjab government instead of implementing the Police Order (2002) had "further politicised the police force and shown the door to recalcitrant and independent-minded officers without any regard for their independence and tenure protected by the law".

"The Punjab government has changed six IGs in two years and the average tenure is four months," it stated. "The frequent and arbitrary transfers of senior-most officials send a wave of resentment among the police community." The application also noted that three CCPOs have been posted and transferred in the last two years.

The petition urged the court to declare notifications regarding the appointment of the provincial police officer and the CCPO as "unconstitutional".

It also urged the court to declare that the provincial government should appoint a CCPO only on the recommendation of the provincial police chief.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1579295/p...king-removal-of-allegedly-corrupt-lahore-ccpo

We know why Noon league wants his dismissal, which is all to do with how he has come after them. But I am sorry after making such a stupid statement he should not be in the job. I have had friends who are not Pakistani who have asked me how is such a person in the job when I have been trying to crow about how Pakistan is improving.

Needs the sack.

Some people have made the CCPO a bigger culprit than the rapists. It all politically motivated.

Even PTI members have condemned his statement but to villify him like no tomorrow seems like a concerted effort on the part of Noon league supporters.

Also the state of Punjab Police is deplorable because they are all Noon league gullu butts in uniform, don't expect PTI to fix the malaise in 2 years. They are trying but can't even seem to find a suitable man for the top post then you can imagine how much filth Noon league would have inducted in the lower cadres.

Some people have made the CCPO a bigger culprit than the rapists. It all politically motivated.

Even PTI members have condemned his statement but to villify him like no tomorrow seems like a concerted effort on the part of Noon league supporters.

Also the state of Punjab Police is deplorable because they are all Noon league gullu butts in uniform, don't expect PTI to fix the malaise in 2 years. They are trying but can't even seem to find a suitable man for the top post then you can imagine how much filth Noon league would have inducted in the lower cadres.

You have no idea how much. 4 years ago my uncle, aunt and 2 young cousins were stopped in their car near the motorway after their tyres got busted. When they went to get help someone told them help is coming, a few minutes later up came 3 men and robbed them at gunpoint.

When they went to complain to the police, the guy infront of them was some Shehbaz Sharif appointee and known for being such. My uncle was told, and I quote, 'aap kyun itna masla kar rahein hain, shukar karein aapki betiyon ko nahi le gai'. And my family, not to brag, have a LOT of connections to get things done to the top as you get. But if we struggled, imagine an average joe.

This was Lahore btw. The state of the police left behind by Saanp and his men.

This was precisely why I asked whether the Punjab police were under PTI administration, having seen them disgrace their uniform for decades under the Sharif clan.

PTI needs to deal with this, but we should also give them the chance to do so rather than use this disgusting incident to rack up points on the politics scoreboard.

This was precisely why I asked whether the Punjab police were under PTI administration, having seen them disgrace their uniform for decades under the Sharif clan.

PTI needs to deal with this, but we should also give them the chance to do so rather than use this disgusting incident to rack up points on the politics scoreboard.

Yes they are, the multiple IGs that were changed were changed under the PTI govt in punjab, the CCPO who was appointed even after having a bad IB report on him was appointed by the PTI govt. So yes Punjab police is under Pti Govt.

The bad IB report is a fake WhatsApp forward straight from Noon league media cell. IB reports don't leak in the media.

But just all like fake news you believed it. Takes better intellectual level to sift facts from fiction.

The bad IB report is a fake WhatsApp forward straight from Noon league media cell. IB reports don't leak in the media.

But just all like fake news you believed it. Takes better intellectual level to sift facts from fiction.

Because he is appointed by PTI you wil go length into defending the guy even after the rape case, sad

ISLAMABAD: The controversial new Capital City Police Officer (CCPO) Lahore, Umar Shaikh, on Thursday sent a damning Intelligence Bureau (IB) report that brands him as “corrupt”-- both morally and financially-- along with a voice message of his version of the story to this correspondent, asking him to publish it in this newspaper.

Shaikh was responding after he was told that The News does not want to do a story on the IB’s extremely damning report on him unless the officer also provides his own complete version to balance the story.

When Sheikh shared a voice note along with the IB report on WhatsApp, this scribe told the officer: “Shaikh sahib. I don’t want to write on the IB report unless you send me your complete version. If your version is contained in this audio file, then it’s okay for me. It’s up to you!”

Shaikh replied: “Yes sir, it’s my version — unless you have some corresponding questions please.” He was again asked, “So should I publish the IB report with your version as given in the audio (message)?” He responded: “Yes please.”

The News was in possession of the IB report even earlier, but it chose not to publish its contents in earlier stories on the subject without a detailed version of the CCPO. That is because the contents of the report were highly damaging for the newly appointed CCPO.

On the question of Shaikh’s integrity, the IB report dubs him “corrupt” — both financially and morally. His general reputation is also termed as “corrupt”. The report says his behavior with the public is “good” but he is “rude” to colleagues. In the column “Any Negative Observation”, the IB report states: “He could misuse power or authority for resolving bribe/gratification.”

In its general remarks, the IB report states: “He remained posted as DPO Sargodha (from 14.09.2006 to 20.08.2007). He remained involved in corrupt practices for financial gains. He relied on [name deleted], then DSP city, and posted SHOs on his recommendations after getting gratification from them.” The IB report also contained some names of SHOs that are not being published here. It alleged that the SHOs gave Shaikh 100,000 rupees each as gratification on a monthly basis through a DSP [name not published here].

The report added: “He was reputed to be financially and morally corrupt (drinker, gambler and womaniser in the area). Reportedly, he established illegal sexual relations with one Ms x [name not published], a constable of the Punjab Police, during his posting in the area. He did not take interest in discharging his official work and solving public problems and spent most of his time in gambling during his posting in the area. He also served in IB PPHQ Lahore as Director and also remained posted in the USA from the IB. Presently, he is serving as RPO D.G.Khan.”

https://www.thenews.com.pk/print/713163-lahore-ccpo-dismisses-ib-report-calling-him-corrupt

PTI members and supporters have no right to criticize others for politicizing this tragedy after their disgusting attitude over the Zainab case in Jan 2018.

You reap what you sow.

PTI members and supporters have no right to criticize others for politicizing this tragedy after their disgusting attitude over the Zainab case in Jan 2018.

You reap what you sow.

So that's what's it about????

Pathetic mindset.

You reap what you sow.

Disgusting comment and should be condemned by all.

In your profession would you comment like that if an obese patient comes for treatment?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">No such statements given by PM Imran Khan. This is confirmed <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/FakeNews?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#FakeNews</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/motorwayincident?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#motorwayincident</a> <a href="https://t.co/M1wo8qeQD7">pic.twitter.com/M1wo8qeQD7</a></p>— PTI (@PTIofficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/PTIofficial/status/1304778078921592833?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 12, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

You reap what you sow.

You must have an extremely sad life...

So culprits have been identified within 72 hours and i don't see why they wouldn't be arrested within days or hours now.
Should people be satisfied with this? I don't even feel like appreciating this given the tragedy but going by our track record it is a massive improvement.
Now the question is CCPO Lahore is directly involved in this operation so is this identification more important than his insensitive remarks? I will leave it upto people because everyone has their own lens to judge. I still think that he should have clearly apologised for passing insensitive remarks but not sure about sacking as he clearly said that it is my responsibility to arrest the culprits and not blaming the victim, just said something i would say to my own daughter; if it still deserves sacking then we may need to sack hundreds of thousands of gov employees for having poor judgement and such mentality.

Punjab Chief Minister Usman Buzdar on Saturday said Inspector General of Police (IG) Inam Ghani issued a show-cause notice to Lahore Capital City Police Officer (CCPO) Umer Sheikh over his remarks in which he shifted blame for on the victim of the Lahore motorway gang-rape victim.

Two ‘robbers’ allegedly raped a woman at gunpoint in Gujjarpura area on Wednesday while she was waiting for help on the motorway after her car developed a fault.

In his statement on the incident on Thursday, the CCPO implied that the victim shared responsibility for her rape. He claimed that the victim, who is a foreign national, thought it was safe to travel at night with her kids. He also said the victim was at fault for "choosing the route she took and not checking her petrol tank" before heading out.

Soon after the comment was made on a TV channel, Twitter burst with thousands of users demanding removal of the CCPO with trending hashtags such as #RemoveCCPOLahore and #DismissCCPOLahore.

During a press conference today to announce major investigation breakthroughs in the case, Chief Minister Buzdar, who was flanked by the IGP and two ministers, said the CCPO had given an "irrelevant statement".

"The IG has issued him a show-cause notice [for this statement] and directed him to submit a reply within seven days."

Buzdar added that legal action would be taken against the CCPO after the submission of his reply.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1579304/l...otice-over-remarks-blaming-rape-victim-buzdar

Punjab govt launches manhunt after suspects of Lahore motorway gang rape case identified

The Punjab government has launched a manhunt to apprehend the suspects in the Lahore motorway gang rape case after having identified both of them "using scientific evidence".

Chief Minister Punjab Usman Buzdar announced a reward of Rs2.5 million for each of the suspects if information leading to their arrest is shared. He said that the identity of those bringing forward any information will be kept confidential.

"We worked day and night and launched a probe using scientific techniques. I personally monitored the progress and directed the completion of the probe expediently," Buzdar said.

"I want to inform you all we have succeeded in tracking down the real culprits behind this heart wrenching incident in less than 72 hours. I assure you that the savages that have committed this crime will be brought to justice very soon," the chief minister vowed.

Buzdar said that the culprits will be given exemplary punishment for the heinous crime.

Inspector General of Police Inam Ghani said that the police has the entire record of both suspects — identified as Abid Ali and Waqarul Hasan — in the case.

According to the chief minister, seven cases — including two gang-rape cases — were registered against Abid, while two robbery cases were filed against Waqar who was released 14 days earlier on bail.

"A special investigation was constituted in which officers from the CTD, Special Branch, and an officer from the unit of violence against women were a part of the team," Ghani said.

He said that the entire area where the incident took place was canvassed.

"Geo-fencing of the entire area was carried out, data was taken from the Election Commission of Pakistan, fingerprints were taken from the site, and DNA tests were conducted," he said.

Ghani said that "scientific investigation" is a time-consuming process.

"Chief Minister Buzdar has cooperated with us throughout and was in contract with us even at night — till 1:30, 2am," he said.

The police chief said that ultimately, yesterday night, "through scientific evidence", the prime suspect was identified as Abid Ali.

"Abid is a resident of Bahawalnagar, Fort Abbas," he said.

"Our teams worked hard to gain information about Abid and were able to get information on his family, his prior records, his CNIC, and number."

IGP Ghani said that after the police went through the records they had gathered they got to know that the suspect had four sims registered in his name that he used on several occasions. All of the sims, however, were currently non-functional.

"Ultimately, we tracked down another number — that was not registered to his name — and it proved our suspicions right. Through this number, we were able to reach his partner as well," he said.

The Punjab police chief added: "We are 95% sure that [the person we have tracked down] is his partner as his phone signals were traced to the location of the crime [at the time of the incident]."

He said that today, at 12pm, "we were ready to raid their residences and apprehend them", but upon reaching the locations found that they are not there.

"The police were then able to track down the suspects' residences to Qila Sattar Shah, District Sheikhupura," IGP Ghani said.

"Unfortunately, despite raiding both the suspects' residences, we were not able to get a hold of them," he added.

He said that owing to information out in the public domain, the suspects "were aware that the cops were closing in".

Speaking of Abid, IGP Ghani said the police raided his house — located inside a farm — in civilian clothes and a car, but he saw a vehicle stop near his house. So, Ali and his wife fled the scene.

"However, we were able to find his daughter inside the house," he said, adding that the police recovered his marriage certificate and other records, which helped confirm things.

"The second suspect, Waqarul Hassan, a resident of Ali Town, had also fled," the Punjab police chief said.

The IGP requested people to help the police in catching the suspects and call on 15 to inform the police of their whereabouts.

Responding to question, he clarified that the suspects were "not yet caught".

Ghani said that timely assistance was not provided to the woman as motorway police was not present in the area.

"At the directives of the chief minister, Punjab police have taken over the 91km route, and the officers are patrolling the area 24/7," he said.

The chief minister said that to avoid any jurisdictional issues in the future, the government has decided to develop a mechanism to connect all calls to 15 so that the police's response time can be reduced.

Lahore CCPO served show-cause notice

Buzdar, responding to a question, said that the Capital City Police Officer Lahore Umar Sheikh had made an "irrelevant" statement and he has been served a show-cause notice.

"The IG has written a show-cause notice to him and summoned an answer in seven days [...] After he responds, legal action will be taken," Buzdar said.

CCPO Sheikh had blamed the victim the incident for going through the route that she chose and said that she should have checked her petrol tank before getting on the said route.

Talking to Dunya News on the matter, Sheikh said that the woman had left Lahore's Defence area at 12:30am for Gujranwala.

"I am surprised that a mother of three, a lone driver [...] after leaving Defence should have taken the straight route from GT Road — a generally well-populated area," he said.

The CCPO said that the victim should have "at least" checked her car's fuel tank before getting on the route as there is no petrol pump along it.

The incident

On Wednesday night, it was reported that two robbers had allegedly gang-raped a mother of two on the Lahore-Sialkot motorway in an area falling within Gujjarpura police's jurisdiction.

The woman, along with her two children, was driving to Gujranwala when she was forced to stop at the Gujjarpura section of the motorway after running out of fuel, at around 1:30am.

She immediately called a relative and sent him her location. He asked her to also dial the Motorway Police helpline 130 from which she reportedly received no response.

In the meantime, two robbers reportedly approached the car, broke the window, and took the woman and her children to nearby bushes where they allegedly raped her in front of the children.

They also allegedly snatched her purse carrying Rs100,000 in cash, one bracelet, car registration papers, and three ATM cards.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/307560-punjab-govt-shares-update-on-lahore-motorway-gang-rape-case

Opposition accusing pti govt of identifying innocent people out of desperation to calm the anger in the country and that the real culprits have gotten away

ISLAMABAD: Lahore’s Capital City Police Officer (CCPO) Mohammad Umar Sheikh, who invited severe criticism for ‘blaming’ the victim after the motorway gang-rape was reported to police recently, has been in litigation with the federal government over denial of promotion to **-21.

According to the report of the Establishment Division and the Central Selection Board (CSB) submitted to the Islamabad High Court in response to the petition of Mr Sheikh, “during his [Sheikh] four-year posting in Washington DC, his Performance Evaluation Reports (PERs) were downgraded four times”.

“Seven PERs of the officer have been downgraded during his career,” it said.

In his petition, Mr Sheikh made startling revelations and even expressed doubts over the integrity of the CSB members. One of CSB members was Inspector General of Police (IGP) Shoaib Dastgir who was transferred soon after Lahore CCPO’s appointment without his consultation.

The CCPO claimed that the CSB had superseded him to promote a junior but ‘blue-eyed’ person of influential agencies in **-21 even though the latter was once an accused in Mir Murtaza Bhutto murder case and was also ‘responsible’ for the tragic Sahiwal incident in which a couple, their teenage daughter and their dri*ver were killed by a Counter-Terro*rism Department (CTD) of Police in a fake encounter, off the motorway.

According to Mr Sheikh’s petition, he was at serial 9 on the seniority list while “the officer at serial number 19… has been promoted and the entire supersession of the petitioner has been done in order to accommodate him. Due to certain actions that the junior officer took at the behest of ‘influential agencies’, he was rewarded by the blatant out of turn and unjustified promotion, the CCPO alleged. The officer, who was heading the CTD when the Sahiwal incident happened, was suspended from service only to be reinstated later in March 2019.

The petitioner said: “The said officer was also named as accused in the case pertaining to death of PPP (SB) leader Mir Murtaza Bhutto and was acquitted by a court in 2009.”

He claimed that a CSB member had a grudge against him and opposed his promotion, because the petitioner did not help his “brother-in-law in oil smuggling scam”. The CSB had awarded “C” category to Mr Sheikh.

After hearing the petitioner, establishment division and others, a division bench of the Islamabad High Court comprising Chief Justice Athar Minallah and Justice Lubna Saleem Pervaiz had reserved the decision in the case last month.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1579434/lahore-ccpo-at-odds-with-selection-board

ISLAMABAD: Lahore’s Capital City Police Officer (CCPO) Mohammad Umar Sheikh, who invited severe criticism for ‘blaming’ the victim after the motorway gang-rape was reported to police recently, has been in litigation with the federal government over denial of promotion to **-21.

According to the report of the Establishment Division and the Central Selection Board (CSB) submitted to the Islamabad High Court in response to the petition of Mr Sheikh, “during his [Sheikh] four-year posting in Washington DC, his Performance Evaluation Reports (PERs) were downgraded four times”.

“Seven PERs of the officer have been downgraded during his career,” it said.

In his petition, Mr Sheikh made startling revelations and even expressed doubts over the integrity of the CSB members. One of CSB members was Inspector General of Police (IGP) Shoaib Dastgir who was transferred soon after Lahore CCPO’s appointment without his consultation.

The CCPO claimed that the CSB had superseded him to promote a junior but ‘blue-eyed’ person of influential agencies in **-21 even though the latter was once an accused in Mir Murtaza Bhutto murder case and was also ‘responsible’ for the tragic Sahiwal incident in which a couple, their teenage daughter and their dri*ver were killed by a Counter-Terro*rism Department (CTD) of Police in a fake encounter, off the motorway.

According to Mr Sheikh’s petition, he was at serial 9 on the seniority list while “the officer at serial number 19… has been promoted and the entire supersession of the petitioner has been done in order to accommodate him. Due to certain actions that the junior officer took at the behest of ‘influential agencies’, he was rewarded by the blatant out of turn and unjustified promotion, the CCPO alleged. The officer, who was heading the CTD when the Sahiwal incident happened, was suspended from service only to be reinstated later in March 2019.

The petitioner said: “The said officer was also named as accused in the case pertaining to death of PPP (SB) leader Mir Murtaza Bhutto and was acquitted by a court in 2009.”

He claimed that a CSB member had a grudge against him and opposed his promotion, because the petitioner did not help his “brother-in-law in oil smuggling scam”. The CSB had awarded “C” category to Mr Sheikh.

After hearing the petitioner, establishment division and others, a division bench of the Islamabad High Court comprising Chief Justice Athar Minallah and Justice Lubna Saleem Pervaiz had reserved the decision in the case last month.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1579434/lahore-ccpo-at-odds-with-selection-board

Yet we have posters defending this guy.

Promotion being stopped is a big problem in pakistan as seniors often keep a grudge against you and dont promote

This Umar Shiekh guy is very corrupt- both financially and morally. The IB has said that he allegedly took bribes and he had illicit sexual relations with a female colleague.

If this is the mindset of a police chief, one can only imagine the mindset of the rapists.

Promotion being stopped is a big problem in pakistan as seniors often keep a grudge against you and dont promote

He will be IG in the future. Madinah Riyasat Pakistan.

This Umar Shiekh guy is very corrupt- both financially and morally. The IB has said that he allegedly took bribes and he had illicit sexual relations with a female colleague.

Don't you find it interesting that as soon as he said he will challenge the mafia in Lahore all these stories come out. Isn't that what the Judge was blackmailed over by the Sharifs. Its how the mafia operate.

If this is the mindset of a police chief, one can only imagine the mindset of the rapists.

I see you have gone quiet after you tagged me in. The guys that are the main suspects were already accused of many heinous crimes and there is a newspaper headline that says that SS has taken notice of one their crimes from the time. So tell us Quack why were they free? What happened to the notice that SS took? SS is a guy that you wanted as PM, and is this the competence you talk about.

So based on a report you think he is dishonest. But after he said he was going after the mafia, the Nooras were ******** bricks. I am not surprised that these reports have come out and what's even more disgusting is that a horrific rape is used as a front to attack the CCPO. As always you guys are interested in the tittle tattle and forget the system that let these thugs go

1) there is an ib report

2) the news said they recieved the report aswell and that news agency is central right wing

3)establishment division has also revelaed stuff

4)csb has also revealed
5) there was a court case against him.

For gods sake dont say these news are fake. Koi haad hoti hai defending ke bhi

Ccpo made an insensitive statement. And like everywhere else in the world when you make insensitive remarks, you have to resign or be removed. If not than charavter assassination happens as more stuff gets revealed.

Govt has yet not removed him. Show cause notice is dramaybazi

He will be IG in the future. Madinah Riyasat Pakistan.

Knowing the ruling party i wont be surprised if they do make him IG.

Posters here talk about merit and stuff yet they cant say anything wrong to this guy.

Those who know me here are well aware of my support for pti over the years. But this past week has been very bad particularly for Punjab government. According to majority of sources both Umar Sheikh CCPO and IG Punjab have tarnished service record.
That irresponsible statement that the CCPO made shows a lot about his character.
Now, the alleged co- accused , Waqar ul Hasan, has presented himself before Lahore Police claiming to be innocent in this case.
The story that IG sahib narrated yesterday reeks of loopholes for many reasons.
First, the culprits reside fairly far from each other.
Second, the story about Abid escaping a police raid and running into the fields sounds a lie. In such a high profile case police wouldn't have let the accused simply vanish into the fields.

Prima facie, this looks like a classic case of Punjab police shifting the blame onto the individuals who already have a criminal history.

True, the CCPO can't be blamed for security lax in this case but his victim blaming is shameful.

This case is getting weird.

Waqar ul hassan has himself appeared in police station. He was a suspect based on geo fencing. They have taken his dna and i think by night time results would be made public.

Now what makes this case weird is that this guy not only appeared in geo fencing but he has a past criminal record of robbery.

What are the odds of a person with past criminal record passing by the crime scene
And yet this guy appearee to police himself just in 24 hrs.

This case is getting weird.

Waqar ul hassan has himself appeared in police station. He was a suspect based on geo fencing. They have taken his dna and i think by night time results would be made public.

Now what makes this case weird is that this guy not only appeared in geo fencing but he has a past criminal record of robbery.

What are the odds of a person with past criminal record passing by the crime scene
And yet this guy appearee to police himself just in 24 hrs.

DNA test will reveal the truth very shortly. IG was himself saying that they were 95 percent sure of his involvement. Whereas they termed Abid primary accused whose DNA they say has already matched

True, the CCPO can't be blamed for security lax in this case but his victim blaming is shameful.

The marks were silly at the point but thats not the reason the badniyaat parties want him out. The Nooras killed 14 people in broad daylight, did any Police get sacked, never mind charged?

1) there is an ib report

2) the news said they recieved the report aswell and that news agency is central right wing

3)establishment division has also revelaed stuff

4)csb has also revealed
5) there was a court case against him.

For gods sake dont say these news are fake. Koi haad hoti hai defending ke bhi

Ccpo made an insensitive statement. And like everywhere else in the world when you make insensitive remarks, you have to resign or be removed. If not than charavter assassination happens as more stuff gets revealed.

Govt has yet not removed him. Show cause notice is dramaybazi

And who would gain by his dismissal, who is desperate to have him out. Why are they desperate to have him out?

Knowing the ruling party i wont be surprised if they do make him IG.

Posters here talk about merit and stuff yet they cant say anything wrong to this guy.

Because we are waiting for some guy to take on the mafia in Lahore. And so far he is the only one that has started to do something. If he is as bad as you say, he wont last long. But just because the Sharifs want him out, means he gets my support. Because never have they campaigned so much against one officer.

And who would gain by his dismissal, who is desperate to have him out. Why are they desperate to have him out?

what sort of argument is that?

Every lahori should be despearate for his removal because their lives get affected by having an incompetent CCPO.

Now i understand, you guys are viewing the CCPO has a PTI symbol and if he gets removed you think this would be an insult for the party.

Because we are waiting for some guy to take on the mafia in Lahore. And so far he is the only one that has started to do something. If he is as bad as you say, he wont last long. But just because the Sharifs want him out, means he gets my support. Because never have they campaigned so much against one officer.
than thats shameful stuff from you.
You support a guy who blamed the rape victims and leaked her personal info to the public. WHy you support him, due to political reasons.

Those who know me here are well aware of my support for pti over the years. But this past week has been very bad particularly for Punjab government. According to majority of sources both Umar Sheikh CCPO and IG Punjab have tarnished service record.
That irresponsible statement that the CCPO made shows a lot about his character.
Now, the alleged co- accused , Waqar ul Hasan, has presented himself before Lahore Police claiming to be innocent in this case.
The story that IG sahib narrated yesterday reeks of loopholes for many reasons.
First, the culprits reside fairly far from each other.
Second, the story about Abid escaping a police raid and running into the fields sounds a lie. In such a high profile case police wouldn't have let the accused simply vanish into the fields.

Prima facie, this looks like a classic case of Punjab police shifting the blame onto the individuals who already have a criminal history.

As i said there are few if any people in the Punjab Police that are decent. The whole organisation is not fit for purpose and never has been. Its main purpose for decades has been to serve the Sharif family, not to fight crime. Its needs to broken down and rehired on merit.

This is truly disgusting. I don't want to make a political issue out of such a heinous crime and to see that people are trying to score political points over this entire issue is horrible in its own way but to see people defend the idiot who went on TV and starting blaming the victim shows just how low supporters of certain parties can stoop.

the victim called 130 at 2:01 am
Police also confirmed it & said they Immediately divert her call to FWO
The dolphin force said they received a call from a man at 2:49
(& that man was an eye witness) who saw a woman stoping him for help & a man pull her with her arm so he called 15
Dolphin force reached there at 2:53 (within minutes)
because they were fueling near by
Why FWO didn't call dolphin police whyy??
CCPO lahore said by blaming her that why she didn't call police & called her relative ...(& That's not true ofcours ) because she called both (police & relative)

<iframe src="https://www.facebook.com/plugins/video.php?href=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2FGeo.ASKKS%2Fvideos%2F2479687932330350%2F&show_text=0&width=476" width="476" height="476" style="border:none;overflow:hidden" scrolling="no" frameborder="0" allowTransparency="true" allowFullScreen="true"></iframe>

This is truly disgusting. I don't want to make a political issue out of such a heinous crime and to see that people are trying to score political points over this entire issue is horrible in its own way but to see people defend the idiot who went on TV and starting blaming the victim shows just how low supporters of certain parties can stoop.

His remarks were silly and insensitive( his general point should have been made at a later period), and he should apologise and move on. But look who is calling for his head, The Nooras a party who is responsible for 14 deaths in broad daylight. Why do you think there media cell is starting these campaigns, do they care for the raped women? If they did, when is SS going to have a campaign against him as in 2013,these people were involved with a gang rape and he said he would take notice. Neither was the notice taken and they were free to rape others.

It doesn't matter who is calling for his head. A person in this position should not be blaming the victim. The fact that he blamed the victim shows he is incompetent. Don't make it political. The man should be removed because of his incompetency regardless of who is asking for it.

the victim called 130 at 2:01 am
Police also confirmed it & said they Immediately divert her call to FWO
The dolphin force said they received a call from a man at 2:49
(& that man was an eye witness) who saw a woman stoping him for help & a man pull her with her arm so he called 15
Dolphin force reached there at 2:53 (within minutes)
because they were fueling near by
Why FWO didn't call dolphin police whyy??
CCPO lahore said by blaming her that why she didn't call police & called her relative ...(& That's not true ofcours ) because she called both (police & relative)

<iframe src="https://www.facebook.com/plugins/video.php?href=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2FGeo.ASKKS%2Fvideos%2F2479687932330350%2F&show_text=0&width=476" width="476" height="476" style="border:none;overflow:hidden" scrolling="no" frameborder="0" allowTransparency="true" allowFullScreen="true"></iframe>

respect to the guy to give an interview and share it.

yes he didnt' stop his car, but many of us wouldn't dare to if we dont know the situation.

The guy will have to live with the guilt. But good for him that he gave this interview and explaining the timings of what he reported and when and to whom.

It doesn't matter who is calling for his head. A person in this position should not be blaming the victim. The fact that he blamed the victim shows he is incompetent. Don't make it political. The man should be removed because of his incompetency regardless of who is asking for it.

Off course it matters, the people who are calling for his head are not doing it because they have suddenly found some humanity inside their hearts, they killed 14 people in broad daylight. And i agree it was insensitive at that point.

Why are you comparing two different things? That's a different case and this is a different case. That should be dealt with properly as should this. Two wrong's don't make a right. Again, can you stop trying to score political points here and move past that and acknowledge that what this guy said was wrong and he cannot be trusted with the security of the people and hence due to pure incompetence he should be removed.

CCPO even claim the victim to be a liar as he even ssaid that she never called

but our [MENTION=1269]Bewal Express[/MENTION] himself has said he supports CCPO because of political affiliations. I wonder if you had the guts to even say these words if this was your family member.

[MENTION=1269]Bewal Express[/MENTION] before you even say that the CCPO never said that, i posted a video above, move to 14;00 and listen to what the CCPO says. He says she didn't call police making the victim a liar.

This motorway road was inaguarated in march 2020. In june 2020 there were complains of no one looking after the security of this road. July 2020, Dawn reports that this motorway is a zone for accidents and incidents, there had been thefts but police had done nothing and no security had been provided on this road.
Riaz Nazir a police official said that Punjab police should take up duty and responsiblity of the road until Motorway police doesn't become funcctional here. Riaz Nazir had even wrote to Punjab IG.

There was no patroling system there, there had been dacoits roaming on the road and had done crimes on the road before.

Why didn't govt do hiring for the motorway police? This Motorway opened during the govt of PTI, and these guys like to go on ribbon cutting ceremonies, but why was the road allowed to be functional when its motorway police did not have man power to operate on the road.

Govt did not hire staff for motorway, didnt get equipment for them. Thus, due to lack of officials, they had no patrolling of motorway officer on this road.

ANd than CCPO placed blame on the victim and claimed she lied as she didnt place a call. But IG confirmed that call was placed.

CCPO even claim the victim to be a liar as he even ssaid that she never called

but our [MENTION=1269]Bewal Express[/MENTION] himself has said he supports CCPO because of political affiliations. I wonder if you had the guts to even say these words if this was your family member.
Remember CCPOs go on what they are told by their officers. I would like a full enquiry and we can get to the bottom of it. I support any guy that takes on the mafia and so far no one has had the courage to do so bar him and hence the campaign. Your making as if you are privy to every nook and cranny and all your doing is repeating what GEO and other corrupt media are telling you. TBH, i dont trust much of what you say. Anyone that cant bring themselves to say a word against the PPP mafia, cant be trusted.

OMG,

A chief of police ends up giving interview without knowing the facts. You dont do that. You dont make up information.
WHy are you defending him by saying that he only said what he was told?

He is required to make statements after confirming not make them up.

DO bother to watch Geo or news channles. GEO didn't report anything on their own. They had an eye witness that told them the story.

CCPO himself said on record that the women never made the call on the particular number. IG police himself said on record she did make the call on the particular number. How is geo or anyone making this up?

IG, CCPO, Eye Witness have told their own accounts.

Why are you comparing two different things? That's a different case and this is a different case. That should be dealt with properly as should this. Two wrong's don't make a right. Again, can you stop trying to score political points here and move past that and acknowledge that what this guy said was wrong and he cannot be trusted with the security of the people and hence due to pure incompetence he should be removed.

I have said that he was tactless and insensitive but there is a campaign going on and it has nothing to do with this. The campaign has more to do with the attack on the NAB office attack and what charges are framed then any care for this poor women and her ordeal.

OMG,

A chief of police ends up giving interview without knowing the facts. You dont do that. You dont make up information.
WHy are you defending him by saying that he only said what he was told?

He is required to make statements after confirming not make them up.

DO bother to watch Geo or news channles. GEO didn't report anything on their own. They had an eye witness that told them the story.

CCPO himself said on record that the women never made the call on the particular number. IG police himself said on record she did make the call on the particular number. How is geo or anyone making this up?

IG, CCPO, Eye Witness have told their own accounts.

I wouldnt watch Geo news because its not news. Its a propaganda channel, it offers no information. As i said an enquiry needs to be held and if mistakes were made, heads need to roll but not because of an officer saying something stupid.

so for the sake of defending the CCPO you choose to be ignorant.

Again, there are record statements of the eye witness, ccpo himself and IG Punjab.

And anything a CCPO himself say should be held against him. He indirectly claimed the victim to be a liar.

so for the sake of defending the CCPO you choose to be ignorant.

Again, there are record statements of the eye witness, ccpo himself and IG Punjab.

And anything a CCPO himself say should be held against him. He indirectly claimed the victim to be a liar.

Do you believe the claims that Cynthia Richie made?

read the thread title and dont divert it into another topic

Its not a diversion- it was also a rape case, and more importantly those holier and thou( like you?) had no shame in victim shaming but today are talking about victim shaming. Are you one of those. As i said then, i will say again today hold an enquiry.

dont divert. you support CCPO even said.

Pakistani police say they have arrested one of two suspects in the rape of a woman who was dragged from her car and attacked after her car broke down on a desolate highway in central Punjab province.

The woman, who police say is in her early 30s, was driving late on Wednesday night outside the eastern city of Lahore with her two children when her vehicle ran out of fuel.

She phoned the police for help, but before they arrived, two men took her and her children out of the vehicle at gunpoint and raped her in a field along the highway.

The suspects are also accused of stealing cash and jewelry from the woman before fleeing.

Chief of the criminal investigation wing of the Punjab police, Atif Nazeer, on Sunday said the arrest of one of the men was made after they tracked phone records and collected forensic evidence from the scene.

Nazeer said the suspect denies any involvement in the rape. Local media reported that the suspect turned himself over to police to plead his innocence.

The arrest came after protests continued across Pakistan for a second day on Saturday over the handling of an investigation into the assault.

Inam Ghani, Inspector General of Punjab province had told reporters on Saturday night that police had identified the two suspects through DNA tracing.

"I am hopeful very soon we will reach them and arrest them," he said.

Musarrat Cheema, a spokesperson in the eastern Punjab province, said raids were being conducted to find the culprits.

Prime Minister Imran Khan's office said the protection of women is a first priority and responsibility of the government, adding that "such brutality and bestiality cannot be allowed in any civilised society".

Protesters are not satisfied with the probe and calling for the sacking of the lead police investigator [Akhtar Soomro/Reuters]
But protesters are not satisfied, and called for the sacking of the lead police investigator assigned to the case, Omar Sheikh, who has reportedly pointed out what he felt the victim had done wrong.

Sheikh is reported to have said the woman should have taken a different, busier, highway, not travelled at night, and made sure her vehicle had enough fuel.

He also said she appeared to be under the impression Pakistan was as safe for women as France, "her country of residence". Requests for comment to the French Embassy in Islamabad went unanswered

In Islamabad, several hundred protesters gathered, some waved French flags, and others held signs saying "hang the rapists".

"It's very simple, these sort of incidents are not very new the issue is that rather than catching the criminals or catching the perpetrators, we always blame the victims," said Aleena Alvi.

"I think the laws have also changed around the rape victims, there was a law of women's protection act, instead of this act, there has now been no protection that has been given to victims."

Hundreds, mostly women, also gathered in Lahore, Karachi, and the northwestern city of Peshawar. "Shatter the silence, stop the violence," read one placard in Peshawar.

Global rights watchdogs have pointed out that Pakistan has not done enough to stem violence against women, including ensuring perpetrators are held accountable.

The attack has especially angered women who say public space in the country was already limited.

"And now the police are telling you that you are responsible for your own safety," said Yamna Rehman at the Islamabad protest, organised by the Women Democratic Front collective.

Source Al Jazeera

dont divert. you support CCPO even said.

Did the CCPO commit the rape?

What's the obsession with the CCPO? He has been given show cause notice by IG Punjab and given 7 days to respond.