At least Pakistan fought under Sarfaraz Ahmed!

Bleedgreen4ever

Local Club Regular
Most of the test, ODI series we played under Mickey and Sarfraz not a single match was as one sided and dull as the ones we are witnessing under Misbah and Waqar.

Event the SA series might have been 3-0 but was very competitive, this is humiliation.

This is extremely boring and dull to watch. Fielders uninterested, bowlers lacking aggression.

Enjoy your new ultra defensive test captain and chicken hearted coach Pakistan fans! We truly deserve this after not learning our lesson after getting humiliated in the 2015 WC and reappointing the same people again.

Long live Azhar, Misbah and Waqar!

As Micky said yesterday when Rizwan was given out on no ball I would have ran Into 3rd umpire room and complained about it . Micky was a passionate character and so was Sarfraz
Misbah Waqar are more laid back

As Micky said yesterday when Rizwan was given out on no ball I would have ran Into 3rd umpire room and complained about it . Micky was a passionate character and so was Sarfraz

Include Azhar in the list. Very very laid back.

Don't think Pakistan were competitive in SA. At least the new regime is blooding youngsters. No one seriously expected Pakistan to compete...especially the knowledgeable fans of the game.

Lol, did you miss the Sri Lanka series in 2017, new Zealand series in esrly 2018, Asia cup 2018? SA series this year, England series this year, Sri Lanka series 2 months ago?

No. Sarfraz would've been screaming his head off at our bowlers and demoralised them even more

Lol, did you miss the Sri Lanka series in 2017, new Zealand series in esrly 2018, Asia cup 2018? SA series this year, England series this year, Sri Lanka series 2 months ago?

We were extremely competitive in every game unlucky to not win but that's just the way cricket is.

India lost 8-0 in AUS and ENG under Dhoni but we're highly competitive. It's not if you lose or win it's about how you lose.

Do you think the current team coach will inspire a child to play cricket?

My grandmother can coach better

I think as time goes on, people here will realize that Sarfaraz wasn’t the pure evil that he was made out to be.

We would have been beaten black and blue even if he was captain.

Posters need to stop making excuses about captains , coaches , Rizwan no ball, Abbas not playing,etc.

We are simply not good enough to beat Australia in Australia , we are not good enough to compete with top teams in any formats. If we start to accept this we can actually make changes in our cricket.

Misbah couldnt care less, he is sorted for 3 years with the pay cheques guaranteed.

Waqar, quite similar as well, as he knows he will be back in Pakistan cricket in one role or another. All he cares about is that the Moolah keeps coming in.

I think as time goes on, people here will realize that Sarfaraz wasn’t the pure evil that he was made out to be.

The worst outcome of handing all powers to Misbah is Sarfraz somehow looking good. He was a pathetic captain and a pathetic player whose presence here wouldn’t have changed anything.

Had he played, the thread would be "Why is Sarfaraz there despite the humiliation in South Africa?"

I think Pakistan Cricket is going through it's lowest phase this decade, and captains or coach can only do so much with the amount of talent available.

I wish we had a list of such threads for each Australia tour. Rinse and Repeat.

Desi coaches are like this. They take everything granted with no passion apart from money.

Most of the test, ODI series we played under Mickey and Sarfraz not a single match was as one sided and dull as the ones we are witnessing under Misbah and Waqar.

Event the SA series might have been 3-0 but was very competitive, this is humiliation.

This is extremely boring and dull to watch. Fielders uninterested, bowlers lacking aggression.

Enjoy your new ultra defensive test captain and chicken hearted coach Pakistan fans! We truly deserve this after not learning our lesson after getting humiliated in the 2015 WC and reappointing the same people again.

Pakistan were competative in South Africa? were you watching the game on the radio or with a guide dog?

Pakistan under sarfaraz in tests were pathetic.

In Australia, pretty much every single team in pakistans history has struggled here so this team being poor here is no surprise.

Until(if ever) we get 6 proper batsman and 3 6foot 4inch plus fast bowlers, who can swing the ball both ways and seam and bowl proper bouncers , we aint winning in australia!

Sarfraz is not any better. We need to stop recycling same players again and again instead of find new prospect and work on them.

The result wouldn't have changed under Sarfraz as captain, it would probably have been worse because I reckon he would have scored less runs than Rizwan.

There is only one culprit and that is Misbah, who simply doesn't learn from the mistakes made during his playing days. The most notable example is what we are witnessing with our very own eyes in relation to Azhar's promotion to captaincy. I'm sure some of you remember, four years ago, when he convinced the PCB to make Azhar Ali ODI Captain, following his long-awaited retirement from 50 over cricket after the 2015 World Cup. It is also pertinent to note Azhar Ali was not a squad member of the ODI side and neither did he accomplish anything noteworthy in domestic white ball cricket to warrant a call-up.

Although Pakistan have been getting whitewashed against Australia in tests played down under, the 1999-2009 sides were far more competitive than the teams led by Misbah during the 2016 tour and currently as Head Coach. During the 1999/2000 and 2009/2010 tours, Pakistan came very close to winning the Hobart and Sydney tests (respectively).

All this this shows is that the timing of Misbah's appointment couldn't possibly be any worse.

This was all predicted. Misbah has such a bad cricket mind. His cricket iq is below avg.

Change for the sake of change gives you nothing but continuous change coupled with failure.

Removing MA and SA was a brain dead move which will have disastrous consequences for sometime to come.

Pakistan now have no no strategy, team structure, stability and sense of progression.

The worst outcome of handing all powers to Misbah is Sarfraz somehow looking good. He was a pathetic captain and a pathetic player whose presence here wouldn’t have changed anything.

Pathetic is a bit too far but yeah he wasn't the best captain especially in Test cricket. Anyways I am not saying we would have been dominating with Sarfaraz but I am pretty sure at least Sarfaraz/Mickey would not have picked Imran Khan over Abbas.

Picking IK over Abbas is probably the worst decision I have ever seen. I don't think Australia would have been 312/1 if Abbas took the new ball.

Change for the sake of change gives you nothing but continuous change coupled with failure.

Removing MA and SA was a brain dead move which will have disastrous consequences for sometime to come.

Pakistan now have no no strategy, team structure, stability and sense of progression.

We were beaten 3-0 in SA with that management.
Just move on FGS

relax people..its in australia..we havent competed there since 1999..we just dont have the preparation or players to compete over there..

and every time we go there its at the beginning of a new cycle of changes hence we will never win there until we plan our tours properly..

relax people..its in australia..we havent competed there since 1999..we just dont have the preparation or players to compete over there..

and every time we go there its at the beginning of a new cycle of changes hence we will never win there until we plan our tours properly..

PCB needs to run by people with brain, honesty, hard-working and professionalism.At the moment we have none unfortunately.

Only Misbah and Azhar combo would have made Sarfraz look like an absolute genius.

This negative and toothless style of play remind me of horrible years under Misbah/Azhar (2011-2017)

These idiots were high fiving each other after the end of day 2. Loser mentality was on full display under the great leadership of Misbah.

We were beaten 3-0 in SA with that management.
Just move on FGS

And to address the issue we changed everything! Very much akin to cursing a headache by chopping of the head!

A successful Test side matures through an evolutionary process and they are never engineered by revolutions. Two of the greatest test sides evolved from being global failures. It was a slow process but underpinned by a vision and strategy with remained stable throughout.

Pakistan cricket in the shorter formats was starting to deliver results (CT17 and T20 rankings). They were not perfect but one was starting to see light at the end of the tunnel. And that would have also flowed in test cricket but at a slower rate.

But PCB in their haste turned everything upside down to put us back in all formats.

Only Misbah and Azhar combo would have made Sarfraz look like an absolute genius.

This negative and toothless style of play remind me of horrible years under Misbah/Azhar (2011-2017)

These idiots were high fiving each other after the end of day 2. Loser mentality was on full display under the great leadership of Misbah.

Key points here. Mickey and Sarfraz had their flaws and their time was clearly over as captain/coach/player - but Misbah is so incompetent he could make anyone look good.

Taking Australian tour as an example is pretty narrow view of the things. If this Pak team gets beaten by Srl again and this time in Pak than such extreme reactions might be a bit valid but not by a test in Aus where historically Pak has struggled.

Talking about Sarfaraz we just won one test series under and lost everything else including home tests as well. I am not exactly sure which fight are you talking about.

No thank you.Please keep Sarfaraz away from Pakistan cricket. How did we compete under him. We were downtrodden and helpless in tests under him (and even ODIs at one point).

Why do people have memories of a goldfish. I wish Sarfaraz was captain in this really tough tour for both t20s and Tests so that people would see that the outcome would be nothing different.

Taking Australian tour as an example is pretty narrow view of the things. If this Pak team gets beaten by Srl again and this time in Pak than such extreme reactions might be a bit valid but not by a test in Aus where historically Pak has struggled.

Talking about Sarfaraz we just won one test series under and lost everything else including home tests as well. I am not exactly sure which fight are you talking about.

I have zero interest in settling for us playing at home and beating lower tier competition. Go big or go home

Khan sb; Misbah is beyond the pale with selections for the last 2 months. We both know it

I have zero interest in settling for us playing at home and beating lower tier competition. Go big or go home

So what should be done? Sarfaraz should be brought back? As this thread is a tribute to fight he and team showed under him.

This is the lot we have, most of the players dont have much experience and Aus is the least likely place for them to win.

You're talking as if we're in the top 3. We're no.7 FGS
We lost to Sri lanka 2-0 just 2 years ago and have lose to NZ at home
First we should start winning consistently at home first before we have dreams of winning in Australia of all places.

Totally agree with this. Its sad to see that our standards have fallen so low over the years that we expect to beat lesser teams to feel satisfied in our victory. How can we call ourselves one of the best teams if our players don’t perform down under? It feels to me people are watching this tour to waste there time since they already know the result. Its being treated like a minnow bashing series instead of an actual competition between two top teams.

Wait what? If anything Pak became a borderline minnow in tests under Sarfraz.

Kab hua bhai itna sara fight? I must have missed them. All 3 matches in the SA series were one sided thrashing.

I humbly request Sarfaraz Ahmed to NOT take captaincy of any team where Misbah ul Haq is coach and Waqar Younis is bowling coach.

Will never forget the pathetic attacks on Sarfaraz Ahmed by media and PCB. They'll try to divert every wrongdoing and problems of Misbah onto Sarfaraz. Sarfaraz should be the captain not the escape route for Misbah to avoid criticism.

PCB needs to remove these 2 gentlemen one of whom has neven ever coached a team [Misbah] and reinstate Mickey Arthur or some other coach with good coaching background, or else we are in a very bad place for Pakistan cricket. Most players like Fakhar Zaman will be blamed for coaching decisions and removed. Gimmickry employed in 2015 will be brought back. Players like Sharjeel Khan will be selected and blamed, while Hafeez and Imam will play pathetically and still remain in the team. Players will be chopped and changed while coach will use media and other avenues to avoid blame for his mistakes.

Say what you want, but we miss Saifi's spirit on the field

This thread is not about the decision to remove Sarfraz from captaincy. It was a decision that has been made, full stop. Sarfraz only has himself to blame for quite obviously not maintaining his fitness.

The point is, as the title of the thread goes, we miss his energy and cleverness on the field. You can quite clearly feel that this team is severely lacking a leader. We need a spirit in this team, that's missing. Even if there was all bark and no bite during our last tour to Australia we still looked like an interested opposition there to fight. We need some leaders in the team. It may sound controversial but we need to develop Imad as a test prospect.

This thread is not about the decision to remove Sarfraz from captaincy. It was a decision that has been made, full stop. Sarfraz only has himself to blame for quite obviously not maintaining his fitness.

The point is, as the title of the thread goes, we miss his energy and cleverness on the field. You can quite clearly feel that this team is severely lacking a leader. We need a spirit in this team, that's missing. Even if there was all bark and no bite during our last tour to Australia we still looked like an interested opposition there to fight. We need some leaders in the team. It may sound controversial but we need to develop Imad as a test prospect.

You mean how he used to yawn when we were being whipped?

Yes, I do miss that.

Change doesn't come in one day. Pakistani team overall was progressing slowly and steadily under Sarfaraz.

Sarfraz got a team which was no6 in tests, no 8 in odis and no 7 in t20s and he led us to a CT win, no 1 t20 ranking and we missed semi final spot in WC by a whisker.

Sarfraz was a brilliant captain and has an u-19 world cup win as captain under his belt too plus a PSL winning captain too. Unfortunately captaincy in all 3 formats led in drop in his form which led to his ouster. Hopefully he will take this as a challenege and come back strongly.

P.S: In before anyone mentions his poor record in tests, he was given a team where the best batsman was Azhar 'tailender' Ali and Asad 'softie' Shafiq. What can you expect from these guys who can't even play spin. Anyways Sarfraz himself was poor with the bat so blame goes to him too for our tests losses.

Stupid weapon to be used for criticism. You've never had a yawn at work?

Not when I am in the middle of an emergency or getting kicked to dust by the medical director.

He was yawning when Pakistan were getting whooped.

What else did u want?

He wasn't the best of captains in tests..... but Sarfaraz even on his worst was head and shoulders above Azhar "acha bacha" Ali.

We all knew as soon as Misbah was appointed Azhar will be appointed. I'm just waiting when will Misbah bring back Azhar in the ODI side and impose the youngster as our captain.

Change doesn't come in one day. Pakistani team overall was progressing slowly and steadily under Sarfaraz.

Sarfraz got a team which was no6 in tests, no 8 in odis and no 7 in t20s and he led us to a CT win, no 1 t20 ranking and we missed semi final spot in WC by a whisker.

Sarfraz was a brilliant captain and has an u-19 world cup win as captain under his belt too plus a PSL winning captain too. Unfortunately captaincy in all 3 formats led in drop in his form which led to his ouster. Hopefully he will take this as a challenege and come back strongly.

P.S: In before anyone mentions his poor record in tests, he was given a team where the best batsman was Azhar 'tailender' Ali and Asad 'softie' Shafiq. What can you expect from these guys who can't even play spin. Anyways Sarfraz himself was poor with the bat so blame goes to him too for our tests losses.

As you mentioned Sarfaraz's his own performance with the bat was very poor. In addition to that he attitude was very poor in last few months. I personally think he should have given some more time with Mickey.

At this point I'd take a yawning, severely out of form, huge belly Sarfaraz over Azhar Ali. For two successive tests Australia have been 300/1 Mashallah, nazar na lagay. Misbah and Azhar combo will run us into the ground.

He wasn't the best of captains in tests..... but Sarfaraz even on his worst was head and shoulders above Azhar "acha bacha" Ali.

We all knew as soon as Misbah was appointed Azhar will be appointed. I'm just waiting when will Misbah bring back Azhar in the ODI side and impose the youngster as our captain.

Spot on! Saw this coming from a mile away as soon as Misbah was appointed joint CS and HC.

Ironic thing is Azhar's well on course in becoming a worse captain and player than Sarfraz when he was leading the side.

As I posted in the past, when Sarfraz leaves which I wished he would one way or another, all the Karachi haters which we know where the majority is from, would find the damning reality hard to digest.

Sarfraz was never athletic enough to be a top class cricketer or a captain demanding respect, but he had a fighting spirit which could rub into others.

Now those who hated him, enjoy the captain cancer show. The cancer of Pakistan cricket is now managing selection as well - only in banana republic of Pakistan such malpractices of conflict of interest can't be questioned. We have always been our own worst enemy in every profession and I am saying it with a very heavy heart. For a dejected and frustrated die hard Pakistan cricket followers like me, watching cricket is painful now. At least I have NFL to look forward to with my Niners doing well easing up the pain.

Very good post!

Sarfraz as a captain managed to take a mediocre team and take the best out of it and his stint as captain of Quetta Gladiators, U19 and PAK side is clearly a manifestation of that.
In many ways he is similar to Ganguly of India as captain when he had to build on a team that was going nowhere after Azharudin was banned.

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.

Pakistan cricket has become a merry go-round of despair and misery, where the team is losing match after match, series after series, and people are replacing 1 TTF with another on the basis of their own personal likes and dislikes. Mickey was thrown out because of his test form and Misbah was brought in to bring back "the good old days" where we No.1 in test cricket. Now he's failed people miss Sarfraz's on-field spirit.

Our cricket has hit rock bottom and until people accept the gravity of the situation there is no way we will move forward.

We had a better bowling under Sarfaraz. Wahab, Amir and Hasan were all taking wickets back then. Our current attack is ineffective and toothless.

Very good post!

Sarfraz as a captain managed to take a mediocre team and take the best out of it and his stint as captain of Quetta Gladiators, U19 and PAK side is clearly a manifestation of that.
In many ways he is similar to Ganguly of India as captain when he had to build on a team that was going nowhere after Azharudin was banned.

Sarfaraz did well with limited resources. Captaincy in 3 formats affected his batting badly and led to his ouster. I still believe he is the best captain in Pakistan and Ppers fantasy captain like Azhar Ali, and Shan Masood (just because they are Misbah"s favorites and can speak English) wont last long.

Sarfraz was street-smart captain.

Had a fighting spirit and could give the players some stick...

Nothing of that can be found in Azhar’s captaincy.

Sarfaraz did well with limited resources. Captaincy in 3 formats affected his batting badly and led to his ouster. I still believe he is the best captain in Pakistan and Ppers fantasy captain like Azhar Ali, and Shan Masood (just because they are Misbah"s favorites and can speak English) wont last long.

Misbah’s days are numbered, I think...

Mickey will come back, just wait and watch.

I really wish. Cricket is really boring now.

To be honest, I’m that kind of person who can skip everything to watch Pak cricket.

But with Misbah at the helm, I just don’t have any desire to watch...

You can see how inactive I am these days on PP.

The way Azhar Ali is being disrespected by youngsters on the field and the team mismanaged by Waqar and Misbah proves how much Sarfaraz and Arthur worked hard where top order batting were mostly passengers like Azhar, Hafeez, Malik and Imam, selected by nepotistic coach Inzamam.

If Ehsan Mani had not become chairman and empowered selectorInzamam, Sarfaraz and Arthur would've
transformed this team and results in the World Cup as well as other tours would've been way better.

Sarfaraz somehow used to motivate and carry the team with help from bowlers. Even spinners used to fight under him now look where we are, with the most shameful display ever seen by Pakistan side thanks to Misbah.

Watch they'll suddenly find motivation when the PSL circus begins and their precious paychecks are under threat

Only Babar is the redeeming quality in this thoroughly deplorable and contemptible team.

Sarfraz lobby have woke up. Not surprised.

And which lobby you are sir? We are talking about cricket only. Have never seen you talk jack about cricket ever. Sarfaraz this, Sarfaraz that.. Umar Akmal should be in the side, KAmran Akmal in the side, this is all your posts are about. NEVER EVER about Paksitan team results, abhi bhi sharam nahi aayi.

Unlike you I do not worship players from a certain region. You do not see world beyond Sarfraz. In fact You have only come to post now since Pak is struggling. It's party time for folks like you so I won't stop you. Have a good field day. lol

Sarfraz was street-smart captain.

Had a fighting spirit and could give the players some stick...

Nothing of that can be found in Azhar’s captaincy.

Yeah. His charismatic personality would have definitely lifted players spirits. :))):)):)))

to be fair on Azhar is his first series and that too very tough tour and he has been gifted with Misbah specials selections so I won't judge him as a captain. But his batting is past his best now. Which is why I would hand captaincy over to Baber Azam. This guy is class as a player and he needs to be given captaincy for a long long time. Need to get rid of Captaincy specialists like Azhar and Sarfraz

Unlike you I do not worship players from a certain region. You do not see world beyond Sarfraz. In fact You have only come to post now since Pak is struggling. It's party time for folks like you so I won't stop you. Have a good field day. lol

HAhaha
sir I can't worship anyone the way you worship Akmal clan and the way you've worshipped that joke Umar Akmal.
Me included no one can ever come close to you in worshipping Akmals.
I should post quotes from you how you've defended Umar Akmal when he was caught with prostitutes in Hyderabad.

Its a shameful day for us, it must be party for you guys who are not sincere to the Pakistan team or don't even care whether Pakistan team falls over the cliff or becomes a pinada for even the likes of Labuschagne to kick and enjoy.,

to be fair on Azhar is his first series and that too very tough tour and he has been gifted with Misbah specials selections so I won't judge him as a captain. But his batting is past his best now. Which is why I would hand captaincy over to Baber Azam. This guy is class as a player and he needs to be given captaincy for a long long time. Need to get rid of Captaincy specialists like Azhar and Sarfraz

Disagree, we've ALREADY seen Azhar's captaincy "talents" before as ODI skipper where he led Pakistan to a 3-0 Banglawash in 2015 and left us tottering in 9th place.

Anybody watching Pakistan cricket in the last 5 years knows Azhar was a tactically clueless captain with no leadership or game reading abilities. His only qualities are that he's senior and gives eloquent press conferences.

He won't magically improve with time.

The incompetence of Misbah does not change the fact that Sarfraz was an embarrassment.

he scored his first first class 100 since 2014 few days ago in the QeA trophy. That should show mirror to his die hard fans. Azhar is bad but Sarfraz has enjoyed free ride for 3 years.

With Sarfaraz, there was an energy on the ground. He keeps chatting, scolding players, making moves. There were his very animated gestures on disappointment, and one could clearly see his desire to win. He was just not a good batsman though. With this team, they are quiet, there is hardly any energy and the pakistani sharaarat, the confidence is just not visible. But maybe we should wait before jumping the gun, give Azhar and Misbah time. Maybe in a year they will find the own method to winning matches.

Yeah. His charismatic personality would have definitely lifted players spirits. :))):)):)))

Yes it led us to victory at Lords
U19 WC win
PSL title
CT victory

Unlike our current coach and captain who don't even have a single ICC trophy in their shelves heck these guys don't even deserve to be leaders for domestic teams

. But maybe we should wait before jumping the gun, give Azhar and Misbah time. Maybe in a year they will find the own method to winning matches.

Looks like one PP member wants Pakistan to play ICC qualifiers with KEnya and Canada in year from now to play tournaments like World Cup, a year from bnow.

Sir we don't want Pakistan cricket team to go the hockey way.