"At the 12th over mark, Babar Azam is not the best person to come in": Mike Hesson

Cricket Warrior

Mike Hesson speaks ahead of Pakistan vs New Zealand Super 8 game:

Q: The tougher stage starts now. How ready is the team and what are the areas of improvement?

Mike: We’ve spent the last six months getting to this point. Making the Super Eights is exactly where we wanted to be. We’ve won eight of our last 10 games and different players have stood up at different times. Improvement-wise, it’s about adjusting to the conditions better than we did on this surface last time.

Q: Mark Chapman (New Zealand) said they know what Pakistan is bringing. Any response? Also, is Tariq an attacking or defensive option?

Mike: Mark has an incredible record against Pakistan, but this pitch brings different challenges and we have thoughts on how to subdue him. Regarding Murk [Tariq], he’s one of those rare bowlers who can attack and defend at the same time. We’re fortunate to have him.

Q: Do the historical numbers (Pakistan winning 5 of 7 World Cup matches against NZ) give you a psychological edge?

Mike: I don't think games are won or lost psychologically; they are won through skill. What’s happened in the past is in the past. We’re focused on starting the Super Eights well tomorrow.

Q: Why is Babar Azam batting at number four? Isn't that "cricketing suicide" for him in T20s?

Mike: It’s the role the team requires. His strike rate in the power play during World Cups is less than 100, so we don't feel that's a role we need from him here. We wanted "batsmanship" through the middle post-Asia Cup. Babar is the first to acknowledge that at certain times, like the 12th over, other players can perform specific roles more efficiently.

Q: Why was Abrar dropped after just one game despite being a top wicket-taker? Are you relying too much on all-rounders?

Mike: Those "all-rounders" include some of the best-performing spinners in the world. We have six spin options. Conditions dictate selection; we don't always need that many spinners, but Abrar is ready if we go spin-heavy again.

Q: The middle order seems one-dimensional with too many right-handers. Will we see a left-hander come in?

Mike: We have Nawaz and Fahim who are left-handers. We have that flexibility in the squad if we face a lot of left-arm spin and need that advantage.

Q: Why are seniors like Fakhar and Shaheen still on the bench?

Mike: We pick the best team for the specific game. Salman Mirza came in for Shaheen and bowled incredibly well. Conditions have dictated that we often only play two seamers, and sometimes they don't even bowl their full quota.

Q: We haven't seen Naseem Shah bowl yet. Is it a lack of confidence from management?

Mike: Not at all. Spinners have played a huge role here. Even when Shaheen or Salman played, they didn't bowl their full overs because we didn't need them. Naseem is bowling incredibly well, and we'll pick the best team for the conditions.

Q: Saim Ayub is struggling with the bat. Will Babar go back to opening with Farhan?

Mike: We’ve won eight of our last 10. Saim was the highest run-scorer in the series before this. We don’t look at one or two games in isolation. If he gets it right, he takes the game away from anyone. I wouldn’t expect huge changes.

Q: There was footage of a "heated discussion" between you and Salman after he got out against Namibia. What happened?

Mike: People really got that wrong. I was talking to Salman about getting Nawaz to pad up as a left-hander. Salman was just upset that he got out and threw his bottle—it had nothing to do with our conversation. He was just in the "crossfire" of the camera shot while being disappointed.

Hesson giving it back to the pathetic media who keep asking him dumb questions about a player who is more of a mascot than an actual cricketer.

‘We like Babar because he’s our brand’

‘It is a religious obligation in our country that Babar opens the batting’

How can anyone decent back this guy in T20I’s.

Hesson had to resort to an extreme to keep the peace, and it should never be that way, holding us hostage over one or two players.

Q: There was footage of a "heated discussion" between you and Salman after he got out against Namibia. What happened?

Mike: People really got that wrong. I was talking to Salman about getting Nawaz to pad up as a left-hander. Salman was just upset that he got out and threw his bottle—it had nothing to do with our conversation. He was just in the "crossfire" of the camera shot while being disappointed.
Okay, that is funny. Almost everyone thought it was a heated discussion between the two but I can understand now how that could have been misconstrued. :dhoni

His strike rate in the power play during World Cups is less than 100.

Now end this stupid debate. Those are pathetic numbers!

From over 1-20 he’s not best person to come in anywhere on this planet, he got a kick up the backside by the Kangaroo and even then his fan girls did not learn. Babar is like Taylor Swift for Pakistani’s, but just extremely terrible at the day job & people seem to enjoy that in the same way as a night out with strippers.

So he can't bat in the PP and he can't bat after the 12th over.

He's in the team for overs 7-11? :ibutt

They will do anything to keep him in the team even if it doesn't make sense.

There’s a lot going on behind the scenes & I feel Hesson’s hand is being forced, do you recall Geoff Lawson and his stories about picking player x or y if not someones daughter was going to be kidnapped. What do we know, which bakra’s life is in danger in this situation
:babar

In one of the recent TV program I heard Shoaib Malik saying the guy who put Babar @ no. 4 must be sacked immediately as according to him that's not his position. He didn't clarified at what position he want Babar to bat. Blaming team management for every decision has become a forte of all former cricketers. Every random cricketer is sitting on TV channel and questioning team management

The fact is that team management is doing favour on Babar to let him play T20s despite his repeated failures in so many big tournaments and this is what Mike Hesson should have told the reporter. In my opinion this should be last T20 WC for Babar, Shaheen, Shadab.

I wondering where is "Sochna bhi mana hai" brigade which started propaganda on social media few years back

I am sure you have some idea how much PR this guy has. It won’t surprise me if Salman and Hesson have specific instructions to adjust him in the line-up. I have never seen so many excuses being made for a certain player, Babar has zero utility right now and he himself knows it.

He's not good from the first over Mike & if you don't learn from this Mike, you will have to take a hike.

Drop Babar, Shaheen & Shadab will do you good Mike.
Mike is still your best option to keep this guy at bay.

If Mike goes, he will be replaced by some Pakistani wannabe coach who believes in the hype of Babar and Rizwan (T20 plateeeniam players), and one of the two will be opening.

Or you might get some fanboy overseas coach who is clueless about Pakistan cricket and only knows Babar from social media hype.

The reason why Mike has some kind of control (not full) is because he’s been an integral part of Pakistan cricket even before he became full time coach. He’s studied at least it’s T20 circuit through PSL with Islamabad United.

In my opinion this should be last T20 WC for Babar, Shaheen, Shadab
These opportunistic ain’t going anywhere

In the case of Babar, he knows that all he has to do is to bide his time for a bit and soon Hesson+Aqib will be gone. The next in line will be one of those who glaze over him or recommend him as an opener etc.

He won’t retire, because he knows it’s just a matter of time when the next coach will scrap all the hard work and progress of Hesson and revert back to building the team around Babar.

In one of the recent TV program I heard Shoaib Malik saying the guy who put Babar @ no. 4 must be sacked immediately as according to him that's not his position. He didn't clarified at what position he want Babar to bat. Blaming team management for every decision has become a forte of all former cricketers. Every random cricketer is sitting on TV channel and questioning team management

The fact is that team management is doing favour on Babar to let him play T20s despite his repeated failures in so many big tournaments and this is what Mike Hesson should have told the reporter. In my opinion this should be last T20 WC for Babar, Shaheen, Shadab.

I wondering where is "Sochna bhi mana hai" brigade which started propaganda on social media few years back
They believe Babar is 2nd coming of Jayasuriya.

Babar has a pathetic record in PP in WT20s. I'm glad Hesson recognizes this at least.

Anyone is better than Babar in PP.

I am sure you have some idea how much PR this guy has. It won’t surprise me if Salman and Hesson have specific instructions to adjust him in the line-up. I have never seen so many excuses being made for a certain player, Babar has zero utility right now and he himself knows it.
Rashid Latif said yesterday in a show that Babar has Graham bell 📞 backing. It certainly looks like at this point.

These opportunistic going anywhere

In the case of Babar, he knows that all he has to do is to bide his time for a bit and soon Hesson+Aqib will be gone. The next in line will be one of those who glaze over him or recommend him as an opener etc.

He won’t retire, because he knows it’s just a matter of time when the next coach will scrap all the hard work and progress of Hesson and revert back to building the team around Babar.
Bro, first line is pretty harsh.

Across the five T20 World Cups Babar has played, he has faced 217 deliveries in the powerplay, scoring 187 runs.

That equates to a strike rate of 86.17, making Babar the only player in T20 World Cup history to have faced 200 balls in the powerplay and ended up with a strike rate below 90.

Ye @Major ka 🔔 King hai. 😂🤣

:klopp :kp

This Hesson guy is running the team into the ground with consistent selection and backing of even bigger failure in Shadab Khan.

He kicked out our x factor players like Hassan Nawaz and M Haris to bring in who?? Shadab!

Babar is less of a worry still a worry but can score on his day.

Across the five T20 World Cups Babar has played, he has faced 217 deliveries in the powerplay, scoring 187 runs.

That equates to a strike rate of 86.17, making Babar the only player in T20 World Cup history to have faced 200 balls in the powerplay and ended up with a strike rate below 90.

Is this true? That is pathetic

Concerning if true.

Hesson should answer why he is destroying the team with his obsession with all-rounders.. What was the role of Faheem so far?? What are you gonna say about Saim's pathetic form? Salman Ali Agha's pathetic form at 3

Shadab hiding when it comes to bowling, and his pathetic attitude. Abrar is getting dropped for Shadab trundler.

Hesson's focus is babar only???

According to “Clown” Mike Hesson, Babar Azam apparently can’t bat after 10 overs, can’t bat inside the powerplay, and can’t bat when a left-arm spinner is bowling. Well then, brother, when exactly is Babar supposed to bat? If he’s on the team, he should either open in place of Saim or slot in at number three. If you can’t play him in those positions, then bench him and let Fakhar take number four—he’d be far more useful there.

Yes, Babar hasn’t been performing up to expectations, but this is not the way to treat your best batter. You’re mentally breaking him down. With the ODI World Cup coming up next year, if the management continues this kind of psychological pressure, it will damage him in his strongest format—ODIs.

Hesson is clever, he knows the outcry will be huge if Pakistan exit before Semis, henceforth keeping Babar in playing 11, be it out of position, just as a scapegoat.

I think he meant to say Babar's only use for this team is when they lose quick wickets upfront, he can be the stabilizer to hold one end down with his sub 100 strike rate.

This Hesson guy is running the team into the ground with consistent selection and backing of even bigger failure in Shadab Khan.

He kicked out our x factor players like Hassan Nawaz and M Haris to bring in who?? Shadab!

Babar is less of a worry still a worry but can score on his day.
Please! M Haris was given plenty of opportunities. He failed with the bat in the Asia Cup and with the gloves in the Asia Cup final to run out Tilak Verma. He needs to play more domestic cricket.

So what's Babar role #4 , heck even the coach is unclear.

What's Faheem role #8 , the coach is unaware.

It's like a stop circle. Hesson has loaded team with alllrounders in a hope 2 out of 6 may click to bail him out

According to “Clown” Mike Hesson, Babar Azam apparently can’t bat after 10 overs, can’t bat inside the powerplay, and can’t bat when a left-arm spinner is bowling. Well then, brother, when exactly is Babar supposed to bat? If he’s on the team, he should either open in place of Saim or slot in at number three. If you can’t play him in those positions, then bench him and let Fakhar take number four—he’d be far more useful there.

Yes, Babar hasn’t been performing up to expectations, but this is not the way to treat your best batter. You’re mentally breaking him down. With the ODI World Cup coming up next year, if the management continues this kind of psychological pressure, it will damage him in his strongest format—ODIs.
LOL you expect Babar to score in ODI WC next year?

Fail to see why subcontinent teams stick on to players past their sell by date. It's the same with india as far as Rohit and Kohli are concerned. Sticking on to them too long for tests and t20s cost us valuable time. The previous world cup win probably papered over the cracks but doesn't mean it isn't true. Rohit and Kohli aren't T20 players anymore

As far as Babar is concerned , he's a test batsman and a odi batsman , nothing wrong with that, just don't pick him in the squad in the first place if you feel so.

Picking him and then making comments like this risks the already fragile team morale.

Hesson is clever, he knows the outcry will be huge if Pakistan exit before Semis, henceforth keeping Babar in playing 11, be it out of position, just as a scapegoat.
But it was clowns like you who insisted Babar should be in the XI because we would have won the Asia Cup with him in the side 🤡

Do you understand what Hesson is trying to do , either play him or drop him , there is no point having him as a floater

Do you understand the problem you people caused? You couldn’t shut up and let him+Aqib do their job when we kept on telling you guys to just “trust the process”!

You kept looking for scapegoats left right and centre to somehow insert these rubbish players back in. Be it Farhan, Saim, Agha, Harris, Hasan Nawaz, even Fakhas Zaman! all of these guys have endured months of undue scrutiny because it’s people of your mindset that didn’t want to allow this team to breath because Babar (and Rizwan) were not a part of it!

Now Hesson has given you exactly what you wanted! Ab bhugto!

These opportunistic ain’t going anywhere

They believe Babar is 2nd coming of Jayasuriya.

Babar has a pathetic record in PP in WT20s. I'm glad Hesson recognizes this at least.

Anyone is better than Babar in PP.
Since last few weeks I am trying to understand the narrative run by former cricketers. Saqlain & Shahid Afridi will not criticise performance of Shadab & Shaheen. Some are sitting just to play victim card and crying for themselves as they believe they were some kind of legend but treated unfairly by PCB. Everyone is appearing on national TV just for criticising PCB, Mike Henson and questioning team management, none of the former players have any solution.

After this WC, PSL will start and players like Babar, Rizwan, Shadab, Shaheen, Rauf will again grab their favourite spots and circus will continue

Babar is not a 17 year old child. He has played 143 T20Is and it's a shame if he doesn't understand that he is not a T20 material. You should not wait for disaster, timely self assessment and realization is very important. Babar should learn a bit from Steven Smith, Root

If he agrees that it is not an ideal position for Babar then why do they keep sending him to bat to further destroy his career? Babar solely is not responsible for downfall of his career, all of them are

So let me get this straight, the coach says Babar can’t play in power play so from overs 1-6 he is useless.

Then 12th over onwards he is again worthless as per the coach.

So basically according to the coach, Babar is in the team for overs 7-12. That’s 5 overs!!! He is in team for only 5 overs?

That’s such an own goal accepting he is in team for just 5 overs, he himself is saying Babar doesn’t deserve to be in playing 11 in t20 yet still keeps him in team?

Make it make sense to me

So if babar is batting in the 12th over does retire there and not face any further balls ridiculous statement if he's not good enough bench him

Can’t play in the first 6 and can’t play in the last 12.

So he’s needed for middle 6 overs that too in case there is a collapse?

Seems like we’ve been forced to play him and are trying hard to justify

This also contradicts the apparent reason to bring him back in the first place.

Remember, Pakistan were 100-1 in 11 overs against India in the final of the Asia cup. Pakistan at the fall of a wicker shuffled their batting order to try and launch an assault. It didn’t work.

So the call from back home was to bring Babar ban so that Pakistan can avoid another collapse of losing 9 wickets for 40 odd runs….

Isn’t the coach saying, “no we will continue with this way going forward and Babar doesn’t fit in that approach”?

You are respected poster. In this case please recognize your mistake and make amends!

Mike hesson is a nobody who doesn't recognize the greatness of King Babar.

Find you faith and acknowledge the importance of RizBarRauf-SSA Quad to Pak cricket.

Hesson knows that he has messed up Babar here... He is now finding excuses to justify his useless decisions.

Hesson is the same coach that redefined NZ from a middling team to a top tier team.
The only weird thing is when he was coaching NZ, he got rid of majority of dibbly dobbler part time allrounders like Franklin, Nicol etc and replaced them with proper allrounders like Corey Anderson, Neesham, Santner and Grandhomme.
Williamson was the only batter who was told to work on his bowling as according to Hesson, having a bowling option in top 3 is massive in LOIs.
NZ responded very well under him. Maybe it's our players who are too reluctant to up their game and play as per instructions of the coach.

This politician wants Babar to open and Saim to be dropped or pushed down the order

How is Hesson weak if he is strongly sticking to his guns by not folding to the relentless pressure made by these pathetic ex cricketers who are doing favours for their boys, and he is strongly not allowing Babar to open the innings?

For all the pressure exerted on Hesson, I think he has been head strong and principled!

This politician wants Babar to open and Saim to be dropped or pushed down the order

How is Hesson weak if he is strongly sticking to his guns by not folding to the relentless pressure made by these pathetic ex cricketers who are doing favours for their boys, and he is strongly not allowing Babar to open the innings?

For all the pressure exerted on Hesson, I think he has been head strong and principled!
So you want Pakistan to play with 9 effectively, Faheem @8 is loafing while Babar @4 has no utility.

Im surprised the way everyone is bashing hesson, and the reason is because the social media teams are not playing.

Hesson may not be the social savy coach, but his technique has worked.

Saim Ayub is now an allrounder, cant be dropped.

Its ridiculous. We were losing to USA and Zimbabwe, atleast that isnt happening.

Shadab was right, that these ex cricketers lost to the same team they defeated so they shouldnt be talking

So let me get this straight, the coach says Babar can’t play in power play so from overs 1-6 he is useless.

Then 12th over onwards he is again worthless as per the coach.

So basically according to the coach, Babar is in the team for overs 7-12. That’s 5 overs!!! He is in team for only 5 overs?

That’s such an own goal accepting he is in team for just 5 overs, he himself is saying Babar doesn’t deserve to be in playing 11 in t20 yet still keeps him in team?

Make it make sense to me
Brother its very obvious that the coach doesn't want him.

He is the one who discarded him from the team, so it makes no sense to re-select on the back of some questionable form.

I don't think Skipper wants him either. As soon as Babar was reselected, Agha promoted himself to number 3 and nailed that spot for himself.

There is some external pressure to keep him in the side.

That pressure is now circulating around Saim Ayub's position to try and put Babar back as opener and demote Saim. Hesson has quickly put that to bed, too by saying we don't require Babar as opener. We can all speculate where that external pressure is coming from, without knowing for sure.

In Subcontinent and in Pakistan in particular almost any decision maker has to try their best in an imperfect scenario. Here, he has to balance keeping Babar in the side to please some external stakeholders and to keep the team balanced overall.

From his perspective its probably a safer option too. If he didn't pick Babar and we lost, he would have to answer questions around it. From his POV better the heat is on Babar than on him.

Yes its silly, but he has to operate in a crazy and chaotic infrastructure.

He is the one who discarded him from the team, so it makes no sense to re-select on the back of some questionable form.
That’s not entirely true

Tbh we will never know what’s true or what isn’t unless Hesson gives a long, detailed honest interview or essay on the challenges he had as a Pakistan coacch

From what I gather, it was Aqib who wasn’t having any of this RizBar nonsense anymore. He convinced Naqvi to pull the plug on them and gave Hesson a clean slate side without these two players as options. To rebuild Pakistan cricket without them. Hesson agreed on Rizwan, but I don’t think he was entirely convinced on discarding Babar. Maybe he did have a plan to build a Pakistan side with Babar as his Kane Williamson initially, but Aqib is too powerful to initially allow that to happen.

It was when Aqib succumbed during the Asia cup that Hesson was given Babar to work with in T20is. Soon though, he may have realised that Babar isn’t what he had anticipated

As discussed already, what purpose is he serving? I seriously question the coaching/team-combo issue of this coach. He is basically milking PCB, which any foreign coach can do sacrificing the dignity if he is actually a capable coach.

IF he has any pride in himself, quit as Gary and Jason did, and shame the shameless PCB in the middle of this assignment. What jokers!

That’s not entirely true

Tbh we will never know what’s true or what isn’t unless Hesson gives a long, detailed honest interview or essay on the challenges he had as a Pakistan coacch

From what I gather, it was Aqib who wasn’t having any of this RizBar nonsense anymore. He convinced Naqvi to pull the plug on them and gave Hesson a clean slate side without these two players as options. To rebuild Pakistan cricket without them. Hesson agreed on Rizwan, but I don’t think he was entirely convinced on discarding Babar. Maybe he did have a plan to build a Pakistan side with Babar as his Kane Williamson initially, but Aqib is too powerful to initially allow that to happen.

It was when Aqib succumbed during the Asia cup that Hesson was given Babar to work with in T20is. Soon though, he may have realised that Babar isn’t what he had anticipated
I don't think Hesson has the authority to extract Babar from the BBL and into the T20 series. That has come from some higher up in PCB. Hesson is an established coach; there is no way I can believe he looked at BBL and said - Yeah, we need this guy.

Shahid Afridi was always a politician since his playing days. It's clear that Babar has been forced on selection committee or team management, he was never qualified to be in squad of 15.

Now Mike Hesson is being forced to accommodate him somewhere and Mike can't do anything. Most former cricketers are shamelessly criticising the foreign coach as he is a soft target. The fact is there are 7-8 players who are in set up since last 8-9 years and they failed repeatedly in big tournaments. No coach can help these guys

Hesson never played the game at any level, but transformed NZ cricket.

I remember it was a tough beginning for him with the cricket world wondering how someone with no playing experience was even appointed. He faced a lot of resistance with some players (IIRC), and the captain Ross Taylor was against him.

I’m wondering if Hesson will catalyse a similar (same would be asking for too much) transformation of Pakistan cricket. I’m getting a good vibe from this guy.

I don't think Hesson has the authority to extract Babar from the BBL and into the T20 series. That has come from some higher up in PCB. Hesson is an established coach; there is no way I can believe he looked at BBL and said - Yeah, we need this guy.
Yeah I agree.

But you need to remember, they already laid the groundwork of excusing Babar (and Rizwan)’s poor performance in the BBL by normalising the narrative in the media that the conditions in Australia are not similar to the requirements in Sri Lanka.

I think Hesson did all he could to run with this Sham for as long as he could. The final nail in the coffin was that $hit shot Babar played against India in the circumstances they were in at the time. These kinds of things just make you lose all hope and trust, even if it’s at a bare minimum

Who is she and why is John Cena following her
:yk3

Danyal Rasool wrote a decent article on the topic recently & briefly touched on the real reason Hesson is being forced to pick King 🤡
Dumbest cricket analyst/host.

She used to be a cricket expert on twitter, got her break through recently.

Doesnt know how to host, probably one of the worst hosts i have ever seen..

Dumbest cricket analyst/host.

She used to be a cricket expert on twitter, got her break through recently.

Doesnt know how to host, probably one of the worst hosts i have ever seen..
She’s a remnant of the Dosti Yaari era. Fangirl of the wholesome team

Pretty clear Babars selection is political, franchise influenced. Hesson didn't want him in the team

The likes of Shahid Afridi, Saqlain Mushtaq and some Saya journalists on Twitter have been going on an anti Hesson mission, am pretty sure Hesson has made it known to the PCB and Selectors he wants to clean house after the T20 WC

Firstly, you need to provide a source for your claims about Hesson letting the PCB know what he wants to do.

Secondly, I hope Hesson/Aqib and their support staff are indeed well aware of the Smear campaign that is being run by the following guys:

1. Basit Ali
2. Salman Butt (this guy is at extreme levels)
3. Tanvir Ahmed
4. Shahid Afridi (filthy politician)

Mohsin Naqvi needs to be firm and deal with these guys first. Swatting journalists is secondary. But for too long, these ex cricketers have been chatting too much rubbish about a guy who has sincerely been doing his job for Pakistan with so many obstacles, yet the guy has done so much good work for Pakistan.

I can assure you, these guys who are barking so much on Tv against Hesson cannot achieve 5% of what he did if they had it there way and were coaches of Pakistan cricket.

Guys like Rashid Latif, Saqlain and Hafeez are not as direct in naming Hesson and tarnishing his name but they also subtly make remarks to suggest Hesson is stupid and they know cricket better.

This is the same Rashid Latif who claimed Babar on one Leg is a better batsman than the entire squad selected for the Asia cup.

Playing Babar and resting Fakhar (I know his ODI record is better but he was never given a settled batting position in T20Is) is as stupid as it gets. I would have opened with Fakhar and Farhan with Saim at 1-down.

Babar is a technically correct batsman but he was never someone who could dominate good bowling attacks. He is not a match winner. As long as Miandad or Inzi were at the crease Pak were always in the game. Same cannot be said about Babar in any format.