ATC acquits all suspects in Sahiwal encounter case [Update Post#105]

JIT has been formed according to Shehbaz Gill. I hope the facts come out quickly and if innocent people have been killed then justice should be carried out quickly. This may be a defining moment for PTI, we've had the model town killings under PML-N, Rao Anwar in Karachi. Nothing would be more pleasing than seeing this being different from those cases.

Parents, teenage daughter among 4 killed during CTD 'encounter' in Sahiwal; PM seeks report

Three family members — husband, wife and their teenage daughter — and their friend were killed in what the Punjab police officials called a shootout with "terrorists" near Sahiwal.

The couple's minor son sustained a bullet injury while two other daughters remained safe. The family was travelling in a car when the alleged encounter — which the Counter Terrorism Department (CTD) officials later termed an 'intelligence-based operation' — took place on GT Road in Qadirabad area near Sahiwal.

According to CTD, the operation was conducted on information about the presence of suspected terrorists, provided by the department and an intelligence agency — the name of which was not specified.

Eyewitnesses, however, strongly refuted the CTD's version, telling DawnNewsTV that the three family members and their driver were shot dead in "cold blood by the police". They categorically stated that no weapon was recovered from the vehicle after the alleged shootout.

Editorial: Fake police encounters

According to the details provided by police, the CTD Sahiwal officials signalled a car and a motorcycle to stop near the Sahiwal Toll Plaza.

A view of the car the deceased were travelling in. —DawnNewsTV
"The [alleged] terrorists retaliated by firing at the CTD officials following which a shootout ensued. Once the firing stopped, four people were found dead, reportedly as a result of firing by their own accomplices, while three terrorists had fled the scene," read the CTD statement.

As per the CTD statement, suspects identified as Shahid Jabbar and Abdul Rehman were travelling towards Sahiwal and were reportedly in possession of arms and explosives.

"They used to travel with families to avoid police checking. Today, they were warned to surrender but they resorted to firing," read the statement, adding that Shahid Jabbar, Abdul Rehman, and another unidentified suspect fled from the scene on a motorcycle. "Recoveries include suicide jackets, hand grenades, rifles, etc."

'Family killed in cold blood'
The details of the incident as narrated by the children in the car and eyewitnesses contradict the CTD's version of what happened.

A video of the crime scene, available with DawnNewsTV, shows the bodies lying in the bullet-riddled car after the firing incident.

In another video, also doing rounds on social media, eyewitnesses and people present at the hospital can be seen suggesting that police shot the family members in cold blood and following the incident, the CTD personnel initially abandoned the wounded children at the crime scene and left.

They alleged that it was only after some time that they returned to the crime scene and shifted the three injured children to a government-run hospital nearby.

The injured boy Umair, who appears to be around 10-years-old and can be seen with a gunshot wound in his leg, while speaking to the media identified the deceased as his parents, teenage sister and his father’s "friend" who was driving the car to Burewala.

In another video, a man who identified himself as an uncle of the children, said that several family members were going from Lahore to a village near Burewala in four vehicles to attend a wedding. He said he was travelling in another vehicle and lost contact with the deceased as their mobile phones were off.

He alleged that the CTD personnel tried to rob the victims as they were carrying cash, jewellery and other valuables, and then killed them.

The deceased were identified by relatives as residents of the Kot Lakhpat area in the suburbs of Lahore. They include grocery store owner Mohammad Khalil, 42, his wife Nabila, 38, their 13-year-old daughter Areeba and their friend, Zeeshan Javed, who was driving the car and police said he was on the country's wanted terrorist list.

Khalil is survived by his wounded son Umair and two daughters aged below five years.

A post-mortem examination of the deceased was carried out, DawnNewsTV reported. According to the doctors, the victims received bullet injuries in their heads, necks and stomach areas.

The bodies of the three family members have been handed over to their relatives.

Later in the day, family members of the victims and area residents resorted to protesting and blocked Ferozpur road in Lahore.

PM seeks report
Prime Minister Imran Khan contacted Punjab Chief Minister Sardar Usman Buzdar and sought a report in connection with the Sahiwal incident.

The prime minister also directed to hold a transparent and detailed inquiry into the incident to uncover the facts.

Later in the day, Buzdar ordered the arrest of the CTD officials involved in the tragic incident, DawnNewsTV reported.

Earlier, Punjab Information Minister Fayyazul Hassan Chohan said that the reality of the fatal incident would become clear only after investigation.

The CTD officials took action against the suspects on a tip-off from an alleged terrorist who had been arrested by the intelligence agencies in Karachi, the minister said.

Information Minister Fawad Chaudhry said the Punjab government would soon provide a detailed account of the incident. "The CTD officials say that the people killed in the incident were suspected terrorists," Chaudhry said.

Meanwhile, the Punjab Inspector General (IG) has announced the formation of a joint investigation team (JIT) to probe the incident.

The provincial police chief said that DIG Zulfikar Hameed will head the JIT, which comprises officials from the Inter-Services Intelligence, Intelligence Bureau and Military Intelligence. The team has been asked to submit its report within three days.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1458520/p...ring-ctd-encounter-in-sahiwal-pm-seeks-report

Awful incident.

There should be a proper investigation and those responsible must be brought to justice. My heart breaks thinking about those little kids.

This is a big moment for IK to put a marker down if evidence is found that the Police were either criminal or negligent. Its high time the PTI structurally reformed the corrupt Punjab Police. This is a seminal moment.

Pathetic state of affairs, watershed moment for Immy. He must make heads roll if he wants to keep people's support.

Must be a traumatic experience to see your parents and siblings killed right in front of your eyes. The murderers being the state officials makes it even worst. Killings like these are serves as recruiting material for the actual terrorists. Does the state expect that child to be a law abiding citizen in the future after doing this to his parents? I think not.

The Punjab Police are gangsters in Police Uniform. Their main function was to protect the Noora leadership and their families, this is a chance for the PTI and IK to destroy this mafia and start again.

LAHORE: The Counter Terrorism Department officials involved in the alleged extrajudicial killing of a family were taken into custody on the orders of Punjab chief minister Usman Buzdar, said a CM House spokesperson on Saturday.

The CTD claimed that four people, including two women, said to be affiliated with Daesh were killed in a shootout near Sahiwal in a cross-fire. However, moments after the alleged encounter the family and eyewitnesses disputed the claim, prompting questions over the incident.

The Punjab chief minister gave the directives for the CTD personnel's arrest hours after Prime Minister Imran Khan took notice of the incident.

The premier in his call with the chief minister ordered an immediate inquiry report and demanded a transparent investigation into the incident.

Meanwhile, a Joint Investigation Team under DIG Zulfiqar Hameed has been formed to investigate the alleged shootout. The JIT would include members from the ISI, MI and IB, and present its report within three days.

Muhammad Umair Khalil, one of the injured children who was in the vehicle at the time of the incident, told media that he was travelling to Burewala for his uncle's wedding with his father (Khaleel), mother (Nabeela), older sister (Areeba), father's friend (Zeeshan) and two younger sisters when the vehicle was stopped.

Four, including two women, killed in CTD operation in Sahiwal

“When we were stopped my father begged to take the money and forgive us, but they opened fire.”

The child said his father, mother, older sister and father's friend were killed in the firing and kept back in the vehicle. "The police left us [Umair, younger sisters] at a petrol pump and we were later taken to a hospital," he added.

Jaleel, the brother of Khaleel, told reporters the family was travelling for the wedding in a three-car convoy. “1122 informed us that the children were at the Civil Hospital, but they were unaware of where the dead bodies were.”

Eyewitnesses conflicted CTD's statement and said the people in the car did not fire at officials. "There were no weapons found with the bodies," they said.

The eyewitnesses further said that the children while speaking to them at a nearby petrol station claimed that the "police has killed their parents".

"Following the firing incident, the police left the children at the petrol station where they spoke to us," they added.

A few minutes later, however, CTD officials returned and took the children with them to an undisclosed location, the eyewitnesses added.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/225654-sa...sonnel-taken-into-custody-on-cm-buzdars-order

Im with the CTD on this one

They are not idiots who would open fire on anyone. They probably had their reasons.

In Pakistan, the chowkis use to work as such that if you had a femail or family then you are not stopped.

Thus who knows, the terrorist was probably using family as human shield.

I will wait for the final investigation

Even if they were alleged terrorists, who the hell shoots at a car like that

Its justified.

The officials dont fire at random here. They first give a signal to stop. And if they dont stop, then bullets are fired.

Yes you may critisized this is not proper way and all, then again we are country that has terrorism.

There are many possibilities here. If they were not terrorist, someone giving fake intelligence report just to creat chaos in the govt aswell

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Still shocked at seeing the traumatized children who saw their parents shot before their eyes. Any parent would be shocked as they would think of their own children in such a traumatic situation. These children will now be fully looked after by the state as its responsibility.</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1086861356211601408?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 20, 2019</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">While the CTD has done a great job in fight against terrorism, everyone must be accountable before the law. As soon as JIT report comes, swift action will be taken. The govt's priority is protection of all its citizens. <a href="https://t.co/Vek2YHLmKQ">https://t.co/Vek2YHLmKQ</a></p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1086862172775419910?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 20, 2019</a></blockquote>

Nearly the whole family was involved in terrorism? I find it difficult to believe. Could be that only the Man was guilty but due to some reason the wife and Daughter were shot and now everyone dead is being linked to terrorism.

They are not idiots who would open fire on anyone. They probably had their reasons.

In Pakistan, the chowkis use to work as such that if you had a femail or family then you are not stopped.

So you know better than eye witnesses on the ground who have given statements contradicting the CTD? Very impressive.

Given what is happening with Rao Anwar in the Shaheed Naqeebullah case I don't think there is much hope for the victims of Sahiwal.

So you know better than eye witnesses on the ground who have given statements contradicting the CTD? Very impressive.

1. Ctd is not some buffoon force

2. In such situations, eye witness become bias. They become a mob.

I live in pakistan thus i have a better idea of how our society behaves

I am sure your response would have been different had this been an army checkpost.

1. Ctd is not some buffoon force

2. In such situations, eye witness become bias. They become a mob.

I live in pakistan thus i have a better idea of how our society behaves

Let's wait for the report to come out on Wednesday. At this point in time, it doesn't look good.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">While the CTD has done a great job in fight against terrorism, everyone must be accountable before the law. As soon as JIT report comes, swift action will be taken. The govt's priority is protection of all its citizens. <a href="https://t.co/Vek2YHLmKQ">https://t.co/Vek2YHLmKQ</a></p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1086862172775419910?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 20, 2019</a></blockquote>

Punjab Law Minister Raja Basharat on Sunday while addressing a press briefing on the Sahiwal 'encounter' said that Punjab Chief Minister Usman Buzdar had announced a Rs20 million compensation for the family whose three members were killed during an alleged shootout between Counter-Terrorism Department personnel and suspected terrorists in Qadirabad on Saturday.

In what law enforcers described as an encounter with terrorists, the elite Punjab police had on Saturday killed four people, including parents Khalil and Nabeela, their teenage daughter, and a family friend (Zeeshan), sending shock waves across the country as one of the three surviving children who were witness to the episode denied the official version in a video that went viral on social media.

Basharat, who was briefing the press alongside members of the cabinet, said that the team that took part in the operation had been taken into custody and its supervisor had been suspended.

A joint investigation team (JIT) tasked with probing the 'encounter' will present its findings to the Punjab government within three days, he said, adding that a first information report had been registered at the family's request.

The provincial law minister revealed that the Punjab home department had issued a notification for the creation of a "high-powered JIT" which will be headed by Additional IG Ijaz Hussain Shah.

He announced that the Punjab government will bear the expenses for the education of the surviving children "till whatever stage they want to study", but also noted that financial support cannot be a replacement for such a huge loss.

'Links to Daesh'
Raja Basharat told reporters that for some time Zeeshan had links to a "dangerous network" of Daesh, a proscribed terrorist organisation, and was working with them. He claimed that this network was responsible for the murder of intelligence officials in Multan, the kidnapping of former premier Yousuf Raza Gillani's son, Ali Haider, and the murder of two police officials in Faisalabad.

Basharat revealed that in the murder of the ISI officers in Multan, a silver Honda City car was used which police and agencies were searching for. On January 13, the Honda City was spotted allegedly carrying terrorists to Sahiwal.

When footage from the Safe City cameras was looked at, it was discovered that Zeeshan's white Suzuki Alto was "also with the terrorists' car", the minister said.

He added that they would also share the video and pictures from the Safe City cameras which would show that Zeeshan's car "was also being used by the terrorists".

According to the minister, after tracing the car, surveillance footage between January 13 and 18 was reviewed and on January 18 it was "verified that Zeeshan was working with terrorists".

The same day (Jan 18), agency personnel reached Zeeshan's house and found terrorists present there along with explosive material, Basharat claimed.

He said since Zeeshan's house was located in a congested area, conducting an operation there was not feasible. He added that if an operation had been conducted there, many peoples' lives and houses would have been put in danger's way. It was therefore decided to wait for the suspected terrorists to leave in the car.

On January 19, the Safe City cameras spotted the white Alto in Manga area going from Sahiwal, Basharat said. Security agencies were informed of this development and because the car had gone outside Lahore, the CTD team was informed to stop the vehicle.

According to intelligence gathered at the time, the terrorists were "carrying explosives" and there was information that they were headed towards some congested area, Basharat said.

"When the car was stopped in Sahiwal, firing took place," the minister said, without elaborating. He added that the car's windows were "black" and people sitting on the back seat could not be seen. Zeeshan was driving the car himself, Basharat said.

He said the JIT formed has been tasked with determining "how and why the firing had taken place". Further action on the incident will be taken based on the JIT's report, he added.

CTD's stance
Quoting the stance of the CTD, the minister said Zeeshan had opened the fire first, but he noted that there was also the family's stance "which is why a determination of the incident is necessary".

He said the investigation team will determine why Khalil's family was travelling with Zeeshan and what relation Khalil had with Zeeshan.

Basharat claimed that two suicide jackets, eight hand grenades, two pistols and bullets were recovered from Zeeshan's car.

The JIT will also determine where Zeeshan was allegedly carrying these weapons and explosives and from whom he received them.

According to the minister, after news broke of the incident on Saturday afternoon, two terrorists present at Zeeshan's house saw the news on social media and fled the residence to go towards Gujranwala. He said agencies tracked these suspected terrorists and when CTD personnel surrounded them in Gujranwala, they "blew themselves up with suicide jackets".

He said if these terrorists had not been followed, they could have caused "very large-scale destruction in Punjab", adding that many threat alerts had been received on the matter.

"The elimination of these terrorists was necessary" which is why the ISI and CTD conducted this joint operation, Basharat said.

Recapping the chain of events that culminated in the deaths, Basharat said this operation was done on the basis of intelligence "because of which a lot of innocent citizens' lives have been saved".

He said Zeeshan was killed in Sahiwal on Saturday afternoon, and two other suspected terrorists, Abdur Rehman and Kashif, were killed in Gujranwala the same day at 11pm "which was a continuation of this same operation".

"Unfortunately because of the valuable loss of the Khalil family the credibility of this operation has been challenged," Basharat remarked, reading from a paper.

The minister assured that Prime Minister Imran Khan and the Punjab chief minister felt the pain of the affected family and based on their orders, the family will be provided justice. "No sort of compromises will be made with anyone in this matter," he stressed.

"I believe that this is the credibility of the current government, that without any discrimination we have to fulfil the requisites of justice," he said, promising that those found responsible in the incident will be brought to justice.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1458708/c...nsation-for-sahiwal-encounter-family-minister

Punjab Law Minister says Zeeshan had link with Daesh. Zeeshan's brother was recruited into Dolphin force last year after security clearance.

Would still be really weird.if all killed were non terrorist and all 3.terrorist got away despite firing. Does that seem plausible to you?

Even if the car had Osama Bin Laden in it, in what civilized country police open indiscriminate fire on civilians? And if the terrorists were using the family as human shield does it not make even more sense to not open fire? If the police weren't jahil paindus they would have employed tire strips (to burst the tire of the car) or to shoot at the tires of the car.

This is an extremely insensitive statement.
I’ll refrain from insulting you personally but I think an apology from you is needed.
Will you apologise?

Even if the car had Osama Bin Laden in it, in what civilized country police open indiscriminate fire on civilians? And if the terrorists were using the family as human shield does it not make even more sense to not open fire? If the police weren't jahil paindus they would have employed tire strips (to burst the tire of the car) or to shoot at the tires of the car.

Pakistani police force do not have tire strips, even if they do. I have never seen them have any, even if they dont have such things you cant blame them for it due to limited budget.

The tyre shooting does make sense and i have never understood why they never employ this strategy.

Anyways, intial reports suggest that yhe driver was a Daeesh terrorist and once he allegedly started shooting the police, the passengers automatically became hostages.

Now in such situations a hostage dies then one might argue that the ctd should be blamed a little.
However if the dricer is proven to be a ISIS guy then the blame lies on him not CTD

Thing is, pakistan cant be compared to other countrys. Our roads, checkpoint system is very different.

This is an extremely insensitive statement.
I’ll refrain from insulting you personally but I think an apology from you is needed.
Will you apologise?

Live in pakistan and you will understand better

Would still be really weird.if all killed were non terrorist and all 3.terrorist got away despite firing. Does that seem plausible to you?

Still people are bashing ctd left and right as if its some stupid force.

They dont carry out such activities without intelligence.

I agree we should wait for the final report, but i will side with CTD here if even 1 of the passengers was involved with isis

UK police shot dead a drug lord in his car a year ago, they gave justification that they had intelligence he was armed. I don't recall ever hearing of this sort of incident previously, and as the gangster was of Pakstani heritage, perhaps it was a unique case.

Still people are bashing ctd left and right as if its some stupid force.

They dont carry out such activities without intelligence.

I agree we should wait for the final report, but i will side with CTD here if even 1 of the passengers was involved with isis

So if he was not a terrorist, will you apologize or will you move the goal post?

Apologise for what? For having an opinion based on what i see?

Will people apologise here if the guy is from isis and yet we critisized the ctd?

Yes what happened with the kids is sad, but this image will be used by political opponents against PTI.

Live in pakistan and you will understand better

That is irrelevant.
The job the police are doing is irrelevant
Underfunding is irrelevant

Everything is irrelevant.

The fact you can’t see that and the fact you made that crass statement is extremely disappointing.

Will people apologise here if the guy is from isis and yet we critisized the ctd?

Yes what happened with the kids is sad, but this image will be used by political opponents against PTI.

Let me re-frame my question. Will you apologize for siding with the state organisation that kills its own citizens willy nilly if ALL victims are proven innocent?

That is irrelevant.
The job the police are doing is irrelevant
Underfunding is irrelevant

Everything is irrelevant.

The fact you can’t see that and the fact you made that crass statement is extremely disappointing.

Nothing is irrelevant if you dont bother to understand the factors here

So they execution style killed the older members of the family and spared the kids and you think there was a shootout? How much sense does that make?

Nothing is irrelevant if you dont bother to understand the factors here

Read your own post which I initially quoted.
The fact you can’t see it tells me there is no hope for you.

So that’s that then..
you don’t need to reply as I won’t reply back.

You didn't see anything, you assumed the Pakistan authorities version of the incident was the truth despite claims to the contrary from actual witnesses. What is more interesting is that you are usually very critical of Pakistani authorities, this time you rushed to support the execution of a family in their car.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="hi" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/SahiwalMassacre?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#SahiwalMassacre</a> V-log<br>A message to all political parties. Siasi bayaan nahi Awam ko Masail ka hal dain. Aaj tak <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/AmalUmer?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#AmalUmer</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NaqeebMehsud?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NaqeebMehsud</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Intezar?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Intezar</a> aur <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Maqsood?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Maqsood</a> kay khandan insaf kay muntazir hain<a href="https://t.co/CBLrTxEyy2">https://t.co/CBLrTxEyy2</a></p>— M. Jibran Nasir (@MJibranNasir) <a href="https://twitter.com/MJibranNasir/status/1087009713626189825?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 20, 2019</a></blockquote>

So they execution style killed the older members of the family and spared the kids and you think there was a shootout? How much sense does that make?

Intial reports suggest that there was a shoot out.

I understand you guys are angry but no need to take out ur anger on me.

Intial reports suggest that there was a shoot out.

I understand you guys are angry but no need to take out ur anger on me.

I guess we should all celebrate. Cheers mate. Initial reports were same on Naqeebullah Mehsood case. They are same on literally every fake encounter case. So forgive us if we don't incline towards believing the 'initial reports'.

SLAMABAD: The Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz on Sunday submitted an adjournment motion in the national assembly secretariat on the alleged extrajudicial killing in Sahiwal.

Four people – including three members of a family – were killed in an alleged encounter in Sahiwal on Saturday.

CTD personnel said they had killed a local commander of militant organisation Daesh and three others in the operation. Eyewitnesses, however, disputed the claim and said the people in the car did not fire at officials, nor were any explosives recovered from the vehicle.

The adjournment motion signed by former prime minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, Khawaja Asif, Rana Sanaullah, Maryam Aurangzeb and Ayaz Sadiq, said that the killing of citizens by police in front of their children is the most important issue for the country today, hence there should be a debate on it in the assembly.

"The government should give its response in the house," the motion said. "The government should tell why it failed in protecting the lives of the people."

https://www.geo.tv/latest/225707-pml-n-submits-adjournment-motion-in-na-on-sahiwal-shootout

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="hi" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/SahiwalMassacre?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#SahiwalMassacre</a> V-log<br>A message to all political parties. Siasi bayaan nahi Awam ko Masail ka hal dain. Aaj tak <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/AmalUmer?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#AmalUmer</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NaqeebMehsud?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NaqeebMehsud</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Intezar?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Intezar</a> aur <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Maqsood?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Maqsood</a> kay khandan insaf kay muntazir hain<a href="https://t.co/CBLrTxEyy2">https://t.co/CBLrTxEyy2</a></p>— M. Jibran Nasir (@MJibranNasir) <a href="https://twitter.com/MJibranNasir/status/1087009713626189825?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 20, 2019</a></blockquote>

PM of twitter back at it again to gain attention over a matter of national importance. Do chaar hazar vote miltay nahi acting aisi jaisi PM candidate hoon.

He talks sense and is a promising politician. Why the hate?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Listen to brother of Zeeshan, the man accused of being a <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Daesh?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Daesh</a> terrorist who was driving the car targeted in <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/SahiwalMassacre?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#SahiwalMassacre</a>. Brother claims he is a member of Dolphin police force. Says he provided his family details when he was inducted. Did LEAs carry no checks at the time <a href="https://t.co/ytDZcn3jR8">pic.twitter.com/ytDZcn3jR8</a></p>— M. Jibran Nasir (@MJibranNasir) <a href="https://twitter.com/MJibranNasir/status/1087086072872480770?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 20, 2019</a></blockquote>

SLAMABAD: The Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz on Sunday submitted an adjournment motion in the national assembly secretariat on the alleged extrajudicial killing in Sahiwal.

Four people – including three members of a family – were killed in an alleged encounter in Sahiwal on Saturday.

CTD personnel said they had killed a local commander of militant organisation Daesh and three others in the operation. Eyewitnesses, however, disputed the claim and said the people in the car did not fire at officials, nor were any explosives recovered from the vehicle.

The adjournment motion signed by former prime minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, Khawaja Asif, Rana Sanaullah, Maryam Aurangzeb and Ayaz Sadiq, said that the killing of citizens by police in front of their children is the most important issue for the country today, hence there should be a debate on it in the assembly.

"The government should give its response in the house," the motion said. "The government should tell why it failed in protecting the lives of the people."

https://www.geo.tv/latest/225707-pml-n-submits-adjournment-motion-in-na-on-sahiwal-shootout

Noora hypocrites-Did they do the same after 14 died at Model Town, when the orders came from either SS or Rana the Qatil?

It is a sad and bitter truth that Pakistan's anti "terrorist" agencies have over the years made it their habit to get rid of suspects via "encounters" and other style of extra-judicial killings.

If such an incident can happen in broad day light on a busy road, one can only wonder what kind of operations happen far away in remote areas without any media coverage where the accuracy to hit "terrorists" is 100%.

The incident should be investigated properly with proper consequences and a change in attitude on how things are conducted. Though I highly doubt it.

A compromise was reached between police officials and the protesting family members of Zeeshan Javaid, the man killed in Saturday's police 'encounter' in Sahiwal who the Punjab government alleges had links with Daesh, a proscribed terrorist organisation, DawnNewsTV reported.

Zeeshan's body, which was earlier lying on the road as his relatives protested on Sunday evening, was taken away by his family to be buried after talks were held between the police and the family members with assurances provided that justice will be served. The deceased was subsequently laid to rest.

Earlier in the day, following Punjab Law Minister Raja Basharat's remarks regarding Zeeshan's association with Daesh, Zeeshan's younger brother, Ehtisham, had categorically denied the allegations and demanded that the law minister step down from his post.

Ehtisham, who is a member of Punjab police's elite Dolphin Force, demanded justice for his older brother who he said was completely innocent.

"They labelled my brother a terrorist to hide their own cruelty," Ehtisham had said while protesting on Lahore's Ferozpur road.

Relatives and friends of Zeeshan, including a sizable number of women, had gathered to protest at the Chungi Amar Saadhu area of Ferozpur road.

"If Zeeshan is a terrorist then all the residents of the area and the entire neighbourhood are terrorists," Ehtisham had said, adding that "until the law minister resigns, the body [of Zeeshan] will lie right here".

The body of Zeeshan Javaid surrounded by protesters. — DawnNewsTV

The protesters had also demanded that the chief justice look into the matter and form a judicial commission.

Meanwhile, the three others killed in the horrifying incident — Khalil, Nabila and their teenage daughter Areeba — were laid to rest at the Shehre Khamosha graveyard in Lahore.

Funeral prayers of the deceased were not attended by any government representatives, DawnNewsTV reported.

'At the wrong place at the wrong time'

Meanwhile, Punjab Governor Chaudhry Mohammad Sarwar while addressing a news conference in Lahore earlier in the day said that incidents such as the Sahiwal 'encounter' take place all over the world.

"Whenever such an incident takes place, there is always a hue and cry: 'Is this the state of Madina (you had promised)? Is this Naya Pakistan?' Such incidents take place all over the world," he remarked.

"Punjab does not have the presence of Rangers ... it is the CTD who have alone tackled terrorism. When an incident occurs, instead of blaming the people responsible, we condemn the entire organisation," he said while appreciating the services the CTD has rendered to deal with "the menace of terrorism".

"Please do not condemn the intelligence agencies," he added.

"One thing is absolutely clear, the family members [of Khalil Ahmed] were innocent victims of the crime who were at the wrong place at the wrong time. But the intelligence agencies have irrefutable evidence regarding the car they were travelling in," the governor concluded.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1458714/f...encounter-end-protest-after-talks-with-police

This is the true of face of “Naya Pakistan”.

The PM has been running from his foriegn funding case for years, and now his sister has failed to provide the money trailer for her luxury properties in the U.S.

Meanwhile, there has been no improvement in law and order and you have the Governor of Punjab making stupid statements and providing shameless justifications.

“Happens everywhere”. That is what we heard from the previous governments. However, back then, PTI supporters were up in flames. What happened now?

When these incidents used to happen previously, Imran Khan would demand resignation from CM Punjab. Why isn’t Buzdar handing his resignation now?

Naya Pakistan is nothing but a scam; same old faces, same old negligence, same old results. However, we are supposed to buy into this scam and how everything will change because our leader said so.

Unfortunately, this is what we deserve for buying into this scam.

Its justified.

The officials dont fire at random here. They first give a signal to stop. And if they dont stop, then bullets are fired.

Yes you may critisized this is not proper way and all, then again we are country that has terrorism.

There are many possibilities here. If they were not terrorist, someone giving fake intelligence report just to creat chaos in the govt aswell

It is justified shooting at a car with children in it?

In a country like pakistan if you are told to stop your car by the authorities, then you should stop. No questions asked.

If you speed away even after being told to stop or fire back, then the police should retaliate. The blame of the victims should lye on the person who isnt following the orders of the authorities.

There is a reason why these checkposts exist and in the past many terrorist activities have been stopped due to checkposts.

Like i have said many times, the situation in pakistan is different compared to other countries, dont start comparing.

Anyways, im interested to know the final report. Right now its speculation

It is actually quite hilarious when you observe the mindset of PTI supporters. If Buzdar resigns today, they will be in awe of the decision and full of praise, and how PTI has shown others how it is done and this is Naya Pakistan etc.

However, now that Buzdar is not resigning, they are still supportive of this decision and are adamant that it is the right thing to do.

This is what I am have trying to explain for years now. Their is no concept of right or wrong for PTI supporters; the only right is the decision that Imran Khan and his party makes.

They will defend and justify everything. This is what happens when a party becomes a cult.

It is actually quite hilarious when you observe the mindset of PTI supporters. If Buzdar resigns today, they will be in awe of the decision and full of praise, and how PTI has shown others how it is done and this is Naya Pakistan etc. No

However, now that Buzdar is not resigning, they are still supportive of this decision and are adamant that it is the right thing to do.

This is what I am have trying to explain for years now. Their is no concept of right or wrong for PTI supporters; the only right is the decision that Imran Khan and his party makes.

They will defend and justify everything. This is what happens when a party becomes a cult.

So you are basically saying if he resigns you will still criticise them and if he does not you would do the same. The difference between you and them being ?

The difference between me and them is that I will appreciate the decision if he resigns.

However, they will appreciate whatever decision PTI makes.

It is actually quite hilarious when you observe the mindset of PTI supporters. If Buzdar resigns today, they will be in awe of the decision and full of praise, and how PTI has shown others how it is done and this is Naya Pakistan etc.

Buzdar should resign if he was part of the team that made the decision to shoot at the car without evaluating the evidence or was negligent in doing his Homework. If this decision was made at the operational level, and they are negligent or criminally negligent then they should be charged. The difference between this case and the Model town Massacre was that both SS and Rana the Qatil were both part of the decision making process to shoot unarmed demonstrators. So sorry to disappoint but your desperation to turn this tragedy into the PTI version of Model Town aint going to work. You are just desperate for anything. You once again talked about Aleema Khan case but ran when i challenged you. If you are a man and come onto the right thread.

The difference between me and them is that I will appreciate the decision if he resigns.

However, they will appreciate whatever decision PTI makes.

You are just desperate for anything- you just jump onto anything thread and then run when challenged. Dont you think the readers can see i humiliated yesterday when you tagged me in. Be a man and have a courage

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The grief & anger of the ppl of Pak on Sahiwal incident is understandable & justified. I assure the nation that when I return from Qatar not only will the guilty be given exemplary punishment but I will review the entire structure of Punjab police & start process of reforming it.</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1087257120871993344?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 21, 2019</a></blockquote>

This is poor form from the PTI and IK- the reforms of the Punjab Police should have started already. The Punjab Police was hired as a private army to protect the elite of the province in particuluar the Sharifs. At one point the the Sharifs had 3000 policemen protecting them. There needs to be root and branch reform.

I think you're being too harsh.

The problem within Pakistan and it's institutions has festered for decades under successive corrupt rulers and isn't going to suddenly transform in 6 months especially the police, given the sheer size of it in Lahore and intrenched corruption and abuse it has received from previous governments.

I think you're being too harsh.

The problem within Pakistan and it's institutions has festered for decades under successive corrupt rulers and isn't going to suddenly transform in 6 months especially the police, given the sheer size of it in Lahore and intrenched corruption and abuse it has received from previous governments.

But they have to grab the bull by the horn and say enough is enough. The Institutions have been destroyed by these "competent parties" and they cant just carry on as normal.

Now they are going to start reforming the police??? :facepalm:

Punjab police reform should have been priority number one for PTI. IK being let down by his team yet again.

Deal9ng with economy on brink of bankruptcy and getting rid of corruption are rightly the top two priorities. You cannot open battlefields everywhere within 4 months.

Lol by his team.

His team? Nice way to dodge the blame

If anyone believe Pakistan could be reform within months, let alone years, then they are the "trigger" critics of PTI, who would jump to any fault committed by those who are the product of the past governments, system and lay the blame on PTI, and to be fair, PTI is in power so they are to blame.

But, let's be responsible on your criticism as 'you' lot claim to be better than any of the PTI supporter.

Told me what? You flip flop like no tomorrow. I could say literally anything and you would have backed that stance at one point or the other.

I never flip flopped when I told you that getting individuals who are known for jumping ships will only hamper the progress of PTI in both long and short term. That NEVER changed. Be it Fawad Chaudhry, Usman Buzdar or any other lota in PTI. I was always against such inclusions.

Yes IK should give birth to 3000 children, wait from them to grow up and attain education, then induct them as his ministers and bureaucrats. Or he should pray for angels to come down to Pakistan and participate in governance.

So out of touch with reality :facepalm:

Yes IK should give birth to 3000 children, wait from them to grow up and attain education, then induct them as his ministers and bureaucrats. Or he should pray for angels to come down to Pakistan and participate in governance.

So out of touch with reality :facepalm:

You win. Now enjoy.

Some people needs to grow up and acknowledge that doing the same thing and expecting a different result is the definition of insanity. I would laugh at the policy of inducting the ‘electables’ if it wasn’t on the back of misery and injustice. People need to wake up and stop defending such policies.

Do you think all the information was incorrect?

Not necessarily. It all depends on the guilt or innocence of all the victims. My point is that if all victims were innocent, then it only leaves us with two possibilities, either the CTD acted on its own initiative or they were provided with bad intelligence. If we go by the child's statement then it suggests that money/bribery was not a factor. So it is unlikely that the victims were asked to pay bribe to the CTD. Therefore the plausible conclusion is that they were provided with bad intel. So its one of several possibilities.

I agree, I think they thought they were dealing with a dangerous terrorists and they didn't want to risk their lives thinking that they might have suicide vests etc with them. This was a big miscalculation but it can't be ruled out that human shields were being used. This episode shows the poor training of the guys because they could have shot at the tyres if they weren't sure.

I believe the security forces have a habit of taking coletral damage lightly. As in the dead can't speak, while the relatives left behind are too powerless to do anything. Unlucky for them that this incident involved young kids and many eye witnesses and didn't happen in a remote area.

This lose conduct explains all the previous incidents too where police has been found lying and sabotaging the evidence by placing weapons on the deceased to prove them as legitimate targets. The non-chalant way they go about these things is frightening.

This is so tragic and absolute barbarianism from the jahil police. I hope those involved get sentenced to hell for this.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Listen to brother of Zeeshan, the man accused of being a <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Daesh?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Daesh</a> terrorist who was driving the car targeted in <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/SahiwalMassacre?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#SahiwalMassacre</a>. Brother claims he is a member of Dolphin police force. Says he provided his family details when he was inducted. Did LEAs carry no checks at the time <a href="https://t.co/ytDZcn3jR8">pic.twitter.com/ytDZcn3jR8</a></p>— M. Jibran Nasir (@MJibranNasir) <a href="https://twitter.com/MJibranNasir/status/1087086072872480770?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 20, 2019</a></blockquote>

Lanat on our pathetic security institutions. Lanat on pathetic rogue police force. Ghatiya. Absolutely pathetic. I am lost for words.

The Lahore High Court on Tuesday summoned Punjab Inspector General of Police (IGP) Amjad Javed Saleemi to court while taking up a petition demanding an impartial inquiry into the Sahiwal killings through a judicial commission.

The elite Punjab police had in a fake encounter on Saturday killed four people, including parents Khalil and Nabeela, their teenage daughter, and neighbour Zeeshan, sending shock waves across the country as one of the couple's three surviving children who were witness to the episode denied the official version in a video that went viral on social media.

The Punjab government maintained that Zeeshan had links to Daesh and was "working with terrorists", and that the slain family members were all "collateral damage". Following the incident, a joint investigation team (JIT) was formed to probe the matter, and a first information report was registered against the CTD officials involved in the operation, who were taken into custody on the chief minister's orders.

Lawyer Mian Asif Mahmood had on Monday petitioned the LHC arguing that the JIT formed by the provincial government would not be able to find out the truth and hold the responsible police personnel accountable for their crime.

The petitioner contended that the incident was "a matter of people's lives and the high court holds the authority to investigate". It argued that the government should have created a commission to inquire into the counter, rather "it formed a JIT and did away with its responsibility".

The government does not want a transparent inquiry into the Sahiwal incident, the petitioner claimed, calling for the formation of a judicial commission headed by a sitting judge to look into the matter and accord punishment to those responsible for the deaths.

He pointed out that the statistics of Punjab police revealed that it conducted 247 encounters in 2017, 91 in 2018 and about seven were reported during the first month of 2019.

The petitioner asked the court to direct the prime minister to constitute a judicial commission to hold an impartial inquiry into the incident. He submitted that the Punjab chief minister should also be directed to furnish a copy of a detailed report regarding the incident and other fake encounters and action taken against the police personnel.

He also sought a direction for the provincial police chief to bar his officials from opening fire on fleeing suspects and not equip them with automatic weapons.

The petitioner also pleaded that the provincial government be directed to initiate a compensatory relief package for the victims of the Sahiwal incident and execute the guilty cops within 90 days as had happened in the case of Zainab Amin, a minor who was raped and murdered in Kasur.

LHC Chief Justice Sardar Mohammad Shamim Ahmed commented that only the federal government has the power to form a commission to probe the matter.

The lawyer representing the government told the court that a joint investigation team had been formed to probe the incident already and "the government is taking the matter very seriously".

While accepting the petition for hearing, Justice Khan summoned the IGP Saleemi to court on January 24, ordering him to bring along all of the documents pertaining to the case.

"It is a matter of public interest," the LHC chief justice asserted.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1459095/lhc-summons-punjab-police-chief-over-fake-encounter-in-sahiwal