[AUDIO/VIDEO] Sarfaraz Ahmed's derogatory comments to Andile Phehlukwayo...

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Sarfaraz Ahmed to Andile Phehlukwayo:<br><br>"abbay kaale teri Ami kahan bethi hoyi hain aaj, kya parhwa kay aya hai aaj"<br><br>"black man wheres your mother sat? What have you asked your mother to pray for you today?"<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/SAvPAK?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#SAvPAK</a> <a href="https://t.co/vw6yuE73OE">pic.twitter.com/vw6yuE73OE</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1087776394329944064?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 22, 2019</a></blockquote>

Uneducated and more-so this happens daily in our community. This is their way of defining someone, unfortunately.

He really got carried away with this one, everyone in Asia would understand this language what was he thinking?

Ban incoming. Could very well lose his captaincy.

This tweet could land Sarfraz in a lot of trouble.

The final nail in the quite heavy coffin of Sarfraz’s captaincy.

wondering why he was saying that in Urdu, a language Phehlukwayo would not understand? If you want to sledge someone at least make sure they can understand what you are saying.

It's sounds really bad and there is no room for any racist comments in this sport esp towards a South African player!

However I dont believe Sarfraz is being intentionally racist as such words are a figure of speech.

Most Pakistani posters on this forum has used such language. Sure this needs to change but it's unfair to say he meant it in a racist manner.

Idiot exposing himself. Never liked this guy as he clearly had lack of brain cells. Disgusting and should be banned and captaincy stripped!

Everyone was crying how he needs to develop decency and class as a captain and stop this shouting and over the top reactions, well he didn't listen anybody and it is going to cost him his career.

PCB will be forced to sack him now. No chance. It's as damaging as Afridi's ball biting incident.

There are many Desis in SA who speak that language,you think they would had missed it?

I did and I was watching it live. It was hard to pick up at the time.

This is permanent proof on the Internet.

This kind of rac-ism is quite common here.

In fact in entire South Asia.

Doesn't change the fact it's utterly disgusting. Though, wait for his fans to flock to this thread and defend how it's "street behavior in Karachi" and is normal.

After all, he's learned it on the streets and is a street fighter.

If this blows up this could be as big as the Harbhajan - Symonds issue.

The next 6 hours are going to be crucial.

I did and I was watching it live. It was hard to pick up at the time.

This is permanent proof on the Internet.

Everyone mentioned it in the match thread itself, noway were broadcasters gonnna miss this.

This was made in SA. SA cricket won't let this go seeing how strict they are with their quotas.

Pretty bad.

If a white person said 'brown' he'd been sacked. Even if it was harmless Sarfi is an international player, a captain no less, he knows and has been taught about sensitive issues as racism.

99.99% of south Asians are racists, why be hypocrites?

I’m sure we’ve all heard our parents/relatives say racist stuff.

With that being said, Sarfraz should be sent home.

This was made in SA. SA cricket won't let this go seeing how strict they are with their quotas.

That's what I was thinking too. That's the last country he want to make such remarks in.

Everyone focussed on racisim, I am also wondering why the heck was he mentioning his mother in a derogatory manner and that too in Urdu which the batsman doesn't understand

even in presentation ceremony he said : i think is a very difficlut name phoolo khilo hahaha

This is beyond disgusting.. no room in cricket or any game for that kind of language. This will explode - last thing you would want a few months before the world cup.

Yes.

But, when you're captaining a national side and representing your country, that too at a place where this kind of racism has ugly history, you DON'T DO IT IN A LIVE MATCH.

Being an international cricketer and a captain, he has been taught sensitive racial issues.

This is not on.

I'm all for sledging, very ugly and aggressive sledging, but you cannot bring in racism or religious hatred.

Yes, you can be as racist as you want, no one cares. But when you act out your racisim then it's a problem and you have to face the consequence.

Looks like Rizwan will be playing the next match.
6 month ban coming in

I just hope this does not effect South Africa's potential tour to Pakistan!

Sarfraz should just come out and apologize right away before this blows out

PCB needs to set an example and ask him to step down from the captaincy. This is unacceptable and inhuman. Sarfaraz has really exposed himself here

Try being racist in a multicultural set up in a western country. Probably end up in jail.

Absolutely pathetic comments.

Thing is, in South Asia, this type of casual racism is common.

But when you represent your country at the international stage, especially as a captain... you have certain responsibilities.

He needs to be banned for a few games. Disgusting stuff.

If he does not get suspended by PCB here, PCB has no moral conscience and is toothless in terms of authority. This action cannot be tolerated.

And what the heck does he mean by, "Maa Ko kidhar bithaya hain aaj "

He's implying that he sent his mother to sit and pray for him somewhere (which is why he's doing so well). The part that won't sit well internationally is the part that he said "abay kaale" and the truth is that people address each other (within friends too) quite commonly in this way in Pakistan/India, and isn't particularly seen as derogatory (though it should be). It's the same way how calling someone a monkey in Urdu/Hindi is not particularly derogatory.

The fact that Sarfaraz is unaware (probably) of how disgusting it is to say something like that in South Africa doesn't surprise me as he comes across as someone who isn't educated in cultures internationally. Still don't know how why these kind of things can't be taught to players. I know some of you might be thinking that you shoudln't need to educate people to not call someone else "kaala" but let's face it: it's quite common in Pakistan even though professionally it might not be, and the context of the struggles of black minority in SA might help educate players.

Oh its gonna ,too late now,rather he shud have controlled himselff

This is in SA. I know he probably said it out of frustration or thought it's funny and didn't realize the magnitude. PCB PR team should have Sarf apologize right away and nip this in the bud.

Ek hota hi pair pe kulhadi marna.. This one is vice versa. No doubt saying Kaala is very common in our culture. But we all know it's not acceptable

It's sounds really bad and there is no room for any racist comments in this sport esp towards a South African player!

However I dont believe Sarfraz is being intentionally racist as such words are a figure of speech.

Most Pakistani posters on this forum has used such language. Sure this needs to change but it's unfair to say he meant it in a racist manner.

It is not a figure of speech when you refer to a black person by the colour of his/her skin. You are right that casual racism is deeply integrated in our society. However, that is not an excuse for Sarfraz. Not only is he the captain of the team, he was on live tv. In this day and age, these things hardly go unnoticed.

He was clearly being racist. That is beyond any doubt.

Everyone focussed on racisim, I am also wondering why the heck was he mentioning his mother in a derogatory manner and that too in Urdu which the batsman doesn't understand

According to Sarfaraz, Phehlukwayo's good luck was because of her mother's dua hence mentioning her. Very poor from Sarfaraz and it will be very difficult for him to explain it if asked about this.

Some action is needed right away to mitigate. A racist brand is very tough to get rid off

He's implying that he sent his mother to sit and pray for him somewhere (which is why he's doing so well). The part that won't sit well internationally is the part that he said "abay kaale" and the truth is that people address each other (within friends too) quite commonly in this way in Pakistan/India, and isn't particularly seen as derogatory (though it should be). It's the same way how calling someone a monkey in Urdu/Hindi is not particularly derogatory.

The fact that Sarfaraz is unaware (probably) of how disgusting it is to say something like that in South Africa doesn't surprise me as he comes across as someone who isn't educated in cultures internationally. Still don't know how why these kind of things can't be taught to players. I know some of you might be thinking that you shoudln't need to educate people to not call someone else "kaala" but let's face it: it's quite common in Pakistan even though professionally it might not be, and the context of the struggles of black minority in SA might help educate players.
Even in our society its taken as offensively
If you say this word to someone who is not your friend, relative etc and here we are talking about SA who is strict about racism.

Shows his mentality. This guy is a country captain. PCB should educate these guys. They are always on social media but they don’t really work on their personal grooming. Look at most of the Indian players come from same backgrounds but they are polished within 2 to 3 years into international cricket

I heard the word Kaala or kallu by every Desi I know living in US. It's not a big deal for them. But it is a derogatory word

It is not a figure of speech when you refer to a black person by the colour of his/her skin. You are right that casual racism is deeply integrated in our society. However, that is not an excuse for Sarfraz. Not only is he the captain of the team, he was on live tv. In this day and age, these things hardly go unnoticed.

He was clearly being racist. That is beyond any doubt.

When u go to country having rich history of racism and latwr having strict laws against racism , u need to have brain before u utter such rubbish.. even 15 y old kids know you shudnt use anything black related in SAf ( not anywhere but damn in saf?)

Shud bw banned for ashaming his country ,he is a goddamn captain of international team representing pakistan

Being a good caring neighbours, Indians reporters should ask about opinion on this incident to South Africa captain during press conference. Haha that would be 😋

Even in our society its taken as offensively
If you say this word to someone who is not your friend, relative etc and here we are talking about SA who is strict about racism.

Precisely, calling someone ***** in Pakistan would get your **** beat very quick if you don't know that person. And he said it in a country which has suffered massively due to racism. Poor stuff. I don't think he meant to be racist but damn he was tone deaf.

Everything else is fine except "kaalay". That's a racial slur and he deserves to be dropped and banned for it. There's absolutely no place for this in the game.

PCB needs to do better in making clear what is okay and what is not okay on the field. Racial slurs are worthy of a lengthy ban.