Australia v Pakistan | 2nd ODI | Sydney | 23/01/10 [Pak Inngs]

WNC said:
Yeah, I'm sure Yousuf's the reason Akmal got bowled, or Afridi top-edged yet another delivery when there were loads of overs left, or that Younis Khan couldn't get off the mark, right?

Yes he's made mistakes, big blunders but in this match, it's the batting that has screwed us up yet again.

I say Ban :afridi and then we will start winning.

powerplay taken

good captaincy!

show us your T20 credentials (to teh IPL) lol

abdul2009 said:
personally wouldnt be upset for losing to aussies....
Sometimes you go to give it up to the superior team, there is no shame in it

but the manner of defeat should worry. Pak are way beter than this

bala977 said:
I am perfectly happy to crawl back wherever I came from ... some fans are beyond any reasoning & it is evident that you are one of those ... I would advise you to spend your energy supporting a U-19 player than someone from this useless bunch (U Akmal inclusive)

Let me break down the math for you assuming Afridi played sensibly..

1) Overs 21-40 ... knock it around. 5 runs an over ... get pakistan to 170-180.
2) Powerplay 41-45 ... hit around 40-50 runs .. get pak close to 220
3) Last 5 years ... go hell for leather .. try to chase down the remaining runs ... the target would be 7-8 an over ... possible & probable

There ... thank me

It's got nothing to do with reasoning, it's about knowing what the situation is, knowing something about the players, who are batting and then opening your mouth. I know that's too difficult for you to grasp.

How about I break up the Math for you

Afridi got out when the score was 58 at 21.4 overs
5 runs an over for 18 overs = 90

That would mean at the 40 overs mark is 148.

So that would mean going at 12 runs an over for 10 overs to win the game. And that's with no recognised batsmen left in the shed and being able to do this for 28 overs. Yeah great idea Einstein!!!

The match was pretty much gone by the time Afridi came. As the last recognised batsman in the side, it was always going take a Herculean effort to snatch the victory. Today Afridi decided it wasn't going to be a day for something spectacular, although he still treated the world to a monstrous six.

Don't worry though, you will be informed when Afridi decided it's time for your team to be butchered to smithereens.

cant understand the moyo hate..if this was afridi or younis fighting it out wewould be hearing:" what a fighting knock" or "the captain is playing a gem" or" what a fighter""...pray tell what is moyo supposed to do? bat for the numbskulls? especially beastman afridi? thats was a stupid shot!

insaaniyat said:
No make MR iZero aka iQuit the captain again:))
Again even if Yk becomes captain he would be light years ahead of mr No Brain. :))) :))) :)))

It's got nothing to do with reasoning, it's about knowing what the situation is, knowing something about the players, who are batting and then opening your mouth. I know that's too difficult for you to grasp.

So that would mean going at 12 runs an over for 10 overs to win the game. And that's with no recognised batsmen left in the shed and being able to do this for 28 overs. Yeah great idea Einstein!!!

The match was pretty much gone by the time Afridi came. As the last recognised batsman in the side, it was always going take a Herculean effort to snatch the victory. Today Afridi decided it wasn't going to be a day for something spectacular, although he still treated the world to a monstrous six.

Don't worry though, you will be informed when Afridi decided it's time for your team to be butchered to smithereens.

Very well said.

I think we misunderstand Bala - its point of view is that Shilpa and Friends really rejected Pakistani players based upon the fact that they are pretty bad. The security of players and oter considerations such as the Prime Ministers phone call had nothing to do with it.
:14: :14: :14: :14: Nail on the head!! :14: :14:

I say Ban :afridi and then we will start winning.

Kya yaar Rameez bhai, aap to sensible side dekh liya karo....

You guys are saying the match was lost by the time Afridi came to the crease, but that's not the excuse. Sure it was a herculean task, but not impossible. Again, am not saying that we would've won had Afridi stayed at the crease, but my arguement is that the match is already lost so you have the license to go for anything and everything is not the right way, in my opinion anyway...........

As I said before, the batting f-ed up yet again, all batsmen bar Mohommad Yousuf and Rana failed.

And as I type this, Moyo gets out.

yea brilliant logic pal - basically you're saying he threw in the towel, cos the top order had collapsed

well wow-wie give this man the captaincy, cos he'll definately deliver another day

Idiotic

I think we misunderstand Bala - its point of view is that Shilpa and Friends really rejected Pakistani players based upon the fact that they are pretty bad. The security of players and oter considerations such as the Prime Ministers phone call had nothing to do with it.

Simple business decision MIG bhai ... all things being equal, you always choose the option that has a lower risk. Here the risk factor was a combination of performance, availability and security ...

Had Mohd Aamer consistently given spell binding performances in a winning cause (or) Umar Akmal came up with out of the blue batting performances, the franchises would have found a way to rationalise security and availability fears...

Given that there are only a few slots to go around for foreign players, the franchises have been right to determine that no Pak player is worth it (this time around only)

In the next years "mega auction" in July, definitely some Pak players will be picked .. unless they choose to opt out because their "pride is hurt" .. let us see

Ok jee.. time for me to take leave
I would say Ajmal will win us the match... but my hallucinations and fanatsies for the night are over :26:

tauseefm said:
yea another meaningful inning

Bus karo yaar. The best batsmen in Aussie conditions scored a whopping duck and even if he was around, his innings would have made moyo's innings look like a T20 one!

Khabri420 said:
Bus karo yaar. The best batsmen in Aussie conditions scored a whopping duck and even if he was around, his innings would have made moyo's innings look like a T20 one!
excatly like his was in the previous ODI :D

Pakistan | 9/124 | 36 Overs | Yousuf gone | Australia need 1 wicket

Afridi is a brainless cricketer or may be he is not, if Moyo wins the series, Moyo may be retained as captain, malik the menace may be at it again

insaaniyat said:
what was YK SR?:))) :))) :)))
I am just answering u the way u were to me in the previous match :D. u were keep shoving down yk's strike rate to people throat, kuch yaad aya?

tauseefm said:
excatly like his was in the previous ODI :D

Ok so if its come down to this.....who's scored more runs in the series so far

2 + 58 = 60 vs 46 + 0 = 46.

I know there's a tough competition going on between the two but the title is still open for anyone's taking :yk

tauseefm said:
I am just answering u the way u were to me in the previous match :D. u were keep shoving down yk's strike rate to people throat, kuch yaad aya?

and what is YK's strike rate for this match? :yk

PapaBear said:
Ajmal keeping Gul off strike, knows how to play with tail enders.

Really spearheading the chase here. Aussies seem to be in a spot of bother

Indiafan said:
why do you have to keep on bringing India into things? If you havent noticed, our disease has been winning us matches after matches after matches but your approach is leading only to losses. Still you think its better? If it was an Indian player instead of Afridi, wouldnt u say he isnt great till he takes you over the winning line? What changed here or is it simply double standards?

And a RRR of 7 is nothing nowadays. Wasnt RRR over 7 when White started hitting last match?

Our approach is a problem, but not in the way you're thinking. We lost today, because their opening bowlers bowled well and our openers went into their shells, allowed the pressure to build. We need more aggression in the side, particularly at the top. We also need a change at the helm.

India for all the noise you've made on their behalf have yet to beat Australia, South Africa and other teams away from home. It's all well and good preparing pancakes at home and allowing your batsmen to prosper, but outside of India, your batsmen aren't going to have it as easy and you water pistol bowling attack isn't going to win you many matches and neither has anyone quaking in its boots.

In terms of today's match does 5 wickets down, 42 on the board chasing 268 obviously count for anything? Because that's precisely the situation Afridi faced when he came into bat. In other words and please take your time reading the next bit, so you might understand the point I'm trying to make. The damage had already been done by the time he came to bat. To win from that position with tailenders to follow and maintain 7 an over for the next 28 overs would have been an extremely tall order, but possible. That's the charm of the unpredictability of Afridi. For the love of God, you in particular should learn to accept it!

Oh and in case you missed it, Australia needed 7 an over for 10 overs, not 28, when White was batting in the first match.

Khabri420 said:
and what is YK's strike rate for this match? :yk
In first ODI Yk's strike rate was 62.12 :D Boooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo now go to sleep mr No Brain fans

Jang Headline tomorrow
Sharamnak Shikast or may be aik aur Sharamnak Shikast!!

Now Aijaz Butt will definitely go, we just need to loose 3 more ODIs and job is done,

tauseefm said:
In first ODI Yk's strike rate was 62.12 :D Boooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo now go to sleep mr No Brain fans

It's just a fun WWF cricket you know.

pakistani players didnt come out to shake hands. Whats going inside?? phadda of some sort?? or players dejected after a loss :(

I don't know what to say but there has to be changes after the tour. It's the basics as well as the mentaly weak minds shown that need to be adressed. Give credit to aus but there is no excuse to surrender like this.

KA$H said:
yea brilliant logic pal - basically you're saying he threw in the towel, cos the top order had collapsed

well wow-wie give this man the captaincy, cos he'll definately deliver another day

Idiotic

You've obviously misunderstood what I said.

It wasn't just the top order, it was the top and middle order (barring Yousuf). What the hell did you want from him? 7.5 an over for 28 overs, either you wanted him to play that shot or not? Would you have complained if that had gone for 6?

In such a situation the order of the day, particularly if Afridi is out in the middle is to just go for it. You don't have much more to lose, and you've got everything to gain. If you fail to understand such a simple concept, then I suggest you seek psychological help immediately.

Firstly, Australia were excellent with the ball and in the field.

Pakistan did not bowl especially well with the new ball. But I am not sure why Yousuf decided to bowl first. It was a bit harder to bat under the lights.

You've obviously misunderstood what I said.

It wasn't just the top order, it was the top and middle order (barring Yousuf). What the hell did you want from him? 7.5 an over for 28 overs, either you wanted him to play that shot or not? Would you have complained if that had gone for 6?

In such a situation the order of the day, particularly if Afridi is out in the middle is to just go for it. You don't have much more to lose, and you've got everything to gain. If you fail to understand such a simple concept, then I suggest you seek psychological help immediately.

Afridi is part of the middle order

as you say, when he came in there were 28 overs to play

his job as an allrounder was to stick around with his skipper. A 20 over partnership was what the situation called for - NOT 6 and out tailenders innings that he did today

he is not the only one responsible for the loss today, the alarming lack of fight and cricket sense of Afridi showed signs that V2 has downgraded back to V1

looks like the abject collapses will long continue under Afridi's tenure if his mindset continues and is indeed as you say

That was a dissapointing shot from Afridi, He knows he is not strong on the pull shot, the Aussies were buzzing with energy and he should have atleast had some sort of partnership with Yousaf before he decided to go full monty.

Afridi is his own worst enemies. I dont know what it will take for him to learn to play safe ground strokes to keep the score board ticking over instead of playing cross bat risky shots so early in his innings.

Having said that, he isnt the main reason we lost. The entire top order is to blame as usual. The team seriously needs a batting coach on a full time basis.

Savak said:
That was a dissapointing shot from Afridi, He knows he is not strong on the pull shot, the Aussies were buzzing with energy and he should have atleast had some sort of partnership with Yousaf before he decided to go full monty.

Afridi is his own worst enemies. I dont know what it will take for him to learn to play safe ground strokes to keep the score board ticking over instead of playing cross bat risky shots so early in his innings.

Having said that, he isnt the main reason we lost. The entire top order is to blame as usual. The team seriously needs a batting coach on a full time basis.

You do know, that these sort of things are learned when you are young.
How to bat, according to situation.
What are your strong points .. your weak points....
I doubt if a coach can help players past their prime.... Infact, i am sure even a batting coach wouldnt be able to help the clueless Malik and horrible Misbah and some of the others who are in the team...

Same here. tired and sick of this **** performance by our batsmen from last 5-6 months or almost a year..... its about time some serious changes are made. otherwise this team will be worse then BD aswell and if they keep loosing series after series so they will be soon on no 10 in ratings....new [cb chairman and new captain and new players in the odi team...

No matter what people say "oh its a good attack" , "They number 1".....are no excuses to get bowled out for 127 on any track! Its pathetic to lose without a fight. I saw the opening overs and saw how Butt started slow, I knew at that point we were going to lose.

They had gone back for their tuk tuk approach as opposed for going after the bowling like they did for the first ODI and this wicket was even more batsmen friendly. Yeah Siddle and Bollinger bowled well but they are not world beaters. Hit them, unsettle them....especially Siddle, he is a hot head and India just treated him like a kid and he kept feeding them the deliveries they wanted. If you do this tuk tuk, you are right away telling the opposition we fear you. I wonder how many more matches we have to lose until people realize this ODI team is a insult to our past ODI teams with this very ultra defensive approach. It will probably take another World Cup debacle to do so.

Amir said:
No matter what people say "oh its a good attack" , "They number 1".....are no excuses to get bowled out for 127 on any track! Its pathetic to lose without a fight. I saw the opening overs and saw how Butt started slow, I knew at that point we were going to lose.

They had gone back for their tuk tuk approach as opposed for going after the bowling like they did for the first ODI and this wicket was even more batsmen friendly. Yeah Siddle and Bollinger bowled well but they are not world beaters. Hit them, unsettle them....especially Siddle, he is a hot head and India just treated him like a kid and he kept feeding them the deliveries they wanted. If you do this tuk tuk, you are right away telling the opposition we fear you. I wonder how many more matches we have to lose until people realize this ODI team is a insult to our past ODI teams with this very ultra defensive approach. It will probably take another World Cup debacle to do so.
One problem with your theory about the Indian Gods:

They 'unsettled' Siddle on pitches so devoid of life that the pitiable situation in Africa had begun to look like a big party in comparison. We were playing on a fast track, with bowlers bowling upwards of 150kph and moving it around under lights. No excuse to get bowled out for 127, but it was an excellent bowling performance.

Im so proud of you guys..

we failed in the gabba but thats ok cause we had sydney to make up for it...after dominating for almost the whole test, we throw it away at the end. then we hope to get atleast 1 win in hobart,but we get wrecked there too.. so now we are like, 'its ok, revenge in the odis!'. we give a great batting performance but still lose. then we are like, 'its ok, next match!'. and we get all out for 127 there too.. not to mention losing 2-1 to NZ in odi's and almost losing the test series there..so now whats the excuse?replacing one or 2 players or changing the captain isnt going to change much, these are just becoming ways of trying to justify why we lost now.. i cant see any reason for the team to have motivation now to win the next odi match/matches..

Easa said:
One problem with your theory about the Indian Gods:

They 'unsettled' Siddle on pitches so devoid of life that the pitiable situation in Africa had begun to look like a big party in comparison. We were playing on a fast track, with bowlers bowling upwards of 150kph and moving it around under lights. No excuse to get bowled out for 127, but it was an excellent bowling performance.

I get that but doesn't mean you have to play its like an ODI in the 1970s. I Am not saying slog. But have some intent for crying sakes! The minute you are 2 rns an over, the opposition know you are already scared seeing as the whole tour you showed them how mentally weak you truly are.

Excuses excuses excuses is all we come up with for these lullos. "But it was a fast track." The hell it wasn't. It was flat, look how Australia started. Its weird how spinners did better than pacers on a fast track. The carry was normal, Gabba was a fast track. No wonder why we have a crap team, when we have fans who just keep looking for one excuse after another. If it is not the pitch, its because they are inexperienced, or the other team is unbeatable (when not true).

Pout.JPG