Australia v Pakistan | 2nd Test - Day 1 | SCG | 3/01/10

hur rizvi said:
No i think if Aamer would have been there Aussies should have got out under 100
Or they might have made 200.

Or they might have all fallen in a daze after being dazzled by his sun-cream.

Who knows. :13:

Let's just enjoy and savour the wonderful position we are in, and commend the 11 guys who got us there without quibbling about ifs and buts and whatnots! :)

hur rizvi said:
No i think if Aamer would have been there Aussies should have got out under 100

But the fact he didn't play and leave with it. and please No Ifs And Butts you have to Accept it thats the fact Blessing in Disguise. If Aamer play may be Sami Wouldn't be playing because Gul would get chance ahead of him and Today Sami Was Destroyer of the upper order so enjoy man and be happy .

luvthegame said:
Check this out:

http://stats.cricinfo.com/ci/engine...=runs;template=results;type=team;view=innings

every time aussies score below 150 they end up losing the match.

If our batsman can put up a big total, we can win Inshallah.

Bit of correction there, Australia did win when we bowled them out for 127 in Colombo. How come you forgot that famous game where Shoaib destroyed them out single handedly.

Oh and having said that Australia did score 127 here as well , oh my Gosh :|

Good come back Sami. he started it. Asif finished it. Openers survive new ball and bad light. If they can put up a big score, then its game on.

Aussies were too ecstatic to win at MCG. This will bring them down and show the world what Pak is made of.

luvthegame said:
Good come back Sami. he started it. Asif finished it. Openers survive new ball and bad light. If they can put up a big score, then its game on.

Aussies were too ecstatic to win at MCG. This will bring them down and show the world what Pak is made of.

Iron or metal

WithLoveFromCanada said:
Bit of correction there, Australia did win when we bowled them out for 127 in Colombo. How come you forgot that famous game where Shoaib destroyed them out single handedly.

This stat is for in Australia and not away....

luvthegame said:
This stat is for in Australia and not away....

Thank God, it inspired some hope within me too as they have scored 127 again. This home and away thing I will be using as my motivation factor :) :D

WithLoveFromCanada said:

ya it is a worried point

gollumbird said:
The pitch looks white as a Sharjah pitch! Doesn't look so green to me on my laptop! I think the Aussies will have a field day today!
:))) :))) :))) :)))

You meant they would be fielding today?

I just coud'nt stop watching the game today to post here. Just opened the thread and I wanted to read every comment, it is 42 pages, come on guys!!!

Dare i say it BUT the openers looked in a good nick ( :younis )

DELIGHTED with the day's play - yes it would have been nice to have the Aussies out for less than a 100 BUT 127 is still pretty special - and our openers survived 4 overs at the end and scored 14 runs. Good stuff

Inshallah these 2 survive atleast an hour tomorrow morning - its crucial they along with Faisal set up a platform for the middle order to get us past the Aussie total and some

PapaBear said:
I just coud'nt stop watching the game today to post here. Just opened the thread and I wanted to read every comment, it is 42 pages, come on guys!!!
There are a few gems in those 42 pages.

kamranO said:
GEO Sports.

Says:

1. Mohammad Asif needs support from the other end otherwise he is not effective.
2. Muhammad Asif is not a horse for every course. He needs conditions. Today was ideal for him.

WithLoveFromCanada said:

BUT that was in the 2nd innings - they had a 188 run lead

Well we have to start again. Just forget about that first innings and try and restrict the Pakistanis to a lead of 100-150 or so. If we can do that we're in with a chance.

Geordie Ahmed said:
BUT that was in the 2nd innings - they had a 188 run lead

Correct!

But bit of similarities though as well like we were batting last in that test match and we will be here too.

Australia winning the toss and electing to bat first (then and now)

Oh and biggest of them all, Bhanja part of the team in both matches.

GEO Sports.

Says:

1. Mohammad Asif needs support from the other end otherwise he is not effective.
2. Muhammad Asif is not a horse for every course. He needs conditions. Today was ideal for him.
it seems like Amir has difficulty praising players

WithLoveFromCanada said:
Bit of similarities though as well like we were batting last in that test match and we will be here too.
We don't need to, you know. :umarakmal

WithLoveFromCanada said:
Correct!

But bit of similarities though as well like we were batting last in that test match and we will be here too.

we will put 500:) don't worry 250 x 2:)

WithLoveFromCanada said:
Correct!

Bhanja made 83 in the 1st innings in that match - would be nice if he matches it here :bhanja

Geordie Ahmed said:
Bhanja made 83 in the 1st innings in that match - would be nice if he matches it here :bhanja

Yeah, but considering the amount of test matches he get every year, thats a kind of achievement by him haha.

Aamir Sohail seems to be the Pakistani equivalent of Bob Willis - good player, never great, but felt he should have been. And now hyper-critical of everyone and everything with a good line in snide comments and snarky quotes.

ShehryarK said:
Aamir Sohail seems to be the Pakistani equivalent of Bob Willis - good player, never great, but felt he should have been. And now hyper-critical of everyone and everything with a good line in snide comments and snarky quotes.
always critical, no matter how good we do, remind me of couple of post here

WithLoveFromCanada said:
i hope we get 500 and never bat again. i wouldn't want to chase even 100 runs in second innings.
yes. i hope our batting clicks, that is our weak link. our fielding was very improved today

Naheen yaar. Page2 is for fun.

thanks for enlightining me some body posted it as interesting news in big pardon make a thread that's why i was so curious

insaaniyat said:
always critical, no matter how good we do, remind me of couple of post here
LOL! I agree - I guess that's human nature. Some people can never be happy, and always look for a dark cloud on the horizon even when its bright and sunny and they should be out enjoying the weather :)

Aamer Sohail: "Moyo has plenty to larn as a captain. Was submissive at times. Not proactive. Only two slips after 7 wickets were down. Pakistan could have got them under 100, had Moyo shown aggression.

Only good thing was when he supported and talked to Asif."

ShehryarK said:
LOL! I agree - I guess that's human nature. Some people can never be happy, and always look for a dark cloud on the horizon even when its bright and sunny and they should be out enjoying the weather :)
agreed:) well i love the team, and whoever is in playing X1 has my full support. good night and nice to see you here.

Aamer Sohail: "Moyo has plenty to larn as a captain. Was submissive at times. Not proactive. Only two slips after 7 wickets were down. Pakistan could have got them under 100, had Moyo shown aggression.

Only good thing was when he supported and talked to Asif."
LOL!

Talk about being jealous.

How was Sohail himself as a captain? Worse than useless. ;-)

insaaniyat said:
agreed:) well i love the team, and whoever is in playing X1 has my full support. good night and nice to see you here.
Exactly! That's why I never understand when people say "I hope my team loses because player X is not playing" or "I can't support player Y even if he's in the team", etc. Come on guys, sure, let's be constructively crtitical, but at the end of the day, this is our team - and for most of us, the only team we'll ever have. So at least let's hope they do well!!

Anyway :)

Good night!!! :)

it was avatar that i was dragged to. great movie though, but i wud have much rather watched this

ShehryarK said:
LOL!

Talk about being jealous.

How was Sohail himself as a captain? Worse than useless. ;-)

Ab jinhay commentary ka contracts na milla houn toh aur kia karen kuch toh bakwas karni hogi acha bhi karen aur uunki criticism bhi sunna how weird

I still have a feeling that this match will go Australia's way. The ball is still doing enough and Pakistani batting is just not good enough.

I may be wrong though. And I wish luck to the Pakistani batsmen. The openers did well to hand on for the day's end.

I said:
I still have a feeling that this match will go Australia's way. The ball is still doing enough and Pakistani batting is just not good enough.

I may be wrong though. And I wish luck to the Pakistani batsmen. The openers did well to hand on for the day's end.

This is really negative...120 behind and 20 wickets in hand to Australia's 10. Pakistan are way, way in front and this pitch will definitely ease up, it could well be a batting track tomorrow.

I said:

Yeh to appki dil ki khohish hai

kamranO said:
Yeh to appki dil ki khohish hai

No, I am just stating what I expect from the rest of the match. And you know it well that it's foolish to write Australia off after a day's play.

Mashallah, what a performance by the Pakistani pacers...I hope the Sami bashers can be humble and praise the lad for his outstanding spell...as for Asif, simply the most brilliant quick bowler in international cricket...but above them all, one man gets all the credit for this display:

ricky-ponting3.jpg

Ahmed Zulfiqar said:
Mashallah, what a performance by the Pakistani pacers..I hope the Sami bashers can be humble and praise the lad for his outstanding spell.
Absolutely - he deserves praise and we have given that to him many times today.

Great bowling, which was a VERY pleasant surprise! :)

That doesn't mean he's a "good" bowler or that we shouldn't have criticised him when he was pathetic.

Simple rule - praise when its due, and criticism when its due. Nothing personal, and no irrational 'hating' and illogical 'loving'.

Oh and support to all and sundry once they wear the cap - if they're in the team, wish nothing but success for them.

ShehryarK said:

That doesn't mean he's a "good" bowler or that we shouldn't have criticised him when he was pathetic.

Simple rule - praise when its due, and criticism when its due. Nothing personal, and no irrational 'hating' and illogical 'loving'.

Oh and support to all and sundry once they wear the cap - if they're in the team, wish nothing but success for them.

Totally agree with your post . :younis

Bad decision by ponting to bat 1st it back-fired, but anyway pakistan's job is half done they now need atleast a 150 run lead.

Its a shame i went to bed after the Pioneers of Cricket Wasim Akram show (atleast sky+ worked) but watching that live would have been worth it. Its days like these that make me want to watch Pakistan even though we have more worse days then good especially in tests. Just want to say it was a good team effort and inshaallah we can build on this with our batting performance.

Somebody will post it in the Clips section soon (I hope). :D

Hope yani Umeed key baarey mein shaair kehta hai.

Ye Agar dil sey Kooch ker jaaye.

Aadmi tilmila key Mur jaaye.

:D

ShehryarK said:

Very well said..............

Hope yani Umeed key baarey mein shaair kehta hai.

Ye Agar dil sey Kooch ker jaaye.

Aadmi tilmila key Mur jaaye.

:D
Wah Wah. Very true. When hope abandons one, the following happens:

Naa umeedi barh gayee hai is qadar
Aarzu ki aarzu hone lagi

Wah Wah. Very true. When hope abandons one, the following happens:

Naa umeedi barh gayee hai is qadar
Aarzu ki aarzu hone lagi

Legend, Absolute Legend.

I salute You.

Cheguvera said:
Asif is done...he should retire right about now...

And no NZ series where the pitches were helpful and the batting lineup even worse then Pakistan's, meaning worst amongst all test teams not named Bangladesh, don't count...

At his pace, he won't trouble many batters, no matter how much seam he gets...

Just read this now... had to bump it, do you still stick by what you said ??
Why say it in the first place ??

I am putting in 2 pennies worth here with regards to peoples opinions on Aamir Sohails comments.

Some people just see it as they are armchair or club cricketers. Now theres a big difference in the cricket we played to you.

I appreciate it you have the right to voice your comments on a person and what he did as a captain and so on.

To be clear about Aamirs comments, as an ex Captain myself...and I can speak from experience......

When Aus were 7 down, Yousaf should have gone for the kill.....the ball was zipping about and Umar was bowling at the time, if I recall inbetween giving Sami a rest...

If some of you didnt see the passages of play, there were a few squirted through that region, if, with a 3rd or even 4th slip, should have been taken.

How many captains do you see when they have the opponents 7 down in side 2 sessions, go with 2 slips and an orthodox field set instead of attacking.

Go and do some fact finding...

Fair enough, he is a friend of mine, but be factual and critical....instead of critical with no substance.

If you dont understand the finer points of the game, then not my problem...

Noddy said:
I am putting in 2 pennies worth here with regards to peoples opinions on Aamir Sohails comments.

Some people just see it as they are armchair or club cricketers. Now theres a big difference in the cricket we played to you.

I appreciate it you have the right to voice your comments on a person and what he did as a captain and so on.

To be clear about Aamirs comments, as an ex Captain myself...and I can speak from experience......

When Aus were 7 down, Yousaf should have gone for the kill.....the ball was zipping about and Umar was bowling at the time, if I recall inbetween giving Sami a rest...

If some of you didnt see the passages of play, there were a few squirted through that region, if, with a 3rd or even 4th slip, should have been taken.

How many captains do you see when they have the opponents 7 down in side 2 sessions, go with 2 slips and an orthodox field set instead of attacking.

Go and do some fact finding...

Fair enough, he is a friend of mine, but be factual and critical....instead of critical with no substance.

If you dont understand the finer points of the game, then not my problem...
:14: :14:

Good post. Noddy bhai, you should post this in another thread by the way, the one where some people cant seem to stop hyping his captaincy.

When the bowlers are swining and seaming the ball, not letting the batters do anything, any sort of captaincy looks good.