Awkward moments...

When someone you want to avoid talking to calls you and you don't pick up. They then enter your room while the phone is still ringing and you both just stare at each other.

Not fun.

This is both a disgusting moment and an awkward moment.

Our current next-door neighbour is aged around 80-90 years old and is no longer able to move. Now, he is one of the most stingiest men alive. So stingy in fact, that he purchased a suit around 30 years back only to use for his funeral. But this is not the worst feature of this man. The NHS offered to move him into a nursing home but because he knew there would be expenses, he declined the offer. They told him that they would give him a two week free trial and after that he would be able to accept/decline the offer. Now, when he returned the nurses told us that he had not had a bath for around 30 years and when they had bathed him, disgustingly he was that grimeful and dirty that his bath water blocked the plughole. In the past, our father would be nice to our neighbour because he was old and would do shopping and such things for him because he was unable. But, what we have found is that he is very rude (he swears and speaks crudely to the nurses who visit him every 4 hours) even though they clean up his human excrement for him (he is unable to move and he only has an outside toilet).

Eww... They actually bathed him? :iqasim

awkward moment when your on PP in the uni library and a good looking guy walks past and sits a few computers down as he now knows your a Pakistani. He keeps on setting his hair and sits up straight and tries to get some eye contact, even when your wearing a headscarf and show no interest what so ever.

Just to add, a week later you end up in the same lab together and he tries talking to you.

lolz.... this is the golden awkward/Fail moment...

my door bell just rang... i dashed to the door, and in the meanwhile my dad goes "its prob xyz (my nephew)" so in my head i tell my self to surprise him... hence i sat down and opened the door with a grandesque HELLOOOOO.... and to my surprise i see two sets of knees instead of my nephew's face.... i look up and i see two girls standing... i get up slowly, embarrassed and about bursting in a nervous lol, and the girls had these priceless *** faces on... so i let them in on "sorry was uh expecting my nephew..... (utter silence, brief pause)... can I do this again, proper..." and they go "no its ok we are here for a donation for blah blah blah" i had no clue what the hell they were asking i was just self exploding on my FAIL moment... and told them i will donate some money on the account mentioned on their brochure... (which i prob wont, sorry girls, lolz)...

Well, as you can imagine, I speak English. Even at home. My urdu/punjabi is REALLY crappy. But recently, I had to go Pakistan for my sister's wedding so, as you can imagine, I had to speak urdu over there.

I tried my best, but every now and again, I'd say a word in English and then watch the blank stares people were giving me. Nothing is more awkward than when I tried explaining what I meant...

Or sometimes, I'd get stuck during conversation. As I wouldn't know certain things' names in Urdu. My life was in shambles...everyone pretty much thought I was a retard tbh

Car Sales Rep admantly confirms and boasts from her extensive experience that a certain device cant be installed on a particular car. Later to be informed by their service company that it can be easily done.

This was just before we were signing the purchase for the car

Furthermore, another awkward moment is when you try to avoid a dog because you don't want your clothes to become peleeth - unpure and not able to pray in - only to find that family members think you are afraid of dogs. :69: Grrr....

Also, another awkward moment is when the last piece of a certain food is available on the dining table, which you are so desperate to eat. This is awkward because out of courtesy, I ask everybody else on the table if they want it to which their relpy is, "No. Why are you even asking?" Bloody irritating because if you don't ask they will probably complain about that as well.

Finally, the last awkward moment that I can recall is when I bought a burger from a take-away withouth paying. Going back to the take-away around about 4 hours after purchasing the meal and telling the man at the counter that he forgot to ask for money was nerve-wracking. Anyway, the relief on his face lessened the awkward nature of the situation.

The awkward moment when you read awkward moments of SOPL and don't know how to react

The awkward moment when posters on PP don't know what an awkward moment is.

England . You have to be absolutely loaded or lucky to have a garden big enough to hire a gardener . People with gardens here do the gardening themselves .

I know. That is why living outside Pakistan is a no go for me.

I can't be bummed into doing all the work myself just for a few extra pounds and better weather.

The awkward moment when posters on PP don't know what an awkward moment is.

The awkward moment when a PP member doesn't realize that what may not be awkward for him can be very awkward for someone else.

the awkward moment when u come across an old dear friend but are in a mega rush to get somewhere (job etc), and are only able to wave or say hello at best and excuse yourself by saying next time inshallah you come across you will meet in detail.... and BANG next time you come across, it is in the very same manner as the first time...

The awkward moment when you are wearing a loose dress and when you sit the trouser tears...happened to me! :(
Once I wore shorts and went to my cousin's house and started laying cricket in the backyard and when I sat to drink water... KSHHH and the trouser tears! Very embarrassing.

Well, as you can imagine, I speak English. Even at home. My urdu/punjabi is REALLY crappy. But recently, I had to go Pakistan for my sister's wedding so, as you can imagine, I had to speak urdu over there.

I tried my best, but every now and again, I'd say a word in English and then watch the blank stares people were giving me. Nothing is more awkward than when I tried explaining what I meant...

Or sometimes, I'd get stuck during conversation. As I wouldn't know certain things' names in Urdu. My life was in shambles...everyone pretty much thought I was a retard tbh

konsay pind se ho bhai?

wait.. you wouldnt understand this either

This is genuinely an awkward moment:

When you are at the mosque praying and as you get up from the sajdah position of worship, you bump into somebody's backside because they rise too slowly. Awkward when you are forced to hide your laughter and avoid eye contact when the man turns to look at you. Thinking you won't see him again, it is incredibly awkward when you encounter the man when you go to pick up your shoes.

Yep that is genuinely awkward .

Not an awkward moment but really an embarassing one.

I have this problem of mixing up words and creating troubles for myself.once i asked a female patient whether she had any relationship with her husband 'before marriage' instead of asking whether she had a consanguinous marriage or not.the funny part was that even after seeing the angry face of the patient,i didn't understood what was going on and was still standing there like nothing has happened.thank God,it was one of my friend who sensed the trouble and saved me from the wrath of that big woman.

Not an awkward moment but really an embarassing one.

I have this problem of mixing up words and creating troubles for myself.once i asked a female patient whether she had any relationship with her husband 'before marriage' instead of asking whether she had a consanguinous marriage or not.the funny part was that even after seeing the angry face of the patient,i didn't understood what was going on and was still standing there like nothing has happened.thank God,it was one of my friend who sensed the trouble and saved me from the wrath of that big woman.

Kaayal you rock:)):)))!!!

The awkward moment when you get a rishta proposal that you would do in a heartbeat, sigh, only to realize you are already married. ...

When you feel that you have to under eat at a relative's house.

awkward moment when your on PP in the uni library and a good looking guy walks past and sits a few computers down as he now knows your a Pakistani. He keeps on setting his hair and sits up straight and tries to get some eye contact, even when your wearing a headscarf and show no interest what so ever.

Just to add, a week later you end up in the same lab together and he tries talking to you.

Sorry, what has a headscarf to do with it, unless you believe he should be racist because of the headscarf and behave differently?

headscarf means modesty. as a principle, i exclude all females from my gaze if they wear a headscarf/hijab or show signs of marriage (sindoor). only the rest i look at, but only once, at the face. rarely i turn back to give a second look.

So what it means is that people with headscarfs want to be treated differently just by virtue of wearing something as a club sign? How is this any different from people treating someone wearing a head-scarf in a racist way? Or is it only applicable when you want to be treated better than someone?

Her post came across as a bit bragging to me, kind of like, since I was wearing a head scarf, that means that I am somewhat better than other women around (though she did notice that the guy was good looking) so I should be treated differently. The guy treated her like he would any other girl I guess, and did not seem dis-respectful

To me virtue comes from a person's actions, not the clothes the person wears. The only reason I pointed that out is because I have seen a tendency in some (very few) women with head-scarfs of thinking themselves as some virtuous superior being and expecting others to treat them as such just because of a piece of clothe. On the other hand, I have seen some women without head scarfs who are genuinely very modest but do not brag or show off their modesty

BTW, I do not judge any women by her clothes. I treat each and every women with respect no matter how she looks or what she wears. Even if (before marriage) I was interested in any women, I would never stare at her like you implied

well that is why you are a great person. and i am not.

when dressed modestly, i dont even look at them, i see them as sisters. otherwise it is just another girl and i can see her face. though i dont read what is written on the t-shirt (have a habit of reading anything that is printed) because that makes people uncomfortable.

When you visit the toilet with an extremely dodgy stomach and diarrhea, and somehow the atrocious stink reaches all sections of the house. Because of this, air freshener has to be employed throughout the house.

another toilet experience. was presenting a talk, and after it ended, i left for the loo. but i forgot to remove and return the microphone from my pocket..and the entire hall could here the hissing sound followed by the flush.

Walk in to a restaurant, hold the door as a courtesy, one person slides in, so you don't want to be rude to the 4 people sliding in straight after hence you keep holding, people keep filing in, you've been holding it for a good minute now, just as soon as you realize you aren't the door man, you see your ex walking in with her family...

^ i dont like people holding the door for me, when i am still around 10 steps away. just so that they dont feel bad, i jog and enter and thank them. and then i shake my head..sorry, but i can open the door for myself, it is not a problem. problem is making me run because someone too "courteous" is holding the door open for me.

When your teacher thinks you are unable to achive a higher grade, when you know you can.

the awkward moment when you hit the drive through, give your order "Medium French Vanilla" drive through to the pay/pickup window and hear the girl go "you want a Large Double Double" as she takes your money and you get annoyed, no i asked for a Medium French Vanilla... and she goes "okay so a Large Double Double....(this is where you start to lose it), drive through please"... and realize she was taking the next person in lines order... lolz... dang it, fall for it most of the times... and its just embarrassing...

the awkward moment when you are invited to a Pakistani wedding and when you get to the wedding hall, you see a lambo standing, and some grand stage setting etc etc, basically an environment where you think "this will be a fun time, not a bad choice", only to be told, sir the wedding you came to is around the building plz use the side entrance, ty... and when you walk in although you are the 47th person there, but already bump into the 46th, coz the bloody hall is that GRAND... "this is ****, baaad choice"...

the awkward moment when you hit the drive through, give your order "Medium French Vanilla" drive through to the pay/pickup window and hear the girl go "you want a Large Double Double" as she takes your money and you get annoyed, no i asked for a Medium French Vanilla... and she goes "okay so a Large Double Double....(this is where you start to lose it), drive through please"... and realize she was taking the next person in lines order... lolz... dang it, fall for it most of the times... and its just embarrassing...

oh Timmies

and then the awkward moment when you start running your mouth in displeasure and annoyance to some random person about what a shaitza setting and a crap hall these people booked, and the person turns out a relative of the ppl... in my case it was the bride's bro... "par itna bhi bura nahin hai, theek hi chal raha hai, ghazals ka idea was superb yaar, pata nahin kisi ko pehlay is ke baray mein kyon nahin khiyal aaya shaadiyon peh, thumbs up :) "

Others have mentioned moments of love/marriage, so I've decided to include one of my very awkward moments:

Once, in school, I was playing football in the tennis courts. I was playing an defence when a girl, stood with her boyfriend on the fence of the courts, asked me, "Do you like me, Ahsan?" Immediately, I became embarrassed and pretended I didn't hear her. Again, she asked me the same question but this time I was forced to reply. So painstakingly, I declared, "No." Attempting to sort of shrug the awkwardness off, I walked off to play football. But, as I walking away, she told me, "You said you liked me." How awkward I felt! In my reply, I questioned, "Did Bilal and his mates tell you his bull**** stories again?" To which she replied, "No, I didn't mean fancied. Like...as in a friend." I said, "Oh. Erm...yes then I suppose" and tried laughing the whole of the situation off.

To put this very embarrassing moment into context, this was the girl which my friends constantly said I fancied (which was genuinely totally untrue) and they even progressed to mention this to her on a few occasions (I don't know where the rumour arose from). Earlier on, I would strive to silence my friends if they tried to approach her and tell her that I liked her but eventually I joined in the laughter and just told her, "It's total bull**** from them again." Apart from this event, she always believed me, though she also declared (jokingly) that I fancied her.

The moral of the story is - make sure you understand the meaning of a term before jumping to conclusions!

Awesome story!

When results day is three days away, you are getting tensed as each second goes by, not knowing what the future will hold, whether it will failure or success,that subconscious enigma eating into your mind, wondering whether you have failed, knowing that you have not revised anywhere near enough, what you should've

Literally the awkward moment that Im feeling.

When results day is three days away, you are getting tensed as each second goes by, not knowing what the future will hold, whether it will failure or success,that subconscious enigma eating into your mind, wondering whether you have failed, knowing that you have not revised anywhere near enough, what you should've

Literally the awkward moment that Im feeling.

I would be tense too if I were you since you need to look up the meaning of awkward.

Walk in to a restaurant, hold the door as a courtesy, one person slides in, so you don't want to be rude to the 4 people sliding in straight after hence you keep holding, people keep filing in, you've been holding it for a good minute now, just as soon as you realize you aren't the door man, you see your ex walking in with her family...

:)) amazing addition.

The awkward moment when you're out with your bro and a lady in a hijab, standing nearby starts talking like "ammu abbu kaise hain?" and you look at your brother for help but none of you have any idea who she is. Then she's like "Nahi pehchana?". Lady how can we recognize you when we cant your face. Turns out she's one of your elder cousins whom you havent seen for years.

Another awkward moment that happened recently was a worker at the gas station told me that I had a flat tyre. I ignored him thinking he was pulling my leg. Driving back, I immediately felt something was wrong but being stubborn, I didn't stop. Needless to say I didn't get very far before the tyre went flat completely. Then I had to walk back to the same gas station for help because I didnt have the right tools to use the spare one. :facepalm:

When you're getting scratchy in the pits, but a lot of people (which includes girls) are around you. Don't know what to do there. :hammad

(The awkward moment) when the family is talking about some girls from your village and you interrupt the conversation by saying, "Yeah,... they too must have grown up by now..... " An innocent implication is followed by stun silence by everyone.

It's only an innocent mistake if you do it once, twice maybe three times. But you seem to repeatedly commit innocent mistakes loaded with sexual innuendo.

When you shake someones hand with a tight grip, while they have a light grip, It can be very awkward(I don't know if this has been mentioned before)

When your walking and turn left and the person left, turn right and the person turns right, now that's very awkward.

Finally when you say something joke or false info and end up trying justify or rationalise it, it's awkward and a moment to forget, I can remember some incidents... :facepalm:

It's only an innocent mistake if you do it once, twice maybe three times. But you seem to repeatedly commit innocent mistakes loaded with sexual innuendo.

Brother Saqs, I don't blame you. I am simply too innocent. I just said it in a nostalgic way, remembering the people from my village in Pakistan.

Any more awkward moments? Am lovin' them!

Was talking to a friend on the phone who I had helped with something. Just as he was thanking me, I bumped into a girl. She apologised. Without paying attention to her, I said (to my friend on the phone), "My pleasure."

Gave me a weird look, went away!

Utter embarrassment after enduring Pakistan's humiliation yesterday.

Was talking to a friend on the phone who I had helped with something. Just as he was thanking me, I bumped into a girl. She apologised. Without paying attention to her, I said (to my friend on the phone), "My pleasure."

Gave me a weird look, went away!

You wrote that earlier as well,didn't you? I have read all the awkward moments posted here ;-) :hamster::yahoo:108:

The problem with story telling is that you can't keep a record of where and with whom you have shared what and what not:facepalm:.

When I was in Year 9/10 (therefore aged between 13-14), I was walking home from school.

Coincidentally, my father was driving along the road I was walking upon and spotted me and told me he would give me a lift to our home.

As soon as he began driving, he proceeded to ask me, "Why were you walking home with people that are so much younger than you?"

Being significantly taller than my classmates (which wasn't helped by the fact that both of the friends I was walking with that day were extremely shorter than usual), I was shocked by my father's question and replied, "They are my friends."

He queried, "Why do you hang around with Year 7s."

Rather taken aback, I stated "They are not Year 7s, they are the same age as I am (even being older than I was)!"

Lol, this kind of applies to me aswell, I'm 6'1/2 inches tall so I look alot bigger and taller than most of my friends, so it is a bit embarrassing in the presence of a relative.

The extremely awkward moment in the "Awkward moments... " threads when you read the word "inches" without its context.

Was out and some girl who I hardly know came up to me. She spoke to me for about 5 minutes and I didn't make much of it. I later went home and checked my Facebook account and she tagged me in a status saying 'wicked day with '.......' '

Very awkward indeed :misbah_old

Girl was staring at me for about 2-3 minutes. I had enough of it so I looked back at her and she replied 'why you looking at me for' :afridi

When you go into a toilet cubicle to do your business and then when your done you realise there is no toilet paper

Amateur mistake, never sit down without a lota around :asif

When your HR manager hears you making inappropriate comments about females in the workplace.

Awkward moment when you go to the Masjid to read Zuhr from work, at lunch, and get there and take your tie off and because you're on auto-pilot, your shirt soon follows and you're then standing there topless. #TrueStory

:)) You are genuinely my hero.

:)) legend !

I saw your name and knew this was going to be good. I wasn't disappointed.