Akmal
Nawaz/Emad/Anwar
Amir
Yasir/Wahab
Irfan

This is the best possible we can get out of the current lot

Fast becoming one.

Played some good shots.. the stroke play is what I like.

Umar Amin can be another super star for us. These guys are all QUALITY.

We need more players like him in the team.

[MENTION=134608]Hawkeye[/MENTION]

Babar is dynamic versatile plays allround the ground without shuffling.

Sami Aslam played well in his only odi but he is not a dynamic batsman.

Dynamic batsman are watch winners.

No way. He will always be inconsistent.

lol, has only played 13 ODIs in five years. Calm down.

Has become a LOT more consistent even in domestics.

Class is permanent, form is temporary. And he's CLH. Destined for big things. Just and watch, you can think of 'Hawkeye' later when he sets the world on fire.

[MENTION=134608]Hawkeye[/MENTION]

Babar is dynamic versatile plays allround the ground without shuffling.

Sami Aslam played well in his only odi but he is not a dynamic batsman.

Dynamic batsman are watch winners.

Watch that ODI, stroke makers are dynamic players who can time their shots to the boundaries as well as rotate the strike, pull well.

Fakhar Zaman can't do any of that I've heard. :najam

lol, has only played 13 ODIs in five years. Calm down.

Has become a LOT more consistent even in domestics.

Class is permanent, form is temporary. And he's CLH. Destined for big things. Just and watch, you can think of 'Hawkeye' later when he sets the world on fire.

I have no faith in him. He can become a good T20I batsman at best.

Long way to go..stop overrating... He is just better than the rubbish lot we have ..still has to learn alot

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

Watch that ODI, stroke makers are dynamic players who can time their shots to the boundaries as well as rotate the strike, pull well.

Fakhar Zaman can't do any of that I've heard. :najam

I do not rate Fakhar higher than Babar Azam and Haris Sohail. But he is the best domestic odi opener in pakistan who has a SR of 95 plus.

His T20 strike rate is also 130 plus.

Fakhar and Nauman are better than Sami Aslam , Sharjeel and Rafatullah etc etc and both are technically better than all other domestic T20 and Odi openers.

Has to be a consideration for the test side. Good chance to have him at six and everyone else move up one now that Malik has retired. Looks comfortable playing the ball late...

I do not rate Fakhar higher than Babar Azam and Haris Sohail. But he is the best domestic odi opener in pakistan who has a SR of 95 plus.

You're doing the mistake of going purely on stats, bro. Sharjeel, Zia, Khalid Latif are domestic beasts as well.

He has a few apparent weaknesses, can't score much without boundaries and looks to me he will easily get bogged down in international cricket.

Can be worked out easily if he has only one game. I haven't seen him play but the 'Busy List A batsmen" thread shows from stats that he indeed has a stroke play plus strike rotation problem.

Has to be a consideration for the test side. Good chance to have him at six and everyone else move up one now that Malik has retired. Looks comfortable playing the ball late...

Calm down, let him settle in ODIs first.

[MENTION=134608]Hawkeye[/MENTION] [MENTION=139353]ChachaCricket[/MENTION]

Babar Azam pulled milne infront of square on a 147kph bouncer.

He picks up length early like yousuf , inzimam, Saeed Anwar and Umar Akmal.

149kph above mid off.

Forgive me Sami Aslam can never do it all his life. Nor khalid , Khurram etc etc.

looks quality tbh Hope he doesnt fall by the wayside after a real promising start to his career

[MENTION=134608]Hawkeye[/MENTION] [MENTION=139353]ChachaCricket[/MENTION] [MENTION=138241]axl100mph[/MENTION]

151.2kph kph pulled infront of square again almost to long on.

This is quality.
[MENTION=9]Saj[/MENTION] bhaee please I request you kindly [MENTION=138241]axl100mph[/MENTION] ko bahaal kerein PP pe. Plzzzzzzzzzzzzzz. Kindly

I havent been this excited about a Pakistani batsman since Umar Akmal 2009. (well not saying much considering Haris is the only other batsman Ive been excited about since then)

Calm down, let him settle in ODIs first.

for me it's not an issue, he looks to have what it takes and we aren't blessed with many top batsmen even in tests, currently our strongest suit.

Plus batting at 6 is a good place to start off and it's about time Shafiq moves up the order, probably even to 4 ahead of Misbah...

[MENTION=134608]Hawkeye[/MENTION] [MENTION=139353]ChachaCricket[/MENTION] [MENTION=138241]axl100mph[/MENTION]

151.2kph kph pulled infront of square again almost to long on.

This is quality.
[MENTION=9]Saj[/MENTION] bhaee please I request you kindly [MENTION=138241]axl100mph[/MENTION] ko bahaal kerein PP pe. Plzzzzzzzzzzzzzz. Kindly

I think your excitement levels are peaking. Calm down mate lol

He is great to watch bat. May Pakistan selectors have faith in him.

The good thing about him is his batting temperament which is unique. Even though the likes of Sherry do not score quick they always mess up trying to play extra ordinary shots on the wrong balls.

You're doing the mistake of going purely on stats, bro. Sharjeel, Zia, Khalid Latif are domestic beasts as well.

He has a few apparent weaknesses, can't score much without boundaries and looks to me he will easily get bogged down in international cricket.

Can be worked out easily if he has only one game. I haven't seen him play but the 'Busy List A batsmen" thread shows from stats that he indeed has a stroke play plus strike rotation problem.

He scored fifty against Irfan and Saeed Ajmal when both of them were in their peak. In 2012-2013.

Sharjeel has good SR but he has 3 huge technical issues and his fitness levels are more poor than sarfraz, Umar Akmal, Sohaib and nasir. Biggest tummy.

Zia is a hack whose list A average isn't like Fakhar. Khalid and Khurram don't have SR like Fakhar.

Fakhar is neither viv nor babar azam, Umar Akmal or Haris Sohail quality and skill wise but he is better than all other domestic, international openers.

Nauman Anwar is more dynamic and versatile than Fakhar but uptil now his numbers aren't impressive. Same with ahsan Ali but both have played few games uptil now.

I hope and pray that Fakhar and Nauman score big in PSL.

Hehehe. You are absolutely correct.

After ages I have seen our middle order players play like this the way hafeez and Babar are playing. M.A

This is Hafeez. Been around since 2003 & inconsistent as ever. Most likely a one-off.

I havent been this excited about a Pakistani batsman since Umar Akmal 2009. (well not saying much considering Haris is the only other batsman Ive been excited about since then)

Umar Akmal impressed again in 2nd T20.

We can have hafeez opening with Fakhar Zaman and have Umar Akmal at number 3 and Babar Azam at 4.

When Nauman or Ahsan start scoring in domestic consistently than we can get either of them as opener.

Zeeshan Malik will take 2,3 years.

You may not agree but

Ahsan Ali , Nauman Anwar, Zeeshan Malik and Babar Azam are modern day dynamic versatile batsman. We need such batsman in our odi and T20 team.

Though Fakhar isn't in the same category but he is most consistent opener in pakistan who averages 30 , 40 and 50 plus in T20 , Fc and List A with SR of 95 and 130 plus in list A and T20 cricket. He is physically fit, mature being 26,27 and can bowl abit aswell.

Brilliant straight drive against santner by babar azam.

Umar Akmal watch your khala ka beta. Play like him. We need you too and need you playing like you used to in 2008 to 2010.

More worried for Pakistan fans overhyping him than Babar's progression as a batsman.

Let the guy bat.

I have watched every single one of his innings, this boy is special. He has it in him to become a real superstar for the Pakistan cricket team.

He already has impressive list A stats and had a decent debut, from here on out he needs to be given a go for every tour. I think it is too early to choose him for tests but he needs to be a permanent fixture in the one day side.

I honestly think he can score over 10000 runs in odi if pcb don't mess up here

Superb post. Superb thread.

InshaAllah he will prove you correct.

Babar Bhai well done. Prayers and we'll wishes for you. May Allah help and bless you to achieve highs in world cricket as per your potential. Be humble , keep hardworking. Loved the way you death 149 151 kph with boldness , confidence and correct tactics. Rise and become champion.

Umar akmal like dismissal today.

But team needed move on so he had to take chance.

Babar, Haris, Amin ain't pure T20 players, nor can be great T20 bats.

can he play in pressure? or will he mail it in like he did today?

Babar, Haris, Amin ain't pure T20 players, nor can be great T20 bats.

There is no doubt that Babar Azam can be a quality T20 player. Today Sharjeel & Watson just sucked the momentum of the innings completely.

# May be opening ceremony toll.

Did RCB drop virat kohli after first two IPL games ?

Dropping Umar Amin was fine but Babar Azam should not have been dropped.

Did RCB drop virat kohli after first two IPL games ?

Dropping Umar Amin was fine but Babar Azam should not have been dropped.

He is injured.

But if Khalid Latif get's a big one Babar might struggle to make it back.

His bat face is closing too early on shots played from mid-on to mid-wicket. He's got really flexible wrists so the bat is either slipping because of a loose bottom hand grip or twisting too much. In either case, he has to tighten his bottom hand grip and/or change to an oval handle to keep the bat firm. This will make the bat swing more linear and help present the full bat face, allowing a cleaner strike.

Are you a certified cricket coach ?

Or do you read Coaching manuals ?

You are spot on.

But it just happened on 3,4 balls only in his innings against NZ.

Since tommorow is an off day in PSL and he may play next game in place of Misbah if he is unfit still so you should kindly tell him this thing by a direct message on twitter or by tweeting him or by tweeting or messaging dean Jones.

It would be of great help to a fantastic player.

Some nice technical analysis there. :14:

he is not a T20 player. He should be groomed for the test and LOI team. He is a solid batsman, just lacks to power punch necessary to play in the T20s. U Akmal is a much better fit in the T20 team.

You know what? It's so frustrating that T20s are where the money is, where the excitement and attention is. So all young players want to do that, they want to be a good T20 player....and in Pakistan that isn't good

Did you see him bat in the 3rd odi against NZ ? He was lacking power punch ?

Are Steve Smith, Root & Williamson playing international T20 cricket ? ?

Chacha cricket absolutely spot on. We could see this happening in the 3rd NZ ODI as well and spoke about it in match thread. But he will be a great player in all THREE formats

That 40 was so pleasing to watch. Babar Azam is the only batsman who at the crease doesn't invoke stress for me. Every other batsman I know that the wicket is around the corner.

Poor fella got unlucky with dismissal too.

Will be the first double centurion for Pakistan (look at signature ;) )

Babar looks a million dollars but he has to try cutting out these soft dismissals

Easily the best batsman in Pak but needs to start scoring big when set. Eventually should be promoted to opener or number 3

Seems to be the real deal and a bonafide ATG in the making!

Remember the name: Babar Azam!

He can but he is a Pakistani and worse, has Akmal genes

Been saying it for ages now. But there's people with their agendas who feel insecure by him or any other top order batsman doing well. Just see certain people bashing him for his dismissal in the last game which wasn't even out

He is by far one of the best batsmen in Pakistan in including haris and saud. 2 unlucky dismissals.

He will once he concentrates better and plays long innings.

At the moment he is giving away good starts every single time.

Babar Azam: We could use more batsmen like him

Yup - it's very early in his career - however, so far in my opinion he has been very promising & we could really use another couple of batsmen like him in our limited over line up.

I'm not talking about his stats, his numbers or any particular innings. I'm talking about the way he approaches batting in the One Day format. He has shown the ability to keep the strike ticking over whilst putting the poor ball away to the boundary and keep the runs ticking over without taking any serious risk.

He's a very busy batsmen similar to Sarfraz Ahmed and that's exactly what we need. If we start looking for 'hard hitting batsmen' we will end up with sloggers who are easy to dismiss for any decent bowling line up & will fail more of them than not. Meanwhile, if we have a line up of batsmen who score at a strike rate of 70 there is no way we can compete in the modern era.

Quite easily the best batsman in Pakistan. After a few games I want him to open or bat at 3. I remember a certain Shehzad fan who called him a "left handed Fawad Alam" when he made his debut. Its just insecurity. Should be vice captain

The other one is Rizwan, he will get his chance. These youngsters play modern brand of cricket compared to the ones who are 30 of above.

Definitely, for that, he needs to bat at 7.

Last PAK superstar was Afridi, for his 23 average from no 7. Babar is scoring at 45/90 from No. 4; so he can make that 25/125 batting at 7; and that's what you need to be a PAK ODI superstar. On top of that, if he can dart few overs, almost like Lala.

I have noticed that, no matter when he comes, by 25th ball, his SR crosses 80; which is exactly the quality you need batting at 6-8 (actually, he plays slow at 4, hence the SR is 80, batting at 7, he can make it 100+ easily). He should never be like those selfish players of other countries, who bats in top 3 & makes personal mile stones.

Already a star IMO. A superb young player who came into the side at the right time so he can learn from guys like misbah, Younis and malik while those guys are still around. The core of the side for the next decade should include the following players

Sami
Haris
Akmal
Shezad
Barbar
Sarfraz