Babar Azam is clearly not a Twenty20 player!

Decent innings but unfortunately hes a stroke maker rather than power hitter Cant be blamed for having to chase 11an ovet from the start Theres very few batsmen in the world that can

He scored a 50 today but in the context of the match that was a pretty ordinary innings.

I watched 2 to 3 overs in Jio TV today, Babar was celebrating that 50 ..I thought seriously, he was taking singles, turned off before he got out :facepalm:

He still is tho the best pakistani batsman and a must in all formats for pakistan inc t20s

bas kar do bhai, zaroori nahin keh 11 out of 11 players have to be shahid afridi's and just try to tonk the ball.... har kisi ka apna style hota hai, apni limitations hoti hain.... he is giving his team a solid foundation to build and tonk around... he has a role.... yeah if the asking rate is 12 rpo and he is doing tuk tuk... then u can say.... or if he is always playing a misbah or asad shafiq style innings then u have a case... other wise try to learn the game...

he couldn't even clear 60m boundaries...

He's not a hitter, more of a timer of the ball. As I said if he can even play at a SR of 130-140 in the national team and everyone else bats around him, that's whats needed in the team.

As we saw in the LQs team, if one packs there team with just hitters, then that could be a recipe for disaster. Need someone to hold the innings together.

In context it wasn't the innings they needed, it wasn't according to the match situation. Needed a 45 ball 80-90 from him to have a decent chance of winning, not a 45 ball 63.

45 balls is 7.3 overs, and that's approximately half the allocated balls of 16 overs. So if he scored 63 off almost 8 overs, he's leaving 107 for the remaining 8 overs. You don't want to leave that much that late.

overrated, selfish, mental midget and weak. His knock was the equivalent of scoring run a ball on 150-160 scoring conditions (of 20 overs).

Pakistan should consider other players for T20Is.

overrated, selfish, mental midget and weak.

he does show signs of shoda pana instead of being a humble person... its evident from his interviews/tv appearances, and the tiny clips we see of him in between overs, balls, or on ground etc...

Today's innings seems to be the best he is capable of in T20s. He needs more power hitters around him and he should aim to bat through the innings. I would like to see him accelerate a bit better though.

He played really well today. Why do people set the bar so high for this guy only? The bar is always a lil higher eh? :)) You guys should be happy to see the improvement in his batting.

Today's innings seems to be the best he is capable of in T20s. He needs more power hitters around him and he should aim to bat through the innings. I would like to see him accelerate a bit better though.

Just needs to put on a lot of lean muscle and improve his hitting technique a bit. That should help.

His hitting technique is the main thing. At the moment it seems completely out of his comfort zone to accelerate.

T20's do not fit Babar's game. He can improve, but we need to be careful of not turning him into a hack either.

Hafeez after his first 40 innings averaged 18 in ODIs with no hundred. How is Babar similar to Hafeez. Kindly explain.
Contrary to popular belief, Babar has the shots in his armory to take on the bowlers. A look at his initial innings will show you a hungry Babar Azam looking at opportunities to score. His inside out six off Wahab Riaz in one of the matches he played is a testament to his ability. Just doesn't look interested in actually showing his full potential. Wouldn't call selfish, but a few innings have been lacking that impetus that he is definitely capable of.

Comparison with Hafeez was an exaggeration since Hafeez is definitely selfish to the point where he doesn't really care about the team's position. But Babar has that feel going for him right now and its not good news for Pakistan.

I didn't see his knock today.But it seems that due to his knock today,some people here are questioning his T20 skills.It begs the question of did Babar really deserved to be ranked no 1 T20 batsmen recently?

One thing that I am sure is that Pakistan's strong bowling line up and lack of flat pitches really helped his cause in becoming no 1 ranked batsmen.

This is Babar's best effort which is a tragedy. The best we have seen in the PSL's are 39 ball 94's, and 27 ball 77's. Babar is way off that mark. This lad plays Internationals for us, then why not bring Kamran Akmal back if his best can only be as good as 44 ball 66 which in these days is just average for a t20 batsman. Then don't talk about his rankings in t20s please.... He is overrrated beyond imagination

Because we all know Kamran seems like the reincarnation of Don Bradman in domestics but in international cricket he becomes the reincarnation of Chris Martin.

Hitting the express bowlers is the most difficult thing to do and he has proven that he can,it's a matter of time before he fix his gripping issues and start muscling trundlers properly.

Babar is a very good batsman. He is not someone who could hit from ball one. That is why he is suited for one down position. I believe he can add more shots to his game when he continues to play more T20's.

You don't want everyone in your team to be Boom Boom.

he is little low on Test that's why he has no aggression. He needs to be forced to go and work out in the gym to put some muscles especially around his lower body in order to boost the T

He needs someone to carry him. He doesn't have it in him to be the main man when chasing a high total.

Because we all know Kamran seems like the reincarnation of Don Bradman in domestics but in international cricket he becomes the reincarnation of Chris Martin.

It doesn't matter, some players are not meant to be International ATGs, Kamran has done much more than what Umar Akmal did despite his brother having much more talent than him.

Kamran is a certified PSL great and I much admire his late burst in the t20 circuit. He looks at home, and is a fearless striker that can take apart any bowler on his day.

He is also on his last legs, so the amount of consistency he is producing, at that strike rate is just amazing.

Babar on the other hand cannot chase any big total in any format if his life depended on it.

He still is tho the best pakistani batsman and a must in all formats for pakistan inc t20s

In all formats?

Hafeez and Babar have the same average in ODIs the past year.

In Test Matches our best batsman is Azhar Ali.

In t20s its Shoaib Malik by far...

So is he really the best batsman for us?

Or its just we don't want someone else to take his place.

Agha Salman, Asif Ali and Hussain talat all look like they have potential to be better than him in THIS format.

People are talking like we are blessed with batsman..

Are you lot forgetting he’s only 23?! He has time to develop his game, match awareness will come with experience....

Seldom do batsmen with SR’s of 180+ score consistently. He’s not a world beater but he’s the best of the crap we have available!

It doesn't matter, some players are not meant to be International ATGs, Kamran has done much more than what Umar Akmal did despite his brother having much more talent than him.

Kamran is a certified PSL great and I much admire his late burst in the t20 circuit. He looks at home, and is a fearless striker that can take apart any bowler on his day.

He is also on his last legs, so the amount of consistency he is producing, at that strike rate is just amazing.

Babar on the other hand cannot chase any big total in any format if his life depended on it.

Then why are you suggesting a Kamran Akmal comeback?

He needs to improve a bit but overall he is still best batsman in Pakistan.

Then why are you suggesting a Kamran Akmal comeback?

Comparing him to Babar Azam aka our 'best player' - I am looking at it from a context of International cricket. Kamran Akmal even 3 years into International cricket career hit Sreesanth for 3 sixes in the first edition of IPL. Babar Azam sadly doesn't have that much fire power which is why he is somewhat of a liability in t20s granted our whole lineup is full of accumulators. From Sarfrazz to Malik, Imad and Shadab.

His whole game plan is based on consistency and being a consolidator.

He is like a poor man's Kane Williamson.

But blaming him for this loss is ridiculous. The match was lost when KK gave away 20-30 too many runs due to poor bowling and a beast innings by Akmal.

KK's chances were slim at best. They would have needed Afridi to have his once in a blue moon destructive innings to chase this.

Comparing him to Babar Azam aka our 'best player' - I am looking at it from a context of International cricket. Kamran Akmal even 3 years into International cricket career hit Sreesanth for 3 sixes in the first edition of IPL. Babar Azam sadly doesn't have that much fire power which is why he is somewhat of a liability in t20s granted our whole lineup is full of accumulators. From Sarfrazz to Malik, Imad and Shadab.

Afridi hit the fastest century in his second ODI. That did not make him the greatest and the best batsman in limited overs.

Yes but if t20s was a format at that time, Afridi would be a deadly dangerous batsman just for that format.