Babar Azam Test Captaincy SACK countdown thread

Many fine players have proven to be poor captains.
Tendulkar, Botham, more recently Root.
Prior to England’s disastrous tour of the West Indies, on which both Anderson and Broad were dropped, allegedly at Root’s request, he was still saying he was the right man for the job.
He was as delusional as Babar.

The decision should be removed from Babar and taken by the PCB.
He should be actively encouraged to concentrate on his own game (as was the case with the players above).

It has to go to Shan Masood. He has been picked as captain of Yorkshire who are in a mess so they must have seen some leadership qualities in him.

With Azhar finally retired, there is a slot for him as number 3. I know his test average is not great but perhaps captaincy will give his batting more responsibility. We can't go on with Babar as test captain. It's humiliating to lose to SENA countries at home test series's.

Hardworking Shan shouldn’t be in the team let alone be the captain. If Shadab was playing tests I would go for him, now just take a punt on Saud Shakeel.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="hi" dir="ltr">Babar Azam hamari or Pakistan ki Shan, jaan or pehchan hai. Wo Hamara kaptaan hai or rahe ga. Kuch or <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/sochnabhimanah?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#sochnabhimanah</a> hai.<br><br>Please support this team. Yahi team hame jitaye gi bhi. Kahani abhi Khatam nahi howi. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Respect?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Respect</a> <a href="https://t.co/WyjW98pJuA">pic.twitter.com/WyjW98pJuA</a></p>— Shaheen Shah Afridi (@iShaheenAfridi) <a href="https://twitter.com/iShaheenAfridi/status/1605234846070378496?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 20, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Why does this guy get so aggressively defensive of Babar Azam? Can he not see the damage being caused to Pakistan under his captaincy?

https://twitter.com/ishaheenafridi/status/1605234846070378496?s=46&t=ITWG-ryxwlO9iqq_xQqWrw

Why does this guy get so aggressively defensive of Babar Azam? Can he not see the damage being caused to Pakistan under his captaincy?

“ Wo Hamara kaptaan hai or rahe ga. Kuch or #sochnabhimanah hai.”

Where is this extremist mindset coming from? Who is this guy to tell people to not use their brains and figure out something isn’t right with this team and leadership??

Who is Shaheen threatening to ‘not even thinking about’ changing captains? What will he do if PCB say ‘enough is enough, Babar has to go’?

Will Shaheen and those who are in Babar’s WhatsApp group all revolt against Pakistan?

Here is a hypothetical scenario. If you swap Stokes and Babar Azam would the results still have been the same? or Pakistan could have eked out a draw?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="und" dir="ltr">Babar Azam's 8 Test Wins as captain:<br><br>2 v South Africa<br>1 v West Indies<br>2 v Zimbabwe<br>2 v Bangladesh<br>1 v Sri Lanka<br><br>Babar Azam's 6 Test Losses as captain:<br><br>3 v England<br>1 v Australia <br>1 v West Indies<br>1 v Sri Lanka<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PAKvENG?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PAKvENG</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1605247528022249482?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 20, 2022</a></blockquote>

He can already add three more losses against Australia for next year to his tally

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="hi" dir="ltr">Babar Azam hamari or Pakistan ki Shan, jaan or pehchan hai. Wo Hamara kaptaan hai or rahe ga. Kuch or <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/sochnabhimanah?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#sochnabhimanah</a> hai.<br><br>Please support this team. Yahi team hame jitaye gi bhi. Kahani abhi Khatam nahi howi. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Respect?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Respect</a> <a href="https://t.co/WyjW98pJuA">pic.twitter.com/WyjW98pJuA</a></p>— Shaheen Shah Afridi (@iShaheenAfridi) <a href="https://twitter.com/iShaheenAfridi/status/1605234846070378496?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 20, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

This is Pakistani team, not yours or Babar's team

We thought Rohit Sharma had the best PR but can't match Babar.
Friendship and groupism... still defending even after getting whitewashed at home.

To be fair to Babar he has been unimpressive but Pakistan's selections/available bowling resources have been absolutely terrible

The weakest Asian teams of recent times in home series - MSD circa 2012, Sri Lanka intermittently since 2016, Bangladesh most time all have had some bad series at home but had some solid workhorse bowlers to build some consistency around to - young Ashwin, old Herath, Embuldeniya, Shakib/Taijul etc. This gave them template to win matches even in their worst rut if conditions, situations aligned for them.

Pak have throughout this series been toothless with ball and even the wkts Abrar has taken have come mainly with help from wkt and Eng aggressive mindset. No other bowler has been able to rein in Eng or pose continuous questions.

Do not think any captain in world would have enjoyed trying to win test matches with Mohammed Ali, Mohammed Nawaz, Zahid Mehmood, Mohd Wasim, Faheem Ashraf.

By all means Babar should be crucified for the poor series against Aus, poor utilisation of bowling resources in this series but tbf winning it with this lot isn't a fair expectation

Am pretty much sure he had a say in this selection which makes it even worse.

I think the only options we have as captain in tests are Rizwan or Saud.Shaheen should not be considered as he's a bowler and plays all 3 formats.

Here is a hypothetical scenario. If you swap Stokes and Babar Azam would the results still have been the same? or Pakistan could have eked out a draw?

Tough question.

Pakistan's team is terribly weak, but Babar is involved in the squad and team selection.

Who is Shaheen threatening to ‘not even thinking about’ changing captains? What will he do if PCB say ‘enough is enough, Babar has to go’?

Will Shaheen and those who are in Babar’s WhatsApp group all revolt against Pakistan?

This is what I was saying yesterday.. theres no way..our players will accept a junior as Saud Shakeel as captain.. maybe Sarfaraz or Shan, they will accept as most have already played under Sarfaraz, and Shan is also a senior..so as to say..but no way a junior like Saud Shakeel will be accepted by players

I think even with this Pakistan team..Stokes could do much better… Babar had no clue , how to control leakge of runs or how to get England batters out.. jack leach and Rehan were no world beaters or Joe root as a bowler..but Stokes utilisied all his resources properly and maximised their potential through his innovative captaincy.. Babar, on the other hand was absolutely clueless

I think the only options we have as captain in tests are Rizwan or Saud.Shaheen should not be considered as he's a bowler and plays all 3 formats.

Saud and Shaheen are not realistic options as the former is not a confirmed slot and the latter breaks down too often.

The only realistic option is Rizwan. I was surprised that he got overlooked for Babar originally. We might as well replace him now, the longer we wait, the longer we prolong the pain for Pakistan.

Told you nothing will happen!!! Mr. Fraud yesman will keep his job after PSL by PCB citing no time to find head coach. Babar will continue so as others.

According to some sports reporters, the teams coaches have not given flattering feedback to Ramiz regarding Babars captaincy and they are pushing for the PCB to consider the likes of Imam ul Haq and Shan Masood as potential captains going forward.

How about mr. fraud Saqlain!!!

Imam ul Haq lol? Good lord.

Babar doesn't have any clear goal of what he want do with his team , he doesn't have the Aura of the Strong captain like Virat who single Handley change Indian pace attack in to formidable force in abroad and home , All teams including current England will continue struggle in India bcz now they need to factor in Indian pace also along with Strong spin attack and also Indian pacers are good with Reverse swing also ,there will be no resipte for the team to recover

No current Team have Spinners in league of Indian spinners , last 5 years our pace attack actually bowl on par with spinners ,

I am tired of hearing his post-match excuses and pre-planned on-camera speeches. This guy doesn't have what it takes to be a world cup winning captain.

Should Babar Azam be sacked as captain? Shahid Afridi delivers blunt verdict after Pakistan's 0-3 defeat to England

Pakistan's celebrated former all-rounder Shahid Afridi had a straightforward verdict on Babar Azam's captaincy future after the side's 0-3 Test series loss to England.

Babar Azam's captaincy has come under significant scanner after the side's crushing 0-3 clean sweep Test series defeat to England. In the final Test of the series in Karachi, England registered a dominant 8-wicket victory over the home side as they chased down a 170-run target in 28.1 overs. The Ben Stokes-led English team continued on its aggressive approach – more commonly known as the ‘Bazball’ – throughout the Pakistan series, proving their doubters wrong.

Babar, meanwhile, is facing the wrath of fans and former cricketers with many even suggesting the star batter to step down from captaincy. However, the 28-year-old batter found support from Pakistan's former cricketer and legendary all-rounder Shahid Afridi, who insisted that sacking Babar is not the solution to the side's troubles.

“This (replacing Babar as captain) is not the solution. The mindset of the captain needs to be changed. Management needs to change the mindset, they need to demand a certain style of cricket from the captain and his team. If you have to take the Pakistan team to the top, you need to change Babar's mindset. It's not only his mistake or responsibility. The management also has the responsibility, they are so much more senior. They need to make the players understand on the style of cricket they expect from them,” Afridi said on Samaa TV.

“So, if only Babar is being held responsible for this debacle, it would be very unfair,” the former Pakistan cricketer added.

Pakistan will return to action in the longest format of the game on December 26 when the side takes part in a two-Test series against New Zealand. In the World Test Championship table, Pakistan endured heavy loss in position as the side fell to seventh position with 38.89 percentage points (PP). England, meanwhile, are now fifth with 46.97 PP.

While Australia remain first, India are second (55.57).

Hinustan Times

Saud and Shaheen are not realistic options as the former is not a confirmed slot and the latter breaks down too often.

The only realistic option is Rizwan. I was surprised that he got overlooked for Babar originally. We might as well replace him now, the longer we wait, the longer we prolong the pain for Pakistan.

He is a confirmed slot and should have been in the xi 1 year ago.

Rizwan is just about holding on his spot.

Imaam Ul Haq will get exposed in SENA and Shan is veteran we need to think ahead and not think backwards.

If babar has an iota of common sense, self respect, ghairat, he would have stepped down by now. According to reporters, even Ramiz has lost confidence in his captaincy and has already decided regardless of the NZ series results that Babar will not be the captain of the team going forward but because the NZ series is this close, this is not the time to announce a new captain so rapidly.

Even if Ramiz is replaced by Sethi, Sethi is much closer to players like Imad Wasim and he is not going to have any soft corners for Babar.

Imaam Ul Haq will get exposed in SENA and Shan is veteran we need to think ahead and not think backwards.

If we can get 3-5 good years of captaincy and batting from Shan Masood then there is no harm in it. Even Misbah took charge of the team in 2010 at the age of 35-36.

If we are to make Shan Masood captain then Rizwan should be sacked from his position in which then we need to groom a youngster in that psoiton

Babar Azam has just moved to no2 in the ranking. THE ONLY PAKISTANI CAPTAIN TO BEAT INDIA IN A WORLD CUP GAME AND HANDED TJEM THERE 1ST EVER 10 WICKET LOSS

Shah masood is barely clinging on to a spot in the team, I don’t see how you can make him captain. Let’s say he fails the next 3-4 series which is entirely possible, then what? Sack him and go to the next person in line? Pakistan have shot themselves in the foot by not grooming multiple captain candidates.. usually you have a pool from U-19 who are on this track.. sarfaraz was one such player I don’t see anyone else.

I thought Saqlain and MoYo were “Yes Men”??

If so - who are those coaches who are unhappy with Babar?

Babar Azam has just moved to no2 in the ranking. THE ONLY PAKISTANI CAPTAIN TO BEAT INDIA IN A WORLD CUP GAME AND HANDED TJEM THERE 1ST EVER 10 WICKET LOSS

Did Pakistan went to play 2021 T20 WC just to defeat India or to win the tournament?? In that match against India, it was bowlers who restricted strong Indian batting line to below par score which was comfortably chased by Babar & Rizwan. Next 2 matches of that WC against NZ & Afghanistan were won by Shoaib Malik & Asif Ali. Infact Babar & Rizwan were responsible for playing too slow in the semi final of that WC which Pakistan eventually lost.

If you remember that one match victory against India then you should also remember how many series & tournaments Pakistan has lost since then. By the way what was Babar's own performance in key matches & situations since then?? How many finals & series deciders Babar has won for Pakistan? What was his performance in last 3 matches he played against India (Asia Cup & 22 WC)?

Which sports reporters were reporting this? Although it doesnt make much difference now as Ramiz is no more there, and hopefully Najam sethi will look to change babar sooner than larer..
but i didnt hear these reporters that Ramiz was also unhappy with babar as captain.. which sports reporters reported this?

Which sports reporters were reporting this? Although it doesnt make much difference now as Ramiz is no more there, and hopefully Najam sethi will look to change babar sooner than larer..
but i didnt hear these reporters that Ramiz was also unhappy with babar as captain.. which sports reporters reported this?

Why wouldn’t Ramiz be unhappy with him? He (Babar) just cost Ramiz his job and has forced him out in quite a humiliating fashion.

Ramiz had grand plans of resetting the DNA of Pakistan cricket and bringing India “billion dollar industry” to its knees

Babar wrecked his plans

Rizwan does not even merit a spot in the team and you are thinking of making a captain. You are such a joke lol

Babars honeymoon period is over. Ramizs dumbest mistake ie giving such an incompetent cricketing intellect deficient jahil so much power and authority.

Why wouldn’t Ramiz be unhappy with him? He (Babar) just cost Ramiz his job and has forced him out in quite a humiliating fashion.

Ramiz had grand plans of resetting the DNA of Pakistan cricket and bringing India “billion dollar industry” to its knees

Babar wrecked his plans

Ramiz should now realize that the choice of a cricket captain and head coach is the most important decision a cricket chairman can make.

Not quite a vote of confidence today from Najam Sethi:

"I will listen to advice and recommendations from the people I appoint as I don't make cricketing decisions by myself"

Can Babar do anything more with what he have in terms of resources?

Hard to see Babar surviving past this series as captain if he can’t squeeze out a win from at least one of the two Tests.

Babar is in the same boat as Joe Root. An uninspiring captain with little authority under shambolic management

There is no frontline batsmen or bowler who has a guaranteed place in the side except Babar and Shaheen.

As bad as Babar might be, there are no alternatives unless a specialist captain is picked.

Babar is in the same boat as Joe Root. An uninspiring captain with little authority under shambolic management

but unlike joe root there is no ben stokes waiting in the wings, ben had been pulling england out of the fire for years before he became captain, pak dont have a player like that.

Perhaps Pakistan need to be bold and just hand a test debut and give the test captaincy to a young up and coming batsman and back him. Whats the worst that can happen ? Pakistan aren't winning any test series at present and sometimes you have to lose in order to win.If it doesn't work out try someone else. Keeping with Babar Azam those wins will be at a premimum and will only come against mediocre opposition.

Not quite a vote of confidence today from Najam Sethi:

"I will listen to advice and recommendations from the people I appoint as I don't make cricketing decisions by myself"

On one hand Sethi says that he wont make any cricketing decisions. On the other hand he is crystal clear that the coach should be foreign.

I wonder if it's a case of win the Test series against New Zealand or lose your job for Babar?

On one hand Sethi says that he wont make any cricketing decisions. On the other hand he is crystal clear that the coach should be foreign.

Sethi won’t take cricketing decisions but he will employee people who will take cricketing decisions. It is his job to decide who the right person would be to take those cricketing decisions.

Babar is an unimaginative and uninspiring leader however he is the only player in the xi who is a confirmed pick.

but unlike joe root there is no ben stokes waiting in the wings, ben had been pulling england out of the fire for years before he became captain, pak dont have a player like that.

Basically. There's simply no one with any character let alone the utter force that Stokes is.

Maybe the answer is Rizwan.. or Sarfraz shouldn't have been discarded so easily to manufacture a Kohli-iota

PCB should make Sarfaraz as captain again at least for tests.

This may be the only option sadly, esecially with Riswan out. It would be a huge step back to make another 35 year old captain, it wont be long before Sarfraz gets complacent and brings out a limited edition version of his Qorma Biryani tid [MENTION=53290]Markhor[/MENTION]

Basically. There's simply no one with any character let alone the utter force that Stokes is.

Maybe the answer is Rizwan.. or Sarfraz shouldn't have been discarded so easily to manufacture a Kohli-iota

its sad that its come to this, barring shaheen you get the feeling pak players lack the confidence to even believe they are good enough to impose themselves on opposition players. and shaheen would not be a viable test captaincy solution.

This may be the only option sadly, esecially with Riswan out. It would be a huge step back to make another 35 year old captain, it wont be long before Sarfraz gets complacent and brings out a limited edition version of his Qorma Biryani tid [MENTION=53290]Markhor[/MENTION]

the only way this is ever moderately acceptable is to identify his successor, appoint them VC and let sarfraz know he's only in the job to facilitate the captaincy moving to another younger player.

Not much that can Babar do with a gully mohalla level medium pace attack.

Mir hamza grunting to deliver 120kph thunderbolts. Mohammad Wasim doesn’t even look like a pace bowler. Neither of the two have the physique or craft that a pace bowler needs to possess.

I don't get this argument about a lack of alternatives.

That was the case when Babar was appointed, but not anymore. Shaheen is our best all-format bowler and the examples of Cummins and Stokes shows fast bowling captains can work. Southee has just been appointed captain of NZ. He may be injured now, but his fitness record was good prior to PCB's mishandling, and won the PSL with LQ so has some leadership success unlike Babar who's flopped as captain at U19, domestic and now international level.

I wouldn't appoint Rizwan as his own place isn't secure, and I think his mindset would be similar to Babar's, but again has leadership experience. Shadab Khan isn't someone I'd pick, but that's another option. Saud Shakeel is a left field choice, but has led Sindh well.

Nobody is guaranteed to be a success, but you won't know unless you give them a chance.

Not much that can Babar do with a gully mohalla level medium pace attack.

Mir hamza grunting to deliver 120kph thunderbolts. Mohammad Wasim doesn’t even look like a pace bowler. Neither of the two have the physique or craft that a pace bowler needs to possess.

I agree with the sentiments here. We are continuing to churn out one of the worst bowling attacks Pakistan has ever fielded. I don’t think Mohammed Wasim is the worst bowler in the world, but he is without doubt the 4th, or maybe 3rd at best, seamer in an attack. Mir Hamza is not an international quality bowler.

I actually think our top bowling attack, featuring Shaheen, Haris and Naseem is really quite good, but it has not helped that all three are injured and, in the one game two out of three played, the pitch was not even capable of being called a road. For a team like England, the lack of availability of an Archer/Broad/Potts is no problem, because they have Anderson/Robinson and plenty more. For a team like Pakistan however, there is literally no bench strength talent whatsoever.

When does Pakistan have any ready-made alternatives? Hardly ever.

We've gone from a country with 7 or 8 captains in the team to a total lack of leaders.

It might have to be a case of throwing someone into the deep end as some of the so-called leaders are struggling to keep their place in the Test XI.

Bobby is the General, hate him (captaincy ie) all you want, but he is the establishment... he aint going no where.

Babar Azam!

Declaration with 15 overs remaining for NZ to get 138 runs.

Smart or an expression of intent? Or did Afridi advise him?

Sackable offence. You can not take 10 wickets in 15 overs, so there is no need to do this.
Unless he is only afridis puppet right now - in which case he shouldn't be captain either

What on earth made him declare… just doesn’t make sense. I know he’s thick but surely nobody can be that thick. Thinks NZ will be out inside 10. Guys lost the plot completely…

Saqlain must be sacked ASAP this looks like his doing

That's why you don't give these maulvi types any ikhtiar because they will cause carnage one way or another .

I told you misbah is a much more sensible person.

Sethi sab do something for goodness sake!

Ramiz empowerment project will destroy Pakistan completely

Lost 4 in a row. Not only lost but got battered. Should of lost this game also but scraped a draw. Make up some excuse like ‘I can see a bit of improvement’ and at least we didn’t totally callapse in second inns’… but no. The guy embracing the whole nation by declaring for unknown reason… &#55358;&#56620;

Further proof of his incompetence. He realized he blundered badly and hence he chickened out by bringing pacers from both ends to get the umpires to call off the game.

What a wuss babar azam is! Sporting declaration followed by bowling fast bowlers in poor Light conditions. This is disgraceful

Reporter and PakPassion and any cricketing fan: Sooooo, can you tell us, what-t-h were you thinking when you declared?
Babar: I wasn't, need a brain for that, hencs dwclared.
Reporter and PakPassion and any cricketing fan: What about the coach? what was his take on this?
Babar: Excuse me, we dont have a coach, we have a qudrat ka nizaam.... and it happened... aur haan, koi kisi par ungli nahin uthaye ga, #aisasochnabhimanahai_babar160