Babar is taking time off to reset (with golf, playing PSL): What can we expect from El César de PSL in terms of international performance in future?

Suleiman

Babar Azam, the highest run getter and César de PSL has seen a dip in form in the last few years.

Otis Gibson has said they are working on a career rejuvenation with him playing golf and ofc playing something low stakes in the grand scheme of things in PSL.

Should his loyal fans be hopeful of this time off manifesting into the return of pre 2023 killer instinct Babar? Or is it time to move on?

I am personally optimistic and am an advocate for taking time off if things are not going your way, do some introspection, and do another activity before coming back to your main trade.

He is young. And if he’s willing to improve (major 🔑) then why give up hope?

Better, sasta and tikao option than Golf for Bobby: Gilli danda. Return to the basics and all that jazz :cigar

Gibson was a hard task master when he was in charge of WI. I know you cant be one in leagues, but hoping he has some harsh talks with Babar without higher ups intervening.

Ricky Ponting was brutally tortured by Harbhajan Singh on the 2001 Indian tour. He mentioned he worked very hard in the nets and tried everything but still ended up having a nightmare tour. He was very depressed during and after the tour. His friends, family encouraged him to take a long 2 month holiday and time off from the game where he did not even touch the bat.

He came back and enjoyed a fantastic tour of England in 2001.

Let's see if a more relaxed environment for Babar can work for him.

Ricky Ponting was brutally tortured by Harbhajan Singh on the 2001 Indian tour. He mentioned he worked very hard in the nets and tried everything but still ended up having a nightmare tour. He was very depressed during and after the tour. His friends, family encouraged him to take a long 2 month holiday and time off from the game where he did not even touch the bat.

Yes exactly.

It’s the same premise in bodybuilding or weight lifting. Previous Mr Olympias after grueling few weeks leading up to the show would take a multiple month break after the show, most well known of those being Ronnie Coleman who won it a record number of times.

Body would ofc be beat up, not to mention the substances and mental exhaustion of cutting to single digit body fat perctanges.

And yet despite taking time off unlike a lot of his competition, he would still win. In spite of months off when the next show was only a year away.

Not saying that was the only factor, but at this point what else is there left to try

Better, sasta and tikao option than Golf for Bobby: Gilli danda. Return to the basics and all that jazz :cigar
Na kar yaar, already having a tough time is Babar Azam,

Do you not want at least a half decent showing vs India next WC? Thoda maza toh ana chaiye in next el clasico clash- even as an Ind fan :asghar

Kahan Ricky Ponting aur kahan apna Bobby ... I say this is a big insult to the one and only king Bobby to suggest that he needs rest.Thats for mere mortals. :cigar

He needs to marry. Babar Azam has struggled with form for some time, but marriage offers a time-tested solution rooted in Pakistani values. In desi culture, family life brings stability, focus, and emotional support .. key for peak performance.

A supportive wife provides daily motivation through prayers, home-cooked meals , and a calm household. It will definitely sharpen his focus.

He needs to marry. Babar Azam has struggled with form for some time, but marriage offers a time-tested solution rooted in Pakistani values. In desi culture, family life brings stability, focus, and emotional support .. key for peak performance.

A supportive wife provides daily motivation through prayers, home-cooked meals , and a calm household. It will definitely sharpen his focus.
That’s all well and good but tbh some fans can argue Kohli went through a dip post marriage, and was lucky to be in an era of GOATed Indian talent in a single span of time to carry performances while he was khee khee kheeing on FaceTime or WhatsApp with Anushka bhabi.

This is what some fans may say, not me though. As The Last Unbiased Fan I am a big advocate of marriage- up to 4 at one point, but that’s a different topic.

Real talk, it depends on the person. Certain spouse may push you further to your career success and others distract you from it. You did say supportive wife so I am inclined to agree.

In either case I think it’s about resetting mentally + humble to learn still and not thinking you can ever be too old to improve.

That’s all well and good but tbh some fans can argue Kohli went through a dip post marriage, and was lucky to be in an era of GOATed Indian talent in a single span of time to carry performances while he was khee khee kheeing on FaceTime or WhatsApp with Anushka bhabi.

This is what some fans may say, not me though. As The Last Unbiased Fan I am a big advocate of marriage- up to 4 at one point, but that’s a different topic.

Real talk, it depends on the person. Certain spouse may push you further to your career success and others distract you from it. You did say supportive wife so I am inclined to agree.

In either case I think it’s about resetting mentally + humble to learn still and not thinking you can ever be too old to improve.
Kohli married in 2017 and he was in peak form till late 2019. His form dipped in 2020 -2021 and that can happen with anyone so wouldn't blame his wife. Kohli won 2 test series in Australia Post marriage. He was back with a bang in limited overs cricket soon and was scoring centuries for fun. Won a T20 world cup and still going strong in ODIs.

Babar probably suffers from a lack of motivation and having a supportive partner through Nikah can give him a new sense of purpose.

On the contrary, Shaheen, Malik (with Sania), Umar Akmal, Hasan Ali and Nasir Jamshed, their forms went downhill after getting married.

Hasan is a bowler, and the others aren't as family-oriented as Babar. You know Shoaib - the less said about him, the better.

Misbah had excellent Test records after marriage. Across the border, Sidhu Paji also had a great career post-marriage. It also depends on who you marry. Babar will need to choose his spouse carefully, just like he needs to bat carefully on the Multan minefields caused by heavy industrial fans.

A settled personal life will channel Babar's restless male energy into a disciplined play.

Hasan is a bowler, and the others aren't as family-oriented as Babar. You know Shoaib - the less said about him, the better.

Misbah had excellent Test records after marriage. Across the border, Sidhu Paji also had a great career post-marriage. It also depends on who you marry. Babar will need to choose his spouse carefully, just like he needs to bat carefully on the Multan minefields caused by heavy industrial fans.

A settled personal life will channel Babar's restless male energy into a disciplined play.
Babar doesn't seem like a mature individual.

All eyes on El Cesar de PSL now. Pakistanis, Indians, Southern Africans, Australians, everyone will be keeping a close eye on a much anticipated comeback from time off and time from teeing off at the golf course and away from international spotlight for El César de PSL.

Not in current mindset. If he thinks he need to be at the top of his game then this won't help much.

He has to achieve the standard he has in his mind or let go of it.

Thread is ideal for Indian trolls everyone knows Babar is finished as a T20 player some time ago but unlike Indians we can call out below par performances.... otherwise Rahane as a batsman and Ghazanfar as a bowler are amazing just because they are playing in IPL.

Babar is 34-35 (31 Pakistani years) so he still has a good 7-8 years left in him. And considering the fact that Pakistani players age like fine wine (Hafeez , Misbah, Malik and so on) , it is only fair to assume that he still has a good chance to deliver 3-4 ICC titles for Pakistan and retire as the GOAT..

Word should prepare for the inevitability... :inti

1000066029.jpg

otherwise Rahane as a batsman and Ghazanfar as a bowler are amazing just because they are playing in IPL.
One has to marvel at the audacity required to mock Rahane, given the caliber of 'titans' occupying the Pakistan batting lineup

One has to marvel at you quickly using Pakistani players to protect an Indian player as if they are immune to criticism.

Preferrably he can marry the daughter of a former cricketer who is still involved in PCB set up, that way alongside the prayers and calm household, he will have a friendly voice in the corridors of power too.

If Indians can take mickey out of Pakistan players same will be done to Indian players or does that hurt your ego.
Alright, Rahane is bad. But he played T20I almost a decade ago whereas Babar was a part of Pakistan in the recent T20 WC. Babar is the main reason Pakistan cricket is in such a mess.

Not in current mindset. If he thinks he need to be at the top of his game then this won't help much.

He has to achieve the standard he has in his mind or let go of it.
THis is the problem. I do think in his mind he still thinks, coach, captain, team composition etc is the problem and his batting is ok but he is being let down by others.

Babar Azam, the highest run getter and César de PSL has seen a dip in form in the last few years.

Otis Gibson has said they are working on a career rejuvenation with him playing golf and ofc playing something low stakes in the grand scheme of things in PSL.

Should his loyal fans be hopeful of this time off manifesting into the return of pre 2023 killer instinct Babar? Or is it time to move on?

I am personally optimistic and am an advocate for taking time off if things are not going your way, do some introspection, and do another activity before coming back to your main trade.

He is young. And if he’s willing to improve (major 🔑) then why give up hope?
He is 31.
What is your definition of “young age” from a cricket career perspective?

Preferrably he can marry the daughter of a former cricketer who is still involved in PCB set up, that way alongside the prayers and calm household, he will have a friendly voice in the corridors of power too.
This is a safe option from a long and fruitful career perspective for Babar Azam but as you understand not good for Pakistan team.