Bangladesh beat Afghanistan by 7 runs in 1st ODI

Wow! Just 7 runs :O Just checked the scorecard, match went close than expected. Well played AFG and congrats B'desh. I hope ICC's plans of promoting AFG n IRE with test status inspires these two nations to pull off some wins in shorter formats.

Expect Bangladesh to separate themselves in the following matches. Afghanistan's lacking run a ball players. The two that anchored today aren't good enough.

Wow! Just 7 runs :O Just checked the scorecard, match went close than expected. Well played AFG and congrats B'desh. I hope ICC's plans of promoting AFG n IRE with test status inspires these two nations to pull off some wins in shorter formats.

If Afghanistan continue to play the way they have played today then I pretty sure that they will soon overtake Pak and WI in Odis and grab that no 8 position in ICC odi ranking. They have quite a few world class batters who have the capability to remain calm and composed under tremendous pressure.

Was'nt interested initially, but I was just changing the channel and happen to see Afghanistan going smoothly at 158/2 on 32nd over. What i saw from then on was absolutely crap performance from Bangladesh. What the hell has happened to their fielding? This was the team that defeated india in 2007 WC group tier, current team is not even upto the minnow mark of the mid 2000s.

Bangladesh bowled staggering 13 wides and dropped catches of the new entrant 'Afghanistan' batsmen who did almost 150 run partnership. Bangladesh dropped several catches and gave life to all batsmen with exception of Nabi. Afghanistan defeated itself not Bangladesh, by playing shots that they did'nt middle giving catches to fielders on the boundary.

Bangladesh team is so easy to be put under pressure and made to commit errors, if Afghan team would've build with a plan they would've won it with an over to spare.

This is 'Afghanistan' that does'nt have a domestic structure, can't host anything or even the spending Bangladesh board does. Afghanistan in peace time was'nt that interested in cricket. They picked cricket from Pakistan in late 80s onwards, few players are former refugees. Mentally tough and way ahead than Bangladesh in terms of maturity, they are moving quickly and within couple of years look to dominate teams like Bangladesh and WI.

Bangladesh test status is kind of questionable, ICC awards test status based on merit, performance not on market and fans. 17 years now and still they are being manipulated by a new entrant team that does'nt have a domestic structure or home venue.

Whatta joke really Pakistan was so desperate for Bangladesh for many years which is'nt even competitive. They should've involved Afghanistan professionally instead of doing bhai/bhai charity and favors, Afghanistan are a much competitive side only would've helped Pakistan play a good tough side and Afghans would've agreed to tour, which now is uncertain given india's involvement.

Kabir Khan shouted for many years to invite on a proper tour and these PCB babus were busy begging to undeserving Bangladesh whose game has gone down.

Definitely there has to be a qualifying points system for keeping test status like other sports. You can't keep teams for having more fans or market.

Expect Bangladesh to separate themselves in the following matches. Afghanistan's lacking run a ball players. The two that anchored today aren't good enough.

Those two Afgans played brilliantly exactly in the way needed at that time. It was the failure of rest of the batsmen for which Afghanistan couldn't finish it off.

If Afghanistan continue to play the way they have played today then I pretty sure that they will soon overtake Pak and WI in Odis and grab that no 8 position in ICC odi ranking. They have quite a few world class batters who have the capability to remain calm and composed under tremendous pressure.

Yeah right!!!! By slogging you can only win against team like Zimbabwe or other associates but as much Pakistan/WI bad they still have some quality players. How many matches they won against top 5 apart from Zimbabwe????

Than how about our Shafiq and even Azhar???????

Shafiq is back in ODI side in style again! Pakistani selector posts should be vanished forever and the burden of selecting Pakistan team should be handed over to Pakpassion.:najam

Yeah right!!!! By slogging you can only win against team like Zimbabwe or other associates but as much Pakistan/WI bad they still have some quality players. How many matches they won against top 5 apart from Zimbabwe????

As I said, It will only happen if they continue to play the way they've played today. Did u watch today's match? If not then u won't understand.

R. Shah and H. Ulla Shahid looked like really good players and tonight both of them batted with authority. These two r technically quite solid too. Add Shahazad and Nabi with them and this Afghan batting lineup will look pretty solid.

Was'nt interested initially, but I was just changing the channel and happen to see Afghanistan going smoothly at 158/2 on 32nd over. What i saw from then on was absolutely crap performance from Bangladesh. What the hell has happened to their fielding? This was the team that defeated india in 2007 WC group tier, current team is not even upto the minnow mark of the mid 2000s.

Bangladesh bowled staggering 13 wides and dropped catches of the new entrant 'Afghanistan' batsmen who did almost 150 run partnership. Bangladesh dropped several catches and gave life to all batsmen with exception of Nabi. Afghanistan defeated itself not Bangladesh, by playing shots that they did'nt middle giving catches to fielders on the boundary.

Bangladesh team is so easy to be put under pressure and made to commit errors, if Afghan team would've build with a plan they would've won it with an over to spare.

This is 'Afghanistan' that does'nt have a domestic structure, can't host anything or even the spending Bangladesh board does. Afghanistan in peace time was'nt that interested in cricket. They picked cricket from Pakistan in late 80s onwards, few players are former refugees. Mentally tough and way ahead than Bangladesh in terms of maturity, they are moving quickly and within couple of years look to dominate teams like Bangladesh and WI.

Bangladesh test status is kind of questionable, ICC awards test status based on merit, performance not on market and fans. 17 years now and still they are being manipulated by a new entrant team that does'nt have a domestic structure or home venue.

Whatta joke really Pakistan was so desperate for Bangladesh for many years which is'nt even competitive. They should've involved Afghanistan professionally instead of doing bhai/bhai charity and favors, Afghanistan are a much competitive side only would've helped Pakistan play a good tough side and Afghans would've agreed to tour, which now is uncertain given india's involvement.

Kabir Khan shouted for many years to invite on a proper tour and these PCB babus were busy begging to undeserving Bangladesh whose game has gone down.

Definitely there has to be a qualifying points system for keeping test status like other sports. You can't keep teams for having more fans or market.

Relax. You are underestimating posters here - don't think people here are that stupid.

It'll be very shallow of me to match your comments regarding the 2007 team; you probably haven't "calculated" where that puts the PAK team. Afghans are quite decent ODI side & they have few very good players for LO cricket. But, they don't have the experience for a longer match - ths same AFG side 'll be much better T20 side & they'll struggle in Test - the longer the game, experience matters more. BD is playing ODI after almost a year, hence the team was a bit rusty - next match things 'll improve.

Also, I find it funny from several of your post regarding PCB's contribution to BD Test status. Buddy, don't try to be too bullish - BD deserves Test status or not, that's totally separate discussion, but if you think that PCB had the "Might" to bring BD in Test cricket, you are in fools paradise. It was Jaghmohan Dhalmiah all together - good, bad, ugly - I won't comment on that; but had BCCI not been behind that, PCB won't have turned a single page of that file in 25 years - people here are well aware of the length of their "jump".

Afghans played a great game there, but lost out to lack of experience; which is quite natural for a learning curve - keep it up to there. Don't focus much on how poor BD is, rather focus on how good Afghans are. This sort of immature post induces unnecessary comparison, which is uncalled for.

Was at the stadium really exciting, but at the same time dissappointed by the performance of our players yet understandable given that we are playing an ODI after 11 months and intl cricket after 6. Okay the former was not an excuse.

Fizz was missed but even without much assistance from Fizz we dominated Pak and SA. It was the India series where he made the difference. As for Afghanistan, their inexperienced hurt. I still felt that they could chase less than 8RPO easily but they choked in the end and not sure why Stanikzai did tuk-tuk against Shakib.

I am glad to see the never-say-die attitude from our boys. Not ashamed by the margin of victory. BTW, I won't compare Afghanistan with SA or Pak or even India. All 3 teams faced BD who played regular ODIs previously but Afghanistan faced a rusty BD side. However, now that they failed to win the first ODI, it will be difficult to win the next 2. Before the match began, I felt it was 70-30 for BD while most felt 90-10. Momentum matters.

But still, mighty impressed with Afghanistan. When BD were 200-3 they restricted us to 267.

Rashid Khan is quality, maybe he can become as good as Shakib one day :shakib

Was at the stadium really exciting, but at the same time dissappointed by the performance of our players yet understandable given that we are playing an ODI after 11 months and intl cricket after 6. Okay the former was not an excuse.

Fizz was missed but even without much assistance from Fizz we dominated Pak and SA. It was the India series where he made the difference. As for Afghanistan, their inexperienced hurt. I still felt that they could chase less than 8RPO easily but they choked in the end and not sure why Stanikzai did tuk-tuk against Shakib.

I am glad to see the never-say-die attitude from our boys. Not ashamed by the margin of victory. BTW, I won't compare Afghanistan with SA or Pak or even India. All 3 teams faced BD who played regular ODIs previously but Afghanistan faced a rusty BD side. However, now that they failed to win the first ODI, it will be difficult to win the next 2. Before the match began, I felt it was 70-30 for BD while most felt 90-10. Momentum matters.

But still, mighty impressed with Afghanistan. When BD were 200-3 they restricted us to 267.

Rashid Khan is quality, maybe he can become as good as Shakib one day :shakib

Agreed - that's definitely true for batting & bowling. But, what are the excuses for the club level fielding & catching? Today, Afghans were easily the better fielding side & they'll score 4 out of 10 with their fielding efforts.

Almost lost the match (& 7th rank) for fielding!!!!!!!!

Agreed - that's definitely true for batting & bowling. But, what are the excuses for the club level fielding & catching? Today, Afghans were easily the better fielding side & they'll score 4 out of 10 with their fielding efforts.

Almost lost the match (& 7th rank) for fielding!!!!!!!!

There is no excuse for poor fielding, 6 months or 6 years gap. The reason why our fielding has been poor not just today but lately is because we have put more emphasis on the credentials of players in batting or bowling. In the past we had Shafiul, Anamul, Nasir all were top fielders. But they aren't in the mix anymore.

While we fielded poorly I will completely disagree with you about Afghanistan fielding better than us. I was at the stadium and Afghans were just woeful. Dropped Kayes twice, Tamim and Riad once each. Overthrows. And not even attacking the ball at times. Afghanistan could have easily won the match with better fielding. Given our batting, we would barely have scored 250 against any other fielding units.

There is no excuse for poor fielding, 6 months or 6 years gap. The reason why our fielding has been poor not just today but lately is because we have put more emphasis on the credentials of players in batting or bowling. In the past we had Shafiul, Anamul, Nasir all were top fielders. But they aren't in the mix anymore.

While we fielded poorly I will completely disagree with you about Afghanistan fielding better than us. I was at the stadium and Afghans were just woeful. Dropped Kayes twice, Tamim and Riad once each. Overthrows. And not even attacking the ball at times. Afghanistan could have easily won the match with better fielding. Given our batting, we would barely have scored 250 against any other fielding units.

I know, I watched the entire match :)

Just embarrassed with our show today. Afghans are just starting to compete in big league, while we have all the facilities & trainers. Even Riad almost dropped the match.

Also, i noticed that the floodlights were a tad bit bright today compared to previous occassions(when i was in the stadium), or maybe I have problem with my eyes.

The outfielders were struggling when the ball was in the air. Also, I don't understand why our players weren't wearing night-glasses.

Bangladesh beat India and Pakistan, and almost lost to Afghanistan?

What went wrong in such a short time period?

Just embarrassed with our show today. Afghans are just starting to compete in big league, while we have all the facilities & trainers. Even Riad almost dropped the match.

It was embarassing, but we escaped with a narrow win and showed our character in the end(took 3 catches back to back :shakib)

Bangladesh didn't play a single match for half a year which disrupted the momentum. India and Pakistan had to face a team which was full of confidence.

Do you think Bangladesh will become like India and Afghanistan will be Pakistan? :P

Bangladesh team is so easy to be put under pressure and made to commit errors, if Afghan team would've build with a plan they would've won it with an over to spare....
Thanks for your detailed analysis. I bet you didn't know BD didn't play any ODIs in last 11 months. All the issues you mentioned can be corrected and can get back to 2015 standard in few match practices.

Not everyone is Amir. It takes time to regain form after a long break.

11 months have passed. BD didn't play a single ODI. That is why the rust. I only hope they get in to their groove before Eng come to town.

are we seeing the decline of the phenom known as soyam sarkar?

Relax. You are underestimating posters here - don't think people here are that stupid.

It'll be very shallow of me to match your comments regarding the 2007 team; you probably haven't "calculated" where that puts the PAK team. Afghans are quite decent ODI side & they have few very good players for LO cricket. But, they don't have the experience for a longer match - ths same AFG side 'll be much better T20 side & they'll struggle in Test - the longer the game, experience matters more. BD is playing ODI after almost a year, hence the team was a bit rusty - next match things 'll improve.

Also, I find it funny from several of your post regarding PCB's contribution to BD Test status. Buddy, don't try to be too bullish - BD deserves Test status or not, that's totally separate discussion, but if you think that PCB had the "Might" to bring BD in Test cricket, you are in fools paradise. It was Jaghmohan Dhalmiah all together - good, bad, ugly - I won't comment on that; but had BCCI not been behind that, PCB won't have turned a single page of that file in 25 years - people here are well aware of the length of their "jump".

Afghans played a great game there, but lost out to lack of experience; which is quite natural for a learning curve - keep it up to there. Don't focus much on how poor BD is, rather focus on how good Afghans are. This sort of immature post induces unnecessary comparison, which is uncalled for.

Chalo world beaters are here LOL. Now Bangladeshi PP posters willl make Bangladesh win the world cup thru their laptop keyboards or smartphones. If such posters devote sometime for some constructive criticism regarding their players, Bangladesh would've been a better team than a disaster it is right now.

If Pakistan did something to support Bangladesh test status, they deserve the treatment is giving to them and to cricket as a sport. And if not as per your opinion, thank goodness.

Bangladesh's 'greatttt' backer BCCI should give Bangladesh a test series also. This might help Bangladesh
but will make india struggle infront of Ireland LOL.

Afghanis did'nt do 'anything' great they just played 'professionally' [not even world class] with better basics compared to Bangladesh grade 1 cricket.

Well it really is'nt my concern Bangladeshis can continue to defend this pathetic unit and take slow walk back to associate status, all hell I care.

Bangladesh is a prime example of what wrongly devoted nationalism, does to nations. You can shut criticism with abuse but Bangladesh will still bowl 12 wides & drop 5-7 catches.

Bangladeshi marketing team can't help Bangladesh cricketing skills.

Congratulations to Afghans for a tough game.

Well done by the BD performers. the Non-performers should have a second crack at it in the next match.

Well it really is'nt my concern Bangladeshis can continue to defend this pathetic unit and take slow walk back to associate status, all hell I care...
How does it feel to be below than a pathetic unit team in the standings? I care.

[MENTION=2122]BD-fan[/MENTION]

How much cricket has Afghanistan played? How much cricket they have played professionally in their home country? Your points mite've been relevant with even Ireland but what Afghanistan shows is improvement of skills does'nt need nationalism, big spending boards, crazy fans it needs cricketers who work hard.

Btw i am/was against Amir return in the side and he himself has proved that younger new entrants like Hasan Ali or even Sohail Khan without any tainted past or even central contract fight harder for a Pakistan win. So Amir is not a good example to justify with a bad team.

Chalo world beaters are here LOL. Now Bangladeshi PP posters willl make Bangladesh win the world cup thru their laptop keyboards or smartphones. If such posters devote sometime for some constructive criticism regarding their players, Bangladesh would've been a better team than a disaster it is right now.

If Pakistan did something to support Bangladesh test status, they deserve the treatment is giving to them and to cricket as a sport. And if not as per your opinion, thank goodness.

Bangladesh's 'greatttt' backer BCCI should give Bangladesh a test series also. This might help Bangladesh

Afghanis did'nt do 'anything' great they just played 'professionally' [not even world class] with better basics compared to Bangladesh grade 1 cricket.

Well it really is'nt my concern Bangladeshis can continue to defend this pathetic unit and take slow walk back to associate status, all hell I care.

Bangladesh is a prime example of what wrongly devoted nationalism, does to nations. You can shut criticism with abuse but Bangladesh will still bowl 12 wides & drop 5-7 catches.

Wait what? Do you lack commonsense

So if our fans spent more time giving constructive criticism to our players we would be a better side? So there are are world class cricket coaches who understand the sport 10 times better, there are selectors, and well the players understand the game far better. But OH, the activities of our fans mean a lot? Well no. Players don't pay heed to the criticism of the fans because they are much smarter than that. Not just in sports but its applicable to to all aspects.

A lot of fans here has hatred for CricketJoshila but CricketJoshila actually made good sense to his posts. Your posts seems clueless.

How does it feel to be below than a pathetic unit team in the standings? I care.

If you don't care why do you visit this forum lol? There were more Bangladeshi fans in Australia than pakistan cheering for it and there were some of them cheering for india.

Once Bangladesh team becomes history we might see Bangladeshi doing roleplays similar to Dhaka in 97 final hahahaha. Or would come cheer for India, whatever it does with them.

I bow out

Trying to put sense where its none, seems a bad idea. Hope Bangladesh matches with the emotional boasting, defending of its marketing team or fans translates into great performances in
the video game Don Bradman cricket 2014.

I have hardly read such stupid comments in PP. What devoted Nationalism - not a single BD poster here insulted AFG teams, they were praised for their performance; actually every BD posters here criticized own team's performance. No one has abused anyone for criticizing on field performance, but if you think that you'll bring uncalled for insult from vaunted ego, you'll not get away with that.

Bowling wide & dropping catches are part of the game - but it sound dumb from someone from Pakistan, if you think that someone has to be ashamed for that. How many dollies fielders dropped in Mohali 2011?

Your understanding of cricket business is too shallow to realize that a Series BD vs IND in IND might not recover the cost, but it's a big pay day if it's hosted in BD. Last 3 Series, were intentionally shifted to BD for commercial reason. Now that BD team has some credibility, it'll tour India & if they can maintain the standard, time & again BD will visit India. Just like ZIM toured several times in 90s, none since Mugabe's Zimbok - but IND do tour ZIM regularly still.

You shouldn't be concerned either for BD's slow walk to Associate level, rather you should play a low ball, before PAK can avoid playing WC Qualifiers with associates. Marketing team doesn't manage Bangladesh cricket skills - I believe you are aware of that, the bitter way.

A game the Afghans lost rather then Bangladesh won. If this had been played anywhere in the world but Mirpur, the Afghans would have cantered home.

England will demolish the Bengalis i'm afraid.

I bow out

Trying to put sense where its none, seems a bad idea. Hope Bangladesh matches with the emotional boasting, defending of its marketing team or fans translates into great performances in
the video game Don Bradman cricket 2014.

Don't bow out - people will call you loser.

Back your comments with logic & sense, as you said. Afghans played a great match, but lost to lack of experience, which can happen to any team new in the game.

You are right about one comment indeed - that 3-0 thrashing from a team, 35 points behind rating only happens in Video Game. In real world only once happened in history.

are we seeing the decline of the phenom known as soyam sarkar?

2nd year syndrome - look at Mahrez or Payet.

He has to work on his leg side game & has to tighten off side defence; otherwise, he is history in a year. There are 3/4 really good batsmen lurking around - once out, it'll be tough for him to come back.

A game the Afghans lost rather then Bangladesh won. If this had been played anywhere in the world but Mirpur, the Afghans would have cantered home.

England will demolish the Bengalis i'm afraid.

Me too, that's why keeping silent.

After what they did to Pakistan recently, I am really scared of those 3 ODI. Hope they don't spank 445 against our trundlers.

Afghanistan messed it up completely when they were in a comfortable position while chasing.

Just got finished watching it on replay.

Great game. Didn't think we'd pull it off. Afghans did very well. Let us see how they go in the remaining matches. Bangladesh were rusty. All 3 departments need more work.

Would have loved to see wins by 75+ runs or 6+ wickets...but a win is a win.

We can climb to 5th in the rankings if we win all 6 games vs AFG and ENG. Tough ask, but we can do it.