Bangladesh tour of India (2024)

Better player of spin than KL any day.

There is no sense in playing a 32 year old player who avgs 34..
KL Rahul has experience and I think he can play spin well on turning tracks.

It's still early days for Sarfaraz in international cricket so I wouldn't take the risk of replacing him with KL Rahul.

KL has done nothing to deserve a chance. Nothing.

Avg of 34 after 50 tests tells us he isn't good enough to play for India in tests.

Rohit Sharma said following in the pre-series press conference before Tests against Bangladesh:

"Every team wants to defeat India, let them have their fun, maze lene do unko,"

"We know how to play our cricket. England also said a lot of things when they came here, but we never focused on them. We just want to have our preparations in place. Every team that comes to India, we study them well, and that’s what we’ll focus on."

Bangladesh bowling coach Hathurusingha said following in pre series press conference before clash against the Indian side:

"Miraz (Mehidy) I would say is the most improved Bangladeshi cricketer in the last five-six years. He's ready to take over when Shakib moves out,"

"He has developed his batting and obviously his bowling has always been his strength number one. And he's a gun fielder,"

"Against India, that's the best challenge you get nowadays in cricket. So playing against the best always gives you the perception of where you stand. As well as looking forward to, as sportsmen, we are looking forward to that challenge,"

Gautam Gambhir while addressing a press conference on the eve of the Chennai Test:

“I have been a big believer that we don’t fear anyone but we respect everyone. It is the same with Bangladesh. We don’t look at the opposition and we play the game we know.”

“I congratulate them (Bangladesh) for what they did in Pakistan. But this is a new series, and they are a quality side. We want to play good cricket. Yes, they have experience in Shakib (Al Hasan), Mushfiqur (Rahim), and Mehidy (Miraz) but we want to be switched on from ball one.”

Rohit Sharma said following in the pre-series press conference before Tests against Bangladesh:

"Every team wants to defeat India, let them have their fun, maze lene do unko,"

"We know how to play our cricket. England also said a lot of things when they came here, but we never focused on them. We just want to have our preparations in place. Every team that comes to India, we study them well, and that’s what we’ll focus on."
Rohit seems hungry (for vada pav) to win the wtc title.

Saw a nice clip of Indians practicing at Chepauk. Akash Deep was consistently troubling Kohli. To me, he looks a better bet to partner Bumrah.

Wasim Jaffer, former India opener, cautioned Rohit Sharma's team ahead of the Test series in a recent interview with local media:

"They have become better with experience. They were known to play well in Bangladesh, but lately they have also toured well. They have beaten New Zealand in New Zealand (2002 at Bay Oval, Mount Maunganu), beaten Pakistan in Pakistan. In limited overs cricket, they have done well in patches away from home. They have quite a few seniors to guide them. Shakib Al Hasan and Mushfiqur Rahim have been there for so long."

"I think they must have gained from Donald's work (he had joined in March, 2022 and was there till the 2023 ODI World Cup). Before that Courtney Walsh was also there. During that period Ebadot Hossain emerged, the likes of Taskin Ahmed and Mustafizur Rahman got better and now Nahid Rana has come up. With Shoriful Islam and Hasan Mahmud, they have four- five quality fast bowlers, who bowl 140-plus, that is what you need."

talkSPORT has put out an excellent preview/discussion ahead of the series featuring Jarrod Kimber, Bhogle and some Bangladeshi Journo.

The host knew his stuff and asked good questions, jarrod was usually good, and most surprisingly Bhogle didn't spout his usual inanities. I usually have no time for cricket articles, podcasts or any ex-cricketer holding forth but this was pretty good.

Saw a nice clip of Indians practicing at Chepauk. Akash Deep was consistently troubling Kohli. To me, he looks a better bet to partner Bumrah.
Akash deep bowled than even Bumrah with new ball in the one Test he played.

Bangladesh veteran under injury cloud ahead of Kanpur Test

Star Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan is under medical assessment ahead of the second Test against India.

Shakib Al Hasan is under observation ahead of his team’s encounter against India in Kanpur.

The 37-year-old experienced discomfort in the shoulder and finger while playing the Chennai Test. He bowled 21 overs across the two innings, and was uncharacteristically expensive, giving away 129 runs without a wicket.

On Monday, Hannan Sarkar, a member of BCB’s selection panel confirmed that the senior all-rounder’s fitness was being monitored.

“We are heading to Kanpur tomorrow and today is a day off,” Sarkar told reporters. “We will have two sessions afterward and we will judge after that and we don't want to make a decision yet [regarding Shakib’s availability for Kanpur].”

“These two days, the physio has kept him under observation. When we get back to the ground, we will get the physio's feedback. We have to think before picking Shakib for the next match and there is time before the next match. We will see what condition he is in.”

Despite his fitness concerns, Shakib showed grit with the bat, top scoring in the first innings for the side with a 32, and adding 25 in the second innings.

India won the first Test by 280 runs, which helped tighten their grip at the top WTC spot, with an improved point percentage of 71.67. On the other hand, Bangladesh (39.29%) slipped to the sixth place after the result.

The second India-Bangladesh Test begins on 27 September in Kanpur.

ICC

India T20I squad to face Bangladesh

OBde6NU.jpg

India T20I squad to face Bangladesh

OBde6NU.jpg
Good squad. I like the emphasis on youth and pace.
Sanju Samson surely in last chance saloon now, has got chances -was a total dud in SL and needs to fire big now.
Othere than that i have not much ideas about jitesh sharma or nitesh kr Reddy, also why is Varun Chakravarthy selected?unless he has got bagfuls of wickets somewhere....
A few guys i thot would make it here would be DevDutt Padikkal, Tilak verma - i guess their chance will come.
I also guess a sort of audition for guys like Mayank yadav, Harshit rana - for the Aus tour. At last our guys are thinking pace and that is a good sign. The BD t20's will be exciting.

Just came across a stat for India test overall test records.
Played 580, won 179 lost 178.
finally we are in the positive :)...
considering so many of these wins were after Y2k....just imagine how pathetic we before, easily the easy beats of world cricket.
Now, when we take the field- any country/conditions/pitch - the expectation is for a win, not competing.....How the times have changed.... :ds

Good squad. I like the emphasis on youth and pace.
Sanju Samson surely in last chance saloon now, has got chances -was a total dud in SL and needs to fire big now.
Othere than that i have not much ideas about jitesh sharma or nitesh kr Reddy, also why is Varun Chakravarthy selected?unless he has got bagfuls of wickets somewhere....
A few guys i thot would make it here would be DevDutt Padikkal, Tilak verma -
Padikkal is having horrible last 3 seasons. Tilak got injured and has started again . Varun got a great season in ipl but am not sure that guy will succeed again. Jurel is test back up to pant so only left options are samson and jitesh albeit both are not dependable. Nitish reddy had a great ipl with srh .he is 18 /19.He can bowl at 135 and good bat.scored 67 at 7th spot to win the loosing match.He is much better promise than dube for sure.
As u said exciting times again for pace as dravid left.hoping soon for kuldeep sen,karthik tyagi and others to join the brigade

Abishek sharma should try to be more consistent (good and fast ) in atleast 2 matches in bng series to put pressure on Gill in t20.I think selection committee will go with almost the similar squad to sa t20 series too as we have bgt immediately after that.So Abhishek Sharma should try to maximise his chances for t20 opening spot and number 7 in odis. Performance in sa will always fetch u extra marks as we struggle there

Padikkal is having horrible last 3 seasons. Tilak got injured and has started again . Varun got a great season in ipl but am not sure that guy will succeed again. Jurel is test back up to pant so only left options are samson and jitesh albeit both are not dependable. Nitish reddy had a great ipl with srh .he is 18 /19.He can bowl at 135 and good bat.scored 67 at 7th spot to win the loosing match.He is much better promise than dube for sure.
As u said exciting times again for pace as dravid left.hoping soon for kuldeep sen,karthik tyagi and others to join the brigade
"so only left options are samson and jitesh" - why, what happened to Ishan kishen? last i know, he was asked to play domestics to be selected for ODI and tests, but surely he would in contention for T20's...
I mean leave the politics aside, surely he's the next cab of the rank for T20 surely IK > Jitesh and samson.
Totally forgot about Kuldeep Sen - another guy who should be selected before he crosses 30 and bowls 125kmph - hope he does not go the umraan way. Kyartik tyagi is still young, he might still be picked somewhere down the line.
Tkx for the info on nitesh Reddy - hope he becomes a good dependable pace bowlin all rounder.
But for me - will have fun watching our young pacemen in the up coming T20's.

"so only left options are samson and jitesh" - why, what happened to Ishan kishen?
Samson got a great pr campaign .ishan was going at 125 sr and 25 avg almost like a rizwan .jeetesh sharma is a good middle order spin basher but highly inconsistent .kishan had a very bad ipl season this year with 22 avg

Lol @ 'gr8 pr campaign' ...
Now that Rav Jadz has retired from T20, golden chances for Ravi Bishnoi and Washi Sundar to cement their places as the lead spinners in team.

Lol @ 'gr8 pr campaign' ...
Now that Rav Jadz has retired from T20, golden chances for Ravi Bishnoi and Washi Sundar to cement their places as the lead spinners in team.
I think kuldeep was not preferred by gambhir for t20s as per previous reports and he wants eveyone to contribute in all the departments. So golden chance for axar,washi and bishnoi as the next t20 wc is in india

KL is a mental midget. He's only 2 yrs younger than Kohli. Sarfaraz over KL anyday. Talent technique etc is useless unless you have the determination fight and mental aptitude especially at the international level. And Sarfaraz has displayed that already in the limited chances he has gotten

With VK, RS, RJ all three retired from IT20. BD will win the t20 seres against India. InshAllah. I feel Bangladesh can.

Bangladesh won 1 T20 last time they toured India. Actually, they were close to winning 2-1 last time (Naim almost pulled it off with an aggressive 81).

Would be interesting to see how BD bowlers fare against likes of SKY and Rinku.

Highly unlikely for a result here. It will be a drawn test match.

A top T20 side like Bangladesh really should be beating an Indian side whose stalwarts have just retired.

No excuses really

Bangladesh likely going to escape with a draw. Seems every Asian team besides Pakistan is doing well these days.

Former Pakistan cricketer, Basit Ali said on his YouTube channel:

"Fark aap dekh le India aur Pakistan ka fark. Yeh haqeeqat hai, isko maane. Agar aap issi soch me rahenge ki humari cricket bahut achchi hai, toh bekaar hai. India ka muqabla bas Australia se hi hai, baaki aise hi hai. Mere khayal se 19th or 20th series jeeti hai (Please notice the difference between India and Pakistan. This is the truth, accept it. If you keep thinking that our cricket is very good, then it's a waste)."

"They Forgot...": Sunil Gavaskar's Blunt Analysis Of Bangladesh's Collapse vs India In 2nd Test​

On the last day of the India vs Bangladesh 2nd Test in Kanpur on Tuesday, the visitors went from three down to seven down in the space of just three runs. Eight sessions were lost in the first three days due to persistent rain and it seemed that the game would just meander to a dull draw. However, after bowling out Bangladesh for 233, India destroyed the visitors' attack to take a 52-run lead, all in just 34.4 overs. The approach opened up the game. Then India kept Bangladesh under the pump, bowling them out for a mere 146 in the second essay and raced to the 95-run target in 17.2 overs.

Former Indian cricket team captain Sunil Gavaskar had an interesting take on Bangladesh's batting.

"I thought that maybe they forgot this is a Test match. There are plenty of days, and this is, of course, the last day. Some of the shots that we saw... from Shanto — you're right, when the shot comes off, it looks brilliant. When it doesn't come off, you have to think, what have you tried to do?" Gavaskar said on air.

"Then Shadman after reaching his half-century, playing a loose shot outside the off stump, these are things where he could have capitalised and gone on to get a hundred."

Bangladesh head coach Chandika Hathurusinghe on Tuesday admitted that his team was blown away by India's “not-seen-before” aggressive batting that eventually forced a result in the weather-hit second Test.

“This approach was not seen before and we did not react quickly. Credit to Rohit (Sharma) and his team for taking such an approach and making a game out of it,” Hathurusinghe said.

Understandably, Hathurusinghe said the defeat was painful, especially coming to these shores after a 2-0 series win over Pakistan.

“This defeat is really hurting us. Batting has been disappointing. We have not been performing to our potential in the last few series,” the coach added.

Asked if his bowlers did a better job than the batters, Hathurusinghe said he won't compare his players.

“Both are my players. Another factor is the quality of the opposition, and the skill level on display in this series was very high. We are learning a lot from here.” Hathurusinghe said the series taught his side about the areas they needed to improve.

Listen to the latest songs, only on JioSaavn.com

“Going forward, we will know what the top standard is, since this is the best team. Playing India is the toughest assignment at this stage, so we know how much we need to improve,” he added.

Don’t worry they couldn’t manage it even while playing only 2 days, they are equally bad as PCT right now.
How they are equally bad when they were smashed Pakistan in pakistan . They are better than Pakistan.

Not sure you can blame Bangladesh entirely. Everything happened in the blank of an eye. Before even realizing Indian innings was over. What they could have done better is batting in the first innings. If they had survived an extra 25 overs on day 4 they could have fancied their chances of draw.

Bangladesh played with fear and that's why lost so bad.
Lol, it’s not that simple, India is a hard place even for well settled teams.
Ash Jaddu Bumrah are enough in India to take 20 wickets, and the new guy Akash did well too.

Jaiswal kept getting good starts creating issues.

Ramiz Raja while speaking on his YouTube channel:

"See how the bowlers supported Rohit Sharma in this victory innings. Fast bowlers dominated in the first inning and spinners shined in the second inning. It was an amazing Test series for Ashwin. He scoring a century at home and also taking six wickets is an amazing mastery and an amazing all-round ability, perhaps he has not got the kind of status in cricket that he should get as an all-rounder."

"Ashwin is no less than anyone else, he scores century at every opportunity, and takes wickets at every opportunity and doesn't show too much pride, doesn't make any drama after taking a wicket, doesn't make any drama after scoring a century."

"India won the Test match easily against Bangladesh. At this point, India is the strongest team to beat on their home soil... Bangladesh had to do a lot to give a tough time to such a successful team because winning a Test match can only be a dream for any visiting team. Bangladesh didn't have the capacity to challenge India."

Only thing BD have won so far on the tour is the toss... Must count for a moral victory.

I don't know why they arranged a T20 series. Should've been an ODI series.

T20 sucks.

Offcourse T20s are a waste of time as India is currently holding the cup, should PCT or BDCT win it, it will be as popular as Dhaka Biryani :viru

Offcourse T20s are a waste of time as India have currently holding the cup, should PCT or BDCT win it, it will be as popular as Dhaka Biryani :viru
India is a much stronger ODI side than T20I side. People forget we demolished 10 teams before slipping up in the final. Still no.1 ranked side

Screenshot-2024-10-03-135238.jpg

India is a much stronger ODI side than T20I side. People forget we demolished 10 teams before slipping up in the final. Still no.1 ranked side

Screenshot-2024-10-03-135238.jpg

Indian ODI team lost series in both SL and BD.

India is quite average in ODI without Bumrah and Shami.

Indian ODI team lost series in both SL and BD.

India is quite average in ODI without Bumrah and Shami.
Dude. Rohit was injured in one of the ODI. Nobody takes bilateral with minnows seriously. Same India bowled SL out for 51 runs and 50 runs in the main events. Siraj absolutely routed them both times.

Offcourse T20s are a waste of time as India is currently holding the cup, should PCT or BDCT win it, it will be as popular as Dhaka Biryani :viru

I have always been anti-T20.

Even if BD do well in T20, I am still likely to be anti-T20.

Suddenly JAMODIS are being shown as the real McCoy...ahh the farce

Except for when Indians are smashing double centuries or steam rolling Oppos in JAMODIS...as I said 🧌 continues to amuse...

When it comes to T20, ODI, and Test, there is no flip flop. I have always been a fan of Test and ODI only. Everything else is not real cricket.

As a matter of fact, if I am in charge of ICC, I would ban T20 and declare all T20 records as invalid.

There is no point of a T20 series instead ODI series should have played knowing Champion trophy is not far away .

You gain absolutely nothing by playing ODIs against Bangladesh. T20 atleast we can see the likes of Mayank Yadav and other youngsters. When it comes to bilaterals , T20 bilaterals are more useful for India as they can do a lot of experiment. India doesn't introduce players into ODIs that easily.

nowadays, boards are also more interested in T20 cricket as well. It is not just players. India is gonna smash Bangladesh in t20s as well.

You gain absolutely nothing by playing ODIs against Bangladesh. T20 atleast we can see the likes of Mayank Yadav and other youngsters. When it comes to bilaterals , T20 bilaterals are more useful for India as they can do a lot of experiment. India doesn't introduce players into ODIs that easily.
I see lot of other teams are also not taking champions trophy seriously. U can see no odis for lots of them till next jan.all are playing 10 to 15 odis at max before next Feb (counting from last odi wc)

nowadays, boards are also more interested in T20 cricket as well. It is not just players. India is gonna smash Bangladesh in t20s as well.
IT is very rare ODI series are interesting. Australia vs England was a quality ODI series although both teams missed a few players. From work load perspective players would prefer T20. Total game lasts only 3.5 hours. Especially fast bowlers are more relieved.

Yep. Bowlers have less work to do in T20s. Bumrah type bopwlers should be managed carefully anyways.

"Expecting Pitch To Play Slow": Bangladesh Star Towhid Hridoy Ahead Of 1st T20I​

Bangladesh middle-order batter Towhid Hridoy is expecting the pitch to play slow in the T20I series opener against India as both teams enter unknown territory with the Shrimant Madhavrao Stadium hosting its first international match on Sunday. Bangladesh took part in their third practice session in Gwalior on Saturday. "T20 is a game of runs, every team want to score runs. But no international match has happened here, it is a new venue. We don't know what will be the condition.

"Looking at the practice wicket, I feel it is a slow pitch. In such wickets having a high scoring game is very less. No IPL match has also happened here,” said Hridoy.

Hridoy also stressed the team is here to win the series though it will miss the services of champion all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan, who recently retired from T20 and Test cricket.

“Pressure is always there, but if we think about that then we will not be able to perform well, our focus is always on process and how to perform. Shakib bhai is not there, we will miss him but everyone has to go one day, we are hopeful we will be able to beat them,” said the 23-year-old.

Organisers on war footing to get stadium ready for international debut

While the field of play is ready in the newly-built facility, organisers are making a last gap attempt to giving finishing touches to the work going in the stands and around the stadium.

A bevy of VIPs is expected for the landmark fixture and considering that, desperate repair work is underway on the road leading to the stadium located in the outskirts of the city. Heavy rain lashed the city last month, causing significant damage to roads. A wall around the periphery of the stadium had caved in couple of weeks ago.

On entering the stadium, one could see work going on at a frenetic pace a day before the game. Madhya Pradesh Cricket Association has flown in a team from its hub in Indore to ensure a smooth operation.

“We have been here for more than a week. It takes more time to get work done in Gwalior compared to Indore. The elevators in one of the stands only got installed in the morning. Thank god it is a day night game, otherwise fans would have a tough time sitting in stands without a roof,” said an official.

Don't understand why they built new stadiums with out rooftop cover for the spectators. Hope it will.be covered in the second phase.Already it was mentioned in reports severe heat wave is expected.

Suryakumar Yadav said during the pre-match press conference in Gwalior ahead of 1st T20I:

"Sanju Samson will play and open the batting in this series, going forward with Abhishek Sharma."

"He [Mayank Yadav] definitely has the X factor - it was evident when he played franchise cricket."

"It's important to manage him well because of the amount of cricket being played. Everyone is playing for their state too. There was the Duleep Trophy recently. So it is important to pay proper attention and the BCCI is doing that."

"We practised on the centre wicket, just two pitches away. We didn't find it that low and slow - we practised all three days. So it [the match pitch] should not be much different."

"For T20 cricket, these are good wickets. There will be good competition [between the bat and ball] but at the same time it looks good [for run-scoring]. The rest we will get to know tomorrow."

"Yes, it's a new ground but having practised here for three days, we know what the conditions are, how the pitch is, how the outfield is, what the wind factor is like, whether the dew settles in or not. We will like to play the way we did in the last T20I series. And if everyone does their job, you will get the desired results."

"I think there is hardly anyone in this squad who doesn't bowl. That gives you more bowling options on the ground. As you saw in Sri Lanka, Riyan [Parag] bowled four overs. If someone says he can bowl in the pressure situation, then why not."

Security Measures Increased at Gwalior Cricket Stadium Ahead of India's 1st T20I Against Bangladesh​

Ahead of the T20I contest between India and Bangladesh in Gwalior on Sunday, police have beefed up security in the city and at the venue, Madhavrao Scindia Stadium, officials said on Sunday.

Prohibitory orders have already been clamped in the city and over 2,500 policemen have been deployed to keep the match incident-free, they said.

Cops will be on the streets from 2 pm on Sunday. They will be on duty till spectators reach home after the day-night game is over, police said.

After prohibitory orders were invoked two days ago, police are also keeping an eye on social media for inflammatory material, officials said

Meanwhile, right-wing outfits Bajrang Dal and Hindu Mahasabha continue to oppose the match.

Bajrang Dal’s national convenor Neeraj Dauneria told reporters that the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) should cancel the match. “What good playing matches with Pakistan has done. Has terrorism stopped,” he asked.

There has been no improvement in Bangladesh as well. “Hindus in Bangladesh are not able to perform Durga Puja,” he said.

Hindu Mahasabha vice-president Jaiveer Bhardwaj said they would stick to their Gwalior bandh, till 1 pm, on Sunday in protest against the match.

“As a result of our protest, the Bangladesh team is confined between hotel and stadium (where they have been going for net practice),” he claimed in a statement.

The organisation has also asked business establishments in the city to remain shut on Sunday. Earlier, police had arrested some of its workers for protesting against the match.

Replacement named as India lose key player to injury ahead of Bangladesh T20Is

After a captivating ICC World Test Championship series, India take on Bangladesh in three T20Is beginning Sunday, October 6.

India have been dealt a blow ahead of the three-match T20I series against Bangladesh with all-rounder Shivam Dube ruled out with an injury.

Dube has been a key part of India's T20I squad, having played in 15 of the 19 matches India have played this year in the format.

Middle-order batter Tilak Varma has been named as his replacement. Varma will join the squad ahead of the first game on Sunday in Gwalior.

The left-hander made his India debut in 2023 and has played in 16 T20Is with the last of them in January 2024.

India’s updated squad for the T20I series against Bangladesh: Suryakumar Yadav (c), Abhishek Sharma, Sanju Samson (wk), Rinku Singh, Hardik Pandya, Riyan Parag, Nitish Kumar Reddy, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Varun Chakaravarthy, JItesh Sharma (wk), Arshdeep Singh, Harshit Rana, Mayank Yadav, Tilak Varma

ICC

After a captivating ICC World Test Championship series, India take on Bangladesh in three T20Is beginning Sunday, October 6.

India have been dealt a blow ahead of the three-match T20I series against Bangladesh with all-rounder Shivam Dube ruled out with an injury.

Dube has been a key part of India's T20I squad, having played in 15 of the 19 matches India have played this year in the format.

Middle-order batter Tilak Varma has been named as his replacement. Varma will join the squad ahead of the first game on Sunday in Gwalior.

The left-hander made his India debut in 2023 and has played in 16 T20Is with the last of them in January 2024.

India’s updated squad for the T20I series against Bangladesh: Suryakumar Yadav (c), Abhishek Sharma, Sanju Samson (wk), Rinku Singh, Hardik Pandya, Riyan Parag, Nitish Kumar Reddy, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Varun Chakaravarthy, JItesh Sharma (wk), Arshdeep Singh, Harshit Rana, Mayank Yadav, Tilak Varma

ICC
Strong squad. India is great in tests and t20.
Odi is now getting neglected by India as there is no wc anytime soon

Seems like days of ODI format are numbered.

I doubt if any team will play more than 50-60 games between 2023 and 2027 world cups

Seems like days of ODI format are numbered.

I doubt if any team will play more than 50-60 games between 2023 and 2027 world cups
Been dead since 2018 ish itself. More interest in tests than odi. Literally no one cares for odi. Apart from odi world cup which also is really losing its value.

ICC
I think India will still be fine lol. Gap is way way too high