Benazir Bhutto dead after suicide bomb attack (Condolences thread)

Zeenix said:
Inna Lillah he wa inna illahe Raajaon

In Peshawar Riots have started, I managed to escape from Peshawar Saddar before voilent protests started. However Police stations have been burnt, cars have been smashed, properties have been set to fire. Please pray for the safety of your homeland because the conditions are very tense. Anything can happen

Wish you safety, fellow forummer, my thoughts are with you.

Zeenix said:
Inna Lillah he wa inna illahe Raajaon

In Peshawar Riots have started, I managed to escape from Peshawar Saddar before voilent protests started. However Police stations have been burnt, cars have been smashed, properties have been set to fire. Please pray for the safety of your homeland because the conditions are very tense. Anything can happen
Glad you are ok zeenix bhai. I talked to my folks in Islamabad, and the situation in Rawalpindi is also very tense, with the PPP supporters burning shoes and cars etc. I just hope things dont get any worse

Inna Lillah he wa inna illahe Raajaon. It is a loss for Pakistan's democratic future.

How much grief would Musharraf bring to this country? He is the most dangerous man for the security of Pakistan. He needs to be put down like a dog in the streets.

HillRock said:
Inna Lillah he wa inna illahe Raajaon. It is a loss for Pakistan's democratic future.

How much grief would Musharraf bring to this country? He is the most dangerous man for the security of Pakistan. He needs to be put down like a dog in the streets.

I completely agree. Mushie is atleast indirectly responsible for this terrorist attack today.

Sad and disturbing news, May her soul rest her in peace.

I hated her guts but today I am sad, and this is surely going to make Pakistan unstable, Musharraf himself escaped a few attempts and now this happened... sickening.

I hope these bloody B****** get caught and exposed and eliminated from our nation, from our religion from our world forever. These people have less and and less sympathy from me by each passing day.

apparently ameen faheem is saying that there was an explosion, and then benazir went out of the car. then she war fired upon. this is very contradicting to wat we have been hearing.
if this scenario is true then someone within ppp was into this assasination. and if this is true then there was not one, but more than one people who attacked.

mooz said:
Wait.. you are blaming her for her own assassination?

No.....I am not BLAMING HER! I am blaming politics for taking her fathers, her bothers and her life....and she could have easily stayed in Dubai/London and be alive at this time....specially after what happened the day she landed in Karachi!

Zechariah said:
Sad and disturbing news, May her soul rest her in peace.

I hated her guts but today I am sad, and this is surely going to make Pakistan unstable, Musharraf himself escaped a few attempts and now this happened... sickening.

I hope these bloody B****** get caught and exposed and eliminated from our nation, from our religion from our world forever. These people have less and and less sympathy from me by each passing day.
Don't equate Musharraf's assasination attempts with this one. Benazir was accused of all kinds of corruption allegations but that does not deserve this kind of end. She did not have blood on her hands like Musharraf has. Only and only Musharraf is responsible for this mess.

Guys, pls stop making cheap political points on this thread - pls vent ur views and frsutrations on the separate political thread about her legacy as Saj has pointed out.

I find it ironic that it is the same place where our first ever Prime Minister was assasinated in 50s, hence the name Liaquat Bagh.

Your group was very conspicuous with its absence. I salute your straightforward approach, only if others were a bit less hypocritical.

A human being IS a human being because God in His infinite wisdom chose to create him or her a human being. Who are we to defy God in this manner? I am no fan of BB or anybody else in Pak politics but such a violent wastage of human life hurts and should hurt everybody:

Each man's death diminishes me,
For I am involved in mankind.
Therefore, send not to know
For whom the bell tolls,
It tolls for thee.

John Donne (1573-1631)

May God have mercy on the souls of all those who have lost their lives, and may He grant patience to the loved ones they have left behind to bear this loss

Umair99 said:
electricity has gone down here in Rawalpindi but surprisingly not in my area

terrible news!!!
btw umair where abt in rawalpindi do u live? my family also live nearby where this happened!

W63L35 said:
Inna Lillah wa inalahi rajeoon.

Just woke up to the new. Wow! What has our country come down to.....??
She should have learned the lesson after losing her father and brother to politics....just like Gandhi family in India. But I guess, power will do this to you!

yes u are quite right she shouldve learned the leson after loosing her father, brother and what happened when she landed in pakistan.

she was living a peaceful life abroad but yet she came to pak.

she wanted the POWER and i guess she did get it today didn't she?
loog sahe kehte hain "insaan kisi bhi haal main khush nahi hota"

Really shocking news.

Everyone feared this would help. Hope Pakistan finds stability now after this. As much as people are angry I never understand mindless violence against public targets and private property.

pakcricketfan786 said:
yes u are quite right she shouldve learned the leson after loosing her father, brother and what happened when she landed in pakistan.

she was living a peaceful life abroad but yet she came to pak.

she wanted the POWER and i guess she did get it today didn't she?
loog sahe kehte hain "insaan kisi bhi haal main khush nahi hota"

That should be her plus point rather then being in the negatives.

Never big fan of her but no one deserves to die in the manner she did. My condolences are with her family. Rest in peace Mrs. Bhutto.

its very disturbing that every single post of mine is being deleted...what the hell did i say that was so wrong

Once you start finding it acceptable for the 'bad' politicians to be taken out by members of the public then the 'good' ones will to have the same fate because what is good for some maybe bad for others, under such circumstance no ruler will last the distance in Pakistan, a recipe for turmoil.

Personally I didn't want Bhutto or Shareef back in Pakistani politics, they have done enough harm but certainly they didn't deserve to be killed.

If there is ONE equalizer in ALLAHs world, its death.

All of us, rich, poor, meek, strong have to submit to HIS will.

Inna Lillahi Wa Inna Illahi Rajiyoon.

There will be many occasions to judge her in the future - but for the moment, pray for her maghfirat, just like you would pray for anyone else.

May ALLAH forgive her sins and May ALLAH bring sabr to her lawahaqeen ( family, dependents and friends)

Islamabadi said:
its very disturbing that every single post of mine is being deleted...what the hell did i say that was so wrong
Islamabadi, she has lost her life. This is a thread for condolences bhai. There are plenty of other threads where you can voice your political viewpoints about her and the PPP.

thanks.

Umair99 said:
Guys 1 more breaking news I called my friend in Karachi a minute ago and guess what 1 more blast near Bilawal house.

Where is this news? I have not read about it anywhere.

Saj said:
Islamabadi, she has lost her life. This is a thread for condolences bhai. There are plenty of other threads where you can voice your political viewpoints about her and the PPP.

thanks.

saj ahi, my posts from other threads have also been deleted

Islamabadi said:
saj ahi, my posts from other threads have also been deleted
bhai, you need to just tone down the aggression and the bad feeling you have for her. Saying things like I wish so and so was dead or I'm pleased so and so is dead isnt really acceptable.

I'm sure you understand.

filosofee said:
I believe a son is either at University or not far from University age, that would be 17 or 18.
her son is a student a Oxford Uni & her two daughter are somewhere b/w 15-18 i think (saw on tv)

May Allah rest her soul in peace and protect all Pakistani brothers and sisters from any sort of danger. Amen

Saj said:
bhai, you need to just tone down the aggression and the bad feeling you have for her. Saying things like I wish so and so was dead or I'm pleased so and so is dead isnt really acceptable.

I'm sure you understand.
It is time for frsh leadership within the PPP. BB was too powerful, and many leaders in the PP disagreed with her siding with mush, but they couldn't do anythign about it. Some fresh leadership can make PPP a pro-pakistan party rather than a pro-west tool

Very very sad news about Ms. Bhutto. :(

CNN is showing images of riots flaring. Hope all the forummers in the affected parts of Pakistan are safe (Umair, Zeenix and others..)

Accessibility Links

Skip to content Skip to bbc.co.uk navigation Skip to search Access keys help bbc.co.uk bbc.co.uk Navigation
Search Home
TV
Radio
Reactions to Bhutto assassination

The killing of Pakistani opposition leader Benazir Bhutto in a suicide attack at an election rally in Rawalpindi has drawn widespread national and international condemnation.

PAKISTAN PRESIDENT PERVEZ MUSHARRAF
We shall not rest till we tackle this problem and eliminate all the terrorists. This is the only way the nation will be able to move forward, otherwise this will be the biggest obstacle to our advancement.

I want to take this opportunity to appeal to the nation to stay calm and show fortitude.

PAKISTAN OPPOSITION LEADER NAWAZ SHARIF
It is not a sad day, it is a dark, darkest, gloomiest day in the history of this country. Something unthinkable has happened. Something inconceivable, unthinkable has happened.

Nawaz Sharif

US PRESIDENT GEORGE W BUSH
The United States strongly condemns this cowardly act by murderous extremists who are trying to undermine Pakistan's democracy. Those who committed this crime must be brought to justice.

George W Bush

INDIAN PRIME MINISTER MANMOHAN SINGH
In her death the subcontinent has lost an outstanding leader who worked for democracy and reconciliation in her country.

The manner of her going is a reminder of the common dangers that our region faces from cowardly acts of terrorism and of the need to eradicate this dangerous threat.

RUSSIAN PRESIDENT VLADIMIR PUTIN
I hope the organisers of the crime will be found and that they get the punishment they deserve.

It is a challenge launched by the forces of terrorism against Pakistan, but also against the international community.

AFGHAN PRESIDENT HAMID KARZAI
We in Afghanistan condemn this act of cowardice and immense brutality in the strongest possible terms. She sacrificed her life for the sake of Pakistan and for the sake of this region.

Hamid Karzai

UN SECRETARY GENERAL BAN KI-MOON
I strongly condemn this heinous crime and call for the perpetrators to be brought to justice as soon as possible.

This represents an assault on stability in Pakistan and its democratic processes.

EUROPEAN COMMISSION PRESIDENT JOSE MANUEL BARROSO
This is an attack against democracy and against Pakistan.

We hope that Pakistan will remain firmly on track for a return to democratic civilian rule.

FRENCH PRESIDENT NICOLAS SARKOZY
I condemn this odious act with the greatest severity.

Terrorism and violence have no place in the democratic debate and in the combat of ideas and programmes. More than ever it is necessary for the [Pakistani] legislative elections to... take place in conditions of pluralism, transparency and security.

UK PRIME MINISTER GORDON BROWN
Benazir Bhutto may have been killed by terrorists but the terrorists must not be allowed to kill democracy in Pakistan and this atrocity strengthens our resolve that terrorists will not win there, here or anywhere in the world.

We will work with all in the Pakistani community in Britain and elsewhere in the world so that we can have a peaceful and safe and democratic Pakistan.

Gordon Brown

VATICAN SPOKESMAN FREDERICO LOMBARDI
This attack shows how extremely difficult it is to pacify a nation so wrought by violence.

We share the sadness of the Pakistani population.

IRANIAN FOREIGN MINISTRY SPOKESMAN MOHAMMAD ALI HOSSEINI
The Pakistan government should use all efforts to identify the terrorist group which caused this incident and punish them to prevent terrorist groups from finding opportunities to undertake such actions again.

ISRAELI PRESIDENT SHIMON PERES
Benazir Bhutto was a courageous woman who did not hide her ideas, did not know fear and served her country with courage.

its funny ppl are blaming musharraf for the terrorist attack when he himself in pindi has been on the exact end where benazir was not once but twice. So blaming musharraf for this , sure does have merit, i definitely agree.

Secondly benazir said 2 days back , she thinks all madrassahs breed terrorists and she would take remedial action at this front when she comes in power. now seriously guys , those mullahs who already have blood in their eyes , when they hear this , do u not think they would make benazir their appetite number one , more so now then later when she gets a higher protocol once she gets elected. they took their chance and came out golden. if nothing benazir was asking for it. her pre arrival deal of opening access to kahuta lab and handing over abdul kadeer? loss of life is never justified but this woman has her interests all wrong. none the less , i also feel a dead benazir is more dangerous to pakistan then alive.

pakcricketfan786 said:
terrible news!!!
btw umair where abt in rawalpindi do u live? my family also live nearby where this happened!
yaar in Waris Khan

Wiji said:
Where is this news? I have not read about it anywhere.
I got information from him and I also heard it in news but surprisingly no media coverage for it.

Inna Lillah wa inalahi rajeoon.

Dreadful news ... i first heard about it here on PP few hours clicked on time pass and saw the title of the thread couldn't believe what i was reading ... rushed to the tv ... the current state that Pakistan is in depresses me as much ... its a complete horror show :(

btw i hope any the PPers who live in affected parts or have relatives there (and of course all pakistani brothers n sisters there) things are ok for you and your families?

Big Daddy said:
its funny ppl are blaming musharraf for the terrorist attack when he himself in pindi has been on the exact end where benazir was not once but twice. So blaming musharraf for this , sure does have merit, i definitely agree.

Secondly benazir said 2 days back , she thinks all madrassahs breed terrorists and she would take remedial action at this front when she comes in power. now seriously guys , those mullahs who already have blood in their eyes , when they hear this , do u not think they would make benazir their appetite number one , more so now then later when she gets a higher protocol once she gets elected. they took their chance and came out golden. if nothing benazir was asking for it. her pre arrival deal of opening access to kahuta lab and handing over abdul kadeer? loss of life is never justified but this woman has her interests all wrong. none the less , i also feel a dead benazir is more dangerous to pakistan then alive.
People will obiviously use this incident to further push their views & ideas. Example being people who dislike musharraf putting the blame on him. At the end we might never know who was behind benazir's death but all of us will have our doubts/theories.

I was watching fox news where this senior member of the mid-east peace process said that Al-Qaida & some mulanas in the NWFP had issued fatwa on benazir bhutto. He said that they did not want benazir in power b/c firstly she was backed by the west, secondly her views on the recent extremism in Pak & thirdly b/c she was a woman.

The question is who gains from this and the answer is merely one man - General Not So Shareef. Funny how it happened in an army stronghold where the main man has been the subject of assaination attempts twice. At the very least it is very embarrassing for the army - could not protect a women in its own base never mind the country.

This is terrible news, I just found out, I cant believe it and this has ruined my whole day I dont know why but I am feeling depressed. My condolences to her family, state of Pakistan is so sad, I pray to god you guys will get your country back in order this is just so sadd.

Al-Qaeda claims responsibility of Bhutto's assassination

ROMA, Dec 27 (KUNA) -- A spokesperson of Al-Qaeda has Thursday claimed responsibility for the killing of former Pakistani prime minister Benazir Bhutto, Italian independent news agency Adnkronos International (AKI) said.

"We terminated the most precious American asset which vowed to defeat the mujahadeen," Al-Qaeda's commander and main spokesperson Mustafa Abu Al-Yazid told AKI in a phone call from an unknown location, speaking in faltering English, AKI said on their website.

Al-Yazid, who is the main Al-Qaeda commander in Afghanistan, said that the decision to kill Bhutto, who is the leader of the opposition Pakistan People's Party (PPP), was made by al-Qaeda number two Ayman Al-Dhawahiri in October this year, according to AKI.

Bhutto had just addressed a pre-election rally on Thursday in the garrison town of Rawalpindi when a suicide bomber blew himself up.

At least 15 other people were killed in the attack and several others were injured.
Khabrein.info

Politics can take a back seat for now.Lets pray for the departed soul and for three kids who have lost their mother.She was no angel but then who is!!?

May ALLAH bless her soul as no one deserves to depart like this! May ALLAH also give her family the strength and the courage to overcome this tragedy.....

I hope and pray that Pakistan unites and learns from this mess and all our political parties (govt and opposition) somehow forget their differences and sit together for the betterment of our country... Don;t know if I am being too optimistic! ALLAH MADAD KARAY!

Very sad news, Inna Lillah Hai Wa Inna Ilahi Rajeoun.

May Allah forgive her sins and grant her soul a place in Paradise. Ameen

Amoeba said:
The question is who gains from this and the answer is merely one man - General Not So Shareef. Funny how it happened in an army stronghold where the main man has been the subject of assaination attempts twice. At the very least it is very embarrassing for the army - could not protect a women in its own base never mind the country.

Dunno Amoeba Bhai - BB was happily taking part in elections - legitimizing whatever Mush is doing - why would he eliminate her? All that gives him is a further crisis in terms of boycotts etc ?

Who gains from destabilizing Pak in this way? The Army is already in power - they dont need further excuse.

Lets wait and see - no one knows who is responsible .

Dunno Amoeba Bhai - BB was happily taking part in elections - legitimizing whatever Mush is doing - why would he eliminate her? All that gives him is a further crisis in terms of boycotts etc ?

Who gains from destabilizing Pak in this way? The Army is already in power - they dont need further excuse.

Lets wait and see - no one knows who is responsible .

Come on don't be so naive MIG bhai, Do you really think that Mush could afford a powerful personality massively popular in the domestic and international front like BB. No he couldn't. Without Army post, Mush was no match for BB who was politically more astute and a democratic leader. THe only person who has gained is Musharaf

Although i never supported Benazir but i had tears in my eyes all day and i have been in shock. I don't just feel sorry for her and her family (kids in particular) but it's sad for the whole country. It's unbelieveable how my non Pakistani colleagues reacted to this, almost everyone was talking about this and felt so sorry for Bhutto and Pakistan.
I hope these haramis are caught and taught a lesson, the way our JAAHIL people are reacting is also shameful. People are unable to come out of houses, policemen getting killed, thousands of shops burnt or demolished etc etc. What the hell do they think they are achieving???

Zeenix said:
Come on don't be so naive MIG bhai, Do you really think that Mush could afford a powerful personality massively popular in the domestic and international front like BB. No he couldn't. Without Army post, Mush was no match for BB who was politically more astute and a democratic leader. THe only person who has gained is Musharaf

Agreed - I am naiive but how does Mush gain any control in this way ? Chances are that in the next 24 hrs, things will slip out of total control and he will look a complete idiot. Why would he do that? he is already in power ( according to many of us) - the only person who gains from this are BBs political opponents and so called allies in her struggle.

Sharif didnt want the elections because he cant be PM again - its in his interest that elections be postponed and he gains entry into the whole power thing.

Wa-ALLAH-Ho Aalim - what I say is pure hearsay but this is what I see.

Waseem said:
Although i never supported Benazir but i had tears in my eyes all day and i have been in shock. I don't just feel sorry for her and her family (kids in particular) but it's sad for the whole country. It's unbelieveable how my non Pakistani colleagues reacted to this, almost everyone was talking about this and felt so sorry for Bhutto and Pakistan.
I hope these haramis are caught and taught a lesson, the way our JAAHIL people are reacting is also shameful. People are unable to come out of houses, policemen getting killed, thousands of shops burnt or demolished etc etc. What the hell do they think they are achieving???

People react in different ways so there is no way to judge these actions.

All I will say is that from what I have seen on TV, most of the protesters feel that they are somehow hitting back at SOMEONE when they destroy these buildings etc.

Her mayyat (body) is on its way to Garhi Khuda Bux Bhutto(village) to be buried next to her father.

Is the Bhutto name cursed ? How many more Bhuttos will die unnatural deaths ? ZA, Murtaza, Benazir....

Her body is now in the burial ground and the NamazeJanaza will begin shortly

All I will say is that from what I have seen on TV, most of the protesters feel that they are somehow hitting back at SOMEONE when they destroy these buildings etc.
Also some see this as a sort of entertainment/enjoyment. Seeing young kids/teenagers running around smiling & laughing while buring posters/tyres...

Sufyan! said:
i couldnt care less its not exactly lke she is my mum
what i find very weird to say the least is seeing people crying like there is no tommorow! Its sad (don't get me wrong) but talk about going over the top!

Hitting back by killing dozens of COMPLETELY innocent people?? They have destroyed many shops/buildings and hundreds if not thousands of families get affected so i can't see how they can justify this.

Her mayyat (body) is on its way to Garhi Khuda Bux Bhutto(village) to be buried next to her father.

Is the Bhutto name cursed ? How many more Bhuttos will die unnatural deaths ? ZA, Murtaza, Benazir....

Hear Hear- just like the Kennedy family?

I really really feel sorry for her 3 children. To lose a mother in such a manner cannot be described with words. May her body rest in peace...makes me want to cry :(

Yeah- that SOMEONE could be me or you, or any of our family members. It's just plain dumb. Goes to show how ignorant people are. And also goes to show some of the type of supporters she had.

The way they have been wailing around her coffin is also ridiculous. Get a grip of yourselves.

Wiji said:
Yeah- that SOMEONE could be me or you, or any of our family members. It's just plain dumb. Goes to show how ignorant people are. And also goes to show some of the type of supporters she had.

The way they have been wailing around her coffin is also ridiculous. Get a grip of yourselves.

That is a common thing, i've seen it happen many times here in the UK.

I concur with MIG on this - we need to stop the blame game and jumping on a bandwagon to further push the idea we personally think are close to our prejudices, without any evidence or proof. It is too early any way.

By doing this so publicly, not only we are creating a wrong impression, accusing people but it is pure slander and gunah, also it does not help in stabilising Pak.

Agreed - I am naive but how does Mush gain any control in this way ? Chances are that in the next 24 hrs, things will slip out of total control and he will look a complete idiot. Why would he do that? he is already in power ( according to many of us) - the only person who gains from this are BBs political opponents and so called allies in her struggle.

Sharif didnt want the elections because he cant be PM again - its in his interest that elections be postponed and he gains entry into the whole power thing.

Wa-ALLAH-Ho Aalim - what I say is pure hearsay but this is what I see.[/QUOTE]

Although, I didn't agree with her philosphy and ideas but nevertheless I hope that almighty forgives her sins and any wrong doing she had committed as a leader of the nation. May Allah grant her Janah.

the interior ministry just held a press release . they r giving a contraddicting series of events. they r saying that bb didnt die due to any bullet or shrapnel wound, and that she hit the lever of the sunroof on the right side of the head and died due to the fracture caused on her skull.

however the doctor who examined her as i read in the news died due to shrapel wounds.

lets see how many theories do we have of how she died,

(1) bb taking out her head and then being shot,
(2) an explosion occuring and then bb getting out the car at that instant and then being shot (accotding to ameen faheem)
(3) she stands in the sunroof waves at the crowd, then 3 shots fired, but they all missed her, and then an explosion on the left side of the car and then she being moved aside by the shockwave and hitting her right side, and her head hitting on the right side of the sunroof lever. the shrapnels too didnt do any harm to her.

Apparently, shrapnel hit the right side of her skull. No bullet wounds.

Agreed - I am naiive but how does Mush gain any control in this way ? Chances are that in the next 24 hrs, things will slip out of total control and he will look a complete idiot. Why would he do that? he is already in power ( according to many of us) - the only person who gains from this are BBs political opponents and so called allies in her struggle.

MIG, mush is not the army chief anymore and we al know that in pakistan, PM is the all powerful figure. With BB out of the way, mush wants to retain power. That is how this incident helps him

pakistani_banda said:
the interior ministry just held a press release . they r giving a contraddicting series of events. they r saying that bb didnt die due to any bullet or shrapnel wound, and that she hit the lever of the sunroof on the right side of the head and died due to the fracture caused on her skull.

however the doctor who examined her as i read in the news died due to shrapel wounds.

lets see how many theories do we have of how she died,

(1) bb taking out her head and then being shot,
(2) an explosion occuring and then bb getting out the car at that instant and then being shot (accotding to ameen faheem)
(3) she stands in the sunroof waves at the crowd, then 3 shots fired, but they all missed her, and then an explosion on the left side of the car and then she being moved aside by the shockwave and hitting her right side, and her head hitting on the right side of the sunroof lever. the shrapnels too didnt do any harm to her.
The very same doctor ruled it out today. He said that her death was caused by a fracture in her skull.

No MIG, power thirsty vampires don't care about a few thousand people getting killed, a few million loss to the exchequer. Truth is that the coterie of thugs that Mush had nurtured for 8 years suddenly dwarfed in front of real political forces of BB and Nawaz. Talks were going about seat adjustments and alliance b/w BB and Nawaz. Truth is that Mush supporters with the whole govt resources at their disposal couldn't string together a few thousand crowd, Truth was that BB was more acceptable to the West then Mush, Truth is that BB would've kicked Mush out within no time once she had entered the parliament. Truth is that Nawaz and BB would've cleaned up the Q league from Punjab, MMA from the NWFP, MQM from the Sindh. Truth is that BB and Nawaz had more political following then Mush could even dream of in a 100 years. Truth is that he tried his best to keep nawaz away from Pakistan and had it not been saudi's pressure, he would never have allowed nawaz back. Mush and his thugs stood as the sole looser from the events unfolding.

Truth is that BB blamed Mush in her email if she were assasinated.

WASHINGTON: The slain PPP chairperson Benazir Bhutto had blamed President Pervez Musharraf for failing to protect her in the months preceding her assassination, an email released by US media said. If harmed in Pakistan, “I would hold Musharraf responsible,” Bhutto wrote in the October email, revealed on air by CNN journalist Wolf Blitzer, who received it from Bhutto’s friend and US spokesman Mark Siegel. “I have been made to feel insecure by his minions,” Bhutto wrote of Musharraf, detailing security measures which she said were not granted her after her return to the volatile country.

“There is no way what is happening in terms of stopping me from taking private cars or using tinted windows or giving jammers or four police mobiles to cover all sides could happen without him.” Siegel told the channel that Bhutto had asked authorities to provide protection including a four-car police escort and jamming devices against bombs, but had not received them.

The news channel revealed the email hours after Bhutto, 54, was killed in a suicide attack on Thursday at an election rally in the Pakistani city of Rawalpindi that sparked worldwide condemnation. Bhutto sent the email to Siegel on October 26, a week after a suicide bombing targeted her shortly after her return to Pakistan from exile. Siegel said Pakistan failed to investigate that attack.

Bhutto asked for the email to be forwarded to the media if she was killed. Musharraf placed Pakistan under Emergency rule from November 3 to December 15, citing security fears, cracking down on opponents ahead of elections scheduled for January 8. Bhutto had returned amid negotiations with Musharraf on a power-sharing deal. “As we prepared for the campaign … Bhutto was very concerned she was not getting the security that she had asked for,” said Siegel, who had collaborated with Bhutto on a book on Islam and the West. “She basically asked for all that was required for someone of the standing of a former prime minister. All of that was denied to her,” he added. “She got some police protection, but it was sporadic and erratic.”

http://www.pak-times.com/2007/12/28/bhutto-email-holds-musharraf-responsible-for-her-assassination/

Zeenix said:
“There is no way what is happening in terms of stopping me from taking private cars or using tinted windows or giving jammers or four police mobiles to cover all sides could happen without him.” Siegel told the channel that Bhutto had asked authorities to provide protection including a four-car police escort and jamming devices against bombs, but had not received them.
Conflicting news there. Interior Minister just said that all these were provided to benazir bhutto. Also he pointed out that benazir was told numerous of times to stay in the car once she is on the streets, something she failed to do on the day of her death.

They cannot just toss the security blame around. There is probably no security unless there is curfew. Where is her own party security? Why were they allowing people close to her? Didn't they learn a lesson from 2 month ago? Don't they live in Pakistan to know what goes on?

And ofcourse if there were too much presence of official security around there will be a chance of violence/riot and then shouts of police brutality and interference with democracy and what not. All of the people are not the kind who will stand on the side of the road just clapping and waving. There are quite a few emotional people and some do look to cause trouble. There was shooting between PML parties. There is news about PPP attacking PML office in Sindh. The political parties cannot even control there own people and demand stuff from others

Hum jo tareek rahoon main maray ghai

Taray honton ke phoolon ki chahat main hum
Daar ke khushk tehni Mian waray ghai
Teray hathoon ki shamon ki hasrat main hum
Neem tareek raton main maray ghai

Soolion par hamary laboon se paray
teray honton ke lalai lapaki rahi
Teri zulfon ki masti barasi rahi
teray hathon ki chandi damaki rahi

JUb ghuli teri rahon main sham-e-sitam
Hum chalay aiay jahan tuk lai qadam
Lab pe harf-e-ghazal dil main kindil-e-ghum
apan ghum tha ghawai teray husn ki
dekh qaim rahay is ghawai pe hum

Narasai aghar apni taqdeer thi
Teri ulfut hi apni hi tudeer thi

Kis ko shikwa hai aghar shoq ke silsalay
HIjr ki qatal ghahoon se sub ja milay

Qatal ghahoon se chun kar hamaray alam
Aur niklain ghian us shakh ki qaflay

Jin ki rahah talab se hamaray qadam
Mukhtasar kar chalay dard ke faslay

Kar chalay jin ki khatir jahan gheer hum
Jan ghanwa kar teri dilbarai ka bharam

May Allah rest her soul in peace. She never found peace in her lifetime. Her father was hanged (judicial murder) by Army General Zia. Her younger brother was murdered in mysterious circumstances in France. Her elder brother was gunned down in an unexplained gun battle with Police.

She was a daring and brave woman who gave her all for the country and made the ultimate sacrifice.

BeNazir Bhutto, Rest in Peace.

I was not her suppoert, nor ppp, but I am very sad, this is a very sad incident. feeling my eyes wet for this incident, this is so much cruelty. this is n't be done, this is nt islam

May Allah rest her soul in peace. Aameen,

May Allah direct these beasts to the right path, Aameen