Best subcontinental fielder ever?

Slog

Senior Test Player
Going by the other thread lets look at the best fielders from this part of the world

For me its Mohammad Kaif

Upul Chandana. He was a brilliant fielder. Close in, out fielding or catching. He was amazing. Haven't seen anyone better. I haven't seen Solkar and co.

Honorable mention for Azhar. He was brilliant even in those days. Set such high standards.

Jayawardene is pretty good too

I think someone who never got the proper chance is Fawad Alam

he is a beast at point and cover.

I remember in 2007 and part of 2009 t20s he used to save 15-20 runs at cover and point every game which is golden for the format.

I think he's prolly the best ground fielder we have ever had

Raina is similarly good

Right now it is Raina without a doubt. Saves 10-15 runs every match plus he has also taken some amazing catches.

Yuvraj Singh in his prime

tbh I always found him a bit of showboat

sure his a good fielder but his antics and behavior made him come across as a better fielder than he is

Ravindra Jadeja is underrated. He's probably one of the best in the world. His pick up and throw speed is second to none I think.

Started watching cricket in 1996. Since then haven't seen a better fielder than Kaif. Even great Jhonty Rhodes was his fan

Dravid and Jayawardene were very fine slip fielders. So is Younis.

Kaif was good in his days but didn't last long.

Jadeja (Ajay), Azhar and Robin were finest from 90's.

I like Matthews among the current lot. Solker is undisputed champ from old days.

tbh I always found him a bit of showboat

sure his a good fielder but his antics and behavior made him come across as a better fielder than he is

Agree. Kaif was much better than yuvraj but was always underappreciated.

Kaif was good in his days but didn't last long.

no he was always good. he was dropped because of his nil contribution with the bat. I actually think the only reason he got such a long rope was due to his fielding

btw indian posters, How has kaif been in the IPL all these years. don't remember seeing a video of him doing any outrageous bit of fielding. sure it would have gone viral.

no he was always good. he was dropped because of his nil contribution with the bat. I actually think the only reason he got such a long rope was due to his fielding

Have seen him dropping easy ones later in his career. Made me wonder if I am watching the same guy.

Sir Jadeja
Raina
Rahane
Kaif

Kohli used to be extremely good, but his fielding has gone down in the last 1 year or so.

i am guessing most of you have never seen Kaif fielding. He was really good indeed

Dilshan is outstanding at point and in the outfield. Jayawardene and Dravid were excellent at slip. R. Jadeja is just good at running after the ball and throwing it back, basically, the Indian Michael Carberry.

Currently it should be Raina. By fielding, I'm sure the OP meant taking catches and outfieding.. Raina easily..

Mahanama from SL was good. Kaif from India was also very good. I have heard about Solkar from India as well.

Currently Indians have few good fielders who are better than other Asian fielders. Not sure who is the best though.

Afridi was electric when he first came on

Inzi because if the ball went anywhere near him it fell into his gravity well :banned::runaway:

Shohaib Mohammed from Pakistan was easily the best pak has produced.
Kaif from India
pretty much half of the srilankan team at any one time...take your pick.

So for fielders also people are opting for past players? :))

Kaif is probably the only one who can stake claim to match the current standards.

Dilshan and Yuvraj were good in their prime days. Currently has to be Raina/Jadeja.

Shohaib Mohammed from Pakistan was easily the best pak has produced.
Kaif from India
pretty much half of the srilankan team at any one time...take your pick.

i totally agreed
have seen shoaib taken some incredible catches close to the bat.

Going by the other thread lets look at the best fielders from this part of the world

For me its Mohammad Kaif
Roshan Mahanama, Upul Chandana, TM Dilshan, Sanath Jayasuriya, Chamara Kapugedara, Jehan Mubarak and Kumar Dharmasena will be easily up their at the field. Hashan Tillekaratne was best in his era at short leg.

For me its Mohammad Kaif

Bhai

Tu aise aise naam kahan se utha lata hai.Isko to Indians bhi bhool gaaye hai.

Bhai

Tu aise aise naam kahan se utha lata hai.Isko to Indians bhi bhool gaaye hai.

I saw him take a super catch in 2004 Pak Ind match in Karachi I attended and that moment is etched in my memory :))

I also met him later on in the evening

but he was generally a great fielder

Raina is not even the best Indian fieldsman. I easily rate Azhr, Ajay Jadeja and Robin Singh over them from 90s.

I saw him take a super catch in 2004 Pak Ind match in Karachi I attended and that moment is etched in my memory :))

Aisa bolna tha na.

Btw sorry to refer to u as "tu" i am not sure if you are young or as old as that guy in your AV.If so i should have called you AAP.

Was that the day when you picked meeting Kaif (and Ganguly) over Sachin/Dravid/Sehwag/Yuvraj/Harbhajan? :batman:

Mohammad Kaif was excellent.

Thirimanne's not bad either, I remember a fantastic catch he took against Pakistan in a T20, just plucked the ball out of the air and it stuck.

Agree. Kaif was much better than yuvraj but was always underappreciated.

Yuvi ground fielding wasn’t that good. Some of his outstanding catch make him better he actually was.

Shoaib Malik, Dilshan, Mahela, Tendulkar, Jadeja/Kohli/Raina

All excellent players in their respective formats and also superb fielders.

Why is that?

Well, I do not know whether you're trying to bait me or not. As far I have seen you are quite the instigator.

Although, I do leave you with this to consider.

An oxymoron (plural oxymora or oxymorons) is a figure of speech that juxtaposes elements that appear to be contradictory. Oxymora appear in a variety of contexts, including inadvertent errors (such as "ground pilot") and literary oxymorons crafted to reveal a paradox.

Well, I do not know whether you're trying to bait me or not. As far I have seen you are quite the instigator.

Although, I do leave you with this to consider.

An oxymoron (plural oxymora or oxymorons) is a figure of speech that juxtaposes elements that appear to be contradictory. Oxymora appear in a variety of contexts, including inadvertent errors (such as "ground pilot") and literary oxymorons crafted to reveal a paradox.
It was a genuine question.

You don't think SC athletes can be top class fielders?

Finally.

I thought we'd be at it all night.

Yes. I don't think given our attitude, mentality and/or dedication we could be top class fielders. There would be a one off case here and there but I do not think we can achieve such a level of professionalism over a sustained period.

Ajay Jadeja.
Even though i don' rate him because of his match fixing his fielding was super awesome for his time.

I remember him at gully flying, literally parallel to the ground and taking a catch when the ball had actually passed him. Very good out fielder as well, his catch in the 1992 world cup against Australia.

Robin Singh was very good too, but Jadeja was in a different league.

Back in the days - it was easily mohammad kaif.

Also, yuvraj singh was also an excellent fielder and was one of the reasons as to why he wasn't dropped earlier despite his inconsistent career.

Right now, Suresh Raina is easily the best fielder on the indian team but Shikhar Dhawan and Kohli are also good.

In the pakistan team - Shoaib Malik is a standout fielder but Shehzad, YK and Wahab Riaz are also amongst the better fielders in out team. Hafeez can be good at times but can also drop sitters...

OP seems to be Kaif fanboy. Of all the Indian players in 20p4 he was interested in only meeting Kaif from another thread I remember.

Easily Suresh Raina will make the cut from the current lot - his fielding and catching is top class. Would rate R. Jadeja and what I have seen of him- Thirimanne. From Pak, sadly Malik is still the best of the lot, the newer lot sucks.

From past- Kaif, Ajay Jadeja, Dilshan, Mahanama. Dilshan had kinda lost his reflexes towards the end.

Finally.

I thought we'd be at it all night.

Yes. I don't think given our attitude, mentality and/or dedication we could be top class fielders. There would be a one off case here and there but I do not think we can achieve such a level of professionalism over a sustained period.

Far from the truth. India's ground fielding is superior to Australia's and they are very much as dedicated as non-SC teams. India has Jadeja, Rahane, Dhawan, Kohli, Raina, Yadav who are all brilliant in the field while Australia have only 3: Warner, Maxwell, Smith who can match the aforementioned 6. Though Australia are still a better catching team. Judging purely on ground fielding, India are only behind NZ and SA, not by much.

Bangladesh also have a pretty good fielding unit, they've showed great dedication and improvement the last few years.

Times are changing and I've no doubt in a few years Pakistan will be up there as well.