Big consequence for BCCI if IPL 2017 is cancelled

Bhaag Viru Bhaag

Senior Test Player
BCCI is facing one of its biggest obstacles in hosting the IPL this year. The participating associations where the games will be played have refused to begin preparations unless BCCI pays up the money for them to start doing the work.

Usually, BCCI pays the participating cricket associations well in advance before the start of IPL, so that they can start preparing for the IPL matches that they are going to host during the tournament. This year however, BCCI administration was shaken up by the Hon. Supreme Court of India, which forced the Lodha panel suggestions to be implemented on a reluctant BCCI and incumbent BCCI President Anurag Thakur and his administration were dismissed and all the workings of the BCCI are now supervised by the Lodha panel and the Supreme Court of India appointed Committee of Administrators (CoA).

The Supreme Court has ordered that no funds will be released to the associations by the BCCI, unless they fall in line and accept the Lodha commission reforms. The cricket associations hosting the IPL matches require 60 lakh rupees in order to successfully host the matches during the tournament. They get 30 lakhs from BCCI and the remaining amount from IPL franchises.

However, a BCCI official said that, “If they even think of touching the IPL, it'll be a disaster. Consider this: Even for the sake of an argument, if the 2017 IPL is not held, BCCI will incur losses in excess of Rs 2500 crore. It'll be bankrupt.”

This could be big news for the cricket fans and the cricket world itself, as bankruptcy of the richest cricket board in the world, the BCCI and IPL 2017, not happening could lead to a big shame for the Indian cricket fraternity and it might also raise questions on the stubbornness of the state associations which are not accepting the Lodha commission reforms.

https://circleofcricket.co/2017/Mar/09/Big-consequence-for-BCCI-if-IPL-2017-is-cancelled/

nice...
So next year the ABD's and Warner's will be running towards to PSL...

Our players will get the much needed break and rest before champions trophy if this meaningless IPL is cancelled.

This is just usual whining from bcci official to pressurize Supreme court through media in the end every thing

will go smoothly including ipl

BCCI will release funds one month after the finals and the IPL franchisees will release the funds in next few days.The CoA will inform the SC accordingly.Haters can keep hating, including some alleged Indians.

IPL won't be cancelled, India would rather pull out of the CT than cancel the IPL.

BCCI will release funds one month after the finals and the IPL franchisees will release the funds in next few days.The CoA will inform the SC accordingly.Haters can keep hating, including some alleged Indians.

So indians who don't like IPL are alleged Indians? It seems some people can't take different opinions and always think they are right. May be this is the reason why some of you like IPL so much because whichever team loses they are indians and losing won't hurt your sensitive hearts.

Another sky is falling drama from state associations, when will these chicken littles learn. Most people trust SC ahead of corrupt bcci officials, they tried this stuff with eng series fell on their faces, thakur tried this, had to go begging to the SC ad apologise so as to not end his political career and here we have another stupid show.

IPL will happen without glitches, even states know that this is what earns them money, though i hope SC can have deloitte report tabled then we will see how many of these morons are left standing.

Let alleged indians rejoice in bcci tough times. They have waited for this opportunity for a long time

People take both IPL and PSL far too seriously. Instead of seeing them as just tamasha tournaments for a bit of fun, they have been turned into political footballs.

Another sky is falling drama from state associations, when will these chicken littles learn. Most people trust SC ahead of corrupt bcci officials, they tried this stuff with eng series fell on their faces, thakur tried this, had to go begging to the SC ad apologise so as to not end his political career and here we have another stupid show.

IPL will happen without glitches, even states know that this is what earns them money, though i hope SC can have deloitte report tabled then we will see how many of these morons are left standing.

Dont be in celebration thinking evil bcci is finished and every thing will be as white as snow from now on.

The bcci will come back with vengeance because most of the guys are still Eligible

Let alleged indians rejoice in bcci tough times. They have waited for this opportunity for a long time

Lols, what rubbish post is this? People can have different opinions. And if an indian critisizes his board, that doesn't make him less indian or alleged indian.

To many wannabe Arnab Goswamis here.

BCCI will organize IPL without any issues and it will be another success. :srini

They can organize multiple IPLs for that sake, but what is interesting is that BCCI can go bankrupt if IPL is cancelled? Is that true?

Bhai what do u make of oppo being new indian team sponsor for next 5 yrs by paying whopping 135 million usd as compared to star which was paying just 31 million usd previously.

They can organize multiple IPLs for that sake, but what is interesting is that BCCI can go bankrupt if IPL is cancelled? Is that true?

They just signed a contract worth 1000 crores just for team sponsorship for a period of 5 years.

That is without broadcast rights, team kit rights.

How will bcci be bankrupt if it stops ipl?

Bhai what do u make of oppo being new indian team sponsor for next 5 yrs by paying whopping 135 million usd as compared to star which was paying just 31 million usd previously.

162mn not 135mn.

I believe a thread already exists.

Just for putting name oppo on indian players shirts they r paying whooping 135 million usd.

Just imagine how much star has to pay for new broadcast rights when they will expire in near future.

Here people are talking about bcci becoming bankrupt haha.

They may be corrupt but they know how to market the game and how to monetize from cricket

ROFL haters gone hate every year such fake news pop ups IPL is here to stay and its being 10nth edition so no chance for cancelation

No chance IPL will be cancelled. Its the main cashcow of Indian cricket, for them to damage it would be a massive act of self-sabotage.

IPL is the greatest league in the world. Canceling it is like canceling a Test match. This product shows what real cricket is about. We should all support it like our own.

"alleged Indians"? So an Indian born having a different opinion regarding sport is called as an alleged Indian? Nothing could be more dangerous to society than name calling for having a different opinion. An example would be current situation in US, where couple of Indians were shot death.

IPL is the greatest league in the world. Canceling it is like canceling a Test match. This product shows what real cricket is about. We should all support it like our own.
you make no sense.how can cancelling ipl is like cancelling test match? bruhhh?
: Read your post before posting it & making fool out of yourself

Not sure how true that is. I think BCCI just signed a huge kit sponsorship contract, touted to be the highest ever in the history of cricket.

Funny masala headlines from our parosee's..I mean I thought they were terrible when it came to pakistan focused reporting but inho nay to apnoan ko bhi nahin choara!!

My advice to our indian colleagues would be to stick a massive ignore sticker on this bit of news lol..

Should not associations adopt SC's recommendations first to get the BCCI money?

I will call it a bluff and black list those associations.

Still many many other available.

how's IPL meaningless?

I think I already made myself clear in the post you quoted. Our players will get much needed rest before an international tournament which we are going to defend in few months time. IPL has no value infront of a tournament like Champions Trophy.

Our players will get the much needed break and rest before champions trophy if this meaningless IPL is cancelled.

I appreciate your consistency in opinion about IPL, while many 'T20 leagues are evil' posts have disappeared after PSL.

The usual scare-mongering tactics on full display. First England, then Australia and now - none of these events were cancelled, and neither will this one.

Lol, yet another fantasy of people jealous of THE IPL. IPL is what cricket is all about. Death of IPL = death of Cricket.

IPL should happen. Sportsman need to understand their health and fitness and need to take off if they don't wanna play like starc did. But some players like dhawan need to play in IPL to show if they are in form or not, to get some good match practice...