Bollywood's Shah Rukh Khan, Dilip Kumar and the Peshawar club

justarslan

Bollywood's Shah Rukh Khan, Dilip Kumar and the Peshawar club

By M Ilyas Khan
BBC News, Dhakki, Peshawar

_64406367_pakistan_comp.jpg

Anybody who knows anything about Bollywood will have heard of Shah Rukh Khan and Dilip Kumar.

What people don't know is that they - and many others - have roots in the Pakistani city of Peshawar, better known these days for militancy and conservatism.

Dhakki is a maze of narrow streets and alleyways, winding up and around a hill that flanks Peshawar's oldest and most famous street, Qissa Khwani - the street of the storytellers.

Within a 200m radius in this area are located the ancestral homes of three of Bollywood's all-time great stars - Shah Rukh Khan, Dilip Kumar and Raj Kapoor.

To get to this area in Dhakki, I duck into a dark, covered passageway on the left of Qissa Khwani street, and walk on to a small open area of ground on the other side.

A labyrinth of streets on the left takes me up the hill to the house of Raj Kapoor, a mega star of the 1950s.

Kapoor's father, Prithviraj, was the first self-confessed Hindu "Pathan" from Peshawar to make a mark in Bollywood as an actor and producer. He started the first Bollywood dynasty whose actors and film-makers today span four generations.

Their three-storey mansion has an elaborate, though crumbling, facade that features arched windows and protruding balconies.

No one lives here any more. But their memory is still alive.

'Gulli-danda' Kapoor

Mohammad Yaqoob, a 90-year-old resident of Dhakki, remembers Raj Kapoor fondly.

"He was my buddy back in the 1920s. He was a year younger than me. We used to play a game of sticks called gulli-danda. We went to the same school," he recalls.

The Kapoors moved to Mumbai in the 1930s, and their occasional visits to Peshawar ended completely after the partition of India in 1947, he says.

About three minutes down the street from the Kapoor's mansion, through a tiny alleyway, lies the rotting home of another Bollywood legend from the 1950s and 1960s, Dilip Kumar.

Described by critics as the ultimate method actor of Indian cinema, Mr Kumar has more gongs than any other Bollywood star. Over his long career, he has won eight Filmfare awards, India's version of the Oscars.

His ancestral house is narrow and shaky, and looks like it's about to fall apart. The facade looks shabby; once expensive woodwork around windows and doors is soiled and cracked, and there are cobwebs all over the place.

Inside, the once trendy partitions of typical Peshawari wood panels are sagging. Plaster has fallen off the ceiling.

The place is being used as a warehouse to store clothes.

A worker at the site, who introduces himself as Maaliar, sounds typically fatalistic.

"It's a matter of pride for those who started from this small place and earned worldwide fame, but as far as I'm concerned, it's a historical place, which is now a warehouse, and I work here."

While Dilip Kumar and Raj Kapoor are legends of the past, some current Bollywood stars can still trace their origins to Peshawar, nearly 66 years after partition.

SRK in Peshawar

Another three minutes down a busy street is the ancestral home of Shah Rukh Khan, or SRK - the biggest and most expensive actor in Bollywood today.

_64400569_srk_noor.jpg

Shah Rukh Khan used to visit his family in Peshawar - and they have been to Mumbai to meet him​

SRK's father, Taj Mohammad Khan, was born and raised here, and SRK himself spent many days and nights here as a teenager when he came visiting on family holidays from his birthplace, Delhi.

His first cousin, Noor Jahan, who lives in the house, has been to Mumbai twice to meet him - the last time in 2010.

"He slept in this very room where we are sitting," she says, recalling the two visits SRK paid to the house in 1978 and 1979.

"He was very happy to be here, because it was the first time he'd met his father's family. In India he only has relatives from his mother's side."

Noor Jahan's 12-year-old son is named after his famous uncle, and calls himself Shah Rukh Khan 2.

"Uncle has promised that if I grow up to be a good cricket player, he'll include me in his team," he says.

SRK owns a cricket franchise, the Kolkata Knight Riders, which represents the city of Calcutta in the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Peshawar boasts several other Bollywood legends, such as Madhubala, the Marilyn Monroe of Indian cinema in the 1950s and 1960s, and the inimitable Amjad Khan - the bad guy of the 1975 Indian classic, Sholay.

Vinod Khanna, who played the lead in several Bollywood films of the 1970s, was born here, and so was Surinder Kapoor, a film producer who started the second Kapoor clan in Bollywood. One of his sons, Anil Kapoor, who acted in Danny Boyle's Oscar winning Slumdog Millionaire, dominated the Indian film scene for a while in the 1980s.

Why Peshawar?

Given this rich heritage, there have been calls for the preservation of known sites associated with these stars.

"[Dilip Kumar's house] should be preserved, so that the people can see what the Peshawaris can do," says Fawad Ishaq, a relative of Dilip Kumar.

But a recent attempt by the provincial government of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa to acquire the house was stalled by an ownership dispute.

Another move to acquire Raj Kapoor's house also had to be put off due to "unavailability of funds, and also because of problems relating to the accessibility and security of the house," says Feryal Ali Gauhar, a conservation expert who has been an adviser to the provincial government.

The question now is, what is it about Peshawar that has led it to produce so many mega stars for Bollywood?

For the man on the street, it's just the beneficence of God.

Local historian Ibrahim Zia has this explanation: "During the silent era, the Indian cinema was dominated by Bengalis and Parsis, but when talkies came, the personality of the actor assumed greater importance, and the people of Peshawar were not only tall and fair skinned by Indian standards, they spoke Hindi with greater flair and style..."

Whatever the reason, Peshawar has a special place in film history. But for the moment, it seems as if those Bollywood roots are destined to fade in the neglected alleyways of this troubled city.

Peshawar: Embattled city of culture

_64400572_kapoor_house.jpg

Tasveer Mahal cinema is located a stone's throw from Shah Rukh Khan's house in Peshawar. The Taliban, who consider films as obscene and un-Islamic, have bombed it twice since 2009. A filmgoer outside the cinema says you watch the gates of the auditorium as much as you watch the movie, which is not much fun.

As such, any thought of preserving the city's Bollywood heritage is simply out of tune with the mood of the times. But Peshawar has had a strong tradition of music, poetry and theatre. In 1936, it became one of the first Indian cities to have a radio station. It also had several theatre groups - both professional and amateur, which flourished until as late as the 1980s.

Some of these actors, such as Dilip Kumar, relocated to India because their families had businesses there. Others, especially Hindus like the two Kapoor clans, left because of the partition of India in 1947. Yet others, like SRK's father, stayed on in India because they had been activists of a freedom movement that opposed partition.

Peshawar born, Bollywood bred

Prithviraj Kapoor (1906 - 1972) Actor-producer founder of the Kapoor dynasty which came to dominate Bollywood

Dilip Kumar (1922 -)Highly acclaimed Indian actor born in Peshawar, star of many films

Raj Kapoor (1924-1988)Indian actor and producer, son of Prithviraj, involved in many hits such as Chori Chori and Barsaat

Madhubala (1933-1969) Actress who shot to fame at the age of 16 starring in the film, Mahal

Prem Nath (1926-1992) Punjabi actor whose family moved to India after partition and made his film debut in 1948

Vinod Khanna (1946-) Popular and successful actor, particularly in the 1970s and 1980s. Two of his sons have also gone into the film industry.

_64406364_prithvi_entry.jpg

Documents from Peshawar still exist as testament to the Bollywood greats who were born in the city​

Source: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-20440607#TWEET402869

Had they stayed in Peshawar for too long, they would have been selling "Niswaar" at shops.

Some big names of Bollywood were also born and raised in Lahore. For example, Dev Anand and Ali Zafar had graduated from the same school in Lahore.

It is not like they had done some intellectual work to the society being actors and all that. It is good to read all about this but I do not feel pride in all of this Bollywood junk.

Had they stayed in Peshawar for too long, they would have been selling "Niswaar" at shops.

Some big names of Bollywood were also born and raised in Lahore. For example, Dev Anand and Ali Zafar had graduated from the same school in Lahore.

It is not like they had done some intellectual work to the society being actors and all that. It is good to read all about this but I do not feel pride in all of this Bollywood junk.

nice post by justarslan & lol at niswaar .i have seen some old people who do this & they always have dark nostrils :moyo

Why precise "Punjabi" actor for Prem Nath ? Is his filmography made up of tons of Punjabi movies ? If that's not the case, the author should have said that the Kapoors and the Khannas are Punjabis too.
There are still a lot of Punjabi (Muslims and Sikhs, the Hindus have all moved) living in Peshawar, they speak "Hindko", which is basically Punjabi with Pashto loanwords.

If Partition didn't happen, all these peoples (Raj Kapoor, etc) would have enriched Punjabi culture and done their filmi work in Lahore, the cultural capital of Punjab having a cinema looking really good before Partition (A.R. Kardar, etc)... but then they all went to Bombay, that massive exodus of Punjabi artists (not only actors, but also directors, music composers, ... even lyricist like Raja Mehdi Ali Khan of Jhelum who literally was the first to make movie lyrics "poetic") being the fuel behind Bollywood's "Golden Age" of the 40s-50s.
Nowadays it's only about Maula Jutt in "Lollywood".

One of the best atmospheres I've ever seen was at a cricket ODI game at Peshawar before the troubles got too hot to handle. What a shame all that's gone now.

Both Shah Rukh's father and Dilip Kumar belong to Hindko speaking Peshawaris. They are not pathans.
Same is the case with Kapoor's of Bollywood and the late Ahmed Faraz.

Interesting article.

'Hindu Pathan' is a nonsense term though. All those actors are Punjabis. There are still Sikhs in NWFP or Kyhber-Pukthunkhwa.

By the way, a bit off topic, why is it assumed that for Indian Muslims who have family living in Pakistan, must have a soft spot for Pakistan? By the same token, would Pakistani's who have family in India, have a soft spot for India?

Why precise "Punjabi" actor for Prem Nath ? Is his filmography made up of tons of Punjabi movies ? If that's not the case, the author should have said that the Kapoors and the Khannas are Punjabis too.
There are still a lot of Punjabi (Muslims and Sikhs, the Hindus have all moved) living in Peshawar, they speak "Hindko", which is basically Punjabi with Pashto loanwords.

If Partition didn't happen, all these peoples (Raj Kapoor, etc) would have enriched Punjabi culture and done their filmi work in Lahore, the cultural capital of Punjab having a cinema looking really good before Partition (A.R. Kardar, etc)... but then they all went to Bombay, that massive exodus of Punjabi artists (not only actors, but also directors, music composers, ... even lyricist like Raja Mehdi Ali Khan of Jhelum who literally was the first to make movie lyrics "poetic") being the fuel behind Bollywood's "Golden Age" of the 40s-50s.
Nowadays it's only about Maula Jutt in "Lollywood".

You have made the point of a Punjabi exodus before. Problem is Bombay was already established as the 'film' city of pre-Partioned India. Mohammed Rafi wasn't singing in Lahore before partition, nor did he feel the need to move there afterwards.

Why the pain anyway? From what I have seen of your posts re: AJK, you seem to support Partition.

You have made the point of a Punjabi exodus before. Problem is Bombay was already established as the 'film' city of pre-Partioned India. Mohammed Rafi wasn't singing in Lahore before partition, nor did he feel the need to move there afterwards.

I didn't say it created the Bombay movie industry - which would be silly -, but gave it an impetus, West Bengal for instance was as alive - if not more - artistically but because of the language barrier - Raj Kapoor probably was more familiar with Hindi than Bengali - it didn't "won" all these artists, who gave to Bombay a edge.

Why the pain anyway? From what I have seen of your posts re: AJK, you seem to support Partition.

Don't give a curry so no "pain" for me, that's just an objective historical diagnostic, I might be for Partition or not, but it does have some truth that in an united Punjab the majority - to not say all - would have remained in Lahore and not moved to Bombay.

They had already started moving to Bombay before partition. Would have carried on afterwards. They knew on which side there bread was buttered.

+1, completely agree with you

Dev anand sahab name and ali zafar name in same line:ahmed

many bollywood 'big guns' hail from this side of the fence, rajendra kumar being another example, he was from sialkot

List of Bollywood personalities born in Pak.

Yash Chopra - Lahore
Dilip Kumar - Peshawar
Shekhar Kapur - Lahore
Raj Kapoor - Peshawar
Vinod Khanna - Peshawar
Kader Khan - Balochistan
Raj Kumar - Balochistan
Mohammed Rafi - Kotla Sultan Singh, Pak
Rajendra Kumar - Sialkot
Gulzar - Jhelum, Pak
Manoj Kumar - Lahore
Prithvi Raj Kapoor - Peshawar
I.S.Johar - Pak
Anand Bakshi - Rawalpindi
Balraj Sahni - Rawalpindi
Om Prakash - Lahore
Achala Sachdev - Peshawar
Govind Nihlani - Karachi
Ramanand Sagar - Lahore
O.P.Nayyar - Lahore
Jagdish Raj - Sargodha
Dev Anand, Vijay Anand and Brothers - Lahore
Tulsi Ramsay - Karachi

Ok... There are more than 150 actors/directors born in present day Pak who made big in Bollywood.

Interesting article.

'Hindu Pathan' is a nonsense term though. All those actors are Punjabis. There are still Sikhs in NWFP or Kyhber-Pukthunkhwa.

No, Dilip Kumar, Kapoors and Shah Rukh Khan's family are NOT Pathans. They are peshawaries.

Up until 1960's there was a wall around the city of Peshawar and only"Hindko speaking" Peshawaries used to live inside the Peshawar city. This wall has 8 famous doors.
Pushto speaking Pathans were only allowed enter the city during day time for work, and they would leave before dark to go back to their villages or mountains.

Dilip Kumar, Shah Rukh and Kapoors are the decedents of those Peshawaries. Dilip Kumar still speaks Hindko. There are quite a few Hindus in Delhi and other parts of India that were hindko speaking who migrated to India. They also speak Hindko. Pushto or Pathan is a totally different breed.

No, Dilip Kumar, Kapoors and Shah Rukh Khan's family are NOT Pathans. They are peshawaries.

There are Pashtun Hindko speakers too (they can generally speak both Hindko and Pashto).
In Mansehra, which is a traditionally Hindko area, there's a minority of Pakhtoons who not only speak Hindko but are "Hindko nationalists" more than "Pashtun nationalists" (like some of ethnic Pashtuns in Punjab became Punjabi nationalists, good example being the late Dr Syed Akhtar Hussain Akhtar, a great scholar of Punjabi who was born in Dir and ended up studying Guru Gobind Singh's life and works... ironic, considering history.)

I personally think that ShahRukh Khan's father wasn't Pashtun, but I'm not sure about Dilip Kumar.

Dillip Kumar (Yusuf Khan), and Shah Rukh Khan are Pathans. They even claim themselves to be Pathans.

The Hindu actors, Kapoors et all, were not Hindokwans from what I know. Kapoor is a Punjabi surname, so they were likely to be Punjabis that happened to be settled across the NWFP.

There are Pashtun Hindko speakers too (they can generally speak both Hindko and Pashto).
In Mansehra, which is a traditionally Hindko area, there's a minority of Pakhtoons who not only speak Hindko but are "Hindko nationalists" more than "Pashtun nationalists" (like some of ethnic Pashtuns in Punjab became Punjabi nationalists, good example being the late Dr Syed Akhtar Hussain Akhtar, a great scholar of Punjabi who was born in Dir and ended up studying Guru Gobind Singh's life and works... ironic, considering history.)

I personally think that ShahRukh Khan's father wasn't Pashtun, but I'm not sure about Dilip Kumar.

Met a waiter in a restuarant that claimed to be 'ethnically Pathan', but a Hindko speaker. Didn't know a word of Pushtu.

Dillip Kumar (Yusuf Khan), and Shah Rukh Khan are Pathans. They even claim themselves to be Pathans.

The Hindu actors, Kapoors et all, were not Hindokwans from what I know. Kapoor is a Punjabi surname, so they were likely to be Punjabis that happened to be settled across the NWFP.

"Hindkowan" is a linguistic, not ethnic, term.

You can speak Hindko and be Punjabi (with names like Kapoors, Khannas, ...) and speak Hindko and be Pashtun (fore instance the Yusufzais, who are by the way the widespread Pashtun tribe per excellence ; in India, the Pashtun tribes are generally Yusufzais and Bangash.)

And, well, it seems to be "fashion" to claim himself as "Pathan" in Bollywood, you shouldn't count on it. I've seen a YouTube comment (whatever its worth) where a chap said that SRK family (still has cousins in Pakistan) speaks Hindko, not Pashto... and doing some research, I've also seen that his paternal grandmother was from Kashmir, if his father is indeed Hindko, it would make sense, as the relationship Hindko-Pahari (of Azad&Jammu Kashmir) is more probable than Pashtun-Pahari.

You can speak Hindko and be Punjabi (with names like Kapoors, Khannas, ...) and speak Hindko and be Pashtun (fore instance the Yusufzais, who are by the way the widespread Pashtun tribe per excellence ; in India, the Pashtun tribes are generally Yusufzais and Bangash.)

And, well, it seems to be "fashion" to claim himself as "Pathan" in Bollywood, you shouldn't count on it. I've seen a YouTube comment (whatever its worth) where a chap said that SRK family (still has cousins in Pakistan) speaks Hindko, not Pashto... and doing some research, I've also seen that his paternal grandmother was from Kashmir, if his father is indeed Hindko, it would make sense, as the relationship Hindko-Pahari (of Azad&Jammu Kashmir) is more probable than Pashtun-Pahari.

Ohh ok. Thanks.

Wouldn't set much store by a YouTube comment. But yeah Hinko-Pahadi would seem more likely than Pashtun-Pahadi.

Same is the story with Dilip Kumar. There is a YouTube segment where Dilip visits Peshawar, gets together with old Hindkowaan friends and speaks pure Hindko. He also has a house in old city Peshawar not far from Shah Rukh Khan's father's home which was an area of 100% peshawaries until 1960.
Adnan Sami Khan's father was also a Hindkowaan from Peshawar.

So Sharukh Khan and Dalip Kumar are Punjabis? Not surprised by the way. lol

hope this obsession with being a pathan dies in bollywood..hope a day comes when muslim actors proudly say we are halalkhors or dhobis and hindu actors say we are paswan and Teli.. and there wont be a song like pathan ke yaar se panga na lena, kahan raja bhoj kahan gangu teli, bole mochi bhi khud ko sonar hai..

Never heard of a Dalit actor in Bollywood.

The only one I know is Johnny Lever. He is from Andhra Pradesh I think.

Both Shah Rukh's father and Dilip Kumar belong to Hindko speaking Peshawaris. They are not pathans.
Same is the case with Kapoor's of Bollywood and the late Ahmed Faraz.

oh sigh
the man himself says he is, yet you say he isnt
the lengths people go to :))

http://youtu.be/zxItARuTJT0

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/oMHY_3RFzgg" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

I thinkl it's mostly the case with desi mindset whether Indian or Pakistani.

I see that anyone who gets fame from the Hindu background becomes a Brahmin.

Same goes in Pakistan, soon as they become rich and famous they become Khan, Choudhry, Saen,..... even Reema recently upgraded her name to "Reema Khan"

So Sharukh Khan and Dalip Kumar are Punjabis? Not surprised by the way. lol

dilip kumar is also a pashtun

saira banos interviews ( look it up) about living with a pathan man being difficult

subtle hatred has come across in this thread already

dilip kumar is also a pashtun

saira banos interviews ( look it up) about living with a pathan man being difficult

subtle hatred has come across in this thread already

Anyone who speaks Hindko isnt Phatan but actually Punjabi in origin. Usually Phathans dont consider anyone who doesnt know pashto a Phatan. But when it comes to famous personalities like Imran Khan, Sharukh Khan, Dilip Kumar they change their tune.

Imran Khan himself is mixed and Sharukh mother was punjabi and father Hindo speaking Punjabi.

alright ill take your word for it and not the man himself who is openly saying he is a pathan in a press conference and famously infront of the pakistan and indian team

there are many hindko speakers, with names like ghaznavi, laghmani, khan, tanoli
who are afghan by origin, except have learned hindko, and adopted it as their language

alright ill take your word for it and not the man himself who is openly saying he is a pathan in a press conference

Good thats the way to go, because deep down inside you know im right. But your phatan pride is preventing you from thinking logically. Its like Punjabis from Pakistan who calim to be Syeds.

i would have believed it, but he has openly said he is pashtun unless he is ashamed of being something else and lying about it :)

i think the illogical one here is you, ignoring his personal statement lol

many syed in pakistan have claim of being syed especially if they have lineage from the persian/arab people, and many of them decent proof aswell

this is not counting mashwani, kakakhel because they are not

Salman Khan origin is Afghanistan if im not wrong. But what about Amir Khan?

Herat Afghanistan Amir Khan, he is not pashtun, farsi speaker

salman khans family along with fardeen khan are from afghanistan by descent, fardeen, zahid and their fathers all speak moderate pashto still

i would have believed it, but he has openly said he is pashtun unless he is ashamed of being something else and lying about it :)

i think the illogical one here is you, ignoring his personal statement lol

many syed in pakistan have claim of being syed especially if they have lineage from the persian/arab people, and many of them decent proof aswell

this is not counting mashwani, kakakhel because they are not

The only proof they have is their mouth because DNA test doesnt support their claim.

if you can find evidence to back that DNA test claim, I will believe it

this feeling of superiority and inferiority based on ethnicity and caste :100:

i dont think so anybody feel superior for ethnicity esp in bollywood.
bollywood is such a beautiful cradle for talent,people from all over are admired for talent in mumbai..we have punjabis,pathans,south indian actors esp heroines(sri devi,hema malini,vidya balan,vajyanti mala,asin,genelia,shruti hasan), bengali brigade (aishwarya rai,rani ,bipasha,utpall dutt) , u.p actors (AMITABH BACHAN,anurag kashyapnasuridhin shah,raj babbar,nargis tuntun),bihari brigade(shatrughan sinha,shekhar suman,vinay pathak,prakash jha,manoj bajpai) etc.
this list is just 1% i can gather...
the fact is that MUMBAI is the cultural capital of south asia :asadrauf

My elder brother attended Quaid-e-Azam University in mid 90's and he had a Pushtun professor who claimed that Allah is also pathan.

some people have inferiority complex attached to their identities..some hindus claim aryan lineage.. muslims claim arab lineage when most of them had hindu and buddhist past.. then why cant the celebrities also try to trumpet some superior lineage.. if yousuf khan can change his name to dilip kumar to remain fashionable, why cant he change his lineage to a more fashionable one..

Exactly, but but SRK say he is Pathan lol. Pathan become fashionable in India but in Pakistan its opposite.

Where I come from we don't really hold the Arabs in high esteem, in fact even our names are more Persian than Arabic sounding (I wish even our religion wasn't Arab) and never in my life I've heard someone in my family say that we descend from Arabs nor I'd expect because it would be insulting (not because they're Arabs, but it basically means that your female ancestors have either been raped, at worst, or your male ancestors didn't have something between both legs and you converted cowardly, at best.)

@shan
Exactly, but but SRK say he is Pathan lol. Pathan become fashionable in India but in Pakistan its opposite.

yeah i guess your right its more fashionable to remain money hungry ,corrupt, live off the resources of other provinces and use curse words to mother and sisters every second sentence and eat daal :yk

I didn`t know about Madhubala and Vinod Khana being from Peshawar . :O

madhubala is definately pashtun, but shan and khaleefa, the PR Managers of Punjab will probably say she is punjabi again

recently i was chatting with an american girl on yahoo chat, and she was in the same city i was in...i really impressed her and she was laughing at my jokes and then she asked she would like to meet me, and added that hope you are white..then i told her no i am an indian.. then she gave this smiley- :) .. i understood that she was smiling because she was disappointed, and i was disappointed too..but hey, if you cant love my skin colour then i dont love you either...cant change myself to please others.. but not many people are like that..they hate their brown skin and if someone tells them you look italian they swell like a toad in monsoon.. self esteem is really wanted in this world.

@shan

yeah i guess your right its more fashionable to remain money hungry ,corrupt, live off the resources of other provinces and use curse words to mother and sisters every second sentence and eat daal :yk

That could easily be description of pashtuns too.

when hrithik roshan came on the scene, one of my friend said that finally we have someone with international looks, he looks so european.. yeh to mentality hai among us desis.. no wonder they try to align themselves with some "superior" races from other countries to feel better than the rest

and i have nothing against anyone, not the least pathans.. but what is so special about pathans that at least bollywood is fascinated by them..and people like afridi refuse to certify irfan pathan as a real pathan??

Where I come from we don't really hold the Arabs in high esteem, in fact even our names are more Persian than Arabic sounding (I wish even our religion wasn't Arab) and never in my life I've heard someone in my family say that we descend from Arabs nor I'd expect because it would be insulting (not because they're Arabs, but it basically means that your female ancestors have either been raped, at worst, or your male ancestors didn't have something between both legs and you converted cowardly, at best.)

Being part of recorded history also means its hard to make things up. There is no way you could claim anything other than hindu heritage.

Why the arab hate?

when hrithik roshan came on the scene, one of my friend said that finally we have someone with international looks, he looks so european.. yeh to mentality hai among us desis.. no wonder they try to align themselves with some "superior" races from other countries to feel better than the rest

I see that so often amongst all the people of SC.

You could see why foreigners ruled over SC for so long

another thing i have noticed here..that indians bangladeshis and chinese all consider themselves superior among each other..but come a white american and they are fawning over him..laughing loud at his jokes..acting all loyal and pliable.. what is it among humans that they readily take subservient roles only to feel good about themselves...even my psychiatrist brain sometimes doesnt understand their mentality..

In my college days we had a Pathan professor who would always switch P with F, and F with P.
Some of his trademark words were;

Floppy = Ploffy
Fall = Pall
Profit = Fropit
Pajero = Fajero
Ghafoor = Ghapoor.

and i have nothing against anyone, not the least pathans.. but what is so special about pathans that at least bollywood is fascinated by them..and people like afridi refuse to certify irfan pathan as a real pathan??

Wonder what Afridi will say about SRK and Imran Khan? For them these are real pathans. Imran Khan is mixed and mother tongue is Seraiki.

when people cannot pronounce some sounds..this is understandable because the sound probably doesnt exist in their alphabets.. thats why an arab finds it difficult to say Pakistan, or americans find it difficult to pronounce our hard Rs and other sounds..

@shan

Infact other provinces live off Punjab resources. About eating daal, hmm if not for Punjab then other provinces will die of hunger. What resouces? Last time i checked Pakistan CNG stations are out of gas and have to import petrol.

so easy to wind up considering you guys started it all :)))

typical mentality, say what you want about others but cant take anything said about your own :))

what is so demeaning about eating daal?? pulses are one of the best soruces for protein, and one of the expensive foodgrain... i am a proud daal eater..just two days back i made some tasty thick moong daal..garnished with lemon and chopped red onions, and added some desi ghee and had with rotis.. if in some part of the world eating daal is seen as an insult then i pity those people.

I think in Parhan culture farting is considered an EXTREMELY shameful act. It is considered as the height of cowardice.
In Punjab culture, u know, "Chalta hai".

Now since daal supposedly creates more gas during digestion u r likely to cut loose a few extra stinkers and hence Pathans demean Punjabis for being accessive farters and hence cowards.

I think in Parhan culture farting is considered an EXTREMELY shameful act. It is considered as the height of cowardice.

Now since daal supposedly creates more gas during digestion u r likely to cut loose a few extra stinkers and hence Pathans demean Punjabis for being accessive farters and hence cowards.

oh, didn't know that..so it is about flatulence..then fair enough..farting is considered uncivil everywhere..unless you are with your wife or very close friends..so i dont mind it being considered shameful by pathans.

what the hell has this thread descended to

And big LOL at Myrmiodon making it sound as if KP is going tgrough some serious discrimination

Pashtuns in the north west are proud Pakistanis and will remain so always. Fantasy stories about their hopes of joiining Afghanis and becoming one country will always remain that... fantasies.. Because no one wants it

As for Shahrukh Khan. He is half pathan. No achievement in sth of chance :))

In anycase I hope Pakistan's eventual destiny is where Pakistani Pathans wont recognize themselves as Pathans but everyone will just be Pakistanis. Many do already

Funny that non-Pashtuns are hell bent on proving that some of the Bollywood actors are not Pashtuns when the actors themselves are confirming it!

Btw, Celina Jaitley's mother is an Afghan Pashtun.

How about Saif Ali Khan? Isn't he a descendent of Dost Mohammed Khan?

From wiki: Naseeruddin Shah is a descendant of the 19th-century Afghan warlord Jan Fishan Khan. He hails from Western UP - the area also known as Rohilkhand because a large number of Rohillas settled there.

because it would be insulting (not because they're Arabs, but it basically means that your female ancestors have either been raped, at worst, or your male ancestors didn't have something between both legs and you converted cowardly, at best.)

Isn't that true for most Pakistanis? I can understand the lower castes converting to escape persecution from the higher castes, but what about the others? Did they just see the light of Islam and give up their original faith? Aren't you a Rajput yourself? How do you think you ended up a Muslim?

are you on something?..read my above post bollywood is not fascinated by pathans..pathans are not born in last 20 years.the fact is that bollywood khans are good actors(not all esp saif),thats why they are successful..look at fardeen khan,zaid khan they are also pathans but they are not successful since they are not so good actors.bollywood is made up of all identities of India or former India

you didnt understand my post..i didnt say india or bollywood audience is fascinated by pathans..so whether those actors are successful or not doesnt matter.. i said that the bollywood khans are obsessed about showing that they are pathans..srk keeps saying that in every show..saw fardeen khan say that once that a pathan never grows old..and not to forget the movies which glorify pathans..eg, the recent song, pathan ke yaar pe panga mat lena.

regarding your other post that bollywood is made up of all identities of india...i will leave it for some other time..would derail the topic otherwise.

Isn't that true for most Pakistanis? I can understand the lower castes converting to escape persecution from the higher castes, but what about the others? Did they just see the light of Islam and give up their original faith? Aren't you a Rajput yourself? How do you think you ended up a Muslim?

He's probably a Rajput Singh or Hindu, it's usually the most vitriolic ones that some out with "your ancestors were raped by Arabs" line. The majority have more sense.

Funny how afghans on this site want to classify Bollywood actors as their own when most of their families were from Pakistan eg: Saif Ali khans uncles, cousins are, were in the Pakistan army with one of them at a time near to be the head of: ISI. SRK family still lives in Pakistan. Kader Khan migrated from balochistan, Pakistan.

Shah Rukh Khan is half Punjabi...I read his mother was from: Rawalpindi.

Funny how afghans on this site want to classify Bollywood actors as their own when most of their families were from Pakistan eg: Saif Ali khans uncles, cousins are, were in the Pakistan army with one of them at a time near to be the head of: ISI. SRK family still lives in Pakistan. Kader Khan migrated from balochistan, Pakistan.

Shah Rukh Khan is half Punjabi...I read his mother was from: Rawalpindi.

Sharukh father was not Phatan, but Hindko speaking punjabi. The problem i have with likes of Myrmidon is that they wont accept normal Hindko Punjabi or mixed as pathan. But when someone become famous they change their stance for that person.

If im not wrong Pakistanis has been Vedic Hindus, Budhists and back to Hindus again before Islam? Who knows what religion they will convert in couple of thousands years.

Hahahahahahahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!!!!!!!!

This cracked me up!!!

In India Brahmins are called dal eaters as they eat Dal pretty much everyday. The only source of protien for them along with milk. Those jokes were funny though.

Sharukh father was not Phatan, but Hindko speaking punjabi. The problem i have with likes of Myrmidon is that they wont accept normal Hindko Punjabi or mixed as pathan. But when someone become famous they change their stance for that person.

I know...Some dont even accept Imran Khan as a Pathan because he doesnt follow their code, doest know pashto, lives more like a Punjabi (in a lahore, Islamabad) tho he is still genetically a pathan.

Another thing is that I noticed is that afghan pathans try to mis guide, alienate pakistani Pathans from pakistan. Its not working. :yk I read their posts on forum about Pakistan and about other ethnicities in pakistan and its disgusting.

Upper Caste people like Rajputs, Brahmins converted to keep their power in the society. Had they not converted, they might have lost their kingdoms and power.
I can bet to this day a Muslim Brahmin or Rajput or any Upper Caste would not marry a Dalit Muslim.
The problem is when ever a subcontinental person imagines a dalit, it is not a pretty picture. Hence the aversion.

Its not just about Islam. Even in Christians in India, its the same. In subcontinent, caste system is so hardly ingrained, it will not go away immediately unless Dalits and Upper Castes are forcefully mixed.

At the pace India is progressing as a society, it will take another 2 centuries before people forget about caste.