Brendon McCullum predicts 5 wins for Pakistan in World Cup 2019

The Viper

2019-06-01 (5).jpg

McCullum thinks Pakistan, South Africa, New Zealand and Windies will all finish on 5 wins and net run rate will decide who finishes 4th

Interesting that he predicted Windies to beat Pakistan. Expecting to win against Australia is very optimistic.

Was this after or before the windies match??
Also how can wi beat sl and sl beat wi??

I’ll take 5 wins . We need to win 2 of the next 3 games . If we lose to England then SL and Australia on relatively small grounds are must wins .

He has made a big error, WI is beating SL and SL is beating WI in his prediction book.

His prediction is mathematically wrong. There are 45 matches while he predicted 46 wins.

So windies and Lankans will both beat each other?

What is this sorcery?:haris

Yeah not until the actual knockout stages. But I'm fine with reversing the roles of '99. I don't mind getting beat in the group stages then thrashing them in the finals.

But if we get beaten by them in the GS there's a high chance we won't even meet them again in this tournie

What kind of prediction is this? WI will win against SL and SL will also win agains WI :vk2

He said Bangladesh will win only one match in the entire tourney. He forgot that we knocked them out of the previous CT

I think we can :)

Just need a hundred from Fakhar and Babar and a fifty from Asif Ali.
Bat first, score 350, and then defend.

Sure, but that's like saying a homeless man can become a millionaire, if he wins the next lotto.

Well to be honest Fakhar, Babar and Asif have been in the runs off late. Just need them to click together.

NZ will finish at the top after group stages. Not 4th. McCullum has got it wrong.

Yeah not until the actual knockout stages. But I'm fine with reversing the roles of '99. I don't mind getting beat in the group stages then thrashing them in the finals.

Oh Bhai, Allah ko maan yaar.

We can’t beat the likes of AFG or score 150 vs WI let alone win the game, and we’re seeing lambe khwaab of getting into finals.

These players don't have the mentality or quality to beat Australia in a knockout match. I want to stay far away from them.

I think we can :)

Just need a hundred from Fakhar and Babar and a fifty from Asif Ali.
Bat first, score 350, and then defend.

If we score 350 , Australia will . We cant bwr Australia in a knockout game. We don't have the mentality.

Oh Bhai, Allah ko maan yaar.

We can’t beat the likes of AFG or score 150 vs WI let alone win the game, and we’re seeing lambe khwaab of getting into finals.

Oh bhai. Aap ko kia tension hai?
Jab tak hai jaan let us dream.

As long as the chances are there will always back the team!

With the current form if we win match will be a great achievement.

I wonder if he's rating us so highly on past reputation rather than first hand knowledge like Nasser Hussain?

I still think Pakistan is capable of performing a lot better than they are showing so can understand why teams are wary of them, but from what I've seen in the last year I would say getting 3 wins would be a decent shout.

Why are people taking this so seriously and so personally?

BD fans have the right to be upset

Because he assumed that Bangladesh would end up at last position in this world cup. Imagine coming into the world cup in good form, having the 2nd/3rd best W/L ratio since the last world cup, going to Asia cup finals and nearly winning it, going into the QF last WC(Where we nearly beat NZ mind you) and SF of the CT after beating NZ.

He is basically saying that we are inferior to Afghanistan, Sri Lanka and Pakistan. Pakistan part is up for debate but I am sure we are better than Afghnaistan and Lanka. In these conditions Afghanistan will struggle against our pacers and their spinners won't do much in these conditions against a side that plays spin well.

Because he assumed that Bangladesh would end up at last position in this world cup. Imagine coming into the world cup in good form, having the 2nd/3rd best W/L ratio since the last world cup, going to Asia cup finals and nearly winning it, going into the QF last WC(Where we nearly beat NZ mind you) and SF of the CT after beating NZ.

He is basically saying that we are inferior to Afghanistan, Sri Lanka and Pakistan. Pakistan part is up for debate but I am sure we are better than Afghnaistan and Lanka. In these conditions Afghanistan will struggle against our pacers and their spinners won't do much in these conditions against a side that plays spin well.

Who cares what he says?

No one should really. TBH its kind of insulting when your team is rated below even Afghanistan by people who are more than just basic fans - commentators, cricketers who are not experts, etc.

While I do agree BD need to perform better.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Impressive performance from <a href="https://twitter.com/BCBtigers?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@BCBtigers</a> to defeat <a href="https://twitter.com/OfficialCSA?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@OfficialCSA</a>. I expected SA to win but Bangladesh played well. In regards to my predictions, thanks for the feedback on getting this one wrong. Won’t be the last but average at the end will look alright I think. Can’t win em all &#55357;&#56841;</p>— Brendon McCullum (@Bazmccullum) <a href="https://twitter.com/Bazmccullum/status/1135245302925914113?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 2, 2019</a></blockquote>

Not so bad predictions for Pakistan by McCullum in the end....

He got the predictions of India, Pakistan, New Zealand correct (except rained out matches).

Solid prediction for India - Only one loss shown that also to England !

Damn!

I wonder if he's rating us so highly on past reputation rather than first hand knowledge like Nasser Hussain?

I still think Pakistan is capable of performing a lot better than they are showing so can understand why teams are wary of them, but from what I've seen in the last year I would say getting 3 wins would be a decent shout.

This was the attitude most fans had. Thinking 2 or MAX 3 wins. PAK won 5 games and yet people are crying.

He predicted very well. McCullum has really impressed me with his cricketing smarts in commentary as well. He has much more to him than simply the English ethos of ‘Smash it like its hot’, which was supposedly inspired by McCullum’s captaincy.

Excellent prediction from Baz before the worldcup no body in right mind would have predicted 5 wins for pakistan in worldcup

he predicted almost perfectly apart from 3 win .Bd finished on 8th which he said before the worldcup

He predicted BD would have 1 win and would finish 9th or 10th. He didn't predict BD would finish 8th.

He overestimated Afghanistan who failed to win a single game.

Yes exactly, bichare ne apna prediction diya aur BD walo ne khwamkhwa dil pe le liya, it was kinda sad how he was trolled mercilessly after his prediction went wrong.

B-Mac is probably my favorite captain of the modern era.

Played to win above all costs; NZ hasn’t been the same since he left.

Just him charging and then leaping to save a boundary brought such a rush to the viewer.

In the PakPassion Predictions Competition, I got all the results right of Pakistan´s matches, except the win over England which I didn´t quite see coming.

So I got it 4-4, whereas the scoreline stood at 5-3. Come on boys, give me some credit too! :najam

B-Mac is probably my favorite captain of the modern era.

Played to win above all costs; NZ hasn’t been the same since he left.

Just him charging and then leaping to save a boundary brought such a rush to the viewer.

Actually I think Williamson's ODI captaincy record has been as good, just NZ have been playing well below their best all WC.

The likes Guptill have run out of unlucky ways to be dismissed (played-on, walked on his stumps, strangled down leg) and will fire at some stage

Wow, solid work. Good prediction as well that it would come down to NRR

New Zealand were 'broken' but 'proud' after World Cup final, says Brendon McCullum

Former New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum said Kane Williamson's team was low after the narrow defeat to England in the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup 2019 final, but lauded their effort in getting there.

McCullum knows what it's like to lose a World Cup final, as he was at the helm when New Zealand lost to Australia in the final of the 2015 edition in Melbourne. New Zealand's defeat at Lord's may have hurt them even more, given how they fell agonizingly short of winning their first ever World Cup title.

After levelled scores in the match and then in the Super Over, England were awarded the game and the coveted trophy on boundary count. McCullum recalled that the players were 'pretty broken' after the game. Yet there was an element of pride over having made the final in the first place.

"I was lucky enough to have a beer with them in the changing room and they were pretty broken, that's for sure," McCullum was quoted as saying by stuff.co.nz.

"They were also really proud of what they did and how well they played. Over the coming months and years, whilst it's still raw now, they'll understand just how magnificent that spectacle was. And for it to happen on the biggest of stages, to have played the hand that they played in that match is absolutely amazing.

In face of the heartbreak, McCullum urged the team to look at the bigger picture, which is the positive impact New Zealand's overall performance will have on the game in the country, much like it did after the 2015 show.

"It was a missed opportunity but I looked at the positives of the rest of the World Cup and what it did for the game in our country rather than focusing on that last moment."

New Zealand are lined up for an exciting home summer later this year, as they host England and India. The high-profile series on the back of a fantastic World Cup performance could further enhance the game's cause in the country.

"A full calendar on the back of that World Cup performance, to have England arriving, to have India here, it's going to be pretty fascinating for cricket fans," he said.

"I'm confident that New Zealand will perform well. They're very good in their own conditions, that's for sure. But both those two teams will present a significant challenge."

New Zealand's immediate priority would be their tour of Sri Lanka, where they play a two match test series beginning 14 August in Galle, followed by three T20Is.

https://www.cricketworldcup.com/news/en/1289793

I think winning around 5-6 games was always about right for Pakistan. Shame that the Sri Lanka game was washed out.

Brendon didn't make any exceptional predictions. Most of his predictions were wrong. He predicted Afghanistan would 2 games (they won 0) and West Indies would win 5 games (they won 2). He also wrote SL would win 1 and BD would win 1.