China bans burqas and 'abnormal' beards in Muslim province of Xinjiang

czar

Tape Ball Star
China has banned burqas, veils and “abnormal” beards in a predominantly Muslim province in what it claims is a crackdown on religious extremism.

The measures, which also force people to watch state television, follow decades of ethnic and religious discrimination against Xinjiang’s 10 million-strong ethic Uyghur population.

New regulations, to come into force on Saturday, require government workers in airports, railway stations and other public places “dissuade” women who fully cover their faces and bodies from entering and report them to police.
They also prohibit the “abnormal growing of beards and naming of children to exaggerate religious fervour”, without giving specifics.

It will be forbidden to “reject or refuse radio, television and other public facilities and services”, marrying using religious rather than legal procedures and “using the name of Halal to meddle in the secular life of others”.

Rules published in state-controlled media continue: “Parents should use good moral conduct to influence their children, educate them to revere science, pursue culture, uphold ethnic unity and refuse and oppose extremism.”

The document also bans not allowing children to attend regular school, not abiding by family planning policies and deliberately damaging legal documents.

Successive bans on select "extremist behaviours" have previously been introduced in in areas of Xinjiang, including stopping people with headscarves, veils and long beards from boarding buses in at least one city.

www.independent.co.uk/news/world/as...nce-extremism-crackdown-freedom-a7657826.html

China keeps denying Muslim's the right to practise their religion, however nobody in the Muslim World protests against it.

Dragon does what dragon likes.

Dragon has managed to take humongous amount of people out of poverty and create a direction for the entire nation.
In 10 years i can imagine people learning Mandarin as a second language across.(already happening in phases).

China is one country which keeps on proving how religion is a constant hindrance to development when the population and illiteracy is high.

China may become the most developed country in the world with the largest economy but it can never be called a first world country till it has free and open media/press, inclusive policies and democratic government.

I hope China reaches a point in its national development where it feels that a sufficient number of people have reached an acceptable standard of living and now they can focus on more democratic development of the country.

China may become the most developed country in the world with the largest economy but it can never be called a first world country till it has free and open media/press, inclusive policies and democratic government.

I hope China reaches a point in its national development where it feels that a sufficient number of people have reached an acceptable standard of living and now they can focus on more democratic development of the country.

All that is overrated, open media/press can be bought and manipulated.I rather have my countrymen not dying of poverty and stupidity than free media.

He is talking about once poverty is alleviated and an acceptable standard of living achieved, then the next step is to focus on freedom of individuals.

Spot on! Today The media is The evil in The West and dividing people!

He is talking about once poverty is alleviated and an acceptable standard of living achieved, then the next step is to focus on freedom of individuals.

Why?Look at Taiwan,Tibet and Xinjiang asking for independence and what not,also Hong Kong having issues.

Its hard to keep such a huge country together if they have a huge population they do whatever is required for the "greater good".(I'm no one to decide the greater good but what China has achieved is to slap Hollywood and the west with all their nonsensical movies and propaganda and prove how "Empire" actually makes more sense a lot can be achieved faster.

Why?Look at Taiwan,Tibet and Xinjiang asking for independence and what not,also Hong Kong having issues.

Its hard to keep such a huge country together if they have a huge population they do whatever is required for the "greater good".(I'm no one to decide the greater good but what China has achieved is to slap Hollywood and the west with all their nonsensical movies and propaganda and prove how "Empire" actually makes more sense a lot can be achieved faster.

Would you say that the standard of living is better for the average Chinese than American or British citizen?

I would say look how long it took the British to get that standard of living inspite of only "that much of population",America is even diff because it was the land of abundance immigrants flocking there.

Now lets see China poor,illiterate in 1949 and now look at China the unstoppable dragon innovating and making ghost cities(stupid yeah but still) at a rater which is shocking to say the least.I don't see the bubble if it ever breaks i'll accept humble pie but till then China has done the remarkable with the population and resources.

I would say look how long it took the British to get that standard of living inspite of only "that much of population",America is even diff because it was the land of abundance immigrants flocking there.

Now lets see China poor,illiterate in 1949 and now look at China the unstoppable dragon innovating and making ghost cities(stupid yeah but still) at a rater which is shocking to say the least.I don't see the bubble if it ever breaks i'll accept humble pie but till then China has done the remarkable with the population and resources.

Some of that has been possible because there is no opposition party or prying media. This means that if they take a wrong decision (like the ghost cities) there is no one to question them.

China has done very well for herself, but now is the time for them to open up the media and the internet at the very least.

I have never believed that China is our ally on the basis of faith. It is a case of both needing each other. Every country does what is right for it. Islamic unity only means anything if it is practically implemented otherwise it's nonsense that Zaid Hamid is an expert on.

Even Quaid said that be good friends with China but stay far away from their system of government.

India first need to ban spoiling ganges and other rivers by rituals, ban Ganesh rituals with millions of plaster of paris statues depositing in lakes/rivers/seas, ban diwali crackers completely etc. etc.......and set an example for banning such things in other religions. This is why Christianity/budhism is such a clean religion. absolutely no nonsense

Couldn't agree more,but even when some of the Hindu religious leaders try to bring in uniformity people get angry including myself ,accusing them of not giving freedom of thought.Thing is Hinduism doesn't have singularity like other religions because of number of texts.

Lol as if banning beards or burqas will stop extremism. This is hardly surprising, China and its allies (includes Pakistan) hardly care about individual freedom. I sympathize with Uyghur brother and sisters but they need to stand behind sane leaders. Extremist groups like TIP or ETIM are not going to bring them freedom. Even if they do they will be back to square one because extremist groups hardly care about individual freedom.

Its Mr. Jinnah or Quaid-e-Azam pls.

If we don't honour him on a Pakistan forum then what's the point of anything?

[MENTION=137142]JaDed[/MENTION], The alternative is somewhere like Russia where journalists are murdered for not toeing the government line.

A free press is not perfect but I would much prefer that to totalitarianism. There will always be decent journalists who speak truth to power and I am glad I live in a country where this is possible without persecution.

[MENTION=137142]JaDed[/MENTION], The alternative is somewhere like Russia where journalists are murdered for not toeing the government line.

A free press is not perfect but I would much prefer that to totalitarianism. There will always be decent journalists who speak truth to power and I am glad I live in a country where this is possible without persecution.

That's what I'm saying maybe truth is overrated not sure how the Raj was saying the truth to the Biritsh people it was exploiting the world or the missionaries doing the same.
Idealism is not possible,most world economies are built on greed and biased vision, not everyone has population as lower as that of Scandinavian countries.

China's economic might really makes it get away with of lot of things. People don't even bother criticizing because it won't change a thing.

Anyone can criticize it but it doesn't give a damn,if any country can recover from Tinamen Square and come out as the country with such huge economic potential just proves that keep working with a direction without wasting time on criticism.

Yeah, true. And it is not just Chinese govt, when I mention Tibet to my Chinese friends, they don't give a damn too. Compare this to how rattled we get every time a Pakistani mentions Kashmir. :))

You yourself know the answer to this question. What made you compare a colonial and a settler's colonial nation with a nation that was technically a 3rd world nation 20 years ago ?

Yeah, true. And it is not just Chinese govt, when I mention Tibet to my Chinese friends, they don't give a damn too. Compare this to how rattled we get every time a Pakistani mentions Kashmir. :))

Because we are very sensitiveand emotional people. We also like attention, we want others to listen to us and accept our opinion. I talked to a new Chinese student about this and he said government operates enough to control Tiber but never hard enough to provoke the Tibetans from their day to day activities. According to his claim most Chinese don't care enough about Tibet. They don't consider India as their rival or Pakistan as their friends at all :)). They view India and Pakistan as 3rd world countries.

Cheen Apnaa yaar hai ,
Par wahan pe jo Nizaam,
Uskooo duur se Salam

I believe that's how it goes.

This was a poem by Habib Jalib in favor of China's communist system

Basically he was saying our leaders say China is our great friend but when it comes to their system they don't want to entertain a discussion on having it here and say salaam for faraway and move on

^^ Exact stanza:

Cheen apna yar hai (China is our friend)

Uss pe jan nisar hai (We’d give our lives for her)

par wahan jo hai nizaam (But the system that they have)

us taraf na jaayio (Steer well clear of that)

us ko door se salaam (From far away say “salaam”)

das crore ye gadhe (These hundred million fools)

jin ka naam hai awaam (That are named the masses)

Well you did just pass a law that calls for life imprisonment for consuming beef.

Didn't realize masses in China have a problem against Burqa's and Beards. Must be some significant religious belief in China that I am not aware of , you know of a similar nature of when it comes to beef for Hindus

Ridiculous ban. But then again they're not pretending to be a democracy.

That's what I'm saying maybe truth is overrated not sure how the Raj was saying the truth to the Biritsh people it was exploiting the world or the missionaries doing the same.

Consider the journalism of Webb Miller during the climax of Gandhi's Salt March and how that changed international attitudes to the Raj.

Though it is Sad and Hurting but

We the Muslims cannot blame anyone. Our Acts especially of last 17 years have caused this Universal Wave of Ban Burqa, Scarf, Naqaab, Daarhi etc etc.

Before that it was all okay and acceptable.

Sadly those Men and Women also suffer who did not ever had any role in mischiefs committed worldwide and there liberty gets suffered because of those who words or acts brings disrepute to our Glorious Religion.

Didn't realize masses in China have a problem against Burqa's and Beards. Must be some significant religious belief in China that I am not aware of , you know of a similar nature of when it comes to beef for Hindus

It's one province not throughout the country. Muslims in other parts of China are free to worship, dress as they like.Out of all religions, Muslims arguably have the most rights and freedoms in China. Xinjiang is an area of sepratists, the reason for harsh measures, which I dont agree with.

Ridiculous ban. But then again they're not pretending to be a democracy.

If you dont try you will never succeed. No one is perfect but that doesnt mean countries should not try the right thing.

In communism, you can take drastic radical steps to move forward that's just not gonna happen in democratic system within similar time frame. China's rise in literacy and economic growth is a testament to that. In democracy, leaders spend too much time thinking about strategies of reelection that otherwise can be used more productively.

However moral question arises should the leader be able to wield unequivocal power over one billion of his citizens? Is restriction on freedom of speech/ press morally correct? I can see the line of argument from Jaded but I am not sure if I can agree with the philosophy

Consider the journalism of Webb Miller during the climax of Gandhi's Salt March and how that changed international attitudes to the Raj.

Fair enough,but look at the time for once in a 50 year journalist is it all worth it also not to forget he was from USA and not Britain.

Chinese govt do this specifically for uyghurs to quell the separatist movements by dismantling their identity so banning islamic dress expression and the uyghur langauge in ramadan uyghurs arent allowed to fast and a forced to eat in public inistitutions or workplaces . But conditions for other Muslims like Hui Muslims arent as bad although religious expression is tightly controlled in China and any perceived threat to the state is crushed.

Anti theism is pretty prevalent in China especially against non Chinese faiths like Christianity and Islam.

I don't think I disagree too much with this ban. If its necessary to avoid terrorism and save hundreds, maybe thousands of lives, I'm sure some men can trim their beards and some women can stop covering their faces.

The veil or the Burqa's are not even a part of Islam, let alone not being obligatory. In fact, this was part of the Arabian culture that we Muslims seem to have adopted blindly and for no reason. Islam asks you to be modest, not look like a Ninja. Allah demanding for the face to be revealed during Umrah or Hajj should be enough proof to this.

As for the beard, you can be clean shaven and you would still be on the right path. A beard is not obligatory, rather Sunnah - meaning you be clean shaven but a beard would be good. However, let me remind you, like the thread says, that does not mean you keep "abnormally" long beards. Like they say, too much of anything is bad. The beard, according to most scholars needs to be maintained, trimmed and not longer than ones fist. So, I don't think this new law should be too much of a problem.

Now obviously, people who want to cover their faces or keep abnormally long beards for reasons not related to religion will also be affected but the fact is, such precautions need to be taken until the security situation around the world and people should just comply with the authorities to circumvent terrorism.

Burqa ban is fine as people like to know who is in front of them, but banning abnormal beards ? A person should be able to groom his facial hair in any way as possible.

If same thing happened in India after few days of hullabaloo this should have reveresed.Chinese are pretty good in implementing such rules.Good for them.

Would you approve of such rules in India seeing as you are praising the Chinese, new member?

No.

Simply because we have too many religions/castes/cultures etc so its difficult to implement and not going to make any difference anyway.

This is nothing there was also a report of Chinese forcing forced abortions of babies against uighurs and then these foetus with white skin were actually cooked like soup , or ground into powder for capsules

China is a totalitarian country, what else do you expect?

Pakistanis' big hearted solidarity in logic with the Muslim brotherhood duh! Always thought that was point of the thread.Big brother China too hard to criticize now eh.

Why aren't they Uyghur freedom fighters?? They are defn not close to Chinese ethnicity which is usually yhe logic applied to Kashmir.

What about right to self determination.Lol at posters calling them terrorist here.Its all abou bias humans and their brainwashed bias.

China is not biased towards any particular religion, so they can be excused.