Complete schedule of Pakistan's games in the 2019 World Cup

Sajjad-007

31 May – Windies v Pakistan (Nottingham)
3 June – England v Pakistan (Nottingham)
7 June – Pakistan v Sri Lanka (Bristol)
12 June – Australia v Pakistan (Taunton)
16 June – India v Pakistan (Old Trafford, Manchester)
23 June – Pakistan v South Africa (Lord’s)
26 June – New Zealand v Pakistan (Birmingham)
29 June – Pakistan v Afghanistan (Leeds)
5 July – Pakistan v Bangladesh (Lord’s)

Views?

May-31- VS Wi -Nottinghum
June-03- VS Eng-Nottinghum
June-07- VS-Sl- Bristol
June-12-VS-Aus- Taunton
June-16-VS-Ind-Manchester
June-23-VS-Sa-Lords
June-26-VS-Nz-Birmingham
June-29-VS-Afg-Leeds
July-05-VS-Ban-Lords

Views?

Wi - too weak
Sl - too weak
Aus - no smith and warner means PAK are favourites
Ind - Gonna break the streak but always feel this way
Sa - got the wood over them in ICC events
Nz- think we will lose but Nz aren't very good away from home
Afg- Too weak
Ban - too weak

May-31- VS Wi -Nottinghum
June-03- VS Eng-Nottinghum
June-07- VS-Sl- Bristol
June-12-VS-Aus- Taunton
June-16-VS-Ind-Manchester
June-23-VS-Sa-Lords
June-26-VS-Nz-Birmingham
June-29-VS-Afg-Leeds
July-05-VS-Ban-Lords

Views?

We will win the games against West Indies,Sri Lanka,South Africa,Afghanistan and Bangladesh.

Ties Vs England and New Zealand are 50/50.

Hopefully we break the streak against India,but India and Australia(even without Smith/Warner) will be too strong for us.

However a lot can change in a year.Lets see.

A good start is imperative. We need 6 wins out of the 9 games.
England will not be like the 444 game because we are a better side than we were and the game is in early June and it’s a swinging ground.

India at Old Trafford will be electric. We have the pace as do they. It will be an exciting game where 280 I think would be a match-winning total.

Australia at Taunton will be high-scoring as it is a small ground but I back our bowlers to take wickets.

We have no choice but to beat WI, SL, Bangladesh and Afghanistan if we want to go through as well as 2 other teams.

Rain could be an issue, but one thing that will help in games outside the ones v England and India, will be the majority fan support. That really helps the guys.

We will win the games against West Indies,Sri Lanka,South Africa,Afghanistan and Bangladesh.

Ties Vs England and New Zealand are 50/50.

Hopefully we break the streak against India,but India and Australia(even without Smith/Warner) will be too strong for us.

However a lot can change in a year.Lets see.

Hope you are right and we win those 4 plus at least 2 others. However every team is a challenge.

PAKISTAN TO FACE THE WINDIES IN THEIR WORLD CUP 2019 OPENER AT TRENT BRIDGE

Captain Sarfraz Ahmed: “The World Cup is one event in which the world is watching you and everyone is following you. The importance of players is realised during this crunch time”

Fast bowler Mohammad Amir: “It’s a dream for any cricketer to play in the World Cup. It will be the first for me and I will try to do my best.”

Coach Mickey Arthur: “Cricket in the UK is so special. Every time you go back to playing in England it’s almost like you are going home in terms of cricket.”

Following their success in the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 at The Oval, Pakistan will aim to add the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 trophy to their collection when they will square off against two-time former world champions the Windies in their opening match at Trent Bridge in Nottingham on 31 May.

In the days gone by, the 1992 world champions would have been nervous at the prospect of playing the Calypso Kings first-up, having lost three of their last four World Cup matches against the Windies in Melbourne, Jamaica and Wellington in the 1992, 2007 and 2015 events.

However, Pakistan will feel relatively more confident going into this match having qualified directly for the ICC’s pinnacle 50-over competition and being presently ranked sixth in the world. In contrast, the Windies progressed through the qualifying tournament in Zimbabwe where they lost the World Cup qualifier final to Afghanistan. The Windies are presently ranked 10th in the world.

Trent Bridge will also be Pakistan’s venue for their match against England (3 June), while they will take on Sri Lanka and defending champions Australia in Bristol and Taunton on 7 and 12 June respectively.

The showpiece match of any global cricket tournament – Pakistan versus India – will take place at the iconic Old Trafford on 16 June.

Pakistan will visit Lord’s for their sixth match in the 10-team single-league tournament when they will square off against South Africa on 23 June, before traveling to Birmingham and Leeds for their fixtures against New Zealand and Afghanistan on 26 and 29 June, respectively.

Pakistan’s final league match will be against Bangladesh at Lord’s, in the 46-day tournament in which 48 matches will be played.

Looking ahead to next year’s World Cup, Pakistan captain Sarfraz Ahmed said: “The World Cup is important for all teams. Our first match is against the West Indies, the first match is always important, so all our preparations are geared towards that match and the tournament. We are trying to iron out our deficiencies during this period.

“The World Cup is one event in which the world is watching you and everyone is following you. The importance of players is realised during this crunch time. It makes heroes and super stars of players. Pakistan always go into tournaments as underdogs but don’t think it will be the same this time because people remember that we have won the Champions Trophy.”

Fast bowler Mohammad Amir, who will be targeting his maiden World Cup appearance, said: “It’s a dream for any cricketer to play in the World Cup. It will be the first for me and I will try to do my best. It’s like a dream come true. Representing your country and playing a big ICC tournament, one has to be lucky for all this and I consider myself a lucky person. Players prepare two to four years for a big event but then get injured just before the tournament.

“We have a good rotation policy and that’s why I’m well prepared for the tournament. It’s such a big event, first of all I wish Pakistan win and then that I should be the best bowler in the tournament.”

Mickey Arthur, looking forward to his first World Cup as a coach, said: “We can’t wait for the World Cup. We’ve started our planning, I’m sure, like every international team has. Even though we have got so much cricket from now till the World Cup, before we blink, we are going to be at the World Cup. So everything we do at the moment is preparation leading up to the World Cup so that we can hit the tournament fully prepared and ready to go.

“Cricket in the UK is so special. Every time you go back to playing in England it’s almost like you are going home in terms of cricket. It’s certainly where cricket originated, the grounds are fantastic, the crowds are fantastic. We, certainly as the Pakistan cricket team, get unbelievable support in England, it’s a home away from home for us.”

Pakistan’s schedule of matches:

31 May – v Windies, Trent Bridge (d)

3 June – v England, Trent Bridge (d)

7 June – v Sri Lanka, Bristol (d)

12 June – v Australia, Taunton (d)

16 June – v India, Old Trafford (d)

23 June – v South Africa, Lord’s (d)

26 June – v New Zealand, Edgbaston (d)

29 June – v Afghanistan, Headingley (d)

5 July – v Bangladesh, Lord’s (d)

Pakistan at the ICC Cricket World Cups:

§ Pakistan have a success rate of 57.97 per cent, after having won 40 of their 71 matches. They have lost 29 matches, while two have been no-results

§ Pakistan won the tournament at the Melbourne Cricket Ground in 1992

§ Pakistan finished second to Australia at Lord’s in 1999

§ Pakistan featured in the semi-finals of the 1979, 1983, 1987 and 2011 events

§ Pakistan reached the quarter-finals in the 1996 and 2015 events

§ Pakistan failed to clear the first round in the 1975, 2003 and 2007 tournaments

We have absolutely ridiculously poor vs windies in ICC events recently
We lost
In 2013 CT
2014 world t20
2015 WC
Vs windies it's really unacceptable
We just can't afford to start the world cup with a defeat vs windies because next match will be against England which is gonna be really tough
India has 3 really tough fixtures before the game vs Pak (vs Aus Nz and Sa) hopefully they lose atleast 2 of them hence would be under pressure before that game
For the first time since I started watching cricket in 2004 I have the vibes that Pak will break the streak and it really should be broken absolutely ridiculous to lose 11 times to an okish side like India when teams like Bangla and Zimbabwe have defeated them

I'm not going to predict anything because in the world cup anything can happen. But [MENTION=143023]SarfiBabarHaris[/MENTION] what are your views on the WC? You think Pakistan might win it? I remember you were the first one to guess Pakistan winning the CT.

Yar one main reason I am positive in general about the current team is it has a captain like Sarfraz, he is just brilliant and Pakistan never had a captain like him atleast in my life. I predicted Pak will win CT mainly because of Sarfraz. Take out Sarfraz and I am sure we would never have won it. We had much much better teams in past and talent pool but achievement ZERO! The team that won CT wasnt even 75% to the best talent we have.

Coming to WC i think our team is shaping up nicely but we really need to get rid of Malik and Hafeez asap and give consistent chances to Haris and Talat. Sarfraz the captain makes the team stronger so we have an advantage over other teams.

Following team (including Sharjeel) certainly has it in them to win the next World Cup, I dont think there is a better team in odis than that:

Fakhar
Sharjeel
Babar
Haris
Sarfraz
Talat
Shadab
Faheem
Spinner/Pacer (depends on conditions)
Hasan
Amir

As we probably wont have Sharjeel available so one spot is up for grabs. I will move Babar and the 3 next batters after him a position above if we dont get Sharjeel back.

Pakistan's first match is against windies. Pakistan can defeat windies heavily and gain some serious momentum going forward.

Planning to attend Pak matches against England, Australia, India and NZ.

If we are through to the semis by the time we play the Afghans and Bangladeshis, will attend those too. It will be fun watching Afghanistan and Bangladesh put in their rightful places.

Whatever happens Pakistan fans will be at most games in huge numbers apart from the India match.

Well we're in a good position, start off with Windies, most likely win. The final 2 games vs Bangladesh and Afghanistan meaning if we're in a must win position late in the tournament we have ideal opposition.

To early to talk about WC. Depends who are the form side when the tournament comes close.

We lost
In 2013 CT
2014 world t20
2015 WC
We just can't afford to start the world cup with a defeat vs windies because next match will be against England which is gonna be really tough
India has 3 really tough fixtures before the game vs Pak (vs Aus Nz and Sa) hopefully they lose atleast 2 of them hence would be under pressure before that game
For the first time since I started watching cricket in 2004 I have the vibes that Pak will break the streak and it really should be broken absolutely ridiculous to lose 11 times to an okish side like India when teams like Bangla and Zimbabwe have defeated them

Going by the trends, Pakistan needs to loose a match in the tournament ASAP so that it doest get complacent and throw away an important match.

Loosing against WI will do just fine, it will fire up Mickey and then there won't be any "sharamful" performance later on in the tournament.

We lost
In 2013 CT
2014 world t20
2015 WC

Going by the trends, Pakistan needs to loose a match in the tournament ASAP so that it doest get complacent and throw away an important match.

Loosing against WI will do just fine, it will fire up Mickey and then there won't be any "sharamful" performance later on in the tournament.

Fired up Mickey and a yelling Sarfraz will be key for Pakistan in the tournament.

I think there could be 3 asian teams in the semis along with the kiwis.. just hope the Aussies don’t make the KO stages they along with India will be our main hurdles ps the script is there again lose to India in on June 12 ‘ then repeat the CT17 phainti ��

I think Pakistan will win the 2019 WC.

There is an analogy to that. India won the WC first time in 1983. This was followed by Australia winning the WC in 1987. And then Pakistan eventually lifted the trophy in 1992.

20 years later, India again won their 2nd WC in 2011. This was again followed by Australia winning the WC in 2015. And now we are down to 2019 where I feel Pakistan has the best chance. However, their only hurdle is India. We always had the mental edge on them. I dont see Pakistan repeating the CT victory in WC.

However, teams like England and South Africa will be smashed by Pakistan if they face them in Knockouts.

There is an analogy to that. India won the WC first time in 1983. This was followed by Australia winning the WC in 1987. And then Pakistan eventually lifted the trophy in 1992.

20 years later, India again won their 2nd WC in 2011. This was again followed by Australia winning the WC in 2015. And now we are down to 2019 where I feel Pakistan has the best chance. However, their only hurdle is India. We always had the mental edge on them. I dont see Pakistan repeating the CT victory in WC.

However, teams like England and South Africa will be smashed by Pakistan if they face them in Knockouts.

Australia is our hurdle in knockouts :( Dont want us to face Smith or Warner in semis/finals.

Bhai bas aik number 6 batsman chahiye. Phir koi bhi nahi rok sakta.

Han yar, ya Sharjeel ajaye to ooper khila dain usay aur baqi sab aik no neechay move ho jayen..

Waisay I am not a fan of Asif Ali but heard he is scoring difficult runs.

Schedule is very good for PAK actually.

More or less, PAK often is the worst starter in any tournament; because players need time to forget the mantra they learn in QeA style. Normally, PAK team starts horribly, and gradually team starts to cope with the condition - enthusiastic people call it "cornered tiger" approach; I call it weakness in preparation.

PAK failed in 2007 & 2003 WC because that format asked for an early start, while 1992 WC started with a 10 wicket loss to WI, followed by 74 all-out/ Interestingly, to my memory, the best prepared PAK team was 2013 CT Squad - they went for a 4 weeks camp at Kakul to replicate early English condition, arranged by PCB and it's experts .... obviously, it went a bit south, because you need Ox to pull the cart, not GOAT.

Anyway, I think this schedule is fantastic for PAK compared to the previous one shown to us, which had SR, WI, BD & AFG in first 5 games. The reason is simple - the way PAK starts, chances were high that at least 2 of those 4 games would have been lost, add to that AUS game at start, it could have ended that PAK needing to win 4 out of last 4 against ENG, IND, NZ & SAF - at least 3 ...

This is good, very good schedule - if Mickey has full control over the squad and their preparation. Also, a blessing that PAK team will be out of PAK couple of months prior for the ENG (& now probably AUS as well) ODI. On top of that, I would suggest a complete ban on probable 25 for any Domestic game in 2019 apart from PSL - tournaments where Anwar Ali hits 17 ball 58 to chase at 13+ with an over to spare, needs to be avoided at all cost - it's injurious for health.

Before IND game, PAK has WI, Poms, SRL & AUS - even 2 losses don't cost that much because both ENG & AUS are expected to reach SF. By the time IND game comes, it's into 3rd week of WC and I do expect players to acclimatize enough. Last 2 games are like breeze - well tuned by then and against 2 teams most likely out of SF already. Even a surprise loss at the hand of WI or SRL can be covered with an unlikely win over IND - then it's SAF, NZ, AFG & BD .......

I see again "Cornered Tiger" route, but honestly, not because tiger was cornered, rather because tiger needed a bit time to shine the claws.

Pakistan's major hurdle in any conditions besides the subcontinent is Australia. You can confidently say Australia has the mental edge on Pakistan, and will probably continue to do so.

Pakistan will beat India in the upcoming World Cup. That mental block will have been relieved after the absolute hammering they handed out to India in the CT. Even though a lot can change till the WC, but this is the first time Pakistan can be regarded as worthy 'dark horses' of the tournament.

The Fakhar-Babar combination will be the most prolific opening pair of the tournament. You can bookmark this post :)

Pakistan's major hurdle in any conditions besides the subcontinent is Australia. You can confidently say Australia has the mental edge on Pakistan, and will probably continue to do so.

Pakistan will beat India in the upcoming World Cup. That mental block will have been relieved after the absolute hammering they handed out to India in the CT. Even though a lot can change till the WC, but this is the first time Pakistan can be regarded as worthy 'dark horses' of the tournament.

Australia had mental edge over every single team historically. There is a reason they have won World Cup 5 times out of 10 occassions. However, with no Warner and Smith coming back into side after a while, things might not be as easy for them as it has been over the years.

Ofcourse, it would be foolish to undermine them but after the ball-tampering fiasco, I dont have them as favourites.

Possibly the England match will be on Eid. What a day that would be if that is the case

PCB schedule recently has been pretty poor but the fact Pakistan will have played in England so much in recent years could really payoff in this World Cup. They even have a LOI tour scheduled in England right before the WC so in terms on the conditions, most of the players should be well acclimated to the conditions by the time this gets going.

I think the batting will still be iffy and relying heavily on Babar/Fakhar/Haris but if Pakistan are to win or go far, it will be because of their bowling just as they did in the Championship Trophy. Hopefully the main bowlers are well rested by then.