Congratulations to Pakistan on becoming the #1 ranked ODI side

This is the second time I have read this myth on this forum over the last couple of days.

What has Sri Lanka done in ICC tournaments after the retirement of Sangakkara, Mahela, Dilshan, Malinga etc.?

They won the Asia Cup last year, but their performances in ICC tournaments since 2014-15 have been nothing to write home about so the statement that they are lethal in tournaments is completely baseless and influenced by the perception of the Sri Lankan team during the 2007-2014 period.
Exactly, I also don't get this sudden fear of the lankans. They have been complete trash since 2015 wc & I see that not changing at all this time around. Just because they fluked around last asia cup due to pathetic shameless surrender of Pak they aren't going to suddenly start causing all sorts of troubles for the top dogs. SENAI will more or less destroy them & while they may defeat Pak tomorrow, they aren't going to do that at the wc. Apart from BD,Afg & Ned they have almost nothing to win.

This is the second time I have read this myth on this forum over the last couple of days.

What has Sri Lanka done in ICC tournaments after the retirement of Sangakkara, Mahela, Dilshan, Malinga etc.?

They won the Asia Cup last year, but their performances in ICC tournaments since 2014-15 have been nothing to write home about so the statement that they are lethal in tournaments is completely baseless and influenced by the perception of the Sri Lankan team during the 2007-2014 period.

What I mean by them being lethal in tournaments is that they play crap in bilateral’s, but when it comes to a major tournament they start beating teams like India and Pakistan. They had to play the qualifiers just to get into the WC but when you watch them play in tournaments they look a threat.

Pakistan is back in the #1 spot again after Australia lost to South Africa earlier today. Do we still deserve it?

1694554553565.png

1694772732800.png

We have dropped to #3 after yesterday's loss to Lanka. On the + side, maybe not being #1 will help take some of the pressure away going into the WC and will make our team more grounded

These rankings are generally not accurate.

Real #1 in ODI is England.

England generally do not play their full sides during bilateral matches. They experiment or rest players. So, their ranking takes a hit.

But, in major tournaments, they do well (2022 World T20 and 2019 ODI WC).

Who decides on these rankings? Atif Aslam/kumar Sanu

What odi series has ind Pak won in England aus nz sa to be in the top 3

Who decides on these rankings? Atif Aslam/kumar Sanu

What odi series has ind Pak won in England aus nz sa to be in the top 3

ICC ranking shows Namibia's JJ Smit is a better T20 all-rounder than Afghanistan's Rashid Khan. Hilarious.

ICC should come up with more practical rankings.

View attachment 136451

We have dropped to #3 after yesterday's loss to Lanka. On the + side, maybe not being #1 will help take some of the pressure away going into the WC and will make our team more grounded

They’ve got little chance of beating the top teams in high scoring matches with Imam Abdullah Babar Saud in the top order simply not enough power hitting there and simply not good enough batting line in 300 plus chases.

Only against B teams and minnows can these batsmen win high scoring matches false rankings won’t change that the only hope Pakistan have is to bring in a few experienced power hitting batsmen.

These rankings are generally not accurate.

Real #1 in ODI is England.

England generally do not play their full sides during bilateral matches. They experiment or rest players. So, their ranking takes a hit.

But, in major tournaments, they do well (2022 World T20 and 2019 ODI WC).
Based on last 3 years Aus is the one who is truely worthy of the best tag. They are the only side who have series wins in both home & away against Eng & Ind. Mind you, those were not second string teams that have usually featured against Pak & other minnows. Eng are clearly past their invincible beastly prime of 15-19. They have dropped multiple series against Ind,Aus & SA. Butler still hasn't been able to completely stamp his vision & authority after Morgan's departure. Constant injuries to Wood,Archer, Bairstaw; Roy & Root's horrible form, the entire drama surrounding Stokes retirement, all of this have hurt Eng. They can still absolutely bash all others, but against Aus & Ind they simply don't hold the edge that they used to have in their prime.If they can avoid these two in the semis, then no worries,they will play the final. But they clearly are not the invincible juggernauts of the Morgan era, that's for certain.

England don't take bilateral very seriously. They rest and experiment their players.

I think they can win the 2023 World Cup also. Stokes, Bairstow, Butler, Livingstone, Malan, Moeen, and Root - that's a great batting lineup.

So this has to be the worst performance for Pak in Asia cup ever right? I mean I remember for a certain since 95, this is the worst one as they never ended up on the bottom of the table. Historically for some strange reasons they have always struggled in this tournament, but they almost always had minimum one victory against the big guns Ind/Sri even when they didn't qualify in the final. This time around with so much hype around,what have they done? Bashed a baby Nepal & sleep walked through a moderate victory against a disoriented BD team when they should have absolutely thrashed them by trying to finish the match within 25-30 overs. The entire number one team, Babar GOAT, Shaheen GOAT hype train has literally blown up on their face. Both BD & Sri have shown that this Ind team is simply not that invincible that they made them out.
It had to happen though, 3 years of constant minnow thrashing & easy outings against third string SENA teams had really created this false perception & aura where they also started believing that they really were the best team in the world. Actually if one looks beneath surface, he will notice they didn't even bash the minnows properly. They somehow got away against Afg & Ned. Not to forget they dropped a home series against NZ & were beaten to pulp by that Eng novice team in 21. I don't agree with some overreacting fans claiming this is the worst Odi outfit of Pak, they are clearly better than 13-15 or 07-10 era. But this is without a shadow of a doubt the most overrated Pak team with overrated good players who have been forcefully established into goat /atg statute.

England don't take bilateral very seriously. They rest and experiment their players.

I think they can win the 2023 World Cup also. Stokes, Bairstow, Butler, Livingstone, Malan, Moeen, and Root - that's a great batting lineup.
They didn't rest against Aus & Ind on those four series I mentioned. Key players who were missing out were mostly injured. They definitely took those series seriously & lost.
I don't think they can, not if Aus or Ind stands opposite in the final. Some of the names you mentioned are past their prime & miserably out of form.

After South Africa beat Australia, and Bangladesh beat India, guess who has climbed up a spot to #2!
If South Africa beat Australia on Sunday, Pakistan would climb back to #1 again
It's as if the cricketing gods are playing a joke on us :ROFLMAO:

1694806589256.png

New Zealand are better than Pakistan

South Africa have a more balanced side than Pakistan

Sri Lanka is on Par with Pakistan
Disagree. Pakistan is a better side that NZ, SA & SL.

I would say that overall Pakistan is the fourth best side in the world after England, Australia & India.

The Asia Cup's Super Four defeat against Bangladesh cost India a golden chance to rule the rankings charts across formats.

vkRI73B.png

Before the Asia Cup clash against Bangladesh on Friday, 15 September, India held the No.2 position on the MRF Tyres ICC Men's ODI Team Rankings with 116 rating points, just slightly trailing top-ranked Australia, who led with 118 points.

India, currently dominating the Test and T20I rankings, had a golden opportunity to claim the top spot in ODIs if two conditions had been met: defeating Bangladesh in the Super Four clash of the Asia Cup and having South Africa emerge victorious against the top-ranked Australia in the penultimate ODI of their five-match series.

However, only one of the two scenarios went India's way with the Proteas claiming a massive 164-run victory over Australia while India suffered a narrow defeat against Bangladesh, falling short by just six runs.

The loss to Bangladesh not only resulted in India missing out on a chance of holding pole position across formats, they slipped to No.3 in the rankings table with 114 rating behind Pakistan and Australia.

Both, Australia and Pakistan are currently separated by a narrow rating margin with Australia having a rating of 115.259 and Pakistan on No.2 with a rating of 114.889.

Even if Australia lose their final ODI to South Africa and India become the Asia Cup champions on Sunday (September 17), India would still not claim the No.1 ranking. However, in such a scenario where Australia lose, it would open the door for Pakistan to ascend to the top spot.

The tussle for the top spot will continue as India host Australia in a three-match ODI series starting 22 September. The series will not only help the two teams build momentum going into the World Cup but also decide who will be the #1 ODI side going into the World Cup.

It has been a scramble at the top of the ODI Team Rankings lately with India, Pakistan and Australia all in contention for the top spot during the Asia Cup and Australia's ODI series against South Africa.

Pakistan, who went on top of the rankings after their 3-0 whitewash over Afghanistan in late August, lost their No.1 spot after crushing defeats to India and Sri Lanka in the Asia Cup.

ICC

1. England
2. India
3. Australia
4. New Zealand
5. South Africa
6. Pakistan
7. Sri Lanka
8. Bangladesh

Disagree. Pakistan is a better side that NZ, SA & SL.

I would say that overall Pakistan is the fourth best side in the world after England, Australia & India.
1st string NZ is smoking us.

We are better then Sri Lanka though if our trio is present.

As for South Africa depends. Rn their smoking aus but in tournaments their the world's no 1 chockers

Do you really believe that? Dil ki baat suno, all that glitters isn't gold.
ICC rankings are so flawed. For example, you can compare Haris Rauf and Muhammad Siraj's stats and look at their ranking in the world. I don't believer that these rankings are any fair, to be honest. And I don't think we are number 1 when compared to quality sides like AUS, ENG or even NZ.

They are not flawed. You guys only concentrate on Pakistan but not on other teams performance. Other teams are doing equally bad.. but there is that prejudice we have against our own team.

Last night India lost to Bangladesh, so they lost points. Aussies lost a game and they lost rating points

Thing is, no one is dominating the game.

The ranking system is very balance and accurate, we tend to focus on one team.

Being no.1 is something to be proud about and to be celebrated.

Because those are overall stats. Ranking does not work on overall stats. Ranking works on stats of recent performances.

Australia
India
England
Newzealand
Pakistan
South Africa
Srilanka
Bangladesh
Afghanistan
I think this more or less reflects the true status of all the teams going into world cup. The ranking system is clearly flawed, specially the white ball versions, the test rankings are somewhat realistic. Icc needs to sort this out, otherwise the way Pak & BD have been exposed, people will soon start losing their trust. It has already started.

Its funny how random posters just post a list of teams and call it an accurate ranking. Interestingly having no idea of the performances of all other team

While ICC is using statistics, Whitaker points to performance to determine points and rating points to determine the rank of ALL teams.

ICC ke ranking flawed, but Hamaree wali jis Kay pechay koi sense nahi, woh sahi hai

Pakistani fans ko izzat hazam nahin hoti, despite all the flaws in the team like poor captain and lack of wicket taking spinners and attacking opening batsman Pakistan has produced results. If Pakistan is so behind the other top nations then if those nations leave out 3 or 4 of their top players behind when playing Pakistan then it should make for even contest, and if Pakistan wins the evenly matched contest then it should be celebrated and all excuses should be buried.

Australia
India
England
Newzealand
Pakistan
South Africa
Srilanka
Bangladesh
Afghanistan
I think this more or less reflects the true status of all the teams going into world cup. The ranking system is clearly flawed, specially the white ball versions, the test rankings are somewhat realistic. Icc needs to sort this out, otherwise the way Pak & BD have been exposed, people will soon start losing their trust. It has already start
Pakistan is the 4th best team, and beats NZ in tournaments and won the recent bilateral too..

They are not flawed. You guys only concentrate on Pakistan but not on other teams performance. Other teams are doing equally bad.. but there is that prejudice we have against our own team.

Last night India lost to Bangladesh, so they lost points. Aussies lost a game and they lost rating points

Thing is, no one is dominating the game.

The ranking system is very balance and accurate, we tend to focus on one team.

Being no.1 is something to be proud about and to be celebrated.
Bhai rankings will always be flawed. Even if ICC was credible which it isn't, a ranking will be flawed because it is impossible to make an objective list that appeals to everyone so people will disagree.

Atleast start being honest with yourself. Pakistan is not the no 1 team. I wish they were but they aren't. A no 1 team can lose but a no 1 team can't suffer such a humiliating defeat followed by finishing last on a points table. That's virtually impossible if we were actually no 1.

Pakistan is the 4th best team, and beats NZ in tournaments and won the recent bilateral too..
Pak normally beats Nz in odi world cups true, but not on all tournaments.Their record in champions trophy is shambolic & t2o wc are better but they lost important matches there also. Also why did you even mention SA,since I kept them below Pak. Now I see you have edited that part, probably got too excited to defend your team!
The recent bilateral series? I won't take that seriously since it came against a third string team. Also in last 12 years Nz have won all white ball series, every single one of them irrespective of venues, it was pure domination. Nz are obviously better in the field & batting, with Boult's arrival their bowling is also significantly better. Boult, Southee,Ferguson, Henry, Santner, Sodhi >Shaheen, Naseee, Rauf, Shadab, Wasim, Nawaz.

Rankings are accurate.

When you play Shaheen , Naseem and Rauf against Namibia and Uganda and Nepal, obviously you will win.

The thing is, other teams use bilaterals to experiment players.

We use them to score points.

Which is why Pakistan will keep winning by playing its best XI even against Iceland.

They beat NZ when NZ were resting players but when NZ played their main team they won 2-1 in Pakistan earlier this year so Pakistan are not better when both teams play their best teams.

These rankings are as real and as indicative of the real world as Santa Claus and unicorns..

Australia and England are the only two top dogs in white ball Cricket. Same for India and Australia in Tests...the rest are just 'ooga booga doo'ing in a meaningless circus that is bilateral international cricket.

They beat NZ when NZ were resting players but when NZ played their main team they won 2-1 in Pakistan earlier this year so Pakistan are not better when both teams play their best teams.
and how is that ICC's rating fault? ICC ratings will see recent perforamnce

Yeah. It is the team's choice to play whoever they want. rating doesn't change when there is a B-team playing or main team.. Rating depends on win loss and recent performances so playing B-team is no excuse in my opinion for any team if they are not number 1 in the rankings.

Pakistan also had Shaheen missing, and Imam only played one game. Naseem also missed one or two games. At the end of day as per ranking and as per the usual history of tournament encounters between NZ and Pakistan, Pakistan is slightly better than NZ. .

Australia
India
England
Newzealand
Pakistan
South Africa
Srilanka
Bangladesh
Afghanistan
I think this more or less reflects the true status of all the teams going into world cup. The ranking system is clearly flawed, specially the white ball versions, the test rankings are somewhat realistic. Icc needs to sort this out, otherwise the way Pak & BD have been exposed, people will soon start losing their trust. It has already started.

Yes. I think this is an accurate reflection of how ODI sphere is like right now.

I would say full-strength England are better than India. Other than that, I agree with this list.

When ICC ranking puts Namibia's JJ Smit as a better all-rounder than Afghanistan's Rashid Khan, you know the ranking system needs to be reviewed.

Pakistan also had Shaheen missing, and Imam only played one game. Naseem also missed one or two games. At the end of day as per ranking and as per the usual history of tournament encounters between NZ and Pakistan, Pakistan is slightly better than NZ. .

Shaheen yes could have made some difference but Imam? He played 2 matches and failed in both no excuses there.

:inzi2

Wow Indian fans may now have to think about who should win this game:

Pakistan could become the number ODI team again even if India manage to beat Sri Lanka in the final of Asia Cup 2023. India had a golden opportunity to go for the top spot but their loss to Bangladesh in their last match of Super 4 stage in the tournament spoiled their chance. On the other hand, the Babar Azam and company had entered the continental event being the top-ranked ODI team. However, their defeats to India and Sri Lanka saw them lose the dominance.

Currently, both Pakistan and Australia have rating of 115 each. If South Africa beat Australia in the fifth and final ODI on Sunday, Pakistan will rise to the top spot irrespective of the result of the India vs Sri Lanka, Asia Cup 2023 final.

Now you admit that the ICC rankings are flawed?
It's like saying u got knocked in FA cup quarter final, so you cannot top the League.
Yes Pakistan is no where near the best side in the world, not even top 3 but the matches they played excluding Asia cup they did well, no matter the opposition had B, C teams, that was their choice, but Pakistan also had injuries in some of the games, Fakhar, Naseem, Shaheen, Shadab to name few.

But ODI ranking is not some league table. Is it just there for convenience.

Most teams don't give a toss about limited overs rankings thesedays. Hence they rest and rotate and preserve their players for Tests and ICC tournaments.

ICC Team rankings will keep shifting after every series and if u observe no Team Occupies the No 1 Ranking for long and the ranking keeps changing . This is a proof that no one can take their NO 1 Spot for Granted and must keep winning every game , every series to maintain their NO 1 Status and in current context it is not possible for any team to be NO1 for a very long time

But ODI ranking is not some league table. Is it just there for convenience.

Most teams don't give a toss about limited overs rankings thesedays. Hence they rest and rotate and preserve their players for Tests and ICC tournaments.
It's an outdated relic of the pre IPL era.

Rankings mean nothing now.

We are learning a painful lesson of how being lumber 1 can mean nothing more than brutal humilation.

Australia
India
England
Newzealand
Pakistan
South Africa
Srilanka
Bangladesh
Afghanistan
I guess this is why ICC tournaments feel more anticipated than ever now.

Nobody really knows where their team stands anymore. Rankings and JAMODI series mean less than ever. The acid test happens during the tournament itself.

Number 1 ranked team, but certainly not the best ODI team at this moment in time.

Problems galore.

This is not something we earned with splendid performance in Asia Cup. It happened because of ifs and buts.

People need to understand that no ranking is perfect. All algorithms by design has biases, but that’s the best we have.

The algorithm is not designed to report the “perfect team”. But rather, the least imperfect teams typically rise above.

All teams have weaknesses. SA scored 400 against Aus 2 days ago, and Zampa went for more than 100 in his spell.
NZ was all out for 160 chasing 350 against Eng.
India may be looking ominous but they have gaps too, they lost to Bangladesh. Yes they were missing a few key players but so were SL and Pak, and we are not cutting them any slack.

It remains to be seen how India’s stalwarts do in pressure situations, specially the bowling when it’s under the pump on flat pitches.

For what it's worth, there is quite a strong correlation between the team that is ranked #1, and who wins the WC.
The WC is ours :)

1695071127099.png

For what it's worth, there is quite a strong correlation between the team that is ranked #1, and who wins the WC.
The WC is ours :)

View attachment 136545
1987 - England were 1st and Windies were 2nd in 87. PAK 3rd and Australia 4th.

1992 - PAK were 2nd after Australia

1996 - SL were 5th I think. India was 3rd and PAK 4th

1999 - PAK were joint 4th with SL and England. SA - 1st, OZ - 2nd, WI - 3rd

2003 - OZ and SA were 1 and 2

2007 - OZ and SA were 1 and 2

2011 - OZ and India were 1 and 2

2015 - OZ and India were 1 and 2

2019 - ENG and India were 1 and 2

As you can see, since 1992 the teams that win the World Cup are ranked in the Top 2 usually(1996 being the exception)

Pakistan as favourites in 1996 and 1999 was never actually true.

Based on this at least, Pakistan actually have a chance this time. :inti

Well that lasted long.

Mind you people like me and some select posters with a bit of knowledge and wisdom knew this would happen once other teams start playing more matches and playing their better XIs

Hahahaha india is no. 1 in all formats
and whats so funny about that? Offcourse rankings change after games are played

Unless you are laughing at the fact that India became no.1 than sure we all can laugh on that.

and whats so funny about that? Offcourse rankings change after games are played

Unless you are laughing at the fact that India became no.1 than sure we all can laugh on that.
I'm laughing at the fact that how can India become no. 1 becouse we have trundler pacers wo bowl below 130kmh according to you.

Auqat h tabhi to 2 icc world cup ,1 WT20 2 Champion trophy h .or DONo WTC Final Ki runners trophy .ab bata kiski aukaat h ICC trophy m ???
omg this guy is celebrating a runners up trophy lmaooo.

10 years and how many icc trophies? I see you ignore the simple question.

Chalo enjoy your runner up trophy

If you don’t like their view,

Wait for the right time to hit back. Right now, it’s not the right time

omg this guy is celebrating a runners up trophy lmaooo.

10 years and how many icc trophies? I see you ignore the simple question.

Chalo enjoy your runner up trophy
You said ICC trophy ki aukat ni h to batana kis ke pass jyda ICC trophy h ? India ir Pakistan??

again ignoring a simple question.

last 10 years how many ICC trophies won?

nvm, you dont have an answer for that. Celebrate your runner up trophies. Coming 2nd in a two man race lol.

Chill out boss

Enjoy the No.1 ranking, but don’t get overconfident

Learn from us, we learned the hard way.
Bro I'm not Confident. I Praise everyone who Play Better cricket but this guy's always talked nonsence.you have seen what he said about indian Pacer in a thread when i reply him then he is not seen on that thread .thats why i reply him here .

Ignore him man. This guy gets tossed around in the timepass forum for supporting the previous imported government hence he does all this to gain support of fellow Pakistanis.

yes, like how Imran is being tossed around in attock