Congratulations to South Africa for winning their first title since 1998

mominsaigol

Senior Test Player
I know it's early, but the writing is almost on the wall now.

Zindabad SA. Although I am disappointed that Australia has lost. Who would have thought that Australia would lose a final, and that too against a team that is literally known for botching any ICC knockout events?

Salute to you, sir. And congrats.

Jinx Thread. 100+ runs still left and australia is likely to win the test :kp

Zindabad SA. Although I am disappointed that Australia has lost. Who would have thought that Australia would lose a final, and that too against a team that is literally known for botching any ICC knockout events?

Nah, You should congratulate them after they have won. Wait for that moment and then shower your praise.

Jinx Thread. 100+ runs still left and australia is likely to win the test :kp
I dont jinx anything, I am the best prediction master on this forumn.

^^ This was a joke. Am not serious . I suck at predictions.

Still too early. But the history would be erected soon as the real chokers will come forth...who hid behind them all these years

Should I bumped other prediction thread .wait for some time :kp
Look at the sentence below Uncle Jee. 🤦🏻🤦🏻.

Why is it that you guys cant detect sarcasm. Infact you cant detect sarcasm even when I type it infront of you?

Yar tu kya cheez hai

Look at the sentence below Uncle Jee. 🤦🏻🤦🏻.

Why is it that you guys cant detect sarcasm. Infact you cant detect sarcasm even when I type it infront of you?

Yar tu kya cheez hai
@Devadwal And ofcourse you run away in embarrassment.

Relax brother. Kuch nahi kheta mein aap ko. Enjoy with other posters.

I have a new prey now, and its this guy @Hyder

There is still time to lose the test but if they win I'll be very happy for the Saffers and in particular for Temba bhai

Fair play to the Saffers. Congrats.

As for us, atleast now the selectors will be forced to not carry the washed up hacks in the side going forward. Need to break up the boys club asap.

Congratulations to the Saffers, another underdog win in this sporting calendar year. Aussies have major problems in their batting department. Josh Inglis should be a shoe in their test team now.

Can see England winning the ashes later this year as the Aussies are an aging team.

great to see a strong saffer team in test cricket, bowlers win you tests and they always have good bowlers. only if they went back to playing 9 to 12 tests a year again.

I was getting worried due to OP writing congratulations before the game was won. Finally game is done and SA won.

Hoping to see the team win limited overs trophy next.

I was getting worried due to OP writing congratulations before the game was won. Finally game is done and SA won.

South africa limited overs team look quite poor after klassen what do you think on this bro?

Enjoy the win bro. First person I thought of when coming to this thread. Finally a massive massive win after many heartbreaks in tournaments and the legendary SA test era till around 2014-15

Who is the next test member to have not won any icc tournament??

Bangladwsh and zimambwe?

South Africa's 2 ICC trophy wins:

1998 CT final:

2025 CT final Day 4:

SA definitely earned the win. Congrats! An extreme pressure chase against the world's best attack. Was a great test to watch. Markram was awesome and bavuma supported well. Finally finally for SA. The next WTC cycle should be pretty interesting

Probably the weakest SA team in a long time but they've made it to a T20 WC final, won the ICC test championship and entered the semis in last CT and ODI WC.

That's a decent output!

South africa limited overs team look quite poor after klassen what do you think on this bro?
Very good teams have failed to win. Some time not so great team can win as well. Yes, , team is not that stong, but some time all you need is to keep a calm head for 2-3 games to win a trophy.

Enjoy the win bro. First person I thought of when coming to this thread. Finally a massive massive win after many heartbreaks in tournaments and the legendary SA test era till around 2014-15
Yah, it's been ages.

Congrats to saffers for finally breaking the curse of getting beaten in knockout stages. Finally an ICC trophy after literally 27 years.

“Un-freaking-believable”: South Africa sum up WTC25 win

South Africa’s drought-breaking win was raw and emotional, highlighted by veteran spinner Keshav Maharaj’s tearful words.

Watch the full match highlights as Aiden Markram and Kagiso Rabada led the way as South Africa bested the defending champions Australia to clinch the World Test Championship mace at Lord's.

It doesn’t get much better than this.

Having fallen at the final hurdle on numerous occasions since their ICC Knockout Trophy win in 1998, this wasn’t just a win for the playing group, but for a whole nation.

That was certainly the theme, as players shared their immediate thoughts having just beaten Australia at Lord’s to claim a maiden World Test Championship and their first piece of ICC silverware in 27 years.

What the Proteas players said in the immediate aftermath of their famous World Test Championship Final victory:

Temba Bavuma, mace-winning captain:

“It’s been a special couple of days. At some point, it felt like we were back in South Africa, with all the support in the stands.

"We’ve prepared hard for this, we’ve worked hard for this moment. We came here with a lot of belief, also a lot of doubters, and we were able to play well enough to get that type of result.

"(It's) a special moment for us and as a team, a special moment for the people back home. Probably, it’ll really sink in in a couple of days. Year, it’s been special.

"We’ve been knocking at that door, being relentless, getting ourselves into positions where we can be in finals. We’ve gone through the heartache, we’ve gone through the disappointment, seeing it with past players who have come before us. The sun is on us at the moment, that responsibility, we’ve been carrying it, and hopefully this is one of many.”

Aiden Markram, Player of the Match:

“It’s weird how things work out. You get a duck in the first innings and you come into the second innings with quite a few concerns. Ultimately, you need a bit of luck here and there, spent some time in the middle and found some runs and just really grateful it worked out nicely.

“Lord’s is the place every Test cricketer wants to play. The play in a Final here is incredibly special and then, with all the members here, but also plenty of South African fans have made the trip and plenty at home as well that have supported us through, it was one of the most special days.”

Kyle Verreynne, after hitting the winning runs:

"I’m just relieved. I was sitting there, watching the morning session, thinking, ‘please, I don’t want to go bat, I don’t want to go bat.’ Obviously, Aidan did beautifully, but when I walked out to the middle, it’s probably the most nervous I’ve been.

"Had my partner with me, managed to get over the line. Incredible. It means a lot. I mean, you can listen to the whole ground singing, we were on our way back to the hotel last night and you see the guys in the streets singing songs. It’s incredible.

"I’ll probably get a bit emotional now, because we’ve had a bit of a tough time as South African cricketers. It’s incredible."

David Bedingham, who was at the crease with Verreynne as South Africa completed their World Test Championship win:

"I think the way that Aiden (Markram) and Temba (Bavuma) went about it, it made us calm. I didn’t feel calm going into the innings, but just thank goodness we got over the line.

"Obviously we got lucky with the conditions, but we’ll take it. I’m so thankful we got over the line and I’m so thankful for everyone watching here and back home, obviously."

Marco Jansen, who was next into bat:

"In the change room, there were a lot of nerves. A lot of guys quiet, myself included, but to have the fans here, to hear them cheer us on, every single ball, every single run, you can’t ask for anything more. Families are here as well, we’re just so happy we could do it.

"(Markram was) un-freaking-believable. What a player, what a guy to have on your team. He’s a fighter. Temba, both of them, fighted tooth and nail.

"I think that’s what dreams are made of. Dreams are meant to be achieved."

Kagiso Rabada, one of the Proteas pivotal performers (9 wickets for the match):

"I can’t describe into words how I feel at the moment, just extremely happy. Throughout that entire season, I think, we planned really well, we worked really hard, and I think we deserved to get into this position.

"There were people saying that we weren’t good enough opposition, but I think that’s rubbish. We came here, we played the best team and I think Australia have been magnificent all season and we had to be on our A-game to beat them.

"Thank you for your support… these last four days felt like a home game, so thank you, guys, for turning out."

Keshav Maharaj, who provided a very moving account of what the win means for South Africa:

"It’s special. I think, tears probably describe what we feel right now. It’s just such a privilege and honour to lift the coveted title and be a part of it. For everyone out here, and everyone back home, it’s super special for us and the boys.

"It’s just what our country’s about, to see the unity over the last five days and throughout the season, it’s super special and we’re very grateful, as a team, as a nation and as our proud country.

"Without the crowd here today, we probably wouldn’t be in this position over the last four days, so we’re very grateful and thankful to everyone that’s here and from abroad that’s supporting us. Thank you.

"Through adversity, we’ve stood strong as a team and here we are today, to raise a trophy that’s alluded us for a number of years, but we honour those before us, to those that are here and to those that have come, we love you, we appreciate you and continue to keep supporting us, we’re doing good things as a team, and as a country, and may this just be the stepping stone of greater things to come."

Opener Ryan Rickleton:

“Walking out on the fourth innings chasing 280, in a Final, was always going to be pressurised. I was a bit nervous, but at the same time, we knew the wicket was starting to look a bit better and we could try and advance and play some shots. So, I think the guys batted incredibly well, hats off to Aiden, it’s one of the greatest innings I think I’ve ever seen. The magnitude of the occasion, how he handled the pressure and the way he transferred it back into such an experienced attack as well was something special.”

Lungi Ngidi, who was still on a high from his devastating second innings spell:

"I’m speechless right now… I’ve got no words for how I fell, to be honest. I’m very proud of what the boys have achieved today. It’s been a long journey, it’s been a lot of hard work as well, the blood pressure’s really high right now, but mostly I’m just really proud of what the boys have managed to achieve today."

ICC

27-YEAR WAIT IS OVER, AS PROTEAS PEN A NEW CHAPTER IN THEIR CRICKET HISTORY

JOHANNESBURG: After 9722 days, the wait is over. The Proteas Men have secured the ICC World Test Championship at Lord’s on Saturday, as they defeated Australia by five wickets, on day four of the Final.

It ended a 27-year wait for ICC success, as this was the first senior Men’s trophy since the 1998 ICC Knockout victory

In many ways, the victory by captain Temba Bavuma was not just for this generation, but for all those who have played their part in the Proteas jersey. Various former players were present at Lord’s and shared in the delight of seeing their team on top of the world.

Cricket South Africa (CSA) Chief Executive Officer Pholetsi Moseki led the congratulations for the team, paying tribute to the team’s character and all those who have supported them on the journey.

“I can’t think of a team more deserving of this WTC Mace. This team has displayed remarkable tenacity and strength over the past two years,” Moseki noted.

“This occasion holds immense significance in the world of sport and cricket. It is a tribute not only to the current squad, but also to those who paved the way before them.”

Moseki also pointed out that this victory belonged to the team, legends, the people of south Africa and all those inspired to take up the game by this remarkable victory.

When Kyle Verreynne struck the winning runs, it sparked wild celebrations for the team and their strong showing of support at Lord’s. A hallmark of all four days has been the distinctly South African flavour around the ground, with songs, flags and national jerseys prominent in the stands.

The team has also been overwhelmed by constant messages of encouragement from back home, especially during a match where the momentum swung wildly over the first two days.

Australia was bowled out for 212 in the first innings, after Bavuma had invited them to bat. Kagiso Rabada’s five for 51 earned him the distinction of being on both the home and away dressing-room Honours boards.

The Proteas were then bowled out for 138, with David Bedingham (45) and Bavuma (36) making key contributions in tough batting conditions.

That left the Proteas with a deficit of 74 runs, on a difficult pitch.

Lungi Ngidi, back in the team after injury, broke the game wide open with an inspired spell on the second evening, as he helped himself to three for 38, including the prize scalp of Steve Smit

Bowling spearhead Rabada (four for 59) then completed a magnificent personal performance with the ball, but Australia’s tail added crucial late runs to tally 207 in their second innings.

Man of the match Aiden Markram struck a majestic 136, marking his eighth Test century, and his fourth against Australia.

His six-and-a-half-hour marathon was the cornerstone of the success, and he was ably supported by Bavuma, who scored 66 from 134 balls. What made the captain’s knock even more impressive was that he was hampered by a hamstring strain for most of his stay at the crease.

He and Markram put together a priceless stand of 147 in just over three hours, taking the Proteas to the brink of a new chapter of South African cricket history.

Both fell on the final morning, but the Proteas and an incredible display of support away from home could not be denied a day to remember at the Home of Cricket.

CSA Director of National Teams and High Performance Enoch Nkwe commended the team for their unwavering commitment.

“This moment is a reminder that no dream is too distant, no challenge insurmountable and no legacy too heavy to carry forward,” Nkwe saluted.

“I commend the unwavering commitment demonstrated by each player, both on and off the field. Reaching this milestone, coupled with remarkable key performances, will undoubtedly be etched into the history books,” Nkwe added.

Indeed, it is an eighth consecutive Test victory for Bavuma and his team, notched on four different continents. It is a testament to their adaptability and character, and collective talents that have found a solution for every question thrown at them over the past two years of the WTC cycle.

That adaptability is emphasised by a look at each of the men in the squad for the WTC final. Every one of them had a telling contribution on the road to glory, each man earning their winning medal.

While breaking the ICC drought is justifiable cause for celebration, this team is determined to ensure that the road doesn’t end with this final. Indeed, much like London buses, they are keen to ensure that after the long wait for an ICC trophy, two arrive in quick succession.

The ICC ODI World Cup, to be hosted in South Africa, is now less than two years away. Many of the men who did duty on the road to Test glory also form the foundation of coach Shukri Conrad’s white-ball plans.

For now, however, the squad will celebrate this breakthrough moment and then return home to South Africa on Wednesday at 09:25 SAST.

“The next time we see Shukri and his team, we will welcome them as the ICC World Test Champions!” Nkwe declared.

Before that welcome, the team may well have to pass through O.R Tambo International Airport customs, so that they can declare a rather significant piece of international history that they are bringing back into the country.

CSA

The numbers behind South Africa's WTC25 triumph

Facts and figures as Temba Bavuma and South Africa upset the odds and claim the World Test Championship

It was the stuff of dreams, and in a way a triumph against all odds, numbers and previous history.

After claiming the ICC World Test Championship mace, a look at some of the numbers around South Africa's victory, and the heroes that helped break new ground.

7th (and 25%): South Africa's position (and percentage of possible points) on the World Test Championship table in July 2024

Less than 12 months ago, a World Test Championship Final berth may have felt a bridge too far.

The team sat only above the West Indies and Bangladesh, having slipped to three consecutive defeats.

The addition of key players, and a rethink into their red-ball approach, inspired a comeback that saw them climb up the table, sneaking into a Final almost no one had considered them reaching.

India and Australia looked best-placed, with a late New Zealand run and even a Sri Lankan push hypothesised, though it was the under-the-radar Proteas to prevail.

The side won their final seven Tests in the cycle, with a draw at the start of their West Indies tour in early August 2024 the only blemish in the run.

10: Matches South Africa have gone unbeaten with Temba Bavuma as captain

The win means the extended run unbeaten goes to 10 Tests for Temba Bavuma in his start as Proteas captain.

The nine wins in Test matches is a record in the game as well, with Bavuma sharing the honour with England's Percy Chapman, who led his side in the late 1920s and 1930s.

59.25: Bavuma's average in the World Test Championship 2023-2025 cycle

Bavuma passed fifty a staggering seven times in 13 innings across the cycle, leading the side on the field and in the runs column (711 runs alongside David Bedingham on the same figure).

Only Kusal Mendis (62.38) beat out Bavuma's average of 59.25, of players to bat more than five times in the cycle.

2: Active Test players with three or more fourth innings hundreds

Aiden Markram's heroic effort means he joins England's Ben Stokes as the only current players to make three centuries in the fourth innings of a Test.

Standing up in tough situations and in a chase, Markram shone again

The three also puts him with a host of historic greats such as Sir Don Bradman, Mahela Jayawardena, Gordon Greenidge and Sachin Tendulkar, with Graeme Smith (4) the only Protea with more next to his name.

282: The target set and chased down by South Africa

South Africa seem to enjoy the challenge of Australia in chases, with the effort in London their fifth-highest chase in Test cricket, and with four of five of them coming against their Southen Hemisphere rivals.

18.93: Kagiso Rabada's bowling average in the World Test Championship 2023-2025 cycle

Kagiso Rabada raced home with another nine wicket in the Lord's Final, finishing with a staggering 56 at just 18.93.

The Proteas in the build-up dubbed Rabada the best in the world, and the numbers suggest their spearhead has a case.

Of those to play 10 or more matches in the cycle, only Jasprit Bumrah (15.09) outperformed Rabada.

27: Years to wait before breaking an ICC trophy drought

It's been a gap of almost 10,000 days since their last ICC trophy, a win at the ICC Knockout in 1998.

In the period of final stages heartbreak, South Africa won 559 of 980 matches across all three formats of international cricket, putting them third behind Australia (683/1103) and India (685/1206).

3: Number of teams to win World Test Championship Finals

Australia's unsuccessful defence at Lord's means three different teams have lifted the mace in the first three editions of the event, with the Temba Bavuma joining Pat Cummins and New Zealand's Kane Williamson as winning captains.

South Africa joined New Zealand as teams to win chasing, with the Black Caps beating India by eight wickets in 2021, and South Africa passing Australia's target of 282 with five wickets in hand on Saturday.

ICC

great to see a strong saffer team in test cricket, bowlers win you tests and they always have good bowlers. only if they went back to playing 9 to 12 tests a year again.
If anything , their win has proven that you don't need to play a high volume of Test cricket to be a good side

Yeah, and the logical deduction being that less volume of test cricket somehow helped them or that playing a good amount of test cricket is not really always helpful.

Either ways, your deduction is bogus.

Playing more test cricket will help them, you don’t improve without playing, you are basically denying something that has been said and agreed to by every cricket player and coach.

World Test Champions South Africa will not play a Test at home until October 2026 (Cricinfo)
They have to get stadiums ready for ODI world cup. However emotional test cricket fans might be, but only T20/ODI brings money for most cricket boards

I did.

Go dunk your head in the toilet. When the experts speak, you should learn to listen.
You're an expert 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣.

Go dunk your head in the toilet.

Might as well have to after what you just said. Expert Buahahahahahhahahahahahah.

I cant stop laughing mate 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣.

Yeah, and the logical deduction being that less volume of test cricket somehow helped them or that playing a good amount of test cricket is not really always helpful.

Either ways, your deduction is bogus.

Playing more test cricket will help them, you don’t improve without playing, you are basically denying something that has been said and agreed to by every cricket player and coach.

Yeah, no. It's impossible to have your multi format fast bowlers play that much Test cricket without risking injuries.

And boards like SA don't have central contracts that can hold down these bowlers to just Test cricket like England and Australia did for a very long time.

Sorry but you are just as clueless about this as your valuation of Kohli's World T20 finals knock.

Yeah, no. It's impossible to have your multi format fast bowlers play that much Test cricket without risking injuries.

And boards like SA don't have central contracts that can hold down these bowlers to just Test cricket like England and Australia did for a very long time.

Sorry but you are just as clueless about this as your valuation of Kohli's World T20 finals knock.
Kohli's final knock was terrible. Put pressure on his teammates, wickets fell cause of him, got india to a subpar total.

It was the bumrah show and a classic sa choke. India throughout the tournament had 5 key moments and hence the the reason they went unbeaten.

1) Minnow bashing: India consistently remains the best team.vs Minnows.

2) Pakistan choke(difficult putch ik, but ba/riz make for a hilarious combo)

3) Rohit innings vs Aus( Rubbish bowling from starc but goat in kings from rohit)

4) Bumrah special in the final.

5) Me.

Kohli's was a washed up hasbeen throughout the tournament

Why is this ICC video showing Jay Shah over and over? Ridiculous.

South African and Australian players should get all the spotlights because they were the ones who played.
No wonder Ponting and Martyn shoved Sharad Pawar off the champions trophy podium..

Jay Shah deserves to be in the video.

We talk about Temba rising to the top of South African cricket and overcoming racism and social stigma from a humble background.

But what Jay Shah is achieved for cricket is far superior to this and he has done it from similar humble background too. Born as a poor son of a home minister he has worked hard to reach the top and bring glory to his family.

At a recent family gathering he told Amit - Kaash aap Wazir-e-Dakhla ke bajaye Wazir-e-Azam hotay, to main zindagi mein aur bhi bohat kuch kar sakta tha.

He is an inspiration to all hardworking sons around the globe.

Jay Shah deserves to be in the video.

We talk about Temba rising to the top of South African cricket and overcoming racism and social stigma from a humble background.

But what Jay Shah is achieved for cricket is far superior to this and he has done it from similar humble background too. Born as a poor son of a home minister he has worked hard to reach the top and bring glory to his family.

At a recent family gathering he told Amit - Kaash aap Wazir-e-Dakhla ke bajaye Wazir-e-Azam hotay, to main zindagi mein aur bhi bohat kuch kar sakta tha.

He is an inspiration to all hardworking sons around the globe.

It is about WTC final. It should be about South Africa and Australia only. :inti

ICC can have a separate video about Jay Shah at a different time perhaps.

Rabada: ‘I will never forget this moment – none of us will’

South Africa’s superstar Kagiso Rabada hailed his side’s ICC World Test Championship Final 2025 victory over Australia as a moment he will never forget.

Rabada took nine wickets in the match at Lord’s, rising to the occasion and thriving on his status as the leader of a talented pace attack.

He moved past Allan Donald into fourth on South Africa’s all-time list of Test wicket-takers, while he retains the highest strike rate (38.9) of any bowler with more than 150 scalps to his name.

But while his individual display was one to savour, this was a team triumph for the Proteas and Rabada was quick to share the credit among his fellow history-makers.

“I don’t see myself as a star,” he said. “I see myself as someone willing to work, give my blood for this team and continue working hard and improving.

“That’s me as a cricketer, always wanting to improve and playing for the badge with a lot of pride. That’s the way I’d like to see everyone play.

“Every game I play, I’m looking to get wickets. I’m not going to go into the game thinking ‘I need to get seven wickets for us to win’, I look at it as an opportunity to get as many wickets as I can to help the team.

“In saying that, I know I won’t do it alone and I back all the players in the team. You are playing for South Africa for a reason, it’s not by chance.

“We are a fairly inexperienced team who got put together about a year ago, we have not been with each other for a long time, and we have gone on and produced this. I’ll never forget this in my life, none of the boys will forget this.”

Rabada set the tone on the opening morning of the Final, removing Usman Khawaja and Cameron Green in the same over – later repeating the trick in the second innings.

His first innings figures of five for 51 saw him become just the second player in history to have his name on the honours boards in both the home and away dressing rooms at Lord’s, following batter Gordon Greenidge, and he followed up with four more second time around.

“I’ve been working extremely hard, those second innings spells are the ones that count a lot more – when you are a bit tired and behind in the game,” he said.

“It was just about staying calm and looking at what was in front of us. All mayhem broke loose, we got five wickets in I don’t know how many overs, it was a crazy game of cricket.

“There are normally two voices in your head – one that doubts and one that believes.

“That is the one we keep feeding, especially in big moments like this, the World Test Championship Final.

“That is why you saw the performances you saw. It is testament to our team this season.”

Rabada’s performance continued his excellent record versus Australia, against whom he now has 58 Test wickets at 21.39.

This contest will go down as the latest chapter in a storied history of classic encounters between these two heavyweight cricketing nations and South Africa’s standout seamer admitted it was a surreal feeling to wrestle the trophy away from the holders.

“Australia are a well accustomed team and with all due respect, a bit of an aging team.

“Some of those guys were playing when we were still in high school.

“If you put into perspective for the younger players what that’s like. It is special, it hasn’t sunk in.

“This has given us confidence we can do it again.”

Now that South Africa have broken the losing/choking streak, I think they may win more and more ICC trophies.

Spain also used to not win anything. They suddenly won 2010 FIFA WC. After that, they won more trophies.