Coronavirus in India

Despite the political differences Pakistan seems to be fighting this deadly disease as a whole. Doesn't seem to be the case in Modi's India.
Na, don't read too much print media from both side RW or LW, states government and central are fighting it equally, it's the congress neta and supporters are making much noise, they even went on to claim in the time of tradegy that BJP is taking money and showing favoritism in selection of home made kits lab and claimed lab was from Gujarat while selected lab was Pune one and it is close to Shiv Sena opposition ruling party
really left government has risen to challenge, huge respect to them.
Didi was also good till 31st March, don't have much information about her now.

Coronavirus: India to extend nationwide lockdown, state minister says

India has decided to extend a strict nationwide lockdown imposed last month to stop the spread of the coronavirus, a top official says.

On Saturday, Prime Minister Narendra Modi held a video conference with state ministers, and many of them urged the government to prolong the measure.

Delhi's chief minister said Mr Modi had agreed to extend the lockdown, due to end on Tuesday, without giving details.

There are concerns about how the curbs are affecting the poor and the economy.

The spread of the virus has been varied in India with some states seeing bigger jumps in cases despite the shutdown. Millions of migrant workers have been left jobless with the poorest suffering most.

India has confirmed 7,600 infections and 249 deaths, according to a tally by US-based Johns Hopkins University, which is tracking the disease globally. The true figures, however, are thought to be far higher.

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-india-52255011

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">PM has taken correct decision to extend lockdown. Today, India’s position is better than many developed countries because we started lockdown early. If it is stopped now, all gains would be lost. To consolidate, it is imp to extend it</p>— Arvind Kejriwal (@ArvindKejriwal) <a href="https://twitter.com/ArvindKejriwal/status/1248912739679924225?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 11, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Some 81 migrant workers were arrested in the western-Indian city of Surat after they started fires and threw stones in protests, demanding to be allowed to go back to their home areas, police said <a href="https://t.co/j0DQ4LPxXB">https://t.co/j0DQ4LPxXB</a> <a href="https://t.co/5IPu5vOou3">pic.twitter.com/5IPu5vOou3</a></p>— Reuters (@Reuters) <a href="https://twitter.com/Reuters/status/1248967789060059139?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 11, 2020</a></blockquote>

^^ I can post some videos of police beating people but some people won't like it because they either want to see goody goody stuff about India or anything that puts muslims in bad light. :inti

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Karnataka: BJP MLA from Turuvekere M Jayaram today celebrated his birthday with villagers in Gubbi taluk, Tumkur, during lockdown for prevention of COVID19 transmission. <a href="https://t.co/nNSpPLTBmU">pic.twitter.com/nNSpPLTBmU</a></p>— ANI (@ANI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ANI/status/1248650330117566465?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 10, 2020</a></blockquote>

As India grapples to contain the economic and humanitarian fallout of the coronavirus lockdown, Shah Rukh Khan, the country’s biggest film star, has frequently appealed to his followers on social media to stay at home and wash their hands.

“Coronavirus is slowly creeping into our souls. Things are becoming overwhelming,” he said in a video. “We shall overcome this.”

With the country in the midst of a strict curfew to stem the spread of Covid-19, stars such as Mr Khan and India’s cricket team captain Virat Kohli command a unifying pull among India’s 1.4bn citizens like few others. They also have time to spare.

The virus has brought India’s enormous entertainment sector — with its larger-than-life stars, relentless calendar of film releases and ubiquitous cricket matches — to a halt in a way previously hard to imagine.

“I've always maintained that cricket and films are the umbilical cord of this nation. Now we're dealing with a situation where both have been severed,” said Vikram Malhotra, a Bollywood executive and founder of studio Abundantia Entertainment, who has had to postpone production on two shows and expects his schedule to be set back for months.

“From that point of view, these are difficult times made even more challenging with the absence of these two.”

The disruption to these pursuits, whose popularity has endured historic upheaval and previous tribulations, ripples beyond simply depriving homebound Indians of entertainment.

India’s film industry, while itself spread across Hindi-language Bollywood and other regional language cinemas, is the world’s largest by both tickets sold and output, churning out about 2,000 productions a year.

And cricket, which India often dominates both on the pitch through its team and off it thanks to its enormous, revenue-generating fan base, accounts for a thumping 80 per cent of sports viewership, according to EY. The 12-year-old Indian Premier League attracts more than 1bn viewers and is valued at more than $6bn.

“These are two national pastimes,” said Rakesh Jariwala, media and entertainment partner at EY. “It’s going to have a massive impact.”

A series of big-ticket films have either flopped or been postponed, including the star-studded 83 which depicts India’s journey to the Cricket World Cup victory of 1983 and whose launch was timed to precede the start of the IPL, now delayed until the middle of April.

With India in strict lockdown until at least April 14, many expect it may follow the path of the Tokyo Olympics and Wimbledon and be pushed back further or scrapped altogether.

The stakes are high. India’s media and entertainment industry, both directly and indirectly, accounted for almost 3 per cent of gross domestic product and employed about 1m people through the formal and informal economy, according to a 2017 study by the Boston Consulting Group.

The share prices of large Indian cinema chains have tumbled, as analysts fret over the scale of the hit they could take. The IPL, a cash cow for broadcasters and advertisers, brings with it a frenzy of product campaigns and launches that are now in jeopardy. Many thousands of daily labourers who work as carpenters on film sets or sell snacks to cricket fans face losing their income.

“There are serious financial repercussions,” said Ayaz Memon, a prominent cricket writer, speaking of the IPL. “If the IPL has to be suspended or scrapped, it’s not just the moneybags who own the franchises that can suffer . . . This is a 50-day league which offers people a year’s worth of livelihood.”

Industry insiders question whether the crisis could force bigger changes that outlast the lockdown. BookMyShow, a booking platform that sells tickets for both films and sports, is dabbling in streaming stand-up comedy in an effort to tap into the rising popularity of online video.

But founder Ashish Hemrajani said he was confident demand would rebound, even if it took longer for consumers to feel safe returning to packed venues.

“People ask me, ‘Are movies not going to be a part of the DNA of the Indian consumer mindset going forward?” he said. “My parents and their parents went to the movies. I go to the movies. My son also goes to the movies . . . As people think this is well and truly behind them, [that’s] the first thing that’s going to pick up.”

In the meantime, even the Indian government has recognised the need to keep its homebound population entertained. It announced that the public broadcaster would air reruns of legendary television shows, such as Ramayan, a beloved 1980s dramatisation of the Sanskrit epic poem.

Swapna Gupta, who watches cricket with her family and used to go to a cinema across the road once a week, said she was feeling the absence. But the 34-year-old, who runs an animal rights charity in Mumbai, reasoned that she had an ample backlog to keep her busy.

“Every weekend you have two or three [film] releases. It’s not feasible to see two or three movies per weekend,” she said. “Now is the time I’m catching up.”

https://www.ft.com/content/ffef3bc9-030f-46b1-bab1-8718cfc85fcc

Out of 108 from 159 of TJ who didn’t quarantine after coming from Nizamudheen to Chattisgarh are not even Muslims.

'मैं ब्राह्रण आदमी हूं. मेरा भला तब्लीग़ी जमात के लोगों से क्या लेना-देना?' says one guy.

https://www.bbc.com/hindi/india-52239722

Read the news.

They were quarantined as they had returned from Delhi. Lots of people are being quarantined if they have returned from delhi

What kind of a reply is "There are many news channels and publications in India." to the pointed question of "Is Republic TV a trustworthy channel?"

If you think the lol worthy Assamese chashmish is the authority on news, at least be loyal and spit it out.

People are posting articles by The Wie, Scroll, Quint etc. So Republic is atleast better than them.

Though i watch news18 and TimesNow.

Guys any news if domestic flights would be resumed in a staggered manner post April 14th?

India on Sunday morning reported 8,356 people have contracted the coronavirus disease and 273 have died across the country, with more than 900 cases and 34 deaths in the last 24 hours.

According to the Union health ministry’s data at 8am, there are 7367 active cases, 716 people have been cured, discharged or migrated.

The new numbers come a day after Prime Minister Narendra Modi indicated the 21-day lockdown across the country may be extended beyond April 14.

The Prime Minister stressed on Saturday that the new challenge was not only to save lives but livelihoods as well as he spoke with several chief ministers to discuss the lockdown ordered last month to stop the spread of the highly contagious coronavirus disease and other issues.

PM Modi said that the government earlier motto was ‘jaan hai to jahaan hai’ [when you have life, you have the world]. “Now it is ‘jaan bhi jahaan bhi’ [save life, and livelihood],” he said, signalling a shift in the Centre’s approach.

He is yet to take a decision on the extension of the three-week national lockdown but several states have independently announced an extension of the restrictions till the end of April.

The government has also emphasised the importance of strict restrictions put in place on March 25.

A health ministry official said on Saturday the number of Covid-19 cases in India could have even reached a figure of 820,000 by April 15 without the containment measures and nationwide lockdown.

The government has said that the country’s response to the coronavirus pandemic has been pre-emptive and proactive to the extent of being over-prepared, which has helped in preventing ballooning of the number of positive cases.

According to Johns Hopkins University Covid-19 tracker, there are 1,776,157 cases and 108,804 fatalities worldwide as of Sunday.

The United States surpassed Italy on Saturday as the country with the highest reported coronavirus death toll, recording more than 20,000 fatalities since the outbreak began.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/indi...toll-at-273/story-IHuP8d7lIInk9mz4uBQHeM.html

[MENTION=133135]kaayal[/MENTION] [MENTION=134809]sensible-indian-fan[/MENTION] [MENTION=76058]cricketjoshila[/MENTION] you guys have good knowledge , can you tell me status of home made kits, what are it's current production rate and when it will be mass produced.
How many kits are in Indian government possession?

I dunno bud. I got tired of the lack of info and stopped searching couple of weeks back.

Let me check up. If I get anything I will let you know.

People are posting articles by The Wie, Scroll, Quint etc. So Republic is atleast better than them

You can't be possibly serious.

You are calling those sources WORSE than Republic TV?

Is it the same like how Alt News is unrealiable (inspite of being accredited)....yet they get quoted by Time and other sources.

[MENTION=152021]Rajdeep[/MENTION] [MENTION=151350]Mesozoic[/MENTION] [MENTION=151383]Local.Dada[/MENTION] [MENTION=76058]cricketjoshila[/MENTION] [MENTION=428]Romali_rotti[/MENTION]

Since you guys are never going to share this following news here. Let me share it with you.

Policeman's hand chopped off, two others injured in attack by 'Nihangis' in Punjab

CHANDIGARH: A policeman's hand was chopped off and two other police officials were injured when a group of people allegedly attacked them in Punjab's Patiala district on Sunday, police said.

A group of four-five 'Nihangs' (Sikhs armed with traditional weapons and dressed in loose blue top) were travelling in a vehicle and they were asked to stop at a vegetable market at around 6.15 am by the Mandi board officials, they said.

"They were asked to show (curfew) passes. But they crashed the vehicle against the the gate and barricades put up there," Senior Superintendent of Police, Patiala, Mandeep Singh Sidhu said.

"An ASI's (Assistant Sub Inspector) hand was chopped off by a sword. A Station House Officer of Sadar Patiala sustained an injury on his elbow and anther official suffered an injury on his arm in the attack," Sidhu said.

The ASI was rushed to the Rajindra hospital where from he was referred to PGIMER in Chandigarh.

https://m.economictimes.com/news/po...y-nihangis-in-punjab/articleshow/75104729.cms

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">PM has taken correct decision to extend lockdown. Today, India’s position is better than many developed countries because we started lockdown early. If it is stopped now, all gains would be lost. To consolidate, it is imp to extend it</p>— Arvind Kejriwal (@ArvindKejriwal) <a href="https://twitter.com/ArvindKejriwal/status/1248912739679924225?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 11, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

I don't have a good feeling about this.

I know people who are struggling.

If people just had to stay at home and eat, it would be one thing.

But rent is due (know people whose landlords will demand payment).

Debt repayments are due (not everyone gets loans from a proper bank).

I am wondering if locking down hotspots and creating restrictions would be a better option than extending complete lockdown.

Is it the same like how Alt News is unrealiable (inspite of being accredited)....yet they get quoted by Time and other sources.

He also thinks Zee News is a genuine news channel and is a fan of Sudhir Chaudhary.

I am wondering if locking down hotspots and creating restrictions would be a better option than extending complete lockdown.

Yes they are asking for it.

Despite the political differences Pakistan seems to be fighting this deadly disease as a whole. Doesn't seem to be the case in Modi's India.

Cos India is too divided.

Doesn't mean people aren't behind a common goal (we are)...but we are just going to fight it out, rally behind the PM when needed,d wait for this to get over and then resume our fight.

And I won't blame people for that.

It's an indictment of how our country has been run for the last 6 years.

It has crossed the point of no return.

And no amount of holier than thou appeal by certain Indians (as well intentioned as they may be) is going to change that.

India's coronavirus relief plan may exclude millions: Activists

Package offers free food for 800 million, but activists say few of them are registered with scheme or have documents.

Tens of millions of Indians stand to see few benefits from a coronavirus relief package worth $22.6bn, economists and food rights activists say.

Although India's relief package promises free food for roughly 800 million beneficiaries, economists and activists say few of those in need are registered with the federal food welfare scheme, or have the documents needed to secure benefits.

"I would argue for universal [food] coverage of rural areas and urban slums in most states for the duration of the crisis," said economist Jean Dreze, who has co-authored books on hunger with Nobel laureate Amartya Sen.

India's lockdown will push many more people into poverty, and the government must ensure free food reaches everyone in need, Dreze told Reuters news agency, estimating that a tenth of a population of more than 1.3 billion lacks food security now.

The scenario spells catastrophe for 32-year-old Karan Kumar, a struggling day labourer in the capital.

Living in cramped quarters at a construction site where activity has been halted by a harsh three-week lockdown to stem the spread of the virus, Kumar has been without work for days, unable to earn his daily wage of about $4.

"I'm not suffering alone, my family is suffering with me," said Kumar, who relies on his earnings to support his wife, five children and ageing parents in his home state of Bihar, one of India's poorest.

"My wife calls up and urges me to get home anyhow," said Kumar, one of 1,500 workers at the site. "She says that even if we are hungry, we will be hungry together."
Humanitarian crisis

Without provisions for the poor, India could be facing a full-blown humanitarian crisis, especially if the government decides to extend the lockdown, experts say.

"Massive numbers of people will be pushed back into poverty," warned Nikhil Dey, who runs farm rights group Mazdoor Kisan Sangathan (Association of Workers and Farmers).

The Indian government is monitoring the situation "very closely" and will ensure no one goes without food, said a top government official involved in the government food welfare scheme, who sought anonymity in line with government policy.

While millions of migrant workers fled cities on foot for their homes in villages after Prime Minister Narendra Modi imposed a lockdown from March 25, others with homes hundreds of miles away, like Kumar, could not return.

Modi, who has said stringent measures were necessary to tackle the virus that has killed almost 200 people and infected nearly 6,500, apologised last week for the hardship caused to the poor.

The International Labour Organization says welfare measures such as food aid are critical for the roughly 380 million people who work in the informal economy, which includes everyone from vegetable sellers to cobblers.

Activists say India is in a comfortable position to give handouts to the needy as mounds of rice, wheat and sugar in brimming granaries leave little space for new season harvests.

At the New Delhi construction site, Kumar and other labourers sleep on narrow bunks in small, fly-ridden rooms, depending on erratic supplies of food from a nonprofit.

"We eat the food here because we have no other choice," said Kumar. "But what about my children? Who will support them?"

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2020...clude-millions-activists-200410104928513.html

[MENTION=152021]Rajdeep[/MENTION] [MENTION=151350]Mesozoic[/MENTION] [MENTION=151383]Local.Dada[/MENTION] [MENTION=76058]cricketjoshila[/MENTION] [MENTION=428]Romali_rotti[/MENTION]

Since you guys are never going to share this following news here. Let me share it with you.

Policeman's hand chopped off, two others injured in attack by 'Nihangis' in Punjab

CHANDIGARH: A policeman's hand was chopped off and two other police officials were injured when a group of people allegedly attacked them in Punjab's Patiala district on Sunday, police said.

A group of four-five 'Nihangs' (Sikhs armed with traditional weapons and dressed in loose blue top) were travelling in a vehicle and they were asked to stop at a vegetable market at around 6.15 am by the Mandi board officials, they said.

"They were asked to show (curfew) passes. But they crashed the vehicle against the the gate and barricades put up there," Senior Superintendent of Police, Patiala, Mandeep Singh Sidhu said.

"An ASI's (Assistant Sub Inspector) hand was chopped off by a sword. A Station House Officer of Sadar Patiala sustained an injury on his elbow and anther official suffered an injury on his arm in the attack," Sidhu said.

The ASI was rushed to the Rajindra hospital where from he was referred to PGIMER in Chandigarh.

https://m.economictimes.com/news/po...y-nihangis-in-punjab/articleshow/75104729.cms

Everytime religious ppl get caught they always go into hiding inside their religious places.
I hope they are able to help that man with is hand, traumatizing.

Since this news has come on NDTV, an anti national channel, so this is probably a fake news. News which are aired on Republic, Times NOW, Zee News, India TV only count.

True.

All those uninformed souls who are advocating the extension of this lockdown are totally oblivious of hardships of lowest common factor of our society who have already suffered so much due to this lockdown.

And there is our pathetic health ministry who in their dreams have come at some random number of 8.5 lakhs people getting infected from Coronavirus had the lockdown not being enforced.

MATLAB Kuch BHI? All in the name of hailing the supreme leader...

Yes.

Notice how credit card companies say they will defer payment by 3 months....but you still gotta pay the sky high interest. :))

It's like they just waived off late payment fee.
And RBI is as ever clueless. Why couldn't they crack the whip on these pathetic banks who already earn so much at our cost?

What is wrong with bengal?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">We release the state of the nation survey on <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/lockdownextension?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#lockdownextension</a><br>1. 78% of those surveyed favor Lockdown extension<br>2. Odisha best , & Bengal worst performer in satisfaction index <br>3. 84% blame <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/TabligiJamaat?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#TabligiJamaat</a> fr rapid spread. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Covid_19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Covid_19</a><a href="https://t.co/IXoln9lHIg">https://t.co/IXoln9lHIg</a><a href="https://twitter.com/PMOIndia?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@PMOIndia</a><a href="https://twitter.com/pradip103?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@pradip103</a></p>— Jan Ki Baat (@jankibaat1) <a href="https://twitter.com/jankibaat1/status/1248937883374927874?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 11, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

The ones i mentioned, esp Wire and Scroll are worst.

Alt news is accredited by whom? IFCN,? What is the accreditation of IFCN?

Pushing agenda is not news and the wires days are numbered.

Everytime religious ppl get caught they always go into hiding inside their religious places.
I hope they are able to help that man with is hand, traumatizing.

These nihangs who attacked that police officer are murderers.

I think Kerala started it ?
BTW how situation is in Kerala right now regarding covid 19?

Yes, ICMR has approved our request.

We have plateaued as of now. Mainly because stopping of flights has helped us a lot. Now the cases are of local transmission along with the TJ cases. Once the flight resumes it will again increase as there is a big expatriate population waiting to return to Kerala.

West Bengal govt is the least transparent state govt in India in regard to Covid19. Even as the state government on Friday maintained that the death count was still five, the Kolkata Municipal Corporation came out with a list claiming that it had arranged the last rites of ten persons who perished due to the deadly disease in and around the city.

https://www.daijiworld.com/news/newsDisplay.aspx?newsID=695228

West Bengal govt is the least transparent state govt in India in regard to Covid19. Even as the state government on Friday maintained that the death count was still five, the Kolkata Municipal Corporation came out with a list claiming that it had arranged the last rites of ten persons who perished due to the deadly disease in and around the city.

https://www.daijiworld.com/news/newsDisplay.aspx?newsID=695228

As I said in some of my previous post that she was doing good till last of March, don't know suddenly what happened and now she is hiding numbers big times

And RBI is as ever clueless. Why couldn't they crack the whip on these pathetic banks who already earn so much at our cost?

In Canara bank they are saying that they will extend the time of loan, but there may be some catch so decided not to take the extension and is paying loan on time.

Yes, ICMR has approved our request.

We have plateaued as of now. Mainly because stopping of flights has helped us a lot. Now the cases are of local transmission along with the TJ cases. Once the flight resumes it will again increase as there is a big expatriate population waiting to return to Kerala.

Good for Kerala and India

They need to find a way to start things, no point of indefinite lockdown, need to take steps like completely closing some hot spots, closing the area around whole Mumbai or some area or villages where they may see that there is some sort of community transmission .
Another thing that they can do is run trains but no waiting tickets are allowed for 1 months and no general bogey

Yes.

Notice how credit card companies say they will defer payment by 3 months....but you still gotta pay the sky high interest. :))

It's like they just waived off late payment fee.

the thing is.... it's not waived off, it is moratorium. it's clearly written that you'll need to pay for the extra interest that occured during the period.

But, at these hours, for many people, many companies.... these postponing will give much relief and comparing to the interest, the time that has been alotted, could be more important in case to case basis.

when something is optional, criticizing just for the sake of it isn't constructive in my opinion.

the thing is.... it's not waived off, it is moratorium. it's clearly written that you'll need to pay for the extra interest that occured during the period.

But, at these hours, for many people, many companies.... these postponing will give much relief and comparing to the interest, the time that has been alotted, could be more important in case to case basis.

when something is optional, criticizing just for the sake of it isn't constructive in my opinion.
Error no, bank should have given interest off, Atleast nationalised bank should have done this, this is crisis time

[MENTION=90888]Itachi[/MENTION] another thing is nationalised bank are asking options for whole three month in a single instance, let say I can pay for my personal loan for 2 months but not for third month but either I have to pay for all three or none of the three months. There is no provision for opting out for one month or two.

Error no, bank should have given interest off, Atleast nationalised bank should have done this, this is crisis time

you'll need to make a balance. complete waive off will impact the bank sectors.

it's crisis time. so we should give atleast 50% of our salary to the people who aren't in position in buying foods. But are we?

Regardless what happens to your loans, the EMIs, you could have paid to the ones that requires the most in this crisis time. Did we give it?

[MENTION=90888]Itachi[/MENTION] another thing is nationalised bank are asking options for whole three month in a single instance, let say I can pay for my personal loan for 2 months but not for third month but either I have to pay for all three or none of the three months. There is no provision for opting out for one month or two.

Banks won't cancel the the ECS nor any standing instructions as it will be impossible to reknew it once it was cancelled. So Your account will get hit at least once for the EMIs. Only difference is, you may get it back if you have opted for moratorium (if you had enough balance and it was cut through either ECS or SI).

It is unclear whether you can deposit in to your load account with the money you got back. I'll try it this month.

In Canara bank they are saying that they will extend the time of loan, but there may be some catch so decided not to take the extension and is paying loan on time.
That's always advisable if you have the means. But what about people, who are already hard pressed to pay their home loan EMIs. Will find it extremely tough to pay 3 of them in 1 go and that too with sky high interest.

The minimum balance is always a SMALL fraction of the payment you have to pay.

When you pay minimum balance, the same thing happens as what's happening now.

All they did was tell you that you needn't even pay minimum balance & late payment fee but we will charge interest on rest as usual.

For me, it's not a big deal but for other's it might be.

All they did was tell you that you needn't even pay minimum balance & late payment fee but we will charge interest on rest as usual.

for credit cards, it's a different issue. rule of thumbs, if you don't know how the credit system works especially in case of credit cards, you'll be in pile of debt and better not to use it at all. I have seen many friends digging holes.

That's always advisable if you have the means. But what about people, who are already hard pressed to pay their home loan EMIs. Will find it extremely tough to pay 3 of them in 1 go and that too with sky high interest.

Where did you read that you'll need to pay in one go?

for credit cards, it's a different issue. rule of thumbs, if you don't know how the credit system works especially in case of credit cards, you'll be in pile of debt and better not to use it at all. I have seen many friends digging holes.

I was talking about credit cards in my post.

Good enough to be quoted by Time, Washington Post, NY Times, BBC, CNN, etc.

You mean agendas like this?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">4 "news" channels - last 200 "debates" <br><br>Economy : 0<br>Unemployment : 0<br>Education : 0<br>Healthcare : 0<br>Environment : 0 <br>Poverty, Malnutrition : 0<br>Women's safety & equality : 0<br>Any relevant questions to the government : 0<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/boycottmodia?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#boycottmodia</a> <a href="https://t.co/wdX7XnFnB0">pic.twitter.com/wdX7XnFnB0</a></p>— Official PeeingHuman (@thepeeinghuman) <a href="https://twitter.com/thepeeinghuman/status/1185440835489296384?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 19, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

There's a special segment reserved for Republic TV which I saw somewhere.

Are you sure about one go, My wife and sister both are scale 2, are saying that if you opt for it then your length of the loan will be increased by three month, and interest will be divided in emi( Atleast in Canara bank) but sister is not sure about how interest will be divided as she is not posted in branch but in admin office right now

yes. that's how it will be adjusted in most banks.

They will continue charging interest on outstanding amount if you opt in for 3 months moratorium. You do not have to pay a single penny till 31st May. Your CIBIL score won't be affected if you have no payment due as on March 1. On 1st June if you had an outstanding amount of 50000 before opting in, your outstanding amount will then be 53000 something for 2 months. That's for credit cards.

For EMI's it's pretty straight forward you will have to pay interest for 3 months and your EMI's will be pushed forward. You don't have to pay them together.

For ECS which they deduct from your account automatically, you can request them to defer it too. :inti

So, interest for 3 months should have been waived off as a bare minimum. It's not as if these banks will become poor suddenly. They've thousands of crores of money to lend to businessmen and see it go bad.

Ok, not in 1 go but the interest will keep on piling till the time all outstanding balance is paid off by the customer.

For credit cards it's a bit tricky. It's advisable to continue paying on time. For other EMI's and ECS(Bajaj Finance, IndiaBulls) you can defer it. Credit Card interest rates are higher.

Speaking of banks, I don't know why are they reducing the interest rates on small scale savings, like PPF, FD, NSC etc. Even savings account interest rates have come down to 3% (SBI) from once 4%. For a lot of common folk, this is a huge dent in their little incomes from bank deposits.

So, interest for 3 months should have been waived off as a bare minimum. It's not as if these banks will become poor suddenly. They've thousands of crores of money to lend to businessmen and see it go bad.

Banks will never do that. :inti

I'm maintaining credit cards for last 17-odd years. Never ever I had to pay a single paisa of interest to any of my banks.

Nothing justifies this high interest rate. So even if you miss your payment by a day, you'll be charged 42% on your outstanding balance?

It's 42% per annum it will be around 3-4% per month. It will be calculated on day by day basis. I think [MENTION=45152]Saurav[/MENTION] can tell better.

Speaking of banks, I don't know why are they reducing the interest rates on small scale savings, like PPF, FD, NSC etc. Even savings account interest rates have come down to 3% (SBI) from once 4%. For a lot of common folk, this is a huge dent in their little incomes from bank deposits.

small savings interest are decided by GOI. Not by institutions.

It's 42% per annum it will be around 3-4% per month. It will be calculated on day by day basis. I think [MENTION=45152]Saurav[/MENTION] can tell better.
Yeah, this makes sense. Still should not delay payment of your credit card dues even by a day.

small savings interest are decided by GOI. Not by institutions.
Which makes it all the more inexcusable. There are so many small investors who are dependent on these interest incomes especially in their post retirement days.

Yeah, this makes sense. Still should not delay payment of your credit card dues even by a day.

If you make late payment even by a day but pay the minimum amount due your CIBIL won't be affected and you will be charged interest for 1 day only.

If your payment due date comes on sunday and you miss it. You are allowed to pay it before 5 PM on Monday. There will be no late payment charges and your CIBIL won't be affected. :inti

Which makes it all the more inexcusable. There are so many small investors who are dependent on these interest incomes especially in their post retirement days.

Except the last revision, the other quarterly changes didn't affect much in last few years. So it was evident that a big reduction was coming. It was only a matter of "when".

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Kerala's COVID-19 response has been humane, caring and successful. They've kept their death toll to 2, and new cases are falling thanks to widespread community testing. <br><br>It puts the so-called "first world" to shame.<a href="https://t.co/flH9jV6w6T">https://t.co/flH9jV6w6T</a></p>— Jason Hickel (@jasonhickel) <a href="https://twitter.com/jasonhickel/status/1248966999763562497?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 11, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Awesome to see.

Pushing agenda is not news
and the wires days are numbered.
What is Republic TV doing? That is calling pushing the BJP agenda so thanks for calling Republic TV a NON-newz channel.

Except Reuters (imo) every media outlet has an agenda.
No one reports anymore.

Except Reuters (imo) every media outlet has an agenda.
No one reports anymore.

Not sure if in India you have that trend or not, but in Pakistan a lot of the beat reporters are now doing daily youtube videos describing the events as they saw them. Some anchors also have youtube channels where they do daily "tajziya" but they seem to have carried over their biases (read as lifafas) from the main stream media.

These reporters are doing an excellent job to combat fake news so much so that mainstream media is pushing for stricter regulation on social media content.